DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3, 5, and 7-18 are presented for examination based on the amended claims in the application filed on February 25, 2026. Claims 2 and 4 have been cancelled by the applicant.
Claims 1-3, 5, and 7-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception, an abstract idea, it has not been integrated into practical application and the claims further do not recite significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-10, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0105098 A1 Savulak et al. [herein “Savulak”] in view of US 2013/0093514 A1 Xu et al. [herein “Xu”], and in further view of US 2002/0042704 A1 Najm et al. [herein “Najm”].
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Savulak, Xu, and Najm as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ayodele, T. R., A. S. O. Ogunjuyigbe, and B. B. Adetokun. “Optimal capacitance selection for a wind-driven self-excited reluctance generator under varying wind speed and load conditions.” Applied Energy 190 (2017): 339-353 [herein “Ayodele”].
This action is made Non-Final.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed February 25, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 5, and 7-18 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed December 3, 2025. Examiner further acknowledges the applicant’s amendment to the claims renders examiner’s interpretation of the 112(f) limitation found in claim 9 moot as the claims can no longer be interpreted under 112(f).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 25, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 101
35 U.S.C. § 101 reads as follows:
Claims 1-3, 5, and 7-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception, an abstract idea, it has not been integrated into practical application and the claims further do not recite significantly more than the judicial exception. Examiner has evaluated the claims under the framework provided in the 2019 Patent Eligibility Guidance published in the Federal Register 01/07/2019 and has provided such analysis below.
Step 1:
Claims 1-3, 5, and 7-17, are directed to a device and fall within the statutory category of a machine; Claim 16 is directed to a method and falls within the statutory category of a process; Claims 17 is directed to a system and falls within the statutory category of a machine; and Claim 18 are directed to a non-transitory storage medium and falls within the statutory category of an articles of manufacture. Therefore, “Are the claims to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?” Yes.
In order to evaluate the Step 2A inquiry “Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea?” we must determine, at Step 2A Prong 1, whether the claim recites a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea and further whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2A Prong 1:
Claims 1 and 16-18: The limitations of:
“create a simulation model of a test circuit, the test circuit including: (1) a boost circuit configured to receive power from a power generation element and output, to a load circuit, a boosted power obtained by boosting the received power, the power generation element being configured to output a power smaller than power consumption of the load circuit, (2) a first capacitor provided between the power generation element and the boost circuit and configured to accumulate charge based on the received power from the power generation element and operate the boost circuit for a certain period of time by the accumulated charge, and (3) at least one of the power generation element or the load circuit; and (4) a second capacitor provided between the boost circuit and the load circuit, and configured to accumulate additional power required to operate the load circuit for the certain period of time when the power to be accumulated in the first capacitor is smaller than a driving power required to operate the load circuit for the certain period of time, wherein the first capacitor is different from the second capacitor”, and
“simulate, based on the simulation model, at least one of (A) a charging operation of the first capacitor or (B) a discharging operation from the first capacitor in the test circuit”,
“create a model of the power generation element based on the power generation element characteristic data”, as drafted, is a process that, but for the recitation of generic computing components, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or with pen and paper. For example, the limitations can be conducted as the following:
a person can mentally create or draw with pen and paper a model of an electrical circuit having electrical components such as the following:
a boost circuit such as a power amplifier that will converts a small power input from a power source into a larger power output for a load,
a first capacitor located between the power source and the boost circuit that will power the boost circuit for a given period of time after it is charged by the power source,
a power source such as solar panel and a load circuit such a device needing to be powered, and
a second capacitor that will be charged by the booster circuit to power the load for an extended period of time since the power provided by the first capacitor to the boost circuit will not be enough to drive a load circuit,
a person can mentally determine or draw with pen and paper the voltage drop, charging time, and discharging time of the first capacitor in the circuit using electrical circuit analysis equations and provided look-up tables providing characteristic and behaviors of electrical components, and
a person can mentally create or draw with pen and paper a model of the electrical circuit having these electrical components based generated data that describes the power source, such has output voltage and current generated by the power source and the determined characteristics of the capacitor.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or with pen and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea under Prong I step 2A.
Step 2A Prong 2:
Claims 1 and 16-18: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite the following additional elements: “A simulation device comprising: a memory storing instructions; and a processor in communication with the memory, wherein, when the processor executes the instructions from the memory, the processor is configured to cause the simulation device”, “A simulation method executed by a computer”, “A simulation system comprising an information terminal and a simulation device, wherein: the information terminal includes: a first memory storing instructions; and a first processor in communication with the first memory, wherein, when the first processor executes the instructions from the first memory, the first processor is configured to cause the information terminal”, “the simulation device includes: a second memory storing instructions; and a second processor in communication with the second memory, wherein, when the second processor executes the instructions from the second memory, the second processor is configured to cause the simulation device”, and “A non-transitory storage medium storing an information processing program executed by a computer” which are merely a recitation of generic computing components and functions being used as a tool to implement the judicial exception (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)) with the broadest reasonable interpretation, which does not integrate a judicial exception into elements. Further, the following additional elements “acquiring power generation element characteristic data indicating electrical characteristics of the power generation element”, “transmit, to the simulation device, power generation element characteristic data indicating electrical characteristics of a power generation element configured to output a power smaller than power consumption of a load circuit”, “display a result of simulation by the simulation device”, “acquire the power generation element characteristic data” and “transmit a result of simulation by the simulation unit to the information terminal” which is merely a recitation of insignificant extra-solution data gathering and data outputting activities (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)) which does not integrate a judicial exception into practical application. The insignificant extra-solution activities are further addressed below under step 2B as also being Well-Understood, Routine, and Conventional (WURC).
Therefore, “Do the claims recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?” No, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
After having evaluated the inquires set forth in Steps 2A Prong 1 and 2, it has been concluded that claims 1 and 16-18 not only recite a judicial exception but that the claims are directed to the judicial exception as the judicial exception has not been integrated into practical application.
Step 2B:
Claims 1 and 16-18: The claims do not include additional elements, alone or in combination, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than generic computing components which do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Further, the insignificant extra-solution data gathering, record update, and data transmission activities are also Well-Understood, Routine and Conventional (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II), “The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity. i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, ii. Performing repetitive calculations, iii. Electronic recordkeeping, iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory”. MPEP § 2106.05(g) recites “Below are examples of activities that the courts have found to be insignificant extra-solution activity: Mere Data Gathering: Performing clinical tests on individuals to obtain input for an equation, In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 839-40; 12 USPQ2d 1824, 1827-28 (Fed. Cir. 1989); Testing a system for a response, the response being used to determine system malfunction, In re Meyers, 688 F.2d 789, 794; 215 USPQ 193, 196-97 (CCPA 1982).”).
Therefore, “Do the claims recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?” No, these additional elements, alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Having concluded the analysis within the provided framework, claims 1 and 16-18 do not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Regarding claim 2, it recites an additional limitation of “wherein: power generation element is smaller than a driving power of the boost circuit, and power to be accumulated in the first capacitor is greater than the power generated by the power generation element for the certain period of time, in consideration of a driving power required to operate the boost circuit for the certain period of time”, as drafted, is a process that, but for the recitation of generic computing components, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or with pen and paper. For example, a person can mentally create or draw with pen and paper a model of an electrical circuit having a first capacitor that charges by a small power input from a power source such as solar panel for a given time and discharges to power a boost circuit which amplifies the voltage to drive a load circuit for a given period of time.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or with pen and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea under Prong I step 2A.
Regarding claim 3, it recites an additional limitation of “wherein: the power to be accumulated in the first capacitor is greater than the driving power required to operate the load circuit for the certain period of time”, as drafted, is a process that, but for the recitation of generic computing components, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or with pen and paper. For example, a person can mentally create or draw with pen and paper a model of an electrical circuit having a first capacitor that charges by a small power input from a power source such as solar panel for a given time and discharges to power a boost circuit which amplifies the voltage to drive a load circuit for a given period of time.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or with pen and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea under Prong I step 2A.
Regarding claim 5, it recites an additional limitation of “wherein: a second boost circuit is connected between the second capacitor and the load circuit”, as drafted, is a process that, but for the recitation of generic computing components, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or with pen and paper. For example, a person can mentally create or draw with pen and paper a model of an electrical circuit having a first capacitor that charges by a small power input from a power source such as solar panel for a given time and discharges to power a boost circuit which amplifies the voltage and having a second capacitor that is charged by the booster circuit to power and discharges to power a second boost circuit which amplifies the voltage further to drive a load circuit for an extended period of time.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or with pen and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea under Prong I step 2A.
Regarding claim 7, it recites an additional element recitation of “wherein: the power generation element characteristic data indicates a relationship between an output voltage and an output current of the power generation element” which is merely an insignificant extra-solution data gathering activity (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)). Further, the insignificant extra-solution data gathering, record update, and data transmission activities are also Well-Understood, Routine and Conventional (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II), “The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity. i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, ii. Performing repetitive calculations, iii. Electronic recordkeeping, iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory”. MPEP § 2106.05(g) recites “Below are examples of activities that the courts have found to be insignificant extra-solution activity: Mere Data Gathering: Performing clinical tests on individuals to obtain input for an equation, In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 839-40; 12 USPQ2d 1824, 1827-28 (Fed. Cir. 1989); Testing a system for a response, the response being used to determine system malfunction, In re Meyers, 688 F.2d 789, 794; 215 USPQ 193, 196-97 (CCPA 1982).”).
Further, this claim does not recite any further additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional elements amount to significantly more, this claim also fails both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claim is directed to the judicial exception as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claim 7 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Regarding claim 8, it recites an additional element recitation of “wherein: the simulation device is configured to acquire the power generation element characteristic data measured in an element measurement circuit connected to a network and the power generation element, via the network” which is merely an insignificant extra-solution data gathering activity (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)). Further, the insignificant extra-solution data gathering, record update, and data transmission activities are also Well-Understood, Routine and Conventional (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II), “The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity. i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, ii. Performing repetitive calculations, iii. Electronic recordkeeping, iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory”. MPEP § 2106.05(g) recites “Below are examples of activities that the courts have found to be insignificant extra-solution activity: Mere Data Gathering: Performing clinical tests on individuals to obtain input for an equation, In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 839-40; 12 USPQ2d 1824, 1827-28 (Fed. Cir. 1989); Testing a system for a response, the response being used to determine system malfunction, In re Meyers, 688 F.2d 789, 794; 215 USPQ 193, 196-97 (CCPA 1982).”). Further, this claim does not recite any further additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional elements amount to significantly more, this claim also fails both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claim is directed to the judicial exception as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claim 8 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Regarding claim 9, it recites an additional limitation of “wherein: refer to a database in which a plurality of electrical characteristics of a plurality of the power generation elements and a plurality of power generation element model candidates are associated with each other, and selects a power generation element model candidate that corresponds to electrical characteristics indicated by the power generation element characteristic data acquired from the plurality of power generation element model candidates to create a model of the power generation element”, as drafted, is a process that, but for the recitation of generic computing components, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or with pen and paper. For example, a person can mentally create or draw with pen and paper a model of an electrical circuit having a boost circuit that converts a small power input from a power source such as solar panel into a larger power output for a load circuit and having a capacitor that powers the boost circuit for a given period of time by selecting a power source model that contains components such as a voltage source and impedance that correspond to the generated data that describes the power source.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or with pen and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea under Prong I step 2A.
Furthermore, regarding claim 9, it recites additional element recitation of “the simulation device is configured to” is merely a recitation of generic computing components and functions being used as a tool to implement the judicial exception (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)) which does not integrate a judicial exception into practical application. Further, this claim does not recite any further additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional element amounts to significantly more, this claim also fails both Step 2A prong 2, thus this claim is directed to the judicial exception as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claim 9 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Regarding claim 10, it recites an additional limitation of “wherein: simulate an operation in which, in a case where an output power of the first capacitor is equal to or greater than a threshold, the boost circuit outputs a power obtained by boosting the output power to an electronic device”, as drafted, is a process that, but for the recitation of generic computing components, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or with pen and paper. For example, a person can mentally determine or draw with pen and paper the voltage drop, charging time, and discharging time of the first capacitor in the circuit using electrical circuit analysis equations, selecting a capacitor that can apply enough power through its capacitance for the boost circuit to drive the load of an electronic device based on the load driving power greater than or equal to a threshold power, and provided look-up tables providing characteristic and behaviors of electrical components.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or with pen and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea under Prong I step 2A.
Furthermore, regarding claim 10, it recites additional element recitation of “the simulation device is configured to” is merely a recitation of generic computing components and functions being used as a tool to implement the judicial exception (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)) which does not integrate a judicial exception into practical application. Further, this claim does not recite any further additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional element amounts to significantly more, this claim also fails both Step 2A prong 2, thus this claim is directed to the judicial exception as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claim 10 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Regarding claim 11, it recites an additional limitation of “perform simulation based on the simulation model of the test circuit including the first capacitor, the first capacitor having a capacitance determined based on electrical characteristics of the load circuit connected for use to an electronic circuit corresponding to the simulation model”, as drafted, is a process that, but for the recitation of generic computing components, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or with pen and paper. For example, a person can mentally determine or draw with pen and paper the voltage drop, charging time, and discharging time of the first capacitor in the circuit using electrical circuit analysis equations, selecting a capacitor that can apply enough power through its capacitance for the boost circuit to drive the load based on the load driving power, and provided look-up tables providing characteristic and behaviors of electrical components.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or with pen and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea under Prong I step 2A.
Furthermore, regarding claim 11, it recites additional element recitation of “the simulation device is configured to” is merely a recitation of generic computing components and functions being used as a tool to implement the judicial exception (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)) which does not integrate a judicial exception into practical application. Further, this claim does not recite any further additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional element amounts to significantly more, this claim also fails both Step 2A prong 2, thus this claim is directed to the judicial exception as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claim 11 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Regarding claim 12, it recites an additional limitation of “simulate an operation of charging the first capacitor, the first capacitor having a capacitance determined based on the electrical characteristics indicated by the characteristic data” as drafted, is a process that, but for the recitation of generic computing components, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or with pen and paper. For example, a person can mentally determine or draw with pen and paper the voltage and charging time of the first capacitor in the circuit using electrical circuit analysis equations, selecting a capacitor that can apply enough power through its capacitance for the boost circuit to drive the load based on the load driving power, and provided look-up tables providing characteristic and behaviors of electrical components.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or with pen and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea under Prong I step 2A.
Furthermore, regarding claim 12, it recites additional element recitation of “the simulation device is configured to” and “wherein, when the processor executes the instructions from the memory, the processor is configured to further cause the simulation device” is merely a recitation of generic computing components and functions being used as a tool to implement the judicial exception (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)) which does not integrate a judicial exception into practical application. Further, this claim recites an additional element recitation of “acquire characteristic data indicating electrical characteristics of an electronic device measured in a device measurement circuit connected to a network and the electronic device, via the network” which is merely an insignificant extra-solution data gathering activity (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)). Further, the insignificant extra-solution data gathering, record update, and data transmission activities are also Well-Understood, Routine and Conventional (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II), “The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity. i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, ii. Performing repetitive calculations, iii. Electronic recordkeeping, iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory”. MPEP § 2106.05(g) recites “Below are examples of activities that the courts have found to be insignificant extra-solution activity: Mere Data Gathering: Performing clinical tests on individuals to obtain input for an equation, In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 839-40; 12 USPQ2d 1824, 1827-28 (Fed. Cir. 1989); Testing a system for a response, the response being used to determine system malfunction, In re Meyers, 688 F.2d 789, 794; 215 USPQ 193, 196-97 (CCPA 1982).”). Further, this claim does not recite any further additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional elements amount to significantly more, this claim also fails both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claim is directed to the judicial exception as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claim 12 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Regarding claim 13, it recites an additional element recitation of “wherein: the simulation device is configured to acquire, as the characteristic data, an operation time of the electronic device for a predetermined time, and a current profile indicating a relationship between time and an input current” which is merely an insignificant extra-solution data gathering activity (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)). Further, the insignificant extra-solution data gathering, record update, and data transmission activities are also Well-Understood, Routine and Conventional (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II), “The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity. i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, ii. Performing repetitive calculations, iii. Electronic recordkeeping, iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory”. MPEP § 2106.05(g) recites “Below are examples of activities that the courts have found to be insignificant extra-solution activity: Mere Data Gathering: Performing clinical tests on individuals to obtain input for an equation, In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 839-40; 12 USPQ2d 1824, 1827-28 (Fed. Cir. 1989); Testing a system for a response, the response being used to determine system malfunction, In re Meyers, 688 F.2d 789, 794; 215 USPQ 193, 196-97 (CCPA 1982).”). Further, this claim does not recite any further additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional elements amount to significantly more, this claim also fails both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claim is directed to the judicial exception as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claim 13 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Regarding claim 14, it recites an additional limitation of “wherein: calculate an average consumption current during operation of the electronic device based on the operation time of the electronic device and the current profile” as drafted, is a process that, but for the recitation of generic computing components, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation of mathematical evaluations. For example, calculating the average current of a load can be conducted dividing the total current consumed by the load by the amount of time the current was supplied to the load (Para. 0042 has an equation to determine the average current of the load).
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation of mathematic evaluations but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mathematical Operation” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea under Prong I step 2A.
Furthermore, regarding claim 14, it recites additional limitation of “wherein: calculate an average consumption current during operation of the electronic device based on the operation time of the electronic device and the current profile” and “replace the electronic device with a resistive element having a resistance value corresponding to the average consumption current of the electronic device to create a simulation model of the load circuit”, as drafted, is a process that, but for the recitation of generic computing components, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or with pen and paper. For example, a person can mentally determine or draw with pen and paper the average current of a load by dividing the total current consumed by the load by the amount of time the current was supplied to the load, and a person can mentally create or draw with pen and paper a model of an electrical circuit having a boost circuit that converts a small power input from a power source such as solar panel into a larger power output for a load circuit and having a capacitor that powers the boost circuit for a given period of time by selecting a resistor as a representative load that corresponds to the resistive value that would consume the same average current as the load.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or with pen and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea under Prong I step 2A.
Furthermore, regarding claim 14, it recites additional element recitation of “the simulation device is configured to” is merely a recitation of generic computing components and functions being used as a tool to implement the judicial exception (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)) which does not integrate a judicial exception into practical application. Further, this claim does not recite any further additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional elements amount to significantly more, this claim also fails both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claim is directed to the judicial exception as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claim 14 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Regarding claim 15, it recites an additional limitation of “wherein: simulate an operation in which some of a power charged to the first capacitor is supplied to the electronic device while the first capacitor is being charged using the power generated by the power generation element, based on the simulation model in which a model of the power generation element, a model of the first capacitor, and an electronic device model corresponding to the electrical characteristics of the electronic device are connected to each other”, as drafted, is a process that, but for the recitation of generic computing components, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or with pen and paper. For example, a person can mentally determine or draw with pen and paper the voltage and charging time of the first capacitor in the circuit, for the first capacitor that can supply enough voltage for the boost circuit to drive a load using models of the power source, capacitor, and load that are representatives using electrical circuit analysis equations.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or with pen and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea under Prong I step 2A.
Furthermore, regarding claim 15, it recites additional element recitation of “the simulation device is configured to” is merely a recitation of generic computing components and functions being used as a tool to implement the judicial exception (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)) which does not integrate a judicial exception into practical application. Further, this claim does not recite any further additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional elements amount to significantly more, this claim also fails both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claim is directed to the judicial exception as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claim 15 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Therefore, having concluded the analysis within the provided framework, claims 1-3, 5, and 7-18 do not recite patent eligible subject matter and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception, an abstract idea, that has not been integrated into a practical application. The claims further do not recite significantly more than the judicial exception. Claims 2-3, 5, and 7-15 are also rejected for incorporating the deficiency of their dependent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-10, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0105098 A1 Savulak et al. [herein “Savulak”] in view of US 2013/0093514 A1 Xu et al. [herein “Xu”], and in further view of US 2002/0042704 A1 Najm et al. [herein “Najm”].
As per claim 1, Savulak teaches “the test circuit including: (1) a boost circuit configured to receive power from a power generation element and output, to a load circuit, a boosted power obtained by boosting the received power, the power generation element being configured to output a power smaller than power consumption of the load circuit”. (Para. 0019, “a typical energy harvesting system 10” [test circuit] “includes a low voltage energy harvester 12, such as an inertial generator or solar panel” [a power generation element], “a boost converter 14 for raising the low voltage from the energy harvester 12 to a nominal level for a specific load” [a boost circuit configured to receive power from a power generation element and output, to a load circuit, a boosted power obtained by boosting the received power]. Para. 0021, “the boost converter 114 is configured to receive power at a first voltage at the input, and to supply power at a higher second voltage from the output” [the power generation element being configured to output a power smaller than power consumption of the load circuit]. Further see Para. 0019-0024. The examiner has interpreted that an energy harvesting system that includes a boost convert for raising the low voltage from an energy harvester to nominal level for a load which is higher than the input voltage to the boost converter as the test circuit including: (1) a boost circuit configured to receive power from a power generation element and output, to a load circuit, a boosted power obtained by boosting the received power, the power generation element being configured to output a power smaller than power consumption of the load circuit.)
Savulak teaches “(2) a first capacitor provided between the power generation element and the boost circuit and configured to accumulate charge based on the received power from the power generation element and operate the boost circuit for a certain period of time by the accumulated charge”. (Para. 0021, “a second state, shown in FIG. 3 connecting the capacitor 118 to supply input voltage to the input 120 of the boost converter 114” [a first capacitor provided between the power generation element and the boost circuit]. Para. 0024, “switching to the second state includes: disconnecting the power source from the boost converter; and connecting the capacitor to the input of the boost capacitor to supply power to the load from the capacitor” [operate the boost circuit for a certain period of time]. Fig. 5 shows at block 208 that the capacitor is charged by the harvester, e.g. configured to accumulate charge based on the received power from the power generation element, and shows at block 204 that the capacitor powers the boost converter when voltage nodes reach certain thresholds, e.g., operate the boost circuit for a certain period of time by the accumulated charge. Further see Para. 0019-0024. The examiner has interpreted that connecting a capacitor to the input supply voltage and to the input of the boost convert to power a load when the capacitor has been charged by the harvester and voltage nodes meet certain thresholds as a first capacitor provided between the power generation element and the boost circuit and configured to accumulate charge based on the received power from the power generation element and operate the boost circuit for a certain period of time by the accumulated charge.)
Savulak teaches “(3) at least one of the power generation element or the load circuit”. (Para. 0019, “a typical energy harvesting system 10 includes a low voltage energy harvester 12, such as an inertial generator or solar panel” [a power generation element], “a boost converter 14 for raising the low voltage from the energy harvester 12 to a nominal level for a specific load” [the load circuit]. Further see Para. 0019-0024. The examiner has interpreted that including a low voltage energy harvester and a specific load as at least one of the power generation element or the load circuit.)
Savulak does not specifically teach “(4) a second capacitor provided between the boost circuit and the load circuit, and configured to accumulate additional power required to operate the load circuit for the certain period of time when the power to be accumulated in the first capacitor is smaller than a driving power required to operate the load circuit for the certain period of time, wherein the first capacitor is different from the second capacitor”.
However, in the same field of endeavor namely designing electrical power circuits, Xu teaches “(4) a second capacitor provided between the boost circuit and the load circuit, and configured to accumulate additional power required to operate the load circuit for the certain period of time when the power to be accumulated in the first capacitor is smaller than a driving power required to operate the load circuit for the certain period of time, wherein the first capacitor is different from the second capacitor”. (Para. 0038, “Accordingly, as shown in FIG. 5, another example circuit combines the buck-boost converter (102) of FIG. 4 with an energy storage element, illustrated as a capacitor (108), connected between the buck boost converter (102) and the PA (106)” [a second capacitor provided between the boost circuit and the load circuit] “Similar to FIG. 4, the positive terminal of the battery (104) is connected to an input of the converter (102)” [the first capacitor].Para. 0039, “In FIG. 5, the supercapacitor (108) can handle a large portion of the PA current. In this example, the buck-boost converter (102) functions as a current source that helps supply current during the PA transmission (resulting in less voltage drop on the supercapacitor), and that charges the supercapacitor (108) during non-transmission periods” [e.g., configured to accumulate additional power required to operate the load circuit for the certain period of time when the power to be accumulated in the first capacitor is smaller than a driving power required to operate the load circuit for the certain period of time]. Fig. 5 shows that the battery is connected before buck-boost circuit 102, and the buck boost is connector to load prior to the capacitor 108, e.g. wherein the first capacitor is different from the second capacitor. Further see Para. 0038-0039. The examiner has interpreted that connecting a battery to a buck-boost converter and connecting a capacitor after buck-boast charger toa load to supply current from the buck-boost convert that is charged during non-transmission (4) a second capacitor provided between the boost circuit and the load circuit, and configured to accumulate additional power required to operate the load circuit for the certain period of time when the power to be accumulated in the first capacitor is smaller than a driving power required to operate the load circuit for the certain period of time, wherein the first capacitor is different from the second capacitor.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add “(4) a second capacitor provided between the boost circuit and the load circuit, and configured to accumulate additional power required to operate the load circuit for the certain period of time when the power to be accumulated in the first capacitor is smaller than a driving power required to operate the load circuit for the certain period of time, wherein the first capacitor is different from the second capacitor”, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Xu, into that of Savulak because this modification of adding a second capacitor for the advantageous purpose of delivering a higher output power to the load and reducing the size of the capacitor (Xu, Para. 0038-0039). Further motivation to combine be that Savulak and Xu are analogous art to the current claim are directed to designing electrical power circuits.
Savulak and Xu do not specifically teach “A simulation device comprising: a memory storing instructions; and a processor in communication with the memory, wherein, when the processor executes the instructions from the memory, the processor is configured to cause the simulation device to: create a simulation model of a test circuit”, “simulate, based on the simulation model, at least one of (A) a charging operation of the first capacitor or (B) a discharging operation from the first capacitor in the test circuit”, “acquire power generation element characteristic data indicating electrical characteristics of the power generation element”, and “create a model of the power generation element based on the power generation element characteristic data”.
However, in the same field of endeavor namely designing electrical power circuits, Najm teaches “A simulation device comprising: a memory storing instructions; and a processor in communication with the memory, wherein, when the processor executes the instructions from the memory, the processor is configured to cause the simulation device to: create a simulation model of a test circuit”. (Para. 0037, “The user input typically causes the system 1000 to perform specific desired information-processing tasks, including circuit characterization and/or circuit simulation” [a simulation device]. “The system 1000 in part uses the computer device 1005 to perform those tasks. The computer device 1005 includes an information-processing circuitry, such as a central-processing unit (CPU), although one may use more than one CPU or information-processing circuitry, as persons skilled in the art would understand” [a processor]. Para. 0041, “computer-readable medium 1025 interrelates structurally and functionally to the computer device 1005. The computer-readable medium 1025 stores, encodes, records, and/or embodies functional descriptive material. By way of illustration, the functional descriptive material may include computer programs, computer code, computer applications, and/or information structures (e.g., data structures or file systems). When stored, encoded, recorded, and/or embodied by the computer-readable medium 1025, the functional descriptive material imparts functionality. The functional descriptive material interrelates to the computer-readable medium 1025” [a memory storing instructions]. Para. 0042, “Moreover, within such functional descriptive material, computer programs define structural and functional interrelations between the computer programs and the computer-readable medium 1025 and other aspects of the system 1000” [a processor in communication with the memory, wherein, when the processor executes the instructions from the memory, the processor is configured to cause the simulation device]. Para. 0032, “Each cell or module typically constitutes a circuit that includes a collection of circuit elements” [test circuit]. Para. 0053, “The auto-mapper 1105 processes the cell information within the input file 1100 and determines an appropriate methodology for characterizing the cell (unless the input file 1100 specifies a particular characterization methodology). Characterization methodology for a cell generally takes into account the cell's boundary network, e.g., the structure of the load circuitry applied to the cell's output or outputs and the structure of the source circuitry applied to the cell's input or inputs” [a model creation unit configured to create a model of a test circuit]. Para. 0053, “The auto-mapper 1105 specifies the structure of the stimuli to apply to the input or inputs of the cell as well which output or outputs of the cell to observe. In other words, the auto-mapper 1105 uses the information in the input file 1100 to generate specifications for simulating the cell's behavior (as described below in more detail)” [model for simulating]. Further see Para. 0036-0037 and 0042-0054. The examiner has interpreted that a system that includes a cpu and computer-readable medium that stores computer programs, computer code, computer applications, and/or information structures for functional interrelations between the computer programs and the computer-readable medium 1025 and other aspects of the system that performs circuit simulation on a circuit after it characterizes the cells boundary and structure of the cell to simulate the cell’s behavior as a simulation device comprising: a memory storing instructions; and a processor in communication with the memory, wherein, when the processor executes the instructions from the memory, the processor is configured to cause the simulation device to: create a simulation model of a test circuit.)
Najm teaches “simulate, based on the simulation model, at least one of (A) a charging operation of the first capacitor or (B) a discharging operation from the first capacitor in the test circuit.” (Para. 0032, “Each cell or module typically constitutes a circuit that includes a collection of circuit elements” [test circuit]. Para. 0054, “the specifications include a list of arcs for the characterization manager 1110 and the associated simulation managers 1115A-1115N to use to simulate the cell” [simulate, based on the simulation model]. Para. 0092, “Power (or energy) characteristics of an arbitrary cell or circuit may include several types of power, such as internal power, hidden power, switching power, and leakage power.” Para. 0092, “Switching power, also known as capacitive or output power, concerns the consumption of power to charge and discharge an effective load capacitance at an output of the cell” [at least one of (A) a charging operation of the first capacitor or (B) a discharging operation from the first capacitor in the test circuit]. Further see Para. 0036-0037, 0046-0054, and Para. 0091-0092. The examiner has interpreted that using simulation managers to simulate the cell power characteristics including the consumption of power to charge and discharge a capacitance of the cell as a simulate, based on the simulation model, at least one of (A) a charging operation of the first capacitor or (B) a discharging operation from the first capacitor in the test circuit.)
Najm teaches “acquire power generation element characteristic data indicating electrical characteristics of the power generation element.” (Para. 0048, “The characterization tool receives its input via an input file 1100” [acquire]. “The input file 1100 contains a functional or behavioral specification of the circuitry or cell that the user wishes to characterize. The input file 1100 may include, for example, the input and output leads or pins of a cell, the relationship between the input and output leads or pins of the cell, and the functional description of the cell” [characteristic data indicating electrical characteristics]. Para. 0103, “To characterize the power or dynamic energy attributes (i.e., power or dynamic energy dissipated by or delivered by) of a cell in a multiple-power-supply circuit according to the invention, one calculates the total dynamic energy or power provided by or consumed by the power supplies and subtracts from it the energy or power component of the load or loads. Also, one may account for the power or energy components of the input source or sources” [characterization of power generation element]. Further see Para. 0045-0051 and 0101-0105. The examiner has interpreted that a characterization tool that receives an input that contains function and behavioral specification of the circuity that describes input and output relationship as acquire power generation element characteristic data indicating electrical characteristics of the power generation element.)
Najm teaches “create a model of the power generation element based on the power generation element characteristic data”. (Para. 0051. “The Liberty (.lib) models generated according to specifications” [creates a model based on the characteristic data]. Para. 0053, “the auto-mapper 1105 uses the information in the input file 1100 to generate specifications” [creates a model based on the characteristic data].Para. 0103, “To characterize the power or dynamic energy attributes (i.e., power or dynamic energy dissipated by or delivered by) of a cell in a multiple-power-supply circuit according to the invention, one calculates the total dynamic energy or power provided by or consumed by the power supplies and subtracts from it the energy or power component of the load or loads. Also, one may account for the power or energy components of the input source or sources” [characterization of power generation element]. Para. 0065, “A model generator 1125 uses the data residing within the characterization database 1120 to generate models (e.g., timing or power models) for the cells within the circuit” [e.g., create a model of the power generation element based on the power generation element characteristic data]. Further see Para. 0045-0051, 0065-0070 and 0101-0105. The examiner has interpreted generated models according to their specifications for the cell, load, and input source generate from the input file and characterize the power energy attributes to account for the components of the input source as create a model of the power generation element based on the power generation element characteristic data.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add “A simulation device comprising: a memory storing instructions; and a processor in communication with the memory, wherein, when the processor executes the instructions from the memory, the processor is configured to cause the simulation device to: create a simulation model of a test circuit”, “simulate, based on the simulation model, at least one of (A) a charging operation of the capacitor or (B) a discharging operation from the capacitor in the test circuit”, “acquire power generation element characteristic data indicating electrical characteristics of the power generation element”, and “create a model of the power generation element based on the power generation element characteristic data”, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Najm, into that of Savulak and Xu because this modification of inputting characteristics for creating a model of the circuit for a simulation for the advantageous purpose of identifying any problems early in the design process of an integrated-circuit device (Najm, Para. 0003). Further motivation to combine be that Savulak, Xu, and Najm are analogous art to the current claim are directed to designing electrical power circuits.
As per claim 2, Savulak teaches “wherein: the power generated by the power generation element is smaller than a driving power of the boost circuit, and power to be accumulated in the first capacitor is greater than the power generated by the power generation element for the certain period of time, in consideration of a driving power required to operate the boost circuit for the certain period of time.” (Para. 0019, “a typical energy harvesting system 10 includes a low voltage energy harvester 12, such as an inertial generator or solar panel, a boost converter 14 for raising the low voltage from the energy harvester 12 to a nominal level for a specific load” [the power generated by the power generation element is smaller than a driving power of the boost circuit]. Para. 0021, “the boost converter 114 is configured to receive power at a first voltage at the input, and to supply power at a higher second voltage from the output” [Further, the power generated by the power generation element is smaller than a driving power of the boost circuit]. Para. 0024, “the method also includes switching to a second state, indicated by box 204 in FIG. 5, of the power supply system to supply power to the load when power from the power source is insufficient, e.g., below the first predetermined limit K, and the voltage of the capacitor is below the minimum acceptable level for the load, e.g., the capacitor voltage is below the second predetermined limit L. Switching to the second state includes: disconnecting the power source from the boost converter; and connecting the capacitor to the input of the boost capacitor to supply power to the load from the capacitor” [and power to be accumulated in the first capacitor is greater than the power generated by the power generation element for the certain period of time in consideration of a driving power required to operate the boost circuit for the certain period of time]. Furthermore, Fig. 5 shows at block 204 that after a case where the capacitor is charged by the harvester (208), that the capacitor powers the boast converter, e.g., power to be accumulated in the first capacitor is greater than the power generated by the power generation element for the certain period of time, in consideration of a driving power required to operate the boost circuit for the certain period of time. Further see Para. 0019-0024. The examiner has interpreted that configuring the boost convert to receive power from the energy harvester and supply a load with a higher voltage and charging a capacitor with the power source to power the boost converter when the power from the source is insufficient as wherein the power generated by the power generation element is smaller than a driving power of the boost circuit, and power to be accumulated in the first capacitor is greater than the power generated by the power generation element for the certain period of time, in consideration of a driving power required to operate the boost circuit for the certain period of time.)
As per claim 3, Savulak teaches “wherein: the power to be accumulated in the first capacitor is greater than the driving power required to operate the load circuit for the certain period of time.” (Para. 0024, “the method also includes switching to a second state, indicated by box 204 in FIG. 5, of the power supply system to supply power to the load when power from the power source is insufficient, e.g., below the first predetermined limit K, and the voltage of the capacitor is below the minimum acceptable level for the load, e.g., the capacitor voltage is below the second predetermined limit L. Switching to the second state includes: disconnecting the power source from the boost converter; and connecting the capacitor to the input of the boost capacitor to supply power to the load from the capacitor” [wherein the power to be accumulated in the first capacitor is greater than the driving power required to operate the load circuit for the certain period of time]. Fig. 5 shows at block 204 that the capacitor powers the boost converter when voltage nodes reach certain thresholds to power the load, e.g., the test circuit in which the power to be accumulated in the first capacitor is greater than the driving power required to operate the load circuit for the certain period of time. Further see Para. 0019-0024. The examiner has interpreted that connecting the capacitor to power the boost converter to supply power to the load when the power from the source is insufficient as wherein the power to be accumulated in the first capacitor is greater than the driving power required to operate the load circuit for the certain period of time.)
As per claim 4, Savulak teaches “the test circuit comprises a second capacitor between the boost circuit and the load circuit, and, in the test circuit, the power to be accumulated in the capacitor is smaller than a driving power required to operate the load circuit for the certain period of time and the second capacitor is configured to accumulate the power required to operate the load circuit for the certain period of time”. (Para. 0025, “that switching from the second state to the first state can include connecting the capacitor to a charge network, e.g., charge network 134, before connecting the capacitor to the output of the boost converter in the event that the capacitor voltage is below a predetermined threshold L, as indicated by box 208 in FIG. 5, at the time of switching to the first state in order to avoid starving the load when connecting the capacitor to the output of the boost converter” [the test circuit comprises the power to be accumulated in the capacitor is smaller than a driving power required to operate the load circuit for the certain period of time and the second capacitor is configured to accumulate the power required to operate the load circuit for the certain period of time]. Furthermore, Fig. 2 – 4 show the charge network after the boost converter and prior to the load. Further see Para. 0019-0024. The examiner has interpreted that having the charge network after the boost converter and prior to the load for the purpose of avoiding to starve the load when the capacitor voltage is below a certain threshold as the test circuit comprises a second capacitor between the boost circuit and the load circuit, and, in the test circuit, the power to be accumulated in the capacitor is smaller than a driving power required to operate the load circuit for the certain period of time and the second capacitor is configured to accumulate the power required to operate the load circuit for the certain period of time.)
As per claim 5, Savulak does not specifically teach “wherein: a second boost circuit is connected between the second capacitor and the load circuit”.
However, in the same field of endeavor namely designing electrical power circuits, Xu teaches “wherein a second boost circuit is connected between the second capacitor and the load circuit”. (Para. 0044, “a power source is shown as a battery (204)” [e.g., a first capacitor] “and a load is shown as a power amplifier (PA) (206). The positive terminal of the battery (204) is connected to an input of a buck-boost charger (210)” [e.g., a first boost circuit ] “and the output of the charger (210) is connected to the input of a buck-boost converter (202)” [e.g., a second boost circuit] . “The output of the buck-boost converter (202) is connected to the load PA (206)” [load circuit]. “One terminal of the capacitor (206) is connected to the output of the buck-boost charger (210) and the input of the buck-boost converter (202), and the other terminal of the capacitor (208) is connected to circuit ground” [e.g., wherein a second boost circuit is connected between the second capacitor and the load circuit]. Fig. 7 shows that the buck-boost circuit 202 is connected after a first boost circuit 210 and capacitor but before the load, e.g., second boost circuit is connected between the second capacitor and the load circuit. Additionally, Para. 0046, “a battery (304) is connected to a buck-boost charger (310) that is connected with a capacitor (308) and a buck-boost converter (302). The buck-boost converter (302) is connected to the load, that is, power amplifier (306).” Further see Para. 0045-0048. The examiner has interpreted that connecting a buck-boost converter before a load and after a capacitor and buck-boast charger as wherein: second boost circuit is connected between the second capacitor and the load circuit.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add “wherein: second boost circuit is connected between the second capacitor and the load circuit”, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Xu, into that of Savulak because this modification of adding a second boost circuit for the advantageous purpose of delivering a higher output power to the load and reducing the size of the capacitor (Xu, Para. 0045-0047). Further motivation to combine be that Savulak and Xu are analogous art to the current claim are directed to designing electrical power circuits.
As per claim 7, Savulak and Xu do not specifically teach “wherein: the power generation element characteristic data indicates a relationship between an output voltage and an output current of the power generation element.”
However, Najm teaches “wherein: the power generation element characteristic data indicating a relationship between an output voltage and an output current of the power generation element.” (Para. 0048, “The characterization tool receives its input via an input file 1100” [acquires]. “The input file 1100 contains a functional or behavioral specification of the circuitry or cell that the user wishes to characterize. The input file 1100 may include, for example, the input and output leads or pins of a cell, the relationship between the input and output leads or pins of the cell, and the functional description of the cell” [characteristic data indicating electrical characteristics at the output]. Para. 0033, “As part of cell characterization, the characterization tool measures the responses of the cell or circuit at one or more characterization points and records those responses in the form of a characteristic equation or, alternatively, a characterization table. A characterization point refers to a set of one or more of voltage, current, temperature, and process for which the tool characterizes a cell or circuit” [characteristic data indicates output voltage and an output current]. Para. 0034, “The desired models for a cell or circuit determine what measurements a tool will take. Measurements may cover various quantities, for example, power and timing. Power measurements determine how much power a cell or circuit consumes as it operates” [characteristic data indicates power measurements, e.g., relationship between voltage and current]. Para. 0103, “To characterize the power or dynamic energy attributes (i.e., power or dynamic energy dissipated by or delivered by) of a cell in a multiple-power-supply circuit according to the invention, one calculates the total dynamic energy or power provided by or consumed by the power supplies and subtracts from it the energy or power component of the load or loads. Also, one may account for the power or energy components of the input source or sources” [characterization of power generation element]. Further see Para. 0032-0036, 0045-0051 and 0101-0105. The examiner has interpreted that a characterization tool that receives an input that contains function and behavioral specification of the circuity that describes input and output relationship and measures responses of the circuit such as voltage and current to determine power which the circuit consumes according to the circuit specifications for the cell, load, and input source as wherein: the power generation element characteristic data indicates a relationship a relationship between an output voltage and an output current of the power generation element.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add “wherein: the power generation element characteristic data indicates a relationship a relationship between an output voltage and an output current of the power generation element”, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Najm, into that of Savulak and Xu because this modification of inputting characteristics for creating a model of the circuit for a simulation for the advantageous purpose of identifying any problems early in the design process of an integrated-circuit device (Najm, Para. 0003). Further motivation to combine be that Savulak, Xu, and Najm are analogous art to the current claim are directed to designing electrical power circuits.
As per claim 8, Savulak and Xu do not specifically teach “wherein: the simulation device is configured to acquire the power generation element characteristic data measured in an element measurement circuit connected to a network and the power generation element, via the network.”
However, Najm teaches “wherein: the simulation device is configured to acquire the power generation element characteristic data measured in an element measurement circuit connected to a network and the power generation element, via the network.” (Para. 0048, “The characterization tool receives its input via an input file 1100” [wherein: the simulation device is configured to acquire]. “The input file 1100 contains a functional or behavioral specification of the circuitry or cell that the user wishes to characterize. The input file 1100 may include, for example, the input and output leads or pins of a cell, the relationship between the input and output leads or pins of the cell, and the functional description of the cell” [characteristic data]. Para. 0033, “As part of cell characterization, the characterization tool measures the responses of the cell or circuit at one or more characterization points and records those responses in the form of a characteristic equation or, alternatively, a characterization table. A characterization point refers to a set of one or more of voltage, current, temperature, and process for which the tool characterizes a cell or circuit” [characteristic data measured in an element measurement circuit]. Para. 0089, “FIGS. 4A and 4B show sign conventions for characterizing power and energy”. FIGS. 4A and 4B also show that the characterization tool utilizes a circuit with the cell under test connected to the source to characterize the circuit. Para. 0103, “To characterize the power or dynamic energy attributes (i.e., power or dynamic energy dissipated by or delivered by) of a cell in a multiple-power-supply circuit according to the invention, one calculates the total dynamic energy or power provided by or consumed by the power supplies and subtracts from it the energy or power component of the load or loads. Also, one may account for the power or energy components of the input source or sources” [the power generation element characteristic data measured]. Para. 0047, “The characterization tool may run or execute on a computer, such as the computer device 1005 in FIG. 1, or on a set or network of associated computers” [connected to a network, via the network]. Further see Para. 0032-0036, 0045-0051, 0089-0092, and 0101-0105. The examiner has interpreted that a characterization tool through a network that receives an input that contains function and behavioral specification of the circuity that describes input and output relationship and measures responses of the circuit such as voltage and current while connecting the circuit cells to a source to determine the power characteristics and similar for the input source as wherein: the simulation device is configured to acquire the power generation element characteristic data measured in an element measurement circuit connected to a network and the power generation element, via the network.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add “wherein the data acquisition unit acquires the power generation element characteristic data measured in an element measurement circuit connected to a network and the power generation element, via the network”, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Najm, into that of Savulak and Xu because this modification of inputting characteristics for creating a model of the circuit for a simulation for the advantageous purpose of identifying any problems early in the design process of an integrated-circuit device (Najm, Para. 0003). Further motivation to combine be that Savulak, Xu, and Najm are analogous art to the current claim are directed to designing electrical power circuits.
As per claim 9, Savulak and Xu do not specifically teach “wherein: the simulation device is configured to refer to a database in which a plurality of electrical characteristics of a plurality of the power generation elements and a plurality of power generation element model candidates are associated with each other, and selects a power generation element model candidate that corresponds to electrical characteristics indicated by the power generation element characteristic data acquired by the data acquisition unit from the plurality of power generation element model candidates to create a model of the power generation element.”
However, Najm teaches “wherein: the simulation device is configured to refer to a database in which a plurality of electrical characteristics of a plurality of the power generation elements and a plurality of power generation element model candidates are associated with each other, and selects a power generation element model candidate that corresponds to electrical characteristics indicated by the power generation element characteristic data acquired by the data acquisition unit from the plurality of power generation element model candidates to create a model of the power generation element.” (Para. 0048, “The characterization tool receives its input via an input file 1100. The input file 1100 contains a functional or behavioral specification of the circuitry or cell that the user wishes to characterize. The input file 1100 may include, for example, the input and output leads or pins of a cell, the relationship between the input and output leads or pins of the cell, and the functional description of the cell” [electrical characteristic data acquired by the data acquisition unit]. Para. 0033, “As part of cell characterization, the characterization tool measures the responses of the cell or circuit at one or more characterization points and records those responses in the form of a characteristic equation or, alternatively, a characterization table. A characterization point refers to a set of one or more of voltage, current, temperature, and process for which the tool characterizes a cell or circuit” [characteristic data measured in an element measurement circuit]. Para. 0065, “the characterization database 1120 includes characterization results for the cells in the design” [wherein: the simulation device is configured to refer to a database in which a plurality of electrical characteristics of a plurality of the elements]. “A model generator 1125 uses the data residing within the characterization database 1120 to generate models (e.g., timing or power models) for the cells within the circuit. The models that the model generator 1125 produces serve as input files to simulation engines or simulators” [and a plurality of model candidates are associated with each other, and selects a model candidate that corresponds to electrical characteristics indicated unit from the plurality of model candidates to create a model]. Para. 0103, “To characterize the power or dynamic energy attributes (i.e., power or dynamic energy dissipated by or delivered by) of a cell in a multiple-power-supply circuit according to the invention, one calculates the total dynamic energy or power provided by or consumed by the power supplies and subtracts from it the energy or power component of the load or loads. Also, one may account for the power or energy components of the input source or sources” [conducted for cells of the circuit in addition to power generation element]. Further see Para. 0045-0051, 0064-0070, and 0101-0105. The examiner has interpreted that a characterization tool that receives an input that contains function and behavioral specification of the circuity that describes input and output relationship and through analyzing the results of the characterization database for the cells generates models according to their specifications for the cell, load, and input source to be used in the simulation as wherein: the simulation device is configured to refer to a database in which a plurality of electrical characteristics of a plurality of the power generation elements and a plurality of power generation element model candidates are associated with each other, and selects a power generation element model candidate that corresponds to electrical characteristics indicated by the power generation element characteristic data acquired by the data acquisition unit from the plurality of power generation element model candidates to create a model of the power generation element.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add “wherein: the simulation device is configured to refer to a database in which a plurality of electrical characteristics of a plurality of the power generation elements and a plurality of power generation element model candidates are associated with each other, and selects a power generation element model candidate that corresponds to electrical characteristics indicated by the power generation element characteristic data acquired by the data acquisition unit from the plurality of power generation element model candidates to create a model of the power generation element”, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Najm, into that of Savulak and Xu because this modification of inputting characteristics for creating a model of the circuit for a simulation for the advantageous purpose of identifying any problems early in the design process of an integrated-circuit device (Najm, Para. 0003). Further motivation to combine be that Savulak, Xu, and Najm are analogous art to the current claim are directed to designing electrical power circuits.
As per claim 10, Savulak teaches “[wherein the simulation device is configured to simulate] an operation in which, in a case where an output power of the first capacitor is equal to or greater than a threshold, the boost circuit outputs a power obtained by boosting the output power to an electronic device.” (Para. 0021, “the boost converter 114 is configured to receive power at a first voltage at the input, and to supply power at a higher second voltage from the output” [the boost circuit outputs a power obtained by boosting the output power to an electronic device]. Para. 0024, “the method also includes switching to a second state, indicated by box 204 in FIG. 5, of the power supply system to supply power to the load when power from the power source is insufficient, e.g., below the first predetermined limit K, and the voltage of the capacitor is below the minimum acceptable level for the load, e.g., the capacitor voltage is below the second predetermined limit L. Switching to the second state includes: disconnecting the power source from the boost converter; and connecting the capacitor to the input of the boost capacitor to supply power to the load from the capacitor” [an operation in which, in a case where using capacitor voltage when power source voltage is not sufficient for supplying power to a load, e.g., an output power of the first capacitor is equal to or greater than a threshold for the output power to a load]. Furthermore, Fig. 5 shows at block 204 that after a case where the capacitor is charged by the harvester (208), that the capacitor powers the boast converter, e.g., the boost circuit outputs a power obtained by boosting the output power from the capacitor. Para. 0020, “a traditional energy harvesting circuit, does a good job of extracting the low voltage energy of the source, and provides a backup source of energy with the super capacitor 18, a typical low power electrical load will not effectively use all the energy stored during the super capacitor charge phase. For example, with a typical 3.3V load circuit, many analog integrated circuits will cease to function at about 2.3V and numerous high performance microcontrollers lose I/O functionality at 3.15V” [e.g., electronic device]. Further see Para. 0019-0024. The examiner has interpreted that configuring the boost convert to receive power from the capacitor and to supply an electrical load with a higher voltage when the power from the source is insufficient an operation in which, in a case where an output power of the first capacitor is equal to or greater than a threshold, the boost circuit outputs a power obtained by boosting the output power to an electronic device.)
Savulak and Xu do not specifically teach “wherein the simulation device is configured to simulate an operation in which, in a case where an output power of the first capacitor is equal to or greater than a threshold, the boost circuit outputs a power obtained by boosting the output power to an electronic device.”
However, Najm teaches “wherein the simulation device is configured to simulate an operation in which, in a case where an output power of the first capacitor is equal to or greater than a threshold, the boost circuit outputs a power obtained by boosting the output power to an electronic device.” (Para. 0037, “The user input typically causes the system 1000 to perform specific desired information-processing tasks, including circuit characterization and/or circuit simulation” [wherein the simulation device is configured to simulate an operation]. Para. 0069, “A simulator may subsequently use a model from the appropriate model database to perform simulation of part or all of the circuit that contains the CUTs. From the results of the simulation run or runs, the user may obtain a desired characterization of the circuit” [further, wherein the simulation unit simulates an operation]. Further see Para. 0036-0037, 0046-0054, and 0058-0070. Additionally, Para. 0092, “Switching power, also known as capacitive or output power, concerns the consumption of power to charge and discharge an effective load capacitance at an output of the cell” [switch to capacitor for powering a load, e.g., an output power of the first capacitor is equal to or greater than a threshold]. Further see Para. 0037 and 0069. The examiner has interpreted that a system that performs circuit simulation on a circuit using models from a database to perform simulation of the entire circuit as wherein the simulation device is configured to simulate an operation.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add “wherein the simulation device is configured to simulate an operation”, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Najm, into that of Savulak and Xu because this modification of creating a model of the circuit for simulation for the advantageous purpose of identifying any problems early in the design process of an integrated-circuit device (Najm, Para. 0003). Further motivation to combine be that Savulak, Xu, and Najm are analogous art to the current claim are directed to designing electrical power circuits.
Re Claim 16, it is a method claim, having similar limitations of claim 1. Thus, claim 16 is also rejected under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 1.
Re Claim 17, it is a method claim, having similar limitations of claim 1. Thus, claim 17 is also rejected under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 1.
Furthermore, regarding claim 17, Savulak and Xu does not specifically teach “A simulation system comprising an information terminal and a simulation device, wherein the information terminal includes: a first memory storing instructions; and a first processor in communication with the first memory, wherein, when the first processor executes the instructions from the first memory, the first processor is configured to cause the information terminal to: to transmit, to the simulation device, power generation element characteristic data indicating electrical characteristics of a power generation element”, “display a result of simulation by the simulation device”, “the simulation device includes: a second memory storing instructions; and a second processor in communication with the second memory, wherein, when the second processor executes the instructions from the second memory, the second processor is configured to cause the simulation device to acquire the power generation element characteristic data”, and “transmit a result of simulation by the simulation unit to the information terminal.”
However, Najm teaches “A simulation system comprising an information terminal and a simulation device, wherein the information terminal includes: a first memory storing instructions; and a first processor in communication with the first memory, wherein, when the first processor executes the instructions from the first memory, the first processor is configured to cause the information terminal to: to transmit, to the simulation device, power generation element characteristic data indicating electrical characteristics of a power generation element.” (Para. 0036, “The system 1000 includes a computer device 1005, an input device 1010”. Para. 0037, “The user input typically causes the system 1000 to perform specific desired information-processing tasks, including circuit characterization and/or circuit simulation” [A simulation system comprising an information terminal and a simulation device]. “The system 1000 in part uses the computer device 1005 to perform those tasks. The computer device 1005 includes an information-processing circuitry, such as a central-processing unit (CPU), although one may use more than one CPU or information-processing circuitry, as persons skilled in the art would understand” [a first processor]. Para. 0041, “computer-readable medium 1025 interrelates structurally and functionally to the computer device 1005. The computer-readable medium 1025 stores, encodes, records, and/or embodies functional descriptive material. By way of illustration, the functional descriptive material may include computer programs, computer code, computer applications, and/or information structures (e.g., data structures or file systems). When stored, encoded, recorded, and/or embodied by the computer-readable medium 1025, the functional descriptive material imparts functionality. The functional descriptive material interrelates to the computer-readable medium 1025” [a first memory storing instructions]. Para. 0042, “Moreover, within such functional descriptive material, computer programs define structural and functional interrelations between the computer programs and the computer-readable medium 1025 and other aspects of the system 1000” [and a first processor in communication with the first memory, wherein, when the first processor executes the instructions from the first memory]. Para. 0038, “the input device 1010 receives input from the user and makes that input available to the computer device 1005 for processing” [the information terminal to transmit, to the simulation device]. “The user input may include data, instructions, or both, as desired. The input device 1010 may constitute an alphanumeric input device (e.g., a keyboard), a pointing device (e.g., a mouse, roller-ball, light pen, touch-sensitive apparatus, for example, a touch-sensitive display, or tablet), or both” [information terminal]. Para. 0048, “The characterization tool receives its input via an input file 1100. The input file 1100 contains a functional or behavioral specification of the circuitry or cell that the user wishes to characterize. The input file 1100 may include, for example, the input and output leads or pins of a cell, the relationship between the input and output leads or pins of the cell, and the functional description of the cell” [characteristic data indicating electrical characteristics]. Para. 0103, “To characterize the power or dynamic energy attributes (i.e., power or dynamic energy dissipated by or delivered by) of a cell in a multiple-power-supply circuit according to the invention, one calculates the total dynamic energy or power provided by or consumed by the power supplies and subtracts from it the energy or power component of the load or loads. Also, one may account for the power or energy components of the input source or sources” [characterization of power generation element]. Further see Para. 0035-0039, 0041-0051 and 0101-0105. The examiner has interpreted that a system that includes a cpu and computer-readable medium that stores computer programs, computer code, computer applications, and/or information structures for functional interrelations between the computer programs and the computer-readable medium and other aspects of the system that receiving an input through a input devices for a characterization tool that to determine behavioral specification of the circuity that describes input and output relationship for circuit simulation of the power source and cells of the circuit as a simulation system comprising an information terminal and a simulation device, wherein the information terminal includes: a first memory storing instructions; and a first processor in communication with the first memory, wherein, when the first processor executes the instructions from the first memory, the first processor is configured to cause the information terminal to: to transmit, to the simulation device, power generation element characteristic data indicating electrical characteristics of a power generation element.)
Najm teaches “display a result of simulation by the simulation device”. (Para. 0036, “The system 1000 includes a computer device 1005, an input device 1010, a video/display device 1015, and a storage/output device 1020” [a display unit]. Para. 0037, “The user input typically causes the system 1000 to perform specific desired information-processing tasks, including circuit characterization and/or circuit simulation”. Para. 0039, “the video/display device 1015 displays visual images to the user. The visual images may include information about the operation of the computer device 1005, such as graphs, pictures, images, and text” [i.e., display a result of simulation by the simulation device]. Further see Para. 0035-0039. The examiner has interpreted that the system that includes a video/display device that displays information about the operation of the computer device that performs circuit simulations as display a result of simulation by the simulation device.)
Najm teaches “the simulation device includes: a second memory storing instructions; and a second processor in communication with the second memory, wherein, when the second processor executes the instructions from the second memory, the second processor is configured to cause the simulation device to acquire the power generation element characteristic data”. (Para. 0036, “The system 1000 in part uses the computer device 1005 to perform those tasks. The computer device 1005 includes an information-processing circuitry, such as a central-processing unit (CPU), although one may use more than one CPU or information-processing circuitry, as persons skilled in the art would understand” [a second processor]. Para. 0045, “the computer-readable medium 1025 may include a set of associated, interrelated, or networked computer-readable media, for example, when the computer device 1005 receives the functional descriptive material from a network of computer devices or information-processing systems” [a second memory storing instructions; and a second processor in communication with the second memory, wherein, when the second processor executes the instructions from the second memory]. Para. 0048, “The characterization tool receives its input via an input file 1100” [the simulation device to acquire]. “The input file 1100 contains a functional or behavioral specification of the circuitry or cell that the user wishes to characterize. The input file 1100 may include, for example, the input and output leads or pins of a cell, the relationship between the input and output leads or pins of the cell, and the functional description of the cell” [characteristic data indicating electrical characteristics]. Para. 0103, “To characterize the power or dynamic energy attributes (i.e., power or dynamic energy dissipated by or delivered by) of a cell in a multiple-power-supply circuit according to the invention, one calculates the total dynamic energy or power provided by or consumed by the power supplies and subtracts from it the energy or power component of the load or loads. Also, one may account for the power or energy components of the input source or sources” [characterization of power generation element]. Further see Para. 0035-0039, 0045-0051 and 0101-0105. The examiner has interpreted that a system that includes a cpu and computer-readable medium that stores computer programs, computer code, computer applications, and/or information structures for functional interrelations between the computer programs and the computer-readable medium and other aspects of the system that includes a set of computer-readable media receives the functional descriptive material from a network of computer devices or information-processing systems through the use of more than one cpu that receives an input that contains function and behavioral specification of the circuity that describes input and output relationship and generated models according to their specifications for the cell, load, and input source as the simulation device includes: a second memory storing instructions; and a second processor in communication with the second memory, wherein, when the second processor executes the instructions from the second memory, the second processor is configured to cause the simulation device to acquire the power generation element characteristic data.)
Najm teaches “transmit a result of simulation by the simulation unit to the information terminal.” (Para. 0037, “The user input typically causes the system 1000 to perform specific desired information-processing tasks, including circuit characterization and/or circuit simulation”. Para. 0038, “The input device 1010 may constitute an alphanumeric input device (e.g., a keyboard), a pointing device (e.g., a mouse, roller-ball, light pen, touch-sensitive apparatus, for example, a touch-sensitive display, or tablet), or both” [information terminal]. Para. 0036, “The system 1000 includes a computer device 1005, an input device 1010, a video/display device 1015, and a storage/output device 1020” [a display unit]. Para. 0039, “the video/display device 1015 displays visual images to the user. The visual images may include information about the operation of the computer device 1005, such as graphs, pictures, images, and text” [i.e., a result of simulation by the simulation unit]. “The video/display device may constitute a computer monitor or display, a projection device, and the like, as persons of ordinary skill in the art would understand. If a system uses a touch-sensitive display, the display may also operate to provide user input to the computer device 1005” [e.g., communication, i.e., transmit]. Further see Para. 0035-0039. The examiner has interpreted that a system that includes a video/display device that both receives information to perform a circuit simulation and also displays information about the operation of the computer device that performs circuit simulations as transmit a result of simulation by the simulation unit to the information terminal.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add “A simulation system comprising an information terminal and a simulation device, wherein the information terminal includes: a first memory storing instructions; and a first processor in communication with the first memory, wherein, when the first processor executes the instructions from the first memory, the first processor is configured to cause the information terminal to: to transmit, to the simulation device, power generation element characteristic data indicating electrical characteristics of a power generation element”, “display a result of simulation by the simulation device”, “the simulation device includes: a second memory storing instructions; and a second processor in communication with the second memory, wherein, when the second processor executes the instructions from the second memory, the second processor is configured to cause the simulation device to acquire the power generation element characteristic data”, and “transmit a result of simulation by the simulation unit to the information terminal”, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Najm, into that of Savulak and Xu because this modification of inputting characteristics for creating a model of the circuit and generating a simulation for the advantageous purpose of identifying any problems early in the design process of an integrated-circuit device (Najm, Para. 0003). Further motivation to combine be that Savulak, Xu, and Najm are analogous art to the current claim are directed to designing electrical power circuits.
Re Claim 18, it is an articles of manufacture claim, having similar limitations of claim 1. Thus, claim 18 is also rejected under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 1.
Furthermore, regarding claim 18, Savulak and Xu do not specifically “A non-transitory storage medium storing an information processing program executed by a computer”.
However, Najm teaches “A non-transitory storage medium storing an information processing program executed by a computer”. (Para. 0041, “the computer-readable medium 1025 interrelates structurally and functionally to the computer device 1005. The computer-readable medium 1025 stores, encodes, records, and/or embodies functional descriptive material. By way of illustration, the functional descriptive material may include computer programs, computer code, computer applications, and/or information structures (e.g., data structures or file systems)”. Further see Para. 0041-0045. The examiner has interpreted that a computer-readable medium stores computer programs to enable functionally to a computer device as A non-transitory storage medium storing an information processing program executed by a computer.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add “A non-transitory storage medium storing an information processing program executed by a computer”, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Najm, into that of Savulak and Xu because this modification of using a storage medium to perform the functions of the computer for the advantageous purpose of permitting the realization of conducting circuit simulations to identify any problems early in the design process of an integrated-circuit device (Najm, Para. 0042 & 0003). Further motivation to combine be that Savulak, Xu, and Najm are analogous art to the current claim are directed to designing electrical power circuits.
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Savulak, Xu, and Najm as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ayodele, T. R., A. S. O. Ogunjuyigbe, and B. B. Adetokun. “Optimal capacitance selection for a wind-driven self-excited reluctance generator under varying wind speed and load conditions.” Applied Energy 190 (2017): 339-353 [herein “Ayodele”].
As per claim 11, Savulak, Xu, nor Najm teach “wherein: simulation device is configured to perform simulation based on the simulation model of the test circuit including the first capacitor, the first capacitor having a capacitance determined based on electrical characteristics of the load circuit connected for use to an electronic circuit corresponding to the simulation model.”
However, in the same field of endeavor namely designing electrical power circuits, Ayodele teaches “wherein: simulation device is configured to perform simulation based on the simulation model of the test circuit including the first capacitor, the first capacitor having a capacitance determined based on electrical characteristics of the load circuit connected for use to an electronic circuit corresponding to the simulation model.” (Pg. 344 Sect. 5, “The algorithm is built in such a way that if there are more than one capacitance values that give the specified voltage criterion for any wind speed value within the specified range, the minimum value is selected as the optimal capacitance (Copt). The above procedure is repeated for other load impedance values to obtain the characteristic relationships between the optimal capacitance, wind speed, and the load. Fig. 5 depicts a representative flow chart for the algorithm that determines Copt for each speed value at specified load impedances” [the first capacitor having a capacitance determined based on electrical characteristics of the load circuit connected]. Pg. 342 Sect. 3, “From Eqs. (9) and (10), the steady state equivalent circuit for the SERG is developed with the excitation capacitor and RL load connected. C, RL and LL represent the excitation capacitance, load resistance and load inductance respectively. This is shown in Fig. 3” [connected for use to an electronic circuit corresponding to the model]. Pg. 345 Sect. 6, “This section presents the results obtained from the mathematical models developed in the previous section under constant and varying conditions of wind speed, load impedances and power factor” [wherein: simulation device is configured to perform simulation based on the simulation model of the test circuit including the first capacitor]. Fig. 7 shows the results of the modeled test electronic circuit in the simulation. Further see section Sect. 5 & 6. The examiner has interpreted that determining an optimal capacitance from the specified load impedances and running a simulation on the model of the generator with the capacitor and load as wherein the simulation unit performs simulation based on the simulation model of the test circuit including the first capacitor, the first capacitor having a capacitance determined based on electrical characteristics of the load circuit connected for use to an electronic circuit corresponding to the simulation model.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add “wherein: simulation device is configured to perform simulation based on the simulation model of the test circuit including the first capacitor, the first capacitor having a capacitance determined based on electrical characteristics of the load circuit connected for use to an electronic circuit corresponding to the simulation model”, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Ayodele, into that of Savulak, Xu, and Najm because this modification of determine the capacitance of the capacitor based on the load characteristics for the advantageous purpose of optimizing the capacitor capacitance and efficiency of the circuit (Ayodele, Pg. 341 Sect. 1). Further motivation to combine be that Savulak, Xu, Najm, and Ayodele are analogous art to the current claim are directed to designing electrical power circuits.
As per claim 12, Savulak and Xu do not specifically teach “wherein: when the processor executes the instructions from the memory, the processor is configured to further cause the simulation device to: acquire characteristic data indicating electrical characteristics of the electronic device measured in a device measurement circuit connected to a network and the electronic device, via the network” and “wherein the simulation is configured to simulate an operation of charging the first capacitor, the first capacitor having a capacitance determined based on the electrical characteristics indicated by the characteristic data.”
However, Najm teaches “wherein: when the processor executes the instructions from the memory, the processor is configured to further cause the simulation device to: acquire characteristic data indicating electrical characteristics of the electronic device measured in a device measurement circuit connected to a network and the electronic device, via the network.” (Para. 0042, “Moreover, within such functional descriptive material, computer programs define structural and functional interrelations between the computer programs and the computer-readable medium 1025 and other aspects of the system 1000” [wherein: when the processor executes the instructions from the memory, the processor is configured to further cause the simulation device]. Para. 0048, “The characterization tool receives its input via an input file 1100” [the simulation device to acquire]. “The input file 1100 contains a functional or behavioral specification of the circuitry or cell that the user wishes to characterize. The input file 1100 may include, for example, the input and output leads or pins of a cell, the relationship between the input and output leads or pins of the cell, and the functional description of the cell” [characteristic data indicating electrical characteristics]. Para. 0033, “As part of cell characterization, the characterization tool measures the responses of the cell or circuit at one or more characterization points and records those responses in the form of a characteristic equation or, alternatively, a characterization table. A characterization point refers to a set of one or more of voltage, current, temperature, and process for which the tool characterizes a cell or circuit” [electrical characteristics measured in a device measurement circuit]. Para. 0103, “To characterize the power or dynamic energy attributes (i.e., power or dynamic energy dissipated by or delivered by) of a cell in a multiple-power-supply circuit according to the invention, one calculates the total dynamic energy or power provided by or consumed by the power supplies and subtracts from it the energy or power component of the load or loads” [electronic device electrical characteristic data measured]. Para. 0047, “The characterization tool may run or execute on a computer, such as the computer device 1005 in FIG. 1, or on a set or network of associated computers” [connected to a network, via the network]. Further see Para. 0032-0036, 0042-0051, and 0101-0105. The examiner has interpreted that a system that includes a cpu and computer-readable medium that stores computer programs, computer code, computer applications, and/or information structures for functional interrelations between the computer programs and the computer-readable medium and other aspects of the system that a characterization tool through a network that receives an input that contains function and behavioral specification of the circuity that describes input and output relationship and measures responses of the circuit such as power consumed by the circuit load as wherein: when the processor executes the instructions from the memory, the processor is configured to further cause the simulation device to: acquire characteristic data indicating electrical characteristics of the electronic device measured in a device measurement circuit connected to a network and the electronic device, via the network.)
Najm teaches “wherein the simulation is configured to simulate an operation of charging the first capacitor, [the first capacitor having a capacitance determined based on the electrical characteristics indicated by the characteristic data.]”. (Para. 0054, “the specifications include a list of arcs for the characterization manager 1110 and the associated simulation managers 1115A-1115N to use to simulate the cell” [wherein the simulation is configured to simulate an operation]. Para. 0092, “Power (or energy) characteristics of an arbitrary cell or circuit may include several types of power, such as internal power, hidden power, switching power, and leakage power.” Para. 0092, “Switching power, also known as capacitive or output power, concerns the consumption of power to charge and discharge an effective load capacitance at an output of the cell” [an operation of charging the first capacitor]. Further see Para. 0036-0037 and Para. 0091-0092. The examiner has interpreted that using simulation managers to simulate the cell power characteristics including the consumption of power to charge and discharge a capacitance of the cell as a wherein the simulation is configured to simulate an operation of charging the first capacitor.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add “wherein: when the processor executes the instructions from the memory, the processor is configured to further cause the simulation device to: acquire characteristic data indicating electrical characteristics of the electronic device measured in a device measurement circuit connected to a network and the electronic device, via the network” and “wherein the simulation is configured to simulate an operation of charging the first capacitor”, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Najm, into that of Savulak and Xu because this modification of inputting characteristics for creating a model of the circuit for simulation for the advantageous purpose of identifying any problems early in the design process of an integrated-circuit device (Najm, Para. 0003). Further motivation to combine be that Savulak, Xu, and Najm are analogous art to the current claim are directed to designing electrical power circuits.
Najm does not specifically teach “wherein the simulation is configured to simulate an operation of charging the capacitor, the first capacitor having a capacitance determined based on the electrical characteristics indicated by the characteristic data.”
However, Ayodele teaches “wherein the simulation is configured to simulate an operation of charging the capacitor, the first capacitor having a capacitance determined based on the electrical characteristics indicated by the characteristic data.” (Pg. 344 Sect. 5, “The algorithm is built in such a way that if there are more than one capacitance values that give the specified voltage criterion for any wind speed value within the specified range, the minimum value is selected as the optimal capacitance (Copt). The above procedure is repeated for other load impedance values to obtain the characteristic relationships between the optimal capacitance, wind speed, and the load. Fig. 5 depicts a representative flow chart for the algorithm that determines Copt for each speed value at specified load impedances” [the first capacitor having a capacitance determined based on electrical characteristics indicated by the characteristic data]. Pg. 345 Sect. 6, “This section presents the results obtained from the mathematical models developed in the previous section under constant and varying conditions of wind speed, load impedances and power factor” [wherein the simulation is configured to simulate based on the simulation model of the test circuit including the first capacitor]. Fig. 7 shows the results of the modeled test electronic circuit in the simulation. Further see section Sect. 5 & 6. The examiner has interpreted that determining an optimal capacitance from the specified load impedances and running a simulation on the model of the generator with the capacitor and load as wherein the simulation is configured to simulate an operation of the first capacitor, the first capacitor having a capacitance determined based on the electrical characteristics indicated by the characteristic data.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add “the first capacitor having a capacitance determined based on electrical characteristics of the load circuit connected for use to an electronic circuit corresponding to the simulation model”, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Ayodele, into that of Savulak, Xu, and Najm because this modification of determine the capacitance of the capacitor based on the load characteristics for the advantageous purpose of optimizing the capacitor capacitance and efficiency of the circuit (Ayodele, Pg. 341 Sect. 1). Further motivation to combine be that Savulak, Xu, Najm, and Ayodele are analogous art to the current claim are directed to designing electrical power circuits.
As per claim 13, Savulak and Xu do not specifically teach “wherein: the simulation device is configured to acquire, as the characteristic data, an operation time of the electronic device for a predetermined time, and a current profile indicating a relationship between time and an input current.”
However, Najm teaches “wherein: the simulation device is configured to acquire, as the characteristic data, an operation time of the electronic device for a predetermined time, and a current profile indicating a relationship between time and an input current.” (Para. 0048, “The characterization tool receives its input via an input file 1100. The input file 1100 contains a functional or behavioral specification of the circuitry or cell that the user wishes to characterize. The input file 1100 may include, for example, the input and output leads or pins of a cell, the relationship between the input and output leads or pins of the cell, and the functional description of the cell” [wherein: the simulation device is configured to acquire, as the characteristic data]. Para. 0033, “As part of cell characterization, the characterization tool measures the responses of the cell or circuit at one or more characterization points and records those responses in the form of a characteristic equation or, alternatively, a characterization table. A characterization point refers to a set of one or more of voltage, current, temperature, and process for which the tool characterizes a cell or circuit” [a current profile]. “For a given characterization point, the tool typically measures a cell's response with respect to various input transition times and capacitive loads to determine the cell's behavior” [an operation time of the electronic device for a predetermined time]. Para. 0103, “To characterize the power or dynamic energy attributes (i.e., power or dynamic energy dissipated by or delivered by) of a cell in a multiple-power-supply circuit according to the invention, one calculates the total dynamic energy or power provided by or consumed by the power supplies and subtracts from it the energy or power component of the load or loads” [total power of the load, e.g., current over time]. Additionally, Para. 0078-0079, “To calculate power, one differentiates the energy with respect to time. Conversely, to calculate energy, one integrates power over the desired period of time. Thus, a circuit characterization system according to the invention, for example as shown in FIG. 2, may calculate or characterize the circuit's or cell's energy attributes and derive power characterizations or attributes from it, or vice-versa. Accordingly, references to power characterization in this description of the invention imply that one may also obtain an energy characterization as desired, and vice-versa. One may also represent the current i(t) in terms of a charge, q(t), delivered to or delivered by the cell or circuit” [a current profile indicating a relationship between time and an input current]. Further see Para. 0032-0036, 0045-0051, 0072-0087, and 0101-0105. The examiner has interpreted that a characterization tool that receives an input that contains function and behavioral specification of the circuity that describes input and output relationship and measures responses of the circuit such as current by the circuit load over various input times for the calculation of the current over a period of time as wherein: the simulation device is configured to acquire, as the characteristic data, an operation time of the electronic device for a predetermined time, and a current profile indicating a relationship between time and an input current.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add “wherein: the simulation device is configured to acquire, as the characteristic data, an operation time of the electronic device for a predetermined time, and a current profile indicating a relationship between time and an input current”, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Najm, into that of Savulak and Xu because this modification of inputting characteristics for creating a model of the circuit for simulation for the advantageous purpose of identifying any problems early in the design process of an integrated-circuit device and simulating the behavior a complex design accurately (Najm, Para. 0003-0004). Further motivation to combine be that Savulak, Xu, and Najm are analogous art to the current claim are directed to designing electrical power circuits.
As per claim 14, Savulak and Xu does not specifically teach “wherein: the simulation device is configured to calculate an average consumption current during operation of the electronic device based on the operation time of the electronic device and the current profile” and “the simulation device is configured to replace the electronic device with a resistive element having a resistance value corresponding to the average consumption current of the electronic device to create a simulation model of the load circuit.”
However, Najm teaches “wherein: the simulation device is configured to calculate an average consumption current during operation of the electronic device based on the operation time of the electronic device and the current profile”. (Para. 0048, “The characterization tool receives its input via an input file 1100. The input file 1100 contains a functional or behavioral specification of the circuitry or cell that the user wishes to characterize. The input file 1100 may include, for example, the input and output leads or pins of a cell, the relationship between the input and output leads or pins of the cell, and the functional description of the cell” [wherein: the simulation device is configured to acquires]. Para. 0033, “As part of cell characterization, the characterization tool measures the responses of the cell or circuit at one or more characterization points and records those responses in the form of a characteristic equation or, alternatively, a characterization table. A characterization point refers to a set of one or more of voltage, current, temperature, and process for which the tool characterizes a cell or circuit” [a consumption current profile]. “For a given characterization point, the tool typically measures a cell's response with respect to various input transition times and capacitive loads to determine the cell's behavior” [current consumption over time]. “For a given characterization point, the tool typically measures a cell's response with respect to various input transition times and capacitive loads to determine the cell's behavior” [during operation of the electronic device based on the operation time of the electronic device]., Para. 0078-0079, “To calculate power, one differentiates the energy with respect to time. Conversely, to calculate energy, one integrates power over the desired period of time. Thus, a circuit characterization system according to the invention, for example as shown in FIG. 2, may calculate or characterize the circuit's or cell's energy attributes and derive power characterizations or attributes from it, or vice-versa. Accordingly, references to power characterization in this description of the invention imply that one may also obtain an energy characterization as desired, and vice-versa. One may also represent the current i(t) in terms of a charge, q(t), delivered to or delivered by the cell or circuit” [determining instantaneous current from the cell to the load, e.g., calculate an average consumption current of the load based on the operation time of the load and current consumed]. Further see Para. 0032-0036, 0045-0051, 0072-0087, and 0101-0105. The examiner has interpreted that a characterization tool that receives an input that contains function and behavioral specification of the circuity that describes input and output relationship and measures responses of the circuit such as current by the circuit load over various input times for the calculation of the instantaneous current over a period of time during operation of the load as wherein: the simulation device is configured to calculate an average consumption current during operation of the electronic device based on the operation time of the electronic device and the current profile.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add “wherein: the simulation device is configured to calculate an average consumption current during operation of the electronic device based on the operation time of the electronic device and the current profile”, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Najm, into that of Savulak and Xu because this modification of inputting characteristics for creating a model of the circuit for simulation for the advantageous purpose of identifying any problems early in the design process of an integrated-circuit device and simulating the behavior a complex design accurately (Najm, Para. 0003-0004). Further motivation to combine be that Savulak, Xu, and Najm are analogous art to the current claim are directed to designing electrical power circuits.
Najm does not specifically teach “the simulation device is configured to replace the electronic device with a resistive element having a resistance value corresponding to the average consumption current of the electronic device to create a simulation model of the load circuit.”
However, Ayodele teaches “the simulation device is configured to replace the electronic device with a resistive element having a resistance value corresponding to the average consumption current of the electronic device to create a simulation model of the load circuit.” (Pg. 342 Sect. 3, “From Eqs. (9) and (10), the steady state equivalent circuit for the SERG is developed with the excitation capacitor and RL load connected. C, RL and LL represent the excitation capacitance, load resistance and load inductance respectively. This is shown in Fig. 3”. Further see section Sect. 5 & 6. The examiner has interpreted that creating an equivalent circuit have a load resistance represent the equivalent resistance of the load as the simulation device is configured to replace the electronic device with a resistive element having a resistance value corresponding to the average consumption current of the electronic device to create a simulation model of the load circuit.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add “the simulation device is configured to replace the electronic device with a resistive element having a resistance value corresponding to the average consumption current of the electronic device to create a simulation model of the load circuit”, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Ayodele, into that of Savulak, Xu, and Najm because this modification of using an equivalent resistance of for the load for the advantageous purpose of modeling the performance of the voltage regulation of the circuit under certain loads (Ayodele, Pg. 341 Sect. 1). Further motivation to combine be that Savulak, Xu, Najm, and Ayodele are analogous art to the current claim are directed to designing electrical power circuits.
As per claim 15, Savulak teaches “[the simulation device is configured to simulate] an operation in which some of a power charged to the first capacitor is supplied to the electronic device while the first capacitor is being charged using the power generated by the power generation element”. (Para. 0024, “switching to the second state includes: disconnecting the power source from the boost converter; and connecting the capacitor to the input of the boost capacitor to supply power to the load from the capacitor” [a power charged to the first capacitor is supplied to the electronic device]. Fig. 5 shows at block 208 that the first capacitor is charged by the harvester and powers the load, e.g. an operation in which some of a power charged to the capacitor is supplied to the electronic device while the first capacitor is being charged using the power generated by the power generation element. Para. 0020, “a traditional energy harvesting circuit, does a good job of extracting the low voltage energy of the source, and provides a backup source of energy with the super capacitor 18, a typical low power electrical load will not effectively use all the energy stored during the super capacitor charge phase. For example, with a typical 3.3V load circuit, many analog integrated circuits will cease to function at about 2.3V and numerous high performance microcontrollers lose I/O functionality at 3.15V” [e.g., electronic device]. Further see Para. 0019-0024. The examiner has interpreted that connecting a capacitor to the input supply voltage and to the input of the boost convert to power a load when the capacitor has been charged by the harvester as an operation in which some of a power charged to the first capacitor is supplied to the electronic device while the first capacitor is being charged using the power generated by the power generation element.)
Savulak teaches “based on the simulation model in which a model of the power generation element, a model of the first capacitor, and an electronic device model corresponding to the electrical characteristics of the electronic device are connected to each other”. (Figs. 2-4 show a schematic of the circuit diagram showing the low voltage harvested source, capacitor, and load connected together, e.g., model of the power generation element, a model of the first capacitor, and an electronic device model are connected to each other. Para. 0020, “a traditional energy harvesting circuit, does a good job of extracting the low voltage energy of the source, and provides a backup source of energy with the super capacitor 18, a typical low power electrical load will not effectively use all the energy stored during the super capacitor charge phase. For example, with a typical 3.3V load circuit, many analog integrated circuits will cease to function at about 2.3V and numerous high performance microcontrollers lose I/O functionality at 3.15V” [e.g., electronic device]. Para. 0019, “a typical energy harvesting system 10 includes a low voltage energy harvester 12, such as an inertial generator or solar panel, a boost converter 14 for raising the low voltage from the energy harvester 12 to a nominal level for a specific load” [voltage increased to allow for nominal operation of the specific load, e.g., corresponding to the electrical characteristics of the electronic device ]. Further see Para. 0019-0024. The examiner has interpreted that an energy harvesting system that includes a boost convert for raising the low voltage from an energy harvester to nominal level for a specific load when the harvested source, capacitor, and load connected together as shown in a schematic of a circuit diagram as based on the simulation model in which a model of the power generation element, a model of the first capacitor, and an electronic device model corresponding to the electrical characteristics of the electronic device are connected to each other.)
Savulak and Xu do not specifically teach “the simulation device is configured to simulate an operation”.
However, Najm teaches “the simulation device is configured to simulate an operation”. (Para. 0037, “The user input typically causes the system 1000 to perform specific desired information-processing tasks, including circuit characterization and/or circuit simulation” [wherein the simulation unit simulates an operation]. Para. 0069, “A simulator may subsequently use a model from the appropriate model database to perform simulation of part or all of the circuit that contains the CUTs. From the results of the simulation run or runs, the user may obtain a desired characterization of the circuit” [further, wherein the simulation unit simulates an operation]. Further see Para. 0036-0037, 0046-0054, and 0058-0070. The examiner has interpreted that a system that performs circuit simulation on a circuit using models from a database to perform simulation of the entire circuit as the simulation device is configured to simulate an operation.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add “the simulation device is configured to simulate an operation”, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Najm, into that of Savulak and Xu because this modification of creating a model of the circuit for simulation for the advantageous purpose of identifying any problems early in the design process of an integrated-circuit device (Najm, Para. 0003). Further motivation to combine be that Savulak, Xu, and Najm are analogous art to the current claim are directed to designing electrical power circuits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on February 25, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that amended claim 1 features are patent eligible under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claim is integrated into a practical application as claim features recite improvements to another technology or technical field (See Applicant’s response, Pg. 12-15).
MPEP § 2106.05(I) recites “An inventive concept" cannot be furnished by the unpatentable law of nature (or natural phenomenon or abstract idea) itself." Genetic Techs. Ltd. v. Merial LLC, 818 F.3d 1369, 1376, 118 USPQ2d 1541, 1546 (Fed. Cir. 2016).” MPEP § 2106.04(I) “Synopsys, Inc. v. Mentor Graphics Corp., 839 F.3d 1138, 1151, 120 USPQ2d 1473, 1483 (Fed. Cir. 2016) ("a new abstract idea is still an abstract idea")”; MPEP § 2106.05(a) recites “It is important to note, the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement. The improvement can be provided by one or more additional elements.”; MPEP § 2106.04(d)(II) recites “examiners evaluate integration into a practical application by: (1) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception(s); and (2) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether they integrate the exception into a practical application”; and MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II) recites “The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity. i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, ii. Performing repetitive calculations, iii. Electronic recordkeeping, iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory”. MPEP § 2106.05(g) recites “Below are examples of activities that the courts have found to be insignificant extra-solution activity: Mere Data Gathering: Performing clinical tests on individuals to obtain input for an equation, In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 839-40; 12 USPQ2d 1824, 1827-28 (Fed. Cir. 1989); Testing a system for a response, the response being used to determine system malfunction, In re Meyers, 688 F.2d 789, 794; 215 USPQ 193, 196-97 (CCPA 1982) (emphasis added).
The examiner has provided the rational for the independent claim limitations that are being directed to a mental process or mathematical concept in the rejection above. The additional elements are “A simulation device comprising: a memory storing instructions; and a processor in communication with the memory, wherein, when the processor executes the instructions from the memory, the processor is configured to cause the simulation device”, “A simulation method executed by a computer”, “A simulation system comprising an information terminal and a simulation device, wherein: the information terminal includes: a first memory storing instructions; and a first processor in communication with the first memory, wherein, when the first processor executes the instructions from the first memory, the first processor is configured to cause the information terminal”, “the simulation device includes: a second memory storing instructions; and a second processor in communication with the second memory, wherein, when the second processor executes the instructions from the second memory, the second processor is configured to cause the simulation device”, and “A non-transitory storage medium storing an information processing program executed by a computer” which are merely using the generic computer components and functions being used as a tool to perform the abstract idea and “acquiring power generation element characteristic data indicating electrical characteristics of the power generation element”, “transmit, to the simulation device, power generation element characteristic data indicating electrical characteristics of a power generation element configured to output a power smaller than power consumption of a load circuit”, “display a result of simulation by the simulation device”, “acquire the power generation element characteristic data” and “transmit a result of simulation by the simulation unit to the information terminal” which is mere insignificant extra-solution activities, which are Well-Understood, Routine and Conventional since these limitations have been identified as mere data gathering and data outputting steps. Therefore, there are no additional element limitations in the independent claims which can integrate the abstract idea into a practical application by improvements to the technology as listed in MPEP § 2106.04(d)(I). Furthermore, the examiner has also provided the rational for the dependent claim limitations that are being directed to a mental process or a mathematical concept in the rejection above. With the exception of the additional element limitations in the dependent claims which are merely using the generic computer components and functions being used as a tool to perform the abstract idea and mere insignificant extra-solution activities, there are no additional limitations in the dependent claims which can integrate the abstract idea into a practical application by improvements to the technology or through the use of meaningful limitations.
Therefore, the examiner has properly identified that the claims recite mental processes, mathematical concepts, and limitations that merely use the computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea or insignificant extra-solution activities.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 15-17, filed February 25, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of the independent claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection(s) has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the amended claims and previously cited art, necessitated by the applicant’s amendment, as detailed above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gi, Hyungmin et al. "A soft-charging-based SC DC–DC boost converter with conversion-ratio-insensitive high efficiency for energy harvesting in miniature sensor systems." IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems I: Regular Papers 67, no. 10 (2020): 3601-3612 teaches a circuit that is a multi-stage boost converter that contains multiple boost converters and capacitors for varying harvesting source and battery voltages for delivering to small loads and modeling the components based on parameters of the components of the circuit.
Examiner’s Note: The examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the reference that applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. In the case of amending the claimed invention, the applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for the proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bound of the claimed invention.
/SIMEON P DRAPEAU/ Examiner, Art Unit 2188
/RYAN F PITARO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2188