DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
3. This is an office action in response to Applicant's arguments and remarks filed on 02/11/2026. Claims 1-2, 4, 6-11, 13, and 15-29 are pending in the application. Claims 10-11, 13, 15-18, 21, and 24 have been withdrawn and claims 1-2, 4, 6-9, 19-20, 22-23, and 25-29 are being examined herein.
Status of Objections and Rejections
4. All rejections from the previous office action are maintained.
Response to Arguments
5. In the arguments presented on p.10-11 and 14 of the amendment, Applicant argues that the WT material that is part of the selection mechanism disclosed by Gardner is not removed and replaced from the apparatus.
The Examiner does not find these arguments persuasive. Although Gardner teaches that the selection mechanism allows for multiple distributions of emitted wavelengths from the same selection mechanism (i.e., the WT materials of selection mechanism do not require replacement), the rejection under 35 USC 103 was that it would have been obvious to have selected different types of WT material as disclosed in the Fig. 1B-1F embodiments offered in substitution of Fig 1A's WT material 13 (which does not impact whether or not the selection mechanism is replaced). This selection of the different embodiments would require some form of removing the original WT material and selection mechanism for another, different WT embodiment with the same or another selection mechanism. The logic is that the WT material would have to be substituted/replaced regardless of whether or not the selection mechanism was also changed, because the different embodiments provide this option.
In the arguments presented on p.10-11 and 15 of the amendment, Applicant argues that the adapter module is not removably secured to an exterior portion of the sanitizing head, because the filter 13 is not secured to an external portion of filter housing 6 in Fig. 1A.
The Examiner does not find these arguments persuasive. As stated in the office action dated 12/29/2025, in p.5 the rejection annotates the filter housing 6 and WT material 13 as the adapter module. The sanitizing head is mapped (see drawing below) as the grouping of components including the UV source 4, the housing 1, and other outlined components. Relative to this grouping, the adapter module being filter housing 6 and WT material 13 is removably coupled to the exterior of said sanitizing head grouping (via screw threads found on housing 1, Fig. 1A).
In the arguments presented on p.12-13 of the amendment, Applicant argues that Massey does not teach the limitations of "a shroud removably coupled to an exterior portion of a sanitizing head" and "a tube within a shroud and also being outside of a sanitizing head”, thus not anticipating the amended claim limitations of claim 23 and 25. The Examiner does not find these arguments persuasive.
Per drawing below, Massey teaches a shroud (treatment chamber 12, Fig. 1) removably coupled (sections 47 can open up, and thus be “removed” from the treatment chamber 12, Fig. 2 and [0035]) to an exterior portion (arrows pointing exterior to the exterior surface of sections 47, Fig. 2) of a sanitizing head (sections 47, Fig. 2) and a tube within a shroud (outer tube 20 within the housing 12, Fig. 1-2) and also being outside of a sanitizing head (the treatment chamber 12 is housed by the interface connection between the external surface/portions of the sections 47 and the outer surface of the treatment chamber 12, Fig. 2).
The remaining clarified amended limitations of claims 1, 4, 19, 20, 22-23, and 25 are not specifically argued by Applicant, but are mentioned as clarifying amendments that support the current arguments. In response, the Examiner directs the Applicant to the rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gardner (US 20080290301 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Gardner teaches an adapter module (filter housing 6 containing filter/WT assembly of Fig. 1E, Fig. 1A) removably coupled to a sanitizing head (housing 6 is screwed onto housing 1, Fig. 1A) having an ultraviolet (UV) lamp that is configured to emit UV light (UV light source 4, Fig. 1A, see drawing below),
the adapter module comprising: a shroud or frame (housing 6, Fig. 1A) that is separate, distinct, (exploded view of Fig. 1A of the adapter module grouping and the sanitizing head grouping imply that these are separate and distinct) and outside of the sanitizing head (the adapter module grouping above is external to the coupling interface of the screw threads on housing 1 when the whole apparatus is coupled, Fig. 1A), wherein the shroud or frame is removably secured directly to an exterior portion of the sanitizing head at a coupling interface (housing 6 is screwed onto housing 1 and UV lamp 4, which is coupled/screwed at an external facing-side and thus portion); and
an optical filter coupled to the shroud or the frame (filter/WT assembly Fig. 1E are secured to filter housing 6 when screwed onto housing 1, Fig. 1A),
wherein the optical filter is configured to filter the UV light emitted by the UV lamp (“selecting at will between UV A, UV B, UV C radiation, and visible radiation”, [0008], understood to be optical filtering).
While it is true that both the UV radiation source and the filter/WT assembly are housed within the filter housing 6 of Fig. 1A (see [0025]), these components are still separate. Gardner’s mention of “the UV radiation source 4, and the WT filter 13 is actually disposed within the filter housing 6” ([0025]) does not take away from the fact that the UV radiation source, WT filter, and the housing are separable components (i.e., they can be grouped differently). Furthermore, the UV radiation source needs to be attached to the battery 3 (which is housed within housing 1, Fig. 1A) to be operable, and thus, the components of battery 3, housing 1, end cap 2, and UV radiation source 4 can be mapped as a “sanitizing head”. It is important to note that the filter housing 6 containing the filter/WT assembly surrounds the UV radiation source connected to the battery, and is thus external to the outer surface bounding the UV radiation source 4.
8. Claims 23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Massey et al. (US 20200330629 A1)
Regarding claim 23, Massey teaches an adapter module (chamber 12, Fig. 1-2) removably coupled to a sanitizing head (sections 47, Fig. 2, where “each section 47 is independently removable without the need to remove an associated treatment chamber or mated section 47”, [0035]),
wherein the sanitizing head is distinct from the adapter module (sections 47 do not include chamber 12, Fig. 2), the adapter module comprising:
a shroud (treatment chamber 12, Fig. 1-2) that is separate, distinct (Fig. 1 shows the treatment chamber being a separate component relative to sections 47, Fig. 2), and outside of the sanitizing head (the treatment chamber 12 is housed by the interface connection between the external surface/portions of the sections 47 and the outer surface of the treatment chamber 12, Fig. 2, thus being external/outside of the sections 47, see arrows in drawing below; alternatively, the input pipe 30 and output pipes 34 are also considered external to the sections 47, Fig. 1-2), wherein the shroud is removably coupled to an exterior portion of the sanitizing head at a coupling interface (sections 47 are removable with respect to chamber 12 at the junction/coupling interface between chamber 12 and sections 47, Fig. 2 and [0035], where an external portion of the sections 47 would thus be any region/area of the apparatus that is external relative to the section 47, see drawing below, where the black outline of a section 47 has arrows pointing externally indicating an exterior portion, to which the chamber 12 is directly facing),
and a tube within the shroud (outer tube 20, Fig. 2) outside of the sanitizing head (external to sections 47 as the drawing above depicts), the tube defining a fluid passage (fluid passage of outer tube 20, Fig. 1) in fluid communication with an inlet (input opening 32, Fig. 1) and an outlet (outlet opening 36, Fig. 2) within the shroud (treatment chamber 12, Fig. 1), wherein the tube is transparent ([0030]),
wherein the fluid passage is configured to receive fluid through the inlet (fluid traverses first through input opening 32, Fig. 1) and pass the fluid out of the outlet (fluid exits through output opening 36, Fig. 1), and wherein the UV lamp is configured to emit the UV light through the tube and into the fluid passage as the fluid passes through the fluid passage between the inlet and the outlet (UV light from UV lamps 14 traverses through transparent outer tube 20 to fluid as the fluid traverses from input to output, Fig. 1-2, [0004], and [0029]).
Regarding claim 25, Massey teaches an adaptable sanitizing system (device 10, Fig. 1-2) comprising: a sanitizing head including an ultraviolet (UV) lamp configured to emit UV light (sections 47 having UV lamps 14 to emit UV light, [0035]); and
an adapter module that is separate, distinct (Fig. 1 shows the treatment chamber being a separate component relative to sections 47, Fig. 2), and outside of the sanitizing head (the treatment chamber 12 is housed by the interface connection between the external surface/portions of the sections 47 and the outer surface of the treatment chamber 12, Fig. 2, thus being external/outside of the sections 47, see arrows in drawing below; alternatively, the input pipe 30 and output pipes 34 are also considered external to the sections 47, Fig. 1-2), wherein the adapter module is removably coupled to an exterior portion of the sanitizing head (treatment chamber 12 that is removable with respect to sections 47, [0035], where an external portion of the sections 47 would thus be any region/area of the apparatus that is external relative to the section 47, see drawing below, where the black outline of a section 47 has arrows pointing externally indicating an exterior portion, to which the chamber 12 is directly facing),
wherein the adapter module is distinct from the sanitizing head (sections 47 do not include chamber 12, Fig. 2), the adapter module comprising:
a shroud (treatment chamber 12, Fig. 1-2) removably coupled to the exterior portion of the sanitizing head (external to sections 47 as the drawing above depicts) at a coupling interface (sections 47 are removable with respect to chamber 12 at the junction/coupling interface between chamber 12 and sections 47, Fig. 2 and [0035]); and
a tube within the shroud (outer tube 20, Fig. 1) and outside of the sanitizing head (external to sections 47 as the drawing above depicts), the tube defining a fluid passage (fluid passage of outer tube 20, Fig. 1) in fluid communication with an inlet (input opening 32, Fig. 1) and an outlet (outlet opening 36, Fig. 2) within the shroud (treatment chamber 12, Fig. 1), wherein the tube is transparent ([0030]),
wherein the fluid passage is configured to receive fluid through the inlet (fluid traverses first through input opening 32, Fig. 1) and pass the fluid out of the outlet (fluid exits through output opening 36, Fig. 1), and wherein the UV lamp is configured to emit the UV light through the tube and into the fluid passage as the fluid passes through the fluid passage between the inlet and the outlet (UV light from UV lamps 14 traverses through transparent outer tube 20 to fluid as the fluid traverses from input to output, Fig. 1-2, [0004], and [0029]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1-2, 4, 6-7, 19, 22, and 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gardner (US 20080290301 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gardner teaches an adaptable sanitizing system (flashlight 11, Fig. 1A), comprising: a sanitizing head (UV light source 4 housed within body 1, Fig. 1A) including an ultraviolet (UV) lamp configured to emit UV light (UV light source 4, Fig. 1A, see drawing below);
one or more first adapter modules (adapter module grouping, see drawing above) that are separate, distinct (exploded view of Fig. 1A of the adapter module grouping and the sanitizing head grouping imply that these are separate and distinct, even down to the individual components), and outside of the sanitizing head (the adapter module grouping above is external to the coupling interface of the screw threads on housing 1 when the whole apparatus is coupled, Fig. 1A), wherein the one or more first adapter modules are configured to removably secure directly to an exterior portion of the sanitizing head at a coupling interface (filters 13 coupled to wavelength transforming (WT) material 14 that is external to UV light source 4, Fig. 1A and 1E, where the filter/WT material assembly can be replaced, see [0010], and the filter housing 6 is screwed into housing 1, thus securing the filter assembly of Fig. 1E to the housing 1, Fig. 1A) wherein the one or more first adapter modules are configured to perform optical filtering (“selecting at will between UV A, UV B, UV C radiation, and visible radiation”, [0008], understood to be optical filtering).
With this Fig. 1A flashlight apparatus utilizing the Fig. 1E configuration of a wavelength transforming filter, Gardner fails to anticipate one or more second adapter modules that are separate, distinct, and outside of the sanitizing head, wherein the one or more second adapter modules are configured to removably secure directly to the exterior portion of the sanitizing head at the coupling interface, wherein the one or more second adapter modules are configured to perform optical wavelength converting, fluid sanitizing, or object sanitizing.
Gardner in another filter configuration (Fig. 1F rather than 1E) teaches one or more second adapter modules that are separate, distinct, (exploded view of Fig. 1A of the adapter module grouping utilizing the filter material of Fig. 1F and the sanitizing head grouping imply that these are separate and distinct, even down to the individual components), and outside of the sanitizing head (the adapter module grouping above is external to the coupling interface of the screw threads on housing 1 when the whole apparatus is coupled, Fig. 1A), wherein the one or more second adapter modules are configured to removably secure directly to an exterior portion of the sanitizing head at a coupling interface (filters 13 coupled to wavelength transforming (WT) material 14 that is external to UV light source 4, Fig. 1A and 1F, where the filter/WT material assembly can be replaced, see [0010] and abstract, and the filter housing 6 is screwed into housing 1, thus securing the filter assembly of Fig. 1F to the housing 1, Fig. 1A, where Fig. 1B-1G show variable wavelength filters that can be coupled to the apparatus 11, see [0011], and thus 1F is different than 1E and can be considered a “second” adapter module), wherein the one or more second adapter modules are configured to perform optical wavelength converting (“The WT materials (14-14n below) of any preferred embodiments may comprise any material or system that absorbs light of one wavelength or band of wavelengths and emits light of another wavelength or band of wavelengths, thus modifying the distribution of spectral density”, Fig. 1A-1G and [0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to try each of the known six different wavelength filter configurations, specifically Fig. 1F’s filter/WT assembly (thus, a “second” adapter module) to yield a wavelength transforming material and filter suitable for the UV-radiation flashlight apparatus of Fig. 1A. The results would have been predictable, because the functionality of both Fig. 1E and 1F’s filter/WT configurations remain the same (i.e., optical filtering and/or optical wavelength converting), but different in terms of structure.
Regarding claim 2, modified Gardner teaches wherein the one or more second adapter modules are configured to perform optical wavelength converting (“The WT materials (14-14n below) of any preferred embodiments may comprise any material or system that absorbs light of one wavelength or band of wavelengths and emits light of another wavelength or band of wavelengths, thus modifying the distribution of spectral density”, Fig. 1A-1G and [0018]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Gardner teaches wherein the one or more first adapter modules and the one or more second adapter modules are interchangeably securable in relation to the exterior portion of the sanitizing head ([0010] mentions “selection of the radiation to be emitted 18 is made via placing the WT filter 13 between the primary UV radiation source 4”, where if the filter assemblies 1E-1F can be placed external to UV source 4 and secured, then the reverse is also implied (i.e., removing the filter/WT assembly); thus, a WT filter 1E can be replaced with another such as 1F),
wherein the one or more first adapter modules (filter housing 6 and WT filter assembly of Fig. 1E, see claim 1 rejection drawing above) are removable from the exterior portion of the sanitizing head (screw threads of housing 1, Fig. 1A) and replaceable by the one or more second adapter modules (filter housing 6 and WT filter assembly of Fig. 1F being the second adapter module has a similar structure of removably being coupled to the housing 1 as the Fig. 1E’s first adapter module grouping, see claim 1 rejection drawing above), and wherein the one or more second adapter modules (filter housing 6 and WT filter assembly of Fig. 1F, see claim 1 rejection drawing above) are removable from the exterior portion of the sanitizing head (screw threads of housing 1, Fig. 1A) and replaceable by the one or more first adapter modules (filter housing 6 and WT filter assembly of Fig. 1E being the first adapter module has a similar structure of removably being coupled to the housing 1 as the Fig. 1F’s second adapter module grouping, see claim 1 rejection drawing above).
Regarding claim 6, modified Gardner teaches herein the coupling interface is common to the one or more first adapter modules and the one or more second adapter modules (replacement of filter/WT assemblies 1E-1F each with a specific optical filter and/or wavelength converter have the same coupling interface to UV lamp 4, Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 7, modified Gardner teaches a wand assembly that includes the sanitizing head (the body 1 is a handheld apparatus, Fig. 1A and [0009]).
Regarding claim 19, Gardner teaches an adaptable sanitizing system (flashlight 11, Fig. 1A), comprising: a sanitizing head including an ultraviolet (UV) lamp configured to emit UV light (housing 1 and UV light source 4, Fig. 1A, see drawing below); and
a first adapter module that is separate, distinct (exploded view of Fig. 1A of the adapter module grouping and the sanitizing head grouping imply that these are separate and distinct, even down to the individual components), and outside of the sanitizing head (the adapter module grouping above is external to the coupling interface of the screw threads on housing 1 when the whole apparatus is coupled, Fig. 1A), wherein the first adapter module removably secures directly to an exterior portion of the sanitizing head at a coupling interface (filters 13 coupled to wavelength transforming (WT) material 14 that is external to UV light source 4, Fig. 1A and 1E, where the filter/WT material assembly can be replaced, see [0010], and the filter housing 6 is screwed into housing 1, thus securing the filter assembly of Fig. 1E to the housing 1, Fig. 1A), wherein the one or more first adapter modules are configured to perform optical filtering (“selecting at will between UV A, UV B, UV C radiation, and visible radiation”, [0008], understood to be optical filtering).
With this Fig. 1A flashlight apparatus utilizing the Fig. 1E configuration of a wavelength transforming filter, Gardner fails to anticipate one or more second adapter modules is separate, distinct, and outside of the sanitizing head, wherein the second adapter module configured to removably secure directly to the exterior portion of the sanitizing head at the coupling interface, wherein the one or more second adapter modules are configured to perform optical wavelength converting, fluid sanitizing, or object sanitizing.
Gardner in another filter configuration (Fig. 1F rather than 1E) teaches one or more second adapter modules that are separate, distinct, (exploded view of Fig. 1A of the adapter module grouping utilizing the filter material of Fig. 1F and the sanitizing head grouping imply that these are separate and distinct, even down to the individual components), and outside of the sanitizing head (the adapter module grouping above is external to the coupling interface of the screw threads on housing 1 when the whole apparatus is coupled, Fig. 1A), wherein the one or more second adapter modules are configured to removably secure directly to an exterior portion of the sanitizing head at a coupling interface (filters 13 coupled to wavelength transforming (WT) material 14 that is external to UV light source 4, Fig. 1A and 1F, where the filter/WT material assembly can be replaced, see [0010] and abstract, and the filter housing 6 is screwed into housing 1, thus securing the filter assembly of Fig. 1F to the housing 1, Fig. 1A, where Fig. 1B-1G show variable wavelength filters that can be coupled to the apparatus 11, see [0011], and thus 1F is different than 1E and can be considered a “second” adapter module), wherein the one or more second adapter modules are configured to perform optical wavelength converting (“The WT materials (14-14n below) of any preferred embodiments may comprise any material or system that absorbs light of one wavelength or band of wavelengths and emits light of another wavelength or band of wavelengths, thus modifying the distribution of spectral density”, Fig. 1A-1G and [0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to try each of the known six different wavelength filter configurations, specifically Fig. 1F’s filter/WT assembly (thus, a “second” adapter module) to yield a wavelength transforming material and filter suitable for the UV-radiation flashlight apparatus of Fig. 1A. The results would have been predictable, because the functionality of both Fig. 1E and 1F’s filter/WT configurations remain the same (i.e., optical filtering and/or optical wavelength converting), but different in terms of structure.
With this modification, modified Gardner would teach wherein the first adapter module and the second adapter module are interchangeable in relation to the sanitizing head ([0010] mentions “selection of the radiation to be emitted 18 is made via placing the WT filter 13 between the primary UV radiation source 4”, where if the filter assemblies 1E-1F can be placed external to UV source 4 and secured, then the reverse is also implied (i.e., removing the filter/WT assembly); thus, a WT filter 1E can be replaced with another such as 1F), and
wherein the coupling interface is common to the first adapter module and the second adapter module (replacement of filter/WT assemblies 1E-1F each with a specific optical filter and/or wavelength converter have the same coupling interface to UV lamp 4, Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 22, Gardner teaches an adaptable sanitizing system (flashlight 11, Fig. 1A), comprising: a sanitizing head including an ultraviolet (UV) lamp configured to emit UV light (housing 1 and UV light source 4, Fig. 1A, see drawing below); and
an adapter module (filter/WT assembly 1E and housing 6, Fig. 1A) that is separate, distinct (exploded view of Fig. 1A of the adapter module grouping and the sanitizing head grouping imply that these are separate and distinct, even down to the individual components), and outside of the sanitizing head (the adapter module grouping above is external to the coupling interface of the screw threads on housing 1 when the whole apparatus is coupled, Fig. 1A), wherein the first adapter module is removably secured directly to an exterior portion of a sanitizing head (filters 13 coupled to wavelength transforming (WT) material 14 that is external to UV light source 4, Fig. 1A and 1E, where the filter/WT material assembly can be replaced, see [0010], and the filter housing 6 is screwed into housing 1, thus securing the filter assembly of Fig. 1E to the housing 1, Fig. 1A), wherein the adapter module is distinct from the sanitizing head (Fig. 1E-1F is separate from UV lamp 4 and housing 1, Fig. 1A), the adapter module comprising:
a shroud or frame (filter housing 6, Fig. 1A) that is separate, distinct (exploded view of Fig. 1A of the adapter module grouping and the sanitizing head grouping imply that these are separate and distinct, even down to the individual components such as the filter housing 6, Fig. 1A), and outside of the sanitizing head (the filter housing 6 is external to the coupling interface of the screw threads on housing 1 when the whole apparatus is coupled, Fig. 1A), wherein the shroud or frame is removably coupled to an exterior portion of the sanitizing head at a coupling interface (the replacement of filter/WT assembly implies the housing 6 containing the assembly is removable, the interface being the junction/screw threads between housing 6 and 1, Fig. 1A, where the housing 6 and the filter/WT assembly Fig. 1E-1F are screwed externally relative to the threads of housing 1 and UV lamp 4),
an optical filter coupled to the shroud or the frame (filter/WT assemblies Fig. 1E-1F are secured to filter housing 6 when screwed onto housing 1, Fig. 1A), wherein the optical filter is configured to filter the UV light emitted by the UV lamp (“selecting at will between UV A, UV B, UV C radiation, and visible radiation”, [0008], understood to be optical filtering).
With this Fig. 1A flashlight apparatus utilizing the Fig. 1E configuration of a wavelength transforming filter, Gardner fails to anticipate wherein the coupling interface is common to the adapter module and another adapter module that differs from the adaptable module.
Gardner in another filter configuration (Fig. 1F rather than 1E) teaches a second adapter module that removably secures directly to an exterior portion of the sanitizing head at the same coupling interface (replacement of filter/WT assemblies of Fig. 1E or 1F each with a specific optical filter and/or wavelength converter have the same coupling interface to UV lamp 4, Fig. 1A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to try each of the known six different wavelength filter configurations, specifically Fig. 1F’s filter/WT assembly (thus, a “second” adapter module) to yield a wavelength transforming material and filter suitable for the UV-radiation flashlight apparatus of Fig. 1A. The results would have been predictable, because the functionality of both Fig. 1E and 1F’s filter/WT configurations remain the same (i.e., optical filtering and/or optical wavelength converting), but different in terms of structure.
Regarding claim 26, Gardner teaches wherein the one or more second adapter modules are configured to perform fluid sanitizing (UV-C radiation that is selected from filter/WT assembly 13,14 of Fig. 1F sanitizes fluid/air, see Fig. 1A and [0004]).
Regarding claim 27, Gardner teaches wherein the one or more second adapter modules are configured to perform object sanitizing (UV-C radiation that is selected from filter/WT assembly 13,14 of Fig. 1F sanitizes fluid/air, see Fig. 1A and [0004]).
Regarding claim 28, Gardner teaches wherein the second adapter module is configured to perform optical wavelength converting (“The WT materials (14-14n below) of any preferred embodiments may comprise any material or system that absorbs light of one wavelength or band of wavelengths and emits light of another wavelength or band of wavelengths, thus modifying the distribution of spectral density”, Fig. 1A-1G and [0018]).
Regarding claim 29, Gardner teaches wherein the one or more second adapter modules are configured to perform fluid sanitizing (UV-C radiation that is selected from filter/WT assembly 13,14 of Fig. 1F sanitizes fluid/air, Fig. 1A and [0004]).
11. Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gardner (US 20080290301 A1) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Younts (US 20060275171 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Gardner teaches a wand assembly (the body 1 is a handheld apparatus, Fig. 1A and [0009]), but fails to mention a backpack assembly coupled to the wand assembly.
Younts teaches a hand-held wand configuration comprising a sanitizing head (housing 32, Fig. 1) having sensor array 33 (Fig. 1-3), which may comprise a UVC lamp 34 (Fig. 3, see [0030]). The wand assembly can include “an electronic and power support unit 31 that may be connected to a portable or backpack power source (not shown)” (Fig. 1-2, [0030]).
Gardner and Younts are analogous references, directed towards the disinfection of articles/bodies using UV light wand assemblies.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wand assembly of Gardner by incorporating a portable or backpack power source coupled to the wand assembly as taught by Younts because a hand-held wand configuration with a portable or backpack power source is “directed easily against small and narrow cracks, joints and crevice requirements” (Younts, [0013]).
Regarding claim 9, Gardner teaches a wand assembly (the body 1 is a handheld apparatus, Fig. 1A and [0009]), but fails to mention a case assembly coupled to the wand assembly.
Younts teaches a hand-held wand configuration comprising a sanitizing head (housing 32, Fig. 1) having sensor array 33 (Fig. 1-3), which may comprise a UVC lamp 34 (Fig. 3, see [0030]). The wand assembly can include “an electronic and power support unit 31 that may be connected to a portable or backpack power source (not shown)” (Fig. 1-2, [0030]), to where a case can be a backpack.
Gardner and Younts are analogous references, directed towards the disinfection of articles/bodies using UV light wand assemblies.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wand assembly of Gardner by incorporating a portable or backpack power source/case coupled to the wand assembly as taught by Younts because a hand-held wand configuration with a portable or backpack power source is “directed easily against small and narrow cracks, joints and crevice requirements” (Younts, [0013]).
Conclusion
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Waluszko (US 20030107010 A1), directed towards a UV transillumination device.
/Aham Lee/Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/MARIS R KESSEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1758