DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8,13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al (US Pub No. 10211314), in view of Chao et al (US Pub No. 20060267106).
With respect to claim 8, Hsu et al discloses a fin (14, Fig.5) over a semiconductor substrate (12); a gate stack overlying the fin (40,44,42,46,50); a spacer adjacent to the gate stack (26), the spacer comprising: a first spacer in physical contact with the gate stack (28,30); and a second spacer (36) in physical contact with both the first spacer and the gate stack (36’s lower edge contacts the top corner of the gate stack, top corner of the 50), the second spacer being a different material than the first spacer (Col3 states that layers 28 and 30 have the same material and both of them can be made from SiO2, and states that layer 36 is an etch stop layer made from SiCN); and a source/drain region adjacent to the spacer (32,34). However, Hsu et al does not explicitly disclose a planar surface in physical contact with each of the gate stack, the first spacer, and the second spacer. On the other hand, Chao et al discloses a planar surface (right side or left side of the 310 and 312,Fig.6B) in physical contact with each of the gate stack (310,312), the first spacer (318), and the second spacer (322B). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Hsu et al according to the teachings of the Chao et al such that a planar surface in physical contact with each of the gate stack, the first spacer, and the second spacer, in order to make well protected contact layer on the gate stack, to decrease the resistance of the gate stack, thereby improving the performance of the device.
With respect to claim 13, Hsu et al discloses wherein both the first portion and the second portion have the "L" shape (Fig.5).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al (US Pub No. 10211314), in view of Van Cleemput et al (US Pub No. 20180233398), in view of Chao et al (US Pub No. 20060267106).
With respect to claim 14, Hsu et al does not explicitly disclose wherein the first spacer comprises a third portion and the third portion, the second portion, and the first portion have sidewalls aligned with each other. On the other hand, Van Cleemput et al discloses wherein the first spacer (305,307-311,309,Fig.3G) comprises a third portion (309) and the third portion, the second portion, and the first portion have sidewalls aligned with each other (Fig.3G). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Hsu et al according to the teachings of the Van Cleemput et al such that there would be a third portion, in order to improve the isolation of the first transistor from outside interference.
Claim(s) 15-17,20-23,26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Cleemput et al (US Pub No. 20180233398), in view of Hsu et al (US Pub No. 10211314), in view of Chao et al (US Pub No. 20060267106).
With respect to claim 15, Van Cleemput et al discloses a first top spacer (313,Fig.3G) adjacent to the gate electrode stack (301);a first bottom spacer below the first top spacer (305); wherein both the first top spacer and the first bottom spacer are aligned with each other along a plane that is in physical contact with a single sidewall of the gate electrode stack (an imaginary plane extending in the y direction parallel and in contact with vertical side of the gate electrode, then portion of 313 which is in direct contact with 305 is vertically aligned with each other and they are along the imaginary plane), each of the first bottom spacer (the vertical portion of 305) and the first top spacer (vertical portion of the 313) comprising a sidewall that extends along the plane (along does not mean in physical contact since each of these elements extend in the vertical direction; therefore, they satisfy this element.
However, Van Cleemput does not explicitly disclose and a first source/drain region adjacent to the fin and isolated from the gate electrode stack by the first bottom spacer; a fin over a substrate; a gate electrode stack over the fin. On the other hand, Hsu et al discloses a fin (14,Fig.5) over a substrate (12); a gate electrode stack (46,50,40,44) over the fin; a first source/drain region (32) adjacent to the fin (Fig.5) and isolated from the gate electrode stack by the first bottom spacer (bottom portion of 28). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the art cited above according to the teachings of the Hsu et al such that such that the device is formed on the fin and has a source and drain in order to make a finfet device which has more capacity than classical transistors.
However, the arts cited above do not explicitly disclose the top and bottom spacers comprising sidewall that extends along and in physical contact with planar surface. On the other hand, Chao et al discloses bottom (318,Fig.6B) and top spacers (322) comprising sidewall that extends along and in physical contact with planar surface (with the left sidewall of the gate stack 310,312). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the arts cited above according to the teachings of the Chao et al such that the top and bottom spacers comprising sidewall that extends along and in physical contact with planar surface, in order to protect the gate stack from outside interference, thereby increasing the lifetime of the device.
With respect to claim 16, Van Cleemput et al discloses, wherein the first top spacer comprises a multi-layer film (313,309) having an L-shape (in general, Fig.3G).
With respect to claim 17, Van Cleemput et al discloses wherein the first bottom spacer comprises a multi-layer film having a backwards L-shape ( it is a L shape and , and it is a backward L shape) .
With respect to claim 20, Van Cleemput et al discloses wherein the first top spacer comprises a first material (Para 55) and the first bottom spacer comprises a second material different from the first material (Para 54).
With respect to claim 21, Van Cleemput et al discloses; a first top spacer (313, Fig.3G) adjacent to the gate electrode stack (301); a first bottom spacer (305) adjacent to the gate electrode stack and between the substrate (303) and the first top spacer (Fig.3G), wherein the first top spacer (portion of 313 protruding downward which is between 309 and 305) and the first bottom spacer (portion of 305 in direct contact with 301) form a planar surface facing and in physical contact with (top corner) the gate electrode stack (the plane going in out in and out of the page between those portions of 313 and 305). However , the art cited above does not explicitly disclose fin over a substrate; a gate electrode stack over the fin; and a first source/drain region adjacent to the fin and isolated from the gate electrode stack by the first bottom spacer. On the other hand, Hsu e t al discloses a fin (14,Fig.5) over a substrate (12); a gate electrode stack (46,50,40,44) over the fin; a first source/drain region (32) adjacent to the fin (Fig.5) and isolated from the gate electrode stack by the first bottom spacer (bottom portion of 28). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the art cited above according to the teachings of the Hsu et al such that such that the device is formed on the fin and has a source and drain in order to make a finfet device which has more capacity than classical transistors.
However, the arts cited above do not explicitly disclose a first top spacer adjacent to the gate electrode stack , the first top spacer comprising a first sidewall facing the gate electrode, the first bottom spacer comprising a second sidewall facing the gate electrode, the first sidewall and the second sidewall sharing a first planar surface, the first planar surface, the first sidewall, and the second sidewall all being in physical contact with the gate electrode stack. On the other hand, Chao et al discloses a first top spacer adjacent to the gate electrode stack (322,Fig.6B) , the first top spacer comprising a first sidewall (endpoints of the 322 right on 312) facing the gate electrode (310,312), the first bottom spacer (318) comprising a second sidewall facing the gate electrode (the side in contact with 310), the first sidewall and the second sidewall sharing a first planar surface (left side of the 310 and 312), the first planar surface, the first sidewall, and the second sidewall all being in physical contact with the gate electrode stack (Fig.6B). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the arts cited above according to the teachings of the Chao et al such that a first top spacer adjacent to the gate electrode stack , the first top spacer comprising a first sidewall facing the gate electrode, the first bottom spacer comprising a second sidewall facing the gate electrode, the first sidewall and the second sidewall sharing a first planar surface, the first planar surface, the first sidewall, and the second sidewall all being in physical contact with the gate electrode stack, in order to protect the gate stack from outside interference, thereby increasing the lifetime of the device.
With respect to claim 22, Van Cleemput et al discloses wherein the first bottom spacer is a multi- layer film having a backwards L-shape in a first cross-sectional view ( cross sectional view).
With respect to claim 23, Van Cleemput et al discloses wherein the first top spacer is a multi-layer film having an L-shape in a second cross-sectional view (from left side of the page).
With respect to claim 26, Van Cleemput et al disclsoes wherein the first top spacer comprises a first material (Para 54-55)and the first bottom spacer comprises a second material different from the first material (Para 54-55).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 8,13-17,20-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Thei et al (US Pub No. 20070045754), Zang et al (US Patent No. 10879180).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALI NARAGHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817