DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Upon consideration of the amended claims, all previous objections and rejections thereto under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 8-11 of the Remarks that Fukuhiro does not anticipate the amended Claim 1, specifically the newly-added limitation “wherein a spacing between successive cutters of the plurality of cutters and a longitudinal spacing between the annular surface and the inner surface of the enclosure are each defined based on the maximum particle size.” The Applicant points to para. [0064] and the Abstract of Fukuhiro, which discuss the interactions between the components of the disclosed apparatus to crush the material to be crushed, and argues the following on page 11:
“Thus, Fukuhiro operates based on crushing the object due to engagement between both the blade section 52 and the fixed blades 47 and there is no discussion in Fukuhiro that the cutters of blade section 52 are spaced based on the maximum particle size. Rather, objects are successively crushed via engagement between hammer members 29 and fixed blades 47 until they are small enough to pass through discharge holes 74.”
and
“…spacers 49 are spaced substantially apart from the inner surface of plate 64/65 and there is no discussion in Fukuhiro about the spacing…being defined based on the maximum particle size, as recited in amended claim 1. Further, it would not have been obvious to move spacers 49 towards plate 64/65 because such modification would impede the operation of the hammer members 29 by blocking the blade section 52 from engaging with the fixed blades 47.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Although the Applicant is correct that Fukuhiro does not explicitly discuss the spacing between the successive blade sections 52 and between spacers 49 and plate 64/65 being based on the maximum particle size of the object being crushed, one skilled in the art would understand that in this type of system the spacings in question would inherently correspond to some degree with the maximum particle size of the crushed object. For instance, in applications such as the instant invention where the desired maximum particle size is 2 mm, crushing apparatuses with very large spacing between the successive cutters and between the surface of the cutting drum and the inner surface of the enclosure will be very inefficient at reducing the object to be crushed down to 2 mm particles. Likewise, crushing apparatuses with very tight spacing between the successive cutters and between the surface of the cutting drum and the inner surface of the enclosure will produce particles that are smaller than necessary. Thus, in order to ensure efficient crushing of the object to the desired maximum particle size, the spacings between the components of the crushing apparatus must be chosen based on the maximum particle size of the crushed object.
The rejection to Claim 1, and similarly to Claims 10 and 14, for being anticipated by Fukuhiro is therefore maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10, and 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukuhiro (US 2010/0006683).
Regarding Claim 1, Fukuhiro discloses (Figures 1-2, 4, and 12) a declassification apparatus comprising: a feed chute (hopper 33) comprising a first opening (upper loading opening 22) configured to receive a storage media; an adjustable portion (loading path 34) positionable on the feed chute and comprising a first side wall (angled surface 42) and a second side wall (vertical surface 46 and angled surface 41), wherein the adjustable portion is operable to guide the storage media between the first side wall and the second side wall (see para. [0051]; loading path 34 is is considered “adjustable” due to shifting plate 36); a cutting drum (crushing means 27) mechanically coupled to a drive source ([0057] lns 5-6), wherein the drive source is configured to rotate the cutting drum to sever the storage media ([0057] lns 5-10, [0077] lns 1-5: rotation shaft 45 is driven to rotate by a driving motor, and the rotating action causes hammer members 29 to sever fractions of the storage media), and wherein the cutting drum comprises: an annular surface (outer surface of spacers 49); and a plurality of cutters (blade sections 52 on hammer members 29) extending from the annular surface; and an enclosure (casing 21 with crushing chamber 26) partially surrounding the cutting drum, the enclosure comprising: a second opening (guide path 20) configured to receive the storage media, the second opening comprising: a leading edge (upper edge of angled surface 20a) vertically aligned with the first side wall of the adjustable portion (see Annotated Figure 1 below); and a trailing edge (top edge of baffle plate 98) vertically aligned with the second side wall of the adjustable portion (see Annotated Figure 1 below; baffle plate 98 is vertically aligned with vertical surface 46 of the second side), wherein the second opening is configured to bias the storage media against the leading edge to thereby constrain the storage media in a shearing engagement with the cutting drum to shear a portion of the storage media into severed fragments and to direct the severed fragments into the enclosure ([0075] lns 1-9, [0077] lns 1-12: the storage media drops roughly vertically into crushing chamber 26 along guide path 20 and into a shearing engagement with hammer members 29 with the severed fragments entering crushing chamber 26 to be further cut by hammer members 29 and fixed blades 47a/b; due to the loading path of the storage media and the effect of gravity, the storage media will be constrained in this shearing engagement by angled surface 20a); a cyclic pathway within the enclosure configured to redirect the severed fragments exceeding a maximum particle size to the cutting drum for successive agitation ([0079] lns 4-6); and a screen (discharge plate 73; [0061] lns 6-7) configured to extend longitudinally parallel to a rotational axis (rotation shaft 45) of the cutting drum (positioning of discharge plate 73 extending longitudinally parallel to rotation shaft 45 is clearly seen in Figure 2) and configured to receive the severed fragments of the storage media ([0061] lns 7-12: discharge plate 73 is placed underneath the rotation shaft 45 of the cutting drum and therefore receives the severed fragments due to the effect of gravity), wherein a size of the severed fragments of the storage media is based on a rotational movement of the cutting drum (represented by Arrow A in Figure 1) and a tolerance between the cutting drum and an inner surface (holding plates 64/65) of the enclosure (tolerance between outer ends of hammer members 29 and holding plates 64/65 is clearly seen in Figure 1; [0077] lns 4-12: as the crushing means 27 rotates, the severed fragments are cut between the hammer members 29 on the crushing means and the fixed blades 47a/b and crushing assisting projections 95 on the holding plates 64/65, therefore the tolerance between the cutting drum and the inner surface of the enclosure will determine the size of the severed fragments), wherein a spacing between successive cutters of the plurality of cutters and a longitudinal spacing between the annular surface and the inner surface of the enclosure are each defined based on the maximum particle size ([0077] lns 4-12: the object to be crushed is reduced to the desired maximum particle size by the interactions of hammer members 29 with the fixed blades 47a/b and crushing assisting projections 95 on the holding plates 64/65, therefore the spacings between the successive hammer members 29 and between the surfaces of spacers 49 and holding plates 64/65 will be defined at least in part based on the maximum particle size).
Fukuhiro Annotated Figure 1
Regarding Claim 2, Fukuhiro discloses (Figures 1-2 and 12) the cutting drum (crushing means 27 having rotation shaft 45) is configured to be rotated responsive to mechanical actuation by the drive source ([0057] lns 5-10) to sever fragments of the storage media against the screen (discharge plate 73; [0079] lns 1-6: hammer members 29 fragment the crushed storage media until the fragments can pass through the discharge plate 73).
Regarding Claim 3, Fukuhiro discloses (Figure 12) the screen (discharge plate 73) comprises a sizing regulator having a plurality of apertures (discharge holes 74), each aperture being defined based on the maximum particle size ([0079] lns 6-8: the diameter of discharge holes 74 is interpreted as the maximum particle size).
Regarding Claim 4, Fukuhiro discloses (Figures 1-2) the screen (discharge plate 73) is disposed near the cutting drum (crushing means 27 with hammer members 29) based on the tolerance (tolerance between outer ends of hammer members 29 and inner surface of discharge plate 73 is clearly seen in Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 5, Fukuhiro discloses (Figures 1-2 and 12) the screen (discharge plate 73) is a sieving entity having an array of apertures (discharge holes 74), wherein a screen tolerance of the screen (tolerance between outer ends of hammer members 29 and inner surface of discharge plate 73) is based on an interference between the cutting drum (crushing means 27 with hammer members 29) and the sieving entity configured to shear the severed fragments of the storage media unable to pass through the array of apertures ([0079] lns 1-6: the fragments are sheared between the hammer members 29 and the fixed blades 47 until they can pass through the discharge holes 74 due to the spacing between the two, i.e. due to an interference).
Regarding Claim 7, Fukuhiro discloses (Figures 1-2 and 12) a size of the severed fragments is based on a feed speed and a rotation speed ([0094] lns 1-13: one skilled in the art would understand that a chosen rotation speed/sequence of speeds, as well the speed with which the storage media is fed to the rotating hammer members 29, will result in severed fragments of a particular size), and wherein a size of the severed fragments of the storage media passable through the screen (discharge plate 73) is based on an aperture size of the screen ([0079] lns 6-8: only particles smaller than the diameter of discharge holes 74 will be able to pass through the discharge plate 73, thus the screen has an aperture size that determines the size of the passable fragments).
Regarding Claim 8, Fukuhiro discloses (Figures 1 and 12) the enclosure (casing 21 enclosing crushing chamber 26) further comprises an output (lower discharge opening 23) formed by the screen (discharge plate 73; [0061] lns 11-12) configured to dispose the severed fragments of the storage media against a sieved surface ([0061] lns 6-9: the severed fragments will be disposed against the sieved surface due to gravity).
Regarding Claim 10, Fukuhiro discloses (Figures 1-2, 4, and 12) a method for declassifying storage media having sensitive data by rendering the storage media into an unreadable physical form ([0084] lns5-7, [0090] lns 1-5), the method comprising: inserting a mass storage device including the storage media into a feed chute (hopper 33) comprising a first opening (upper loading opening 22) configured to receive the storage media and an adjustable portion (loading path 34) positionable on the feed chute and comprising a first side wall (angled surface 42) and a second side wall (vertical surface 46 and angled surface 41), wherein the adjustable portion is operable to guide the mass storage device between the first side wall and the second side wall (see para. [0051]; loading path 34 is considered “adjustable” due to shifting plate 36); directing the mass storage device into an enclosure (casing 21 with crushing chamber 26), wherein the enclosure comprises: an agitator (crushing means 27) including an annular surface (outer surface of spacers 49) and a plurality of cutters (blade sections 52 on hammer members 29) extending from the annular surface; a second opening (guide path 20) configured to receive the mass storage device, the second opening comprising: a leading edge (upper edge of angled surface 20a) vertically aligned with the first side wall of the adjustable portion (see Annotated Figure 1 above); and a trailing edge (top edge of baffle plate 98) vertically aligned with the second side wall of the adjustable portion (see Annotated Figure 1 above; baffle plate 98 is vertically aligned with vertical surface 46 of the second side); a cyclic pathway within the enclosure ([0079] lns 4-6); and a screen (discharge plate 73; [0061] lns 6-7) configured to extend longitudinally parallel to a rotational axis (rotation shaft 45) of the agitator (positioning of discharge plate 73 extending longitudinally parallel to rotation shaft 45 is clearly seen in Figure 2) and having a plurality of apertures (discharge holes 74) defining a particle size ([0079] lns 6-8: the diameter of discharge holes 74 is interpreted as the particle size); rotating the agitator in the enclosure ([0059] lns 1-2), wherein the second opening is configured to bias the mass storage device against the leading edge to thereby constrain the storage media in a shearing engagement with the agitator to shear a portion of the storage media into severed fragments and to direct the severed fragments into the enclosure ([0075] lns 1-9, [0077] lns 1-12: the storage media drops roughly vertically into crushing chamber 26 along guide path 20 and into a shearing engagement with hammer members 29 with the severed fragments entering crushing chamber 26 to be further cut by hammer members 29 and fixed blades 47a/b; due to the loading path of the storage media and the effect of gravity, the storage media will be constrained in this shearing engagement by angled surface 20a); receiving, by the screen, the severed fragments of the mass storage device ([0061] lns 7-12: discharge plate 73 is placed underneath the rotation shaft 45 of the agitator and therefore receives the severed fragments due to the effect of gravity), wherein a size of the severed fragments of the mass storage device is based on a rotational movement of the agitator (represented by Arrow A in Figure 1) and a tolerance between the agitator and an inner surface (holding plates 64/65) of the enclosure (tolerance between outer ends of hammer members 29 and holding plates 64/65 is clearly seen in Figure 1; [0077] lns 4-12: as the crushing means 27 rotates, the severed fragments are cut between the hammer members 29 on the crushing means and the fixed blades 47a/b and crushing assisting projections 95 on the holding plates 64/65, therefore the tolerance between the cutting drum and the inner surface of the enclosure will determine the size of the severed fragments), wherein a spacing between successive cutters of the plurality of cutters and a longitudinal spacing between the annular surface and the inner surface of the enclosure are each defined based on the size of the severed fragments of the mass storage device ([0077] lns 4-12: the object to be crushed is reduced to severed fragments of a given size by the interactions of hammer members 29 with the fixed blades 47a/b and crushing assisting projections 95 on the holding plates 64/65, therefore the spacings between the successive hammer members 29 and between the surfaces of spacers 49 and holding plates 64/65 will be defined at least in part based on the size of the severed fragments of the mass storage device); passing the severed fragments of the mass storage device that are smaller than the particle size as declassified media particles through the screen ([0079] lns 6-8); and redirecting the severed fragments of the mass storage device that are larger than the particle size into the enclosure for successive agitation ([0079] lns 1-8: the fragments too large to pass through discharge holes 74 are sheared between the hammer members 29 and fixed blades 47 until they are small enough to pass through).
Regarding Claim 14, Fukuhiro discloses (Figures 1-2, 4, and 12) a media declassification device, comprising: an agitator (crushing means 27 with hammer members 29 and rotation shaft 45) having an annular surface (outer surface of spacers 49) and a plurality of cutters (blade sections 52) extending from the annular surface, wherein the agitator is configured to sever fragments of a media component ([0077] lns 1-5); a feed opening (hopper 33 with loading opening 22) comprising a wall (angled surface 42) having a leading edge (lower edge of angled surface 42) and configured to receive the media component and pass the media component into engagement with the agitator; an enclosure (casing 21 with crushing chamber 26) around the agitator comprising an input (guide path 20) configured to receive the media component, the input comprising an input wall (angled surface 20a) and an input leading edge (lower edge of angled surface 20a), wherein a force of the plurality of cutters biases the media component against the leading edge, the wall, the input leading edge, and the input wall as the agitator is rotated to thereby constrain the media component in a shearing engagement with the agitator ([0075] lns 1-9, [0077] lns 1-12: the storage media drops into crushing chamber 26 along guide path 20 and into a shearing engagement with hammer members 29 with the severed fragments entering crushing chamber 26 to be further cut by hammer members 29 and fixed blades 47a/b; due to the loading path of the storage media and the effect of gravity, the storage media will be constrained in this shearing engagement by angled surface 20a, and due to the direction of rotation of the crushing means 27 represented by arrow A, the force thereof will bias media component in the direction of the angled surface 20a, the angled surface 2, and the lower edges thereof); a screen (discharge plate 73) extending longitudinally parallel to a rotational axis (rotation shaft 45) of the agitator (positioning of discharge plate 73 extending longitudinally parallel to rotation shaft 45 is clearly seen in Figure 2) and configured to receive the severed fragments ([0061] lns 7-12: discharge plate 73 is placed underneath the rotation shaft 45 of the agitator and therefore receives the severed fragments due to the effect of gravity), wherein the screen defines a sizing regulator configured to pass the severed fragments within a maximum particle size in a radial direction out of the enclosure ([0079] lns 1-8: the diameter of discharge holes 74 is interpreted as the maximum particle size), wherein a spacing between successive cutters of the plurality of cutters and a longitudinal spacing between the annular surface and an inner surface (holding plates 64/65) of the enclosure are each defined based on the maximum particle size ([0077] lns 4-12: the object to be crushed is reduced to the desired maximum particle size by the interactions of hammer members 29 with the fixed blades 47a/b and crushing assisting projections 95 on the holding plates 64/65, therefore the spacings between the successive hammer members 29 and between the surfaces of spacers 49 and holding plates 64/65 will be defined at least in part based on the maximum particle size); and an actuator connected to the agitator and configured to rotate the agitator in an agitating engagement with the media component ([0057] lns 5-10).
Regarding Claim 15, Fukuhiro discloses (Figures 1-2 and 4) the agitator (crushing means 27 with hammer members 29) the plurality of cutters (blade sections 52) extend in a staggered manner across the annular surface (outer surface of spacers 49; [0056] lns 1-5: hammer members 29 having blade sections 52 are arranged in both the circumferential and axial directions along rotating shaft 45, therefore the blade sections 52 are arranged in a staggered manner with respect to the outer surfaces of spacers 49).
Regarding Claim 16, Fukuhiro discloses (Figures 1 and 12) the screen (discharge plate 73) is disposed adjacent the agitator (crushing means 27 with hammer members 29 and rotation shaft 45) and aligned with the enclosure (casing 21 enclosing crushing chamber 26; alignment clearly shown in Figure 1), wherein the screen is configured to pass particles from the enclosure ([0079] lns 1-2), and wherein the screen includes apertures (discharge holes 74) defining the maximum particle size ([0079] lns 6-8: the hole diameter of the discharge holes 74 is interpreted as the maximum particle size).
Regarding Claim 17, Fukuhiro discloses (Figures 1-2) the agitator comprises a cutting drum (assembly of rotating shaft 45, hammer members 29, circular plates 48, and spacers 49), wherein the plurality of cutters (blade sections 52 on hammer members 29) of the cutting drum define an interleaving arrangement of protrusions ([0056] lns 1-5: hammer members 29 having blade sections 52 are arranged in both the axial and circumferential directions along the cutting drum, therefore the blade sections are in an interleaving arrangement of protrusions), and wherein the interleaving arrangement of protrusions defines a spacing based on the maximum particle size ([0079] lns 4-8: the fragments are crushed by hammer members 29 until they are small enough to pass through discharge holes 74, therefore the spacing of the interleaving arrangement must be based on the maximum particle size).
Regarding Claim 18, Fukuhiro discloses (Figure 1) the actuator comprises a drive source connected to the agitator ([0057] lns 5-6) and configured to rotate the agitator ([0057] lns 8-10), and wherein the agitator (crushing means 27 with hammer members 29 and rotation shaft 45) is configured to engage the media component in a severing communication against the enclosure ([0077] lns 1-12: the media component is severed between the hammer members 29 of the agitator and the fixed blades 47a/b and crushing assisting projections 95 affixed to the casing 21 of the enclosure).
Regarding Claim 19, Fukuhiro discloses (Figure 1) a conveyance drive (shifting means 35 with shifting plate 36) configured to draw the media component into engagement with the agitator ([0049] lns 1-5, [0052] lns 1-6: the storage media is fed into engagement with hammer members 29 by adjusting the feeding direction using shifting plate 36 of shifting means 35) and bias the particles through the screen (discharge plate 73; [0079] lns 1-2: after being processed by the hammer members 29, the particles fall due to the influence, i.e. bias, of gravity through the discharge holes 74 in discharge plate 73).
Regarding Claim 20, Fukuhiro discloses (Figure 1) the conveyance drive (shifting means 35 with shifting plate 36) includes at least one of friction rollers, gaseous currents, magnetic or gravitational mechanisms ([0074] lns 1-5, [0075] lns 1-2: the shifting means 35 with shifting plate 36 is interpreted as a gravitational mechanism, as it guides the trajectory of the media component as it descends roughly vertically into the crushing chamber 26).
Regarding Claim 21, Fukuhiro discloses (Figure 1) a size of the second opening (guide path 20) is based on a size of the storage media ([0052] lns 1-10: the storage media is fed into crushing chamber 26 via guide path 20, so the path must be sized to accommodate it).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuhiro as applied to Claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Ko (US 2013/0320121).
Regarding Claim 9, Fukuhiro does not disclose a plunger. In the same field of endeavor, Ko teaches (Figures 24) a declassification apparatus comprising a feed chute (conveying track 12 in housing trough 11) comprising an adjustable portion (butting plate 132), a cutting drum (cutter 31) in an enclosure (lower housing 200), the enclosure comprising an opening (release passage 141) configured to receive the storage media comprising a leading edge (lower left edge of release passage 141) and a trailing edge (lower right edge of release passage 141), wherein the opening is configured to bias a storage media (disk 60) against the leading edge ([0025] lns 18-19) to thereby constrain it in a shearing engagement with the cutting drum (see Figure 3), and a plunger (movable member 23). The plunger acts to dispense the storage media into the enclosure to engage with the cutting drum ([0029] lns 8-13) and allows for automation of this process so that an operator does not need to manually feed the storage media into the declassification apparatus (see para. [0030]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the declassification apparatus disclosed by Fukuhiro such that it also comprises a plunger, as taught by Ko, in order to automate the process of feeding storage media into the declassification apparatus.
Regarding Claim 13, Fukuhiro discloses (Figure 1) advancing the storage media to the agitator (crushing means 27) at a speed based on an intended size of the severed fragments (one skilled in the art would understand that a given feed rate will result in fragments of a particular size, so the desired size of the severed fragments would be used to determine the optimal feed rate), but does not disclose that said advancing is achieved with a plunger. In the same field of endeavor, Ko teaches (Figures 2-4) a method for declassifying a storage media, the method comprising inserting a mass storage device (disk 60) into a feed chute (conveying track 12 in housing trough 11) comprising an adjustable portion (butting plate 132), directing the mass storage device into an enclosure (lower housing 200), the enclosure comprising an agitator (destroying unit 30 with cutters 31) and an opening (release passage 141) configured to receive the mass storage device having a leading edge (lower left edge of release passage 141) and a trailing edge (lower right edge of release passage 141), wherein the opening is configured to bias the mass storage device (disk 60) against the leading edge ([0025] lns 18-19) to thereby constrain it in a shearing engagement with the agitator (see Figure 3), and advancing the mass storage device, via a plunger (movable member 23) to the agitator at a speed based on an intended size of the severed fragments (one skilled in the art would understand that a given feed rate will result in fragments of a particular size, so the desired size of the severed fragments would be used to determine the optimal feed rate). The purpose of using the plunger to advance the mass storage device is to dispense the storage media into the enclosure and into engagement with the agitator ([0029] lns 8-13) in such a way that the process can be automated so that an operator does not need to manually perform this step (see para. [0030]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method for declassifying a storage media disclosed by Fukuhiro such that the advancing of the mass storage device to the agitator is done via a plunger, as taught by Ko, in order to automate the feeding process.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TERESA A GUTHRIE/Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/Christopher L Templeton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725