DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Summary
The Applicant’s arguments and claim amendments received on July 13, 2026 are entered into the file. Currently, claim 1 is amended; claim 9 is cancelled; and claims 11-16 are withdrawn; resulting in claims 1-8 and 10 pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 28, 2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagai, et al. (US 2015/0140389 A1) in view of Sano, et al. (US 2015/0180034 A1).
Regarding claims 1-2, 5-6, and 10, Nagai teaches a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery including a positive electrode, negative electrode, and heat-resistant layer disposed between the positive and negative electrodes (¶ [0008], Ln. 1-4), such that the negative electrode faces the positive electrode. The positive electrode includes a positive electrode current collector and a positive electrode mixture layer formed on at least one surface of the positive electrode current collector (¶ [0028], Ln. 4-8). The positive electrode mixture layer contains a positive electrode active substance, which contains a lithium transition metal oxide (¶ [0036], Ln. 1-4), mixed with electrically conductive materials and binders in an appropriate solvent (¶ [0109], Ln. 5-10). Nagai teaches that the average particle diameter of the positive electrode active substance particles is preferably 3 to 10 µm, within the claimed range of 3 to 15 µm (¶ [0061], Ln. 17-19). Nagai also teaches that the density of positive electrode mixture layer is preferably 1.0 to 3.8 g/cm3, overlapping the claimed range of greater than or equal to 3.5 g/cm3 and less than or equal to 3.7 g/cm3, and more specifically 3.6 to 3.7 g/cm3 (¶ [0111], Ln. 11-14). Additionally, Nagai teaches that the BET specific surface area of the positive electrode active substance is preferably 0.5 to 2.0 m2/g, further teaching that it is preferred to have a BET specific surface area of 1.5 m2/g or lower (¶ [0070], Ln. 4-11). In Example 1, Nagai teaches a positive electrode active substance including a lithium transition metal composite oxide with an average particle diameter of 5.4 µm and a BET specific surface area adjusted within the range of 0.5 to 1.9 m2/g (¶ [0163], Ln. 23-30), which is mixed with acetylene black as an electrically conductive material PVDF as a binder in NMP to form a positive electrode mixture layer (¶ [0165], Ln. 1-5). The positive electrode mixture layer is applied to the positive electrode current collector and pressed to form a positive electrode sheet with a density within the range of 1.8 to 2.4 g/cm3 (¶ [0165], Ln. 13-15). Nagai does not expressly teach an embodiment in which the density of the positive electrode mixture layer after pressing is greater than or equal to 3.5 g/cm3 and less than or equal to 3.7 g/cm3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the positive electrode mixture layer of Example 1 to have a density of approximately 3.6 to 3.7 g/cm3, based on the disclosure that the preferred density is 1.0 to 3.8 g/cm3 (¶ [0111], Ln. 11-14). . In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05(I)). One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to try any density within the ranges provided by the reference with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to target a density on the higher end of the range provided, such as 3.6 to 3.7 g/cm3, in order to increase the energy density of the battery.
Nagai does not expressly teach that the BET specific surface area of the positive electrode mixture layer after pressing is within 1.5 to 2.0 m2/g and a pore volume of mesopores with a diameter from 10 to 50 nm of the positive electrode mixture layer after pressing is in the range of 0.009 to 0.015 cm3/g.
Sano teaches a lithium ion secondary battery including a positive electrode with a positive electrode active material disposed on a positive electrode current collector (¶ [0018], Ln. 3-6). The positive electrode active material includes a compound represented by the formula LiaNixCoyAl(1-x-y)O2 (¶ [0020], Ln. 1-5; Formula 1). The battery also includes a negative electrode and separator, with the positive and negative electrodes disposed opposite each other with the separator sandwiched between (¶ [0018], Ln. 1-3). Sano teaches that the BET specific surface area of the positive electrode is 1.3-3.5 m-2/g (¶ [0020], Ln. 6-7), teaching several examples with BET specific surface areas of 1.8 m-2/g (Table 1). Sano teaches that when the BET specific surface area of the positive electrode is within 1.3-3.5 m-2/g as an electrode, higher affinity with the electrolyte is obtained, increasing ion conductivity (¶ [0024, Ln. 1-4). Additionally, Sano teaches that the positive electrode has a pore volume of 0.005 to 0.02 cm3/g, teaching that pore volume within this range results in better high-rate discharge characteristics as the pores can be sufficiently impregnated with electrolyte to ensure ion conductivity (¶ [0027]-[0028]). Sano teaches that the pore volume is based on pores approximately 1,000 Å or smaller (¶ [0029], Ln. 1-4). To achieve these properties, Sano teaches that the BET specific surface area of the positive electrode active material is in the range of 0.3 to 1.0 (¶ [0037], Ln. 5-7), further teaching that the BET specific surface area and the pore volume can be modified by varying the electrode pressing pressure, the mixture of the active material and the conductive auxiliary agent, and slurry kneading (¶ [0055], Ln. 1-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the positive electrode mixture layer after pressing of Nagai to have a BET specific surface area of approximately 1.8 m-2/g and a pore volume of pores approximately 1,000 Å or smaller within the range of 0.005 to 0.02 cm3/g based on the teachings of Sano. Based on the teaching that the pore volume of pores approximately 1,000 Å (100 nm) or smaller is within the range of 0.005 to 0.02 cm3/g, one would recognize that pores with a diameter of 10-50 nm fall within this range, and would find it obvious to apply the teaching of pore volume to pores with a diameter of 10-50 nm. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to have a pore volume of pores with a diameter of 10-50 nm within the range of 0.005 to 0.02 cm3/g, overlapping the claimed range of 0.009 to 0.015 cm3/g. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05(I)). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to adjust the BET specific surface area and pore volume of the positive electrode mixture layer in order to increase ion conductivity. By adjusting the BET specific surface area and pore volume within these ranges, higher affinity with the electrolyte is obtained and pores can be sufficiently impregnated with electrolyte to ensure ion conductivity. As Nagai teaches a similar BET specific surface area of the positive electrode active material to Sano, and Sano teaches that BET specific surface area and pore volume may be adjusted by varying the electrode pressing pressure, the mixture of the active material and the conductive auxiliary agent, and slurry kneading, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to adjust these properties within the ranges taught by Sano.
While it is acknowledged that the BET specific surface area and pore volume of the positive electrode active material layer after 300 cycles of charging and discharging are not expressly recited by Nagai in view of Sano, the combination of references teaches the claimed composition with the specified starting properties, including a positive electrode active material layer including lithium-transition metal composite oxide particles with the same BET specific surface area, pore volume, and electrode density after pressing, which the instant specification indicates are essential to achieving the claimed properties after 300 cycles of charging and discharging. Therefore, the claimed properties, i.e., a BET specific surface area of 1.5 to 2.3 m-2/g after 300 cycles of charging at 1.0C and 4.2V in a CC/CV mode to a 100% state of charge and then discharging at 1.0C and 2.5V in a CC mode in a temperature range from 20 to 45 °C and pore volume of the cathode active material layer after the 300 cycles of 0.01 to 0.016 cm3/g would be implicitly achieved by a positive electrode with the same positive electrode active material and properties after pressing. The instant specification has not provided adequate teachings that the claimed property is only obtainable with the claimed material.
As evidence that the claimed properties are inherent to the positive electrode taught by Nagai in view of Sano, the reference teaches a positive electrode active material with substantially the same properties recognized by the instant specification as essential to achieving the claimed BET specific surface area of 1.5 to 2.3 m-2/g and pore volume of 0.01 to 0.016 cm3/g after 300 cycles of charging and discharging. In paragraph [0062] of the instant specification, the BET specific surface area and pore volume properties of the cathode active material layer after the 300 cycles are said to be implemented by adjusting the mixture density after pressing, the BET specific surface area before/after pressing, and the pore volume before/after pressing. In particular, the instant specification teaches a preferred mixture density after pressing of 3 g/cc or more and less than 3.8 g/cc (paragraphs [0063]-[0065]), a BET specific surface area of 1.5 to 2.0 m2/g after pressing (paragraphs [0068]-[0069]), and a pore volume of 0.009-0.015 cm3/g after pressing (paragraph [0076]).
With respect to the mixture density, Nagai teaches that the density of positive electrode mixture layer is preferably 1.0 to 3.8 g/cm3 (¶ [0111], Ln. 11-14), overlapping the taught range of 3 to 3.8 g/cm3. As detailed above, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to try any density within the ranges provided by the reference with reasonable expectation of success, particularly a density on the higher end of the range provided, such as 3.6 to 3.7 g/cm3, in order to increase the energy density of the battery. Thus, the electrode density falls within the range required to result in a BET specific surface area of claim 2 and pore volume of claim 6.
With respect to the BET specific surface area after pressing, Nagai teaches that the BET specific surface area of the positive electrode active substance is preferably 0.5 to 2.0 m2/g, further teaching that it is preferred to have a BET specific surface area of 1.5 m2/g or lower (¶ [0070], Ln. 4-11). Sano teaches that the BET specific surface area of the positive electrode is 1.3-3.5 m-2/g (¶ [0020], Ln. 6-7), teaching several examples with BET specific surface areas of 1.8 m-2/g (Table 1). Sano teaches that when the BET specific surface area of the positive electrode is within 1.3-3.5 m-2/g as an electrode, higher affinity with the electrolyte is obtained, increasing ion conductivity (¶ [0024, Ln. 1-4). As detailed above, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the positive electrode mixture layer after pressing of Nagai to have a BET specific surface area of approximately 1.8 m-2/g after pressing. Thus, the BET specific surface area after pressing falls within the range required to result in a BET specific surface area of claim 2 and pore volume of claim 6.
With respect to pore volume after pressing, Sano teaches that the positive electrode has a pore volume of 0.005 to 0.02 cm3/g, teaching that pore volume within this range results in better high-rate discharge characteristics as the pores can be sufficiently impregnated with electrolyte to ensure ion conductivity (¶ [0027]-[0028]). As detailed above, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the positive electrode mixture layer after pressing of Nagai to have a pore volume of pores with a diameter of 10-50 nm within the claimed range after pressing. Thus, the pore volume falls within the range required to result in a BET specific surface area of claim 2 and pore volume of claim 6.
Additionally, Nagai teaches a lithium ion secondary battery with a similar composition, formed by a similar process. In example 1 of the instant specification, LiNi0.8Co0.1Mn0.1O2 was prepared and mixed with Denka Black and PVDF in a mass ratio of 95.5:3:1.5, and mixed with NMP. The cathode slurry was coated on an aluminum foil current collector before roll pressing. Nagai teaches a positive electrode formed by mixing Li1.14Ni0.34Co0.33Mn0.33Zr0.002W0.005O2, acetylene black, and PVDF in a mass ratio of 90:8:2, then adding NMP and coating the slurry on an aluminum foil current collector before pressing (¶ [0165], Ln. 1-11; Example 1). Thus, Nagai in view of Sano teaches all of the essential features to achieving the claimed BET specific surface area of 1.5 to 2.3 m-2/g and pore volume of 0.01 to 0.016 cm3/g after 300 cycles of charging and discharging.
Regarding claims 3-4, Nagai in view of Sano teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. While it is acknowledged that an increase ratio of BET specific surface area after 300 cycles of charging and discharging relative to BET specific surface area after 1 cycle of charging and discharging of 20 to 50% is not expressly recited by Nagai in view of Sano, the combination of references teaches the claimed composition with the specified starting properties, including a positive electrode active material layer including lithium-transition metal composite oxide particles with the same BET specific surface area, pore volume, and density after pressing. Therefore, the claimed property, i.e., an increase ratio of 20 to 50% of BET specific surface area after 300 cycles of charging and discharging relative to BET specific surface area after 1 cycle, would be implicitly achieved by a positive electrode with the same positive electrode active material and properties after pressing. The instant specification has not provided adequate teachings that the claimed property is only obtainable with the claimed material.
As evidence that the claimed property is inherent to the positive electrode active material taught by Nagai in view of Sano, the combination of references teaches a positive electrode active material with substantially the same properties, which the instant specification recognizes as essential to achieving the claimed BET specific surface area of 1.5 to 2.3 m-2/g after 300 cycles of charging and discharging. Additionally, the combination of references teaches a BET specific surface area after pressing, prior to the charge and discharge cycles, within the range taught in the instant specification. In the instant specification, a preferred BET specific surface area of 1.5 to 2.0 m2/g after pressing is taught (paragraphs [0068]-[0069]). As detailed above, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the positive electrode mixture layer after pressing of Nagai to have a BET specific surface area of approximately 1.8 m-2/g after pressing. Nagai also teaches a positive electrode with the claimed composition including a positive electrode active substance with lithium transition metal oxide particles. Specifically, Nagai teaches a positive electrode formed with Li1.14Ni0.34Co0.33Mn0.33Zr0.002W0.005O2. Nagai in view of Sano teaches all of the essential features (positive electrode composition, electrode density, BET specific surface area after pressing, and pore volume after pressing) to achieving the BET specific surface areas after one cycle and after 300 cycles of charging and discharging taught in the instant specification. Thus, Nagai in view of Sano teaches all of the essential features to achieving the claimed increase ratio of 20 to 50% of BET specific surface area after 300 cycles of charging and discharging relative to BET specific surface area after 1 cycle.
Regarding claim 7, Nagai in view of Sano teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Nagai further teaches that the lithium transition metal oxide included in the positive electrode active substance follows the general formula Li1+xNiyCozMn(1-y-z)MAαMBβO2 (¶ [0040], Ln. 1-5). Specifically, Example 1 teaches the use of Li1.14Ni0.34Co0.33Mn0.33Zr0.002W0.005O2, meeting the claimed Chemical Formula 1 wherein x=1.14, y=0.66, z=0, and M is the combination of Co, Mn, Zr, and W.
Regarding claim 8, Nagai in view of Sano teaches all of the limitations of claim 7 above. Nagai does not expressly teach an embodiment including a molar ratio of nickel in the lithium transition metal oxide of 0.8 or more.
Including lithium transition metal oxides having a high nickel content in positive electrode active materials in well-known in the art. Sano teaches that the positive electrode active material includes a compound represented by the formula LiaNixCoyAl(1-x-y)O2, wherein 0.5≤x≤0.9 (¶ [0020], Ln. 1-5; Formula 1). More specifically, Sano teaches 0.70≤x≤0.90, teaching that the high nickel content is more preferable in view of good capacity and rate performance (¶ [0021], Ln. 5-7). Examples 1-21 of Sano include a molar ratio of nickel of 0.85 in the positive electrode active material (¶ [0051], Ln. 1; Examples 1-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the chemical formula of the lithium transition metal oxide used in Example 1 of Nagai to include a higher molar ratio of nickel, such as 0.85, based on the teachings of Sano. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include a lithium transition metal oxide with a high nickel content in order to produce a battery with good capacity and rate performance.
Response to Arguments
Response-Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
In light of the Applicant’s amendments to claim 1 to further limit the density of the cathode active material layer, the previous rejections of claims 1-8 and 10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Nagai, et al. (US 2015/0140389 A1) in view of Sano, et al. (US 2015/0180034 A1) have been modified above.
Applicant's arguments filed July 13, 2026 regarding amended claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that a person skilled in the art would not increase the density of the cathode active material of Nagai to 3.5 g/cm3 or more based on the disclosure of Nagai; that the pore volume of Sano does not apply to the claimed pore volume; and that the specific surface area and pore volume of Sano cannot be achieved from the cathode of Nagai.
With respect to the argument, see pages 6-7 of the remarks, that a person skilled in the art would not increase the density of the cathode active material of Nagai to 3.5 g/cm3 or more based on the disclosure of Nagai, this argument is not persuasive. As noted in the previous office action, Nagai teaches that the density of positive electrode mixture layer is preferably 1.0 to 3.8 g/cm3 (¶ [0111], Ln. 11-14). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05(I)). While it is acknowledged that Nagai teaches that the density of the positive electrode mixture layer of the examples is adjusted to 1.8-2.4 g/cm3, disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments (MPEP 2123 (II)). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to include a cathode active material layer with any density within the taught range, including 3.5-3.7 g/cm3. The Applicant points to the teaching of Nagai that the cathode active material particle has a hollow structure, arguing that the shell of the particle would collapse under the pressure required to achieve a density of 3.5 g/cm3, however, as the reference teaches the full range of 1.0 to 3.8 g/cm3, one of ordinary skill in the art would not expect a cathode active material layer having any density within that range, including a density of 3.5 g/cm3, to render the cathode active material of Nagai impracticable.
With respect to the argument, see pages 7-8 of the remarks, that the pore volume of Sano does not apply to the claimed pore volume, this argument is not persuasive. While it is acknowledged that Sano teaches the pore volume of pores approximately 1,000 Å (100 nm) or smaller within the range of 0.005 to 0.02 cm3/g, one would recognize that pores with a diameter of 10-50 nm fall within this range, and would find it obvious to apply the teaching of pore volume to pores with a diameter of 10-50 nm. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to have a pore volume of pores with a diameter of 10-50 nm within the range of 0.005 to 0.02 cm3/g, overlapping the claimed range of 0.009 to 0.015 cm3/g. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05(I)).
With respect to the argument, see pages 8-9 of the remarks, that the specific surface area and pore volume of Sano cannot be achieved from the cathode of Nagai, this argument is not persuasive. The Applicant argues that the BET specific surface area and pore volume of Sano are obtained under a high-density condition and a high-nickel cathode active material, and that these properties affect the BET specific surface area and pore volume. Regarding the high-density condition, it is noted that Sano teaches a density of 3.75 to 4.1 g/cm3, overlapping the density of 1.0 to 3.8 g/cm3 taught by Nagai. Regarding the high-nickel cathode active material, it is noted that Sano teaches a molar content of nickel between 0.5 and 0.9 (¶ [0006], Ln. 9-10), overlapping the molar content of nickel of 0 to 0.7 taught by Nagai (¶ [0037], Ln. 4-8). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that as the references teach similar electrode densities and compositions, it would be obvious to apply teachings regarding specific surface area are pore volume of Sano to the active cathode material layer of Nagai.
Conclusion
/SARAH J JACOBSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1785
/MARK RUTHKOSKY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1785