Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1, 4-6, 8-9, 14-15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shyr et al. (US 2015/0286704 A1) (“Shyr”) in view of Shao et al., “Feature selection for manufacturing process monitoring using cross-validation,” Journal of Manufacturing Systems 32 (2013) 550– 555 (“Shao”) and Amershi et al. (US 2016/0162803 A1) (“Amershi”).
As to claim 1, Shyr teaches an information processing apparatus comprising:
a storage device to store: [[0030]: “FIG. 2 depicts a block diagram, 200, of respective components of computing device(s) 110, 120, 130, 140, 150, 160 and 170, in accordance with an illustrative embodiment of the present invention.” [0032]: “Memory 206 and persistent storage 208 are computer-readable storage media.” Note that because the operations in this reference are performed on a computer, they are necessarily stored on a memory device of a computer.]
a feature vector set including a plurality of feature vectors [[0088], table teaches that “xi = (xi1, …, xiK)” are feature vectors with K features] […]; […] and
processing circuitry [[0033]: “Mapper program 115, reducer program 155, controller program 175, CF- tree data 156 and 157, cluster analysis 176, and data 192, 194, 196 and 198 are stored in persistent storage 208 for execution and/or access by one or more of the respective computer processors 204 via one or more memories of memory 206.”]
to calculate an average clustering accuracy of each of the […] label sets to calculate a plurality of the average clustering accuracies corresponding to the […] label sets, the average clustering accuracy being an average value of a clustering accuracy of clustering performed on a subset by using the […] label set, the subset being obtained by dividing the feature vectors by each of multiple elements indicated by the respective […] labels; [[0055]: “In this embodiment, given that hierarchical clustering starts with leaf-entries, i.e. small sub-clusters, a new goodness measure is herein used and defined as the weighted average Silhouette coefficient over all starting sub-clusters. The average Silhouette coefficient ranges between −1 (indicating a very poor model) and +1 (indicating an excellent model). This measure avoids bias of variable selection criteria with respect to the number of variables.” Note that “Silhouette coefficient” is a measure of clustering accuracy/success, particularly in the form of whether the resulting model is poor (failure) or excellent (success), and that this clustering constitutes “dividing the feature vector by each of multiple elements...” See also [0223]: “Clustering model goodness is defined as the weighted average Silhouette coefficient over all starting sub-clusters in the final stage of regular HAC, and is given by equation 68, as follows.” In regards to the sets of data that are being used, the Algorithm in Table 10 (at [0244]) teaches that “Let F(keyr) be the set of all available features” and “Find Fα(keyr), the set of the most unimportant α features.” Which are analogous to the label (feature) sets of the instant claim. It is noted that the limitations of “quality” and “non-quality” are application-specific limitations that are addressed by a different reference, but the technique in this reference is relevant to such labels, since this reference mentions feature importance. See [0048]: “Embodiments of the present invention utilize a comprehensive method to remove the least important variables in the sequential backward variable selection.” Since the features are removed, there exists some plurality of sets of features that are unimportant in the form of feature sets that include features that are unimportant.] […]
Shyr does not explicitly teach:
(1) The plurality of feature vectors being “generated by extracting a predetermined feature from each of multiple pieces of digital data indicating measurement values obtained by measuring a target.”
(2) “a quality label set including a plurality of quality labels corresponding to the multiple pieces of digital data and indicating quality of the target; and a plurality of non-quality label sets each including a plurality of non-quality labels, the non-quality labels corresponding to the multiple pieces of digital data and being of a type expected to be independent of the quality of the target” and the related limitation of the features being analyzed including such “quality” and “non-quality” labels.”
(3) “to generate a screen image enabling identification of at least one non-quality label type adversely affecting quality of the multiple pieces of digital data by using the average clustering accuracies.”
Shao teaches a plurality of feature vectors being “generated by extracting a predetermined feature from each of multiple pieces of digital data indicating measurement values obtained by measuring a target” [§ 3.2 (“Feature extraction”): “Watt meter and microphone signals are employed for process monitoring of ultrasonic metal welding. Fig. 4, Fig. 5 show typical signals from these two sensors. In addition, several process data such as the total weld time, total energy, maximum power, tool displacement before vibration, and tool displacement after vibration, are recorded through the welding system without external sensors. These data actually indicate the process conditions and therefore are also included in the candidate feature set. Thus, in total 81 candidate features are extracted either from sensor signals or process data, and they are indexed from Feature 1 to Feature 81 accordingly.”] and “a quality label set including a plurality of quality labels corresponding to the multiple pieces of digital data and indicating quality of the target; and a plurality of non-quality label sets each including a plurality of non-quality labels, the non-quality labels corresponding to the multiple pieces of digital data and being of a type expected to be independent of the quality of the target” and the related limitation of the features being analyzed including such “quality” and “non-quality” labels. [Abstract: “Due to the recent development in sensing technology, many on-line signals are collected for manufacturing process monitoring and feature extraction is then performed to extract critical features related to product/process quality.” § 3.3, paragraph 1: “With the limited engineering knowledge about monitoring signals used in the ultrasonic welding operation, some previously defined features may contain little information about welding quality, so it is necessary to carry out feature screening prior to feature selection using cross-validation in order to reduce the extensive computations required in the next step of feature selection.” See also § 1, paragraph 4: “Thus, signal features without good physical understanding may be irrelevant or redundant. Under this circumstance, feature selection is commonly applied to pick a minimally sized subset of features for monitoring. By removing a large number of irrelevant and redundant features, feature selection is able to help avoid overfitting, improve model performance, provide more efficient and cost-effective process monitoring, and acquire better insights into the underlying processes that generated the data.” That is, “irrelevant and redundant features” are those that are “of a type expected to be independent of the quality of the target.”]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Shyr with the teachings of Shao by applying the technique of Shyr to the application of feature selection for manufacturing process monitoring (see Shao, title: “Feature selection for manufacturing process monitoring using cross-validation”) so as to arrive at the above-quoted features of the claimed invention, including the limitations of the labels being “quality” and “non-quality” as recited in the instant claim. The motivation would have been to determine features that are related to product or process quality in a problem that is known (see Shao, abstract: “feature extraction is then performed to extract critical features related to product/process quality”; § 1, paragraph 4 (part quoted above).).
The combination of references thus far does not teach the limitation of “to generate a screen image enabling identification of at least one non-quality label type adversely affecting quality of the multiple pieces of digital data by using the average clustering accuracies.”
Amershi teaches “to generate a screen image enabling identification of at least one non-quality label type adversely affecting quality of the multiple pieces of digital data by using the average clustering accuracies.” [[0065]: “The I/O controller 216 can provide an output to the user device 102 to cause the feature ideation user interface 132 to be displayed.” [0043]: “In some examples, the candidate features 344 can be rendered in a manner that indicates a ranking. The candidate features 344 can begin with candidate features that rank higher on some criteria than candidate features near the end of the rendered candidate features 344.” It is noted that the feature of “at least one non-quality label type adversely affecting quality of the multiple pieces of digital data by using the average clustering accuracies” is already taught in the existing combination of references, because the base reference (Shyr) teaches labels that are unimportant.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of the references combined thus far with the teachings of Amershi by implementing the technique of displaying an interface that indicates a ranking of features, so as to arrive at the claimed invention. The motivation would have been to present information to a user that enables configuration of potential candidate features (see Amershi, [0011]: “According to some examples, the user interface is designed to present candidate features for consideration by the user.”).
As to claim 4, the combination of Shyr, Shao, and Amershi teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the clustering accuracy is a success rate of clustering or a failure rate of clustering. [Shyr, [0055]: “In this embodiment, given that hierarchical clustering starts with leaf-entries, i.e. small sub-clusters, a new goodness measure is herein used and defined as the weighted average Silhouette coefficient over all starting sub-clusters. The average Silhouette coefficient ranges between −1 (indicating a very poor model) and +1 (indicating an excellent model). This measure avoids bias of variable selection criteria with respect to the number of variables.” Note that “Silhouette coefficient” is a measure of clustering success, particularly in the form of whether the resulting model is poor (failure) or excellent (success). See also Shyr, [0223]: “Clustering model goodness is defined as the weighted average Silhouette coefficient over all starting sub-clusters in the final stage of regular HAC, and is given by equation 68, as follows.”]
As to claim 5, the combination of Shyr, Shao, and Amershi teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising:
a display device to display the screen image. [Shyr, [0037]: “Display 220 provides a mechanism to display data to a user and may be, for example, a computer monitor, or a television screen.” Furthermore, Amershi as discussed above, teaches displaying an interface for a user. Therefore, the instant limitation is met by the combination of references.]
As to claim 6, Shyr teaches an information processing apparatus comprising:
a storage device to store: [[0030]: “FIG. 2 depicts a block diagram, 200, of respective components of computing device(s) 110, 120, 130, 140, 150, 160 and 170, in accordance with an illustrative embodiment of the present invention.” [0032]: “Memory 206 and persistent storage 208 are computer-readable storage media.” Note that because the operations in this reference are performed on a computer, they are necessarily stored on a memory device of a computer.]
a feature vector set including a plurality of feature vectors [[0088], table teaches that “xi = (xi1, …, xiK)” are feature vectors with K features] […]; […] and
processing circuitry [[0033]: “Mapper program 115, reducer program 155, controller program 175, CF- tree data 156 and 157, cluster analysis 176, and data 192, 194, 196 and 198 are stored in persistent storage 208 for execution and/or access by one or more of the respective computer processors 204 via one or more memories of memory 206.”]
to calculate, for a […] label set corresponding to […] labels of one type selected from the plurality of […] labels, a clustering accuracy of clustering performed on a subset by using the […] label set to calculate a plurality of the clustering accuracies, the subset being obtained by dividing the feature vectors by each of multiple elements indicated by the […] labels; [[0055]: “In this embodiment, given that hierarchical clustering starts with leaf-entries, i.e. small sub-clusters, a new goodness measure is herein used and defined as the weighted average Silhouette coefficient over all starting sub-clusters. The average Silhouette coefficient ranges between −1 (indicating a very poor model) and +1 (indicating an excellent model). This measure avoids bias of variable selection criteria with respect to the number of variables.” Note that “Silhouette coefficient” is a measure of clustering accuracy/success, particularly in the form of whether the resulting model is poor (failure) or excellent (success), and that this clustering constitutes “dividing the feature vector by each of multiple elements.... See also [0223]: “Clustering model goodness is defined as the weighted average Silhouette coefficient over all starting sub-clusters in the final stage of regular HAC, and is given by equation 68, as follows.” In regards to the sets of data that are being used, the Algorithm in Table 10 (at [0244]) teaches that “Let F(keyr) be the set of all available features” and “Find Fα(keyr), the set of the most unimportant α features.” Which are analogous to the label (feature) sets of the instant claim. It is noted that the limitations of “quality” and “non-quality” are application-specific limitations that are addressed by a different reference, but the technique in this reference is relevant to such labels, since this reference mentions feature importance. See [0048]: “Embodiments of the present invention utilize a comprehensive method to remove the least important variables in the sequential backward variable selection.” Since the features are removed, there exists some plurality of sets of features that are unimportant in the form of feature sets that include features that are unimportant.] […]
Shyr does not explicitly teach:
(1) The plurality of feature vectors being “generated by extracting a predetermined feature from each of multiple pieces of digital data indicating measurement values obtained by measuring a target.”
(2) “a quality label set including a plurality of quality labels corresponding to the multiple pieces of digital data and indicating quality of the target; and a plurality of non-quality label sets each including a plurality of non-quality labels, the non-quality labels corresponding to the multiple pieces of digital data and being of a type expected to be independent of the quality of the target” and the related limitation of the features being analyzed including such “quality” and “non-quality” labels.”
(3) “to generate a screen image enabling identification of at least one of the elements adversely affecting quality of the multiple pieces of digital data by using the clustering accuracies.”
Shao teaches a plurality of feature vectors being “generated by extracting a predetermined feature from each of multiple pieces of digital data indicating measurement values obtained by measuring a target” [§ 3.2 (“Feature extraction”): “Watt meter and microphone signals are employed for process monitoring of ultrasonic metal welding. Fig. 4, Fig. 5 show typical signals from these two sensors. In addition, several process data such as the total weld time, total energy, maximum power, tool displacement before vibration, and tool displacement after vibration, are recorded through the welding system without external sensors. These data actually indicate the process conditions and therefore are also included in the candidate feature set. Thus, in total 81 candidate features are extracted either from sensor signals or process data, and they are indexed from Feature 1 to Feature 81 accordingly.”] and “a quality label set including a plurality of quality labels corresponding to the multiple pieces of digital data and indicating quality of the target; and a plurality of non-quality label sets each including a plurality of non-quality labels, the non-quality labels corresponding to the multiple pieces of digital data and being of a type expected to be independent of the quality of the target” and the related limitation of the features being analyzed including such “quality” and “non-quality” labels. [Abstract: “Due to the recent development in sensing technology, many on-line signals are collected for manufacturing process monitoring and feature extraction is then performed to extract critical features related to product/process quality.” § 3.3, paragraph 1: “With the limited engineering knowledge about monitoring signals used in the ultrasonic welding operation, some previously defined features may contain little information about welding quality, so it is necessary to carry out feature screening prior to feature selection using cross-validation in order to reduce the extensive computations required in the next step of feature selection.” See also § 1, paragraph 4: “Thus, signal features without good physical understanding may be irrelevant or redundant. Under this circumstance, feature selection is commonly applied to pick a minimally sized subset of features for monitoring. By removing a large number of irrelevant and redundant features, feature selection is able to help avoid overfitting, improve model performance, provide more efficient and cost-effective process monitoring, and acquire better insights into the underlying processes that generated the data.” That is, “irrelevant and redundant features” are those that are “of a type expected to be independent of the quality of the target.”]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Shyr with the teachings of Shao by applying the technique of Shyr to the application of feature selection for manufacturing process monitoring (see Shao, title: “Feature selection for manufacturing process monitoring using cross-validation”) so as to arrive at the above-quoted features of the claimed invention, including the limitations of the labels being “quality” and “non-quality” as recited in the instant claim. The motivation would have been to determine features that are related to product or process quality in a problem that is known (see Shao, abstract: “feature extraction is then performed to extract critical features related to product/process quality”; § 1, paragraph 4 (part quoted above).).
The combination of references thus far does not teach the limitation of “to generate a screen image enabling identification of at least one non-quality label type adversely affecting quality of the multiple pieces of digital data by using the clustering accuracies.”
Amershi teaches “to generate a screen image enabling identification of at least one of the elements adversely affecting quality of the multiple pieces of digital data by using the clustering accuracies.” [[0065]: “The I/O controller 216 can provide an output to the user device 102 to cause the feature ideation user interface 132 to be displayed.” [0043]: “In some examples, the candidate features 344 can be rendered in a manner that indicates a ranking. The candidate features 344 can begin with candidate features that rank higher on some criteria than candidate features near the end of the rendered candidate features 344.” It is noted that the feature of “at least one non-quality label type adversely affecting quality of the multiple pieces of digital data by using the clustering accuracies” is already taught in the existing combination of references, because the base reference (Shyr) teaches labels that are unimportant.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of the references combined thus far with the teachings of Amershi by implementing the technique of displaying an interface that indicates a ranking of features, so as to arrive at the claimed invention. The motivation would have been to present information to a user that enables configuration of potential candidate features (see Amershi, [0011]: “According to some examples, the user interface is designed to present candidate features for consideration by the user.”).
As to claim 8, the combination of Shyr, Shao, and Amershi teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the clustering accuracy is a success rate of clustering or a failure rate of clustering. [Shyr, [0055]: “In this embodiment, given that hierarchical clustering starts with leaf-entries, i.e. small sub-clusters, a new goodness measure is herein used and defined as the weighted average Silhouette coefficient over all starting sub-clusters. The average Silhouette coefficient ranges between −1 (indicating a very poor model) and +1 (indicating an excellent model). This measure avoids bias of variable selection criteria with respect to the number of variables.” Note that “Silhouette coefficient” is a measure of clustering success, particularly in the form of whether the resulting model is poor (failure) or excellent (success). See also Shyr, [0223]: “Clustering model goodness is defined as the weighted average Silhouette coefficient over all starting sub-clusters in the final stage of regular HAC, and is given by equation 68, as follows.”]
As to claim 9, the combination of Shyr, Shao, and Amershi teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 6, further comprising:
a display device configured to display the screen image. [Shyr, [0037]: “Display 220 provides a mechanism to display data to a user and may be, for example, a computer monitor, or a television screen.” Furthermore, Amershi as discussed above, teaches displaying an interface for a user. Therefore, the instant limitation is met by the combination of references.]
As to claim 14, the rejection made to claim 1 is applied to claim 14.
As to claim 15, the rejection made to claim 6 is applied to claim 15.
As to claim 17, the rejection made to claim 1 is applied to claim 17.
As to claim 18, the rejection made to claim 6 is applied to claim 18.
2. Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shyr in view of Shao and Amershi, and further in view of Forman (US 2004/0059697 A1) (“Forman”).
As to claim 2, the combination of Shyr, Shao, and Amershi teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above.
Amershi further teaches “wherein the processing circuitry generates, as the screen image, a label-type evaluation screen image indicating at least one of the non-quality label types” [[0065]: “The I/O controller 216 can provide an output to the user device 102 to cause the feature ideation user interface 132 to be displayed.” [0043]: “In some examples, the candidate features 344 can be rendered in a manner that indicates a ranking. The candidate features 344 can begin with candidate features that rank higher on some criteria than candidate features near the end of the rendered candidate features 344.”]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further combined the teachings of the references combined thus far, including the above teachings of Amershi, so as to arrive at the above-discussed feature of the instant dependent claim. The motivation for doing so is covered by the motivation given for the teachings of Amershi in the rejection of the parent independent claim.
The combination of references thus far does not explicitly teach “in a descending order of the average clustering accuracies.”
Forman teaches “in a descending order of the average clustering accuracies.” [Claim 24: “prior to said selecting, sorting said features by respective binomial separation score in an ascending or descending order.” Claim 24: “selecting features best suited for said task according to said ascending or descending order.” Note that in this context, the binominal separation score (BNS) is analogous to a metric, such as the clustering accuracy metric that is already taught by the existing combination of references. It is noted that the instant claim only requires the screen image to “indicate” at least one label type in some ranked order, and does not require display of the value of the clustering accuracy on the screen.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of the references combined thus far with the teachings of Forman by implementing the ranking in Amershi to be in descending order. The motivation would have been to implement a suitable manner of ranking or comparing features, as suggested by Forman (see part quoted above).
As to claim 7, the combination of Shyr, Shao, and Amershi teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 6, as set forth above.
Amershi further teaches “wherein the processing circuitry generates, as the screen image, an accuracy-influence-element evaluation screen image indicating at least one of the elements […]” [[0065]: “The I/O controller 216 can provide an output to the user device 102 to cause the feature ideation user interface 132 to be displayed.” [0043]: “In some examples, the candidate features 344 can be rendered in a manner that indicates a ranking. The candidate features 344 can begin with candidate features that rank higher on some criteria than candidate features near the end of the rendered candidate features 344.”]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further combined the teachings of the references combined thus far, including the above teachings of Amershi, so as to arrive at the above-discussed feature of the instant dependent claim. The motivation for doing so is covered by the motivation given for the teachings of Amershi in the rejection of the parent independent claim.
The combination of references thus far does not explicitly teach “in an ascending order of the clustering accuracies.”
Forman teaches “in a descending order of the clustering accuracies.” [Claim 24: “prior to said selecting, sorting said features by respective binomial separation score in an ascending or descending order.” Claim 24: “selecting features best suited for said task according to said ascending or descending order.” Note that in this context, the binominal separation score (BNS) is analogous to a metric, such as the clustering accuracy metric that is already taught by the existing combination of references. It is noted that the instant claim only requires the screen image to “indicate” at least one label type in some ranked order, and does not require display of the value of the clustering accuracy on the screen.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of the references combined thus far with the teachings of Forman by implementing the ranking in Amershi to be in an ascending order. The motivation would have been to implement a suitable manner of ranking or comparing features, as suggested by Forman (see part quoted above).
3. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shyr in view of Shao and Amershi, and further in view of Forman and Ronen et al. (US 2015/0073931 A1) (“Ronen”)
As to claim 3, the combination of Shyr, Shao, and Amershi teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry
to calculate a reference clustering accuracy, the reference clustering accuracy being a clustering accuracy of clustering performed on the feature vectors by using the quality label set, [[0053]: “In decision process 335, reducer program 155 determines whether the goodness measure is improved. If the goodness measure is improved (decision process, 335, yes branch), then reducer program 155 computes variable importance for the set of selected variables, in process 340.” Note that “improved” in this context refers to the previous goodness measure, which is a clustering accuracy as discussed in the rejection of the parent claim.]
to calculate a plurality of improvement amounts by subtracting the reference clustering accuracy from the respective average clustering accuracies, [[0053]: “In decision process 335, reducer program 155 determines whether the goodness measure is improved. If the goodness measure is improved (decision process, 335, yes branch), then reducer program 155 computes variable importance for the set of selected variables, in process 340.” Note that “improved” in this context refers to the previous goodness measure, which is a clustering accuracy as discussed in the rejection of the parent claim.]
Amershi further teaches “to generate, as the screen image, an accuracy-improvement-amount screen image indicating at least one of the non-quality label types […].” [[0077]: “At block 812, the feature ideator 114 ranks each list of candidate words by its accuracy improvement scores (for both errors and contrasts).” See also [0104]-[0106].]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further combined the teachings of the references combined thus far, including the above teachings of Amershi, so as to arrive at the claimed invention of the instant dependent claim. The motivation for doing so is covered by the motivation given for the teachings of Amershi in the rejection of the parent independent claim.
The combination of references thus far does not explicitly teach “in a descending order of the improvement amounts together with the corresponding improvement amount.”
Forman teaches “in a descending order of the improvement amounts together.” [Claim 24: “prior to said selecting, sorting said features by respective binomial separation score in an ascending or descending order.” Claim 24: “selecting features best suited for said task according to said ascending or descending order.” Note that in this context, the binominal separation score (BNS) is analogous to a metric, such as the improvement amounts metric that is already taught by the existing combination of references.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of the references combined thus far with the teachings of Forman by implementing the ranking in Amershi to be in descending order. The motivation would have been to implement a suitable manner of ranking or comparing features, as suggested by Forman (see part quoted above).
The combination of references thus far does not teach the limitation of “together with the corresponding improvement amount.”
Ronen teaches “together with the corresponding improvement amount.” [[0071]: “The results of the comparison are then provided on a graphical user interface such that the administrator can visually appreciate the value of specific features and how they influence recommendations received from the recommender system 100. This is illustrated at step 420. In one embodiment the graphical user interface displays the features ranked by their associated score. This may be presented in a table or other format that allows the administrator to understand the results. In another embodiment the graphical user provides the administrator with a graph or plot whereby the features are graphed by their score as against the Root Mean Squared Error measure of quality. An example of a graph that may be presented to the user is illustrated in FIG. 5.”]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of the references combined thus far with the teachings of Ronen by modifying the screen image in the combination of references thus far such that the label types in descending order are displayed together with their improvement amounts, as suggested by Ronen’s method of displaying scores on an interface. The motivation would have been to provide a comparison of features on a graphical user interface such that the administrator can visually appreciate the value of specific features and how they influence, as suggested by Ronen (see parts of [0071] quoted above).
4. Claims 10, 12-13, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shyr in view of Shao, Jiang et al., “Error estimation based on variance analysis of k -fold cross-validation,” Pattern Recognition 69 (2017) 94–106 (“Jiang”) and Amershi.
As to claim 10, Shyr teaches an information processing apparatus comprising:
a storage device to store: [[0030]: “FIG. 2 depicts a block diagram, 200, of respective components of computing device(s) 110, 120, 130, 140, 150, 160 and 170, in accordance with an illustrative embodiment of the present invention.” [0032]: “Memory 206 and persistent storage 208 are computer-readable storage media.” Note that because the operations in this reference are performed on a computer, they are necessarily stored on a memory device of a computer.]
a feature vector set including a plurality of feature vectors [[0088], table teaches that “xi = (xi1, …, xiK)” are feature vectors with K features] […]; […] and
processing circuitry [[0033]: “Mapper program 115, reducer program 155, controller program 175, CF- tree data 156 and 157, cluster analysis 176, and data 192, 194, 196 and 198 are stored in persistent storage 208 for execution and/or access by one or more of the respective computer processors 204 via one or more memories of memory 206.”]
to calculate, for each of the non-quality label sets, […] a clustering accuracy of clustering performed on a subset by using the […] label set to calculate a plurality of the […] corresponding to the […] label sets, the subset being obtained by dividing the feature vectors by each of multiple elements indicated by the […] labels; [[0055]: “In this embodiment, given that hierarchical clustering starts with leaf-entries, i.e. small sub-clusters, a new goodness measure is herein used and defined as the weighted average Silhouette coefficient over all starting sub-clusters. The average Silhouette coefficient ranges between −1 (indicating a very poor model) and +1 (indicating an excellent model). This measure avoids bias of variable selection criteria with respect to the number of variables.” Note that “Silhouette coefficient” is a measure of clustering accuracy/success, particularly in the form of whether the resulting model is poor (failure) or excellent (success), and that this clustering constitutes “dividing the feature vector by each of multiple elements.... See also [0223]: “Clustering model goodness is defined as the weighted average Silhouette coefficient over all starting sub-clusters in the final stage of regular HAC, and is given by equation 68, as follows.” In regards to the sets of data that are being used, the Algorithm in Table 10 (at [0244]) teaches that “Let F(keyr) be the set of all available features” and “Find Fα(keyr), the set of the most unimportant α features.” Which are analogous to the label (feature) sets of the instant claim. It is noted that the limitations of “quality” and “non-quality” are application-specific limitations that are addressed by a different reference, but the technique in this reference is relevant to such labels, since this reference mentions feature importance. See [0048]: “Embodiments of the present invention utilize a comprehensive method to remove the least important variables in the sequential backward variable selection.” Since the features are removed, there exists some plurality of sets of features that are unimportant in the form of feature sets that include features that are unimportant.]
Shyr does not explicitly teach:
(1) The plurality of feature vectors being “generated by extracting a predetermined feature from each of multiple pieces of digital data indicating measurement values obtained by measuring a target.”
(2) “a quality label set including a plurality of quality labels corresponding to the multiple pieces of digital data and indicating quality of the target; and a plurality of non-quality label sets each including a plurality of non-quality labels, the non-quality labels corresponding to the multiple pieces of digital data and being of a type expected to be independent of the quality of the target” and the related limitation of the features being analyzed including such “quality” and “non-quality” labels.”
(3) the limitation of the “variance” of the accuracy and use of such “variances corresponding to the non-quality label sets.”
(4) “to generate a screen image enabling identification of at least one non-quality label type adversely affecting quality of the multiple pieces of digital data by using the variances.”
Shao teaches a plurality of feature vectors being “generated by extracting a predetermined feature from each of multiple pieces of digital data indicating measurement values obtained by measuring a target” [§ 3.2 (“Feature extraction”): “Watt meter and microphone signals are employed for process monitoring of ultrasonic metal welding. Fig. 4, Fig. 5 show typical signals from these two sensors. In addition, several process data such as the total weld time, total energy, maximum power, tool displacement before vibration, and tool displacement after vibration, are recorded through the welding system without external sensors. These data actually indicate the process conditions and therefore are also included in the candidate feature set. Thus, in total 81 candidate features are extracted either from sensor signals or process data, and they are indexed from Feature 1 to Feature 81 accordingly.”] and “a quality label set including a plurality of quality labels corresponding to the multiple pieces of digital data and indicating quality of the target; and a plurality of non-quality label sets each including a plurality of non-quality labels, the non-quality labels corresponding to the multiple pieces of digital data and being of a type expected to be independent of the quality of the target” and the related limitation of the features being analyzed including such “quality” and “non-quality” labels. [Abstract: “Due to the recent development in sensing technology, many on-line signals are collected for manufacturing process monitoring and feature extraction is then performed to extract critical features related to product/process quality.” § 3.3, paragraph 1: “With the limited engineering knowledge about monitoring signals used in the ultrasonic welding operation, some previously defined features may contain little information about welding quality, so it is necessary to carry out feature screening prior to feature selection using cross-validation in order to reduce the extensive computations required in the next step of feature selection.” See also § 1, paragraph 4: “Thus, signal features without good physical understanding may be irrelevant or redundant. Under this circumstance, feature selection is commonly applied to pick a minimally sized subset of features for monitoring. By removing a large number of irrelevant and redundant features, feature selection is able to help avoid overfitting, improve model performance, provide more efficient and cost-effective process monitoring, and acquire better insights into the underlying processes that generated the data.” That is, “irrelevant and redundant features” are those that are “of a type expected to be independent of the quality of the target.”]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Shyr with the teachings of Shao by applying the technique of Shyr to the application of feature selection for manufacturing process monitoring (see Shao, title: “Feature selection for manufacturing process monitoring using cross-validation”) so as to arrive at the above-quoted features of the claimed invention, including the limitations of the labels being “quality” and “non-quality” as recited in the instant claim. The motivation would have been to determine features that are related to product or process quality in a problem that is known (see Shao, abstract: “feature extraction is then performed to extract critical features related to product/process quality”; § 1, paragraph 4 (part quoted above).).
The combination of references thus far does not teach the limitations (3) and (4) listed above.
Jiang teaches a “variance” of the accuracy and use of such “variances corresponding to the non-quality label sets.” [§ 1, paragraph 2: “It is important to measure the uncertainty of prediction error estimators because the accuracy of the model selection is limited by the variance of error estimates [11], [12]. A model error estimation can be considered as a random variable as the variability in training or test set [13], [14], and its quality is usually measured by means of its bias and variance. The ideal estimator should be an efficient estimator which is unbiased and has the lowest variance. It is known that CV provides an unbiased estimate of the prediction error on the training set [1]. The variance is crucial for the accuracy of CV estimator. As well as being an important indicator for assessing estimators of prediction error, error estimators with low variance are quite interesting in model selection if we assume that the bias term is independent of the considered model [5].” § 1, paragraph 4: “Variance was estimated in different ways… Dietterich [15] and Alpaydin [16] employed the classical sample variance estimator to complete hypothesis tests for comparing classifiers, although this estimator is biased because of the overlap among training sets or test sets [1], [17]. Moreover, Bengio and Grandvalet [1] showed that the bias could not be ignored, otherwise the variance would be grossly underestimated. The approximate variance estimator presented by Markatou [18] identifies all first-order terms in the reciprocal of the size of the training set.”]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of the references combined thus far with the teachings of Jiang by modifying Shyr, as modified thus far, to determine the “variance” of the accuracy and use of such “variances corresponding to the non-quality label sets.” The motivation would have been to perform to use a metric for assessing an estimator of the generalization capability of a model, as suggested by Jiang (see abstract: “Cross-validation (CV) is often used to estimate the generalization capability of a learning model. The variance of CV error has a considerable impact on the accuracy of CV estimator and the adequacy of the learning model, so it is very important to analyze CV variance. The aim of this paper is to investigate how to improve the accuracy of the error estimation based on variance analysis.”).
The combination of references thus far does not teach the limitation of “to generate a screen image enabling identification of at least one non-quality label type adversely affecting quality of the multiple pieces of digital data by using the variances.”
Amershi teaches “to generate a screen image enabling identification of at least one non-quality label type adversely affecting quality of the multiple pieces of digital data by using the variances.” [[0065]: “The I/O controller 216 can provide an output to the user device 102 to cause the feature ideation user interface 132 to be displayed.” [0043]: “In some examples, the candidate features 344 can be rendered in a manner that indicates a ranking. The candidate features 344 can begin with candidate features that rank higher on some criteria than candidate features near the end of the rendered candidate features 344.” It is noted that the feature of “at least one non-quality label type adversely affecting quality of the multiple pieces of digital data by using the variances” is already taught in the existing combination of references, because the base reference (Shyr) teaches labels that are unimportant.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of the references combined thus far with the teachings of Amershi by implementing the technique of displaying an interface that indicates a ranking of features, so as to arrive at the claimed invention. The motivation would have been to present information to a user that enables configuration of potential candidate features (see Amershi, [0011]: “According to some examples, the user interface is designed to present candidate features for consideration by the user.”).
As to claim 12, the combination of Shyr, Shao, Jiang, and Amershi teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the clustering accuracy is a success rate of clustering or a failure rate of clustering. [Shyr, [0055]: “In this embodiment, given that hierarchical clustering starts with leaf-entries, i.e. small sub-clusters, a new goodness measure is herein used and defined as the weighted average Silhouette coefficient over all starting sub-clusters. The average Silhouette coefficient ranges between −1 (indicating a very poor model) and +1 (indicating an excellent model). This measure avoids bias of variable selection criteria with respect to the number of variables.” Note that “Silhouette coefficient” is a measure of clustering success, particularly in the form of whether the resulting model is poor (failure) or excellent (success). See also Shyr, [0223]: “Clustering model goodness is defined as the weighted average Silhouette coefficient over all starting sub-clusters in the final stage of regular HAC, and is given by equation 68, as follows.”]
As to claim 13, the combination of Shyr, Shao, Jiang, and Amershi teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 10, further comprising:
a display device to display the screen image. [Shyr, [0037]: “Display 220 provides a mechanism to display data to a user and may be, for example, a computer monitor, or a television screen.” Furthermore, Amershi as discussed above, teaches displaying an interface for a user. Therefore, the instant limitation is met by the combination of references.]
As to claim 16, the rejection made to claim 1 is applied to claim 17.
As to claim 19, the rejection made to claim 6 is applied to claim 18.
5. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shyr in view of Shao, Jiang, and Amershi, and further in view of Forman.
As to claim 11, the combination of Shyr, Shao, Jiang, and Amershi teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the processing circuitry generates, as the screen image, a label-type evaluation screen image indicating at least one of the non-quality label types in a descending order of the variances.
Amershi further teaches “wherein the processing circuitry generates, as the screen image, a label-type evaluation screen image indicating at least one of the non-quality label types” [[0065]: “The I/O controller 216 can provide an output to the user device 102 to cause the feature ideation user interface 132 to be displayed.” [0043]: “In some examples, the candidate features 344 can be rendered in a manner that indicates a ranking. The candidate features 344 can begin with candidate features that rank higher on some criteria than candidate features near the end of the rendered candidate features 344.”]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further combined the teachings of the references combined thus far, including the above teachings of Amershi, so as to arrive at the above-discussed feature of the instant dependent claim. The motivation for doing so is covered by the motivation given for the teachings of Amershi in the rejection of the parent independent claim.
The combination of references thus far does not explicitly teach “in a descending order of the variances.”
Forman teaches “in a descending order of the variances.” [Claim 24: “prior to said selecting, sorting said features by respective binomial separation score in an ascending or descending order.” Claim 24: “selecting features best suited for said task according to said ascending or descending order.” Note that in this context, the binominal separation score (BNS) is analogous to a metric, such as the clustering accuracy metric that is already taught by the existing combination of references. It is noted that the instant claim only requires the screen image to “indicate” at least one label type in some ranked order, and does not require display of the value of the clustering accuracy on the screen.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of the references combined thus far with the teachings of Forman by implementing the ranking in Amershi to be in descending order. The motivation would have been to implement a suitable manner of ranking or comparing features, as suggested by Forman (see part quoted above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US20180300333A1 teaches displaying information about feature ranking in a feature selection process.
/Y.D.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2124
/MIRANDA M HUANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2124