DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The action is in response to amendments filed on 05/29/2026. Claims 2 and 14 have been amended. Claims 15 have been cancelled. Claims 2 and 4-14, 16-19 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4-8, 10, 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by US 20150157219 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Lee”) in view of US 20130261415 A1 (cited in the IDS; hereinafter referred to as “Ashe”).
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches teaches a monitoring device (abstract) comprising:
a substrate (as shown in Figures 1-3);
at least a first pair of emitters disposed at a first location on the substrate and a second pair of emitters disposed at a second location on the substrate that is different than the first location, the first pair of emitters configured to emit light along a first path towards the skin of a user wearing the monitoring device, the second pair of emitters configured to emit light along a second path towards the skin of the user, the second path being different than the first path (12C (light sources) of 312A; paragraphs [0049]-[0050]; Figure 3);
one or more processors configured to activate the first pair of emitters and the second pair of emitters (paragraphs [0035]-[0037]) and
one or more detectors disposed on the substrate, the one or more detectors configured detect first reflected light associated with the light emitted from the first pair of emitters reflecting off of a blood vessel of the user and second reflected light associated with the light emitted from the second pair of emitters reflecting off of the blood vessel (12B (photodetector) of 312A; paragraphs [0049]-[0050]; Figure 3); but does not explicitly teach wherein the first pair of emitters and the second pair of emitters are activated or deactivated dynamically by the one or more processors in response to changes in their respective signal strengths; the one or more processors further configured to: obtain a first photoplethysmography (PPG) signal based, at least in part, on the first reflected light; determine if a signal strength of the first PPG signal is above or below the threshold signal strength value; and if it is determined that the signal strength of the first PPG signal is below the threshold signal strength value, activate the second pair of emitters and deactivate the first pair of emitters; and wherein the second location of the second pair of emitters is further from the one or more detectors than the first location of the first pair of emitters.
However, Ashe, an optical sensor device teaches wherein the first pair of emitters and the second pair of emitters are activated or deactivated dynamically by the one or more processors in response to changes in their respective signal strengths (paragraphs [0042]-[0044], [0064]-[0067]); the one or more processors (114) further configured to: obtain a first photoplethysmography (PPG) signal based, at least in part, on the first reflected light (paragraphs [0042]-[0044], [0064]-[0067]); determine if a signal strength of the first PPG signal is above or below the threshold signal strength value (paragraphs [0042]-[0044], [0064]-[0067]); and if it is determined that the signal strength of the first PPG signal is below the threshold signal strength value, activate the second pair of emitters and deactivate the first pair of emitters (paragraphs [0042]-[0044], [0064]-[0067]); and wherein the second location of the second pair of emitters is further from the one or more detectors than the first location of the first pair of emitters (paragraphs [0035]-[0036]; Figure 3). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lee, to have emitters dynamically activated and deactivated based on signal strength, as taught by Ashe, because doing so optimizes signal quality while accounting for motion or blood vessels in a measurement area.
Regarding claim 4, Lee, in view of Ashe, teaches the one or more processors further configured to: if it is determined that the signal strength of the first PPG signal is below the threshold signal strength value, obtain a second PPG signal based, at least in part, on the second reflected light (paragraphs [0042]-[0044], [0064]-[0067]; as taught by Ashe); determine if a signal strength of the second PPG signal is greater than the threshold signal strength value or below the threshold signal strength value (paragraphs [0042]-[0044], [0064]-[0067]; as taught by Ashe); and determine a blood oxygen saturation value for the user based, at least in part, on (1) the first PPG signal if it is determined that the signal strength of the first PPG signal does satisfy a threshold signal strength value or (2) the second PPG signal if it is determined that the signal strength of the first PPG signal is below the threshold signal strength value and/or if it is determined that the signal strength of the second PPG signal is greater than the threshold signal strength value (paragraphs [0042]-[0044], [0064]-[0067]; as taught by Ashe).
Regarding claim 5, Lee, in view of Ashe, teaches the one or more processors further configured to: provide a notification indicative of the determined blood oxygen saturation value for the user (paragraph [0029]; as taught by Lee).
Regarding claim 6, Lee, in view of Ashe, teaches further comprising: a display screen configured to display the notification indicative of the determined blood oxygen saturation value of the user (paragraph [0029]; as taught by Lee).
Regarding claim 7, Lee, in view of Ashe, teaches the first pair of emitters and the second pair of emitters each including a first light source configured to emit light at a first wavelength and a second light source configured to emit light at a second wavelength that is different than the first wavelength (emits red and infrared light; paragraphs [0049]-[0050]; Figure 3; as taught by Lee).
Regarding claim 8, Lee, in view of Ashe, teaches the first wavelength corresponding to red light and the second wavelength corresponds to infrared light (paragraphs [0049]-[0050]; Figure 3; as taught by Lee).
Regarding claim 10, Lee, in view of Ashe, teaches the one or more detectors including a first detector configured to detect the first reflected light and a second detector configured to detect the second reflect light (paragraphs [0049]-[0050]; Figure 3; as taught by Lee).
Regarding claim 13, Lee, in view of Ashe, teaches the substrate including a wristband configured to secure the monitoring device to a wrist of the user (as shown in Figures 1-3; as taught by Lee).
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches a method of determining a blood oxygen saturation value for a user wearing a monitoring device (abstract), the method comprising:
activating a first pair of emitters of the monitoring device to emit light along a first path towards the skin of the user wearing the monitoring device (paragraphs [0049]-[0050]; Figure 3; as taught by Lee);
obtaining a first photoplethysmography (PPG) signal based, at least in part, on the light reflecting off a blood vessel of the user (paragraphs [0049]-[0050]; Figure 3; as taught by Lee);
activating a second pair of emitters of the monitoring device to emit light along a second path towards the skin of the user, the second path being different than the first path (paragraphs [0049]-[0050]; Figure 3; as taught by Lee);
obtaining a second PPG signal based, at least in part, on the light emitted from the second pair of emitters reflecting off of the blood vessel of the user (paragraphs [0049]-[0050]; Figure 3; as taught by Lee);
determining the blood oxygen saturation value for the user based, at least in part, on the second PPG signal (paragraphs [0049]-[0050]; Figure 3; as taught by Lee); but does not explicitly teach dynamically deactivating the first pair of emitters and dynamically activating a second pair of emitters of the monitoring device, via the one or more processors, to emit light along a second path towards the skin of the user, the second path being different than the first path in response to determining that the signal strength of the first PPG signal is below the threshold signal strength value.
However, Ashe teaches dynamically deactivating the first pair of emitters and dynamically activating a second pair of emitters of the monitoring device, via the one or more processors, to emit light along a second path towards the skin of the user, the second path being different than the first path in response to determining that the signal strength of the first PPG signal is below the threshold signal strength value (paragraphs [0042]-[0044], [0064]-[0067]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lee, to have emitters dynamically activated and deactivated based on signal strength, as taught by Ashe, because doing so optimizes signal quality while accounting for motion or blood vessels in a measurement area.
Regarding claim 15, Lee, in view of Ashe, teaches the first pair of emitters is disposed at a first location on a substrate of the monitoring device and the second pair of emitters is disposed at a second location on the substrate, the second location being different than the first location (paragraphs [0049]-[0050]; Figure 3; as taught by Lee).
Regarding claim 16, Lee, in view of Ashe, teaches the first pair of emitters and the second pair of emitters each including a first light source configured to emit light at a first wavelength and a second light source configured to emit light at a second wavelength that is different than the first wavelength (paragraphs [0049]-[0050]; Figure 3; as taught by Lee).
Regarding claim 17, Lee, in view of Ashe, teaches the first wavelength corresponding to red light and the second wavelength corresponding to infrared light (paragraphs [0049]-[0050]; Figure 3; as taught by Lee).
Regarding claim 19, Lee, in view of Ashe, teaches further comprising: causing a display screen of the monitoring device to display a notification indicative of the determined blood oxygen saturation value for the user (paragraph [0029]; as taught by Lee).
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, in view of Ashe, as applied to claims 8 and 17 above, and further in view of US 20020042558 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Mendelson”).
Regarding claim 9, Lee, in view of Ashe, teaches using a first and second emitter that emits in the red and infrared range respectively, but does not explicitly teach the red light is having a peak wavelength of 660 nm; and the infrared light having a peak wavelength that ranges from 750 nm to 1700 nm.
However, Mendelson, an oximeter device, teaches the red light is having a peak wavelength of 660 nm; and the infrared light having a peak wavelength that ranges from 750 nm to 1700 nm (paragraph [0004], [0006]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lee, in view of Ashe, to have a peak wavelength of 660 nm and 940 nm, as taught by Mendelson, because doing so provides light emission for optimal data receiving.
Conclusion
/ABID A MUSTANSIR/Examiner, Art Unit 3791