DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 09 June 2026 has been entered. Applicant amended claims 1, 5, 11, 15, and 21-24 and cancelled claims 6-7 and 9-10. Accordingly, claims 1-5, 8, and 11-24 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Applicant’s remarks filed18 May 2026 regarding the prior art does not teach sending the first fixed data and the first variable data to the image apparatus:
Liu discloses in paragraph 84 the generation of the key parameter that is based on instructions of readings of the key parameter and the non-key parameter (therefore, the examiner mapped this key parameter as the authentication data). Liu also teaches in paragraphs 39-41 that the key parameter is generated based on the calculation of the prestored reference data. Paragraph 73 reveals key parameter may include a serial number of the storage chip and ink capacity (the interpretation is that the key parameter includes these values because they are based on the reading/computation of prestored reference data). Liu also teaches that the non-key parameter can be variable information such as ink remaining amount (paragraph 73).
Therefore, the examiner mapped the key parameter as the authentication because the key parameter is generated based on the reading of key parameter value and the non-key parameter value, wherein paragraph 78 that key parameter data is transmitted to the print image device. Paragraph 80 discloses non-key parameter data is transmitted to the print image device, wherein the non-key parameter according to paragraph 73 is variable data such as ink remaining amount or paragraph 81 that the non-key parameter is a parameter prestored in the storage chip. Therefore, Liu teaches authentication data/key parameter transmitted to the print image forming device and either variable or fixed data [non-key parameter] is transmitted to the print image device.
Applicant’s remaining arguments with respect to the independent claim(s) and the first variable data and comparing the reference data the authentication data have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 8, and 11-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “to determine whether the consumable meets expectation, the expectation include quality requirements for imaging”. The claims fail to particularly point out and define the expectations and the quality requirements.
Claims 2-4, 18-24 are rejected as being dependent on, and failing to cure the deficiencies of, rejected independent claim 1.
Claim 5 recites “to determine whether the consumable meets expectation, the expectation include quality requirements for imaging”. The claims fail to particularly point out and define the expectations and the quality requirements.
Claim 8 is rejected as being dependent on, and failing to cure the deficiencies of, rejected independent claim 5.
Claim 11 recites “to determine whether the consumable meets expectation, the expectation include quality requirements for imaging”. The claims fail to particularly point out and define the expectations and the quality requirements.
Claims 12-14 are rejected as being dependent on, and failing to cure the deficiencies of, rejected independent claim 11.
Claim 15 recites “to determine whether the consumable meets expectation, the expectation include quality requirements for imaging”. The claims fail to particularly point out and define the expectations and the quality requirements.
Claims 16-17 are rejected as being dependent on, and failing to cure the deficiencies of, rejected independent claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al EP 2746859 (hereinafter Lee), in further view of Liu US 20150206039 (hereinafter Liu), and in further view of Takahashi et al US 20160349665 (hereinafter Takahashi).
As to claim 1, Lee teaches a consumable chip, wherein the consumable chip is capable of being installed on a consumable (Paragraph 49 discloses the customer replacement unit monitoring (CRUM) chip is mounted on a consumable unit), the consumable is capable of being detachably installed on an image forming apparatus (Paragraph 3 discloses a unit which the ink or toner is stored, such component is a consumable unit. Paragraph 56 discloses the consumable unit can be detached and attached to the body of the image forming device), and the consumable chip comprising:
a chip control unit (Paragraph 54 discloses the CRUM chip includes a CPU that manages the memory, perform various program stored in the memory and performed communication with a body of an image forming device), configured to:
receive an authentication request sent by the image forming apparatus (Paragraph 34 discloses the authentication may comprise authentication operation in which the main controller [of the image forming device] transmit a signal including first data and first integrity data to the CRUM chip. Figure 20, reference number S1510 reveal com-1 of “Authentication CMD 1” is transmitted from the main controller to the CRUM Chip, see also paragraph 205. Paragraph 205 discloses the main controller transmit signal com-1 which include data and integrity detection data 1. The data includes authentication start command data 1),
obtain the first fixed data and [specific information stored in the image forming apparatus] based on the authentication request (Paragraph 178 discloses the CRUM chip receives data from com-1. Paragraphs 176 and 205 reveal com-1 includes data1 and authentication cmd1. Data1 includes specific information stored in the image forming apparatus. Paragraph 178 further discloses the CRUM chip transmits com-2 which includes data2. The data of the com-2 includes fixed data[chip
Figure 17 of Lee
serial number]. Therefore, the chip obtains data1 which includes specific information stored in the image forming apparatus and data2 which includes serial number of the chip),
generate authentication data based on a spliced data of the first fixed data and [specific information stored in the image forming apparatus], (Paragraph 206 discloses the CRUM chip generates integrity detection data 2 using the data to be transmitted and the integrity detection data 1. The CRUM chip also configures authentication data 2 by collecting random data which is generated accordingly and data necessary to perform other functions. Paragraphs 184 and 218 reveal the integrity detection data is based on the algorithm shown in paragraphs 184 and 218. Integrity detection data 2= E(authentication data 2/ authentication result 2 / SEC U2/ integrity detection data 1, wherein integrity detection data 1= E(authentication CMD/ authentication DATA 1/ SEC U1). Paragraph 225 discloses the CRUM chip generates com-2 having data to be used in the image forming apparatus, specific data stored in the CRUM chip, a serial number of the CRUM chip, and random data as data. Paragraphs 175 and 205 reveal data1 includes random data necessary for authentication and specific information stored in the image forming apparatus. Paragraph 178 reveals data2 includes the first random data, second random data, the chip serial number. Furthermore, Figure 21 shows a splice of the DATA as DATA1[1] | DATA1[2] | …..DATA1[4] which according to paragraphs 175 and 178 of Lee further disclose that DATA includes reading random data necessary for authentication, data values related to encryption for authentication, specific information stored in an image forming apparatus, a chip serial number (CSN), part of internal information of CRUM chip, and so on. Paragraph 52 reveals the specific information stored in the CRUM chip includes toner remains percent which is interpreted to be variable data. Thus, the authentication data is the same as the result of the spliced/combined DATA, along with the other elements to compute integrity detection/authentication), and
send the authentication data to the image forming apparatus (Figure 2, S1530 “Integrity detection test data 2”, “Authentication data 2” is sent from the CRUM chip to the controller of the image forming device; paragraphs 69 and 206 disclose the CRUM chip transmit integrity detection 2 to the controller of the image forming device), wherein the chip control unit is a processor (Paragraph 54 discloses the CRUM chip include a CPU) and the authentication data is used to determine whether the consumable meets expectation (Paragraph 181 and claim 8 disclose the authentication process confirms/checks compatibility between the CRUM chip or the consumable unit with the image forming device); and
send the first fixed data to the image forming apparatus (Figure 17 and paragraph 178 disclose the com-2 data includes serial number data(data2) that is sent from the Crum chip to the main controller of the image forming apparatus.
While paragraph 52 reveals the specific information stored in the CRUM chip includes toner remains percent which is interpreted to be variable data, Lee does not explicitly teach the specific information stored in the CRUM chip is first variable data, and obtaining a first variable data representing consumption information of the consumable based on the authentication request, wherein the first variable data is updated after each image forming operation to reflect a consumption status of the consumable; generate authentication data based on the spliced data of the first fixed data and the first variable data; send the first data and the first variable data to the image forming apparatus wherein the first fixed data and the first variable data are respectively used as second fixed data and second variable data to generate reference data, and the reference data is used to compare with the authentication data to determine whether the consumable meets expectation, the expectation include quality requirement for imaging.
Liu teaches obtain a first variable data representing consumption information of the consumable based on the authentication request (Paragraph 73 discloses data stored in the chip includes ink remaining amount, the number of printed pages, a consumption amount of a toner which are non-key parameters. Paragraph 84 discloses the chip performs calculation based on obtaining key parameter, non-key parameters that can be data prestored in the chip and in accordance with a present rule. Paragraph 88 discloses the present rule includes mathematical operation. Paragraph 80 discloses the non-key parameter is a parameter prestored in the chip), wherein the first variable data is updated after each image forming operation to reflect a consumption status of the consumable (paragraph 73 discloses obtaining both fixed data and variable data. Furthermore, paragraph 3 discloses the extracted data of number of printed pages, toner consumption amount, and ink remaining amount are variable data that is updated/changed after an image forming operation (such as printing)); generate authentication data based on spliced data of the first fixed data and the first variable data (Paragraph 84 discloses key parameter (authentication data) is generated based on the calculation result from readings of the key parameter and the non-key parameter. Paragraph 73 reveals key parameter may include a serial number of the storage chip and ink capacity (the interpretation is that the key parameter includes these values because they are based on the reading/computation of prestored reference data); and the non-key parameter can be variable information such as ink remaining amount; also paragraph 81 discloses the non-key parameter is a parameter prestored in the storage chip. The chip performs calculation based on obtaining key parameter, non-key parameters), and send the authentication data to the image forming apparatus (Paragraph 91 discloses transmitting the key parameter to the print imaging device ), send the fixed data [or] the variable data to the image forming apparatus (Paragraph 80 discloses sending the non-key parameter to the print imaging device. Paragraph 73 reveals the non-key parameter can be variable information such as ink remaining amount; also paragraph 81 discloses the non-key parameter is a parameter prestored in the storage chip); wherein the authentication data is used to determine whether the consumable meets expectation (Paragraph 120 discloses the key parameter is used to recognize whether the imaging cartridge is illegal imaging cartridge).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the specific information applied in Lee’s calculation for integrity detection with Liu’s calculation of reading the key parameter (serial number-fixed data ) and the non-key parameter (variable data) to recognize whether the imaging cartridge is illegal (Paragraph 120 of Liu) and to manage the authentication data such that the authentication data is not easily acquired by a competitor (Paragraph 6 of Liu).
Thus, while Liu may teach either fixed data or variable data is sent to the print image device (as disclosed above), the combination of Lee in view of Liu does not teach, but Takahashi teaches send the first fixed data and the first variable data to the image forming apparatus wherein the first fixed data and the first variable data are respectively used as second fixed data and second variable data to generate reference data (Paragraph 66 discloses the toner container information acquisition section of the imaging forming apparatus acquires the identification code ID(first fixed data) and the number of refills (variable data) and the number of copies printed (variable data)), and the reference data is used to compare with the authentication data to determine whether the consumable meets expectation, the expectation include quality requirement for imaging (Paragraphs 66-67 disclose that the identification code match the identification code with the one stored in the toner container information storage section. Paragraph 70 discloses if the identification code confirming section determines that the same identification code as the acquired identification code ID is stored in the toner container information storage section, the toner container information readout section reads out, based on the acquired identification code ID, the number of refills and number of copies printed of the corresponding toner container from the toner container information storage section (this read out of data is the authentication data). Paragraph 71 discloses the number of refills comparing section determines whether or not the number of refills acquired from the toner container is smaller than the number of refills read out from the toner container information storage section. If the number-of-refills comparing section determines that the number of refills from the toner container is smaller than the number of refills read out/authentication data (i.e., the number of refills has not been counted up in the correct way), the genuine product determining section determines that the toner container is a non-genuine product. See also paragraphs 72-75 which describe additional conditions of comparing the data to determine whether the toner container is genuine product).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the specific information applied in Lee’s calculation for integrity detection in view of Liu’s calculation of reading the key parameter (serial number-fixed data ) and the non-key parameter (variable data) with Takahashi’s teachings of determining whether the consumable/toner meets expectation to ensure the toner/consumable is a genuine product and to ensure normal performance for the image forming apparatus (Paragraphs 3-4 of Takahashi).
As to claim 2, the combination of Lee in view of Liu and Takahashi teaches wherein the chip control unit is further configured to: receive a parameter acquisition request sent by the image forming apparatus (Liu: paragraphs 77, 78, and 80 disclose the chip of an image cartridge receive an instruction transmitted by the print imaging device and determining that the instruction is for reading a key parameter and a non-key parameter), obtain preset parameters based on the parameter acquisition request (Liu: paragraph 84 discloses key parameter is generated based on the calculation result. The chip performs calculation based on obtaining key parameter, non-key parameters/the reference data prestored in the chip and in accordance with a present rule. Paragraph 88 discloses the present rule includes mathematical operation. Paragraph 80 discloses the non-key parameter is a parameter prestored in the chip. Lee: paragraph 51 discloses information stored on the chip include encryption key and electronic signature information), generate conversion data corresponding to the preset parameters by performing a calculation on the authentication data and the preset parameters according to a preset algorithm (Lee: paragraphs 81-82, 103, and 184-185 reveal encryption/conversion is perform on the integrity detection data based on the encryption key/algorithm), and send the conversion data to the image forming apparatus (Lee: Figure 2, S1530 “Integrity detection test data 2”, “Authentication data 2” is sent from the CRUM chip to the controller of the image forming device; paragraphs 69 and 206 disclose the CRUM chip transmit integrity detection 2 to the controller of the image forming device), wherein the conversion data is configured to execute a preset strategy (Lee: paragraph 181 and claim 8 disclose the authentication process that uses the integrity detection data confirms/checks compatibility between the CRUM chip or the consumable unit with the image forming device). The motivation is similar to the motivation presented in claim 1.
As to claim 3, the combination of Lee in view of Liu and Takahashi teaches wherein: the preset parameters include image forming control parameters (Liu: paragraph 73 discloses data in the chip includes ink remaining amount, the number of printed pages, a consumption amount of a toner which are non-key parameters. Key parameters stored on the chip includes serial number of the chip, ink capacity, and other parameters. Paragraph 80 discloses the non-key parameter is a parameter prestored in the chip), and the preset strategy includes determining whether the consumable meets the expectation according to the image forming control parameters (Lee: paragraph 181 and claim 8 disclose the authentication process that uses the integrity detection data confirms/checks compatibility between the CRUM chip or the consumable unit with the image forming device). The motivation is similar to the motivation presented in claim 1.
As to claim 4, the combination of Lee in view of Liu and Takahashi teaches wherein: the first variable data includes information of a quantity of printed pages, remaining amount of the consumable, and consumption amount of the consumable (Lee: paragraph 51 and Table 1 disclose the CRUM chip usage information such as how many paper have been printed so far, how many sheets of paper can be printed from now on, how much toner is left. Liu: paragraph 73 discloses data in the chip includes ink remaining amount, the number of printed pages, a consumption amount of a toner), and the first fixed data includes a serial number of the consumable, a model of the consumable, capacity of the consumable (Lee: paragraph 51 and Table 1 disclose the CRUM chip stores serial number data, model name, the total page count of the consumable, and consumable average coverage. Liu: paragraph 73 discloses key parameters stored on the chip includes serial number of the chip, ink capacity, and other parameters). The motivation is similar to the motivation presented in claim 1.
As to claim 5, Lee teaches a consumable (paragraph 3 discloses a unit which the ink or toner is stored, such component is a consumable unit. The toner is the consumable/developer), comprising:
a case (Paragraph 3 discloses a unit which the ink or toner is stored, such component is a consumable unit, a unit is the case);
a developer accommodating unit, disposed in the case and configured to accommodate developer (Paragraph 47 discloses developing units, transfer unit, settlement units, and OPC drums can be part of the consumable unit); and a
a consumable chip (Paragraph 49 discloses the customer replacement unit monitoring (CRUM) chip is mounted on a consumable unit), and the consumable chip comprising,
a chip control unit (Paragraph 54 discloses the CRUM chip includes a CPU that manages the memory, perform various program stored in the memory and performed communication with a body of an image forming device), configured to:
receive an authentication request sent by the image forming apparatus (Paragraph 34 discloses the authentication may comprise authentication operation in which the main controller [of the image forming device] transmit a signal including first data and first integrity data to the CRUM chip. Figure 20, reference number S1510 reveal com-1 of “Authentication CMD 1” is transmitted from the main controller to the CRUM Chip, see also paragraph 205. Paragraph 205 discloses the main controller transmit signal com-1 which include data and integrity detection data 1. The data includes authentication start command data 1),
obtain the first fixed data and [specific information stored in the image forming apparatus] based on the authentication request (Paragraph 178 discloses the CRUM chip receives data from com-1. Paragraphs 176 and 205 reveal com-1 includes data1 and authentication cmd1. Data1 includes specific information stored in the image forming apparatus. Paragraph 178 further discloses the CRUM chip transmits com-2 which includes data2. The data of the com-2 includes fixed data[chip serial number]. Therefore, the chip obtains data1 which includes specific information stored in the image forming apparatus and data2 which includes serial number of the chip),
generate authentication data based on spliced data of the first fixed data and [specific information stored in the image forming apparatus], (wherein the authentication data is the same as a result of splicing the first data and the [specific information stored in the image forming apparatus] (Paragraph 206 discloses the CRUM chip generates integrity detection data 2 using the data to be transmitted and the integrity detection data 1. The CRUM chip also configures authentication data 2 by collecting random data which is generated accordingly and data necessary to perform other functions. Paragraphs 184 and 218 reveal the integrity detection data is based on the algorithm shown in paragraphs 184 and 218. Integrity detection data 2= E(authentication data 2/ authentication result 2 / SEC U2/ integrity detection data 1, wherein integrity detection data 1= E(authentication CMD/ authentication DATA 1/ SEC U1). Paragraph 225 discloses the CRUM chip generates com-2 having data to be used in the image forming apparatus, specific data stored in the CRUM chip, a serial number of the CRUM chip, and random data as data. Paragraphs 175 and 205 reveal data1 includes random data necessary for authentication and specific information stored in the image forming apparatus. Paragraph 178 reveals data2 includes the first random data, second random data, the chip serial number. Furthermore, Figure 21 shows a splice of the DATA as DATA1[1] | DATA1[2] | …..DATA1[4] which according to paragraphs 175 and 178 of Lee further disclose that DATA includes reading random data necessary for authentication, data values related to encryption for authentication, specific information stored in an image forming apparatus, a chip serial number (CSN), part of internal information of CRUM chip, and so on. Paragraph 52 reveals the specific information stored in the CRUM chip includes toner remains percent which is interpreted to be variable data. Thus, the authentication data is the same as the result of the spliced/combined DATA, along with the other elements to compute integrity detection/authentication), and
send the authentication data to the image forming apparatus (Figure 2, S1530 “Integrity detection test data 2”, “Authentication data 2” is sent from the CRUM chip to the controller of the image forming device; paragraphs 69 and 206 disclose the CRUM chip transmit integrity detection 2 to the controller of the image forming device), wherein the chip control unit is a processor (paragraph 54 discloses the CRUM chip include a CPU) and the authentication data is used to determine whether the consumable meets expectation (paragraph 181 and claim 8 disclose the authentication process confirms/checks compatibility between the CRUM chip or the consumable unit with the image forming device); and
While paragraph 52 reveals the specific information stored in the CRUM chip includes toner remains percent which is interpreted to be variable data, Lee does not explicitly teach the specific information stored in the CRUM chip is first variable data, and obtaining a first variable data representing consumption information of the consumable based on the authentication request, wherein the first variable data is updated after each image forming operation to reflect a consumption status of the consumable; generate authentication data based on the spliced data of the first fixed data and the first variable data; send the first data and the first variable data to the image forming apparatus wherein the first fixed data and the first variable data are respectively used as second fixed data and second variable data to generate reference data, and the reference data is used to compare with the authentication data to determine whether the consumable meets expectation, the expectation include quality requirement for imaging.
Liu teaches obtain a first variable data representing consumption information of the consumable based on the authentication request (Paragraph 73 discloses data stored in the chip includes ink remaining amount, the number of printed pages, a consumption amount of a toner which are non-key parameters. Paragraph 84 discloses the chip performs calculation based on obtaining key parameter, non-key parameters that can be data prestored in the chip and in accordance with a present rule. Paragraph 88 discloses the present rule includes mathematical operation. Paragraph 80 discloses the non-key parameter is a parameter prestored in the chip), wherein the first variable data is updated after each image forming operation to reflect a consumption status of the consumable (paragraph 73 discloses obtaining both fixed data and variable data. Furthermore, paragraph 3 discloses the extracted data of number of printed pages, toner consumption amount, and ink remaining amount are variable data that is updated/changed after an image forming operation (such as printing)); generate authentication data based on spliced data of the first fixed data and the first variable data (Paragraph 84 discloses key parameter (authentication data) is generated based on the calculation result from readings of the key parameter and the non-key parameter. Paragraph 73 reveals key parameter may include a serial number of the storage chip and ink capacity (the interpretation is that the key parameter includes these values because they are based on the reading/computation of prestored reference data); and the non-key parameter can be variable information such as ink remaining amount; also paragraph 81 discloses the non-key parameter is a parameter prestored in the storage chip. The chip performs calculation based on obtaining key parameter, non-key parameters), and send the authentication data to the image forming apparatus (Paragraph 91 discloses transmitting the key parameter to the print imaging device ), send the fixed data [or] the variable data to the image forming apparatus (Paragraph 80 discloses sending the non-key parameter to the print imaging device. Paragraph 73 reveals the non-key parameter can be variable information such as ink remaining amount; also paragraph 81 discloses the non-key parameter is a parameter prestored in the storage chip); wherein the authentication data is used to determine whether the consumable meets expectation (Paragraph 120 discloses the key parameter is used to recognize whether the imaging cartridge is illegal imaging cartridge).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the specific information applied in Lee’s calculation for integrity detection with Liu’s calculation of reading the key parameter (serial number-fixed data ) and the non-key parameter (variable data) to recognize whether the imaging cartridge is illegal (Paragraph 120 of Liu) and to manage the authentication data such that the authentication data is not easily acquired by a competitor (Paragraph 6 of Liu).
The combination of Lee in view of Liu does not teach, but Takahashi teaches send the first fixed data and the first variable data to the image forming apparatus wherein the first fixed data and the first variable data are respectively used as second fixed data and second variable data to generate reference data (Paragraph 66 discloses the toner container information acquisition section of the imaging forming apparatus acquires the identification code ID(first fixed data) and the number of refills (variable data) and the number of copies printed (variable data)), and the reference data is used to compare with the authentication data to determine whether the consumable meets expectation, the expectation include quality requirement for imaging (Paragraphs 66-67 disclose that the identification code match the identification code with the one stored in the toner container information storage section. Paragraph 70 discloses if the identification code confirming section determines that the same identification code as the acquired identification code ID is stored in the toner container information storage section, the toner container information readout section reads out, based on the acquired identification code ID, the number of refills and number of copies printed of the corresponding toner container from the toner container information storage section (this read out of data is the authentication data). Paragraph 71 discloses the number of refills comparing section determines whether or not the number of refills acquired from the toner container is smaller than the number of refills read out from the toner container information storage section. If the number-of-refills comparing section determines that the number of refills from the toner container is smaller than the number of refills read out/authentication data (i.e., the number of refills has not been counted up in the correct way), the genuine product determining section determines that the toner container is a non-genuine product. See also paragraphs 72-75 which describe additional conditions of comparing the data to determine whether the toner container is genuine product).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the specific information applied in Lee’s calculation for integrity detection in view of Liu’s calculation of reading the key parameter (serial number-fixed data ) and the non-key parameter (variable data) with Takahashi’s teachings of determining whether the consumable/toner meets expectation to ensure the toner/consumable is a genuine product and to ensure normal performance for the image forming apparatus (Paragraphs 3-4 of Takahashi).
As to claim 8, the combination of Lee in view of Liu and Takahashi teaches wherein: the first variable data includes information of a quantity of printed pages, remaining amount of the consumable, and consumption amount of the consumable (Lee: paragraph 51 and Table 1 disclose the CRUM chip usage information such as how many paper have been printed so far, how many sheets of paper can be printed from now on, how much toner is left. Liu: paragraph 73 discloses data in the chip includes ink remaining amount, the number of printed pages, a consumption amount of a toner), and the first fixed data includes a serial number of the consumable, a model of the consumable, capacity of the consumable (Lee: paragraph 51 and Table 1 disclose the CRUM chip stores serial number data, model name, the total page count of the consumable, and consumable average coverage. Liu: paragraph 73 discloses key parameters stored on the chip includes serial number of the chip, ink capacity, and other parameters). The motivation is similar to the motivation presented in claim 5.
As to claim 15, Lee teaches a communication method between an image forming apparatus and a consumable chip (Figure 20 reveals authentication communication between the controller of an image forming device and a CRUM chip), applied to the consumable chip (Figure 20 reveals authentication communication between the controller of an image forming device and a CRUM chip), the image forming apparatus being detachably installed with a consumable (Paragraph 3 discloses a unit which the ink or toner is stored, such component is a consumable unit. Paragraph 56 discloses the consumable unit can be detached and attached to the body of the image forming device), the consumable being installed with the consumable chip (Paragraph 49 discloses the customer replacement unit monitoring (CRUM) chip is mounted on a consumable unit), the consumable chip including a chip control unit (Paragraph 54 discloses the CRUM chip includes a CPU that manages the memory, perform various program stored in the memory and performed communication with a body of an image forming device), and the communication method comprising:
receiving, by the chip control unit, an authentication request sent by the image forming apparatus (Paragraph 34 discloses the authentication may comprise authentication operation in which the main controller [of the image forming device] transmit a signal including first data and first integrity data to the CRUM chip. Figure 20, reference number S1510 reveal com-1 of “Authentication CMD 1” is transmitted from the main controller to the CRUM Chip, see also paragraph 205. Paragraph 205 discloses the main controller transmit signal com-1 which include data and integrity detection data 1. The data includes authentication start command data 1);
obtaining, by the chip control unit, first fixed data and [specific information stored in the image forming apparatus] based on the authentication request (Paragraph 178 discloses the CRUM chip receives data from com-1. Paragraphs 176 and 205 reveal com-1 includes data1 and authentication cmd1. Data1 includes specific information stored in the image forming apparatus. Paragraph 178 further discloses the CRUM chip transmits com-2 which includes data2. The data of the com-2 includes fixed data[chip serial number]. Therefore, the chip obtains data1 which includes specific information stored in the image forming apparatus and data2 which includes serial number of the chip), and
generating, by the chip control unit, authentication data based on spliced data of the first fixed data and [specific information stored in the image forming apparatus] according to a first preset algorithm, wherein the authentication data is the same as a result of splicing the first data and the [specific information stored in the image forming apparatus] (Paragraph 206 discloses the CRUM chip generates integrity detection data 2 using the data to be transmitted and the integrity detection data 1. The CRUM chip also configures authentication data 2 by collecting random data which is generated accordingly and data necessary to perform other functions. Paragraphs 184 and 218 reveal the integrity detection data is based on the algorithm shown in paragraphs 184 and 218. Integrity detection data 2= E(authentication data 2/ authentication result 2 / SEC U2/ integrity detection data 1, wherein integrity detection data 1= E(authentication CMD/ authentication DATA 1/ SEC U1). Paragraph 225 discloses the CRUM chip generates com-2 having data to be used in the image forming apparatus, specific data stored in the CRUM chip, a serial number of the CRUM chip, and random data as data. Paragraphs 175 and 205 reveal data1 includes random data necessary for authentication and specific information stored in the image forming apparatus. Paragraph 178 reveals data2 includes the first random data, second random data, the chip serial number. Furthermore, Figure 21 shows a splice of the DATA as DATA1[1] | DATA1[2] | …..DATA1[4] which according to paragraphs 175 and 178 of Lee further disclose that DATA includes reading random data necessary for authentication, data values related to encryption for authentication, specific information stored in an image forming apparatus, a chip serial number (CSN), part of internal information of CRUM chip, and so on. Paragraph 52 reveals the specific information stored in the CRUM chip includes toner remains percent which is interpreted to be variable data. Thus, the authentication data is the same as the result of the spliced/combined DATA, along with the other elements to compute integrity detection/authentication);
sending, by the chip control unit, the authentication data to the image forming control unit (Figure 2, S1530 “Integrity detection test data 2”, “Authentication data 2” is sent from the CRUM chip to the controller of the image forming device; paragraphs 69 and 206 disclose the CRUM chip transmit integrity detection 2 to the controller of the image forming device), wherein the chip control unit is a processor (Paragraph 54 discloses the CRUM chip includes a CPU that manages the memory, perform various program stored in the memory and performed communication with a body of an image forming device), and the authentication data is used to determine whether the consumable meets expectation (Paragraph 181 and claim 8 disclose the authentication process confirms/checks compatibility between the CRUM chip or the consumable unit with the image forming device).
While paragraph 52 reveals the specific information stored in the CRUM chip includes toner remains percent which is interpreted to be variable data, Lee does not explicitly teach the specific information stored in the CRUM chip is first variable data, and obtaining a first variable data representing consumption information of the consumable based on the authentication request, wherein the first variable data is updated after each image forming operation to reflect a consumption status of the consumable; generate authentication data based on the spliced data of the first fixed data and the first variable data; send the first data and the first variable data to the image forming apparatus wherein the first fixed data and the first variable data are respectively used as second fixed data and second variable data to generate reference data, and the reference data is used to compare with the authentication data to determine whether the consumable meets expectation, the expectation include quality requirement for imaging.
Liu teaches obtain a first variable data representing consumption information of the consumable based on the authentication request (Paragraph 73 discloses data stored in the chip includes ink remaining amount, the number of printed pages, a consumption amount of a toner which are non-key parameters. Paragraph 84 discloses the chip performs calculation based on obtaining key parameter, non-key parameters that can be data prestored in the chip and in accordance with a present rule. Paragraph 88 discloses the present rule includes mathematical operation. Paragraph 80 discloses the non-key parameter is a parameter prestored in the chip), wherein the first variable data is updated after each image forming operation to reflect a consumption status of the consumable (paragraph 73 discloses obtaining both fixed data and variable data. Furthermore, paragraph 3 discloses the extracted data of number of printed pages, toner consumption amount, and ink remaining amount are variable data that is updated/changed after an image forming operation (such as printing)); generate authentication data based on spliced data of the first fixed data and the first variable data (Paragraph 84 discloses key parameter (authentication data) is generated based on the calculation result from readings of the key parameter and the non-key parameter. Paragraph 73 reveals key parameter may include a serial number of the storage chip and ink capacity (the interpretation is that the key parameter includes these values because they are based on the reading/computation of prestored reference data); and the non-key parameter can be variable information such as ink remaining amount; also paragraph 81 discloses the non-key parameter is a parameter prestored in the storage chip. The chip performs calculation based on obtaining key parameter, non-key parameters), and send the authentication data to the image forming apparatus (Paragraph 91 discloses transmitting the key parameter to the print imaging device ), send the fixed data [or] the variable data to the image forming apparatus (Paragraph 80 discloses sending the non-key parameter to the print imaging device. Paragraph 73 reveals the non-key parameter can be variable information such as ink remaining amount; also paragraph 81 discloses the non-key parameter is a parameter prestored in the storage chip); wherein the authentication data is used to determine whether the consumable meets expectation (Paragraph 120 discloses the key parameter is used to recognize whether the imaging cartridge is illegal imaging cartridge).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the specific information applied in Lee’s calculation for integrity detection with Liu’s calculation of reading the key parameter (serial number-fixed data ) and the non-key parameter (variable data) to recognize whether the imaging cartridge is illegal (Paragraph 120 of Liu) and to manage the authentication data such that the authentication data is not easily acquired by a competitor (Paragraph 6 of Liu).
The combination of Lee in view of Liu does not teach, but Takahashi teaches send the first fixed data and the first variable data to the image forming apparatus wherein the first fixed data and the first variable data are respectively used as second fixed data and second variable data to generate reference data (Paragraph 66 discloses the toner container information acquisition section of the imaging forming apparatus acquires the identification code ID(first fixed data) and the number of refills (variable data) and the number of copies printed (variable data)), and the reference data is used to compare with the authentication data to determine whether the consumable meets expectation, the expectation include quality requirement for imaging (Paragraphs 66-67 disclose that the identification code match the identification code with the one stored in the toner container information storage section. Paragraph 70 discloses if the identification code confirming section determines that the same identification code as the acquired identification code ID is stored in the toner container information storage section, the toner container information readout section reads out, based on the acquired identification code ID, the number of refills and number of copies printed of the corresponding toner container from the toner container information storage section (this read out of data is the authentication data). Paragraph 71 discloses the number of refills comparing section determines whether or not the number of refills acquired from the toner container is smaller than the number of refills read out from the toner container information storage section. If the number-of-refills comparing section determines that the number of refills from the toner container is smaller than the number of refills read out/authentication data (i.e., the number of refills has not been counted up in the correct way), the genuine product determining section determines that the toner container is a non-genuine product. See also paragraphs 72-75 which describe additional conditions of comparing the data to determine whether the toner container is genuine product).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the specific information applied in Lee’s calculation for integrity detection in view of Liu’s calculation of reading the key parameter (serial number-fixed data ) and the non-key parameter (variable data) with Takahashi’s teachings of determining whether the consumable/toner meets expectation to ensure the toner/consumable is a genuine product and to ensure normal performance for the image forming apparatus (Paragraphs 3-4 of Takahashi).
As to claim 16, the combination of Lee in view of Liu and Takahashi teaches receiving, by the chip control unit, a parameter acquisition request sent by the image forming apparatus (Liu: paragraphs 77, 78, and 80 disclose the chip of an image cartridge receive an instruction transmitted by the print imaging device and determining that the instruction is for reading a key parameter and a non-key parameter); obtaining, by the chip control unit, preset parameters based on the parameter acquisition request (Liu: paragraph 84 discloses key parameter is generated based on the calculation result. The chip performs calculation based on obtaining key parameter, non-key parameters/the reference data prestored in the chip and in accordance with a present rule. Paragraph 88 discloses the present rule includes mathematical operation. Paragraph 80 discloses the non-key parameter is a parameter prestored in the chip. Lee: paragraph 51 discloses information stored on the chip include encryption key and electronic signature information); generating, by the chip control unit, conversion data corresponding to the preset parameters by performing a calculation on the authentication data and the preset parameters according to a preset algorithm (Lee: paragraphs 81-82, 103, and 184-185 reveal encryption/conversion is perform on the integrity detection data based on the encryption key/algorithm), and sending, by the chip control unit, the conversion data to the image forming apparatus (Lee: Figure 2, S1530 “Integrity detection test data 2”, “Authentication data 2” is sent from the CRUM chip to the controller of the image forming device; paragraphs 69 and 206 disclose the CRUM chip transmit integrity detection 2 to the controller of the image forming device), wherein the conversion data is configured to execute a present strategy (Lee: paragraphs 181, 183 and claim 8 disclose the authentication process of the controller[of the image forming device] confirms/checks compatibility between the CRUM chip or the consumable unit with the image forming device, by comparing the first, second, third values from the authentication data with reference data prestored in a table. See also paragraph 30 which reveal the authentication processes may comprise synchronizing a data in the tables stored in the imaging forming device and the CRUM chip to determine compatibility between the image forming device and the CRUM chip. Paragraph 52 and Table 1 reveals example table stored in CRUM chip). The motivation is similar to the motivation presented in claim 15.
As to claim 17, the combination of Lee in view of Liu and Takahashi teaches wherein: the preset parameters include image forming control parameters (Liu: paragraph 73 discloses data in the chip includes ink remaining amount, the number of printed pages, a consumption amount of a toner which are non-key parameters. Key parameters stored on the chip includes serial number of the chip, ink capacity, and other parameters. Paragraph 80 discloses the non-key parameter is a parameter prestored in the chip ), and the preset strategy includes determining whether the consumable meets the expectation according to the image forming control parameters (Lee: paragraph 181 and claim 8 disclose the authentication process that uses the integrity detection data confirms/checks compatibility between the CRUM chip or the consumable unit with the image forming device). The motivation is similar to the motivation presented in claim 15.
Claim(s) 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al EP 2746859 (hereinafter Lee) in further view of Liu US 20150206039 (hereinafter Liu), in further view of Takahashi et al US 20160349665 (hereinafter Takahashi).and in further view of Jones et al US 8532506 (hereinafter Jones).
As to claim 11, Lee teaches a consumable, comprising:
a consumable chip (Paragraph 49 discloses the customer replacement unit monitoring (CRUM) chip is mounted on a consumable unit), and the consumable chip comprising:
a chip control unit (Paragraph 54 discloses the CRUM chip includes a CPU that manages the memory, perform various program stored in the memory and performed communication with a body of an image forming device), configured to:
receive an authentication request sent by the image forming apparatus (Paragraph 34 discloses the authentication may comprise authentication operation in which the main controller [of the image forming device] transmit a signal including first data and first integrity data to the CRUM chip. Figure 20, reference number S1510 reveal com-1 of “Authentication CMD 1” is transmitted from the main controller to the CRUM Chip, see also paragraph 205. Paragraph 205 discloses the main controller transmit signal com-1 which include data and integrity detection data 1. The data includes authentication start command data 1),
obtain first fixed data and [specific information stored in the image forming apparatus] based on the authentication request (Paragraph 178 discloses the CRUM chip receives data from com-1. Paragraphs 176 and 205 reveal com-1 includes data1 and authentication cmd1. Data1 includes specific information stored in the image forming apparatus. Paragraph 178 further discloses the CRUM chip transmits com-2 which includes data2. The data of the com-2 includes fixed data[chip serial number]. Therefore, the chip obtains data1 which includes specific information stored in the image forming apparatus and data2 which includes serial number of the chip),
generate authentication data based on spliced data of the first fixed data and [specific information stored in the image forming apparatus], wherein the authentication data is the same as a result of splicing the first data and the [specific information stored in the image forming apparatus] (Paragraph 206 discloses the CRUM chip generates integrity detection data 2 using the data to be transmitted and the integrity detection data 1. The CRUM chip also configures authentication data 2 by collecting random data which is generated accordingly and data necessary to perform other functions. Paragraphs 184 and 218 reveal the integrity detection data is based on the algorithm shown in paragraphs 184 and 218. Integrity detection data 2= E(authentication data 2/ authentication result 2 / SEC U2/ integrity detection data 1, wherein integrity detection data 1= E(authentication CMD/ authentication DATA 1/ SEC U1). Paragraph 225 discloses the CRUM chip generates com-2 having data to be used in the image forming apparatus, specific data stored in the CRUM chip, a serial number of the CRUM chip, and random data as data. Paragraphs 175 and 205 reveal data1 includes random data necessary for authentication and specific information stored in the image forming apparatus. Paragraph 178 reveals data2 includes the first random data, second random data, the chip serial number. Furthermore, Figure 21 shows a splice of the DATA as DATA1[1] | DATA1[2] | …..DATA1[4] which according to paragraphs 175 and 178 of Lee further disclose that DATA includes reading random data necessary for authentication, data values related to encryption for authentication, specific information stored in an image forming apparatus, a chip serial number (CSN), part of internal information of CRUM chip, and so on. Paragraph 52 reveals the specific information stored in the CRUM chip includes toner remains percent which is interpreted to be variable data. Thus, the authentication data is the same as the result of the spliced/combined DATA, along with the other elements to compute integrity detection/authentication), and
send the authentication data to the image forming apparatus (Figure 2, S1530 “Integrity detection test data 2”, “Authentication data 2” is sent from the CRUM chip to the controller of the image forming device; paragraphs 69 and 206 disclose the CRUM chip transmit integrity detection 2 to the controller of the image forming device), wherein the chip control unit is a processor (Paragraph 54 discloses the CRUM chip include a CPU) and the authentication data is used to determine whether the consumable meets expectation (paragraph 181 and claim 8 disclose the authentication process confirms/checks compatibility between the CRUM chip or the consumable unit with the image forming device); and
While paragraph 52 reveals the specific information stored in the CRUM chip includes toner remains percent which is interpreted to be variable data, Lee does not explicitly teach a consumable comprising: an organic photoconductor , a charging roller configured to charge the organic photoconductor; the specific information stored in the CRUM chip is first variable data, and obtaining a first variable data representing consumption information of the consumable based on the authentication request, wherein the first variable data is updated after each image forming operation to reflect a consumption status of the consumable; generate authentication data based on the spliced data of the first fixed data and the first variable data; send the first data and the first variable data to the image forming apparatus wherein the first fixed data and the first variable data are respectively used as second fixed data and second variable data to generate reference data, and the reference data is used to compare with the authentication data to determine whether the consumable meets expectation, the expectation include quality requirement for imaging.
Liu teaches obtain a first variable data representing consumption information of the consumable based on the authentication request (Paragraph 73 discloses data stored in the chip includes ink remaining amount, the number of printed pages, a consumption amount of a toner which are non-key parameters. Paragraph 84 discloses the chip performs calculation based on obtaining key parameter, non-key parameters that can be data prestored in the chip and in accordance with a present rule. Paragraph 88 discloses the present rule includes mathematical operation. Paragraph 80 discloses the non-key parameter is a parameter prestored in the chip), wherein the first variable data is updated after each image forming operation to reflect a consumption status of the consumable (paragraph 73 discloses obtaining both fixed data and variable data. Furthermore, paragraph 3 discloses the extracted data of number of printed pages, toner consumption amount, and ink remaining amount are variable data that is updated/changed after an image forming operation (such as printing)); generate authentication data based on spliced data of the first fixed data and the first variable data (Paragraph 84 discloses key parameter (authentication data) is generated based on the calculation result from readings of the key parameter and the non-key parameter. Paragraph 73 reveals key parameter may include a serial number of the storage chip and ink capacity (the interpretation is that the key parameter includes these values because they are based on the reading/computation of prestored reference data); and the non-key parameter can be variable information such as ink remaining amount; also paragraph 81 discloses the non-key parameter is a parameter prestored in the storage chip. The chip performs calculation based on obtaining key parameter, non-key parameters), and send the authentication data to the image forming apparatus (Paragraph 91 discloses transmitting the key parameter to the print imaging device ), send the fixed data [or] the variable data to the image forming apparatus (Paragraph 80 discloses sending the non-key parameter to the print imaging device. Paragraph 73 reveals the non-key parameter can be variable information such as ink remaining amount; also paragraph 81 discloses the non-key parameter is a parameter prestored in the storage chip); wherein the authentication data is used to determine whether the consumable meets expectation (Paragraph 120 discloses the key parameter is used to recognize whether the imaging cartridge is illegal imaging cartridge).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the specific information applied in Lee’s calculation for integrity detection with Liu’s calculation of reading the key parameter (serial number-fixed data ) and the non-key parameter (variable data) to recognize whether the imaging cartridge is illegal (Paragraph 120 of Liu) and to manage the authentication data such that the authentication data is not easily acquired by a competitor (Paragraph 6 of Liu).
The combination of Lee in view of Liu does not teach, but Takahashi teaches send the first fixed data and the first variable data to the image forming apparatus wherein the first fixed data and the first variable data are respectively used as second fixed data and second variable data to generate reference data (Paragraph 66 discloses the toner container information acquisition section of the imaging forming apparatus acquires the identification code ID(first fixed data) and the number of refills (variable data) and the number of copies printed (variable data)), and the reference data is used to compare with the authentication data to determine whether the consumable meets expectation, the expectation include quality requirement for imaging (Paragraphs 66-67 disclose that the identification code match the identification code with the one stored in the toner container information storage section. Paragraph 70 discloses if the identification code confirming section determines that the same identification code as the acquired identification code ID is stored in the toner container information storage section, the toner container information readout section reads out, based on the acquired identification code ID, the number of refills and number of copies printed of the corresponding toner container from the toner container information storage section (this read out of data is the authentication data). Paragraph 71 discloses the number of refills comparing section determines whether or not the number of refills acquired from the toner container is smaller than the number of refills read out from the toner container information storage section. If the number-of-refills comparing section determines that the number of refills from the toner container is smaller than the number of refills read out/authentication data (i.e., the number of refills has not been counted up in the correct way), the genuine product determining section determines that the toner container is a non-genuine product. See also paragraphs 72-75 which describe additional conditions of comparing the data to determine whether the toner container is genuine product).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the specific information applied in Lee’s calculation for integrity detection in view of Liu’s calculation of reading the key parameter (serial number-fixed data ) and the non-key parameter (variable data) with Takahashi’s teachings of determining whether the consumable/toner meets expectation to ensure the toner/consumable is a genuine product and to ensure normal performance for the image forming apparatus (Paragraphs 3-4 of Takahashi).
The combination of Lee in view of Liu and Takahashi does not teach the consumable comprising: an organic photoconductor, and a charging roller, configured to charge the organic photoconductor.
Jones teaches a consumable comprising: an organic photoconductor (Column 11, lines 35-37 disclose the cartridge includes a photoreceptor drum, wherein the outer surface is coated with photoconductive material), and a charging roller, configured to charge the organic photoconductor (Column 11, lines 35-38 disclose the cartridge includes a charge device for charging the drum photoconductive surface).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Lee’s consumable in view of incorporating Liu’s variable data and Takahashi’s teachings of determining whether the consumable/toner meets expectation with Jones’ teachings of the consumable comprising of photoconductive material and a charge device such that the consumable is able to make preparation for imaging (Column 11, lines 38).
As to claim 12, the combination of Lee in view of Liu, Takahashi, and Jones teaches wherein the chip control unit is further configured to: receive a parameter acquisition request sent by the image forming apparatus (Liu: paragraphs 77, 78, and 80 disclose the chip of an image cartridge receive an instruction transmitted by the print imaging device and determining that the instruction is for reading a key parameter and a non-key parameter), obtain preset parameters based on the parameter acquisition request (Liu: paragraph 84 discloses key parameter is generated based on the calculation result. The chip performs calculation based on obtaining key parameter, non-key parameters/the reference data prestored in the chip and in accordance with a present rule. Paragraph 88 discloses the present rule includes mathematical operation. Paragraph 80 discloses the non-key parameter is a parameter prestored in the chip. Lee: paragraph 51 discloses information stored on the chip include encryption key and electronic signature information), generate conversion data corresponding to the preset parameters by performing a calculation on the authentication data and the preset parameters according to a second preset algorithm (Lee: paragraphs 81-82, 103, and 184-185 reveal encryption/conversion is perform on the integrity detection data based on the encryption key/algorithm), and send the conversion data to the image forming apparatus(Lee: Figure 2, S1530 “Integrity detection test data 2”, “Authentication data 2” is sent from the CRUM chip to the controller of the image forming device; paragraphs 69 and 206 disclose the CRUM chip transmit integrity detection 2 to the controller of the image forming device), wherein the conversion data is configured to execute a preset strategy (Lee: paragraph 181 and claim 8 disclose the authentication process that uses the integrity detection data confirms/checks compatibility between the CRUM chip or the consumable unit with the image forming device). The motivation is similar to the motivation presented in claim 11.
As to claim 13, the combination of Lee in view of Liu, Takahashi, and Jones teaches wherein: the preset parameters include image forming control parameters (Liu: paragraph 73 discloses data in the chip includes ink remaining amount, the number of printed pages, a consumption amount of a toner which are non-key parameters. Key parameters stored on the chip includes serial number of the chip, ink capacity, and other parameters. Paragraph 80 discloses the non-key parameter is a parameter prestored in the chip), and the preset strategy includes determining whether the consumable meets the expectation according to the image forming control parameters (Lee: paragraph 181 and claim 8 disclose the authentication process that uses the integrity detection data confirms/checks compatibility between the CRUM chip or the consumable unit with the image forming device). The motivation is similar to the motivation presented in claim 11.
As to claim 14, the combination of Lee in view of Liu, Takashia, and Jones teaches wherein: the first variable data includes information of a quantity of printed pages, remaining amount of the consumable, and consumption amount of the consumable (Lee: paragraph 51 and Table 1 disclose the CRUM chip usage information such as how many paper have been printed so far, how many sheets of paper can be printed from now on, how much toner is left. Liu: paragraph 73 discloses data in the chip includes ink remaining amount, the number of printed pages, a consumption amount of a toner), and the first fixed data includes a serial number of the consumable, a model of the consumable, capacity of the consumable (Lee: paragraph 51 and Table 1 disclose the CRUM chip stores serial number data, model name, the total page count of the consumable, and consumable average coverage. Liu: paragraph 73 discloses key parameters stored on the chip includes serial number of the chip, ink capacity, and other parameters). The motivation is similar to the motivation presented in claim 11.
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al EP 2746859 (hereinafter Lee), in view of Liu US 20150206039 (hereinafter Liu), in further view of Takahashi et al US 20160349665 (hereinafter Takahashi), in further view of Lu et al US 20150295718 (hereinafter Lu), and in further view of Kozuka et al US 20130145481 (hereinafter Kozuka).
As to claim 18, the combination of Lee in view of Liu and Takahashi teaches all the limitations recited in claim 1 above including combining the first fixed data and the first variable data (see claim 1 above).
The combination of Lee in view of Liu and Takahashi does not teach the chip control unit is further configured to: generate first combined data, encrypt the first combined data to generate first to-be-processed data, perform signature calculation on the first to-be-processed data to generate first signature data, and encrypt the first to-be-processed data and the first signature data to generate the authentication data.
Lu teaches the chip control unit (Claim 18 reveals a device with various processing units) is configured to: generate first combined data (Paragraph 24 discloses combining first information and second information to obtain the data to be signed), encrypt the first combined data to generate first to-be-processed data (Paragraph 2 discloses encrypting the data to be signed, wherein the data to be signed is the combined first and second data), perform signature calculation on the first to-be-processed data to generate first signature data (Paragraph 205 discloses the encrypted data is signed using an algorithm/calculation) and encrypting the first to be processed data to generate the authentication data (Paragraphs 25, and 167-168 disclose encoding the encrypting result of data to be signed. Paragraphs 25, 30, and 34 reveal the encoding data becomes first data packet which is used in authentication).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Lee’s consumable in view of incorporating Liu’s chip and algorithm and Takahashi’s teachings of determining whether the consumable/toner meets expectation with Lu’s teachings of combining first and second data, encrypting the combined data, and signing the encrypted data to use the signing result to verify the authenticity of the first and second data and detect fraudulent/corrupted data/devices/applications (Paragraphs 4, 205, and 215 of Lu).
The combination of Lee, Liu, Takahashi, and Lu does not teach, but Kozuka teaches encrypt[ing] the first signature data to generate the authentication data (paragraph 455 discloses encrypting the signature data and the combined data and paragraph 457 reveals the signature that was encrypted data is used for verification).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Lee’s consumable in view of incorporating Liu’s chip and algorithm, Takahashi’s teachings of determining whether the consumable/toner meets expectation, and Lu’s teachings of combining first and second data, encrypting the combined data, and signing the encrypted data with Kozuka’s teachings of furthering encrypting the signature data to use the data to determine whether the device and application is legitimate and is not unauthorized or counterfeit (Paragraphs 3-4 of Kozuka).
As to claim 19, the combination of Lee, Liu, Takahashi, Lu, and Kozuka teaches wherein when encrypting the first combined data to generate the first to-be-processed data (Lu: paragraph 24 discloses combining first information and second information to obtain the data to be signed; paragraph 2 discloses encrypting the data to be signed, wherein the data to be signed is the combined first and second data), the chip control unit (Lu: claim 18 reveals a device with various processing units) is further configured to: use a preset encryption algorithm to generate the first to-be-processed data, wherein the preset encryption algorithm includes any one of an AES (advanced encryption standard) algorithm, a DES (data encryption standard) algorithm, a 3DES (triple DES) algorithm, and a SM4 algorithm (Lu: paragraph 147 reveals the encryption algorithm is 3DES; Kozuka: paragraphs 331 reveals the encryption algorithm is AES). The motivation is the similar to the motivation for claim 18.
As to claim 20, the combination of Lee, Liu, Takahashi, Lu, and Kozuka teaches wherein when performing the signature calculation on the first to-be-processed data to generate the first signature data (Lu: paragraph 205 discloses the encrypted data to be signed using an algorithm/calculation), the chip control unit (Lu: claim 18 reveals a device with various processing units) is further configured to: use an algorithm for digital signature to generate a forgery proof digital string (Lu: paragraph 205 discloses the encrypted data is signed using an algorithm/calculation. Electronic signatures helps prevents forgery). The motivation is the similar to the motivation in claim 18.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al EP 2746859 (hereinafter Lee), in view of Liu US 20150206039 (hereinafter Liu), in further view of Takahashi et al US 20160349665 (hereinafter Takahashi), and in further view of Bracewell et al US 20040098609 (hereinafter Bracewell).
As to claim 21, the combination of Lee in view of Liu and Takahashi teaches all the limitations recited in claim 1 above and further teaches wherein the chip control unit is further configured to: generate the authentication data using a first preset algorithm (Lee: paragraph 206 discloses the CRUM chip generates integrity detection data 2 using the data to be transmitted and the integrity detection data 1. The CRUM chip also configures authentication data 2 by collecting random data which is generated accordingly and data necessary to perform other functions. Paragraphs 184 and 218 reveal the integrity detection data is based on the algorithm shown in paragraphs 184 and 218. Integrity detection data 2= E(authentication data 2/ authentication result 2 / SEC U2/ integrity detection data 1, wherein integrity detection data 1= E(authentication CMD/ authentication DATA 1/ SEC U1); and communicate the first preset algorithm with the image forming apparatus via a data bus, such that the reference data is generated also via the first preset algorithm (Lee: paragraph 93 discloses the crypto unit of the CRUM chip supports the encryption algorithm so that the CPU can perform authentication or encrypted communication with the controller of the image forming device. The crypto unit may support a determined algorithm among a plurality of encryption algorithms. The controller of the image forming apparatus may also support a corresponding algorithm among a plurality of encryption algorithms. Accordingly, the controller may identify what kind of encryption algorithm is used in the consumable unit 200, proceed with the encryption algorithm, and perform encryption communication. Paragraphs 239- 240 reveal serial communication may be used for communication between the consumable unit and the main body of the image forming apparatus such as I2C communication method that connect a plurality of nodes to one bus. Paragraph 66 discloses between the CRUM chip 210 and the controller 110, communication for authentication and data exchange may be performed numerous times. In every communication, signals are transmitted from the controller 110 to the CRUM chip 210 or vice versa. In this case, a transmitted signal includes error detection data for detecting integrity of the data included in the corresponding signal. Such error detection data is data generated by accumulation of error detection data included in the transmitted or received signal from the previous communication).
The combination of Lee in view of Liu and Takahashi does not teach but Bracewell teaches the reference data is generated also via the first preset algorithm (Paragraph 22 reveals encryption key/reference data is generated based on hash algorithm of a combination of fixed data/unique identifier and constant string and variable data from rotating key store).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Lee’s consumable in view of incorporating Liu’s chip and algorithm and Takahashi’s teachings of determining whether the consumable/toner meets expectation with Bracewell’s teachings of generating reference data via an preset algorithm to provide system that securely processed authentication data (Paragraph 16 of Bracewell).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al EP 2746859 (hereinafter Lee), in view of Liu US 20150206039 (hereinafter Liu), in further view of Takahashi et al US 20160349665 (hereinafter Takahashi), and in further view of Antonio US 20200089149 (hereinafter Antonio).
As to claim 22, the combination of Lee in view of Liu and Takahashi teaches all the limitations presented in claim 1 above and further teaches wherein the chip control unit is further configured to store preset parameters (Liu: paragraph 80 reveals non-key parameters are prestored in the chip. Lee: paragraph 51 discloses information stored in the chip).
The combination of Lee in view of Liu and Takahashi does not teach, but Antonio teaches wherein the preset parameters include voltage information of the image forming apparatus (Paragraph 7 reveals memory unit of the image forming device storing predefined voltage response characteristic of the image forming device).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Lee’s consumable in view of incorporating Liu’s chip and algorithm and Takahashi’s teachings of determining whether the consumable/toner meets expectation with Antionio’s teachings of storing voltage data to provide improvements for controlling the power supply in an image forming device, thus further providing improved security and protection against counterfeit supplies (Paragraphs 2-3 of Antionio).
Claim(s) 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al EP 2746859 (hereinafter Lee), in view of Liu US 20150206039 (hereinafter Liu), in further view of Antonio US 20200089149 (hereinafter Antonio), and in further view of Bracewell et al US 20040098609 (hereinafter Bracewell).
As to claim 23, the combination of Lee in view of Liu, Takahashi, and Antonio teaches all the limitations recited in claim 22 above, and further teaches encrypt the preset parameters using the authentication data to generate conversion data (Lee: paragraph 151 discloses the image forming device and the CRUM chip create a common session key using data exchanged during the first authentication process and use the session key to encrypt data for the subsequent communication. Paragraphs 22-24 disclose main controller and the CRUM chip may transmit/receive a signal including the integrity detection data in an authentication process for generating a session key and an authentication process for verifying compatibility from among the plurality of authentication processes. The main controller and the CRUM chip may perform at least one authentication process between the authentication process for generating a session key and the authentication process for verifying compatibility. When the authentication process for generating a session key begins, the main controller may transmit a signal including first data and first integrity detection data to the CRUM chip, and the CRUM chip may generate second integrity detection data using second data and the first integrity detection data and transmit a signal including the second data and the second integrity detection data to the main controller, and each of the first data and the second data may include data related to a session key in order to generate a session key/conversion data); and send the conversion data to the image forming apparatus (Lee: paragraphs 22-24 disclose main controller and the CRUM chip may transmit/receive a signal including the integrity detection data in an authentication process for generating a session key and an authentication process for verifying compatibility from among the plurality of authentication processes. The main controller and the CRUM chip may perform at least one authentication process between the authentication process for generating a session key and the authentication process for verifying compatibility. When the authentication process for generating a session key begins, the main controller may transmit a signal including first data and first integrity detection data to the CRUM chip, and the CRUM chip may generate second integrity detection data using second data and the first integrity detection data and transmit a signal including the second data and the second integrity detection data to the main controller, and each of the first data and the second data may include data related to a session key in order to generate a session key), such that the conversion data is decrypted to generate the preset parameters and use the preset parameters to determine whether the consumable meets expectation (Lee: paragraph 231 discloses if there is no problem in verifying the integrity data, the CRUM chip decrypts the DATA to a session key, performs operations necessary for Auth-4, and generates com-8 data to respond to the image forming apparatus. Com-8 includes the parameter data such DATA, SW, CRC, SECT2 String which are necessary for Auth-4 and VC4 which is final integrity data. The DATA is encrypted to a session key).
The combination of Lee in view of Liu, Takahashi, and Antonio does not teach but Bracewell teaches the conversion data is decrypted via the reference data (Paragraphs 94-95 disclose decrypting the data by reference data. This reference data is combination of variable data/key from rotating key and fixed data/unique identifier and constant string).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Lee’s consumable in view of incorporating Liu’s chip and algorithm, Takahashi’s teachings of determining whether the consumable/toner meets expectation, and Antionio’s teachings of storing voltage data with Bracewell’s teachings of utilizing reference data for decryption to provide system that securely processed authentication data (paragraph 16 of Bracewell).
As to claim 24, the combination of Lee in view of Liu, Takahashi, Antonio, and Bracewell teaches wherein the chip control unit is further configured to: encrypt the preset parameters using the authentication data and second preset algorithm to the generate conversion data (Lee: paragraph 151 discloses the image forming device and the CRUM chip create a common session key using data exchanged during the first authentication process and use the session key to encrypt data for the subsequent communication. Paragraphs 22-24 disclose main controller and the CRUM chip may transmit/receive a signal including the integrity detection data in an authentication process for generating a session key and an authentication process for verifying compatibility from among the plurality of authentication processes. The main controller and the CRUM chip may perform at least one authentication process between the authentication process for generating a session key and the authentication process for verifying compatibility. When the authentication process for generating a session key begins, the main controller may transmit a signal including first data and first integrity detection data to the CRUM chip, and the CRUM chip may generate second integrity detection data using second data and the first integrity detection data and transmit a signal including the second data and the second integrity detection data to the main controller, and each of the first data and the second data may include data related to a session key in order to generate a session key/conversion data), and communicate the second preset algorithm with the image forming apparatus via the data bus Lee: paragraph 93 discloses the crypto unit of the CRUM chip supports the encryption algorithm so that the CPU can perform authentication or encrypted communication with the controller of the image forming device. The crypto unit may support a determined algorithm among a plurality of encryption algorithms. The controller of the image forming apparatus may also support a corresponding algorithm among a plurality of encryption algorithms. Accordingly, the controller may identify what kind of encryption algorithm is used in the consumable unit 200, proceed with the encryption algorithm, and perform encryption communication. Paragraphs 239- 240 reveal serial communication may be used for communication between the consumable unit and the main body of the image forming apparatus such as I2C communication method that connect a plurality of nodes to one bus. Paragraph 66 discloses between the CRUM chip 210 and the controller 110, communication for authentication and data exchange may be performed numerous times. In every communication, signals are transmitted from the controller 110 to the CRUM chip 210 or vice versa. In this case, a transmitted signal includes error detection data for detecting integrity of the data included in the corresponding signal. Such error detection data is data generated by accumulation of error detection data included in the transmitted or received signal from the previous communication, such that the conversion data is decrypted via the reference data and the second preset algorithm (Lee: paragraph 231 discloses if there is no problem in verifying the integrity data, the CRUM chip decrypts the DATA to a session key, performs operations necessary for Auth-4, and generates com-8 data to respond to the image forming apparatus. Com-8 includes the parameter data such DATA, SW, CRC, SECT2 String which are necessary for Auth-4 and VC4 which is final integrity data. The DATA is encrypted to a session key. Bracewell: paragraphs 94-95 disclose decrypting the data by reference data. This reference data is combination of variable data/key from rotating key and fixed data/unique identifier and constant string). Motivation similar to the motivation presented in claim 23.
Conclusion
/F.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2437
/BENJAMIN E LANIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2437