DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the Amendments/Response filed on December 9, 2025. Claim(s) 1, 2, 11, and 17 have been amended. No additional claims have been added. Claim 13 has been cancelled. Claims 1-12 and 14-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Amendments
The examiner fully acknowledges the amendments to claims 1, 2 11 and 17 filed on December 9, 2025.
The applicant’s amendments to claim 1 are sufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection which applied Ho et al. (KR 20190058942).
Similarly, the applicant’s amendments to claims 11 and 17 are sufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection which applied Ho et al. (KR 20190058942).
However, upon further consideration, they do not place the application in condition for allowance. Ho discloses an injection port 33 that addresses the amended limitations, of having a slurry delivery element within the distribution bar that supplies slurry to the channel in a bottom surface of the distribution bar. Please see the updated rejections set forth in the action applying the new interpretation of Ho (KR20190058942).
Response to Arguments
The applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-8, filed December 9, 2025 have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections: The examiner agrees that the amendments to claims 1, 11 and 17 overcome the previous rejection.
However, the amended language added to fails to overcome Ho as a reference. Please see the updated rejection in the action below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, 9-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by AN JOON HO et al. (KR20190058942, henceforward referred to as HO).
In regards to claim 1, HO discloses
a slurry supply device, comprising:
a slurry distribution part (fluid supply device 1, fig. 1-17) configured to dispense slurry; and
a support part (support part 8, fig. 17) connected to the slurry distribution part (fluid supply device 1, fig. 1-17) and configured to support the slurry distribution part (fluid supply device 1, fig. 1-17),
wherein the slurry distribution part (fluid supply device 1, fig. 1-17) includes:
a guide bar (main body 2, fig. 1-17) including a slot (see fig. 12 - ann. 1) extending in a first direction;
a distribution bar (slurry supply unit 3, fig. 1-17) inserted into the slot (see fig. 12 - ann. 1) and including a distribution channel (slurry supply channel 31, fig. 3-9) extending in the first direction, the distribution channel (slurry supply channel 31, fig. 3-9) being recessed upwardly from a bottom surface (see fig. 7/8 - ann. 1) of the distribution bar (slurry supply unit 3, fig. 1-17); and
a slurry delivery member (slurry storage device; page 4 ¶5) configured to deliver the slurry to the distribution channel (slurry supply channel 31, fig. 3-9),
wherein the distribution bar (slurry supply unit 3, fig. 1-17) further includes a supply passage (slurry injection hole 33; page 4 ¶5) inside the distribution bar (slurry supply unit 3, fig. 1-17),
page 4 ¶5: The slurry injection hole 33 is for injecting slurry into the slurry supply channel 31 . The slurry injection hole 33 may be formed in the slurry supply member 32 to communicate with the slurry supply channel 31 . The slurry injection hole 33 may be connected to the slurry storage device. In this case, the slurry injection hole 33 may inject the supplied slurry into the slurry supply channel 31 after receiving the slurry from the slurry storage device. The slurry injection hole 33 may receive slurry through a passage formed inside the slurry supply member 32 or a pipe installed inside the slurry supply member 32.
the supply passage (slurry injection hole 33; page 4 ¶5) extending upwardly from the distribution channel (slurry supply channel 31, fig. 3-9) and connecting to the slurry delivery member (slurry storage device; page 4 ¶5), and
In regards to claim 2, HO discloses
the slurry supply device of claim 1, wherein a length of the distribution channel (slurry supply channel 31, fig. 3-9) in the first direction is greater than a length of the supply passage (slurry injection hole 33; page 4 ¶5) in the first direction (see fig. 4).
In regards to claim 5, HO discloses
the slurry supply device of claim 1, wherein a length of the distribution channel (slurry supply channel 31, fig. 3-9) in the first direction is less than a length (see fig. 7/8 - ann. 2) the distribution bar (slurry supply unit 3, fig. 1-17) in the first direction.
In regards to claim 6, HO discloses
the slurry supply device of claim 1, wherein a depth of the distribution channel (slurry supply channel 31, fig. 3-9) increases in a second direction intersecting the first direction (see fig. 7/8 – ann. 3).
In regards to claim 9, HO discloses
the slurry supply device of claim 1, wherein the guide bar (main body 2, fig. 1-17) further includes
a recovery channel (the slits/channels of nozzles 5, fig. 8) recessed upwardly from a bottom surface (the flat portions of nozzles 5, see fig. 8) of the guide bar and spaced apart from the slot (see fig. 7/8 – ann. 4) in a second direction intersecting the first direction.
In regards to claim 10, HO discloses
the slurry supply device of claim 9, wherein a length of the recovery channel in the first direction is the same as a length of the guide bar in the first direction (a short length of the channel is the same as a short length of the guide bar).
In regards to claim 11,
a substrate polishing apparatus, comprising:
a platen (polishing platen 120, fig. 3) configured to support a polishing pad (polishing pad 110, fig. 3);
a polishing head (polishing head 130, fig. 3 and 17) on the platen (polishing platen 120, fig. 3); and
a slurry supply device separated from the polishing head (polishing head 130, fig. 3 and 17), wherein the slurry supply device includes:
a slurry distribution part (fluid supply device 1, fig. 1-17) configured to dispense slurry and including
a distribution bar (slurry supply unit 3, fig. 1-17) extending in a first direction and including a distribution channel (slurry supply channel 31, fig. 3-9) recessed upwardly from a bottom surface (see fig. 7/8 – ann. 1) of the distribution bar (slurry supply unit 3, fig. 1-17) and
a slurry delivery member (slurry storage device; page 4 ¶5) configured to deliver the slurry to the distribution channel (slurry supply channel 31, fig. 3-9),
wherein the distribution bar (slurry supply unit 3, fig. 1-17) further includes a supply passage (slurry injection hole 33; page 4 ¶5) inside the distribution bar (slurry supply unit 3, fig. 1-17),
page 4 ¶5: The slurry injection hole 33 is for injecting slurry into the slurry supply channel 31 . The slurry injection hole 33 may be formed in the slurry supply member 32 to communicate with the slurry supply channel 31 . The slurry injection hole 33 may be connected to the slurry storage device. In this case, the slurry injection hole 33 may inject the supplied slurry into the slurry supply channel 31 after receiving the slurry from the slurry storage device. The slurry injection hole 33 may receive slurry through a passage formed inside the slurry supply member 32 or a pipe installed inside the slurry supply member 32.
the supply passage (slurry injection hole 33; page 4 ¶5) extending upwardly from the distribution channel (slurry supply channel 31, fig. 3-9) and connecting to the slurry delivery member (slurry storage device; page 4 ¶5), and
a support part (support part 8, fig. 17) connected to the slurry distribution part (fluid supply device 1, fig. 1-17) and configured to support the slurry distribution part (fluid supply device 1, fig. 1-17), wherein
a width of the distribution channel (slurry supply channel 31, fig. 3-9) in a second direction is less than a width of the bottom surface of the distribution bar (slurry supply unit 3, fig. 1-17) in the second direction (see fig. 7/8 – ann. 5), and
the second direction intersects the first direction (see fig. 7/8 – ann. 5).
In regards to claim 12, HO discloses
the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the distribution part (fluid supply device 1, fig. 1-17) further includes a guide bar (main body 2, fig. 1-17) including a slot (see fig. 12 - ann. 1) extending in the first direction and vertically penetrating (going up into) the guide bar (see fig. 12 – ann. 1), and the distribution bar (slurry supply unit 3, fig. 1-17) is inserted into the slot (see fig. 12 - ann. 1).
In regards to claim 14, HO discloses
the apparatus of claim 11, further comprising
a conditioning device (conditioner 140, fig. 17), wherein the distribution bar (slurry supply unit 3, fig. 1-17) is disposed between (see fig. 17 – ann. 1) the conditioning device and the polishing head (polishing head 130, fig. 3, 17).
In regards to claim 15, HO dislcoses
the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the support part (support part 8, fig. 17) includes
a rotation support shaft (rotating shaft, [0087]) and a rotation member (rotation mechanism, [0087]) rotationally coupled to the rotation support shaft, and the slurry distribution part (fluid supply device 1, fig. 1-17) is connected to the rotation member ([0082-0083], [0087]).
[0082] Referring to FIG. 17, the fluid supply device 1 according to the modified embodiment of the present invention may include a support portion 8.
[0083] The support part (8) supports the main body (2). The main body 2 can be supported by the support portion 8 by being coupled to the support portion 8. The support portion 8 may be installed at a position spaced apart from the polishing pad 110. The support portion 8 may be installed on the bottom surface of the chemical mechanical polishing apparatus 100.
[0087] Although not shown, the support portion 8 may include a rotation mechanism for rotating the main body 2. The rotating mechanism may include a motor for rotating the main body 2. The motor may be directly coupled to the rotating shaft of the main body 2 to rotate the main body 2. When the rotation shaft of the motor and the main body 2 are disposed apart from each other, the rotation mechanism may include a coupling mechanism for connecting the rotation shaft of the main body 2 with the motor. The coupling mechanism may be implemented by a pulley, a belt, a sprocket and a chain, a driving gear, a driven gear, or the like. The rotating mechanism may rotate the main body 2 by rotating the supporting portion 8. In this case, the support portion 8 can rotate the main body 2 as it is rotated by the rotation mechanism. The main body 2 may be manually rotated to rotate between the first position FP and the second position SP. In this case, the fluid supply device 1 according to the present invention may include a support pin for fixing the main body 2 at the first position FP and the second position SP, respectively.
In regards to claim 17, HO discloses
a substrate polishing method, comprising:
rotating a polishing pad (polishing pad 110, fig. 3);
placing a substrate (substrate, ¶abstract) on the polishing pad (polishing pad 110, fig. 3);
[0014] The chemical mechanical polishing apparatus 100 performs a polishing process for polishing a surface of a substrate 200 such as a wafer... The chemical mechanical polishing apparatus 100 includes a polishing pad 110 which is in contact with a surface of the substrate 200, a polishing platen 120 (shown in FIG. 3) provided with the polishing pad 110, A polishing head 130 for holding the polishing pad 110, and a conditioner 140 for modifying the surface of the polishing pad 110. The polishing head 130 can rotate the substrate 200 while pressing the surface of the substrate 200 against the polishing pad 110 while the surface of the substrate 200 is in contact with the polishing pad 110. Thus, a polishing process for the substrate 200 is performed. During the polishing process, the polishing pad 110 may rotate about the pad rotation axis 110a. The polishing pad 110 may rotate together with the polishing table 120 as it rotates.
contacting ([0014]) the substrate with the polishing pad (polishing pad 110, fig. 3); and
supplying ([003]) the polishing pad (polishing pad 110, fig. 3) with slurry using a slurry distribution part (fluid supply device 1, fig. 1-17) of a slurry supply device to dispense the slurry onto a surface of the polishing pad (polishing pad 110, fig. 3),
wherein the slurry distribution part (fluid supply device 1, fig. 1-17) includes
a distribution bar (slurry supply unit 3, fig. 1-17) including
a distribution channel (slurry supply channel 31, fig. 3-9) extending in a first direction, and
a slurry delivery member (slurry storage device; page 4 ¶5) configured to deliver the slurry to the distribution bar (slurry supply unit 3, fig. 1-17),
the distribution bar (slurry supply unit 3, fig. 1-17) further includes a supply passage (slurry injection hole 33; page 4 ¶5) inside the distribution bar (slurry supply unit 3, fig. 1-17), the supply passage (slurry injection hole 33; page 4 ¶5) extending upwardly from the distribution channel (slurry supply channel 31, fig. 3-9) and connecting to the slurry delivery member (slurry storage device; page 4 ¶5),
the distribution channel (slurry supply channel 31, fig. 3-9) is recessed upwardly (see fig. 7/8 – ann. 1) from a bottom surface of the distribution bar (slurry supply unit 3, fig. 1-17), and
the bottom surface of the distribution bar (slurry supply unit 3, fig. 1-17) faces a top surface of the polishing pad (polishing pad 110, fig. 3).
In regards to claim 18, HO discloses
the method of claim 17, wherein the supplying of the polishing pad (polishing pad 110, fig. 3) with the slurry includes:
transferring the slurry from a slurry tank (slurry storage device, [0018]) to the slurry delivery member (slurry storage device; page 4 ¶5);
[0018] Referring to FIGS. 1 to 3, the slurry supply unit 3 supplies slurry to the polishing pad 110. The slurry is intended to induce chemical polishing of the substrate. The chemical mechanical polishing apparatus 100 performs the polishing process using the slurry supplied from the slurry supply unit 3. The slurry supply unit 3 can receive slurry from a slurry storage device (not shown). The slurry storage device may be connected to the main body 2 and supply the slurry to the slurry supply part 3 through the main body 2. A passage for the slurry to flow may be formed in the main body 2. A pipe for flowing the slurry may be installed inside the body 2.
transferring the slurry from the slurry delivery member (slurry storage device; page 4 ¶5) to the distribution channel (slurry supply channel 31, fig. 3-9); and dispensing the slurry in the first direction along the distribution channel (slurry supply channel 31, fig. 3-9).
In regards to claim 19, HO discloses
the method of claim 18, wherein the supplying of the polishing pad (polishing pad 110, fig. 3) with the slurry further includes transferring the slurry between the bottom surface of the distribution bar (slurry supply unit 3, fig. 1-17) and the top surface of the polishing pad (polishing pad 110, fig. 3).
[0023] The slurry is then supplied to the slurry supply channel 31 through the slurry supply channel 31. The slurry supply channel 31 supplies the slurry to the slurry supply unit 31. [ May be guided through the channel 31 to spread over the polishing pad 110 as a whole. Accordingly, in the embodiment, the slurry supplied to the polishing pad 110 flows into the polishing head 130 to increase the amount used in the polishing process.
In regards to claim 20, HO discloses
the method of claim 18, wherein the distribution bar (slurry supply unit 3, fig. 1-17) further includes a supply passage (slurry injection hole 33; page 4 ¶5) extending from the distribution channel (slurry supply channel 31, fig. 3-9) to connect with the slurry delivery member (slurry storage device; page 4 ¶5), and transferring the slurry towards the distribution channel (slurry supply channel 31, fig. 3-9) through the supply passage (slurry injection hole 33; page 4 ¶5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HO et al. (KR20190058942).
In regards to claim 7, HO discloses
the slurry supply device of claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose that a depth of the distribution channel (slurry supply channel 31, fig. 3-9) ranges from “about 0.5 mm to about 1.2 mm.”
Pursuant of MPEP 2144.05.II.A-B (In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)), it has been found that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed int he prior art, the discovery of optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation is not inventive, given a lack of evidence indicating the claimed range is critical:
[0064] A depth in the third direction D3 of the distribution channel 1c may range from about 0.5 mm to about 1.2 mm. For example, the depth of the distribution channel 1c may range from about 0.8 mm to about 0.9 mm. As the distribution channel 1c does not vertically penetrate the distribution bar 1, the depth of the distribution channel 1c may be less than a third depth h3 or a depth of the first block body 111. In some embodiments, the depth of the distribution channel 1c may be changed based on position. For example, the depth of the distribution channel 1c may become greater in the second direction D2. That is, the depth of the distribution channel 1c may range from a first depth hi to a second depth h2 that is greater in the second direction D2 than the first depth hl. The first depth hi may be about 0.8 mm. The second depth h2 may be about 0.9 mm. The depth of the distribution channel 1c may linearly increase in the second direction D2, but the inventive concept are not limited thereto.
As such, it would have been routine optimization to arrive at the claimed invention, as the Supreme Court held that "obvious to try" is a valid rationale for an obviousness finding, for example, when there is a "design need" or "market demand" and there are a "finite number" of solutions. In the case of the instant application, distribution channel will have a specific dimensionality, and finding the correct dimensions to accommodate proper flow of slurry in order to supply it to the polishing pad and encourage efficient substrate polishing would address design needs and market demands.
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HO et al. (KR20190058942) in view of Masayoshi (JP2021178370A).
In regards to claim 8, HO discloses
the slurry supply device of claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose it further comprising:
“a connection part configured” to connect the slurry distribution part (fluid supply device 1, fig. 1-17) to the support part (support part 8, fig. 17), wherein the “connection part” includes
“an upper coupling member connected” to the support part (support part 8, fig. 17),
“a lower coupling member connected” to the slurry distribution part (fluid supply device 1, fig. 1-17), and
“a resilient member connecting the upper coupling member to the lower coupling member.”
HO does provide a description of a rotation mechanism ([0083-0087]), and means for connecting different components, but fails to explicitly disclose an upper coupling member, lower coupling member, and resilient member.
Masayoshi, which also discloses a slurry supply device coupled with polishing pad assembly, teaches the structure for a connection part engaging the support part and connecting it to the slurry distribution part:
[0028] (Up-and-down turning mechanism) As shown in FIG. 4, the base end portion 60b of the arm 60 is connected to an up-and-down turning mechanism 70 for raising and lowering the arm 60. The elevating and turning mechanism 70 includes a raising and lowering mechanism 80 for raising and lowering the arm 60, and a turning mechanism 90 for turning the arm 60. The elevating mechanism 80 and the turning mechanism 90 are controlled by the control device 200.
[0029] In this example, the elevating mechanism 80 has an elevating cylinder 81 fixed to the frame 85, and the base end portion 60b of the arm 60 is fixed to the shaft 82 of the elevating cylinder 81...The arm 60 is configured to be moved in the vertical direction by advancing and retreating the shaft 82 of the elevating cylinder 81. The elevating mechanism 80 further includes a ball spline 83 that guides the vertical movement of the arm 60. The ball spline 83 is fixed to the frame 85. The base end portion 60b of the arm 60 is fitted to the shaft 84 of the ball spline 83, and the vertical movement of the arm 60 by the elevating cylinder 81 is guided along the shaft 84.… Further, in this example, the elevating mechanism 80 adopts a drive system using an elevating cylinder 81, but may be driven by a motor via a ball screw or a belt mechanism.
[0031] In this example, as shown in FIGS. 2 and 3, the base end 60b of the metal arm 60 and the elevating mechanism 80 are waterproof to protect these configurations from scattering of slurry, water, polishing residues and the like. It is stored in the box 71. Further, as shown in FIGS. 2 and 3, the base end side of the arm 60 is covered with the waterproof box 72. For further waterproofing of the arm 60, even if the surface of the arm 60 (particularly, the portion of the arm 60 outside the waterproof boxes 71 and 72 in FIGS. 2 and 3) is coated with a water-repellent material such as fluororesin. good. In this case, the portion of the arm 60 outside the waterproof boxes 71 and 72 can be appropriately cleaned with the cleaning nozzle 300 (FIG. 1) outside the polishing table 20 to suppress inconvenience due to adhesion of slurry or the like. .. Instead of coating the arm 60 with a resin, a configuration may be adopted in which most or all of the arm 60 is covered with a waterproof cover. Further, the waterproof boxes 71 and 72 may also be appropriately cleaned with the cleaning nozzle 300 (FIG. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified HO to incorporate the teachings of
Masayoshi and provide an upper coupling in the form of the housing (waterproof box 71), lower coupling (base end of the arm 60b), and resilient member (lift cylinder 81 and shaft as a belt mechanism, given belts are known as resilient) to functionally connect the slurry arm to the polishing apparatus and provide a means for actuation between different positions and provide slurry across the polishing pad.
Examiner’s Note:
“Resilient” member, in light of applicant’s specification is being understood generally as non-brittle:
[0048] The resilient member 95 may connect the upper coupling member 91 to the lower coupling member 93. Here, the resilient member 95 may include an elastic (or rigidly flexible) material, such as a metal plate. In this manner, it may be possible to relieve or suppress the propagation of vibrations and/or mechanical impact between
The terms “elastic” and “rigid” are typically considered opposites, however by giving the example of a “metal plate”, it’s being understood as a material generally with stability and strength, and allowing for some tolerance to bend.
In regards to claim 16, HO discloses
the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the slurry supply device further includes
a connection part (main body 2, fig. 1-17; [0083], [0087]) configured to connect the slurry distribution part (fluid supply device 1, fig. 1-17) to the support part (support part 8, fig. 17),
[0083] The support part (8) supports the main body (2). The main body 2 can be supported by the support portion 8 by being coupled to the support portion 8. The support portion 8 may be installed at a position spaced apart from the polishing pad 110. The support portion 8 may be installed on the bottom surface of the chemical mechanical polishing apparatus 100.
[0087] Although not shown, the support portion 8 may include a rotation mechanism for rotating the main body 2. The rotating mechanism may include a motor for rotating the main body 2. The motor may be directly coupled to the rotating shaft of the main body 2 to rotate the main body 2 … In this case, the fluid supply device 1 according to the present invention may include a support pin for fixing the main body 2 at the first position FP and the second position SP, respectively.
the rotation member (rotation mechanism, [0087]) includes a first rotation member (motor, [0087]) rotationally coupled to the rotation support shaft (rotating shaft, [0087]).
However, HO fails to disclose a second rotation member connected to the first rotation member, the second rotation member includes an insertion slot extending in the first direction, and the connection part is inserted into the insertion slot to connect the second rotation member.
However, Masayoshi teaches a rotation assembly with housing, rotating arm (60, which is similar to HO connection part, main body 2) inserted into the housing (waterproof box 71, serving as a second rotation member) of the lifting and rotation mechanism (70).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified HO to incorporate the teachings of
Masayoshi and provide a slot in the housing for connecting the connecting part to the rotation mechanism, to functionally connect the slurry arm to the polishing apparatus and provide a means for actuation between different positions and provide slurry across the polishing pad.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 4 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claim 3, HO, while considered the closest art of record, neither anticipates nor renders obvious the combination of all the recited elements as presented within the claims. HO discloses the slurry supply device of claim 2, but fails to disclose the distribution bar further includes
“a first distribution block and a second distribution block, the first distribution block and the second distribution block are horizontally connected and inserted into the slot (emphasis added),
the first distribution block includes a first distribution channel recessed upwardly from a first bottom surface of the first distribution block, the second distribution block includes a second distribution channel recessed upwardly from a second bottom surface of the second distribution block, the first bottom surface and the second bottom surface are connected to form the bottom surface of the distribution bar, the first distribution channel and the second distribution channel are connected to form the distribution channel, and the supply passage is disposed in the first distribution block.”
In examining figure 8 of HO, it appears as if it meets the limitations (see annotated fig. 8 to assist in the explanation). It appears that if the slurry supply unit (3) were compartmentalized such that the supply member (32) were interpreted as the distribution block, and the paneled members interpreted as at least a first and second block, the limitation would be met. However, they fail to be inserted into the “slot” as defined in claim 1.
Additionally, coupling member (35) which is connected to the supply member (32) fails to have a slot for the supply member (32, including blocks) to be inserted into. The specification describes coupling member (35) as providing a connection means of “[0043]… a fastening means such as a bolt. The slurry supply member 32 may be detachably coupled to the coupling member 35 using an interference fit method or the like.” A bolt an interference are not considered to make obvious a connection through slot insertion. As such, the limitations of claim 3 distinguish the claimed invention over the closest art of record.
As claim 4 is dependent upon claim 3, it is similarly considered allowable.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON KHALIL HAWKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723