Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5, 8, 9, 10, 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boddie et al. (US 20100019905 A1), in view of Hay (US 20140316916 A1), in further view of Ufford et al. (2007/0050271 A1).
Re-claims 2, 3, Boddie et al. teach an inventory management system comprising:
--a first camera configured to observe placement on or removal of inventory items from the [smart ] pallet or the [smart] shelf;
(see e.g. Abstract. The inventory is tracked from reception, to storage areas, to service areas, to point of sales.
[0059] Additionally, the stock rooms have cameras 121(1) . . . 121(m) and bar areas have cameras 131(1) . . . 131(m) connected to the data management system to accomplish continuous surveillance.
[0064] At step 820, all the stock rooms, as well as the bar areas, are continuously monitored via a surveillance camera system capable of automatically saving and storing a predetermined duration of video upon an alert event. In step 822, the TESU rack systems are monitored for activity, such as removal or addition of inventory items, wherein each inventory item has an RFID tag attached to it. If an item is detected to have been removed from a TESU in step 823, then in step 824, the inventory item is updated to CHECKED OUT status by DMS 101. The monitoring process of step 822, in the event of item removal, is shown in FIG. 8.)
-- a server, storing there on an inventory software application, the inventory software application configured to:
-receive data from the smart pallet, the smart shelf, and an automatic retail device;
(see e.g. [0104] Under normal circumstances, inventory transfers from the holding area to a stock room or from a stock room to a bar area, cause a CHECKED IN event to occur.
0059] Additionally, the stock rooms have cameras 121(1) . . . 121(m) and bar areas have cameras 131(1) . . . 131(m) connected to the data management system to accomplish continuous surveillance.
[0060] The bar areas also have point of sale (POS) devices 132(1) . . . 132(m) connected to the data management system for accumulating sales of drink items.
[0051] Additionally, premises 10 has a holding area 25 for receiving inventory from outside sources and for staging inventory before transfer to one of the three stock room areas 21, 23 and 27.
A set of video surveillance cameras networked to the computer system 20 continuously monitor the premises including the stock room areas and the bar areas.
[0054] Inventory is shelved on racks inside stock rooms 21, 23, and 27; bar areas 14 and 16; and holding area 25.)
-determine movement of each inventory item from the smart pallet to the smart shelf and to the automatic retail device;
(see e.g. [0064] At step 820, all the stock rooms, as well as the bar areas, are continuously monitored via a surveillance camera system capable of automatically saving and storing a predetermined duration of video upon an alert event. In step 822, the TESU rack systems are monitored for activity, such as removal or addition of inventory items, wherein each inventory item has an RFID tag attached to it. If an item is detected to have been removed from a TESU in step 823, then in step 824, the inventory item is updated to CHECKED OUT status by DMS 101. The monitoring process of step 822, in the event of item removal, is shown in FIG. 8.
[0051] Additionally, premises 10 has a holding area 25 for receiving inventory from outside sources and for staging inventory before transfer to one of the three stock room areas 21, 23 and 27.
A set of video surveillance cameras networked to the computer system 20 continuously monitor the premises including the stock room areas and the bar areas.
[0054] Inventory is shelved on racks inside stock rooms 21, 23, and 27; bar areas 14 and 16; and holding area 25.
-determine locations of all of the plurality of inventory items.
(see e.g. abstract ---As the inventory moves from storage areas to service areas, the items are associated to a person and tracked until the inventory is properly checked in at its intended destination.
[0122] The location report 931 is useful for monitoring locations prone to inventory loss and is constructed by querying the inventory database 105 for events involving a particular location.
[0020] The computer system further comprises a display means and a report generating means for displaying reports relating the transfer of inventory from one location to another location.)
Although Boddie et al. teach the pallet and the shelf including a plurality of inventory items,
Boddie et al. do not explicitly teach the following limitations as claimed.
However, Hay teaches
a smart shelf (see e.g. [0150] As will be more fully discussed herein, each shelf or tray 28 includes a sensor tray 82 containing one or more sensors which detect when an item is removed from the shelf or tray 28. )
an automated retail device including a second camera configured to observe the placement in or removal of inventory items from the automated retail device
(see e.g. [0081] The check-in station 12 also typically includes a camera 16 and speakers used for identifying the customer and/or permitting the customer to communicate live with customer service representatives or the like.
[0196] In addition to the PIRS requirements, the same camera, or a secondary camera, may be used to take photographic images and/or video in order to document the customer's hand movement while such customer removes or places items from or on the tray below. Such could be displayed on one of the electronic displays associated with the ASO, such as the AMP 1100 associated with that bay. Alternatively, or additionally, such video or photographic images may be saved at least temporarily in order to be able to confirm, if necessary, that a customer removed or replaced an item from the tray if a billing dispute were to arise.
receive images associated with the movement of each inventory item and determine from the images an identity of each individual associated with the movement of each inventory item
(see e.g. [0020] A camera may be associated with each bay for taking images of the customer while the customer is accessing the bay.
[0021] A camera may be disposed above each tray of each bay, so as to collect images of the customer's hand while removing items from the tray. A camera disposed above each tray of the bay may also be used as part of the sensor system, wherein an image recognition system detects the presence or removal of an item from the tray by comparing photographic images.
[0082] . Alternatively biometric information may be obtained from the customer utilizing, for example, the camera 16 which can be used for facial recognition purposes, or a scanner 18 which can be used for obtaining fingerprints from the customer so as to properly identify the customer. )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Boddie et al. and include the steps cited above, as taught by Hay, in order to provide an automated checkout store outlets which has security measures so as to prevent theft, tampering and vandalism. (see e.g. [0010]).
Boddie et al., in view of Hay, do not explicitly teach the following limitations as claimed.
However, Ufford et al. teach
-- a smart pallet including a plurality of inventory items;
(see e.g. [0055] The storage unit 200 may have a load supporting surface or region 202 for supporting a load (e.g., one or more item(s), objects and/or fluids). In one embodiment, the storage unit 200 may comprise a pad or mat on which items may rest. In such an embodiment, an upper surface of the pad on which the items rest may comprises the load supporting surface 202 of the pad.
[0052] The system 100 may have one or more storage units 200 and at least one reader 102 that may be in wireless communication range with the one or more storage units 200. As shown in FIG. 1, a plurality of adjacent storage units may be grouped together with a corresponding reader (e.g., groups 104, 106, 108), so that wireless communication may occur in each group 104, 106, 108 between each storage unit and the associated reader)
-- the smart shelf including a sensor configured to sense a change in weight born by the smart shelf as inventory items are placed on the smart shelf or removed from the smart shelf,
(see e.g. [0046] Embodiments of the present invention may include a platform (e.g., a mat that may be placed on shelves), a storage rack, a shelf, a floor, a container, a vehicle and/or reusable pallet (e.g., in distribution centers and other locations), collectively referred to as a storage unit. Example applications for the inventory control system may include inventory and product management for warehouse bin/shelf/hanger/pallet storage, raw materials inventory, retail inventory management for products on shelves and hangers, and supply room operations. Storage units may be implemented in bins. Storage units may detect changes in bin weight and report additions, subtractions, and/or attainment of economic order quantity (EOQ). These reports may be useful for vendor-managed inventories. On retail shelves, the storage units may report purchase habits (quantity vs. time-of-day), item turn ratios, pre-event and post-event management (e.g., sales--did they run out of stock and for how long) and to stocking levels.
[0047] The weight sensor may be adapted to measure the load on at least a portion of the load supporting surface (e.g., an xy surface area of the storage unit). --Changes in load (weight) may initiate a transmission from the tag where the tag reports its ID that represents an identifier associated with the storage unit, the load, and a change load indicator.
[0054] The central controller 112 may implement an inventory control application that provides inventory management tools for the inventory control system 100 and may also provide automated control of product/shelf inventories, timely stocking requests, and product reorders. The central controller 112 may also provide one or more interfaces to standard retail management applications, legacy systems, and/or conventional product distribution networks.
[077] In one embodiment, the storage unit may be configured to automatically transmit its device ID and revised weight every time there is a change (for example, a product is lifted from a shelf where the storage unit 200 is implemented as a shelf pad or from a hanger. )
wherein the smart pallet includes weight sensors configured to detect the removal of items from the smart pallet. (see e.g. [0076] the weight sensor 204 may be used to sense when items are added or removed from the load supporting surface 202. The storage unit 200 may store the information obtained by the sensor regarding the weight and/or change in weight of the load on the load supporting surface 202. The storage unit may also report information relating to the change in load to the central controller 112 via a reader 102.
0080] In a further implementation, reusable plastic containers/plastic pallets may be lined with storage units. The storage unit would then verify that container/pallet was full during shipping and receiving operations. The totes may often be used in operations like a shelf where they could automatically report stock changes.
[0097] In one specific implementation, air cargo containers, pallets, and other shipping containers may be equipped with storage units 200.)
Ufford et al. also teach a smart pallet including a plurality of inventory items; (see e.g. [0097] In one specific implementation, air cargo containers, pallets, and other shipping containers may be equipped with storage units 200.
[0098] a storage unit 200 may be loaded (wired and/or wireless) with the weight/stock data for the product or products that are to be stored on the load supporting surface 202.
0055 The storage unit 200 may have a load supporting surface or region 202 for supporting a load (e.g., one or more item(s), objects and/or fluids). In one embodiment, the storage unit 200 may comprise a pad or mat on which items may rest.
[0057] The storage unit 200 may also include a weight or load sensor 204 that may be coupled to the load supporting surface 202 for detecting a weight of a load supported on the load supporting surface 202. In one embodiment, the weight sensor 204 may comprise a transducer capable of detecting the weight of the load on the load supporting surface 202 and outputting a signal representative of the weight of the load.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Boddie et al., in view of Hay, and include the steps cited above, as taught by Ufford et al. , in order to detect a change in the presence or absence of an inventory item has occurred. using weight determinations (see e.g. [0144, 0152]).
Re-claim 4, Boddie et al., in view of Hay, do not teach the following limitations as claimed.
However, Ufford et al. teach the system of claim 2, wherein the data received by the server is change in weight data generated and image data. (see e.g. col. 3, lines 49-52; col. 4, lines 33-40 --
(see e.g. [0076] In a hanger implementation, the weight sensor 204 may be used to sense when items are added or removed from the load supporting surface 202. The storage unit 200 may store the information obtained by the sensor regarding the weight and/or change in weight of the load on the load supporting surface 202. The storage unit may also report information relating to the change in load to the central controller 112 via a reader 102.
[0168] A camera image of the items on the surface can be communicated as another means to identity or confirm items on the surface or in proximity.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Boddie et al., in view of Hay, and include the steps cited above, as taught by Ufford et al., in order to further identify items (see e.g. [0168]).
Re-claim 5, Boddie et al. teach the system of claim 3, wherein image data of the first and second cameras includes an individual accessing the smart pallet, smart shelf, or automatic retail device
(see e.g. [0064] The preferred embodiment of theft deterrence 100 is shown in FIG. 15 as process for theft deterrence 816. An employee enters a stock room filled with RFID tagged inventory at step 818. At step 820, all the stock rooms, as well as the bar areas, are continuously monitored via a surveillance camera system capable of automatically saving and storing a predetermined duration of video upon an alert event.
6. A system for inventory tracking and theft deterrence for when an employee transfers an item from a first location to a second location comprising: a data management system resident on a computer and having a data structure and a set of programmed functions, where the computer is electronically connected to a first storage unit, a second storage unit, a first video camera, a second video camera,).
Re-claims 8, 9, Boddie et al., in view of et al Hay., do not teach the following limitations as claimed.
However, Ufford et al. teach --the system of claim 3, wherein the automatic retail device incudes a plurality of weight sensors, and changes in weight on one or more shelves within the automatic retail device are transmitted to the server. (see e.g.
(see e.g. [0073] . [0076] In a hanger implementation, the weight sensor 204 may be used to sense when items are added or removed from the load supporting surface 202. The storage unit 200 may store the information obtained by the sensor regarding the weight and/or change in weight of the load on the load supporting surface 202. The storage unit may also report information relating to the change in load to the central controller 112 via a reader 102.)
--the system of claim 8, wherein weight sensor and camera data are transmitted to the server at least in part via a wireless communications network.
(see e.g. [0052] The system 100 may have one or more storage units 200 and at least one reader 102 that may be in wireless communication range with the one or more storage units 200.
[0060] The wireless reporting component 210 may be coupled to the bus 208 so that it may provide and receive information to the other components of the storage unit 200 via the bus 208. For example, the wireless reporting component 210 may receive information via the bus 208 from the processor 206 and/or the weight sensor 204 for inclusion in the information contained in its outgoing wireless transmissions as well as providing the processor 206 and/or weight sensor 204 with information received in incoming wireless transmissions to the wireless communication component 210.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Boddie et al., in view of Hay, and include the steps cited above, as taught by Ufford et al., in order to allow remote monitoring (see e.g. [0129]).
Re-claim 10, Boddie et al. teach the system of claim 9, wherein the automatic retail device is configured to enable sales of inventory items and to transmit to the server data regarding any sales of an inventory item from the automatic retail device. (see e.g. [0060] The bar areas also have point of sale (POS) devices 132(1) . . . 132(m) connected to the data management system for accumulating sales of drink items. The POS devices not only track the amount of beer bottles and wine bottles to be sold, but the POS devices 132(1) . . . 132(m) also track the consumption of liquor based on bar sales or the amount of pours from each bottle based on sales. The system compares the pour amounts based on sales with the amount of liquor checked into the bar in RFID tagged bottles.)
Re-claims 12-17, Boddie et al., in view of et al Hay, do not teach the following limitations as claimed.
However, Ufford et al. teach the system of claim 10, wherein following the sale of a specific inventory item from the automatic retail device the inventory software application determines a number of the specific inventory item on the smart pallet, the smart shelf and in the automatic retail device and determine a restocking is required. (see e.g. [0045] An inventory control system according to one embodiment of the invention may include one or more storage units and a reader. The reader may receive information transmitted from a storage unit and may use information preloaded in the storage unit to determine an inventory status. Such information may include, for example: Individual Unit Weight, Max Weight (e.g., full inventory), Min Weight (e.g., reorder or restock inventory). The inventory control system may use this information to, for example, provide an automatic stocking request when the reorder point is reached and real-time reports on inventory status.)
-- wherein upon determining a restocking is required, the inventory software application communicates with a warehouse to initiate a shipment of a second smart pallet bearing a quantity of a specific inventory item in need of restocking. (see e.g. 0045 -The inventory control system may use this information to, for example, provide an automatic stocking request when the reorder point is reached and real-time reports on inventory status.)
--wherein upon receipt of the second smart pallet with the specific inventory item at a retail location, the second smart pallet transmits data via the server to the inventory software application for reconciliation of a number of the specific inventory item at the retail location. -- wherein the smart pallet transmits data to the server indicating the removal of at least one of the specific inventory item. (see e.g. [0076] the weight sensor 204 may be used to sense when items are added or removed from the load supporting surface 202. The storage unit 200 may store the information obtained by the sensor regarding the weight and/or change in weight of the load on the load supporting surface 202. The storage unit may also report information relating to the change in load to the central controller 112 via a reader 102.
The Examiner notes that the data is sent for all pallets received.
-wherein image data depicting the removal of the specific inventory item from the smart pallet is captured by the first camera and transmitted to the server for reconciliation by the inventory software application. (see e.g. [0009] -The surfaces can operate in conjunction with individual tags located on items on the surface or in proximity, bar-code readers, reflected light, cameras and other means to provide additional data and input.
[0168] the presence of an item on the surface can be confirmed. A camera image of the items on the surface can be communicated as another means to identity or confirm items on the surface or in proximity.)
--the system of claim 16, wherein the smart shelf detects the placement of the specific inventory item and transmits data regarding the placement to the server for reconciliation by the inventory software application. (See e.g. [0137] By utilizing presence sensors across the surface of the storage unit, controller 112 is able to determine a pattern (i.e., shape) of inventory items placed on the surface. That is, the controller can confirm that the size and shape (the pattern) match patterns defined by inventory or other reference information.
[0151] (6) A sixth order measurement confirms that the item placed on, and measured by the surface matches a known overall profile of weight, size and shape (preferably utilizing integer values).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Boddie et al., in view of Hay, and include the steps cited above, as taught by Ufford et al., in order to provide timely stocking requests, and help enable vendor-managed inventory where the vendor is responsible for inventory maintained on the shelves (see e.g. 0054, 0078).
Claims 11, 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boddie et al. (US 20100019905 A1), in view of Hay (US 20140316916 A1), in view of Ufford et al. (2007/0050271 A1), in further view of Palaniappan et al. (10,332,066 B1)
Re-claim 11, Boddie et al., in view of Hay, in view of Ufford et al., do not teach the limitation as claimed.
However, Palaniappan et al. teach the system of claim 10, wherein following receipt of the data regarding the sale of a specific inventory item, the inventory software application recognizes the sale, and no longer tracks that specific inventory item. (see e.g. col. 11, lines 31-37col. 2, lines 63-67 - For example, the user 116 may pick an item 104 from the inventory location 114. Using the interaction data based on the sensor data 124 and in conjunction with the item data 136, the inventory management system 122 may correctly determine that a quantity of one can of dog food has been picked, and bill the user 116 accordingly for the sale price of the item 104. -- For example, the inventory management system may use interaction data that indicates what item a user picked from a particular inventory location to adjust the count of inventory stowed at the particular inventory location.)
The Examiner notes by adjusting the count of inventory, the item is removed not being tracked.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Boddie et al., in view of Hay, in view of Ufford et al., and include the step cited above, as taught by Palaniappan et al., in order to maintain item data such as inventory levels of a particular item at a particular inventory location, generate billing information (see e.g. 11, lines 26-30).
Re-claims 18, 19, Boddie et al., in view of Hay, in view of Ufford et al., do not teach the limitation as claimed.
However, Palaniappan et al. anticipates the system of claim 17, wherein upon determining the restocking is required the inventory software application communicates to a stocking clerk an order to move a quantity of the specific inventory item from smart shelf to the automatic retail device. (see e.g. col. 8, lines 29-32; col. 29, line 55 -- During use of the facility 102, the user 116 may move about the facility 102 to perform various tasks, such as picking or placing the items 104 in the inventory locations 114. --(195) person tasked with restocking the inventory location 114).
-- the system of claim 18, wherein removal of the specific inventory item from the smart shelf for placement in the automatic retail device is detected by the sensor or the first camera and transmitted to the server for reconciliation. (see e.g. col. 7, lines 8-13; Col. 12, lines 40-47; 24-28 -- For example, a series of images acquired by the camera 120(1) may indicate removal by the user 116 of an item 104 from a particular location on the inventory location 114 and placement of the item 104 on or at least partially within the tote 118.
For example, the inventory management system 122 may identify items 104, users 116, totes 118, and so forth, based at least in part on their appearance within the image data acquired by the cameras 120(1). 83) For example, the tote 118 may be configured with a button 120(3) to accept input from the user 116 and send information indicative of the input to the inventory management system 122. -- The one or more sensors 120 may be arranged at one or more locations within the facility 102. For example, the sensors 120 may be mounted on or within a floor, wall, at a ceiling, at an inventory location 114, on a tote 118, may be carried or worn by a user 116, and so forth. -- The sensors 120 may include one or more cameras 120(1) or other imaging sensors.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Boddie et al., in view of Hay, in view of Ufford et al., and include the step cited above, as taught by Palaniappan et al., in order to correctly determine that a quantity of one can of food has been picked, and bill the user accordingly for the sale price of the item. (see e.g. col. 11, lines 35-37).
Re-claims 20, 21, Boddie et al. do not teach the following limitations
However, Hay teaches the system of claim 19, wherein the placement of the specific inventory item in the automatic retail device is detected by the second camera […].
(see e.g. [0196] In addition to the PIRS requirements, the same camera, or a secondary camera, may be used to take photographic images and/or video in order to document the customer's hand movement while such customer removes or places items from or on the tray below. Such could be displayed on one of the electronic displays associated with the ASO, such as the AMP 1100 associated with that bay.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Boddie et al., and include the step cited above, as taught by Hay, in order to Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Boddie et al. and include the steps cited above, as taught by Hay, in order to detect the presence, placement or the removal of products on or off the trays. (see e.g. [0195]).
Boddie et al., in view of Hay, do not teach the following limitations
However, Ufford et al. teach the system of claim 19, wherein the placement of the specific inventory item in the automatic retail device is detected by [...] the plurality of weight sensors.
--wherein upon detection of the placement of the specific inventory item in the automatic retail device data from the camera and the plurality of weight sensors is transmitted to the inventory software application via the server.
(see e.g. [0152] that is, the sensors confirm that one or more items are on the surface. In addition, a change in the activation of a presence sensor indicates that a change in the presence or absence of an inventory item has occurred. For example, if an item on the surface is added or removed causing a change in the status of the sensor outputs, then that change can be detected.
(see e.g. [0085] In one implementation, the storage unit 200 may automatically record when the weight sensor 204 detects items being added or removed from the load supporting surface 202. In one embodiment, the storage unit 200 may be programmed to automatically transmit its associated identifier (e.g., a storage unit ID) and currently measured or detected weight every time there is a change detected by the weight sensor 204. The central controller 112 may use preloaded product information to automatically determine inventory status. )
[0168] In this manner, the presence of an item on the surface can be confirmed. A camera image of the items on the surface can be communicated as another means to identity or confirm items on the surface or in proximity. The surface can operate as a transmitter and/or receiver to tags located on the surface and an associated bar-code reader can be used to individually identify items or inventory.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Boddie et al., in view of Hay, and include the step cited above, as taught by Ufford et al., in order to confirm the presence of an item (see e.g. [0168] ).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the office action dated 2/19/26 have been considered but are moot in view of the new rejection. For example, Hay teaches the automatic retail device argued by Applicant and the new limitations.
Conclusion
/LUNA CHAMPAGNE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627 May 14, 2026