FINAL ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 8/27/2026 has been received and claims 1-17 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/10/2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
in line 2 of Claim 8,
delete “the” and insert --a--;
insert --medical imaging-- before “examination”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “evaluation unit” in claim 1; “visualization unit” in claims 3 and 7; “projection unit” in claim 17.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Specifically, the corresponding structure for the “evaluation unit” comprises at least one computing module and/or a processor (see Specification, p. 5 [0014]). The corresponding structure for the “visualization unit” comprises a display, a monitor and/or a projection unit such as one projecting a colored light (see Specification, pp. 7-8 [0021], p. 17 [0055]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Specifically, there is no written description support of a corresponding structure for a “projection unit” within the Specification where while Specification appears to indicate that the “projection unit” is a device that projects a colored light onto one or more surfaces (see Specification, pp. 7-8 [0021]) no specific structure that performs such function was identified.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claim 17, it is not clear what specific structure(s) corresponds to a “projection unit”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reid (20120116803) in view of Marsden (20130187775) and Shelton IV (20190206564).
As to Claim 1, Reid (‘803) discloses a method for providing cleaning information for at least one surface of a medical device (see entire document, particularly Figures 1-5), comprising:
recording (via 22, 41, and/or 2, 24, 43) contact data indicating contact between a person and a plurality of surfaces of medical devices (88) (see entire document, particularly Figure 3, pp. 1-2 [0021], p. 2 [0024]), wherein the contact data is recorded (via 24, 43) by a plurality of surface sensor units (10, 12) (see entire document, particularly pp. 1-2 [0021]), each surface sensor unit (10, 12) being associated with a respective surface of the plurality of surfaces and independently recording, whether the respective surface is touched by a person, the contact data indicating which of the plurality of surfaces were physically touched of the person (see entire document, particularly Figure 1, p. 1 [0021], p. 2 [0024]-[0025]);
evaluating (via 22, 24, 26) the contact data by an evaluation unit (22, 24, 26, 32), wherein the evaluation of the contact data comprises identifying those surfaces of the medical device which indicate a contact with or a physical proximity to a person (see entire document, particularly Figure 1, p. 2 [0022]-[0023], p. 3 [0031] – lines 8-9 and [0032]); and
generating cleaning information for the identified surfaces on the basis of the evaluated contact data and providing the cleaning information for the identified surfaces (i.e. steps 94, 96, 110; 120, 122, 124, 126, 136, 138 - see Figures 4-5).
Reid (‘803) does not appear to specifically teach that each surface sensor unit the plurality of surface sensor units record physical touch of a respective surface by a person during performance of a medical imaging examination, or that the medical device in a room of a medical establishment/building, including a hospital, is a medical imaging device, or that the cleaning information indicates which of the identified surfaces were touched by the person and are to be cleaned before the medical imaging device is occupied by a next patient.
As to the limitations that contact data is recorded by each surface sensor unit during performance of a medical imaging examination as to which surfaces were physically touched by a person and that the cleaning information indicates which of the identified surfaces were touched by the person and are to be cleaned before the medical imaging device is occupied by a next patient, it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a plurality of surface sensor units configured to record physical touch of a plurality of surfaces by a person during use of a medical imaging device where the contact data indicates which surfaces were physically touched by the person and generating cleaning information that indicates which of the identified surfaces were touched by the person and are to be cleaned before the medical imaging device is occupied by a next patient.. Marsden (‘775) discloses a method for providing cleaning information for at least one surface (300) capable of being of an object such as a medical imaging device (see entire document, particularly Figures 1-4C, p. 1 [0012]-[0013], p. 4 [0064]), comprising:
recording (via 310, 360, 372, 380) contact data indicating contact between a person and at least one surface (300) capable of being an object such as a medical imaging device (see entire document, particularly Figures 3-4B, p. 4 [0059] – particularly line 11 and [0060]-[0062]), wherein the contact data is recorded by a plurality of surface sensor units (120; 320, 330) (see entire document, particularly pp. 1-2 [0013] – lines 2-7, p. 3 [0054] – lines 4-5 and 11-13), each surface sensor unit (120; 320, 330) being associated with a respective surface of the at least one surface and independently recording (see entire document, particularly p. 1 [0011], pp. 1-2 [0013] – lines 2-7), during preparation for and usage/performance of a task capable of being a medical imaging examination, whether the respective surface is touched by a person (i.e. steps 4110, 4115, 4200, 4210, 4220, 4230, 4240 - see entire document, particularly Figures 3-4B, p. 2 [0014], p. 4 [0056], p. 5 [0065]), the contact data indicating which of the at least one surface (100, 300) were physically touched by the person (see entire document, particularly Figures 1 and 3, p. 1 [0002] and [0012]-[0013], p. 2 [0017] and 0023], p. 5 [0065]);
evaluating the contact data by an evaluation unit (310) (i.e. steps 4115 - see entire document, particularly Figure 4A), wherein the evaluation of the contact data comprises identifying those surfaces (300) of the object capable of being a medical imaging device which indicate a contact with (via 320) or a physical proximity to (via 330) a person (i.e. step 4210 - see entire document, particularly Figures 3-4B, p. 4 [0059]); and
generating cleaning information for the identified surfaces on the basis of the evaluated contact data and providing the cleaning information for the identified surfaces (see entire document, particularly p. 4 [0056]-[0057], [0060] and [0063], p. 5 [0065]), wherein the cleaning information indicates which of the identified surfaces were touched by the person and are to be cleaned before the medical imaging device is occupied by a next patient (see entire document, particularly p. 4 [0056]-[0057], [0060] and [0063], p. 5 [0065]-[0066]),
in order to monitor and determine a need for a cleaning based on a detected contamination so as to prevent infection proactively to reduce costs in time, money and human suffering (see entire document, particularly Figures 4A-4B, p. 1 [0011], p. 3 [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a step of recording contact data of physically touching of a plurality of surfaces by a person during use of the medical device/performance of a medical examination, in the method of Reid as a known process step in order to monitor and determine a need for a cleaning process along with monitoring of the cleaning for contaminated surfaces of an object/medical device so as to prevent infection so as to lower costs in time, money and human suffering as shown by Marsden.
As to the limitation that the medical device is a medical imaging device which performs a medical imaging examination, it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a medical imaging device in a room of a hospital as a medical device. Shelton IV (‘564) discloses a method for providing cleaning at least one surface of a medical device in the form of a medical imaging device (124) in a room of a medical establishment/building such as a hospital in order to sterilize all items that come in contact with a patient or that penetrates a sterile field (see entire document, particularly p. 10 [0226]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that a medical device present in a room of a medical building such as a hospital in the method of Reid as modified by Marsden includes a medical imaging device as a known item in a room of a medical setting as shown by Shelton IV.
As to Claim 2, while Reid (‘803) does not appear to specifically teach that the medical device has two or more housing parts, each of the two or more housing parts having a respective one of the plurality of surface sensor units, as Marsden (‘775) teaches use of the plurality of sensor units throughout a room/a healthcare facility (see entire document, particularly pp. 1-2 [0013], p. 2 [0014]) and as Shelton IV (‘564) that a medical imaging device (124) as well as all its attachments and components need to be sterilized (see entire document, particularly p. 10 [0226] – lines 7-9), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a surface sensor unit with all/each of the components of the medical imaging device in the method of Reid as modified by Marsden and Shelton IV in order to detect and determine the cleanliness status of the medical imaging device as well as to track and ensure that all components of the medical imaging device is sterilized/cleaned. Only the expected results would be attained.
As to Claim 3, Reid (‘803) discloses that the cleaning information for the identified surfaces is presented to a user visually by a visualization unit (18, 28, 34, 38) (see entire document, particularly p. 3 [0030]-[0031], p. 4 [0039]-[0040]).
As to Claim 4, Reid (‘803) discloses that the cleaning information comprises a cleaning plan (54 and/or cleaning protocol) for cleaning the identified surfaces (see entire document, particularly p. 3 [0031] – lines 1-3, pp. 4-5 [0040] – lines 8-10 and 14-21).
As to Claim 5, Reid (‘803) discloses that a cleaning operation in accordance with the cleaning plan is performed in a subsequent method step after generating the cleaning information (see entire document, particularly p. 3 [0031] – lines 1-4 where the check list of chores/cleaning operation/plan (i.e. room cleaning protocol) is generated prior to performance of the room cleaning and the check list is checked off while performing the room cleaning).
As to Claim 6, Reid (‘803) discloses that a cleaning of the identified surfaces is recorded (see entire document, particularly p. 2 [0023]-[0024], p. 3 [0028], p. 4 [0036]).
As to Claim 7, Reid (‘803) discloses that a cleaning progress of a cleaning of the identified surfaces is presented visually (ex: via 44, 52) to a user by a visualization unit (28, 34, 38) (see entire document, particularly p. 4 [0036] – lines 6-8 and [0039] – 4th – 5th lines from the bottom, pp. 4-5[0040] – lines 6-7, 14-15, and last 6 lines).
As to Claim 8, Reid (‘803) discloses that the cleaning information is stored together with a cleaning progress or medical imaging examination information (see entire document, particularly Figures 4-5, p. 2 [0023]-[0026], p. 4 [0035]-[0036] and [0038]).
Thus, Claims 1-8 would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103 over the combined teachings of Reid (‘803), Marsden (‘775) and Shelton IV (‘564).
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reid (20120116803) in view of Marsden (20130187775) and Shelton IV (20190206564) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Callahan (20210346561).
Reid (‘803), Marsden (‘775) and Shelton IV (‘564) are relied upon for disclosure described in the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Neither Reid (‘803) nor Marsden (‘775) or Shelton IV (‘564) appears to specifically teach that the cleaning information for the identified surfaces is provided by controlling a projection unit to illuminate the identified surfaces with a visually distinguishable color.
It was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a projection unit to illuminate the identified surfaces with a visually distinguishable color in a method disinfecting surfaces. Callahan (‘561) discloses a method of cleaning/disinfecting surfaces comprising a step of generating/providing cleaning information for identified surfaces by controlling (via 150) a projection unit (130) to illuminate the identified surfaces with a visually distinguishable color (131) in order to provide a visual cue to disinfect surfaces of an area to be disinfected so as to ensure a correct sterilant dose/sterilization duration has been delivered/applied (see entire document, particularly Figures 1-3A and 35, p. 4 [0083]-[0085] and [0087]-[0089]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a projection unit to illuminate the identified surfaces with a visually distinguishable color in the method of Reid as modified by Marsden and Shelton IV as a known step in order to guide the sterilization so as to ensure a correct sterilization dose/duration has been applied to the surfaces as shown by Callahan.
Thus, Claim 17 would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103 over the combined teachings of Reid (‘803), Marsden (‘775), Shelton IV (‘564), and Callahan (‘561).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Specifically, as to applicant’s argument in last full paragraph on p. 7 and in first full paragraph (particularly lines 1-2) on p. 8 and in lines 11-12 on p. 9 of Remarks in regard to Marsden, examiner disagrees and points to the rejection of claim 1 above and indicates that Marsden does teach using a plurality of sensor unit/packages throughout a room in which a patient is located and in a healthcare facility to monitor contamination of multiple surfaces as discussed above.
As to applicant’s arguments on p. 8 and in first full paragraph on p. 9 of Remarks, examiner points out that applicant's arguments are arguments against the references individually, where one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Furthermore, as to applicant’s argument in second full paragraph on p. 8 of Remarks in regard to Reid, examiner disagrees and points to the teaching of Marsden which indicated the benefits of monitoring touch/touching/contamination events along with monitoring of cleaning process as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above and as such one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to combine teachings of Reid with Marsden.
Finally, as to applicant’s argument in third full paragraph on p. 8 and in lines 15-18 on p. 9 of Remarks regarding Shelton IV, examiner points out that the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REGINA M YOO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758