DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 through 20 originally filed 22 March 2022. By amendment received 9 September 2025; claims 1 and 13 are amended. Claims 1 through 20 are addressed by this action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered; they are addressed below.
Applicant argues that the amendments to the drawings and the specification overcome the previous drawing objections. This argument is persuasive and the corresponding objections are withdrawn.
Applicant argues that the combination of Chen et al. (Chen, US Patent 10,263,385) and Tabata et al. (Tabata, US Pub. 2021/0167572) is improper because, according to applicant, there is no motivation to combine the teachings of Chen and Tabata. To support this argument, applicant contends that Chen does not suggest any need to improve the accuracy of the temperature measurements thereof.
Applicant's argument is not persuasive because the expectation of some advantage is the strongest rationale for combining references (MPEP §2144II). Specifically, Chen employs a temperature sensor to determine the temperature of the filter thereof (Chen, col. 4, lines 40-44). Chen explicitly states that this sensor is positioned to "better know the temperature of the MZI" (Chen, col. 4, lines 10-12). Tabata teaches an alternative manner of arranging temperature sensors to accurately determine the temperature of elements provided on a substrate (Tabata, ¶175 describing the use of multiple sensors to produce a temperature distribution). Since Chen requires knowledge the of the temperature of the MZI for operation and since Tabata provides an alternate technique for accurately determining the temperature of elements in a similar circumstance, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the sensing technique of Tabata for providing the temperature sensing required by Chen so as to achieve the benefits discussed by Tabata (MPEP §2144II). As such, this argument is not persuasive.
The combination of Chen and Tabata is maintained. Applicant's argument that there is no motivation to combine the teachings of Chen and Tabata because the expectation of some advantage is the strongest rationale for combining references (MPEP §2144II).
Applicant argues that the combined teachings of Chen and Tabata do not teach or render obvious the amended limitation "The spatially separated temperature sensors are disposed within the temperature-sensor group such that each respective temperature-indication signal is partially indicative of a temperature at each of the two or more spatially separated functional elements" because, according to applicant, art has not previously been cited in relation to this limitation.
Applicant's argument is not persuasive because Tabata teaches these features. Specifically, Tabata teaches temperature sensors that are spatially separated within a temperature sensor group (Tabata, Fig. 11B depicting the spatial separation between temperature sensors 10a). Tabata teaches that these temperature sensors are read to construct an in-plane temperature distribution (Tabata, ¶175). The construction of an in-plane temperature distribution from multiple sensors necessarily requires each sensor to partially contribute to the ultimate distribution calculated. Since each element of the amended limitation is present in Tabata, the amended limitation is rendered obvious by the combined teachings of Chen and Tabata.
The limitation "The spatially separated temperature sensors are disposed within the temperature-sensor group such that each respective temperature-indication signal is partially indicative of a temperature at each of the two or more spatially separated functional elements" is rendered obvious by Chen and Tabata (see below). Applicant's argument that art has not previously been cited in relation to this limitation is not persuasive because Tabata teaches these features.
As such, all claims are addressed as follows:
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 10 September 2025 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97(a) because it lacks the appropriate size fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(v). It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7 through 10, 13, and 17 through 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (Chen, US Patent 10,263,385) in view of Tabata et al. (Tabata, US Pub. 2021/0167572).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses, "At least one wavelength-tunable semiconductor laser" (col. 4-5, lines 61-7 and Fig. 3, pts. 325, 330, and 335). "A wavemeter" (col. 4-5, lines 61-7 and Fig. 3, pt. 310). "The semiconductor laser and the wavemeter being physically integrated to a semiconductor substrate" (col. 4-5, lines 61-7 and Fig. 3, pts. 300, 310, 325, 330, and 335). "The wavemeter being connected to receive light emitted by the laser" (col. 4-5, lines 61-7 and Fig. 3, pts. 310, 325, 330, and 335). "A tuning circuit to apply wavelength-tuning signals to the laser" (col. 4-5, lines 61-7 and Fig. 3, pts. 310, 315, 320, and 325). "The tuning circuit is configured to generate the wavelength-tuning signals responsive to the temperature-indication signals and responsive to signals indicative of optical wavelength measurements from the wavemeter" (col. 2, lines 9-14 and col. 3, lines 37-39). Chen does not explicitly disclose, "A group of two or more spatially separated temperature sensors." "[The temperature sensors] physically integrated to the substrate." "[The temperature sensors] configured to produce a group of two or more respective temperature-indication signals." "Wherein the wavemeter comprises two or more spatially separated functional elements coupled to the temperature sensors by thermal conduction." "The spatially separated temperature sensors are disposed within the temperature-sensor group." "Each respective temperature-indication signal is partially indicative of a temperature at each of the two or more spatially separated functional elements." Tabata discloses, "A group of two or more spatially separated temperature sensors" (p. [0175] and Fig. 11B, pts. 10A). "[The temperature sensors] physically integrated to the substrate" (p. [0175] and Fig. 11B, pts. 10A, where implementing this multiple sensor arrangement in place of the sensor of Chen involves integrating the sensors in the manner that the sensor of Chen is integrated). "[The temperature sensors] configured to produce a group of two or more respective temperature-indication signals" (p. [0175] and Fig. 11B, pts. 10A). "Wherein the wavemeter comprises two or more spatially separated functional elements coupled to the temperature sensors by thermal conduction" (p. [0175] and Fig. 11B, pts. 10A, where implementing this multiple sensor arrangement in place of the sensor of Chen involves replicating the operation of the sensor of Chen). "The spatially separated temperature sensors are disposed within the temperature-sensor group" (p. [0175] and Fig. 11B, pts. 10A). "Each respective temperature-indication signal is partially indicative of a temperature at each of the two or more spatially separated functional elements" (p. [0175] and Fig. 11B, pts. 10A, where each temperature sensor contributes partially to the in-plane temperature distribution). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Tabata. In view of the teachings of Chen regarding a tunable laser device integrated atop a silicon substrate with an MZI based wavemeter that includes a temperature sensor, the alternate use of multiple temperature sensors arranged around the measured elements as taught by Tabata would enhance the teachings of Chen by allowing the temperature of the sensed region to be more accurately measured.
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses, "Wherein the tuning circuit comprises a control circuit" (col. 4-5, lines 61-7 and Fig. 3, pts. 315 and 320). "The control circuit is configured to infer temperatures at or near corresponding ones of said functional elements from the plurality of temperature-indication signals" (col. 3, lines 37-39, col. 4-5, lines 61-7, and Fig. 3, pts. 315 and 320).
Regarding claim 5, Chen discloses, "Wherein the control circuit is further configured to generate the wavelength-tuning signals in joint response to the said signals indicative of optical wavelength measurements and to the said inferred temperatures" (col. 2, lines 9-14 and col. 3, lines 37-39).
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses, "Wherein each of the temperature sensors comprises a temperature-sensing diode" (col. 5, lines 33-37 and Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Chen does not explicitly disclose, "At least three said temperature sensors." "Wherein at least two of the wavemeter functional elements are located within a polygon having vertices where the three said temperature sensors are situated." Tabata discloses, "At least three said temperature sensors" (p. [0175] and Fig. 11B, pts. 10A). "Wherein at least two of the wavemeter functional elements are located within a polygon having vertices where the three said temperature sensors are situated" (p. [0175] and Fig. 11B, pts. 10A). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Tabata for the reasons provided above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Chen discloses, "Wherein each of the temperature sensors comprises a temperature sensing diode" (col. 5, lines 33-37 and Fig. 3). "The wavemeter functional elements and the temperature sensors are monolithically integrated on a silicon or SOI substrate" (col. 4-5, lines 61-7 and Fig. 3, pts. 300 and 310).
Regarding claim 10, Chen discloses, "Wherein the wavemeter functional elements are Mach-Zehnder interferometers" (col. 4, lines 38-40 and Fig. 3, pt. 310).
Regarding claim 13, Chen discloses, "A wavelength-tunable semiconductor laser physically integrated to a semiconductor substrate" (col. 4-5, lines 61-7 and Fig. 3, pts. 325, 330, and 335). "Directing at least some optical emission from the laser into a wavemeter integrated to the semiconductor substrate" (col. 4-5, lines 61-7 and Fig. 3, pts. 310, 325, 330, and 335). "Obtaining a raw wavelength-indicative signal Λraw from the wavemeter" (col. 4-5, lines 61-7 and Fig. 3, pts. 310, 315, 320, and 325). "Computing a temperature-corrected wavelength-indicative signal ΛTC" (col. 2, lines 9-14 and col. 3, lines 37-39, where some sort of correction is performed based on temperature). "Computing corrections to Λraw from the respective temperatures of the spatially separated functional elements" (col. 2, lines 9-14 and col. 3, lines 37-39, where some sort of correction is performed based on temperature). Chen does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the computing of ΛTC comprises obtaining temperature-indicative signals from a plurality of spatially separated temperature sensors integrated to the substrate." "Wherein the spatially separated temperature sensors are disposed within the temperature-sensor plurality." "Each respective temperature-indication signal is partially indicative of a temperature at each of two or more spatially separated functional elements." "From the temperature-indicative signals, computing respective temperatures of the two or more spatially separated functional elements of the wavemeter." Tabata discloses, "Wherein the computing of ΛTC comprises obtaining temperature-indicative signals from a plurality of spatially separated temperature sensors integrated to the substrate" (p. [0175] and Fig. 11B, pts. 10A, where implementing this multiple sensor arrangement in place of the sensor of Chen involves replicating the operation of the sensor of Chen). "Wherein the spatially separated temperature sensors are disposed within the temperature-sensor plurality" (p. [0175] and Fig. 11B, pts. 10A). "Each respective temperature-indication signal is partially indicative of a temperature at each of two or more spatially separated functional elements" (p. [0175] and Fig. 11B, pts. 10A, where each temperature sensor contributes partially to the in-plane temperature distribution). "From the temperature-indicative signals, computing respective temperatures of the two or more spatially separated functional elements of the wavemeter" (p. [0175] and Fig. 11B, pts. 10A, where implementing this multiple sensor arrangement in place of the sensor of Chen involves replicating the operation of the sensor of Chen). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Tabata for the reasons provided above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, Chen discloses, "Feeding back a signal derived from the temperature-corrected wavelength-indicative signal ΛTC in a feedback loop for stabilizing an emission wavelength of the laser" (col. 5, lines 8-17 and Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 18, Chen discloses, "Wherein the raw wavelength-indicative signal Λraw comprises phase-indicative signals from each of one or more Mach-Zehnder interferometers (MZIs)" (col. 3, lines 51-66 and Fig. 3, pt. 310).
Regarding claim 19, Chen discloses, "Wherein the computing of ΛTC comprises computing a relative frequency from the output of each of the one or more MZIs" (col. 3, lines 51-66 and Fig. 3, pt. 310).
The combination of Chen and Tabata does not explicitly disclose, "[The computing of ΛTC comprises] computing a free spectral range (FSR) for each of the one or more MZIs." "Wherein each of said relative frequency and FSR computations takes into account a local temperature obtained from the temperature sensors." The examiner takes Official Notice of the fact that it was known in the art to calculate the free spectral range of an MZI on the basis of physical parameters thereof. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to calculate the free spectral range of the MZI element, since such a calculation would allow operational parameters to be adjusted according to operational conditions.
Claims 2, 3, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, in view of Tabata, and further in view of Jones (US Pub. 2010/0246617).
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses, "Wherein the wavemeter functional elements are formed in the semiconductor substrate" (col. 4, lines 61-65 and Fig. 3, pts. 300 and 310).
The combination of Chen and Tabata does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein at least a portion of the tunable semiconductor laser is bonded to the semiconductor substrate." Jones discloses, "Wherein at least a portion of the tunable semiconductor laser is bonded to the semiconductor substrate" (p. [0040] and Fig. 6A, pts. 623 and 631). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Chen and Tabata with the teachings of Jones. In view of the teachings of Chen regarding a tunable laser device integrated atop a silicon substrate, the particular configuration of the laser device as a hybrid InP/SOI laser as taught by Jones would enhance the teachings of Chen and Tabata by providing a suitable arrangement for implementing the required laser device.
Regarding claim 3, The combination of Chen, Tabata, and Jones does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the temperature sensors are formed in the semiconductor substrate." The examiner takes Official Notice of the fact that it was known in the art to form temperature sensors within a silicon substrate. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the temperature sensors within the substrate, since integral formation of the sensors would allow the sensors to be formed close to the elements to be monitored.
Regarding claim 11, The combination of Chen and Tabata does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the semiconductor laser is a heterogeneously integrated III-V laser." Jones discloses, "Wherein the semiconductor laser is a heterogeneously integrated III-V laser" (p. [0041] and Fig. 6A, pts. 623 and 631). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Chen and Tabata with the teachings of Jones for the reasons provided above regarding claim 2.
Regarding claim 12, The combination of Chen and Tabata does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the semiconductor laser is an InP-on-SOI heterogeneous laser." "The laser comprises a silicon waveguide monolithically integrated on the silicon or SOI substrate." Jones discloses, "Wherein the semiconductor laser is an InP-on-SOI heterogeneous laser" (p. [0041] and Fig. 6A, pts. 623 and 631). "The laser comprises a silicon waveguide monolithically integrated on the silicon or SOI substrate" (p. [0040] and Fig. 6A, pts. 623 and 631). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Chen and Tabata with the teachings of Jones for the reasons provided above regarding claim 2.
Claims 6, 14 through 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, in view of Tabata, and further in view of Parker et al. (Parker, US Pub. 2018/0100967).
Regarding claim 6, The combination of Chen and Tabata does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the control circuit is configured to retrieve values of control parameters from a lookup table." "The control circuit is configured to generate the tuning signals from the values retrieved from the lookup table." Parker discloses, "Wherein the control circuit is configured to retrieve values of control parameters from a lookup table" (p. [0060]). "The control circuit is configured to generate the tuning signals from the values retrieved from the lookup table" (p. [0060]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Chen and Tabata with the teachings of Parker. In view of the teachings of Chen regarding a tunable laser device integrated atop a silicon substrate with an MZI based wavemeter that includes a temperature sensor, the additional inclusion of a lookup table for storing and retrieving operational parameters as well as the additional inclusion of multiple MZI detectors as taught by Parker would enhance the teachings of Chen and Tabata by allowing for improved response time by reducing redundant computations and by allowing for a wider tuning range.
Regarding claim 14, Chen discloses, "Varying a vector that comprises one or more operating parameters of the laser" (col. 4, lines 13-18). "A temperature-corrected wavelength-indicative signal ΛTC is computed for each of a plurality of values of the operating parameter vector" (col. 5, lines 8-17 and Fig. 4).
The combination of Chen and Tabata does not explicitly disclose, "Recording data indicative of a relation between the operating parameter vector values and temperature-corrected wavelength values derived from ΛTC." Parker discloses, "Recording data indicative of a relation between the operating parameter vector values and temperature-corrected wavelength values derived from ΛTC" (p. [0063]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Chen and Tabata with the teachings of Parker for the reasons provided above regarding claim 6.
Regarding claim 15, The combination of Chen and Tabata does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the recording of data is carried out so as to compile a lookup table of wavelength-tuning control values for the laser." Parker discloses, "Wherein the recording of data is carried out so as to compile a lookup table of wavelength-tuning control values for the laser" (p. [0063]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Chen and Tabata with the teachings of Parker for the reasons provided above regarding claim 6.
Regarding claim 16, The combination of Chen and Tabata does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the recording of data is carried out so as to modify a pre-existing lookup table of wavelength-tuning control values for the laser." Parker discloses, "Wherein the recording of data is carried out so as to modify a pre-existing lookup table of wavelength-tuning control values for the laser" (p. [0063]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Chen and Tabata with the teachings of Parker for the reasons provided above regarding claim 6.
Regarding claim 20, The combination of Chen and Tabata does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the raw wavelength-indicative signal Λraw is obtained from a wavemeter comprising four Mach-Zehnder interferometers." Parker discloses, "Wherein the raw wavelength-indicative signal Λraw is obtained from a wavemeter comprising four Mach-Zehnder interferometers" (p. [0054]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Chen and Tabata with the teachings of Parker for the reasons provided above regarding claim 6.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN P HAGAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2828