DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Non-Final Office Action in response to applicant’s amendments filed on March 6th 2026. Claims 1-6, 8-15 and 17- 22 are pending.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6, 8-15 and 17- 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-15 and 17-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baik (US 2021/0341940) in view of Eilertsen (US 2021/0209946) in view of Adachi et al. (US 2011/0106444) and in further view of Ko et al. (US 2019/0227567) in view of Miwa (2012/0262482)
Regarding Claim 1, Baik teaches a map level indication method comprises:
obtaining a traveling status of a target vehicle from the target vehicle (Para. 0048…the profile information of the vehicle 10 may include, for example, at least one of sensor information
regarding at least one sensor mounted on the vehicle 10, communication efficiency information of the vehicle 10, and driving information of the vehicle 10), obtaining, based on the traveling status of the target vehicle, a control parameter corresponding to the target vehicle (Para. [0046-0047]… the precise map data may provide information necessary for generating a route to the destination, continuously monitoring a current location of the vehicle 10 to move the vehicle 10 along the generated route, and determining a speed a direction of the vehicle 10, so that the vehicle 10 may perform autonomous driving),
obtaining, based on the control parameter, a first map level corresponding to the target vehicle (Para. [0047]…the server 30 may determine at least one piece of precise map data to be provided to the vehicle 10 based on profile information of the vehicle 10) ; and sending, to a target in-vehicle system of the target vehicle, a first message indicating the first map level (Para. [0056]…the vehicle 10 may receive, from the server 30, precise map data related to at least one map layer selected among the plurality of map layers based on the profile information of the vehicle 10);
wherein the first message instructs the target in-vehicle system to perform a control operation corresponding to the first map level (Para. [0084]) , and wherein the control operation comprises:
obtaining a map element corresponding to the first map level; obtaining map data corresponding to the map element, wherein the map data comprises layout information of the map element on a current traveling location of the target vehicle (Para. [0035-0037]…precise map data may be data including all information necessary for making a determination to control an operation of an autonomous vehicle. The precise map data may include basic road information, surrounding environment information, detailed road environment information (e.g., terrain elevation, terrain curvature, etc.), and dynamically changing road condition information (traffic congestion, an accident section, a construction section, etc.). The precise map data may include high-precision map data (or high-definition (HD) map data). The precise map data may include map information that is a three-dimensional (3D) representation of roads and surrounding environment within a very small error range (e.g., at a centimeter (cm) level). The precise map data may include road surroundings information represented in 3D, geometric information such as a road shape or facility structure, and semantic information such as traffic signs or lane marks).
Baik fails to teach obtaining a traveling status of a target vehicle from a roadside unit (RSU).
However, Eilertsen teaches obtaining a traveling status of a target vehicle from a roadside unit (RSU) (Para. [0046]…one of the typical parameters submitted via a RSU is the speed of the approaching or passing vehicle.)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle control method as taught by Baik with the road traffic navigation system as taught by Eilertsen to improve safety and emergency responses, and provide additional services to road users (Eilertsen, Para. [0011]).
Further, Baik fails to teach obtaining a traveling status of a target vehicle from a first vehicle.
However, Adachi teaches obtaining a traveling status of a target vehicle from a first vehicle (Para. [0032-0035, 0041]…the vehicle-to-vehicle communication unit 2 receives from another vehicle the moving state information including traveling states, such as the speed and acceleration of another vehicle and the lighting state of a blinker, and transmits it to the determination section 4a.)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Baik in view of Eilertsen with the mobile object position detecting device as taught by Adachi to provide a mobile object position detecting device capable of precisely matching the position of a mobile object to the map information and decrease the error of the mobile object being matched to the wrong road (Adachi, Para. [0004-0005]).
Further, Baik fails to teach receiving, from the target vehicle, a request message indicating a requested map level for the target vehicle and obtaining, based on the control parameter and the requested map level, a first map level corresponding to the target vehicle.
However, Ko teaches receiving, from the target vehicle, a request message indicating a requested map level for the target vehicle (Para. [0056]...the device 3000 may request and receive only the fourth layer 240 of the precise digital map from the central server 1000. Alternatively, the device 3000 may request and receive only the first and second layers 210 and 220 of the precise digital map from the central server 1000); and obtaining, based on the control parameter and the requested map level, a first map level corresponding to the target vehicle (Para. [0077-0080]… upon receiving a user input for commanding start of autonomous driving, the device 3000 may request a precise digital map of the autonomous driving section from the central server 1000…. the device 3000 may request some layers of a plurality of layers constituting the precise digital map. For example, the device 3000 may receive only a third layer including information of a traffic status and a signal period of a signal light among the plurality of layers from the central server 1000 and display the precise digital map to which the received third layer is reflected.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Baik in view of Eilertsen and Adachi with the method of receiving a map as taught by Ko to travel more safely and efficiently through a surrounding environment by using the digital map together with information acquired by the sensors (Ko. Para. [0005]).
Finally, Baik fails to teach determining, based on a mapping relationship between the first map level and a map precision level, the map precision level corresponding to the first map level; displaying, based on the layout information, the map element on an electronic map in a display interface)
However, Miwa teaches determining, based on a mapping relationship between the first map level and a map precision level, the map precision level corresponding to the first map level (Fig. 2, Level 1- 3, Para. [0053-0054]… lower-level layer includes detailed
data but covers a narrower range while a higher-level layer includes only coarse data but covers a wider range. For example, layer 1, the lowest level, includes road data on all roads including narrow streets but covers the range of municipal areas only while layer 3, the highest level, includes road data on expressways and toll roads only but covers the whole country.) displaying, based on the layout information, the map element on an electronic map in a display interface (Para. [0017-0018]…an image display unit that displays a map image of a display target area on a display device based on the map data acquired by the map
data acquisition unit.)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Baik in view of Eilertsen, Adachi and Ko with the map image display system as taught by Miwa to provide the user an impression of a smooth, continuous map image (Miwa, Para. [0009]).
Regarding Claim 2, Baik in view of Eilertsen, Adachi, Ko and Miwa teach the map level indication method of claim 1, further comprising obtaining, based on a preset mapping relationship, the first map level, wherein the preset mapping relationship comprises a correspondence between the first map level and the control parameter (Baik, Para. [0041]…the server 30 may provide, in response to the request for precise map data, at least one piece of precise map data for a specific route based on a predetermined criterion).
Regarding Claim 3, Baik in view of Eilertsen, Adachi, Ko and Miwa teach the map level indication method of claim 1, wherein the control parameter comprises one or more of a second vehicle speed range, a second vehicle acceleration range, a second vehicle deceleration range, a second vehicle autonomous driving level, or a category of a geographical environment in which the target vehicle is located (Baik, Para. [0053].... the profile information of the vehicle 10 may include information about levels of autonomy of the vehicle 10).
Regarding Claim 4, Baik in view of Eilertsen, Adachi, Ko and Miwa teach the map level indication method of claim 1, wherein before obtaining the first map level, the map level indication method further comprises obtaining, based on the traveling status of the target vehicle, the control parameter that is based on a value range of parameters of the traveling status of the target vehicle. (Baik, Fig. 3, Para. [0053-0054]).
Regarding Claim 5, Baik in view of Eilertsen, Adachi, Ko and Miwa teach the map level indication method of claim 1, wherein before sending the first message indicating the first map level , the map level indication method further comprises:
receiving a first traveling status of the target vehicle from the RSU or a second traveling status of the target vehicle from the target in-vehicle system( Baik, Para. [0082]…when traveling in the first area 601 (e.g., an urban core), the vehicle 10 may transmit information of a first profile ( e.g., the first profile in FIG. 3) to the server 30 ((D) and receive, from the server 30, first precise map data related to at least one map layer selected from among a plurality of map layers based on the information of the first profile); and obtaining, based on the first traveling status or the second traveling status, the control parameter (Baik, Para. [0081]…the profile information suitable for the driving situation encountered by the vehicle 10 may further include at least one of information about a surrounding environment of the vehicle 10, information about a level of autonomy in the vehicle 10, and the vehicle)
Regarding Claim 6, Baik in view of Eilertsen, Adachi, Ko and Miwa teach the map level indication method of claim 5, further comprising: receiving a third traveling status of a first vehicle from at least one first in-vehicle system other than the target in-vehicle system (Baik, Para. [0116]…the server may collect pieces of precise map data from each of the plurality of other vehicles 20); and further obtaining, based on the third traveling status, the control parameter (Baik, Para. [0082…When the vehicle 10 then moves again from the second area 602 to the third area 603 (e.g., a suburban area or highway area), the vehicle 10 may transmit information of a third profile ( e.g., the third profile in FIG. 3) to the server 30 and receive, from the server 30, third precise map data related to at least one map layer selected from among the plurality of map layers based on the information of the third profile)
Regarding Claim 8, Baik in view of Eilertsen, Adachi, Ko and Miwa teach the map level indication method of claim 1, further comprising providing, to the target in vehicle system, the map data (Baik, Para. [0064]…the precise map compiler 204 of the server 30 may generate precise map data to be transmitted to the vehicle 10 by using the extracted at least one piece of feature data. The precise map provider 205 of the server 30 may transmit the generated precise map data to the vehicle…)
Regarding Claim 9, Baik in view of Eilertsen, Adachi, Ko and Miwa teach the map level indication method of claim 1, wherein before sending the first message indicating the first map level, the map level indication method further comprises receiving, from the target in-vehicle system, a request message requesting a server to indicate a map level (Baik, Para. [0056]… as a response to the request for precise map data, the vehicle 10 may receive, from the server 30, precise map data related to at least one map layer selected among the plurality of map layers based on the profile information of the vehicle 10.)
Regarding Claims 10-15 and 17-22, please refer to the rejection of claim 1-6 and 8-9 which is commensurate in scope. Claims 10-15 and 17-22 being drawn to an apparatus and claims 1-6 and 8-9 being drawn to a method.
Conclusion
/JODI JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666