DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 34-52 are currently pending in the application with claims 34 and 44 being amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 34, 38-40 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kruger et a. (US 9,208,561 B2) in view of Kempinski (US 20140253737 A1).
Concerning claim 34, Kruger et al. (hereinafter Kruger) teaches a method for non-tactile patient registration of an object with a position detection system (col. 3, ll. 19-34), the method comprising:
photogrammetrically generating a surface model of the object based on one or more images captured with an image sensor unit positioned at a capturing position (col. 4, ll. 30-39, col. 5, ll. 35-36, l. 50 – performing a plurality of image recordings of a surface of the object or body part; col. 5, ll. 38-40: photogrammetrically generating a surface model of the object from the captured image), wherein the position detection system is an electromagnetic position detection system that has a working space having a predetermined electromagnetic field strength (col. 4, ll. 40-54), and wherein the image sensor unit comprises a position sensor positioned separate from the object (col. 2, ll. 65-67; fig. 2: position sensor 14’; col. 5, ll. 53-60);
determining the capturing position in a coordinate system of the position detection system, based on a sensor signal from the position sensor (col. 3, ll. 9-12 col. 5, ll. 56-60); and
relating the photogrammetrically generated surface model of the object to the position detection system based at least in part on the capturing position (col. 2, ll. 47-52).
Not explicitly taught is the image sensor unit comprising a motion sensor.
Kempinski teaches a method of detecting movement of a body part in an image captured by an operator of the imager which is capturing the image using a motion sensor that is associated with an imager (e.g., an imaging device) (fig. 4: steps 400-406, ¶0072). Further, the motion sensor may be incorporated into the imaging device (¶0034).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of tracking a position and orientation of an imaging device of Kruger in the manner described by Kempinski because it allows the tracking of an object when the tracking device is portable, moving or unstable (Kempinski, ¶0001). Thus a position or orientation, or a change in position or orientation, of the imaging device may be determined concurrently with tracking of an object by the imaging device (Kempinski, ¶0018).
Concerning claim 38, Kruger further teaches the method of claim 34, wherein the image sensor unit comprises one or more stereographic cameras, one or more cameras in a multi-camera arrangement, one or more infrared image sensors (col. 4, ll. 19-24), or a combination thereof.
Concerning claim 39, Kruger further teaches the method of claim 38, wherein the method comprises capturing the one or more images with the image sensor unit position at a capturing position outside of the working space (col. 4, ll. 40-54)
Concerning claim 40, Kruger in view of Kempinski teaches the method of claim 34, wherein the motion sensor is configured to track position of the image sensor unit along a path on which the image sensor unit is moved (Kruger, now incorporating the teachings of Pflugi,: fig. 2: position sensor 14’ (now a motion sensor); col. 5, ll. 53-60, Kempinski ¶0020).
Concerning claim 43, Kruger further teaches the method of claim 34, wherein the object is a face of a subject depicted in a captured image (fig. 3: pattern 22 is image on the surface of a subject’s head (i.e., a face in fig. 3)).
Claims 35-37, 44-49 and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kruger et a. (US 9,208,561 B2) in view of Kempinski (US 20140253737 A1), further in view of Pflugi et al. (“Augmented Marker Tracking for Peri-Acetabular Osteotomy Surgery”, 11 July 2017).
Concerning claim 35, Kruger in view of Kempinski teaches the method of claim 34. Not explicitly taught is the method, wherein, determining the capturing position comprises: detecting motion of the image sensor unit along a path relative to the position detection system, based on the sensor signal from the motion sensor; defining a spatial relationship that relates at least one point on the path in a coordinate system of the motion sensor to a known position in a coordinate system of the position detection system; and determining the capturing position in the coordinate system of the position detection system based on the detected motion of the image sensor along the path and the defined spatial relationship.
Pflugi teaches an augmented marker tracking system, wherein an inertial measurement unit (IMU) is used to measure the system’s orientation (Abstract); and
detecting motion of the image sensor unit along a path relative to the position detection system, based on the sensor signal from the motion sensor (section II-F: motion signals from the IMU are recorded (i.e., recording a path) and fused with the optically derived positions by a Kalman filter);
defining a spatial relationship that relates at least one point on the path in a coordinate system of the motion sensor to a known position in a coordinate system of the position detection system (section II-F; fig. 4: The Kalman filter is initialized using the first pose estimate from marker tracking); and
determining the capturing position in the coordinate system of the position detection system based on the detected motion of the image sensor along the path and the defined spatial relationship (section II-F: The subsequent positions of the augmented marker are then determined by the prediction/update steps of the Kalman filter based on this initial pose estimate and the recorded path. When marker detection fails, the filter does not perform an update step and instead, the final orientation output is the one after the prediction step.).
Taking the teachings of Kruger, Kempinski and Pflugi together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kruger in the manner taught by Pflugi by using a motion sensor in order to determine the capturing position in a coordinate system of the position detection system. Such a modification is merely a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Concerning claim 36, Pflugi further teaches the method of claim 35, wherein the path starts at the known position in the coordinate system of the position detection system and ends at the capturing position (fig. 4: The Kalman filter is initialized using the first pose estimate from marker tracking (i.e., the start position is known in the coordinate system of the position detection system)).
Concerning claim 37, Pflugi further teaches the method of claim 35, wherein the path starts at the capturing position and ends at the known position in the coordinate system of the position detection system (fig. 4: The Kalman filter being bidirectional allows for data to be run forward and backward (i.e., the start position being the capturing position and ending at the known position in the coordinate system)).
Concerning claim 44, Kruger et al. (hereinafter Kruger) teaches a method for non-tactile patient registration of an object with a position detection system (col. 3, ll. 19-34), the method comprising:
photogrammetrically generating a surface model of the object based on one or more images captured with an image sensor unit positioned at a capturing position (col. 4, ll. 30-39, col. 5, ll. 35-36, l. 50 – performing a plurality of image recordings of a surface of the object or body part; col. 5, ll. 38-40: photogrammetrically generating a surface model of the object from the captured image), wherein the image sensor unit comprises a position sensor positioned separate from the object (col. 2, ll. 65-67; fig. 2: position sensor 14’; col. 5, ll. 53-60);
determining the capturing position in a coordinate system of the position detection system, based on a sensor signal from the position sensor (col. 3, ll. 9-12 col. 5, ll. 56-60); and
relating the photogrammetrically generated surface model of the object to the position detection system based at least in part on the capturing position (col. 2, ll. 47-52). Not explicitly taught is the image sensor unit comprising a motion sensor.
Kempinski teaches a method of detecting movement of a body part in an image captured by an operator of the imager which is capturing the image, using a motion sensor that is associated with an imager (e.g., an imaging device) (fig. 4: steps 400-406, ¶0072). Further, the motion sensor may be incorporated into the imaging device (¶0034).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of tracking a position and orientation of an imaging device of Kruger in the manner described by Kempinski because it allows the tracking of an object when the tracking device is portable, moving or unstable (Kempinski, ¶0001). Thus a position or orientation, or a change in position or orientation, of the imaging device may be determined concurrently with tracking of an object by the imaging device (Kempinski, ¶0018).
Not explicitly taught by Kruger or Kempinski is the method, wherein, determining the capturing position comprises: detecting motion of the image sensor unit along a path relative to the position detection system, based on the sensor signal from the motion sensor; defining a spatial relationship that relates at least one point on the path in a coordinate system of the motion sensor to a known position in a coordinate system of the position detection system; and determining the capturing position in the coordinate system of the position detection system based on the detected motion of the image sensor along the path and the defined spatial relationship.
Pflugi teaches an augmented marker tracking system, wherein an inertial measurement unit (IMU) is used to measure the system’s orientation (Abstract); and
detecting motion of the image sensor unit along a path relative to the position detection system, based on the sensor signal from the motion sensor (section II-F: motion signals from the IMU are recorded (i.e., recording a path) and fused with the optically derived positions by a Kalman filter);
defining a spatial relationship that relates at least one point on the path in a coordinate system of the motion sensor to a known position in a coordinate system of the position detection system (section II-F; fig. 4: The Kalman filter is initialized using the first pose estimate from marker tracking); and
determining the capturing position in the coordinate system of the position detection system based on the detected motion of the image sensor along the path and the defined spatial relationship (section II-F: The subsequent positions of the augmented marker are then determined by the prediction/update steps of the Kalman filter based on this initial pose estimate and the recorded path. When marker detection fails, the filter does not perform an update step and instead, the final orientation output is the one after the prediction step.).
Taking the teachings of Kruger, Kempinski and Pflugi together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kruger in the manner taught by Pflugi by using a motion sensor in order to determine the capturing position in a coordinate system of the position detection system. Such a modification is merely a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Concerning claim 45, Pflugi further teaches the method of claim 44, wherein the path starts at the known position in the coordinate system of the position detection system and ends at the capturing position (fig. 4: The Kalman filter is initialized using the first pose estimate from marker tracking (i.e., the start position is known in the coordinate system of the position detection system)).
Concerning claim 46, Pflugi further teaches the method of claim 44, wherein the path starts at the capturing position and ends at the known position in the coordinate system of the position detection system (fig. 4: The Kalman filter being bidirectional allows for data to be run forward and backward (i.e., the start position being the capturing position and ending at the known position in the coordinate system)).
Concerning claim 47, Kruger further teaches the method of claim 44, wherein the image sensor unit comprises one or more stereographic cameras, one or more cameras in a multi-camera arrangement, one or more infrared image sensors (col. 4, ll. 19-24), or a combination thereof.
Concerning claim 48, Kruger further teaches the method of claim 44, wherein the position detection system is an electromagnetic position detection system (col. 4, ll. 40-54), and wherein the position detection system has a working space having a predetermined electromagnetic field strength (col. 4, ll. 40-54).
Concerning claim 49, Kruger further teaches the method of claim 48, wherein the method comprises capturing the one or more images with the image sensor unit position at a capturing position outside of the working space (col. 4, ll. 40-54).
Concerning claim 52, Kruger further teaches the method of claim 344, wherein the object is a face of a subject depicted in a captured image (fig. 3: pattern 22 is image on the surface of a subject’s head (i.e., a face in fig. 3)).
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kruger et a. (US 9,208,561 B2) in view of Kempinski (US 20140253737 A1), further in view of Lang (US 2017/0258526 A1) and in further view of Drako (US 20180225523 A1).
Concerning claim 41, Kruger in view of Kempinski teaches the method of claim 34. Not explicitly taught is the method, wherein capturing the one or more images captured with an image sensor unit positioned at a capturing position further comprises: analyzing streaming image data of the image sensor unit; and automatically triggering image capture based upon certain conditions.
Lang teaches methods for computer assisted surgery, wherein capturing the one or more images captured with an image sensor unit positioned at a capturing position further comprises:
analyzing streaming image data of the image sensor unit (¶1220: live stream of data); and
automatically triggering image capture based upon certain conditions (¶¶1270-1271: recognizing an anatomic landmark, optical marker, etc.).
Taking the teachings of Kruger, Kempinski and Lang together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Kruger invention to capture and analyze streaming data and automatically triggering image capture based upon certain conditions in order to automatically activate the system. It is noted that Kruger, Kempinski and Lang fail to explicitly teach automatically triggering image capture based upon recognition of the object in a certain position relative to the image sensor unit.
Drako teaches a system, wherein image capture is triggered when certain postures or orientation of a skeleton are detected (¶0041). Taking the teachings of Kruger, Kempinski, Lang and Drako together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Kruger invention to capture and analyze streaming data and automatically triggering image capture based upon recognition of the object in a certain position relative to the image sensor unit in order to automatically activate the system.
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kruger et a. (US 9,208,561 B2) in view of Kempinski (US 20140253737 A1), further in view of Lang (US 2017/0258526 A1) and in further view of Zhang et al. (US 20170356824 A1).
Concerning claim 42, Kruger in view of Kempinski teaches the method of claim 34. Not explicitly taught is the method, wherein capturing the one or more images captured with an image sensor unit positioned at a capturing position further comprises: analyzing streaming image data of the image sensor unit; and automatically triggering image capture based upon certain conditions.
Lang teaches methods for computer assisted surgery, wherein capturing the one or more images captured with an image sensor unit positioned at a capturing position further comprises:
analyzing streaming image data of the image sensor unit (¶1220: live stream of data); and
automatically triggering image capture based upon certain conditions (¶¶1270-1271: recognizing an anatomic landmark, optical marker, etc.).
Taking the teachings of Kruger, Kempinski and Lang together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Kruger invention to capture and analyze streaming data and automatically triggering image capture based upon certain conditions in order to automatically activate the system. It is noted that Kruger, Kempinski and Lang fail to explicitly teach automatically triggering image capture based upon a positional relation between a reference position sensor attached to the object and the image sensor unit.
Zhang et al. (hereinafter Zhang) teaches a system, wherein image capture is triggered based upon a positional relation between a reference position sensor attached to the object and the image sensor unit (¶0027: image capture begins by way of at least one position sensor). Taking the teachings of Kruger, Kempinski, Lang and Zhang together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Kruger invention to capture and analyze streaming data and automatically triggering image capture based upon a positional relation between a reference position sensor attached to the object and the image sensor unit in order to automatically activate the system.
Claim 50 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kruger et a. (US 9,208,561 B2) in view of Kempinski (US 20140253737 A1), further in view of Pflugi et al. (“Augmented Marker Tracking for Peri-Acetabular Osteotomy Surgery”, 11 July 2017), further in view of Lang (US 2017/0258526 A1) and in further view of Drako (US 20180225523 A1).
Concerning claim 50, Kruger in view of Kempinski, further in view of Pflugi teaches the method of claim 44. Not explicitly taught is the method, wherein capturing the one or more images captured with an image sensor unit positioned at a capturing position further comprises: analyzing streaming image data of the image sensor unit; and automatically triggering image capture based upon certain conditions.
Lang teaches methods for computer assisted surgery, wherein capturing the one or more images captured with an image sensor unit positioned at a capturing position further comprises:
analyzing streaming image data of the image sensor unit (¶1220: live stream of data); and
automatically triggering image capture based upon certain conditions (¶¶1270-1271: recognizing an anatomic landmark, optical marker, etc.).
Taking the teachings of Kruger, Kempinski, Pflugi and Lang together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Kruger invention to capture and analyze streaming data and automatically triggering image capture based upon certain conditions in order to automatically activate the system. It is noted that Kruger, Kempinski, Pflugi and Lang fail to explicitly teach automatically triggering image capture based upon recognition of the object in a certain position relative to the image sensor unit.
Drako teaches a system, wherein image capture is triggered when certain postures or orientation of a skeleton are detected (¶0041). Taking the teachings of Kruger, Kempinski, Pflugi, Lang and Drako together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Kruger invention to capture and analyze streaming data and automatically triggering image capture based upon recognition of the object in a certain position relative to the image sensor unit in order to automatically activate the system.
Claim 51 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kruger et a. (US 9,208,561 B2) in view of Kempinski (US 20140253737 A1), further in view of Pflugi et al. (“Augmented Marker Tracking for Peri-Acetabular Osteotomy Surgery”, 11 July 2017), further in view of Lang (US 2017/0258526 A1) and in further view of Zhang et al. (US 20170356824 A1).
Concerning claim 51, Kruger in view of Kempinski, further in view of Pflugi teaches the method of claim 44. Not explicitly taught is the method, wherein capturing the one or more images captured with an image sensor unit positioned at a capturing position further comprises: analyzing streaming image data of the image sensor unit; and automatically triggering image capture based upon certain conditions.
Lang teaches methods for computer assisted surgery, wherein capturing the one or more images captured with an image sensor unit positioned at a capturing position further comprises:
analyzing streaming image data of the image sensor unit (¶1220: live stream of data); and
automatically triggering image capture based upon certain conditions (¶¶1270-1271: recognizing an anatomic landmark, optical marker, etc.).
Taking the teachings of Kruger, Kempinski, Pflugi and Lang together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Kruger invention to capture and analyze streaming data and automatically triggering image capture based upon certain conditions in order to automatically activate the system. It is noted that Kruger, Kempinski, Pflugi and Lang fail to explicitly teach automatically triggering image capture based upon a positional relation between a reference position sensor attached to the object and the image sensor unit.
Zhang et al. (hereinafter Zhang) teaches a system, wherein image capture is triggered based upon a positional relation between a reference position sensor attached to the object and the image sensor unit (¶0027: image capture begins by way of at least one position sensor). Taking the teachings of Kruger, Kempinski, Pflugi, Lang and Zhang together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Kruger invention to capture and analyze streaming data and automatically triggering image capture based upon a positional relation between a reference position sensor attached to the object and the image sensor unit in order to automatically activate the system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Section I (pages 6-12) of the remarks, filed 10/08/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 34-52 have been fully considered, but upon further consideration they are moot in view of new grounds of rejection made in view of Kempinski because the new grounds of rejection does not rely on Cajigas for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the arguments.
Conclusion
/James M Anderson II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425