DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received on 9/26/2025:
Claims 1-2, 7-9, 12-13, and 15-20 are pending in the current application. Claims 1, 7-9, 12-13, 15-17, and 20 have been amended and Claims 3-6, 10-11, and 14 have been canceled.
The previous objection to the claims has been overcome in light of the amendment.
The previous rejection under 35 USC 112 is overcome in light of the amendment.
The cores of the previous prior art-based rejections have been maintained in light of the amendment and are reworded only to reflect new claim limitations. All changes made to the rejection are necessitated by the amendment.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “an electrical connection assembly including flexible film electrical connector” should instead read “an electrical connection assembly including a flexible film electrical connector” in Line 3 of Claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
All “wherein” clauses are given patentable weight unless otherwise noted. Please see MPEP 2111.04 regarding optional claim language.
Regarding Claim 1, the phrase “puncture crimping the first connection terminal to the signal transmission bus” is viewed as a product-by-process claim and therefore only the structure implied by the steps holds patentable weight. Please see MPEP 2113 regarding product-by-process claims.
Regarding Claims 1 and 20, the phrase “wherein the electrical connector assembly can be replaced separately without replacing the signal transmission bus” is interpreted as functional claim language and does not add more limitations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed September 26, 2025 are based on the claims as amended and have been addressed in the new rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7, 12-13, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan et al. CN-206098597-U (hereinafter referred to as Chan) in view of Maue et al. US-5805402-A (hereinafter referred to as Maue), Li et al CN-212161961-U (hereinafter referred to as Li), and Kropsch US-20140322574-A1 (hereinafter referred to as Kropsch).
Regarding Claim 1, Chan discloses a battery pack signal acquisition device in Figs. 1-3 comprising:
a signal transmission bus (electrical connection tab) 3 in Figs. 1-3; and
an electrical connection assembly (signal acquisition harness) 5 including an electrical connector (see annotated figure 4 below), one end of the electrical connector 1 is electrically connected with a bus bar of a battery cell to the signal transmission bus 3 (via the body of the signal acquisition harness 5) in Figs. 1-4 (see paragraphs [0007] and [0040]) to collect an electrical parameter of the battery cell in Figs. 1-3 (it is noted that Chan does not explicitly teach a battery cell; however, the examiner finds that the person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention will easily understand that the power battery system disclosed by Chan necessarily includes at least one battery cell with bus bar, since a power battery system cannot function as a battery without at least one battery cell (see MPEP 2112)),
wherein the electrical connection assembly 5 and the signal transmission bus 3 are respectively formed and electrically detachably connected with each other (via connecting terminal 1) in Figs. 1-3 (see paragraphs [0007] and [0040]). Chan discloses the electrical adapter 1 comprises a pair of connection terminals adapted to be mated with each other (clamping portion 11 and crimping portion 12), the pair of connection terminals 11 and 12 are electrically connected with the electrical connection assembly 5 and the signal transmission bus 3 respectively (via electrical adapter 1) in Fig. 1 and Figs. 4-6 (see paragraph [0041]), so that the electrical connection assembly 5 and the signal transmission bus 3 are detachably connected (see paragraphs [0015], [0019] and [0040]-[0041]). Chan discloses a clamping portion 11 with clamping pieces 111 and 112 where the signal transmission bus 3 is fixed in the interlayer space in Fig. 1 (see paragraph [0041]) . Since Chan teaches crimping of connection terminal 12, and since the instantly claimed invention includes limitations to crimping as being a detachable connection, it would be clear to the person having ordinary skill in the art that the crimping connection of Chan is necessarily detachable (see MPEP 2112). Additionally, crimping and clamping are functionally equivalent, and therefore a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand the clamping portion 11 is necessarily detachable as well.
Chan additionally discloses wherein the electrical connector assembly can be replaced separately without replacing the signal transmission bus. This is interpreted as functional claim language and as such does not add more limitations.
Regardless, Chan discloses the electrical adapter 1 comprises a pair of connection terminals adapted to be mated with each other (clamping portion 11 and crimping portion 12), the pair of connection terminals 11 and 12 are electrically connected with the electrical connection assembly 5 and the signal transmission bus 3 respectively (via electrical adapter 1) in Fig. 1 and Figs. 4-6 (see paragraph [0041]), so that the electrical connection assembly 5 and the signal transmission bus 3 are detachably connected (see paragraphs [0015], [0019] and [0040]-[0041]). Chan discloses a clamping portion 11 with clamping pieces 111 and 112 where the signal transmission bus 3 is fixed in the interlayer space in Fig. 1 (see paragraph [0041]) . Since Chan teaches crimping of connection terminal 12, and since the instantly claimed invention includes limitations to crimping as being a detachable connection, it would be clear to the person having ordinary skill in the art that the crimping connection of Chan is necessarily detachable (see MPEP 2112). Additionally, crimping and clamping are functionally equivalent, and therefore a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand the clamping portion 11 is necessarily detachable as well. As a result, a skilled artisan would be capable of replacing the electrically connector assembly 5 without replacing the signal transmission bus 3.
Chan is silent on the electrical connection assembly including a flexible film electrical connector that comprises a flexible film carrier and a conductive trace integrated thereon.
However, in the same field of endeavor of electrical assemblies, Maue discloses a flexible printed circuit board 55 in Figs. 1-4 , which is a flexible electrical connector with a flexible film carrier, on which a conductive trace is deposited (see paragraphs [0004] and [0009]-[0010] of Detailed Description). Maue further discloses this increases electric part quality and performance (see paragraph [0011] of Summary).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrical connector disclosed by Chen by making an electrical connector such that it is a flexible electrical connector that comprises a flexible film carrier and a conductive trace integrated on the flexible film carrier, as disclosed by Maue, in order to increase electric part quality and performance.
Chan and Maue are silent on a first connection terminal having a body, the first connection terminal connected to an end of the flexible film electrical connector having toothed first wings for connecting the first connection terminal to the signal transmission bus.
However, in the same field of endeavor of battery pack signal acquisition devices, Li discloses a first connection terminal A comprising a body extending along a straight line, a first toothed wing (bendable portion 33) (see comparison of wing structures below) formed on each side of one end of the body and a second toothed wing 33 formed on each side of the other end of the body (pair of wings 33 on each end) in Fig. 6 (see paragraphs [0045]-[0047]).
Li Wings in Fig. 6
Instant Application Wings in Fig. 5
Li further discloses the wings make connection simple and convenient (see paragraph [0048]).
Li does not disclose toothed second wings for realizing a second connecting portion.
However, it is within the ambit of a skilled artisan to include toothed second wings as a matter of duplication of parts. A skilled artisan would expect the toothed wings to make connection simple and convenient, as disclosed by Li (see paragraph [0048]), between both the first connection terminal and the signal transmission bus as well as between the first connection terminal and the flexible film electrical connector. The duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery pack signal acquisition device disclosed by Chan wherein a first connection terminal connected to an end of the electrical connector has toothed first wings for connecting the first connection terminal to the signal transmission bus and toothed second wings for connecting the first connection terminal to the flexible film electrical connector, as disclosed by Li, in order to make the connection simple and convenient.
Modified Chan’s invention differs in that the first connection terminal 111 itself is not crimped and the crimped portion 12 is separate.
However, in the same field of endeavor of electric assemblies with batteries, Kropsch discloses a first connection terminal 6.1 (first contact element) having a crimp connection in Fig. 2 (see paragraphs [0013] and [0026]). Kropsch further discloses crimp connections have safe and reliable production processes (see paragraph [0013]). This connection would realize an electrical connection between the first connection terminal and electric connection assembly.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery signal acquisition device disclosed by Chan by connecting the first connection terminal to the signal transmission bus and the first connection terminal to the flexible film electrical connector by crimp connection, as disclosed by Kropsch, in order to ensure safe and reliable production processes.
Further, the crimping being accomplished by puncture crimping is viewed as a product-by process claim, and therefore only the structure implied by the steps, i.e., a crimped portion, will be given patentable weight. Please see MPEP 2113 regarding product-by-process claims. It is within the ambit of one having ordinary skill in the art to decide the process best suited to produce their battery pack signal acquisition device.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Chan discloses the battery pack signal acquisition device according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Chan further discloses an electrical adapter (connecting terminal) 1 electrically connected with the electrical connection assembly 5 and the signal transmission bus 3 respectively in Figs. 1-3 (see paragraphs [0007] and [0040]).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Chan discloses the battery pack signal acquisition device according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Chan, Maue, and Kropsch are silent on wherein the body of the first connection terminal extends along a straight line, a first wing formed on each side of one end of the body, and a second wing formed on each side of the other end of the body; wherein the first wing and the second wing are symmetrically arranged at both ends of the body, so that the first wing and the second wing are interchangeable in use without distinction.
However, Li discloses a first connection terminal A comprising a body extending along a straight line, a first wing (bendable portion 33) formed on each side of one end of the body and a second wing 33 formed on each side of the other end of the body (pair of wings 33 on each end) in Fig. 6 (see paragraph [0047]);
wherein the first wing and the second wing are symmetrically arranged at both ends of the body, so that the first wing and the second wing are interchangeable in use without distinction (wings are staggered and symmetrical) in Fig. 6 (see paragraph [0050]). Since the wings are staggered and symmetrical, combined with the detachable nature of the first connection terminal 11 of Chan, the first connection terminal 11 would necessarily be interchangeable is use without distinction. Li further discloses the wings make connection simple and convenient (see paragraph [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery pack signal acquisition device disclosed by Chan by making the body of the first connection extend along a straight line, a first wing formed on each side of one end of the body, and a second wing formed on each side of the other end of the body; wherein the first wing and the second wing are symmetrically arranged at both ends of the body, so that the first wing and the second wing are interchangeable in use without distinction, as disclosed by Li, in order to make the connection simple and convenient.
Regarding Claims 12 and 13, modified Chan discloses the battery pack signal acquisition device according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Chan, Li, and Kropsch are silent on the flexible film electrical connector further including a fuse electrically connected with the conductive trace and the fuse including a surface mount fuse adapted to be mounted on the flexible film electrical connector in a surface mount manner and/or a conductive trace fuse formed on the flexible film electrical connector in the form of a conductive trace.
However, Maue discloses fuses 67 mounted on a housing 43 and within the housing is the flexible circuit board 55 in Fig. 3 (see paragraphs [0003]-[0005] of Detailed Description). The fuses 67 function to prevent short-circuit of the battery as is known to a person having ordinary skill in the art. The fuse disclosed by Maue is not connected directly to the flexible circuit board. It is within the ambit of a person having ordinary skill in the art to choose the best spot to place the fuse, i.e., where a problem is likely to occur.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery pack signal acquisition device disclosed by Chan by including a fuse integrated on the flexible film electrical connector and being electrically connected with the conductive trace and the fuse including a surface mount fuse adapted to be mounted on the flexible film electrical connector in a surface mount manner and/or a conductive trace fuse formed on the flexible film electrical connector in the form of a conductive trace, as disclosed by Maue, in order to prevent a short-circuit of the battery. It is further noted that this is a rearrangement of parts and matter of design choice, and it is within the ambit of one having ordinary skill in the art to choose a design that best fits their electrical assembly (see MPEP 2144.04, VI, C).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Chan discloses the battery pack signal acquisition device according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Chan additionally discloses the electrical connection assembly further includes a second connection terminal 12, one end of the second connection terminal is connected to the flexible film electrical connector and the other end is electrically connected to the bus bar of the battery cell (via the body of the signal acquisition harness 5) in Figs. 1-4 (see annotated figure 4 below) (see paragraph [0040]).
Regarding Claim 17, modified Chan discloses the battery pack signal acquisition device according to claim 16 (see rejection of claim 16 above).
Chan, Maue, and Li are silent on the electrical connection assembly further including a welding terminal to be welded to the battery cell, and the other end of the second connection terminal being connected with the welding terminal.
However, Kropsch discloses the second connection terminal 2 (cell connector) is connected to the pole of a battery cell 1.1 via a weld connection in Fig. 1 (see paragraph [0023]). Kropsch further discloses that connection via welding ensures a permanent connection (see paragraph [0010]), and it is also a known and obvious technique in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrical connection assembly disclosed by Chan by including a welding terminal to be welded to the battery cell, and the other end of the second connection terminal being connected with the welding terminal, as disclosed by Kropsch, in order to ensure a permanent connection.
Regarding Claim 18, modified Chan discloses the battery pack signal acquisition device according to claim 16 (see rejection of claim 16 above). Chan further discloses the electrical connection assembly further includes a temperature sensor assembly for detecting the temperature of the battery cell, and the temperature sensor assembly is electrically connected with the second connection terminal 12 (via signal acquisition harness 5 and signal collector 2) in Fig. 1 (see paragraphs [0007] and [0040]).
Regarding Claim 20, Chan discloses an electrical connection assembly 5 (signal acquisition harness) for electrically connecting a battery cell to a signal transmission bus (electrical connection tab) 3 in Figs. 1-3 (see paragraphs [0007] and [0040]) (it is noted that Chan does not explicitly teach a battery cell; however, the examiner finds that the person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention will easily understand that the power battery system disclosed by Chan necessarily includes at least one battery cell, since a power battery system cannot function as a battery without at least one battery cell MPEP 2112)),
wherein the electrical connection assembly 5 and the signal transmission bus 3 are respectively formed and electrically detachably connected with each other (via connecting terminal 1) in Figs. 1-3 (see paragraphs [0007] and [0040]). Chan discloses the electrical adapter 1 comprises a pair of connection terminals adapted to be mated with each other (clamping portion 11 and crimping portion 12), the pair of connection terminals 11 and 12 are electrically connected with the electrical connection assembly 5 and the signal transmission bus 3 respectively (via electrical adapter 1) in Fig. 1 and Figs. 4-6 (see paragraph [0041]), so that the electrical connection assembly 5 and the signal transmission bus 3 are detachably connected (see paragraphs [0015], [0019] and [0040]-[0041]). Chan discloses a clamping portion 11 with clamping pieces 111 and 112 where the signal transmission bus 3 is fixed in the interlayer space in Fig. 1 (see paragraph [0041]) . Since Chan teaches crimping of connection terminal 12, and since the instantly claimed invention includes limitations to crimping as being a detachable connection, it would be clear to the person having ordinary skill in the art that the crimping connection of Chan is necessarily detachable (see MPEP 2112). Additionally, crimping and clamping are functionally equivalent, and therefore a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand the clamping portion 11 is necessarily detachable as well.
Chan additionally discloses wherein the electrical connector assembly can be replaced separately without replacing the signal transmission bus. This is interpreted as functional claim language and as such does not add more limitations.
Regardless, Chan discloses the electrical adapter 1 comprises a pair of connection terminals adapted to be mated with each other (clamping portion 11 and crimping portion 12), the pair of connection terminals 11 and 12 are electrically connected with the electrical connection assembly 5 and the signal transmission bus 3 respectively (via electrical adapter 1) in Fig. 1 and Figs. 4-6 (see paragraph [0041]), so that the electrical connection assembly 5 and the signal transmission bus 3 are detachably connected (see paragraphs [0015], [0019] and [0040]-[0041]). Chan discloses a clamping portion 11 with clamping pieces 111 and 112 where the signal transmission bus 3 is fixed in the interlayer space in Fig. 1 (see paragraph [0041]) . Since Chan teaches crimping of connection terminal 12, and since the instantly claimed invention includes limitations to crimping as being a detachable connection, it would be clear to the person having ordinary skill in the art that the crimping connection of Chan is necessarily detachable (see MPEP 2112). Additionally, crimping and clamping are functionally equivalent, and therefore a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand the clamping portion 11 is necessarily detachable as well. As a result, a skilled artisan would be capable of replacing the electrically connector assembly 5 without replacing the signal transmission bus 3.
Chan is silent on the electrical connector being a flexible film electrical connector having a conductive trace, at least one fuse integrated on the flexible film electrical connector and electrically connected with the at least on conductive trace.
However, Maue discloses a flexible printed circuit board 55 in Figs. 1-4 , which is a flexible electrical connector with a flexible film carrier, on which a conductive trace is deposited (see paragraphs [0004] and [0009]-[0010] of Detailed Description). Maue further discloses this increases electric part quality and performance (see paragraph [0011] of Summary). Maue additionally discloses fuses 67 mounted on a housing 43 and within the housing is the flexible circuit board 55 in Fig. 3 (see paragraphs [0003]-[0005] of Detailed Description). The fuses 67 function to prevent short-circuit of the battery as is known to a person having ordinary skill in the art. The fuse disclosed by Maue is not connected directly to the flexible circuit board. It is within the ambit of a person having ordinary skill in the art to choose the best spot to place the fuse, i.e., where a problem is likely to occur.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery pack signal acquisition device disclosed by Chan wherein the electrical connector is a flexible film carrier with at least one conductive trace, at least one fuse integrated on the flexible film carrier and electrically connected with the at least on conductive trace, as disclosed by Maue, in order to increase electric part quality and performance and prevent a short-circuit of the battery. It is further noted that this is a rearrangement of parts and matter of design choice, and it is within the ambit of one having ordinary skill in the art to choose a design that best fits their electrical assembly (see MPEP 2144.04, VI, C).
Chan and Maue are silent on a first connection terminal having a body, the first connection terminal connected to an end of the flexible film electrical connector having toothed first wings for connecting the first connection terminal to the signal transmission bus.
However, in the same field of endeavor of battery pack signal acquisition devices, Li discloses a first connection terminal A comprising a body extending along a straight line, a first toothed wing (bendable portion 33) (see comparison of wing structures below) formed on each side of one end of the body and a second toothed wing 33 formed on each side of the other end of the body (pair of wings 33 on each end) in Fig. 6 (see paragraph [0047]).
Li Wings in Fig. 6
Instant Application Wings in Fig. 5
Li further discloses the wings make connection simple and convenient (see paragraph [0048]).
Li does not disclose toothed second wings for realizing a second connecting portion.
However, it is within the ambit of a skilled artisan to include toothed second wings as a matter of duplication of parts. A skilled artisan would expect the toothed wings to make connection simple and convenient, as disclosed by Li (see paragraph [0048]), between both the first connection terminal and the signal transmission bus as well as between the first connection terminal and the flexible film electrical connector. The duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery pack signal acquisition device disclosed by Chan wherein a first connection terminal connected to an end of the electrical connector has toothed first wings for connecting the first connection terminal to the signal transmission bus and toothed second wings for connecting the first connection terminal to the flexible film electrical connector, as disclosed by Li, in order to make the connection simple and convenient.
Modified Chan’s invention differs in that the first connection terminal 111 itself is not crimped and the crimped portion 12 is separate.
However, in the same field of endeavor of electric assemblies with batteries, Kropsch discloses a first connection terminal 6.1 (first contact element) having a crimp connection in Fig. 2 (see paragraphs [0013] and [0026]). Kropsch further discloses crimp connections have safe and reliable production processes (see paragraph [0013]). This connection would realize an electrical connection between the first connection terminal and electric connection assembly.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery signal acquisition device disclosed by Chan by connecting the first connection terminal to the signal transmission bus and the first connection terminal to the flexible film electrical connector by crimp connection, as disclosed by Kropsch, in order to ensure safe and reliable production processes.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan in view of Maue, Li, and Kropsch as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chesemore US-3531581-A (hereinafter referred to as Chesemore).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Chan discloses the battery pack signal acquisition device according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Chan, Maue, Li, and Kropsch are silent on wherein the body of the first connection terminal comprising a first body and a second body, one end of the second body is vertically connected to the middle part of the first body, so that the first connection terminal is in a T-shape.
However, in the same field of endeavor of electrical assemblies and terminal design, Chesemore discloses a T-shaped terminal 20 in with a first body 21 (head section) and a second body (outwardly extending pin section 22) in Fig. 3 (see paragraphs [0034]-[0035]). Chesemore further discloses the terminal is designed to slide easily into the slot (see paragraph [0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the first connection terminal disclosed by Chan, Maue, Li, and Kropsch by making the terminal such that it comprises a first body and a second body, with one end of the second body vertically connected to the middle part of the first body, so that the first connection terminal is in a T-shape, as disclosed by Chesemore, in order for the terminal to slide easily into the slot. It is also noted the T-shaped terminal is viewed as a change of shape and matter of design choice, and it is within the ambit of a person having ordinary skill in the art to choose a design that best fits their battery pack signal acquisition device (see MPEP 2144.04, IV, B).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan in view of Maue, Li, and Kropsch as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sun CN-206135034-U (hereinafter referred to as Sun).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Chan discloses the battery pack signal acquisition device according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Chan, Maue, Li, and Kropsch silent on wherein the body of the first connection terminal comprising a first body and a second body, one end of the second body is vertically connected to one end of the first body, so that the first connection terminal is in an L-shape.
However, in the same field of endeavor of electrical components, Sun discloses a connecting terminal 30 comprising a first body (end portion) 30a and a second body (end portion) 30b that is substantially L-shaped in Fig. 3 (see paragraph [0046]). Sun further discloses the shape is chosen based on connection requirements and provides convenient assembly (see paragraphs [0006] and [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to the first connection terminal disclosed by Chan, Maue, Li, and Kropsch by making the terminal such that it comprises a first body and a second body, one end of the second body being vertically connected to one end of the first body, so that the first connection terminal is in an L-shape, as disclosed by Sun, in order to provide convenient assembly. It is also noted the L-shaped terminal is viewed as a change of shape and matter of design choice, and it is within the ambit of a person having ordinary skill in the art to choose a design that best fits their battery pack signal acquisition device (see MPEP 2144.04, IV, B).
Claims 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan in view of Maue, Li, and Kropsch as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamada et al. WO-2020246111-A1 (hereinafter referred to as Yamada).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Chan discloses the battery pack signal acquisition device according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Chan, Maue, and Li are silent on the battery pack signal acquisition device comprising a plurality of electrical connectors arranged at an end and a side of the signal transmission bus, the flexible film electrical connector arranged at the side of the signal transmission bus being bent in a non-linear shape, and the electrical connector arranged at the end of the signal transmission bus not being bent.
However, in the same field of endeavor of electrical assemblies in batteries, Yamada discloses a flexible circuit board in which a plurality of electrical connectors (connections to terminals of batteries) are arranged on a signal transmission bus (bus bar) 20, the electrical connector 18 (connecting portion) arranged at the side of the signal transmission bus 20 being bent in a non-linear shape (bent part 18a) in Figs. 1 and 2 (see paragraphs [0025], [0027]). Yamada further discloses this wiring is advantageous for space saving (see paragraph [0009]). Yamada does is silent on the electrical connector 18 arranged at the end of the signal transmission bus 20 not being bent. However, as Yamada discloses the wiring is intended to save space, a skilled artisan could arrange the wiring in a way that saves the most space for their design, such as arranging the electrical connector on the end of the signal not being bent, as in the design disclosed by Kropsch in Fig. 1 (see paragraph [0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery pack signal acquisition device disclosed by Chan, Maue, and Li by having a plurality of electrical connectors arranged at an end and a side of the signal transmission bus, the electrical connector arranged at the side of the signal transmission bus being bent in a non-linear shape, and the flexible film electrical connector arranged at the end of the signal transmission bus not being bent, as disclosed by Yamada and Kropsch, in order to improve space saving measures. This is also viewed as a rearrangement of parts and matter of design choice, and it is within the ambit of one having ordinary skill in the art to choose a design that best fits their electrical assembly (see MPEP 2144.04, VI, C).
Regarding Claim 19, modified Chan discloses the battery pack signal acquisition device according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Chan, Maue, Li, and Kropsch are silent on the battery pack signal acquisition device comprising a bracket on which the signal transmission bus and the electrical connection assembly are installed.
However, in the same field of endeavor of electrical assemblies in batteries, Yamada discloses a hole 23 on the signal transmission bus 20 for connecting the signal transmission bus to the battery 3A in Fig. 1 (see paragraph [0031]). A skilled artisan would recognize the connection could be made via bracket, and that this would ensure a strong connection to the battery.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery pack signal acquisition device disclosed by Chan, Maue, Li, and Kropsch by including a bracket on which the signal transmission bus and the electrical connection assembly are installed, as disclosed by Yamada, in order to ensure a strong connection to the battery.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.L.K./
Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729