DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 3/25/2022 and 11/27/2023 was/were in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because figure 12 appears to be a cross-sectional view however there is no view showing where the cross-sectional view is taken. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0096207) in Wang et al. (US 2017/0167748).
Per claim 1, Kim teaches an air conditioner comprising: a housing (10) having an air outlet (16 and 17); an air duct component (44 and 70 which forms duct S1 and S2) within the housing, wherein the air duct component defines an air duct (44) and comprises an air duct outlet (outlet from S1 leading towards 16 and outlet S2 leading towards 17) in communication with the air duct (44), the air duct outlet (outlet from S1 leading towards 16 and outlet S2 leading towards 17) being opposite to and in communication with the air outlet (16 and 17, see figure 4); an air guide component (64) at the air duct outlet (outlet from S1 leading towards 16 and outlet S2 leading towards 17) but fails to explicitly teach a light emitting component downstream of the air guide component along an air flow direction, wherein the light emitting component comprises a light emitting body opposite to the air duct outlet and the air outlet.
However, using light emitting components to indicate functionality to a user of an air treatment system is old and well known. For example, Wang teaches an air condition including an light emitting component (“indicator lamp strip”, para. 0039) downstream of an air guide component (6) along an air flow direction (see figure 2), wherein the light emitting component (“indicator lamp strip”, para. 0039) comprises a light emitting body (structural body of “indicator lamp strip”) opposite to an air duct (duct formed between 5 and housing of 5) and an air outlet (2) for indicating an operating status of the air treatment system (para. 0039). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a light emitting component downstream of an air guide component along an air flow direction, wherein the light emitting component comprises a light emitting body opposite to an air duct outlet and the air outlet, as taught by Wang in the invention of Kim, in order to advantageously indicate an operating status of an air treatment system (para. 0039).
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0096207) in Wang et al. (US 2017/0167748) as applied to the claims above and further in view of Hwang (KR 10-2122172).
Per claims 2-3, Kim meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Kim teaches wherein:
the air duct comprises a first air duct (duct in which S1 passes) and a second air duct (duct in which S2 passes), and the first air duct is in the second air duct (see figure 4);
the air duct outlet (16 and 17) comprises a first air duct opening (16) in communication with the first air duct (duct in which S1 passes) and a second air duct opening (17) in communication with the second air duct (duct in which S2 passes), wherein the second air duct opening surrounds the first air duct opening (see figure 4); but fails to explicitly teach the light emitting body is between the first air duct opening and the second air duct opening (claim 2), wherein the light emitting body is formed as a ring and surrounds the first air duct opening (claim 3).
However, Hwang teaches an air treatment system wherein a light emitting body (350) is between a first air duct opening (plurality of 5) and a second air duct opening (opening between 10 and 50) (claim 2), wherein the light emitting body is formed as a ring and surrounds the first air duct opening (“LED lighting 350 may be installed along the circumference of the guide member “, pg. 5, ninth paragraph of translation) (claim 3) for indicating a heating/cooling mode (pg. 5, fourth paragraph of translation). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a light emitting body between a first air duct opening and a second air duct opening (claim 2), wherein the light emitting body is formed as a ring and surrounds the first air duct opening (claim 3), as taught by Hwang in the invention of Kim, as modified, in order to advantageously indicate a heating/cooling mode (pg. 5, fourth paragraph of translation).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 4-16 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kim et al. (US 2017/0356672) teaches an air conditioning system including a circular light emitting component.
Lee et al. (US 2019/0184324) teaches an air conditioning system including a circular light emitting component
/DAVID J TEITELBAUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763