Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parekh et al., USPN 2022/0210196, in view of Patel et al., USPN 2021/0211452, in further view of Tamir et al., USPN 2018/0219908.
With regard to claims 6 and 1, Parekh discloses a method of performing cybersecurity risk tracking (0077-0078), including steps of associating parameters with activities an organization is required to or should perform (0138, 0078, 0075, 0081), quantitatively classifying cybersecurity compliance with respect to the parameters (0094, 0079), identifying deficiencies with respect to the cybersecurity compliance (0094), and reporting at least some of the cybersecurity compliance and deficiencies (0093-0095), wherein the step of identifying deficiencies uses an adaptive risk model (0041, 0082), and wherein the adaptive risk model further includes at least identifying capability for cybersecurity (0097, 0075), quantifiably measuring cybersecurity maturity based at least in part on the identifying of capability (0097, 0094, 0081, 0082), prioritizing remediation activities based at least in part on the measuring (0075, 0094), and focusing remediation efforts based at least in part on the prioritizing (0075, 0094), and wherein the steps of associating and identifying are performed in a software as a service framework agnostic manner (0082). Parekh further discloses setting a baseline for triggering alerts (098), but does not disclose that a baseline for compliance is corrected at least in part based on the adaptive risk model and a definition of possibly highest potential impacts to delivery of business services. Patel discloses an adaptive (0065) cybersecurity risk tracking system (0003, 0037) similar to that of Parekh. Patel further discloses a baseline for compliance is corrected at least in part based on the adaptive risk model (“at least one management action to each vulnerability” 0038). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date, to implement the baseline remediation of Patel in the method of Parekh for the motivation of improved protection of most vulnerable and valuable assets, to better protect from greater risk. Patel discloses that part of determining the risk baseline is a definition of possibly highest potential impacts to patients, such as not having a CT scanner available (0066), but does not specifically disclose the potential impact is to delivery of business services. Parekh also does not teach this limitation. Tamir discloses a system of prioritizing risk of cyber-attacks and remediation (0003, 0049-0066), similar to that of Patel and Parekh, and further discloses the risk baseline is and a definition of possibly highest potential impacts to delivery of business services (0073, 0086). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date, to consider the business services affected by a cyber-attack, as taught by Tamir, in the prioritization system of Parekh in view of Patel for the motivation of improved protection and intelligent prioritization, a stated motivation of Parekh (0074, 0094), Patel (0002) and Tamir (0003).
With regard to claims 2 and 7, Parekh in view of Patel in further view of Tamir discloses the system of claim 1, and Parekh further discloses the reporting is via a cybersecurity risk tracker (0099-0100, 0094).
With regard to claims 3 and 8, Parekh in view of Patel in further view of Tamir discloses the system of claim 1, and Parekh further discloses tying at least some of the cybersecurity compliance and deficiencies to a vendor (0072-0078).
With regard to claims 4 and 9, in Parekh view of Patel in further view of Tamir discloses the system of claim 1, and Parekh further discloses the vendor is reported via a cybersecurity risk tracker (0072-0078, 0099-0100, 0094).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10 November 2025 have been fully considered, and in combination with the amendments to the claims filed 10 November 2025, they overcame the previous rejection. The amendment necessitated further search and consideration, which resulted in the rejection outlined above.
References Cited
Gill et al., USPN 2011/0126111, discloses a system identifies incidents that are likely to cause significant impact to business services (0071, 0123-0125) in a software as a service framework agnostic manner (0101), but was not seen as the best prior art to use in forming a rejection to the instant claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACOB LIPMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434