Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 12/24/2025, with respect to the rejections of independent claims 1, 6, and 11 and their corresponding dependent claims under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made in view of the previously applied references from Kofod, Queen, and Choi, in addition to a newly applied reference from Hadden et al. (US 8312552 B1), hereinafter Hadden. Specifically, Hadden teaches the newly added limitations “wherein the displaying comprises: … modifying, by the processor, at least one character in a displayed portion of the digital content … or … overlaying, by the processor, the visual noise on a displayed portion of the digital content”.
Regarding Applicant’s argument beginning on P. 14 of Applicant Arguments asserting that Panchapakesan is not sufficient to teach the limitation of Claims 19 and 20, “updating, by the processor, the displayed visual noise based on the dynamic change in the displayed digital content”, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Panchapakesan teaches a system for dynamic content redaction, which includes tracking of content on a user display screen for continuous redaction of predefined ranges or sections of the content. Specifically, a redaction layer generator may dynamically regenerate or relocate masking objects (visual noise), including adding new masking objects and moving masking objects in accordance with redaction schemas for content protection/concealment. Thus, the visual noise that is actively being displayed is also updated in real time based on user interactions with the content (e.g. scrolling) (Panchapakesan – Paragraphs [0062]-[0065]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13, 16, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kofod et al. (US 20160253772 A1), hereinafter Kofod, in view of Queen et al. (US 20200169567 A1), hereinafter Queen, Choi et al. (US 20170329943 A1), hereinafter Choi, and Hadden et al. (US 8312552 B1), hereinafter Hadden.
Regarding Claim 1:
Kofod teaches a method for deterring data leakage through photographing of a display screen by an external camera, comprising (Kofod – Paragraph [0094]: The presence of the watermark across the entirety of the content means that, should the content be misappropriated by screen shot, by taking a picture of the screen with a separate camera, etc., the image so acquired will contain enough information encoded within the watermark to identify the source of the information and perhaps identify the individual who misappropriated the content): storing, by a processor (Kofod – Paragraph [0031]: In one exemplary implementation, the subject matter described herein may be implemented using a computer readable medium having stored thereon executable instructions that when executed by the processor of a computer control the computer to perform steps), in an enterprise database, a plurality of visual noises for modification of digital content (Kofod – Paragraph [0098]: In one embodiment, a database 510 may be used to store the generated watermarks, information that is encoded into the generated watermarks, or both), wherein: each of the plurality of visual noises corresponds to a single user of a plurality of users (Kofod – Paragraph [0083]: Use Case—Unique User Watermarking; and Paragraph [0084]: Any application that produces a document that can be shared and read, either via the original application or a dedicated document reader (e.g., Adobe Acrobat Reader) can implement unique user watermarking), each of the plurality of visual noises is unique with respect to other visual noises of the plurality of visual noises (Kofod – Paragraph [0099]: in the example illustrated in FIG. 5, the set of watermarked documents 506 may be different documents, each with different content tailored for its specific audience and each having a unique watermark, or they may be copies of the same document, each with the same content but each having a unique watermark, or variations of the above); detecting, by the processor, a digital content when displayed on a digital device (Kofod – Paragraph [0087]: system 300 includes a first hardware module, watermark generator 302, for generating a watermark that encodes information as a set of visual elements. In the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 3, watermark generator 302 interacts with a second module, web server 304, for receiving content to be displayed to a user and creating watermarked content by combining an image of the received content with at least one copy of the watermark sufficient to fill the area of the image); fetching, by the processor (Kofod – Paragraph [0031]: In one exemplary implementation, the subject matter described herein may be implemented using a computer readable medium having stored thereon executable instructions that when executed by the processor of a computer control the computer to perform steps) from the stored plurality of visual noises (Kofod – Paragraph [0098]: In one embodiment, a database 510 may be used to store the generated watermarks, information that is encoded into the generated watermarks, or both) a visual noise to be displayed on the digital device from the enterprise database (Kofod – Paragraph [0098]: In one embodiment, a database 510 may be used to store the generated watermarks, information that is encoded into the generated watermarks, or both) based on the obtained information of the user (Kofod – Paragraph [0106]: the encoded information identifies an intended recipient. The process includes receiving a document that is to be sent to the recipient (step 602), creating a watermarked document by combining an image of the received document with one or more copies of the watermark, the number of copies being sufficient to fill the area of the image (step 604), and displaying the watermarked document to the user (step 606); and Figure 6: flow chart illustrating the process of watermarking a document to be displayed for a specific document recipient); displaying, by the processor (Kofod – Paragraph [0031]: In one exemplary implementation, the subject matter described herein may be implemented using a computer readable medium having stored thereon executable instructions that when executed by the processor of a computer control the computer to perform steps), the fetched visual noise along with the digital content on the digital device (Kofod – Paragraph [0107]: In one embodiment, combining the received content and the watermark includes embedding the watermarking information within a document that is to be sent to the intended recipient and that is viewable by a display module that displays the document overlaid with copies of a watermark generated from the watermarking information. In one embodiment, sending the watermarked document to the intended recipient includes sending the watermarked document to a remote user, and displaying the watermarked content includes displaying the watermarked document to the intended recipient via a display module) to deter leakage of information from the displayed digital content by the external camera (Kofod – Paragraph [0094]: The presence of the watermark across the entirety of the content means that, should the content be misappropriated by screen shot, by taking a picture of the screen with a separate camera, etc., the image so acquired will contain enough information encoded within the watermark to identify the source of the information and perhaps identify the individual who misappropriated the content).
Kofod does not expressly teach:
each of the plurality of visual noises is one of a group comprising at least (i) a first type of visual noise for modification of editable digital content and (ii) a second type of noise for modification of non-editable digital content;
identifying, by the processor, a classification type of the digital content displayed on the digital device; and
when the classification type of the digital content is one of pre-defined types:
parsing, by the processor, the digital content or metadata associated with the digital content;
determining, by the processor, based on the parsing of the digital content or the associated metadata, a set of access permissions that indicate whether the displayed digital content is editable or non-editable;
obtaining, by the processor, information of a user, of the plurality of users, associated with the digital device from the enterprise database;
… and the determined set of access permissions, wherein the fetched visual noise corresponds to the first type of visual noise when the displayed digital content is editable, and wherein the fetched visual noise corresponds to the second type of visual noise when the displayed digital content is non-editable;
wherein the displaying comprises: when the determined set of access permissions indicates that the digital content is editable, modifying, by the processor, at least one character in a displayed portion of the digital content; or
when the determined set of access permissions indicates that the digital content is non- editable, overlaying, by the processor, the visual noise on a displayed portion of the digital content.
However, Queen teaches identifying, by the processor, a classification type of the digital content displayed on the digital device (Queen – Paragraph [0003]: The program instructions are executable by a processing unit to authenticate a plurality of users requesting access to a media object, wherein the media object includes a plurality of media sub-elements, each media sub-element delimiting specific content of the media object. The program instructions are further executable by the processing unit to identify, for each of the plurality of sub-elements, a classification level associated with the media sub-element and to obtain, for each of the plurality of authenticated users, a security clearance); and when the classification type of the digital content is one of pre-defined types (Queen – Paragraph [0020]: the sub-elements may include different types of media and different amounts of media. It is up to the media presenter or other authorized users participating in the collaboration to define the scope of each sub-element, and associate a classification level with each sub-element. Optionally, a sub-element may default to a particular classification level, such a lowest classification level that is accessible to all authorized users. However, a user that is entering information or data into a sub-element of the media object may associate a higher classification level with the sub-element, such that only those authorized users having a suitable security clearance will be granted access to the sub-element): parsing, by the processor, the digital content or metadata associated with the digital content (Queen – Paragraph [0035]: The media object 52 displayed by the graphical user interface 50 includes a plurality of sub-elements, such as the “Title/Header” 53, “Image 1” 54, “Hyperlink 2” 55, “Text 3” 56, “Audio 3A” 57, “Image 2A” 58, and the other sub-elements shown. The media object 52 may be displayed including various content and applying various formatting and configuration parameters input by the authorized users; and Paragraph [0036]: The metadata 60 is shown for certain of the sub-elements of the media object 52. The sub-element “Title/Header” 53 is associated with metadata 63, which identifies the media type or content as being a “Title”, the source as being “User A”, the classification level as being “Level 5” on a scale of 0 (low) to 9 (high), and the redaction type as being “Replace with TITLE”); determining, by the processor, based on the parsing of the digital content or the associated metadata, a set of access permissions that indicate whether the displayed digital content is editable or non-editable (Queen – Paragraph [0017]: In one embodiment, the role assigned to each of the plurality of users is independently selected from: a first role allowing the user to view, comment on, and edit sub-elements of the media object except for sub-elements that are subject to redaction for the user; a second role allowing the user to view and comment on, but not edit, sub-elements of the media object except for sub-elements that are subject to redaction for the user; and a third role allowing the user to view, but not comment on or edit, sub-elements of the media object except for sub-elements that are subject to redaction for the user. Any number of roles may be created with different allowed capabilities within the collaboration session or relative to the media object); obtaining, by the processor (Queen – Paragraph [0005]: another embodiment provides an apparatus comprising at least one storage device for storing processor-executable program instructions and a processing unit including at least one processor for executing the program instructions), information of a user, of the plurality of users, associated with the digital device from the enterprise database (Queen – Paragraph [0022]: Embodiments of the electronic media collaboration application may access a user list or database that, for each of a plurality of individual users, includes a user identification and a security clearance level associated with each user identification; and Paragraph [0036]: the media collaboration management application will generate output to the client computer of an authorized user); fetching, by the processor (Queen – Paragraph [0005]: another embodiment provides an apparatus comprising at least one storage device for storing processor-executable program instructions and a processing unit including at least one processor for executing the program instructions), …., a visual noise to be displayed on the digital device … based on the obtained information of the user and the determined set of access permissions (Queen – Paragraph [0036]: The sub-element “Title/Header” 53 is associated with metadata 63, which identifies the media type or content as being a “Title”, the source as being “User A”, the classification level as being “Level 5” on a scale of 0 (low) to 9 (high), and the redaction type as being “Replace with TITLE”. According, the media collaboration management application will generate output to the client computer of an authorized user that includes that actual title of the media object if the authorized user has a security clearance that is 5 or greater and will redact the actual title in favor of the generic text “TITLE” if the authorized user has a security clearance that is less than 5; Examiner’s Comment: The teaching from Queen demonstrates a stored plurality of visual noises to be selectively displayed based on the permission level of a user to whom content is being displayed, enhancing the claimed user-unique watermarks as visual noise).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Kofod, further incorporating Queen to arrive at the conclusion of the claimed invention. One would be motivated to incorporate Queen’s teachings to retrieve visual noise to be display on an identified type of content according to user information into Kofod’s method for preventing data leakage through image capture with an external camera. This combination would result in a system tailoring content protection to each individual user and document, and would also allow any leaked images to be traceable to specific users.
The combination of Kofod and Queen does not expressly teach each of the plurality of visual noises is one of a group comprising at least (i) a first type of visual noise for modification of editable digital content and (ii) a second type of noise for modification of non-editable digital content;
… based on the obtained information of the user and the determined set of access permissions, wherein the fetched visual noise corresponds to the first type of visual noise when the displayed digital content is editable, and wherein the fetched visual noise corresponds to the second type of visual noise when the displayed digital content is non-editable;
wherein the displaying comprises: when the determined set of access permissions indicates that the digital content is editable, modifying, by the processor, at least one character in a displayed portion of the digital content; or
when the determined set of access permissions indicates that the digital content is non- editable, overlaying, by the processor, the visual noise on a displayed portion of the digital content.
However, Choi teaches each of the plurality of visual noises is one of a group comprising at least (i) a first type of visual noise for modification of editable digital content and (ii) a second type of noise for modification of non-editable digital content (Choi – Paragraph [0194]: The text watermark elaborated in the following sessions can be embedded into the file-format converted document to identify where the document was delivered to, using user ID information, IP information, device information or a delivery date, etc. Because this text watermarking is embedded into text document repeatedly, it is very hard to embed information mistakenly and then interpreted wrongly. However, in order to confirm the hidden information or in order to reveal user information or device information when a portion, specifically image portion is photo-taken or leaked out, the image watermarking might be very useful tool. That is why the text watermark and the image watermark are called ‘1.sup.st watermark’. Then, the 2.sup.nd watermark, frequently in the forms of user name, or company logo which embeds various information including a user ID, a device ID, or other information may be added to the 1.sup.st watermarked document for displaying on the user screen (screen mark) or for printing document (printing mark). In the embodiment of the present invention, the 2.sup.nd watermark is sometimes called ‘logo’ watermark which can hide various information into a symbol, the printed name, or the company logo; Paragraph [0195]: Even if most original documents should be file-format converted into the target file format in order to embed the 1st watermark and the 2nd watermark, there may be an exceptional case. The printing mark may be embedded visibly or invisibly into original documents edited in MS Office. Even if the screened document/data and the printed document/data are exactly the same from the view of system level, most editing tools, including MS Office, allow users to take control printing process in which tracing information can be embedded. In other words, the original document/data may go through overlaying process in printing stage where various information is embedded into the printed logos, symbols, names, or others to identify who leaked out the printed document. As in the case described in FIG. 4A to FIG. 4C, a legitimate user can print delivered document and scan it before uploading to P2P site. In this case, if the document has watermarked logo or symbols in printed paper, the user who leaked out the document can be easily identified; and Paragraph [0209]: The issue related to whether the authored document/data can be distributed in the original file format, is related to possible ‘data forgery’ issue when users are allowed to edit the document or data. Because the text watermark relies completely on embedding invisible information into the text data in document or data sheet, if a user is allowed to edit the document or data, text watermark can be useless … image watermarking can be used as a supplementary measure. Even if the text document or datasheet can be edited, that is, easily forged, invisible information embedded into graphic data and image included in a logo, a diagram, or a presentation image of the document, the data sheet cannot be easily deleted or forged without knowledge of signal processing); based on the obtained information of the user and the determined set of access permissions (Choi – Paragraph [0179]: In FIG. 11B, it is shown that there are various access rights controlled by the content sharing tool, eventually a part of the DRM system: edit, save, copy, watermark, capture, allowed ‘print’ x times, allowed ‘open’ x times, allowed keep the content x days, allowed transfer to individual users, allowed transfer to department, allowed transfer to company, and then ‘save’ as y file name; and Paragraph [0055]: The watermark variable may be obtained from a database within a DRM server by searching for data associated with a user; and Paragraph [0208]: The best policy in this situation might be employment of some document file format with very strict rule, allowing only the limited access, such as ‘read x times’, ‘no print’, ‘not transfer to third party’, ‘not edit’, or ‘no copy and paste’; and Paragraph [0209]: The issue related to whether the authored document/data can be distributed in the original file format, is related to possible ‘data forgery’ issue when users are allowed to edit the document or data), wherein the fetched visual noise corresponds to the first type of visual noise when the displayed digital content is editable, and wherein the fetched visual noise corresponds to the second type of visual noise when the displayed digital content is non-editable (Choi – Paragraph [0194]: The text watermark elaborated in the following sessions can be embedded into the file-format converted document to identify where the document was delivered to, using user ID information, IP information, device information or a delivery date, etc. Because this text watermarking is embedded into text document repeatedly, it is very hard to embed information mistakenly and then interpreted wrongly. However, in order to confirm the hidden information or in order to reveal user information or device information when a portion, specifically image portion is photo-taken or leaked out, the image watermarking might be very useful tool. That is why the text watermark and the image watermark are called ‘1.sup.st watermark’. Then, the 2.sup.nd watermark, frequently in the forms of user name, or company logo which embeds various information including a user ID, a device ID, or other information may be added to the 1.sup.st watermarked document for displaying on the user screen (screen mark) or for printing document (printing mark). In the embodiment of the present invention, the 2.sup.nd watermark is sometimes called ‘logo’ watermark which can hide various information into a symbol, the printed name, or the company logo; Paragraph [0195]: Even if most original documents should be file-format converted into the target file format in order to embed the 1st watermark and the 2nd watermark, there may be an exceptional case. The printing mark may be embedded visibly or invisibly into original documents edited in MS Office. Even if the screened document/data and the printed document/data are exactly the same from the view of system level, most editing tools, including MS Office, allow users to take control printing process in which tracing information can be embedded. In other words, the original document/data may go through overlaying process in printing stage where various information is embedded into the printed logos, symbols, names, or others to identify who leaked out the printed document. As in the case described in FIG. 4A to FIG. 4C, a legitimate user can print delivered document and scan it before uploading to P2P site. In this case, if the document has watermarked logo or symbols in printed paper, the user who leaked out the document can be easily identified; and Paragraph [0208]: The best policy in this situation might be employment of some document file format with very strict rule, allowing only the limited access, such as ‘read x times’, ‘no print’, ‘not transfer to third party’, ‘not edit’, or ‘no copy and paste’. In another case of public service, a local government tries to open very sensitive information, a district rebuilding and a renovation plan with invitation of a public opinion and a interested group, to the public with restriction of opening to very limited group of people. The people involved in this plan can download document, print, and read all opinions of others, but cannot distribute document/data to others. In this situation, text watermarking with viewer is an excellent distribution tool; and Paragraph [0209]: The issue related to whether the authored document/data can be distributed in the original file format, is related to possible ‘data forgery’ issue when users are allowed to edit the document or data. Because the text watermark relies completely on embedding invisible information into the text data in document or data sheet, if a user is allowed to edit the document or data, text watermark can be useless … image watermarking can be used as a supplementary measure. Even if the text document or datasheet can be edited, that is, easily forged, invisible information embedded into graphic data and image included in a logo, a diagram, or a presentation image of the document, the data sheet cannot be easily deleted or forged without knowledge of signal processing); [wherein the displaying comprises:] when the determined set of access permissions indicates that the digital content is editable (Choi – Paragraph [0179]: In FIG. 11B, it is shown that there are various access rights controlled by the content sharing tool, eventually a part of the DRM system: edit, save, copy, watermark, capture, allowed ‘print’ x times, allowed ‘open’ x times, allowed keep the content x days, allowed transfer to individual users, allowed transfer to department, allowed transfer to company, and then ‘save’ as y file name; and Paragraph [0209]: The issue related to whether the authored document/data can be distributed in the original file format, is related to possible ‘data forgery’ issue when users are allowed to edit the document or data), modifying, by the processor, at least one character in [a displayed portion of] the digital content (Choi – Paragraph [0140]: The trace module 815 of the DRM agent 810 may trace or prevent illegitimate content leakage by embedding visible or invisible security information into logo, image, symbols which are printed in the background of papers, by displaying security information on user device by overlapping security information layer with content layer, by creating text watermark through adjusting inter-character distance and modifying font size and type to represent user's information; and Paragraph [0209]: The issue related to whether the authored document/data can be distributed in the original file format, is related to possible ‘data forgery’ issue when users are allowed to edit the document or data. Because the text watermark relies completely on embedding invisible information into the text data in document or data sheet, if a user is allowed to edit the document or data, text watermark can be useless … image watermarking can be used as a supplementary measure. Even if the text document or datasheet can be edited, that is, easily forged, invisible information embedded into graphic data and image included in a logo, a diagram, or a presentation image of the document, the data sheet cannot be easily deleted or forged without knowledge of signal processing); or when the determined set of access permissions indicates that the digital content is non-editable (Choi – Paragraph [0179]: In FIG. 11B, it is shown that there are various access rights controlled by the content sharing tool, eventually a part of the DRM system: edit, save, copy, watermark, capture, allowed ‘print’ x times, allowed ‘open’ x times, allowed keep the content x days, allowed transfer to individual users, allowed transfer to department, allowed transfer to company, and then ‘save’ as y file name; and Paragraph [0208]: The best policy in this situation might be employment of some document file format with very strict rule, allowing only the limited access, such as ‘read x times’, ‘no print’, ‘not transfer to third party’, ‘not edit’, or ‘no copy and paste’), overlaying, by the processor, the visual noise on [a displayed portion of] the digital content (Choi – Paragraph [0140]: The trace module 815 of the DRM agent 810 may trace or prevent illegitimate content leakage by embedding visible or invisible security information into logo, image, symbols which are printed in the background of papers, by displaying security information on user device by overlapping security information layer with content layer, by creating text watermark through adjusting inter-character distance and modifying font size and type to represent user's information; Paragraph [0208]: The best policy in this situation might be employment of some document file format with very strict rule, allowing only the limited access, such as ‘read x times’, ‘no print’, ‘not transfer to third party’, ‘not edit’, or ‘no copy and paste’. In another case of public service, a local government tries to open very sensitive information, a district rebuilding and a renovation plan with invitation of a public opinion and a interested group, to the public with restriction of opening to very limited group of people. The people involved in this plan can download document, print, and read all opinions of others, but cannot distribute document/data to others. In this situation, text watermarking with viewer is an excellent distribution tool).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Kofod and Queen, further incorporating Choi to arrive at the conclusion of the claimed invention. One would be motivated to incorporate Choi’s teachings to establish user access rights, including editing content, and incorporate them in watermarking the document according to the access rights of the user into Kofod and Queen’s combined method for preventing data leakage through image capture with an external camera. This combined functionality would allow a system to employ different watermarking techniques for different file types and/or according to different levels of user access rights.
The combination of Kofod, Queen, and Choi does not expressly teach wherein the displaying comprises: … modifying, by the processor, at least one character in a displayed portion of the digital content … or … overlaying, by the processor, the visual noise on a displayed portion of the digital content.
However, Hadden teaches wherein the displaying comprises: … modifying, by the processor, at least one character in a displayed portion of the digital content … or … overlaying, by the processor, the visual noise on a displayed portion of the digital content (Hadden – Col. 2, Line 35-43: a technique is provided for rendering a watermark for content displayed on a display screen. The method comprises rendering the content via a window on the display, and rendering one or more watermarks via a transparent window that overlays at least a portion of the content window on the display. In another embodiment, a technique for rendering watermarks includes using function hooking to intercept one or more function calls to render content, and rendering a watermark with the content; and Col. 17, Line 66-67 and Col. 18, Line 1-8: One embodiment is directed to a technique for rendering a watermark via a transparent window on a display that overlays at least a portion of a window of the display wherein the content is rendered. The transparent window may be displayed over at least a portion of the application content window so that the user may perceive the watermark as being associated with the content unit. The process controlling the rendering of the watermark may ensure that whenever the content is rendered to a display, a transparent window with one or more watermarks is applied with the content).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Kofod, Queen, and Choi, further incorporating Hadden to arrive at the conclusion of the claimed invention. One would be motivated to incorporate Hadden’s teachings to dynamically display a watermark simultaneously during the displaying of digital content into Kofod, Queen, and Choi’s combined method for preventing data leakage through image capture with an external camera. This additional capability would enhance the method by enabling the watermark to persist through user interactions with the digital content while avoiding the need to modify the digital content itself in the process of displaying the watermark.
Regarding Claim 2:
The combination of Kofod, Queen, Choi, and Hadden teaches the method of claim 1.
Kofod further teaches wherein each of the plurality of visual noises is generated using a data pattern based on information of a corresponding user and one or more pre-defined rules for the corresponding user (Kofod – Paragraph [0101]: In the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 5, system 500 is used to produce a document that needs watermarking that is unique to each audience member or “recipient”. In one embodiment, content creator 504 lists each authorized recipient by name, email address, and/or other identifier. In one embodiment, watermark generator 502 assigns a recipient identifier number (RIN) to each audience member. Watermark generator 502 generates a unique signature for the document and posts the document signature, along with each recipient's name, email address and RIN to database 510 (data transfer 516). Watermark generator 502 embeds the document's signature and/or each recipient's RIN in the document as secure metadata, using a cryptographically assured mechanism. Other information may also be embedded into the document in this manner. A single watermarked document may include signatures, RINs, or other information for one recipient or for multiple recipients).
Queen additionally teaches wherein each of the plurality of visual noises is generated using a data pattern based on information of a corresponding user and one or more pre-defined rules for the corresponding user (Queen – Paragraph [0036]: The sub-element “Title/Header” 53 is associated with metadata 63, which identifies the media type or content as being a “Title”, the source as being “User A”, the classification level as being “Level 5” on a scale of 0 (low) to 9 (high), and the redaction type as being “Replace with TITLE”. According, the media collaboration management application will generate output to the client computer of an authorized user that includes that actual title of the media object if the authorized user has a security clearance that is 5 or greater and will redact the actual title in favor of the generic text “TITLE” if the authorized user has a security clearance that is less than 5; and Figure 3: illustration of a system in which content is selectively presented to users based on user information).
The motivation to combine the arts is the same as that of Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 3:
The combination of Kofod, Queen, Choi, and Hadden teaches the method of claim 1.
Choi further teaches wherein the modification of the at least one character comprises at least one of (i) modification of a font size of the at least one character, (ii) modification of a character style of the at least one character, (iii) modification of a character type of the at least one character, or (iv) modification of a color of pixels in the digital content, based on the fetched visual noise (Choi – Paragraph [0140]: The trace module 815 of the DRM agent 810 may trace or prevent illegitimate content leakage by embedding visible or invisible security information into logo, image, symbols which are printed in the background of papers, by displaying security information on user device by overlapping security information layer with content layer, by creating text watermark through adjusting inter-character distance and modifying font size and type to represent user's information).
The motivation to combine the arts is the same as that of Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 4:
The combination of Kofod, Queen, Choi, and Hadden teaches the method of claim 1.
Kofod further teaches wherein the digital content comprises at least one or a combination of an image or a text document (Kofod – Paragraph [0108]: It should be noted that here, the term “document” is not intended to be limited to text files, word processor files, and the like, but also contemplates images, pictures, videos, movies, audio files, collections of data, application files, computer files of any type, and also data which may not be in file format, such as streaming data, raw data, databases, portions of data storage, etc).
The motivation to combine the arts is the same as that of Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 5:
The combination of Kofod, Queen, Choi, and Hadden teaches the method of claim 1.
Queen further teaches wherein the visual noise is at least one or a combination of alphanumeric characters, special characters, or a graphical content (Queen – Paragraph [0036]: The sub-element “Title/Header” 53 is associated with metadata 63, which identifies the media type or content as being a “Title”, the source as being “User A”, the classification level as being “Level 5” on a scale of 0 (low) to 9 (high), and the redaction type as being “Replace with TITLE”. According, the media collaboration management application will generate output to the client computer of an authorized user that includes that actual title of the media object if the authorized user has a security clearance that is 5 or greater and will redact the actual title in favor of the generic text “TITLE” if the authorized user has a security clearance that is less than 5).
The motivation to combine the arts is the same as that of Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 6:
Kofod teaches A system for deterring data leakage through photographing of a display screen by an external camera, comprising (Kofod – Paragraph [0094]: The presence of the watermark across the entirety of the content means that, should the content be misappropriated by screen shot, by taking a picture of the screen with a separate camera, etc., the image so acquired will contain enough information encoded within the watermark to identify the source of the information and perhaps identify the individual who misappropriated the content): a processor (Kofod – Paragraph [0031]: In one exemplary implementation, the subject matter described herein may be implemented using a computer readable medium having stored thereon executable instructions that when executed by the processor of a computer control the computer to perform steps); a digital device (Kofod – Paragraph [0119]: Unless specifically stated otherwise as apparent from the following discussion, it is appreciated that throughout the description, discussions utilizing terms such as “processing” or “computing” or “calculating” or “determining” or “displaying” or the like, refer to the action and processes of a computer system, or similar electronic computing device); a memory unit operatively coupled to the processor, having instructions stored thereon wherein the processor based on execution of the stored instructions is configured to (Kofod – Paragraph [0031]: In one exemplary implementation, the subject matter described herein may be implemented using a computer readable medium having stored thereon executable instructions that when executed by the processor of a computer control the computer to perform steps): store, in an enterprise database, a plurality of visual noises for modification of digital content (Kofod – Paragraph [0098]: In one embodiment, a database 510 may be used to store the generated watermarks, information that is encoded into the generated watermarks, or both), wherein: each of the plurality of visual noises corresponds to a single user of a plurality of users (Kofod – Paragraph [0083]: Use Case—Unique User Watermarking; and Paragraph [0084]: Any application that produces a document that can be shared and read, either via the original application or a dedicated document reader (e.g., Adobe Acrobat Reader) can implement unique user watermarking), each of the plurality of visual noises is unique with respect to other visual noises of the plurality of visual noises (Kofod – Paragraph [0099]: in the example illustrated in FIG. 5, the set of watermarked documents 506 may be different documents, each with different content tailored for its specific audience and each having a unique watermark, or they may be copies of the same document, each with the same content but each having a unique watermark, or variations of the above); detect digital content when displayed on the digital device (Kofod – Paragraph [0087]: system 300 includes a first hardware module, watermark generator 302, for generating a watermark that encodes information as a set of visual elements. In the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 3, watermark generator 302 interacts with a second module, web server 304, for receiving content to be displayed to a user and creating watermarked content by combining an image of the received content with at least one copy of the watermark sufficient to fill the area of the image); fetch a visual noise, from the stored plurality of visual noises (Kofod – Paragraph [0098]: In one embodiment, a database 510 may be used to store the generated watermarks, information that is encoded into the generated watermarks, or both) to be displayed on the digital device from the enterprise database (Kofod – Paragraph [0098]: In one embodiment, a database 510 may be used to store the generated watermarks, information that is encoded into the generated watermarks, or both) based on the obtained information of the user (Kofod – Paragraph [0106]: the encoded information identifies an intended recipient. The process includes receiving a document that is to be sent to the recipient (step 602), creating a watermarked document by combining an image of the received document with one or more copies of the watermark, the number of copies being sufficient to fill the area of the image (step 604), and displaying the watermarked document to the user (step 606); and Figure 6: flow chart illustrating the process of watermarking a document to be displayed for a specific document recipient); display the fetched visual noise along with the digital content on the digital device (Kofod – Paragraph [0107]: In one embodiment, combining the received content and the watermark includes embedding the watermarking information within a document that is to be sent to the intended recipient and that is viewable by a display module that displays the document overlaid with copies of a watermark generated from the watermarking information. In one embodiment, sending the watermarked document to the intended recipient includes sending the watermarked document to a remote user, and displaying the watermarked content includes displaying the watermarked document to the intended recipient via a display module) to deter leakage of information from the displayed digital content by the external camera (Kofod – Paragraph [0094]: The presence of the watermark across the entirety of the content means that, should the content be misappropriated by screen shot, by taking a picture of the screen with a separate camera, etc., the image so acquired will contain enough information encoded within the watermark to identify the source of the information and perhaps identify the individual who misappropriated the content).
Kofod does not expressly teach identify classification type of the digital content displayed on the digital device; and when the classification type of the digital content is one of pre-defined types: parse the digital content or metadata associated with the digital content; determine, based on the parsing of the digital content or the associated metadata, a set of access permissions that indicate whether the displayed digital content is editable or non-editable; obtain information of a user, of the plurality of users, associated with the digital device from the enterprise database.
However, Queen teaches identify classification type of the digital content displayed on the digital device (Queen – Paragraph [0003]: The program instructions are executable by a processing unit to authenticate a plurality of users requesting access to a media object, wherein the media object includes a plurality of media sub-elements, each media sub-element delimiting specific content of the media object. The program instructions are further executable by the processing unit to identify, for each of the plurality of sub-elements, a classification level associated with the media sub-element and to obtain, for each of the plurality of authenticated users, a security clearance); and when the classification type of the digital content is one of pre-defined types (Queen – Paragraph [0020]: the sub-elements may include different types of media and different amounts of media. It is up to the media presenter or other authorized users participating in the collaboration to define the scope of each sub-element, and associate a classification level with each sub-element. Optionally, a sub-element may default to a particular classification level, such a lowest classification level that is accessible to all authorized users. However, a user that is entering information or data into a sub-element of the media object may associate a higher classification level with the sub-element, such that only those authorized users having a suitable security clearance will be granted access to the sub-element): parse the digital content or metadata associated with the digital content, (Queen – Paragraph [0035]: The media object 52 displayed by the graphical user interface 50 includes a plurality of sub-elements, such as the “Title/Header” 53, “Image 1” 54, “Hyperlink 2” 55, “Text 3” 56, “Audio 3A” 57, “Image 2A” 58, and the other sub-elements shown. The media object 52 may be displayed including various content and applying various formatting and configuration parameters input by the authorized users; and Paragraph [0036]: The metadata 60 is shown for certain of the sub-elements of the media object 52. The sub-element “Title/Header” 53 is associated with metadata 63, which identifies the media type or content as being a “Title”, the source as being “User A”, the classification level as being “Level 5” on a scale of 0 (low) to 9 (high), and the redaction type as being “Replace with TITLE”); determine, based on the parsing of the digital content or the associated metadata, a set of access permissions that indicate whether the displayed digital content is editable or non-editable (Queen – Paragraph [0017]: In one embodiment, the role assigned to each of the plurality of users is independently selected from: a first role allowing the user to view, comment on, and edit sub-elements of the media object except for sub-elements that are subject to redaction for the user; a second role allowing the user to view and comment on, but not edit, sub-elements of the media object except for sub-elements that are subject to redaction for the user; and a third role allowing the user to view, but not comment on or edit, sub-elements of the media object except for sub-elements that are subject to redaction for the user. Any number of roles may be created with different allowed capabilities within the collaboration session or relative to the media object) obtain information of a user, of the plurality of users, associated with the digital device from the enterprise database (Queen – Paragraph [0022]: Embodiments of the electronic media collaboration application may access a user list or database that, for each of a plurality of individual users, includes a user identification and a security clearance level associated with each user identification; and Paragraph [0036]: the media collaboration management application will generate output to the client computer of an authorized user);
Queen further teaches fetch …. a visual noise to be displayed on the digital device … based on the obtained information of the user and the determined set of access permissions (Queen – Paragraph [0036]: The sub-element “Title/Header” 53 is associated with metadata 63, which identifies the media type or content as being a “Title”, the source as being “User A”, the classification level as being “Level 5” on a scale of 0 (low) to 9 (high), and the redaction type as being “Replace with TITLE”. According, the media collaboration management application will generate output to the client computer of an authorized user that includes that actual title of the media object if the authorized user has a security clearance that is 5 or greater and will redact the actual title in favor of the generic text “TITLE” if the authorized user has a security clearance that is less than 5; Examiner’s Comment: The teaching from Queen demonstrates a stored plurality of visual noises to be selectively displayed based on the permission level of a user to whom content is being displayed, enhancing the claimed user-unique watermarks as visual noise).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Kofod, further incorporating Queen to arrive at the conclusion of the claimed invention. One would be motivated to incorporate Queen’s teachings to retrieve visual noise to be display on an identified type of content according to user information into Kofod’s method for preventing data leakage through image capture with an external camera. This combination would result in a system tailoring content protection to each individual user and document, and would also allow any leaked images to be traceable to specific users.
The combination of Kofod and Queen does not expressly teach and each of the plurality of visual noises is one of a group comprising at least (i) a first type of visual noise for modification of editable digital content and (ii) a second type of noise for modification of non-editable digital content; based on the obtained information of the user and the determined set of access permissions, wherein the fetched visual noise corresponds to the first type of visual noise when the displayed digital content is editable, and wherein the fetched visual noise corresponds to the second type of visual noise when the displayed digital content is non-editable; wherein the displaying comprises: when the determined set of access permissions indicates that the digital content is editable: modify at least one character in a displayed portion of the digital content, or when the determined set of access permissions indicates that the digital content is non-editable: overlay the visual noise-on a displayed portion of the digital content.
However, Choi teaches and each of the plurality of visual noises is one of a group comprising at least (i) a first type of visual noise for modification of editable digital content and (ii) a second type of noise for modification of non-editable digital content (Choi – Paragraph [0194]: The text watermark elaborated in the following sessions can be embedded into the file-format converted document to identify where the document was delivered to, using user ID information, IP information, device information or a delivery date, etc. Because this text watermarking is embedded into text document repeatedly, it is very hard to embed information mistakenly and then interpreted wrongly. However, in order to confirm the hidden information or in order to reveal user information or device information when a portion, specifically image portion is photo-taken or leaked out, the image watermarking might be very useful tool. That is why the text watermark and the image watermark are called ‘1.sup.st watermark’. Then, the 2.sup.nd watermark, frequently in the forms of user name, or company logo which embeds various information including a user ID, a device ID, or other information may be added to the 1.sup.st watermarked document for displaying on the user screen (screen mark) or for printing document (printing mark). In the embodiment of the present invention, the 2.sup.nd watermark is sometimes called ‘logo’ watermark which can hide various information into a symbol, the printed name, or the company logo; Paragraph [0195]: Even if most original documents should be file-format converted into the target file format in order to embed the 1st watermark and the 2nd watermark, there may be an exceptional case. The printing mark may be embedded visibly or invisibly into original documents edited in MS Office. Even if the screened document/data and the printed document/data are exactly the same from the view of system level, most editing tools, including MS Office, allow users to take control printing process in which tracing information can be embedded. In other words, the original document/data may go through overlaying process in printing stage where various information is embedded into the printed logos, symbols, names, or others to identify who leaked out the printed document. As in the case described in FIG. 4A to FIG. 4C, a legitimate user can print delivered document and scan it before uploading to P2P site. In this case, if the document has watermarked logo or symbols in printed paper, the user who leaked out the document can be easily identified; and Paragraph [0209]: The issue related to whether the authored document/data can be distributed in the original file format, is related to possible ‘data forgery’ issue when users are allowed to edit the document or data. Because the text watermark relies completely on embedding invisible information into the text data in document or data sheet, if a user is allowed to edit the document or data, text watermark can be useless … image watermarking can be used as a supplementary measure. Even if the text document or datasheet can be edited, that is, easily forged, invisible information embedded into graphic data and image included in a logo, a diagram, or a presentation image of the document, the data sheet cannot be easily deleted or forged without knowledge of signal processing); based on the obtained information of the user and the determined set of access permissions (Choi – Paragraph [0179]: In FIG. 11B, it is shown that there are various access rights controlled by the content sharing tool, eventually a part of the DRM system: edit, save, copy, watermark, capture, allowed ‘print’ x times, allowed ‘open’ x times, allowed keep the content x days, allowed transfer to individual users, allowed transfer to department, allowed transfer to company, and then ‘save’ as y file name; and Paragraph [0055]: The watermark variable may be obtained from a database within a DRM server by searching for data associated with a user; and Paragraph [0208]: The best policy in this situation might be employment of some document file format with very strict rule, allowing only the limited access, such as ‘read x times’, ‘no print’, ‘not transfer to third party’, ‘not edit’, or ‘no copy and paste’; and Paragraph [0209]: The issue related to whether the authored document/data can be distributed in the original file format, is related to possible ‘data forgery’ issue when users are allowed to edit the document or data), wherein the fetched visual noise corresponds to the first type of visual noise when the displayed digital content is editable, and wherein the fetched visual noise corresponds to the second type of visual noise when the displayed digital content is non-editable (Choi – Paragraph [0194]: The text watermark elaborated in the following sessions can be embedded into the file-format converted document to identify where the document was delivered to, using user ID information, IP information, device information or a delivery date, etc. Because this text watermarking is embedded into text document repeatedly, it is very hard to embed information mistakenly and then interpreted wrongly. However, in order to confirm the hidden information or in order to reveal user information or device information when a portion, specifically image portion is photo-taken or leaked out, the image watermarking might be very useful tool. That is why the text watermark and the image watermark are called ‘1.sup.st watermark’. Then, the 2.sup.nd watermark, frequently in the forms of user name, or company logo which embeds various information including a user ID, a device ID, or other information may be added to the 1.sup.st watermarked document for displaying on the user screen (screen mark) or for printing document (printing mark). In the embodiment of the present invention, the 2.sup.nd watermark is sometimes called ‘logo’ watermark which can hide various information into a symbol, the printed name, or the company logo; Paragraph [0195]: Even if most original documents should be file-format converted into the target file format in order to embed the 1st watermark and the 2nd watermark, there may be an exceptional case. The printing mark may be embedded visibly or invisibly into original documents edited in MS Office. Even if the screened document/data and the printed document/data are exactly the same from the view of system level, most editing tools, including MS Office, allow users to take control printing process in which tracing information can be embedded. In other words, the original document/data may go through overlaying process in printing stage where various information is embedded into the printed logos, symbols, names, or others to identify who leaked out the printed document. As in the case described in FIG. 4A to FIG. 4C, a legitimate user can print delivered document and scan it before uploading to P2P site. In this case, if the document has watermarked logo or symbols in printed paper, the user who leaked out the document can be easily identified; and Paragraph [0208]: The best policy in this situation might be employment of some document file format with very strict rule, allowing only the limited access, such as ‘read x times’, ‘no print’, ‘not transfer to third party’, ‘not edit’, or ‘no copy and paste’. In another case of public service, a local government tries to open very sensitive information, a district rebuilding and a renovation plan with invitation of a public opinion and a interested group, to the public with restriction of opening to very limited group of people. The people involved in this plan can download document, print, and read all opinions of others, but cannot distribute document/data to others. In this situation, text watermarking with viewer is an excellent distribution tool; and Paragraph [0209]: The issue related to whether the authored document/data can be distributed in the original file format, is related to possible ‘data forgery’ issue when users are allowed to edit the document or data. Because the text watermark relies completely on embedding invisible information into the text data in document or data sheet, if a user is allowed to edit the document or data, text watermark can be useless … image watermarking can be used as a supplementary measure. Even if the text document or datasheet can be edited, that is, easily forged, invisible information embedded into graphic data and image included in a logo, a diagram, or a presentation image of the document, the data sheet cannot be easily deleted or forged without knowledge of signal processing); [wherein the displaying comprises:] when the determined set of access permissions indicates that the digital content is editable (Choi – Paragraph [0179]: In FIG. 11B, it is shown that there are various access rights controlled by the content sharing tool, eventually a part of the DRM system: edit, save, copy, watermark, capture, allowed ‘print’ x times, allowed ‘open’ x times, allowed keep the content x days, allowed transfer to individual users, allowed transfer to department, allowed transfer to company, and then ‘save’ as y file name; and Paragraph [0209]: The issue related to whether the authored document/data can be distributed in the original file format, is related to possible ‘data forgery’ issue when users are allowed to edit the document or data), modify at least one character in [a displayed portion of] the digital content (Choi – Paragraph [0140]: The trace module 815 of the DRM agent 810 may trace or prevent illegitimate content leakage by embedding visible or invisible security information into logo, image, symbols which are printed in the background of papers, by displaying security information on user device by overlapping security information layer with content layer, by creating text watermark through adjusting inter-character distance and modifying font size and type to represent user's information; and Paragraph [0209]: The issue related to whether the authored document/data can be distributed in the original file format, is related to possible ‘data forgery’ issue when users are allowed to edit the document or data. Because the text watermark relies completely on embedding invisible information into the text data in document or data sheet, if a user is allowed to edit the document or data, text watermark can be useless … image watermarking can be used as a supplementary measure. Even if the text document or datasheet can be edited, that is, easily forged, invisible information embedded into graphic data and image included in a logo, a diagram, or a presentation image of the document, the data sheet cannot be easily deleted or forged without knowledge of signal processing); and when the determined set of access permissions indicates that the digital content is non-editable (Choi – Paragraph [0179]: In FIG. 11B, it is shown that there are various access rights controlled by the content sharing tool, eventually a part of the DRM system: edit, save, copy, watermark, capture, allowed ‘print’ x times, allowed ‘open’ x times, allowed keep the content x days, allowed transfer to individual users, allowed transfer to department, allowed transfer to company, and then ‘save’ as y file name; and Paragraph [0208]: The best policy in this situation might be employment of some document file format with very strict rule, allowing only the limited access, such as ‘read x times’, ‘no print’, ‘not transfer to third party’, ‘not edit’, or ‘no copy and paste’), overlay the visual noise on [a displayed portion of] the digital content (Choi – Paragraph [0140]: The trace module 815 of the DRM agent 810 may trace or prevent illegitimate content leakage by embedding visible or invisible security information into logo, image, symbols which are printed in the background of papers, by displaying security information on user device by overlapping security information layer with content layer, by creating text watermark through adjusting inter-character distance and modifying font size and type to represent user's information; Paragraph [0208]: The best policy in this situation might be employment of some document file format with very strict rule, allowing only the limited access, such as ‘read x times’, ‘no print’, ‘not transfer to third party’, ‘not edit’, or ‘no copy and paste’. In another case of public service, a local government tries to open very sensitive information, a district rebuilding and a renovation plan with invitation of a public opinion and a interested group, to the public with restriction of opening to very limited group of people. The people involved in this plan can download document, print, and read all opinions of others, but cannot distribute document/data to others. In this situation, text watermarking with viewer is an excellent distribution tool).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Kofod and Queen, further incorporating Choi to arrive at the conclusion of the claimed invention. One would be motivated to incorporate Choi’s teachings to establish user access rights, including editing content, and incorporate them in watermarking the document according to the access rights of the user into Kofod and Queen’s combined system for preventing data leakage through image capture with an external camera. This combined functionality would enable the system to employ different watermarking techniques for different file types and/or according to different levels of user access rights.
The combination of Kofod, Queen, and Choi does not expressly teach wherein the displaying comprises: … modifying, by the processor, at least one character in a displayed portion of the digital content … or … overlaying, by the processor, the visual noise on a displayed portion of the digital content.
However, Hadden teaches wherein the displaying comprises: … modifying, by the processor, at least one character in a displayed portion of the digital content … or … overlaying, by the processor, the visual noise on a displayed portion of the digital content (Hadden – Col. 2, Line 35-43: a technique is provided for rendering a watermark for content displayed on a display screen. The method comprises rendering the content via a window on the display, and rendering one or more watermarks via a transparent window that overlays at least a portion of the content window on the display. In another embodiment, a technique for rendering watermarks includes using function hooking to intercept one or more function calls to render content, and rendering a watermark with the content; and Col. 17, Line 66-67 and Col. 18, Line 1-8: One embodiment is directed to a technique for rendering a watermark via a transparent window on a display that overlays at least a portion of a window of the display wherein the content is rendered. The transparent window may be displayed over at least a portion of the application content window so that the user may perceive the watermark as being associated with the content unit. The process controlling the rendering of the watermark may ensure that whenever the content is rendered to a display, a transparent window with one or more watermarks is applied with the content).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Kofod, Queen, and Choi, further incorporating Hadden to arrive at the conclusion of the claimed invention. One would be motivated to incorporate Hadden’s teachings to dynamically display a watermark simultaneously during the displaying of digital content into Kofod, Queen, and Choi’s combined system for preventing data leakage through image capture with an external camera. This additional capability would enhance the system by enabling the watermark to persist through user interactions with the digital content while avoiding the need to modify the digital content itself in the process of displaying the watermark.
Regarding Claim 7:
The combination of Kofod, Queen, Choi, and Hadden teaches the system of claim 6.
Kofod further teaches wherein each of the plurality of visual noises is generated using a data pattern based on information of a corresponding user and one or more pre-defined rules for the corresponding user (Kofod – Paragraph [0101]: In the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 5, system 500 is used to produce a document that needs watermarking that is unique to each audience member or “recipient”. In one embodiment, content creator 504 lists each authorized recipient by name, email address, and/or other identifier. In one embodiment, watermark generator 502 assigns a recipient identifier number (RIN) to each audience member. Watermark generator 502 generates a unique signature for the document and posts the document signature, along with each recipient's name, email address and RIN to database 510 (data transfer 516). Watermark generator 502 embeds the document's signature and/or each recipient's RIN in the document as secure metadata, using a cryptographically assured mechanism. Other information may also be embedded into the document in this manner. A single watermarked document may include signatures, RINs, or other information for one recipient or for multiple recipients).
Queen additionally teaches wherein each of the plurality of visual noises is generated using a data pattern based on information of a corresponding user and one or more pre-defined rules for the corresponding user (Queen – Paragraph [0036]: The sub-element “Title/Header” 53 is associated with metadata 63, which identifies the media type or content as being a “Title”, the source as being “User A”, the classification level as being “Level 5” on a scale of 0 (low) to 9 (high), and the redaction type as being “Replace with TITLE”. According, the media collaboration management application will generate output to the client computer of an authorized user that includes that actual title of the media object if the authorized user has a security clearance that is 5 or greater and will redact the actual title in favor of the generic text “TITLE” if the authorized user has a security clearance that is less than 5; and Figure 3: illustration of a system in which content is selectively presented to users based on user information).
The motivation to combine the arts is the same as that of Claim 6.
Regarding Claim 8:
The combination of Kofod, Queen, Choi, and Hadden teaches the system of claim 6.
Kofod further teaches wherein, for the modification of the at least one character, the processor is further configured to: modify at least one of (i) a font size of the at least one character, (ii) a character style of the at least one character, (iii) a character type of the at least one character, or (iv) a color of pixels in the digital content, based on the fetched (Choi – Paragraph [0140]: The trace module 815 of the DRM agent 810 may trace or prevent illegitimate content leakage by embedding visible or invisible security information into logo, image, symbols which are printed in the background of papers, by displaying security information on user device by overlapping security information layer with content layer, by creating text watermark through adjusting inter-character distance and modifying font size and type to represent user's information).
The motivation to combine the arts is the same as that of Claim 6.
Regarding Claim 9:
The combination of Kofod, Queen, Choi, and Hadden teaches the system of claim 6.
Kofod further teaches wherein the digital content comprises at least one or a combination of an image or a text document (Kofod – Paragraph [0108]: It should be noted that here, the term “document” is not intended to be limited to text files, word processor files, and the like, but also contemplates images, pictures, videos, movies, audio files, collections of data, application files, computer files of any type, and also data which may not be in file format, such as streaming data, raw data, databases, portions of data storage, etc).
The motivation to combine the arts is the same as that of Claim 6.
Regarding Claim 10:
The combination of Kofod, Queen, Choi, and Hadden teaches the system of claim 6.
Queen further teaches wherein the visual noise is at least one or a combination of alphanumeric characters, special characters, or a graphical content (Queen – Paragraph [0036]: The sub-element “Title/Header” 53 is associated with metadata 63, which identifies the media type or content as being a “Title”, the source as being “User A”, the classification level as being “Level 5” on a scale of 0 (low) to 9 (high), and the redaction type as being “Replace with TITLE”. According, the media collaboration management application will generate output to the client computer of an authorized user that includes that actual title of the media object if the authorized user has a security clearance that is 5 or greater and will redact the actual title in favor of the generic text “TITLE” if the authorized user has a security clearance that is less than 5).
The motivation to combine the arts is the same as that of Claim 6.
Regarding Claim 11:
Kofod teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon instructions (Kofod – Paragraph [0031]: Exemplary computer readable media suitable for implementing the subject matter described herein include disk memory devices, chip memory devices, programmable logic devices, application specific integrated circuits, and other non-transitory storage media. In one implementation, the computer readable medium may include a memory accessible by a processor of a computer or other like device. The memory may include instructions executable by the processor for implementing any of the methods described herein) for deterring data leakage through photographing of display screen by an external camera (Kofod – Paragraph [0094]: The presence of the watermark across the entirety of the content means that, should the content be misappropriated by screen shot, by taking a picture of the screen with a separate camera, etc., the image so acquired will contain enough information encoded within the watermark to identify the source of the information and perhaps identify the individual who misappropriated the content), the non-transitory computer readable medium comprising machine executable code which when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform steps comprising (Kofod – Paragraph [0031]: Exemplary computer readable media suitable for implementing the subject matter described herein include disk memory devices, chip memory devices, programmable logic devices, application specific integrated circuits, and other non-transitory storage media. In one implementation, the computer readable medium may include a memory accessible by a processor of a computer or other like device. The memory may include instructions executable by the processor for implementing any of the methods described herein): storing, in an enterprise database, a plurality of visual noises for modification of digital content (Kofod – Paragraph [0098]: In one embodiment, a database 510 may be used to store the generated watermarks, information that is encoded into the generated watermarks, or both), wherein: each of the plurality of visual noises corresponds to a single user of a plurality of users (Kofod – Paragraph [0083]: Use Case—Unique User Watermarking; and Paragraph [0084]: Any application that produces a document that can be shared and read, either via the original application or a dedicated document reader (e.g., Adobe Acrobat Reader) can implement unique user watermarking), each of the plurality of visual noises is unique with respect to other visual noises of the plurality of visual noises (Kofod – Paragraph [0099]: in the example illustrated in FIG. 5, the set of watermarked documents 506 may be different documents, each with different content tailored for its specific audience and each having a unique watermark, or they may be copies of the same document, each with the same content but each having a unique watermark, or variations of the above); detecting a digital content when displayed on a digital device (Kofod – Paragraph [0087]: system 300 includes a first hardware module, watermark generator 302, for generating a watermark that encodes information as a set of visual elements. In the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 3, watermark generator 302 interacts with a second module, web server 304, for receiving content to be displayed to a user and creating watermarked content by combining an image of the received content with at least one copy of the watermark sufficient to fill the area of the image); fetching, from the stored plurality of visual noises, a visual noise to be displayed on the digital device from the enterprise database (Kofod – Paragraph [0098]: In one embodiment, a database 510 may be used to store the generated watermarks, information that is encoded into the generated watermarks, or both) based on the obtained information of the user (Kofod – Paragraph [0106]: the encoded information identifies an intended recipient. The process includes receiving a document that is to be sent to the recipient (step 602), creating a watermarked document by combining an image of the received document with one or more copies of the watermark, the number of copies being sufficient to fill the area of the image (step 604), and displaying the watermarked document to the user (step 606); and Figure 6: flow chart illustrating the process of watermarking a document to be displayed for a specific document recipient); displaying the fetched visual noise along with the digital content on the digital device (Kofod – Paragraph [0107]: In one embodiment, combining the received content and the watermark includes embedding the watermarking information within a document that is to be sent to the intended recipient and that is viewable by a display module that displays the document overlaid with copies of a watermark generated from the watermarking information. In one embodiment, sending the watermarked document to the intended recipient includes sending the watermarked document to a remote user, and displaying the watermarked content includes displaying the watermarked document to the intended recipient via a display module) to deter leakage of information from the displayed digital content by the external camera (Kofod – Paragraph [0094]: The presence of the watermark across the entirety of the content means that, should the content be misappropriated by screen shot, by taking a picture of the screen with a separate camera, etc., the image so acquired will contain enough information encoded within the watermark to identify the source of the information and perhaps identify the individual who misappropriated the content).
Kofod does not expressly teach identifying a classification type of the digital content displayed on the digital device; and when the classification type of the digital content is one of pre-defined types: parsing the digital content or metadata associated with the digital content; determining based on the parsing of the digital content or the associated metadata, a set of access permissions that indicate whether the displayed digital content is editable or non-editable; obtaining information of a user, of the plurality of users, associated with the digital device from the enterprise database.
However, Queen teaches identifying a classification type of the digital content displayed on the digital device (Queen – Paragraph [0003]: The program instructions are executable by a processing unit to authenticate a plurality of users requesting access to a media object, wherein the media object includes a plurality of media sub-elements, each media sub-element delimiting specific content of the media object. The program instructions are further executable by the processing unit to identify, for each of the plurality of sub-elements, a classification level associated with the media sub-element and to obtain, for each of the plurality of authenticated users, a security clearance); and when the classification type of the digital content is one of pre-defined types (Queen – Paragraph [0020]: the sub-elements may include different types of media and different amounts of media. It is up to the media presenter or other authorized users participating in the collaboration to define the scope of each sub-element, and associate a classification level with each sub-element. Optionally, a sub-element may default to a particular classification level, such a lowest classification level that is accessible to all authorized users. However, a user that is entering information or data into a sub-element of the media object may associate a higher classification level with the sub-element, such that only those authorized users having a suitable security clearance will be granted access to the sub-element): parsing the digital content or metadata associated with the digital content, (Queen – Paragraph [0035]: The media object 52 displayed by the graphical user interface 50 includes a plurality of sub-elements, such as the “Title/Header” 53, “Image 1” 54, “Hyperlink 2” 55, “Text 3” 56, “Audio 3A” 57, “Image 2A” 58, and the other sub-elements shown. The media object 52 may be displayed including various content and applying various formatting and configuration parameters input by the authorized users; and Paragraph [0036]: The metadata 60 is shown for certain of the sub-elements of the media object 52. The sub-element “Title/Header” 53 is associated with metadata 63, which identifies the media type or content as being a “Title”, the source as being “User A”, the classification level as being “Level 5” on a scale of 0 (low) to 9 (high), and the redaction type as being “Replace with TITLE”); determining, based on the parsing of the digital content or the associated metadata, a set of access permissions that indicate whether the displayed digital content is editable or non-editable (Queen – Paragraph [0017]: In one embodiment, the role assigned to each of the plurality of users is independently selected from: a first role allowing the user to view, comment on, and edit sub-elements of the media object except for sub-elements that are subject to redaction for the user; a second role allowing the user to view and comment on, but not edit, sub-elements of the media object except for sub-elements that are subject to redaction for the user; and a third role allowing the user to view, but not comment on or edit, sub-elements of the media object except for sub-elements that are subject to redaction for the user. Any number of roles may be created with different allowed capabilities within the collaboration session or relative to the media object) obtaining information of a user, of the plurality of users, associated with the digital device from the enterprise database (Queen – Paragraph [0022]: Embodiments of the electronic media collaboration application may access a user list or database that, for each of a plurality of individual users, includes a user identification and a security clearance level associated with each user identification; and Paragraph [0036]: the media collaboration management application will generate output to the client computer of an authorized user);
Queen further teaches fetching …. a visual noise to be displayed on the digital device … based on the obtained information of the user and the determined set of access permissions (Queen – Paragraph [0036]: The sub-element “Title/Header” 53 is associated with metadata 63, which identifies the media type or content as being a “Title”, the source as being “User A”, the classification level as being “Level 5” on a scale of 0 (low) to 9 (high), and the redaction type as being “Replace with TITLE”. According, the media collaboration management application will generate output to the client computer of an authorized user that includes that actual title of the media object if the authorized user has a security clearance that is 5 or greater and will redact the actual title in favor of the generic text “TITLE” if the authorized user has a security clearance that is less than 5; Examiner’s Comment: The teaching from Queen demonstrates a stored plurality of visual noises to be selectively displayed based on the permission level of a user to whom content is being displayed, enhancing the claimed user-unique watermarks as visual noise).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Kofod, further incorporating Queen to arrive at the conclusion of the claimed invention. One would be motivated to incorporate Queen’s teachings to retrieve visual noise to be display on an identified type of content according to user information into Kofod’s executable instructions for preventing data leakage through image capture with an external camera. This combination would result in a system tailoring content protection to each individual user and document, and would also allow any leaked images to be traceable to specific users.
The combination of Kofod and Queen does not expressly teach and each of the plurality of visual noises is one of a group comprising at least (i) a first type of visual noise for modification of editable digital content and (ii) a second type of noise for modification of non-editable digital content; based on the obtained information of the user and the determined set of access permissions, wherein the fetched visual noise corresponds to the first type of visual noise when the displayed digital content is editable, and wherein the fetched visual noise corresponds to the second type of visual noise when the displayed digital content is non-editable; wherein the displaying comprises: when the determined set of access permissions indicates that the digital content is editable, modifying at least one character in a displayed portion of the digital content; or when the determined set of access permissions indicates that the digital content is non-editable, overlaying the visual noise on the digital content for displaying the fetched visual noise on a displayed portion of the digital content.
However, Choi teaches and each of the plurality of visual noises is one of a group comprising at least (i) a first type of visual noise for modification of editable digital content and (ii) a second type of noise for modification of non-editable digital content (Choi – Paragraph [0194]: The text watermark elaborated in the following sessions can be embedded into the file-format converted document to identify where the document was delivered to, using user ID information, IP information, device information or a delivery date, etc. Because this text watermarking is embedded into text document repeatedly, it is very hard to embed information mistakenly and then interpreted wrongly. However, in order to confirm the hidden information or in order to reveal user information or device information when a portion, specifically image portion is photo-taken or leaked out, the image watermarking might be very useful tool. That is why the text watermark and the image watermark are called ‘1.sup.st watermark’. Then, the 2.sup.nd watermark, frequently in the forms of user name, or company logo which embeds various information including a user ID, a device ID, or other information may be added to the 1.sup.st watermarked document for displaying on the user screen (screen mark) or for printing document (printing mark). In the embodiment of the present invention, the 2.sup.nd watermark is sometimes called ‘logo’ watermark which can hide various information into a symbol, the printed name, or the company logo; Paragraph [0195]: Even if most original documents should be file-format converted into the target file format in order to embed the 1st watermark and the 2nd watermark, there may be an exceptional case. The printing mark may be embedded visibly or invisibly into original documents edited in MS Office. Even if the screened document/data and the printed document/data are exactly the same from the view of system level, most editing tools, including MS Office, allow users to take control printing process in which tracing information can be embedded. In other words, the original document/data may go through overlaying process in printing stage where various information is embedded into the printed logos, symbols, names, or others to identify who leaked out the printed document. As in the case described in FIG. 4A to FIG. 4C, a legitimate user can print delivered document and scan it before uploading to P2P site. In this case, if the document has watermarked logo or symbols in printed paper, the user who leaked out the document can be easily identified; and Paragraph [0209]: The issue related to whether the authored document/data can be distributed in the original file format, is related to possible ‘data forgery’ issue when users are allowed to edit the document or data. Because the text watermark relies completely on embedding invisible information into the text data in document or data sheet, if a user is allowed to edit the document or data, text watermark can be useless … image watermarking can be used as a supplementary measure. Even if the text document or datasheet can be edited, that is, easily forged, invisible information embedded into graphic data and image included in a logo, a diagram, or a presentation image of the document, the data sheet cannot be easily deleted or forged without knowledge of signal processing); based on the obtained information of the user and the determined set of access permissions (Choi – Paragraph [0179]: In FIG. 11B, it is shown that there are various access rights controlled by the content sharing tool, eventually a part of the DRM system: edit, save, copy, watermark, capture, allowed ‘print’ x times, allowed ‘open’ x times, allowed keep the content x days, allowed transfer to individual users, allowed transfer to department, allowed transfer to company, and then ‘save’ as y file name; and Paragraph [0055]: The watermark variable may be obtained from a database within a DRM server by searching for data associated with a user; and Paragraph [0208]: The best policy in this situation might be employment of some document file format with very strict rule, allowing only the limited access, such as ‘read x times’, ‘no print’, ‘not transfer to third party’, ‘not edit’, or ‘no copy and paste’; and Paragraph [0209]: The issue related to whether the authored document/data can be distributed in the original file format, is related to possible ‘data forgery’ issue when users are allowed to edit the document or data), wherein the fetched visual noise corresponds to the first type of visual noise when the displayed digital content is editable, and wherein the fetched visual noise corresponds to the second type of visual noise when the displayed digital content is non-editable (Choi – Paragraph [0194]: The text watermark elaborated in the following sessions can be embedded into the file-format converted document to identify where the document was delivered to, using user ID information, IP information, device information or a delivery date, etc. Because this text watermarking is embedded into text document repeatedly, it is very hard to embed information mistakenly and then interpreted wrongly. However, in order to confirm the hidden information or in order to reveal user information or device information when a portion, specifically image portion is photo-taken or leaked out, the image watermarking might be very useful tool. That is why the text watermark and the image watermark are called ‘1.sup.st watermark’. Then, the 2.sup.nd watermark, frequently in the forms of user name, or company logo which embeds various information including a user ID, a device ID, or other information may be added to the 1.sup.st watermarked document for displaying on the user screen (screen mark) or for printing document (printing mark). In the embodiment of the present invention, the 2.sup.nd watermark is sometimes called ‘logo’ watermark which can hide various information into a symbol, the printed name, or the company logo; Paragraph [0195]: Even if most original documents should be file-format converted into the target file format in order to embed the 1st watermark and the 2nd watermark, there may be an exceptional case. The printing mark may be embedded visibly or invisibly into original documents edited in MS Office. Even if the screened document/data and the printed document/data are exactly the same from the view of system level, most editing tools, including MS Office, allow users to take control printing process in which tracing information can be embedded. In other words, the original document/data may go through overlaying process in printing stage where various information is embedded into the printed logos, symbols, names, or others to identify who leaked out the printed document. As in the case described in FIG. 4A to FIG. 4C, a legitimate user can print delivered document and scan it before uploading to P2P site. In this case, if the document has watermarked logo or symbols in printed paper, the user who leaked out the document can be easily identified; and Paragraph [0208]: The best policy in this situation might be employment of some document file format with very strict rule, allowing only the limited access, such as ‘read x times’, ‘no print’, ‘not transfer to third party’, ‘not edit’, or ‘no copy and paste’. In another case of public service, a local government tries to open very sensitive information, a district rebuilding and a renovation plan with invitation of a public opinion and a interested group, to the public with restriction of opening to very limited group of people. The people involved in this plan can download document, print, and read all opinions of others, but cannot distribute document/data to others. In this situation, text watermarking with viewer is an excellent distribution tool; and Paragraph [0209]: The issue related to whether the authored document/data can be distributed in the original file format, is related to possible ‘data forgery’ issue when users are allowed to edit the document or data. Because the text watermark relies completely on embedding invisible information into the text data in document or data sheet, if a user is allowed to edit the document or data, text watermark can be useless … image watermarking can be used as a supplementary measure. Even if the text document or datasheet can be edited, that is, easily forged, invisible information embedded into graphic data and image included in a logo, a diagram, or a presentation image of the document, the data sheet cannot be easily deleted or forged without knowledge of signal processing); [wherein the displaying comprises:] when the determined set of access permissions indicates that the digital content is editable (Choi – Paragraph [0179]: In FIG. 11B, it is shown that there are various access rights controlled by the content sharing tool, eventually a part of the DRM system: edit, save, copy, watermark, capture, allowed ‘print’ x times, allowed ‘open’ x times, allowed keep the content x days, allowed transfer to individual users, allowed transfer to department, allowed transfer to company, and then ‘save’ as y file name; and Paragraph [0209]: The issue related to whether the authored document/data can be distributed in the original file format, is related to possible ‘data forgery’ issue when users are allowed to edit the document or data), modifying at least one character in [a displayed portion of] the digital content (Choi – Paragraph [0140]: The trace module 815 of the DRM agent 810 may trace or prevent illegitimate content leakage by embedding visible or invisible security information into logo, image, symbols which are printed in the background of papers, by displaying security information on user device by overlapping security information layer with content layer, by creating text watermark through adjusting inter-character distance and modifying font size and type to represent user's information; and Paragraph [0209]: The issue related to whether the authored document/data can be distributed in the original file format, is related to possible ‘data forgery’ issue when users are allowed to edit the document or data. Because the text watermark relies completely on embedding invisible information into the text data in document or data sheet, if a user is allowed to edit the document or data, text watermark can be useless … image watermarking can be used as a supplementary measure. Even if the text document or datasheet can be edited, that is, easily forged, invisible information embedded into graphic data and image included in a logo, a diagram, or a presentation image of the document, the data sheet cannot be easily deleted or forged without knowledge of signal processing); and when the determined set of access permissions indicates that the digital content is non-editable (Choi – Paragraph [0179]: In FIG. 11B, it is shown that there are various access rights controlled by the content sharing tool, eventually a part of the DRM system: edit, save, copy, watermark, capture, allowed ‘print’ x times, allowed ‘open’ x times, allowed keep the content x days, allowed transfer to individual users, allowed transfer to department, allowed transfer to company, and then ‘save’ as y file name; and Paragraph [0208]: The best policy in this situation might be employment of some document file format with very strict rule, allowing only the limited access, such as ‘read x times’, ‘no print’, ‘not transfer to third party’, ‘not edit’, or ‘no copy and paste’), overlaying the visual noise on [a displayed portion of] the digital content (Choi – Paragraph [0140]: The trace module 815 of the DRM agent 810 may trace or prevent illegitimate content leakage by embedding visible or invisible security information into logo, image, symbols which are printed in the background of papers, by displaying security information on user device by overlapping security information layer with content layer, by creating text watermark through adjusting inter-character distance and modifying font size and type to represent user's information; Paragraph [0208]: The best policy in this situation might be employment of some document file format with very strict rule, allowing only the limited access, such as ‘read x times’, ‘no print’, ‘not transfer to third party’, ‘not edit’, or ‘no copy and paste’. In another case of public service, a local government tries to open very sensitive information, a district rebuilding and a renovation plan with invitation of a public opinion and a interested group, to the public with restriction of opening to very limited group of people. The people involved in this plan can download document, print, and read all opinions of others, but cannot distribute document/data to others. In this situation, text watermarking with viewer is an excellent distribution tool).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Kofod and Queen, further incorporating Choi to arrive at the conclusion of the claimed invention. One would be motivated to incorporate Choi’s teachings to establish user access rights, including editing content, and incorporate them in watermarking the document according to the access rights of the user into Kofod and Queen’s combined instructions for preventing data leakage through image capture with an external camera. This combined functionality would enable a system to employ different watermarking techniques for different file types and/or according to different levels of user access rights.
The combination of Kofod, Queen, and Choi does not expressly teach wherein the displaying comprises: … modifying, by the processor, at least one character in a displayed portion of the digital content … or … overlaying, by the processor, the visual noise on a displayed portion of the digital content.
However, Hadden teaches wherein the displaying comprises: … modifying, by the processor, at least one character in a displayed portion of the digital content … or … overlaying, by the processor, the visual noise on a displayed portion of the digital content (Hadden – Col. 2, Line 35-43: a technique is provided for rendering a watermark for content displayed on a display screen. The method comprises rendering the content via a window on the display, and rendering one or more watermarks via a transparent window that overlays at least a portion of the content window on the display. In another embodiment, a technique for rendering watermarks includes using function hooking to intercept one or more function calls to render content, and rendering a watermark with the content; and Col. 17, Line 66-67 and Col. 18, Line 1-8: One embodiment is directed to a technique for rendering a watermark via a transparent window on a display that overlays at least a portion of a window of the display wherein the content is rendered. The transparent window may be displayed over at least a portion of the application content window so that the user may perceive the watermark as being associated with the content unit. The process controlling the rendering of the watermark may ensure that whenever the content is rendered to a display, a transparent window with one or more watermarks is applied with the content).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Kofod, Queen, and Choi, further incorporating Hadden to arrive at the conclusion of the claimed invention. One would be motivated to incorporate Hadden’s teachings to dynamically display a watermark simultaneously during the displaying of digital content into Kofod, Queen, and Choi’s combined system for preventing data leakage through image capture with an external camera. This additional capability would enhance the system by enabling the watermark to persist through user interactions with the digital content while avoiding the need to modify the digital content itself in the process of displaying the watermark.
Regarding Claim 12:
The combination of Kofod, Queen, Choi, and Hadden teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 11.
Kofod further teaches wherein each of the plurality of visual noises is generated using a data pattern based on information of a corresponding user and one or more pre-defined rules for the corresponding user (Kofod – Paragraph [0101]: In the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 5, system 500 is used to produce a document that needs watermarking that is unique to each audience member or “recipient”. In one embodiment, content creator 504 lists each authorized recipient by name, email address, and/or other identifier. In one embodiment, watermark generator 502 assigns a recipient identifier number (RIN) to each audience member. Watermark generator 502 generates a unique signature for the document and posts the document signature, along with each recipient's name, email address and RIN to database 510 (data transfer 516). Watermark generator 502 embeds the document's signature and/or each recipient's RIN in the document as secure metadata, using a cryptographically assured mechanism. Other information may also be embedded into the document in this manner. A single watermarked document may include signatures, RINs, or other information for one recipient or for multiple recipients).
Queen additionally teaches wherein each of the plurality of visual noises is generated using a data pattern based on information of a corresponding user and one or more pre-defined rules for the corresponding user (Queen – Paragraph [0036]: The sub-element “Title/Header” 53 is associated with metadata 63, which identifies the media type or content as being a “Title”, the source as being “User A”, the classification level as being “Level 5” on a scale of 0 (low) to 9 (high), and the redaction type as being “Replace with TITLE”. According, the media collaboration management application will generate output to the client computer of an authorized user that includes that actual title of the media object if the authorized user has a security clearance that is 5 or greater and will redact the actual title in favor of the generic text “TITLE” if the authorized user has a security clearance that is less than 5; and Figure 3: illustration of a system in which content is selectively presented to users based on user information).
The motivation to combine the arts is the same as that of Claim 11.
Regarding Claim 13:
The combination of Kofod, Queen, Choi, and Hadden teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 11.
Choi further teaches wherein the modification of the at least one character comprises at least one of (i) modification of a font size of the at least one character, (ii) modification of a character style of the at least one character, (iii) modification of a character type of the at least one character, or (iv) modification of a color of pixels in the digital content, based on the fetched visual noise (Choi – Paragraph [0140]: The trace module 815 of the DRM agent 810 may trace or prevent illegitimate content leakage by embedding visible or invisible security information into logo, image, symbols which are printed in the background of papers, by displaying security information on user device by overlapping security information layer with content layer, by creating text watermark through adjusting inter-character distance and modifying font size and type to represent user's information).
The motivation to combine the arts is the same as that of Claim 11.
Regarding Claim 16:
The combination of Kofod, Queen, Choi, and Hadden teaches the method of claim 1.
Kofod further teaches further comprising generating, by the processor (Kofod – Paragraph [0031]: In one exemplary implementation, the subject matter described herein may be implemented using a computer readable medium having stored thereon executable instructions that when executed by the processor of a computer control the computer to perform steps), the plurality of visual noises prior to the storage of the plurality of visual noises (Kofod – Paragraph [0098]: system 500 includes a watermark generator 502 that interacts with a content creator 504 for providing watermarked documents 506 that will be viewed by watermarked document reader applications 508 … a database 510 may be used to store the generated watermarks, information that is encoded into the generated watermarks, or both), wherein each of the plurality of visual noises corresponds to a user of the plurality of users (Kofod – Paragraph [0099]: In the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 5, there are four distinct audiences, labeled audience 1, audience 2, audience 3, and audience 4, which are collectively referred to as audiences 514. Each audience, which may be a person, a group of people, an organization or business entity, a library, a message board, and so on, will receive a watermarked document created specifically for that audience. It is noted that, in the example illustrated in FIG. 5, the set of watermarked documents 506 may be different documents, each with different content tailored for its specific audience and each having a unique watermark, or they may be copies of the same document, each with the same content but each having a unique watermark, or variations of the above), and wherein the visual noise for each user is generated based on a user ID of the user (Kofod – Paragraph [0101]: In one embodiment, content creator 504 lists each authorized recipient by name, email address, and/or other identifier. In one embodiment, watermark generator 502 assigns a recipient identifier number (RIN) to each audience member. Watermark generator 502 generates a unique signature for the document and posts the document signature, along with each recipient's name, email address and RIN to database 510 (data transfer 516); and Paragraph [0102]: Watermark generator 502 may accept some input, such as the recipient name, email address, RIN, etc., which it uses to generate the watermark).
The motivation to combine the arts is the same as that of Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 21:
The combination of Kofod, Queen, Choi, and Hadden teaches the method of claim 1.
Queen further teaches further comprising parsing, by the processor, the digital content (Queen – Paragraph [0035]: The media object 52 displayed by the graphical user interface 50 includes a plurality of sub-elements, such as the “Title/Header” 53, “Image 1” 54, “Hyperlink 2” 55, “Text 3” 56, “Audio 3A” 57, “Image 2A” 58, and the other sub-elements shown. The media object 52 may be displayed including various content and applying various formatting and configuration parameters input by the authorized users; and Paragraph [0036]: The metadata 60 is shown for certain of the sub-elements of the media object 52. The sub-element “Title/Header” 53 is associated with metadata 63, which identifies the media type or content as being a “Title”, the source as being “User A”, the classification level as being “Level 5” on a scale of 0 (low) to 9 (high), and the redaction type as being “Replace with TITLE”); and wherein the displaying of the visual noise along with the digital content causes replacement of a portion of the text document in the digital content with alternate values (Queen – Paragraph [0036]: The metadata 60 is shown for certain of the sub-elements of the media object 52. The sub-element “Title/Header” 53 is associated with metadata 63, which identifies the media type or content as being a “Title”, the source as being “User A”, the classification level as being “Level 5” on a scale of 0 (low) to 9 (high), and the redaction type as being “Replace with TITLE”. According, the media collaboration management application will generate output to the client computer of an authorized user that includes that actual title of the media object if the authorized user has a security clearance that is 5 or greater and will redact the actual title in favor of the generic text “TITLE” if the authorized user has a security clearance that is less than 5).
Kofod further teaches the digital content that includes a text document (Kofod – Paragraph [0108]: It should be noted that here, the term “document” is not intended to be limited to text files, word processor files, and the like, but also contemplates images, pictures, videos, movies, audio files, collections of data, application files, computer files of any type, and also data which may not be in file format, such as streaming data, raw data, databases, portions of data storage, etc).
The motivation to combine the arts is the same as that of Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 22:
The combination of Kofod, Queen, Choi, and Hadden teaches the method of claim 1.
Choi further teaches wherein the displayed visual noise is imperceptible to human eyes and is devoid of impact on a readability of the digital content (Choi – Paragraph [0121]: On top of these basic components, information tracing applications are developed including … (2) screen marker which can hide invisible information into displayed text, graphics, or image data included in the format converted document to trace information leakage when the document is photo-taken, or video taken).
The motivation to combine the arts is the same as that of Claim 1.
Claim(s) 17, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kofod, in view of Queen, Choi, Hadden, and Panchapakesan et al. (US 20160378999 A1), hereinafter Panchapakesan.
Regarding Claim 17:
The combination of Kofod, Queen, Choi, and Hadden teaches the method of Claim 16.
The combination of Kofod, Queen, Choi, and Hadden does not expressly teach further comprising storing, by the processor, a mapping table in the enterprise database, wherein the mapping table is indicative of mapping between the stored plurality of visual noises and the plurality of users, and wherein the visual noise to be displayed on the digital device is fetched from the enterprise database further based on the mapping table.
However, Panchapakesan teaches further comprising storing, by the processor (Panchapakesan – Paragraph [0077]: The one or more storage devices for a processing circuit can store data or components that are executable by the one or more processors of the processing circuitry control the computer to perform steps), a mapping table in the enterprise database (Panchapakesan – Paragraph [0028]: The redaction schema data 126 can include one or more redaction schemas for various data files stored in the data file repository 128; Examiner’s Comment: the repository is interpreted to represent the claimed enterprise database and the redaction schema data is interpreted to represent the claimed mapping table), wherein the mapping table is indicative of mapping between the stored plurality of visual noises and the plurality of users (Panchapakesan – Paragraph [0028]: the redaction schema data 126 includes one redaction schema for multiple data files stored in the data file repository 128. Each redaction schema can include redaction information for any number of users or groups of users. For example, one redaction schema can include a set of redaction information for a first user or group of users and include another set of redaction information for a second user or group of users. Additionally or alternatively, the redaction schema data 126 can include a separate redaction schema for each user and each data file), and wherein the visual noise to be displayed on the digital device is fetched from the enterprise database further based on the mapping table (Panchapakesan – Paragraph [0048]: the arguments 260-262 in the redaction schema 250 specify the masking objects 320-322 for “Joe” but not “Sarah,” and the arguments 263 and 264 specify the masking objects 420 and 421 for “Sarah” but not “Joe.”; and Figure 4: illustration of a process of redacting document content to varying degrees based on redaction schema data associated with certain users/documents).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Kofod, Queen, Choi, and Hadden, further incorporating Panchapakesan to arrive at the conclusion of the claimed invention. One would be motivated to incorporate Panchapakesan’s teachings to store a mapping table relating visual noise requirements to different users within a system into Kofod, Queen, Choi, and Hadden’s combined method for preventing data leakage through image capture with an external camera. This combination would increase efficiency in executing the steps of the method by having a central hub from which to retrieve information regarding users and their document access privileges.
Regarding Claim 19:
The combination of Kofod, Queen, Choi, and Hadden teaches the method of Claim 16.
The combination of Kofod, Queen, Choi, and Hadden does not expressly teach further comprising: monitoring, by the processor, the digital content displayed on the digital device; detecting, by the processor, a dynamic change in the displayed digital content; and updating, by the processor, the displayed visual noise based on the dynamic change in the displayed digital content.
However, Panchapakesan teaches further comprising: monitoring, by the processor, the digital content displayed on the digital device (Panchapakesan – Paragraph [0065]: as a user of the client device 160 scrolls or proceeds through the content 310, the redaction layer generator 138 can dynamically regenerate or relocate the redaction layer 310 based on the current position of the content 210); detecting, by the processor, a dynamic change in the displayed digital content (Panchapakesan – Paragraph [0065]: as a user of the client device 160 scrolls or proceeds through the content 310, the redaction layer generator 138 can dynamically regenerate or relocate the redaction layer 310 based on the current position of the content 210); and updating, by the processor, the displayed visual noise based on the dynamic change in the displayed digital content (Panchapakesan – Paragraph [0065]: It is noted that generating the redaction layer at step 618 can be a dynamic, ongoing process for the computing environment 110, the client device 160, or both. For example, as a user of the client device 160 scrolls or proceeds through the content 310, the redaction layer generator 138 can dynamically regenerate or relocate the redaction layer 310 based on the current position of the content 210. This regeneration can include the addition of new masking objects, the movement of masking objects to track scrolling, or other type of dynamic regeneration or relocation).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Kofod, Queen, Choi, and Hadden, further incorporating Panchapakesan to arrive at the conclusion of the claimed invention. One would be motivated to incorporate Panchapakesan’s teachings to adjust visual noise on a display screen as a user interacts with the displayed content into Kofod, Queen, Choi, and Hadden’s combined method for preventing data leakage through image capture with an external camera. This combination would enhance the security of the method by maintaining the presence of the visual noise on the screen throughout dynamic changes.
Regarding Claim 20:
The combination of Kofod, Queen, Choi, and Panchapakesan teaches the method of claim 19.
Panchapakesan further teaches wherein the dynamic change in the displayed digital content includes one of or a combination of a scroll operation, a pan operation, or a zoom operation executed by the user on the digital device (Panchapakesan – Paragraph [0065]: It is noted that generating the redaction layer at step 618 can be a dynamic, ongoing process for the computing environment 110, the client device 160, or both. For example, as a user of the client device 160 scrolls or proceeds through the content 310, the redaction layer generator 138 can dynamically regenerate or relocate the redaction layer 310 based on the current position of the content 210. This regeneration can include the addition of new masking objects, the movement of masking objects to track scrolling, or other type of dynamic regeneration or relocation).
The motivation to combine the arts is the same as that of Claim 19.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kofod, in view of Queen, Choi, Hadden, and McKinley et al. (US 20030187798 A1), hereinafter McKinley.
Regarding Claim 18:
The combination of Kofod, Queen, Choi, and Hadden teaches the method of Claim 16.
The combination of Kofod, Queen, Choi, and Hadden does not expressly teach wherein the generation of each of the plurality of visual noises, which correspond to the second type of visual noise, comprises concatenation of the user ID of the corresponding user with a plurality of special characters.
However, McKinley teaches wherein the generation of each of the plurality of visual noises, which correspond to the second type of visual noise, comprises concatenation of the user ID of the corresponding user with a plurality of special characters (McKinley – Paragraph [0058]: The User ID is attached (or appended) to a coupon watermark ID, and optionally, to a customer ID (e.g., Dominos Pizza's ID) and a graphic file having a digital copy of a coupon to be downloaded and printed; and Paragraph [0060]: Since the watermark ID is appended with the user's ID, the watermark ID is unique to that user--although the user may not even know that there is a digital watermark in the coupon; Examiner’s Comment: Examiner submits that the watermark ID taught by McKinley, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, may arbitrarily include any combination of letters, numbers, and special characters).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Kofod, Queen, Choi, and Hadden, further incorporating McKinley to arrive at the conclusion of the claimed invention. One would be motivated to incorporate McKinley’s teachings to generate visual noise by concatenating a user identifier to a plurality of special characters into Kofod, Queen, Choi, and Hadden’s combined method for preventing data leakage through image capture with an external camera. This combination would enhance the security of the method by ensuring that the visual noise generated for each user would be sufficiently traceable to that user in the event of a data leak.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kofod, in view of Queen, Choi, Hadden, and Kapinos et al. (US 20210266734 A1), hereinafter Kapinos.
Regarding Claim 23:
The combination of Kofod, Queen, Choi, and Hadden teaches the method of claim 1.
Choi further teaches wherein the parsing comprises extracting type information indicating a file type of the digital content (Choi – Paragraph [0213]: a document conversion process may include detailed steps and components involved in file transformation, from a source file to the target file … a device for conversion (for example, the DRM server) checks the file format of the original document (S1402). Furthermore, the device for conversion confirms whether the corresponding document has a first format (for example, an MS Office document) (S1404)).
The combination of Kofod, Queen, Choi, and Hadden does not expressly teach and wherein whether the displayed digital content is editable or non-editable is determined based on the file type.
However, Kapinos teaches and wherein whether the displayed digital content is editable or non-editable is determined based on the file type (Kapinos – Paragraph [0058]: In one embodiment, the one or more security permissions for the user are defined by an organization, a domain, a group, and/or the like that the user is a member of. For instance, a user may work within a department in an organization that requires a certain security clearance level to work in the department. The user may have different security permissions for different types of files (e.g., .doc files, .xlsx files, .pdf files, .jpg files, etc.), different departments, different roles within the organization, and/or the like, which define the types of files the user can access and/or the actions that the user can take on those files, e.g., read/write/edit/etc.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Kofod, Queen, Choi, and Hadden, further incorporating Kapinos to arrive at the conclusion of the claimed invention. One would be motivated to incorporate Kapinos’s teaching of variable user access permissions relative to different file types into Kofod, Queen, Choi, and Hadden’s combined method for preventing data leakage through image capture with an external camera. This additional association of user editing permissions with certain types of files would help tune the system to apply appropriate visual noise that corresponds to a determined level of content access, increasing security and efficient decision-making.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dou et al. (US 20170364499 A1) teaches a method for per-user tailoring of concealment attributed for distributed documents intended for sharing documents within an organization
Landwehr et al. (US 8363882 B2) teaches a system for embedding watermarks in content in a manner that considers maintaining the interactability of the content
Nelson et al. (US 9319417 B2) teaches methods and systems for Data Leak Protection (DLP) that includes watermarking documents based on rules regarding document sensitivity
/NICHOLAS JOSEPH DILUZIO/Examiner, Art Unit 2498
/YIN CHEN SHAW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2498