kDETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 15 January 2026 has been entered. Applicant amended claims 1, 5, 11, 15. Applicant added claims 21-24 and cancelled claims 6-7 and 9-10. Accordingly, claims 1-5, 8, and 11-24 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 15 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s remarks:
As may be obtained from what is shown above, the authentication of Lee occurs by signal transmission to and from the CRUM chip. To the extent such signal transmission is discloses, Lee fails to cure the cited art's deficiencies by failing to teach or suggest doing comparison between the authentication data generated by the consumable and the reference data generated by the image forming apparatus, let alone that both the authentication data and the reference data are each based on a combination of fixed data and variable data of the consumable, as recited in Applicant's claims.
For at least the reasons set forth above, reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejection is respectfully solicited.
Examiner’s remarks:
Applicant’s claims do not prevent the consumable from being a replaceable consumable unit that is being authenticated.
Paragraph 26 of Lee discloses each of the main controller and the CRUM chip, when a signal including the integrity detection data is received from a counterpart, may separate the integrity detection data from the received signal and compare the separated integrity detection data with integrity detection data which is generated on its own from remaining data in order to verify integrity of the signal.
Paragraphs 108-109 discloses the detection unit (of the image forming apparatus) separates the second integrity detection data included in the second signal received through the interface unit, and detects integrity of the data included in the second signal. More specifically, the detection unit 113 applies a known method between the CRUM chip 210 regarding the remaining data after separation of the second integrity detection data and the integrity detection data that the controller transmitted previously, and generates integrity detection data/reference data. The detection unit compares the integrity detection data/reference data generated accordingly with the second integrity detection/authentication data separated from the second signal, and determines whether they are identical. If they are identical, the detection unit 113 determines that the corresponding data is integral, and if they are not identical, the detection unit 113 determines that the corresponding data is in an error state.
The authentication data is generated as disclosed in paragraph 206 of Lee, wherein the CRUM chip generates integrity detection data 2 using the data to be transmitted ( which include fixed data/serial data and random data/variable data) and the integrity detection data 1 (that can be variable data). Paragraphs 184 and 218 reveal the integrity detection data is based on the algorithm shown in paragraphs 184 and 218. Integrity detection data 2= E(authentication data 2/ authentication result 2 / SEC U2/ integrity detection data 1, wherein integrity detection data 1= E(authentication CMD/ authentication DATA 1/ SEC U1). Paragraph 225 discloses the CRUM chip generates com-2 having data to be used in the image forming apparatus, specific data stored in the CRUM chip, a serial number of the CRUM chip, and random data as data. Paragraphs 175 and 205 reveal data1 includes random data necessary for authentication and specific information stored in the image forming apparatus. Paragraph 178 reveals data2 includes the first random data, second random data, the chip serial number. Furthermore, Figure 21 shows a splice of the DATA as DATA1[1] | DATA1[2] | …..DATA1[4] which according to paragraphs 175 and 178 of Lee further disclose that DATA includes reading random data necessary for authentication, data values related to encryption for authentication, specific information stored in an image forming apparatus, a chip serial number (CSN), part of internal information of CRUM chip, and so on. Paragraph 52 reveals the specific information stored in the CRUM chip includes toner remains percent which is interpreted to be variable data. Thus, the authentication data is the same as the result of the spliced/combined DATA, along with the other elements to compute integrity detection/authentication
The reference data is generated as disclosed in paragraph 178 of Lee wherein once the CRUM chip receives com-1, the CRUM chip transmit com-2 which includes data2, sw2, crc2, secu2, vc2. The data of com-2 may include the first random data (R1), the second random data (second variable data), a chip serial number (second fixed data), information regarding a key used for an asymmetric key algorithm, part of internal information of CRUM chip, and so on. The first random data (R1) is a value received at com-1, and the second random data (R2) is a value which is generated from the CRUM chip 210. The information included in com-2 … is used to compare with the authentication data to determine whether the consumable meets expectation.
In the office action, the prior art of Bracewell and Antonio resolves the deficiencies of Lee.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al EP 2746859 (hereinafter Lee) in further view of Liu US 20150206039 (hereinafter Liu).
As to claim 1, Lee teaches a consumable chip, wherein the consumable chip is capable of being installed on a consumable (paragraph 49 discloses the customer replacement unit monitoring (CRUM) chip is mounted on a consumable unit), the consumable is capable of being detachably installed on an image forming apparatus (paragraph 3 discloses a unit which the ink or toner is stored, such component is a consumable unit. Paragraph 56 discloses the consumable unit can be detached and attached to the body of the image forming device), and the consumable chip comprising:
a chip control unit (paragraph 54 discloses the CRUM chip includes a CPU that manages the memory, perform various program stored in the memory and performed communication with a body of an image forming device), configured to:
receive an authentication request sent by the image forming apparatus (paragraph 34 discloses the authentication may comprise authentication operation in which the main controller [of the image forming device] transmit a signal including first data and first integrity data to the CRUM chip. Figure 20, reference number S1510 reveal com-1 of “Authentication CMD 1” is transmitted from the main controller to the CRUM Chip, see also paragraph 205. Paragraph 205 discloses the main controller transmit signal com-1 which include data and integrity detection data 1. The data includes authentication start command data 1),
obtain the first fixed data and [specific information stored in the image forming apparatus] based on the authentication request (paragraph 178 discloses the CRUM chip receives data from com-1. Paragraphs 176 and 205 reveal com-1 includes data1 and authentication cmd1. Data1 includes specific information stored in the image forming apparatus. Paragraph 178 further discloses the CRUM chip transmits com-2 which includes data2. The data of the com-2 includes fixed data[chip serial number]. Therefore, the chip obtains data1 which includes specific information stored in the image forming apparatus and data2 which includes serial number of the chip),
generate authentication data based on a combination of the first fixed data and [specific information stored in the image forming apparatus], wherein the authentication data is the same as a result of splicing the first data and the [specific information stored in the image forming apparatus] (paragraph 206 discloses the CRUM chip generates integrity detection data 2 using the data to be transmitted and the integrity detection data 1. The CRUM chip also configures authentication data 2 by collecting random data which is generated accordingly and data necessary to perform other functions. Paragraphs 184 and 218 reveal the integrity detection data is based on the algorithm shown in paragraphs 184 and 218. Integrity detection data 2= E(authentication data 2/ authentication result 2 / SEC U2/ integrity detection data 1, wherein integrity detection data 1= E(authentication CMD/ authentication DATA 1/ SEC U1). Paragraph 225 discloses the CRUM chip generates com-2 having data to be used in the image forming apparatus, specific data stored in the CRUM chip, a serial number of the CRUM chip, and random data as data. Paragraphs 175 and 205 reveal data1 includes random data necessary for authentication and specific information stored in the image forming apparatus. Paragraph 178 reveals data2 includes the first random data, second random data, the chip serial number. Furthermore, Figure 21 shows a splice of the DATA as DATA1[1] | DATA1[2] | …..DATA1[4] which according to paragraphs 175 and 178 of Lee further disclose that DATA includes reading random data necessary for authentication, data values related to encryption for authentication, specific information stored in an image forming apparatus, a chip serial number (CSN), part of internal information of CRUM chip, and so on. Paragraph 52 reveals the specific information stored in the CRUM chip includes toner remains percent which is interpreted to be variable data. Thus, the authentication data is the same as the result of the spliced/combined DATA, along with the other elements to compute integrity detection/authentication), and
send the authentication data to the image forming apparatus (Figure 2, S1530 “Integrity detection test data 2”, “Authentication data 2” is sent from the CRUM chip to the controller of the image forming device; paragraphs 69 and 206 disclose the CRUM chip transmit integrity detection 2 to the controller of the image forming device), wherein the chip control unit is a processor (paragraph 54 discloses the CRUM chip include a CPU) and the authentication data is used to determine whether the consumable meets expectation (paragraph 181 and claim 8 disclose the authentication process confirms/checks compatibility between the CRUM chip or the consumable unit with the image forming device); and
send second fixed data and second variable data to the image forming apparatus, the second fixed data and the second variable data are used to generate reference data (paragraph 178 discloses once the CRUM chip receives com-1, the CRUM chip transmit com-2 which includes data2, sw2, crc2, secu2, vc2. The data of com-2 may include the first random data (R1), the second random data (second variable data), a chip serial number (second fixed data), information regarding a key used for an asymmetric key algorithm, part of internal information of CRUM chip, and so on. The first random data (R1) is a value received at com-1, and the second random data (R2) is a value which is generated from the CRUM chip 210. The information included in com-2 … is used to compare with the authentication data to determine whether the consumable meets expectation. Paragraph 26 discloses each of the main controller and the CRUM chip, when a signal including the integrity detection data is received from a counterpart, may separate the integrity detection data from the received signal and compare the separated integrity detection data with integrity detection data which is generated on its own from remaining data in order to verify integrity of the signal. Paragraphs 108-109 discloses the detection unit (of the image forming apparatus) separates the second integrity detection data included in the second signal received through the interface unit, and detects integrity of the data included in the second signal. More specifically, the detection unit 113 applies a known method between the CRUM chip 210 regarding the remaining data after separation of the second integrity detection data and the integrity detection data that the controller transmitted previously, and generates integrity detection data/reference data. The detection unit compares the integrity detection data/reference data generated accordingly with the second integrity detection/authentication data separated from the second signal, and determines whether they are identical. If they are identical, the detection unit 113 determines that the corresponding data is integral, and if they are not identical, the detection unit 113 determines that the corresponding data is in an error state).
While paragraph 52 reveals the specific information stored in the CRUM chip includes toner remains percent which is interpreted to be variable data, Lee does not explicitly teach the specific information stored in the CRUM chip is first variable data, and obtaining a first variable data representing consumption information of the consumable based on the authentication request, wherein the first variable data is updated after each image forming operation to reflect a consumption status of the consumable; generate authentication data based on the combination of the first fixed data and the first variable data.
Liu teaches obtain a first variable data representing consumption information of the consumable based on the authentication request (paragraph 73 discloses data stored in the chip includes ink remaining amount, the number of printed pages, a consumption amount of a toner which are non-key parameters. Key parameters stored on the chip includes serial number of the chip, ink capacity, and other parameters. Paragraph 84 discloses the chip performs calculation based on obtaining key parameter, non-key parameters/the reference data prestored in the chip and in accordance with a present rule. Paragraph 88 discloses the present rule includes mathematical operation. Paragraph 80 discloses the non-key parameter is a parameter prestored in the chip), wherein the first variable data is updated after each image forming operation to reflect a consumption status of the consumable (paragraph 73 discloses obtaining both fixed data and variable data. Furthermore, paragraph 3 discloses the extracted data of number of printed pages, toner consumption amount, and ink remaining amount are variable data that is updated/changed after an image forming operation (such as printing)); generate authentication data based on the combination of the first fixed data and the first variable data (paragraph 84 discloses key parameter (authentication data) is generated based on the calculation result. The chip performs calculation based on obtaining key parameter, non-key parameters/the reference data prestored in the chip and in accordance with a present rule. Paragraph 88 discloses the present rule includes mathematical operation. Paragraph 80 discloses the non-key parameter is a parameter prestored in the chip), and send the authentication data to the image forming apparatus (paragraph 91 discloses transmitting the key parameter to the print imaging device), wherein the authentication data is used to determine whether the consumable meets expectation (paragraph 120 discloses the key parameter is used to recognize whether the imaging cartridge is illegal imaging cartridge).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the specific information applied in Lee’s calculation for integrity detection with Liu’s calculation of reading the key parameter (serial number-fixed data ) and the non-key parameter (variable data) to recognize whether the imaging cartridge is illegal (paragraph 120 of Liu) and to manage the authentication data such that the authentication data is not easily acquired by a competitor (paragraph 6 of Liu).
As to claim 2, the combination of Lee in view of Liu teaches wherein the chip control unit is further configured to: receive a parameter acquisition request sent by the image forming apparatus (Liu: paragraphs 77, 78, and 80 disclose the chip of an image cartridge receive an instruction transmitted by the print imaging device and determining that the instruction is for reading a key parameter and a non-key parameter), obtain preset parameters based on the parameter acquisition request (Liu: paragraph 84 discloses key parameter is generated based on the calculation result. The chip performs calculation based on obtaining key parameter, non-key parameters/the reference data prestored in the chip and in accordance with a present rule. Paragraph 88 discloses the present rule includes mathematical operation. Paragraph 80 discloses the non-key parameter is a parameter prestored in the chip. Lee: paragraph 51 discloses information stored on the chip include encryption key and electronic signature information), generate conversion data corresponding to the preset parameters by performing a calculation on the authentication data and the preset parameters according to a preset algorithm (Lee: paragraphs 81-82, 103, and 184-185 reveal encryption/conversion is perform on the integrity detection data based on the encryption key/algorithm), and send the conversion data to the image forming apparatus (Lee: Figure 2, S1530 “Integrity detection test data 2”, “Authentication data 2” is sent from the CRUM chip to the controller of the image forming device; paragraphs 69 and 206 disclose the CRUM chip transmit integrity detection 2 to the controller of the image forming device), wherein the conversion data is configured to execute a preset strategy (Lee: paragraph 181 and claim 8 disclose the authentication process that uses the integrity detection data confirms/checks compatibility between the CRUM chip or the consumable unit with the image forming device). The motivation is similar to the motivation presented in claim 1.
As to claim 3, the combination of Lee in view of Liu teaches wherein: the preset parameters include image forming control parameters (Liu: paragraph 73 discloses data in the chip includes ink remaining amount, the number of printed pages, a consumption amount of a toner which are non-key parameters. Key parameters stored on the chip includes serial number of the chip, ink capacity, and other parameters. Paragraph 80 discloses the non-key parameter is a parameter prestored in the chip), and the preset strategy includes determining whether the consumable meets the expectation according to the image forming control parameters (Lee: paragraph 181 and claim 8 disclose the authentication process that uses the integrity detection data confirms/checks compatibility between the CRUM chip or the consumable unit with the image forming device). The motivation is similar to the motivation presented in claim 1.
As to claim 4, the combination of Lee in view of Liu teaches wherein: the first variable data includes information of a quantity of printed pages, remaining amount of the consumable, and consumption amount of the consumable (Lee: paragraph 51 and Table 1 disclose the CRUM chip usage information such as how many paper have been printed so far, how many sheets of paper can be printed from now on, how much toner is left. Liu: paragraph 73 discloses data in the chip includes ink remaining amount, the number of printed pages, a consumption amount of a toner), and the first fixed data includes a serial number of the consumable, a model of the consumable, capacity of the consumable (Lee: paragraph 51 and Table 1 disclose the CRUM chip stores serial number data, model name, the total page count of the consumable, and consumable average coverage. Liu: paragraph 73 discloses key parameters stored on the chip includes serial number of the chip, ink capacity, and other parameters). The motivation is similar to the motivation presented in claim 1.
As to claim 5, Lee teaches a consumable (paragraph 3 discloses a unit which the ink or toner is stored, such component is a consumable unit. The toner is the consumable/developer), comprising:
a case (paragraph 3 discloses a unit which the ink or toner is stored, such component is a consumable unit, a unit is the case);
a developer accommodating unit, disposed in the case and configured to accommodate developer (paragraph 47 discloses developing units, transfer unit, settlement units, and OPC drums can be part of the consumable unit); and a
a consumable chip (paragraph 49 discloses the customer replacement unit monitoring (CRUM) chip is mounted on a consumable unit), and the consumable chip comprising,
a chip control unit (paragraph 54 discloses the CRUM chip includes a CPU that manages the memory, perform various program stored in the memory and performed communication with a body of an image forming device), configured to:
receive an authentication request sent by the image forming apparatus (paragraph 34 discloses the authentication may comprise authentication operation in which the main controller [of the image forming device] transmit a signal including first data and first integrity data to the CRUM chip. Figure 20, reference number S1510 reveal com-1 of “Authentication CMD 1” is transmitted from the main controller to the CRUM Chip, see also paragraph 205. Paragraph 205 discloses the main controller transmit signal com-1 which include data and integrity detection data 1. The data includes authentication start command data 1),
obtain the first fixed data and [specific information stored in the image forming apparatus] based on the authentication request (paragraph 178 discloses the CRUM chip receives data from com-1. Paragraphs 176 and 205 reveal com-1 includes data1 and authentication cmd1. Data1 includes specific information stored in the image forming apparatus. Paragraph 178 further discloses the CRUM chip transmits com-2 which includes data2. The data of the com-2 includes fixed data[chip serial number]. Therefore, the chip obtains data1 which includes specific information stored in the image forming apparatus and data2 which includes serial number of the chip),
generate authentication data based on a combination of the first fixed data and [specific information stored in the image forming apparatus], (wherein the authentication data is the same as a result of splicing the first data and the [specific information stored in the image forming apparatus] (paragraph 206 discloses the CRUM chip generates integrity detection data 2 using the data to be transmitted and the integrity detection data 1. The CRUM chip also configures authentication data 2 by collecting random data which is generated accordingly and data necessary to perform other functions. Paragraphs 184 and 218 reveal the integrity detection data is based on the algorithm shown in paragraphs 184 and 218. Integrity detection data 2= E(authentication data 2/ authentication result 2 / SEC U2/ integrity detection data 1, wherein integrity detection data 1= E(authentication CMD/ authentication DATA 1/ SEC U1). Paragraph 225 discloses the CRUM chip generates com-2 having data to be used in the image forming apparatus, specific data stored in the CRUM chip, a serial number of the CRUM chip, and random data as data. Paragraphs 175 and 205 reveal data1 includes random data necessary for authentication and specific information stored in the image forming apparatus. Paragraph 178 reveals data2 includes the first random data, second random data, the chip serial number. Furthermore, Figure 21 shows a splice of the DATA as DATA1[1] | DATA1[2] | …..DATA1[4] which according to paragraphs 175 and 178 of Lee further disclose that DATA includes reading random data necessary for authentication, data values related to encryption for authentication, specific information stored in an image forming apparatus, a chip serial number (CSN), part of internal information of CRUM chip, and so on. Paragraph 52 reveals the specific information stored in the CRUM chip includes toner remains percent which is interpreted to be variable data. Thus, the authentication data is the same as the result of the spliced/combined DATA, along with the other elements to compute integrity detection/authentication), and
send the authentication data to the image forming apparatus (Figure 2, S1530 “Integrity detection test data 2”, “Authentication data 2” is sent from the CRUM chip to the controller of the image forming device; paragraphs 69 and 206 disclose the CRUM chip transmit integrity detection 2 to the controller of the image forming device), wherein the chip control unit is a processor (paragraph 54 discloses the CRUM chip include a CPU) and the authentication data is used to determine whether the consumable meets expectation (paragraph 181 and claim 8 disclose the authentication process confirms/checks compatibility between the CRUM chip or the consumable unit with the image forming device); and
send second fixed data and second variable data to the image forming apparatus, the second fixed data and the second variable data are used to generate reference data (paragraph 178 discloses once the CRUM chip receives com-1, the CRUM chip transmit com-2 which includes data2, sw2, crc2, secu2, vc2. The data of com-2 may include the first random data (R1), the second random data (second variable data), a chip serial number (second fixed data), information regarding a key used for an asymmetric key algorithm, part of internal information of CRUM chip, and so on. The first random data (R1) is a value received at com-1, and the second random data (R2) is a value which is generated from the CRUM chip 210. The information included in com-2 … is used to compare with the authentication data to determine whether the consumable meets expectation. Paragraph 26 discloses each of the main controller and the CRUM chip, when a signal including the integrity detection data is received from a counterpart, may separate the integrity detection data from the received signal and compare the separated integrity detection data with integrity detection data which is generated on its own from remaining data in order to verify integrity of the signal. Paragraphs 108-109 discloses the detection unit (of the image forming apparatus) separates the second integrity detection data included in the second signal received through the interface unit, and detects integrity of the data included in the second signal. More specifically, the detection unit 113 applies a known method between the CRUM chip 210 regarding the remaining data after separation of the second integrity detection data and the integrity detection data that the controller transmitted previously, and generates integrity detection data/reference data. The detection unit compares the integrity detection data/reference data generated accordingly with the second integrity detection/authentication data separated from the second signal, and determines whether they are identical. If they are identical, the detection unit 113 determines that the corresponding data is integral, and if they are not identical, the detection unit 113 determines that the corresponding data is in an error state).
While paragraph 52 reveals the specific information stored in the CRUM chip includes toner remains percent which is interpreted to be variable data, Lee does not explicitly teach the specific information stored in the CRUM chip is first variable data, and obtain a first variable data representing consumption information of the consumable based on the authentication request, wherein the first variable data is updated after each image forming operation to reflect a consumption status of the consumable; generate authentication data based on the combination of the first fixed data and the first variable data.
Liu teaches obtain a first variable data representing consumption information of the consumable based on the authentication request (paragraph 73 disclose data stored in the chip includes ink remaining amount, the number of printed pages, a consumption amount of a toner which are non-key parameters. Key parameters stored on the chip includes serial number of the chip, ink capacity, and other parameters. Paragraph 84 discloses the chip performs calculation based on obtaining key parameter, non-key parameters/the reference data prestored in the chip and in accordance with a present rule. Paragraph 88 discloses the present rule includes mathematical operation. Paragraph 80 discloses the non-key parameter is a parameter prestored in the chip), wherein the first variable data is updated after each image forming operation to reflect a consumption status of the consumable (paragraph 73 discloses obtaining both fixed data and variable data. Furthermore, paragraph 3 discloses the extracted data of number of printed pages, toner consumption amount, and ink remaining amount are variable data that is updated/changed after an image forming operation (such as printing)); generate authentication data based on the combination of the first fixed data and the first variable data (paragraph 84 discloses key parameter is generated based on the calculation result. The chip performs calculation based on obtaining key parameter, non-key parameters/the reference data prestored in the chip and in accordance with a present rule. Paragraph 88 discloses the present rule includes mathematical operation. Paragraph 80 discloses the non-key parameter is a parameter prestored in the chip), and send the authentication data to the image forming apparatus (paragraph 91 discloses transmitting the key parameter to the print imaging device), wherein the authentication data is used to determine whether the consumable meets expectation (paragraph 120 discloses the key parameter is used to recognize whether the imaging cartridge is illegal imaging cartridge).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the specific information applied in Lee’s calculation for integrity detection with Liu’s calculation of reading the key parameter (serial number-fixed data ) and the non-key parameter (variable data) to recognize whether the imaging cartridge is illegal (paragraph 120 of Liu) and to manage the authentication data such that the authentication data is not easily acquired by a competitor (paragraph 6 of Liu).
As to claim 8, the combination of Lee in view of Liu teaches wherein: the first variable data includes information of a quantity of printed pages, remaining amount of the consumable, and consumption amount of the consumable (Lee: paragraph 51 and Table 1 disclose the CRUM chip usage information such as how many paper have been printed so far, how many sheets of paper can be printed from now on, how much toner is left. Liu: paragraph 73 discloses data in the chip includes ink remaining amount, the number of printed pages, a consumption amount of a toner), and the first fixed data includes a serial number of the consumable, a model of the consumable, capacity of the consumable (Lee: paragraph 51 and Table 1 disclose the CRUM chip stores serial number data, model name, the total page count of the consumable, and consumable average coverage. Liu: paragraph 73 discloses key parameters stored on the chip includes serial number of the chip, ink capacity, and other parameters). The motivation is similar to the motivation presented in claim 5.
As to claim 15, Lee teaches a communication method between an image forming apparatus and a consumable chip (Figure 20 reveals authentication communication between the controller of an image forming device and a CRUM chip), applied to the consumable chip (Figure 20 reveals authentication communication between the controller of an image forming device and a CRUM chip), the image forming apparatus being detachably installed with a consumable (paragraph 3 discloses a unit which the ink or toner is stored, such component is a consumable unit. Paragraph 56 discloses the consumable unit can be detached and attached to the body of the image forming device), the consumable being installed with the consumable chip (paragraph 49 discloses the customer replacement unit monitoring (CRUM) chip is mounted on a consumable unit), the consumable chip including a chip control unit (paragraph 54 discloses the CRUM chip includes a CPU that manages the memory, perform various program stored in the memory and performed communication with a body of an image forming device), and the communication method comprising:
receiving, by the chip control unit, an authentication request sent by the image forming apparatus (paragraph 34 discloses the authentication may comprise authentication operation in which the main controller [of the image forming device] transmit a signal including first data and first integrity data to the CRUM chip. Figure 20, reference number S1510 reveal com-1 of “Authentication CMD 1” is transmitted from the main controller to the CRUM Chip, see also paragraph 205. Paragraph 205 discloses the main controller transmit signal com-1 which include data and integrity detection data 1. The data includes authentication start command data 1);
obtaining, by the chip control unit, first fixed data and [specific information stored in the image forming apparatus] based on the authentication request (paragraph 178 discloses the CRUM chip receives data from com-1. Paragraphs 176 and 205 reveal com-1 includes data1 and authentication cmd1. Data1 includes specific information stored in the image forming apparatus. Paragraph 178 further discloses the CRUM chip transmits com-2 which includes data2. The data of the com-2 includes fixed data[chip serial number]. Therefore, the chip obtains data1 which includes specific information stored in the image forming apparatus and data2 which includes serial number of the chip), and
generating, by the chip control unit, authentication data based on a combination of the first fixed data and [specific information stored in the image forming apparatus] according to a first preset algorithm, wherein the authentication data is the same as a result of splicing the first data and the [specific information stored in the image forming apparatus] (paragraph 206 discloses the CRUM chip generates integrity detection data 2 using the data to be transmitted and the integrity detection data 1. The CRUM chip also configures authentication data 2 by collecting random data which is generated accordingly and data necessary to perform other functions. Paragraphs 184 and 218 reveal the integrity detection data is based on the algorithm shown in paragraphs 184 and 218. Integrity detection data 2= E(authentication data 2/ authentication result 2 / SEC U2/ integrity detection data 1, wherein integrity detection data 1= E(authentication CMD/ authentication DATA 1/ SEC U1). Paragraph 225 discloses the CRUM chip generates com-2 having data to be used in the image forming apparatus, specific data stored in the CRUM chip, a serial number of the CRUM chip, and random data as data. Paragraphs 175 and 205 reveal data1 includes random data necessary for authentication and specific information stored in the image forming apparatus. Paragraph 178 reveals data2 includes the first random data, second random data, the chip serial number. Furthermore, Figure 21 shows a splice of the DATA as DATA1[1] | DATA1[2] | …..DATA1[4] which according to paragraphs 175 and 178 of Lee further disclose that DATA includes reading random data necessary for authentication, data values related to encryption for authentication, specific information stored in an image forming apparatus, a chip serial number (CSN), part of internal information of CRUM chip, and so on. Paragraph 52 reveals the specific information stored in the CRUM chip includes toner remains percent which is interpreted to be variable data. Thus, the authentication data is the same as the result of the spliced/combined DATA, along with the other elements to compute integrity detection/authentication);
sending, by the chip control unit, the authentication data to the image forming control unit (Figure 2, S1530 “Integrity detection test data 2”, “Authentication data 2” is sent from the CRUM chip to the controller of the image forming device; paragraphs 69 and 206 disclose the CRUM chip transmit integrity detection 2 to the controller of the image forming device), wherein the chip control unit is a processor (paragraph 54 discloses the CRUM chip includes a CPU that manages the memory, perform various program stored in the memory and performed communication with a body of an image forming device), and the authentication data is used to determine whether the consumable meets expectation (paragraph 181 and claim 8 disclose the authentication process confirms/checks compatibility between the CRUM chip or the consumable unit with the image forming device); and
sending, by the control unit, second fixed data and second variable data to the image forming apparatus, the second fixed data and the second variable data are used to generate reference data (paragraph 178 discloses once the CRUM chip receives com-1, the CRUM chip transmit com-2 which includes data2, sw2, crc2, secu2, vc2. The data of com-2 may include the first random data (R1), the second random data (second variable data), a chip serial number (second fixed data), information regarding a key used for an asymmetric key algorithm, part of internal information of CRUM chip, and so on. The first random data (R1) is a value received at com-1, and the second random data (R2) is a value which is generated from the CRUM chip 210. The information included in com-2 … is used to compare with the authentication data to determine whether the consumable meets expectation. Paragraph 26 discloses each of the main controller and the CRUM chip, when a signal including the integrity detection data is received from a counterpart, may separate the integrity detection data from the received signal and compare the separated integrity detection data with integrity detection data which is generated on its own from remaining data in order to verify integrity of the signal. Paragraphs 108-109 discloses the detection unit (of the image forming apparatus) separates the second integrity detection data included in the second signal received through the interface unit, and detects integrity of the data included in the second signal. More specifically, the detection unit 113 applies a known method between the CRUM chip 210 regarding the remaining data after separation of the second integrity detection data and the integrity detection data that the controller transmitted previously, and generates integrity detection data/reference data. The detection unit compares the integrity detection data/reference data generated accordingly with the second integrity detection/authentication data separated from the second signal, and determines whether they are identical. If they are identical, the detection unit 113 determines that the corresponding data is integral, and if they are not identical, the detection unit 113 determines that the corresponding data is in an error state).
While paragraph 52 reveals the specific information stored in the CRUM chip includes toner remains percent which is interpreted to be variable data, Lee does not explicitly teach the specific information stored in the CRUM chip is first variable data, and obtaining first variable data representing consumption information of the consumable based on the authentication request, wherein the first variable data is updated after each image forming operation to reflect a consumption status of the consumable, and generating, by the chip control unit, authentication data based on the combination of the first fixed data and the first variable data.
Liu teaches obtaining a first variable data representing consumption information of the consumable based on the authentication request (paragraph 73 discloses data stored in the chip includes ink remaining amount, the number of printed pages, a consumption amount of a toner which are non-key parameters. Key parameters stored on the chip includes serial number of the chip, ink capacity, and other parameters. Paragraph 84 discloses the chip performs calculation based on obtaining key parameter, non-key parameters/the reference data prestored in the chip and in accordance with a present rule. Paragraph 88 discloses the present rule includes mathematical operation. Paragraph 80 discloses the non-key parameter is a parameter prestored in the chip), wherein the first variable data is updated after each image forming operation to reflect a consumption status of the consumable (paragraph 73 discloses obtaining both fixed data and variable data. Furthermore, paragraph 3 discloses the extracted data of number of printed pages, toner consumption amount, and ink remaining amount are variable data that is updated/changed after an image forming operation (such as printing)); and generating, by the chip control unit, authentication data based on the combination of the first fixed data and the first variable data (paragraph 84 discloses key parameter (authentication data) is generated based on the calculation result. The chip performs calculation based on obtaining key parameter, non-key parameters/the reference data prestored in the chip and in accordance with a present rule. Paragraph 88 discloses the present rule includes mathematical operation. Paragraph 80 discloses the non-key parameter is a parameter prestored in the chip), and send the authentication data to the image forming apparatus (paragraph 91 discloses transmitting the key parameter to the print imaging device), wherein the authentication data is used to determine whether the consumable meets expectation (paragraph 120 discloses the key parameter is used to recognize whether the imaging cartridge is illegal imaging cartridge).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the specific information applied in Lee’s calculation for integrity detection with Liu’s calculation of reading the key parameter (serial number-fixed data) and the non-key parameter (variable data) to recognize whether the imaging cartridge is illegal (paragraph 120 of Liu) and to manage the authentication data such that the authentication data is not easily acquired by a competitor (paragraph 6 of Liu).
As to claim 16, the combination of Lee in view of Liu teaches receiving, by the chip control unit, a parameter acquisition request sent by the image forming apparatus (Liu: paragraphs 77, 78, and 80 disclose the chip of an image cartridge receive an instruction transmitted by the print imaging device and determining that the instruction is for reading a key parameter and a non-key parameter); obtaining, by the chip control unit, preset parameters based on the parameter acquisition request (Liu: paragraph 84 discloses key parameter is generated based on the calculation result. The chip performs calculation based on obtaining key parameter, non-key parameters/the reference data prestored in the chip and in accordance with a present rule. Paragraph 88 discloses the present rule includes mathematical operation. Paragraph 80 discloses the non-key parameter is a parameter prestored in the chip. Lee: paragraph 51 discloses information stored on the chip include encryption key and electronic signature information); generating, by the chip control unit, conversion data corresponding to the preset parameters by performing a calculation on the authentication data and the preset parameters according to a preset algorithm (Lee: paragraphs 81-82, 103, and 184-185 reveal encryption/conversion is perform on the integrity detection data based on the encryption key/algorithm), and sending, by the chip control unit, the conversion data to the image forming apparatus (Lee: Figure 2, S1530 “Integrity detection test data 2”, “Authentication data 2” is sent from the CRUM chip to the controller of the image forming device; paragraphs 69 and 206 disclose the CRUM chip transmit integrity detection 2 to the controller of the image forming device), wherein the conversion data is configured to execute a present strategy (Lee: paragraphs 181, 183 and claim 8 disclose the authentication process of the controller[of the image forming device] confirms/checks compatibility between the CRUM chip or the consumable unit with the image forming device, by comparing the first, second, third values from the authentication data with reference data prestored in a table. See also paragraph 30 which reveal the authentication processes may comprise synchronizing a data in the tables stored in the imaging forming device and the CRUM chip to determine compatibility between the image forming device and the CRUM chip. Paragraph 52 and Table 1 reveals example table stored in CRUM chip). The motivation is similar to the motivation presented in claim 15.
As to claim 17, the combination of Lee in view of Liu teaches wherein: the preset parameters include image forming control parameters (Liu: paragraph 73 discloses data in the chip includes ink remaining amount, the number of printed pages, a consumption amount of a toner which are non-key parameters. Key parameters stored on the chip includes serial number of the chip, ink capacity, and other parameters. Paragraph 80 discloses the non-key parameter is a parameter prestored in the chip ), and the preset strategy includes determining whether the consumable meets the expectation according to the image forming control parameters (Lee: paragraph 181 and claim 8 disclose the authentication process that uses the integrity detection data confirms/checks compatibility between the CRUM chip or the consumable unit with the image forming device). The motivation is similar to the motivation presented in claim 15.
Claim(s) 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al EP 2746859 (hereinafter Lee) in further view of Liu US 20150206039 (hereinafter Liu), and in further view of Jones et al US 8532506 (hereinafter Jones).
As to claim 11, Lee teaches a consumable, comprising:
a consumable chip (paragraph 49 discloses the customer replacement unit monitoring (CRUM) chip is mounted on a consumable unit), and the consumable chip comprising:
a chip control unit (paragraph 54 discloses the CRUM chip includes a CPU that manages the memory, perform various program stored in the memory and performed communication with a body of an image forming device), configured to:
receive an authentication request sent by the image forming apparatus (paragraph 34 discloses the authentication may comprise authentication operation in which the main controller [of the image forming device] transmit a signal including first data and first integrity data to the CRUM chip. Figure 20, reference number S1510 reveal com-1 of “Authentication CMD 1” is transmitted from the main controller to the CRUM Chip, see also paragraph 205. Paragraph 205 discloses the main controller transmit signal com-1 which include data and integrity detection data 1. The data includes authentication start command data 1),
obtain first fixed data and [specific information stored in the image forming apparatus] based on the authentication request (paragraph 178 discloses the CRUM chip receives data from com-1. Paragraphs 176 and 205 reveal com-1 includes data1 and authentication cmd1. Data1 includes specific information stored in the image forming apparatus. Paragraph 178 further discloses the CRUM chip transmits com-2 which includes data2. The data of the com-2 includes fixed data[chip serial number]. Therefore, the chip obtains data1 which includes specific information stored in the image forming apparatus and data2 which includes serial number of the chip),
generate authentication data based on a combination of the first fixed data and [specific information stored in the image forming apparatus], wherein the authentication data is the same as a result of splicing the first data and the [specific information stored in the image forming apparatus] (paragraph 206 discloses the CRUM chip generates integrity detection data 2 using the data to be transmitted and the integrity detection data 1. The CRUM chip also configures authentication data 2 by collecting random data which is generated accordingly and data necessary to perform other functions. Paragraphs 184 and 218 reveal the integrity detection data is based on the algorithm shown in paragraphs 184 and 218. Integrity detection data 2= E(authentication data 2/ authentication result 2 / SEC U2/ integrity detection data 1, wherein integrity detection data 1= E(authentication CMD/ authentication DATA 1/ SEC U1). Paragraph 225 discloses the CRUM chip generates com-2 having data to be used in the image forming apparatus, specific data stored in the CRUM chip, a serial number of the CRUM chip, and random data as data. Paragraphs 175 and 205 reveal data1 includes random data necessary for authentication and specific information stored in the image forming apparatus. Paragraph 178 reveals data2 includes the first random data, second random data, the chip serial number. Furthermore, Figure 21 shows a splice of the DATA as DATA1[1] | DATA1[2] | …..DATA1[4] which according to paragraphs 175 and 178 of Lee further disclose that DATA includes reading random data necessary for authentication, data values related to encryption for authentication, specific information stored in an image forming apparatus, a chip serial number (CSN), part of internal information of CRUM chip, and so on. Paragraph 52 reveals the specific information stored in the CRUM chip includes toner remains percent which is interpreted to be variable data. Thus, the authentication data is the same as the result of the spliced/combined DATA, along with the other elements to compute integrity detection/authentication), and
send the authentication data to the image forming apparatus (Figure 2, S1530 “Integrity detection test data 2”, “Authentication data 2” is sent from the CRUM chip to the controller of the image forming device; paragraphs 69 and 206 disclose the CRUM chip transmit integrity detection 2 to the controller of the image forming device), wherein the chip control unit is a processor (paragraph 54 discloses the CRUM chip include a CPU) and the authentication data is used to determine whether the consumable meets expectation (paragraph 181 and claim 8 disclose the authentication process confirms/checks compatibility between the CRUM chip or the consumable unit with the image forming device); and
send second fixed data and second variable data to the image forming apparatus, the second fixed data and the second variable data are used to generate reference data (paragraph 178 discloses once the CRUM chip receives com-1, the CRUM chip transmit com-2 which includes data2, sw2, crc2, secu2, vc2. The data of com-2 may include the first random data (R1), the second random data (second variable data), a chip serial number (second fixed data), information regarding a key used for an asymmetric key algorithm, part of internal information of CRUM chip, and so on. The first random data (R1) is a value received at com-1, and the second random data (R2) is a value which is generated from the CRUM chip 210. The information included in com-2 … is used to compare with the authentication data to determine whether the consumable meets expectation. Paragraph 26 discloses each of the main controller and the CRUM chip, when a signal including the integrity detection data is received from a counterpart, may separate the integrity detection data from the received signal and compare the separated integrity detection data with integrity detection data which is generated on its own from remaining data in order to verify integrity of the signal. Paragraphs 108-109 discloses the detection unit (of the image forming apparatus) separates the second integrity detection data included in the second signal received through the interface unit, and detects integrity of the data included in the second signal. More specifically, the detection unit 113 applies a known method between the CRUM chip 210 regarding the remaining data after separation of the second integrity detection data and the integrity detection data that the controller transmitted previously, and generates integrity detection data/reference data. The detection unit compares the integrity detection data/reference data generated accordingly with the second integrity detection/authentication data separated from the second signal, and determines whether they are identical. If they are identical, the detection unit 113 determines that the corresponding data is integral, and if they are not identical, the detection unit 113 determines that the corresponding data is in an error state).
While paragraph 52 reveals the specific information stored in the CRUM chip includes toner remains percent which is interpreted to be variable data, Lee does not explicitly teach the specific information stored in the CRUM chip is first variable data, and obtain a first variable data representing consumption information of the consumable based on the authentication request, wherein the first variable data is updated after each image forming operation to reflect a consumption status of the consumable; generate authentication data based on the combination of the first fixed data and the first variable data.
Liu teaches obtain a first variable data representing consumption information of the consumable based on the authentication request (paragraph 73 discloses data in the chip includes ink remaining amount, the number of printed pages, a consumption amount of a toner which are non-key parameters. Key parameters stored on the chip includes serial number of the chip, ink capacity, and other parameters. Paragraph 84 discloses the chip performs calculation based on obtaining key parameter, non-key parameters/the reference data prestored in the chip and in accordance with a present rule. Paragraph 88 discloses the present rule includes mathematical operation. Paragraph 80 discloses the non-key parameter is a parameter prestored in the chip), wherein the first variable data is updated after each image forming operation to reflect a consumption status of the consumable (paragraph 73 discloses obtaining both fixed data and variable data. Furthermore, paragraph 3 discloses the extracted data of number of printed pages, toner consumption amount, and ink remaining amount are variable data that is updated/changed after an image forming operation (such as printing)) ; generate authentication data based on the combination of the first fixed data and the first variable data (paragraph 84 discloses key parameter is generated based on the calculation result. The chip performs calculation based on obtaining key parameter, non-key parameters/the reference data prestored in the chip and in accordance with a present rule. Paragraph 88 discloses the present rule includes mathematical operation. Paragraph 80 discloses the non-key parameter is a parameter prestored in the chip), and send the authentication data to the image forming apparatus (paragraph 91 discloses transmitting the key parameter to the print imaging device), wherein the authentication data is used to determine whether the consumable meets expectation (paragraph 120 discloses the key parameter is used to recognize whether the imaging cartridge is illegal imaging cartridge).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the specific information applied in Lee’s calculation for integrity detection with Liu’s calculation of reading the key parameter (serial number-fixed data) and the non-key parameter (variable data) to recognize whether the imaging cartridge is illegal (paragraph 120 of Liu) and to manage the authentication data such that the authentication data is not easily acquired by a competitor (paragraph 6 of Liu).
The combination of Lee in view of Liu does not teach the consumable comprising: an organic photoconductor, and a charging roller, configured to charge the organic photoconductor.
Jones teaches a consumable comprising: an organic photoconductor (column 11, lines 35-37 disclose the cartridge includes a photoreceptor drum, wherein the outer surface is coated with photoconductive material), and a charging roller, configured to charge the organic photoconductor (column 11, lines 35-38 disclose the cartridge includes a charge device for charging the drum photoconductive surface).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Lee’s consumable in view of incorporating Liu’s variable data with Jones’ teachings of the consumable comprising of photoconductive material and a charge device such that the consumable is able to make preparation for imaging (column 11, lines 38).
As to claim 12, the combination of Lee in view of Liu and Jones teaches wherein the chip control unit is further configured to: receive a parameter acquisition request sent by the image forming apparatus (Liu: paragraphs 77, 78, and 80 disclose the chip of an image cartridge receive an instruction transmitted by the print imaging device and determining that the instruction is for reading a key parameter and a non-key parameter), obtain preset parameters based on the parameter acquisition request (Liu: paragraph 84 discloses key parameter is generated based on the calculation result. The chip performs calculation based on obtaining key parameter, non-key parameters/the reference data prestored in the chip and in accordance with a present rule. Paragraph 88 discloses the present rule includes mathematical operation. Paragraph 80 discloses the non-key parameter is a parameter prestored in the chip. Lee: paragraph 51 discloses information stored on the chip include encryption key and electronic signature information), generate conversion data corresponding to the preset parameters by performing a calculation on the authentication data and the preset parameters according to a second preset algorithm (Lee: paragraphs 81-82, 103, and 184-185 reveal encryption/conversion is perform on the integrity detection data based on the encryption key/algorithm), and send the conversion data to the image forming apparatus(Lee: Figure 2, S1530 “Integrity detection test data 2”, “Authentication data 2” is sent from the CRUM chip to the controller of the image forming device; paragraphs 69 and 206 disclose the CRUM chip transmit integrity detection 2 to the controller of the image forming device), wherein the conversion data is configured to execute a preset strategy (Lee: paragraph 181 and claim 8 disclose the authentication process that uses the integrity detection data confirms/checks compatibility between the CRUM chip or the consumable unit with the image forming device). The motivation is similar to the motivation presented in claim 11.
As to claim 13, the combination of Lee in view of Liu and Jones teaches wherein: the preset parameters include image forming control parameters (Liu: paragraph 73 discloses data in the chip includes ink remaining amount, the number of printed pages, a consumption amount of a toner which are non-key parameters. Key parameters stored on the chip includes serial number of the chip, ink capacity, and other parameters. Paragraph 80 discloses the non-key parameter is a parameter prestored in the chip), and the preset strategy includes determining whether the consumable meets the expectation according to the image forming control parameters (Lee: paragraph 181 and claim 8 disclose the authentication process that uses the integrity detection data confirms/checks compatibility between the CRUM chip or the consumable unit with the image forming device). The motivation is similar to the motivation presented in claim 11.
As to claim 14, the combination of Lee in view of Liu and Jones teaches wherein: the first variable data includes information of a quantity of printed pages, remaining amount of the consumable, and consumption amount of the consumable (Lee: paragraph 51 and Table 1 disclose the CRUM chip usage information such as how many paper have been printed so far, how many sheets of paper can be printed from now on, how much toner is left. Liu: paragraph 73 discloses data in the chip includes ink remaining amount, the number of printed pages, a consumption amount of a toner), and the first fixed data includes a serial number of the consumable, a model of the consumable, capacity of the consumable (Lee: paragraph 51 and Table 1 disclose the CRUM chip stores serial number data, model name, the total page count of the consumable, and consumable average coverage. Liu: paragraph 73 discloses key parameters stored on the chip includes serial number of the chip, ink capacity, and other parameters). The motivation is similar to the motivation presented in claim 11.
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al EP 2746859 (hereinafter Lee), in view of Liu US 20150206039 (hereinafter Liu), in further view of Lu et al US 20150295718 (hereinafter Lu), and in further view of Kozuka et al US 20130145481 (hereinafter Kozuka).
As to claim 18, the combination of Lee in view of Liu teaches all the limitations recited in claim 1 above including combining the first fixed data and the first variable data (see claim 1 above).
The combination of Lee in view of Liu does not teach the chip control unit is further configured to: generate first combined data, encrypt the first combined data to generate first to-be-processed data, perform signature calculation on the first to-be-processed data to generate first signature data, and encrypt the first to-be-processed data and the first signature data to generate the authentication data.
Lu teaches the chip control unit (claim 18 reveals a device with various processing units) is configured to: generate first combined data (paragraph 24 discloses combining first information and second information to obtain the data to be signed), encrypt the first combined data to generate first to-be-processed data (paragraph 2 discloses encrypting the data to be signed, wherein the data to be signed is the combined first and second data), perform signature calculation on the first to-be-processed data to generate first signature data (paragraph 205 discloses the encrypted data is signed using an algorithm/calculation) and encrypting the first to be processed data to generate the authentication data (paragraphs 25, and 167-168 disclose encoding the encrypting result of data to be signed. Paragraphs 25, 30, and 34 reveal the encoding data becomes first data packet which is used in authentication).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Lee’s consumable in view of incorporating Liu’s chip and algorithm with Lu’s teachings of combining first and second data, encrypting the combined data, and signing the encrypted data to use the signing result to verify the authenticity of the first and second data and detect fraudulent/corrupted data/devices/applications (paragraphs 4, 205, and 215 of Lu).
The combination of Lee, Liu, and Lu does not teach, but Kozuka teaches encrypt[ing] the first signature data to generate the authentication data (paragraph 455 discloses encrypting the signature data and the combined data and paragraph 457 reveals the signature that was encrypted data is used for verification).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Lee’s consumable in view of incorporating Liu’s chip and algorithm and Lu’s teachings of combining first and second data, encrypting the combined data, and signing the encrypted data with Kozuka’s teachings of furthering encrypting the signature data to use the data to determine whether the device and application is legitimate and is not unauthorized or counterfeit (paragraphs 3-4 of Kozuka).
As to claim 19, the combination of Lee, Liu, Lu, and Kozuka teaches wherein when encrypting the first combined data to generate the first to-be-processed data (Lu: paragraph 24 discloses combining first information and second information to obtain the data to be signed; paragraph 2 discloses encrypting the data to be signed, wherein the data to be signed is the combined first and second data), the chip control unit (Lu: claim 18 reveals a device with various processing units) is further configured to: use a preset encryption algorithm to generate the first to-be-processed data, wherein the preset encryption algorithm includes any one of an AES (advanced encryption standard) algorithm, a DES (data encryption standard) algorithm, a 3DES (triple DES) algorithm, and a SM4 algorithm (Lu: paragraph 147 reveals the encryption algorithm is 3DES; Kozuka: paragraphs 331 reveals the encryption algorithm is AES). The motivation is the similar to the motivation for claim 18.
As to claim 20, the combination of Lee, Liu, Lu, and Kozuka teaches wherein when performing the signature calculation on the first to-be-processed data to generate the first signature data (Lu: paragraph 205 discloses the encrypted data to be signed using an algorithm/calculation), the chip control unit (Lu: claim 18 reveals a device with various processing units) is further configured to: use an algorithm for digital signature to generate a forgery proof digital string (Lu: paragraph 205 discloses the encrypted data is signed using an algorithm/calculation. Electronic signatures helps prevents forgery). The motivation is the similar to the motivation in claim 18.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al EP 2746859 (hereinafter Lee), in view of Liu US 20150206039 (hereinafter Liu), in further view of Bracewell et al US 20040098609 (hereinafter Bracewell).
As to claim 21, the combination of Lee in view of Liu teaches all the limitations recited in claim 1 above and further teaches wherein the chip is further configured to: generate the authentication data using a first preset algorithm (Lee: paragraph 206 discloses the CRUM chip generates integrity detection data 2 using the data to be transmitted and the integrity detection data 1. The CRUM chip also configures authentication data 2 by collecting random data which is generated accordingly and data necessary to perform other functions. Paragraphs 184 and 218 reveal the integrity detection data is based on the algorithm shown in paragraphs 184 and 218. Integrity detection data 2= E(authentication data 2/ authentication result 2 / SEC U2/ integrity detection data 1, wherein integrity detection data 1= E(authentication CMD/ authentication DATA 1/ SEC U1); and communicate the first preset algorithm with the image forming apparatus via a data bus, such that the reference data is generated also via the first preset algorithm (Lee: paragraph 93 discloses the crypto unit of the CRUM chip supports the encryption algorithm so that the CPU can perform authentication or encrypted communication with the controller of the image forming device. The crypto unit may support a determined algorithm among a plurality of encryption algorithms. The controller of the image forming apparatus may also support a corresponding algorithm among a plurality of encryption algorithms. Accordingly, the controller may identify what kind of encryption algorithm is used in the consumable unit 200, proceed with the encryption algorithm, and perform encryption communication. Paragraphs 239- 240 reveal serial communication may be used for communication between the consumable unit and the main body of the image forming apparatus such as I2C communication method that connect a plurality of nodes to one bus. Paragraph 66 discloses between the CRUM chip 210 and the controller 110, communication for authentication and data exchange may be performed numerous times. In every communication, signals are transmitted from the controller 110 to the CRUM chip 210 or vice versa. In this case, a transmitted signal includes error detection data for detecting integrity of the data included in the corresponding signal. Such error detection data is data generated by accumulation of error detection data included in the transmitted or received signal from the previous communication).
The combination of Lee in view of Liu does not teach but Bracewell teaches the reference data is generated also via the first preset algorithm (paragraph 22 reveals encryption key/reference data is generated based on hash algorithm of a combination of fixed data/unique identifier and constant string and variable data from rotating key store).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Lee’s consumable in view of incorporating Liu’s chip and algorithm with Bracewell’s teachings of generating reference data via an preset algorithm to provide system that securely processed authentication data (paragraph 16 of Bracewell).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al EP 2746859 (hereinafter Lee), in view of Liu US 20150206039 (hereinafter Liu), and in further view of Antonio US 20200089149 (hereinafter Antonio).
As to claim 22, the combination of Lee in view of Liu teaches all the limitations presented in claim 1 above and further teaches wherein the chip is further configured to store preset parameters (Liu: paragraph 80 reveals non-key parameters are prestored in the chip. Lee: paragraph 51 discloses information stored in the chip).
The combination of Lee in view of Liu does not teach, but Antonio teaches wherein the preset parameters include voltage information of the image forming apparatus (paragraph 7 reveals memory unit of the image forming device storing predefined voltage response characteristic of the image forming device).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Lee’s consumable in view of incorporating Liu’s chip and algorithm with Antionio’s teachings of storing voltage data to provide improvements for controlling the power supply in an image forming device, thus further providing improved security and protection against counterfeit supplies (paragraphs 2-3 of Antionio).
Claim(s) 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al EP 2746859 (hereinafter Lee), in view of Liu US 20150206039 (hereinafter Liu), in further view of Antonio US 20200089149 (hereinafter Antonio), and in further view of Bracewell et al US 20040098609 (hereinafter Bracewell).
As to claim 23, the combination of Lee in view of Liu and Antonio teaches all the limitations recited in claim 22 above, and further teaches encrypt the preset parameters using the authentication data to generate conversion data (Lee: paragraph 151 discloses the image forming device and the CRUM chip create a common session key using data exchanged during the first authentication process and use the session key to encrypt data for the subsequent communication. Paragraphs 22-24 disclose main controller and the CRUM chip may transmit/receive a signal including the integrity detection data in an authentication process for generating a session key and an authentication process for verifying compatibility from among the plurality of authentication processes. The main controller and the CRUM chip may perform at least one authentication process between the authentication process for generating a session key and the authentication process for verifying compatibility. When the authentication process for generating a session key begins, the main controller may transmit a signal including first data and first integrity detection data to the CRUM chip, and the CRUM chip may generate second integrity detection data using second data and the first integrity detection data and transmit a signal including the second data and the second integrity detection data to the main controller, and each of the first data and the second data may include data related to a session key in order to generate a session key/conversion data); and send the conversion data to the image forming apparatus (Lee: paragraphs 22-24 disclose main controller and the CRUM chip may transmit/receive a signal including the integrity detection data in an authentication process for generating a session key and an authentication process for verifying compatibility from among the plurality of authentication processes. The main controller and the CRUM chip may perform at least one authentication process between the authentication process for generating a session key and the authentication process for verifying compatibility. When the authentication process for generating a session key begins, the main controller may transmit a signal including first data and first integrity detection data to the CRUM chip, and the CRUM chip may generate second integrity detection data using second data and the first integrity detection data and transmit a signal including the second data and the second integrity detection data to the main controller, and each of the first data and the second data may include data related to a session key in order to generate a session key), such that the conversion data is decrypted to generate the preset parameters and use the preset parameters to determine whether the consumable meets expectation (Lee: paragraph 231 discloses if there is no problem in verifying the integrity data, the CRUM chip decrypts the DATA to a session key, performs operations necessary for Auth-4, and generates com-8 data to respond to the image forming apparatus. Com-8 includes the parameter data such DATA, SW, CRC, SECT2 String which are necessary for Auth-4 and VC4 which is final integrity data. The DATA is encrypted to a session key).
The combination of Lee in view of Liu and Antonio does not teach but Bracewell teaches the conversion data is decrypted via the reference data (paragraphs 94-95 disclose decrypting the data by reference data. This reference data is combination of variable data/key from rotating key and fixed data/unique identifier and constant string).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Lee’s consumable in view of incorporating Liu’s chip and algorithm and Antionio’s teachings of storing voltage data with Bracewell’s teachings of utilizing reference data for decryption to provide system that securely processed authentication data (paragraph 16 of Bracewell).
As to claim 24, the combination of Lee in view of Liu, Antonio, and Bracewell teaches wherein the chip is further configured to: encrypt the preset parameters using the authentication data and second preset algorithm to the generate conversion data (Lee: paragraph 151 discloses the image forming device and the CRUM chip create a common session key using data exchanged during the first authentication process and use the session key to encrypt data for the subsequent communication. Paragraphs 22-24 disclose main controller and the CRUM chip may transmit/receive a signal including the integrity detection data in an authentication process for generating a session key and an authentication process for verifying compatibility from among the plurality of authentication processes. The main controller and the CRUM chip may perform at least one authentication process between the authentication process for generating a session key and the authentication process for verifying compatibility. When the authentication process for generating a session key begins, the main controller may transmit a signal including first data and first integrity detection data to the CRUM chip, and the CRUM chip may generate second integrity detection data using second data and the first integrity detection data and transmit a signal including the second data and the second integrity detection data to the main controller, and each of the first data and the second data may include data related to a session key in order to generate a session key/conversion data), and communicate the second preset algorithm with the image forming apparatus via the data bus Lee: paragraph 93 discloses the crypto unit of the CRUM chip supports the encryption algorithm so that the CPU can perform authentication or encrypted communication with the controller of the image forming device. The crypto unit may support a determined algorithm among a plurality of encryption algorithms. The controller of the image forming apparatus may also support a corresponding algorithm among a plurality of encryption algorithms. Accordingly, the controller may identify what kind of encryption algorithm is used in the consumable unit 200, proceed with the encryption algorithm, and perform encryption communication. Paragraphs 239- 240 reveal serial communication may be used for communication between the consumable unit and the main body of the image forming apparatus such as I2C communication method that connect a plurality of nodes to one bus. Paragraph 66 discloses between the CRUM chip 210 and the controller 110, communication for authentication and data exchange may be performed numerous times. In every communication, signals are transmitted from the controller 110 to the CRUM chip 210 or vice versa. In this case, a transmitted signal includes error detection data for detecting integrity of the data included in the corresponding signal. Such error detection data is data generated by accumulation of error detection data included in the transmitted or received signal from the previous communication, such that the conversion data is decrypted via the reference data and the second preset algorithm (Lee: paragraph 231 discloses if there is no problem in verifying the integrity data, the CRUM chip decrypts the DATA to a session key, performs operations necessary for Auth-4, and generates com-8 data to respond to the image forming apparatus. Com-8 includes the parameter data such DATA, SW, CRC, SECT2 String which are necessary for Auth-4 and VC4 which is final integrity data. The DATA is encrypted to a session key. Bracewell: paragraphs 94-95 disclose decrypting the data by reference data. This reference data is combination of variable data/key from rotating key and fixed data/unique identifier and constant string). Motivation similar to the motivation presented in claim 23.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.F/ Examiner, Art Unit 2437
/ALI S ABYANEH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2437