DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 8th September 2025 have been entered. Claims 1-14 are pending. Applicants amendments to the claims have overcome all objections, and all rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) that were previously applied in the office action dated 6th March 2025.
Response to Arguments
In regards to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101, Applicant argues ‘Claims 1-14 have been amended and no longer include the language in the form rejected by the Examiner. Accordingly, it is respectfully submitted that the rejection to claims 1-14 under 35 U.S.C. § 101 has been fully addressed and overcome, and withdrawal of the rejection is respectfully requested’. Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant, the language that was previously cited and annotated in the last office action regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101 still remains, and thus the rejection is maintained, an updated rejection to reflect the amended claims is shown below, with emphasis added in claim recited language for clarification on the rejection.
In regards to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102 & 103, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the health data application" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner notes this should recite “the health data software application”.
Claims 9-14 are rejected for their dependence on a rejected parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Each of Claims 1-14 has been analyzed to determine whether it is directed to any judicial exceptions.
Step 2A, Prong 1
Each of Claims 1-14 recites at least one step or instruction for monitoring the health of a patient, which is grouped as a mental process under the 2019 PEG or a certain method of organizing human activity under the 2019 PEG. Accordingly, each of Claims 1-14 recites an abstract idea.
Specifically,
Claim 1: A system to remotely monitor health of a patient (Observation), the system comprising: an electronic tablet device preconfigured to allow a predetermined number of software applications to be operated by a designated user; and
one or more electronic health data collecting devices preconfigured to communicate with the electronic tablet device so as to transmit collected data of the patient (Observation) to the electronic tablet device;
wherein at least one of the software applications of the electronic tablet device is a health data software application configured such that the designated user can begin a health data collecting procedure (Observation) by opening the health data software application and operating one of the electronic health data collecting devices;
wherein the electronic tablet device is configured to transmit the collected data (Observation) to a remotely located health care administration electronic system; and
wherein the electronic tablet device is configured to establish a direct, real-time audio/video communication between the designated user and a remote heath care provider to discuss the collected data (Evaluation/Opinion).
Claim 8: A method of remote monitoring health data, the method comprising: providing a system to a designated user that is configured to be associated with health data of a patient, the system comprising:
an electronic tablet device preconfigured to allow a predetermined number of software applications to be operated by a designated user, and
one or more electronic health data collecting devices preconfigured to communicate with the electronic tablet device so as to transmit collected data (Observation) to the electronic tablet device;
wherein at least one of the software applications of the electronic tablet device is a health data software application configured such that the designated user can begin a health data collecting procedure (Observation) by opening the health data application and operating one of the electronic health data collecting devices;
wherein the electronic tablet device is configured to transmit the collected data (Observation) to a remotely located health care administration electronic system; and
wherein the electronic tablet device is configured to establish a direct, real-time audio/video communication between the designated user and a remote health care provider to discuss the collected data (Evaluation/Opinion).
(the underlined portions of the above recited independent Claims are grouped as a mental process under the 2019 PEG. (observation, judgement or evaluation, which is grouped as a mental process under the 2019 PEG))
Further, dependent Claims 2-7 and 9-14 merely include limitations that either further define the abstract idea (and thus don’t make the abstract idea any less abstract) or amount to no more than generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use because they’re merely incidental or token additions to the claims that do not alter or affect how the process steps are performed. Although the dependent Claims are further limiting, they do not recite significantly more than the abstract idea. A narrow abstract idea is still an abstract idea and an abstract idea with additional well-known equipment/functions is not significantly more than the abstract idea.
Accordingly, as indicated above, each of the above-identified claims recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong 2
The above-identified abstract idea in each of independent Claims 1 and 8 (and their respective dependent Claims 2-7 and 9-14) is not integrated into a practical application under 2019 PEG because the additional elements (identified above in independent Claims 1 and 8), either alone or in combination, generally link the use of the above-identified abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. More specifically, the additional elements of: tablet device, health data collecting devices, software applications, and a health data software application as recited in independent Claims 1 and 8 and their dependent claims; and a blood pressure cuff, pulse oximeter, technical support software application, communication software application, wireless controller/transmitter as recited in dependent Claims 2-7 and 9-14, are generically recited computer elements in independent Claims 1 and 8 (and their respective dependent claims) which do not improve the functioning of a computer, or any other technology or technical field. Nor do these above-identified additional elements serve to apply the above-identified abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine, effect a transformation or apply or use the above-identified abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use thereof to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. Furthermore, the above-identified additional elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. For at least these reasons, the abstract idea identified above in independent Claims 1 and 8 (and their respective dependent claims) is not integrated into a practical application under 2019 PEG.
Moreover, the above-identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application under 2019 PEG because the claimed method and system merely implements the above-identified abstract idea (e.g., mental process and certain method of organizing human activity) using rules (e.g., computer instructions, applications, health data application, technical support application, communication application,. etc.) executed by a computer (e.g., tablet device as claimed). In other words, these claims are merely directed to an abstract idea with additional generic computer elements which do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. Additionally, Applicant’s specification does not include any discussion of how the claimed invention provides a technical improvement realized by these claims over the prior art or any explanation of a technical problem having an unconventional technical solution that is expressed in these claims. That is, like Affinity Labs of Tex. v. DirecTV, LLC, the specification fails to provide sufficient details regarding the manner in which the claimed invention accomplishes any technical improvement or solution. Thus, for these additional reasons, the abstract idea identified above in independent Claims 1 and 8 (and their respective dependent claims) is not integrated into a practical application under the 2019 PEG.
Accordingly, independent Claims 1 and 8 (and their respective dependent claims) are each directed to an abstract idea under 2019 PEG.
Step 2B
None of Claims 1-14 include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea for at least the following reasons.
These claims require the additional elements of: tablet device, health data collecting devices, software applications, and a health data software application as recited in independent Claims 1 and 8 and their dependent claims; and a blood pressure cuff, pulse oximeter, technical support software application, communication software application, wireless controller/transmitter as recited in dependent Claims 2-7 and 9-14.
The above-identified additional elements are generically claimed computer components which enable the above-identified abstract idea(s) to be conducted by performing the basic functions of automating mental tasks. The courts have recognized such computer functions as well understood, routine, and conventional functions when claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity. See, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc. , 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); and OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93.
Per Applicant’s specification, the tablet device is described as a generic computer at Para. [0013] “…that includes a pre-programmed information processing device with a screen, which may be referred to generically as a "tablet"”. The health data collecting devices are described generically at Para. [0015] “The devices used to gather or collect medical/health data to be transmitted to the physician may be dedicated devices, such as, for example, a blood pressure cuff or thermometer or weight scale, etc., that communicate health data to the tablet, or more general devices like a smart watch that monitors pulse and movement activity and so on.”. The applications are generically described with verbatim language that is recited in the claims, the examiner interprets the claim language as an admission by the applicant that the applications described are well understood in the art and generically recited computer components.
Accordingly, in light of Applicant’s specification, the claimed term tablet device; health data collecting device(s); and applications are each reasonably construed as a generic computing device. Like SAP America vs Investpic, LLC (Federal Circuit 2018), it is clear, from the claims themselves and the specification, that these limitations require no improved computer resources, just already available computers, with their already available basic functions, to use as tools in executing the claimed process.
Furthermore, Applicant’s specification does not describe any special programming or algorithms required for the tablet device. This lack of disclosure is acceptable under 35 U.S.C. §112(a) since this hardware performs non-specialized functions known by those of ordinary skill in the computer arts. By omitting any specialized programming or algorithms, Applicant's specification essentially admits that this hardware is conventional and performs well understood, routine and conventional activities in the computer industry or arts. In other words, Applicant’s specification demonstrates the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the above-identified additional elements because it describes these additional elements in a manner that indicates that the additional elements are sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars of such additional elements to satisfy 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) (see Berkheimer memo from April 19, 2018, (III)(A)(1) on page 3). Adding hardware that performs “‘well understood, routine, conventional activit[ies]’ previously known to the industry” will not make claims patent-eligible (TLI Communications).
The recitation of the above-identified additional limitations in Claims 1-14 amounts to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer. Simply using a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); and TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit). Moreover, implementing an abstract idea on a generic computer, does not add significantly more, similar to how the recitation of the computer in the claim in Alice amounted to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea of intermediated settlement on a generic computer.
A claim that purports to improve computer capabilities or to improve an existing technology may provide significantly more. McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games Am. Inc., 837 F.3d 1299, 1314-15, 120 USPQ2d 1091, 1101-02 (Fed. Cir. 2016); and Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1335-36, 118 USPQ2d 1684, 1688-89 (Fed. Cir. 2016). However, a technical explanation as to how to implement the invention should be present in the specification for any assertion that the invention improves upon conventional functioning of a computer, or upon conventional technology or technological processes. That is, the disclosure must provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement. Here, Applicant’s specification does not include any discussion of how the claimed invention provides a technical improvement realized by these claims over the prior art or any explanation of a technical problem having an unconventional technical solution that is expressed in these claims. Instead, as in Affinity Labs of Tex. v. DirecTV, LLC 838 F.3d 1253, 1263-64, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207-08 (Fed. Cir. 2016), the specification fails to provide sufficient details regarding the manner in which the claimed invention accomplishes any technical improvement or solution.
For at least the above reasons, the system and method of Claims 1-14 are directed to applying an abstract idea as identified above on a general purpose computer without (i) improving the performance of the computer itself, or (ii) providing a technical solution to a problem in a technical field. None of Claims 1-14 provides meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that these claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Taking the additional elements individually and in combination, the additional elements do not provide significantly more. Specifically, when viewed individually, the above-identified additional elements in independent Claims 1 and 8 (and their dependent claims) do not add significantly more because they are simply an attempt to limit the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. That is, neither the general computer elements nor any other additional element adds meaningful limitations to the abstract idea because these additional elements represent insignificant extra-solution activity. When viewed as a combination, these above-identified additional elements simply instruct the practitioner to implement the claimed functions with well-understood, routine and conventional activity specified at a high level of generality in a particular technological environment. As such, there is no inventive concept sufficient to transform the claimed subject matter into a patent-eligible application. When viewed as whole, the above-identified additional elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Thus, Claims 1-14 merely apply an abstract idea to a computer and do not (i) improve the performance of the computer itself (as in Bascom and Enfish), or (ii) provide a technical solution to a problem in a technical field (as in DDR).
Therefore, none of the Claims 1-14 amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Accordingly, Claims 1-14 are not patent eligible and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-9, 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10748656 B1 to Zhao et al. (hereinafter, Zhao) in view of US 10303851 B2 to Nguyen et al. (hereinafter, Nguyen).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhao discloses a system to remotely monitor health of a patient (Zhao: Abstract), the system comprising:
an electronic tablet device preconfigured to allow a predetermined number of software applications to be operated by a designated user (Zhao: Col. 10, lines 3-17); and
one or more electronic health data collecting devices preconfigured to communicate with the electronic tablet device so as to transmit collected data of the patient to the electronic tablet device (Zhao: Col. 10, lines 17-25);
wherein at least one of the software applications of the electronic tablet device is a health data software application configured such that the designated user can begin a health data collecting procedure by opening the health data software application and operating one of the electronic health data collecting devices (Zhao: Col. 10, lines 14-63);
wherein the electronic tablet device is configured to transmit the collected data to a remotely located health care administration electronic system (Zhao: Col. 11, line 64-Col. 12, line 3; Col. 8, lines 16-24) an
Zhao does not explicitly disclose wherein the electronic tablet device is configured to establish a direct, real-time audio/video communication between the designated user and a remote health
However, Nguyen teaches wherein the electronic tablet device is configured to establish a direct, real-time audio/video communication between the designated user and a remote heath care provider to discuss the collected data (Nguyen: Col. 4 line 65-Col. 5 line 7).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the electronic tablet device of Zhao to be configured to establish a direct, real-time audio/video communication between the designated user and a remote health care provider to discuss the collected data as taught by Nguyen in order to assist in the need to reduce unnecessary hospital admissions (Nguyen: Col. 2, lines 16-32).
Regarding Claim 8, Zhao discloses a method of remote monitoring of the health data (Zhao: Abstract), the method comprising: providing a system to a designated user that is configured to be associated with health data of a patient (Zhao: Abstract), the system comprising:
an electronic tablet device preconfigured to allow a predetermined number of software applications to be operated by a designated user (Zhao: Col. 10, lines 3-17), and
one or more electronic health data collecting devices preconfigured to communicate with the electronic tablet device so as to transmit collected data to the electronic tablet device (Zhao: Col. 10, lines 17-25);
wherein at least one of the software applications of the electronic tablet device is a health data software application configured such that the designated user can begin a health data collecting procedure by opening the health data application and operating one of the electronic health data collecting devices (Zhao: Col. 10, lines 14-63);
wherein the electronic tablet device is configured to transmit the collected data to a remotely located health care administration electronic system (Zhao: Col. 11, line 64-Col. 12, line 3; Col. 8, lines 16-24 ); and
Zhao does not explicitly disclose wherein the electronic tablet device is configured to establish a direct, real-time audio/video communication between the designated user and a remote health
However, Nguyen teaches wherein the electronic tablet device is configured to establish a direct, real-time audio/video communication between the designated user and a remote health care provider to discuss the collected data (Nguyen: Col. 4 line 65-Col. 5 line 7).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the electronic tablet device of Zhao to be configured to establish a direct, real-time audio/video communication between the designated user and a remote health care provider to discuss the collected data as taught by Nguyen in order to assist in the need to reduce unnecessary hospital admissions (Nguyen: Col. 2, lines 16-32).
Regarding Claim 2 and 9, Zhao in view of Nguyen discloses the system of claim 1 and 8, Zhao does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the software applications of the electronic tablet device is a communication software application configured to initiate an audio and visual communication with a designated health care administrator when the designated user opens the communication software application.
However, Nguyen further teaches wherein at least one of the software applications of the electronic tablet device is a communication software application configured to initiate an audio and visual communication with a designated health care administrator when the designated user opens the communication software application (Nguyen: Col. 4 line 65-Col. 5 line 7).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the electronic tablet device of Zhao to include a communication software application configured to initiate an audio and visual communication with a designated health care administrator when the designated user opens the communication software application as taught by Nguyen in order to assist in the need to reduce unnecessary hospital admissions (Nguyen: Col. 2, lines 16-32).
Regarding Claim 5 and 12, Zhao in view of Nguyen discloses the system of claims 1 and 8, Zhao further discloses wherein the one or more electronic health collecting devices includes a blood pressure cuff configured with a wireless controller/transmitter to collect blood pressure related health data to be transmitted to the electronic tablet device (Zhao: Col. 5, lines 27-39; Col. 5, lines 62-65; Col. 11, lines 14-19).
Regarding Claim 6 and 13, Zhao in view of Nguyen discloses the system of claim 5 and 12, Zhao further discloses wherein the one or more electronic health collecting devices includes a pulse oximeter configured to collect health data to be transmitted to the electronic tablet device (Zhao: Col. 5, lines 27-39; Col. 5, lines 62-65).
Regarding Claim 7 and 14, Zhao in view of Nguyen discloses the system of claim 1, Zhao further discloses configured as a kit to be delivered to the designated user such that the designated user can use the system immediately upon powering the electronic tablet device (Zhao: Col. 2, lines 26-43).
Claim(s) 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Nguyen in further view of US 20110119290 A1 to Dhoble et al. (hereinafter, Dhoble).
Regarding Claim 3 and 10, Zhao in view of Nguyen discloses the system of claims 1 and 8, Zhao in view of Nguyen does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the software applications of the electronic tablet device is a technical support software application configured to initiate a communication with a designated technical support administrator when the designated user opens the technical support software application.
However, Dhoble teaches wherein at least one of the software applications of the electronic tablet device is a technical support software application configured to initiate a communication with a designated technical support administrator when the designated user opens the technical support software application (Dhoble: Para. [0078] ‘the client application may offer the user the ability to avail of a variety of services. Examples of such services may include, but not be limited to… technical support… For example, the client application may provide a user interface (e.g., 705i) from which a user may be able to select from a variety of products, services, tutorials, and/or the like, relating to various topics including, but not limited to… technical support/call center ’).
One having an ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the electronic tablet device of Zhao to include the technical support of Dhoble as a best practice to offer the user the ability to avail of a variety of services such as technical support. (Dhoble: Para. [0078] ‘the client application may offer the user the ability to avail of a variety of services… including… technical support’).
Claim(s) 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Nguyen in further view of “A guide to connected health device and remote patient monitoring vendors” (Published 5/6/2020) https://www.healthcareitnews.com/news/guide-connected-health-device-and-remote-patient-monitoring-vendors to Bill Siwicki (hereinafter, Siwicki).
Regarding Claim 4 and 11, Nguyen discloses the system of claims 1 and 8, Nguyen does not further discloses wherein the electronic tablet device is configured such that no further software applications can be added to the tablet device except by the designated user.
However, Siwicki teaches wherein the tablet device is configured such that no further software applications can be added to the electronic tablet device except by the designated user (Siwicki: Para. Trapollo ‘Additionally, the company has a mobile device management team that can work to ensure all of an organization’s owned devices are set up properly and locked down as needed to meet security needs.’).
One having an ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to implement the locked down set up of Siwicki into the monitoring apparatus of Cosentino in order to ensure the device is set up properly, used as intended, and meets the security needs for any proprietary software on the device by following ISO 13485, and ISO 27001 (Siwicki: Para. Tactio Health ‘…used by hospitals, physician groups and senior patients across North America and Europe under HIPAA and GDPR privacy, ISO 13485 quality, and ISO 27001 security.’).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAWN CURTIS BROUGHTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/PATRICK FERNANDES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791