DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments filed 5/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Hu and Aschwanden do not teach previous claim 11 and now current claim 1 because coil 91y in Hu is used for internal stabilization, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Aschwanden teaches that the coils used to deform the membrane of the soft film lenses may be doubled up to have a total of four coils (Aschwanden para. 0182), but does not specify the function the extra coils would have. Similarly, Hu teaches that multiple compensation coils may be utilized for internal stabilization (Hu para. 0032).
Applicant’s amendments which incorporate previous dependent claim 11 into claim 1 changes the scope of the dependent claims 2-6, 8-10, and 16-18, thus necessitating new grounds of rejection.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the zooming coil coupled to the first soft film lens, the second compensation coil coupled to the second soft film lens, and the first compensation coil between the two first magnetic bodies all in one camera of claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A slidable conductive contact element (means for slidably conducting) in claim 4.
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “a slidable conductive contact element” in claim 4 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
The specification recites a ring for sliding, however gives no details to the structure or materials for performing the function of conducting.
For purposes of compact prosecution, examiner is interpreting this to be any conductive structure that slides.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Regarding claim 10, claim states the limitation “the lens group further comprises a second soft film lens comprising a second soft film coupled to the second adjustment coil” in lines 2-3 of the claim. This limitation is unclear because, in light of the amendments filed 5/30/2025, there is already a second soft film lens which is coupled to the second compensation coil. Is there another soft film lens that is coupled to the second adjustment coil, on top of a second soft film lens coupled to the second compensation coil? Is the second soft film lens coupled to both coils? Due to there already being an established second soft film lens coupled to the second compensation coil in claim 1, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be apprised as to the scope of the invention (MPEP §2173.05(b)). For purposes of compact prosecution, examiner will interpret this soft film lens and second adjustment coil to be the same as the second soft film lens and second compensation coil claimed in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aschwanden et. al US 20100232161 (hereinafter “Aschwanden”) in view of Hu et. al US 20140368936 (hereinafter “Hu”).
Regarding claim 1, Aschwanden’s embodiment of Figure 3 teaches a camera (Aschwanden fig. 3 and 6, paras. 0176-0190), comprising:
a lens group (Aschwanden fig. 3 - 308, 309, 318), comprising a first soft film lens (Aschwanden fig. 3 – 308, 318), wherein the first soft film lens (308) has a first shape (Aschwanden fig. 3; see also para. 0184-0187), has a focal length (Aschwanden para. 0083), and comprises a first soft film (Aschwanden fig. 3 – 308, see also para. 0176);
two first magnetic bodies (Aschwanden fig. 3 - 304, 305 "magnet") respectively located on two opposite sides of the lens group (see annotated Aschwanden fig. 3 below) and configured to form a magnetic field (Aschwanden para. 0180-0182);
a zooming coil (Aschwanden fig. 3 - 310 "coil"; see also para. 0176 and 0181) coupled to the first soft film (308), wherein, when energized, the zooming coil (310) is configured to generate a Lorentz force under action of the magnetic field to change the first shape (Aschwanden para. 0184-0187), so as to change the focal length (Aschwanden para. 0083);
a first compensation coil (Aschwanden fig. 3 - 311 "coil"; see also para. 0176), located between the two first magnetic bodies (see annotated Aschwanden fig. 3 below, where 311 Is located between 304 and 305), wherein the first compensation coil (311) is, configured to generate, when the first compensation coil (311) is energized, the Lorentz force under action of the magnetic field (Aschwanden paras. 0180-0181) to change a position of the lens group (Aschwanden fig. 3 – 308, 309, 318) so as to change an image distance of the camera (Aschwanden paras. 0073-0074 and 0180-0182, where movement/deformation of the membrane 309 is the movement of the lens group); and
a sensor (Ashwanden fig. 3 - 350 "sensor"; see also para. 0152) configured to receive a light beam incident through the lens group (Aschwanden fig. 3 - 352 "light rays"; see also para. 0176).
Aschwanden’s embodiment of Figure 6 also teaches a second soft film lens (Aschwanden fig. 6, element 614 “second fluid lens”; see also paras. 0141 and 0196). Aschwanden further teaches coils 310 and 311 can be double coils (Aschwanden para. 0182), thus implying a total of four coils which necessarily includes a second compensation coil.
Aschwanden does not clarify that the second compensation coil is coupled to the second soft film to change the shape of the second soft film lens.
In the same field of endeavor, Hu teaches a second compensation coil (Hu figs. 3 and 5 – 91y) for the purpose of performing anti-shake functions (Hu para. 0032). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a second compensation coil in order to stabilize the device (Hu para. 0032 - electromagnetic driving force is generated in the OIS coil set by OIS electric current and the OIS magnets 65x, 65y, 66x, 66y to perform the OIS function (i.e. anti-shaking function)).
Regarding claim 2, Aschwanden and Hu teach the camera of claim 1, and Aschwanden teaches an annular barrel (Aschwanden fig. 3 – 302, 330, 313, see also para. 0179), wherein the annular barrel (302, 330, 313) comprises a bottom surface (Aschwanden para. 0179) inside the annular barrel (302, 330, 313), wherein the bottom surface (Aschwanden para. 0179) comprises two sides (the cover or plate mentioned in Aschwanden para. 0179 would have two sides, one facing the opening 313 and the other facing the sensor 350), wherein the sensor (350) is fastened to the bottom surface (Aschwanden fig. 3 – 350 underneath 313).
Aschwanden and Hu do not specifically teach wherein the two first magnetic bodies are respectively fastened onto the two sides.
In the same field of endeavor, Aschwanden’s embodiment of Figure 1 teaches wherein the two first magnetic bodies (Aschwanden fig. 1a-b - 104) are respectively fastened onto the two sides (see annotated Aschwanden fig. 1a below for the two sides) for the purpose of creating the desired flux flow (Aschwanden para. 0157). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have two first magnetic bodies fastened on two sides in order to create the desired flux flow.
Regarding claim 13, Aschwanden and Hu teach the camera of claim 1, and Aschwanden further teaches the zooming coil (Aschwanden 310) and the second compensation coil (Aschwanden 311 on the opposite side of 311 label) are coupled in series (Aschwanden fig. 3 – 311 and 310).
Regarding claim 14, Aschwanden and Hu teach the camera of claim 13, and they further teach a first adjustment coil (Hu 91x), located between the two first magnetic bodies (see Hu figs. 3 and 5 – 91x is located between 65x and 66x), and wherein the first adjustment coil (91x) is configured to generate, when the first adjustment coil is energized, the Lorentz force under action of the magnetic field to change a position of the lens group (Aschwanden 308, 309, 318) so as to change an image distance of the camera (Aschwanden para. 0187; Hu para. 0032).
Regarding claim 15, Aschwanden and Hu teach the camera of claim 13, and both further teach wherein the lens group further comprises a second soft film lens (Aschwanden 614) comprising a second soft film (Aschwanden 309) coupled to the second adjustment coil (Hu 3; Aschwanden fig. 3 teaches the soft film coupled to a coil).
Aschwanden and Hu don’t teach a first quantity of first turns of the second adjustment coil is less than a second quantity of second turns of the second compensation coil, a first single-turn length of the second adjustment coil is less than a second single-turn length of the second compensation coil, or both the first quantity is less than the second quantity and the first single-turn length is less than the second single-turn length.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have a first quantity of first turns of the second adjustment coil is less than a second quantity of second turns of the second compensation coil, a first single-turn length of the second adjustment coil is less than a second single-turn length of the second compensation coil, or both the first quantity is less than the second quantity and the first single-turn length is less than the second single-turn length, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller 220 F.2d 454, 456,105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 16, Aschwanden and Hu teach the camera of claim 1, and embodiment 3 of Aschwanden further teaches a reflector (Aschwanden paras. 0186) configured to reflect an input light beam (Aschwanden fig. 3 - 352) to the lens group (Aschwanden paras. 0176 and 0186).
Regarding claim 17, Aschwanden and Hu teach the camera of claim 1, and embodiment 3 of Aschwanden further teaches a light blocking area of a coil (see annotated Aschwanden fig. 3 below) connected to the first soft film (308) of the soft film lens (308, 318) is less than 1/4 of an area of a surface that is in the first soft film lens (308, 318) and that is coupled to the coil (see Ashwanden fig. 3 the coils located on the membrane don’t block any light).
Regarding claim 18, Aschwanden and Hu teach the camera of claim 1, and embodiment 3 of Aschwanden further teaches the first soft film lens (308) is formed in a manner of wrapping liquid or gel by using the soft film (Aschwanden paras. 0073 and 0185) or wherein the first soft film lens is formed in a manner of wrapping liquid or gel in a closed space consisting of the first soft film and a lens.
Claims 3, 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aschwanden (cited above) and Hu as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Aschwanden et. al US 20190018169 (hereinafter “US 169”).
Regarding claim 3, Aschwanden and Hu teach the camera of claim 2, and Aschwanden further teaches a lens cone (Aschwanden fig. 3 - 306; see also para. 0183) coupled to the annular barrel (302, 330, 313), wherein at least one lens in the lens group (308, 309, 318) is coupled to the lens cone (see Aschwanden fig. 3 to see how the lens group is coupled to the lens cone).
Aschwanden and Hu don’t teach a spring.
In the same field of endeavor, US 169 teaches a spring (US 169 fig. 19, element 206 “spring members”; see also para. 0070) for the purpose of moving the lens shaper in an axial direction (US 169 para. 0070). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a spring for the purpose of moving the lens shaper in an axial direction.
Regarding claim 5, Aschwanden, Hu, and US 169 teach the camera of claim 3, and Aschwanden further teaches wherein the two first magnetic bodies comprise a first magnetic body (304) and a second magnetic body (305), and wherein the camera further comprises a third magnetic body (Hu figs. 3-5, element 63x “AF magnet”; see also para. 0032) located between the first soft film lens and the first magnetic body (Hu figs. 3 and 5, 63x lies between 65x and element 18) and a fourth magnetic body (Hu figs. 3-5, element 64x “AF magnet”; see also para. 0032) located between the first soft film lens and the second magnetic body (Hu figs. 3 and 5, 64y lies between 66y and element 18)
Regarding claim 6, Aschwanden, Hu, and US 169 all teach the camera of claim 5, and Hu further teaches wherein the third magnetic body (Hu 63x) and the fourth magnetic body (Hu 64y) are fastened onto the lens cone (Hu figs. 3 and 5; see also para. 0032).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aschwanden, Hu, and US 169 (cited above) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Wang et. al US 20080144185 (hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim 4, Aschwanden, Hu, and US 169 teach the camera of claim 3, and Aschwanden further teaches the first soft film lens (308, 318) coupled to the zooming coil (110) further comprises a soft film deformation area (Aschwanden fig. 3 - 308) and a lens fastening area (see annotated Aschwanden fig. 3 below) that is configured to fasten a lens onto the lens cone (306).
Aschwanden, Hu, and US 169 don’t teach a conductive rod located in the lens fastening area and configured to conduct electricity; a slidable conductive contact element configured to move along the conductive rod; and a lead coupled to both the zooming coil and the slidable conductive contact element.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches a conductive rod (Wang fig. 2-3 – 6a-b) located in the lens fastening area (Wang fig. 2-3 – 6a-b are located where the lens 10 would be mounted) and configured to conduct electricity (Wang para. 0039-0040);
a slidable conductive contact element (Wang fig. 2-3 – 5a) mounted on the conductive rod (Wang fig. 2-3 – 5a is mounted between 6a and 6b) and configured to move along the conductive rod (Wang para. 0039-0040); and
a lead (Wang fig. 1 – 4, see also para. 0039) coupled to both the zooming coil (Wang fig. 1 - 20) and the slidable conductive contact element (5a) for the purpose of changing an optical property of the deformable lens element (Wang para. 0045). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a conductive rod, slidable conductive contact element, and a lead in order to change an optical property of the deformable lens element (Wang para. 0045).
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aschwanden and Hu (cited above) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Aschwanden et. al US 20200363565 (hereinafter “US 565”).
Regarding claim 8, Aschwanden and Hu teach the camera of claim 1, and Aschwanden further teaches the zooming coil (310) and the first compensation coil (311).
Aschwanden does not specify that the zooming coil and the first compensation coil are coupled in series.
In a similar field of endeavor, US 565 teaches the zooming coil (US 565 fig. 1 - 301) and the first compensation coil (US 565 fig. 1 - 301) are coupled in series (US 565 para. 0097) for the purpose of allowing the force generated by an actuator to point in the same direction so the focal length of a lens is adjusted (Aschwanden para. 0104). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have coils coupled in series in order to allow the force generated by an actuator to point in the same direction, so that the focal length of a lens is adjusted.
Regarding claim 9, Aschwanden, Hu, and US 565 teach the camera of claim 8.
Aschwanden, Hu, and US 565 do not specify a first adjustment coil, located between the two first magnetic bodies.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to duplicate a first compensation coil between the two first magnetic bodies to have a first adjustment coil, since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Further, Aschwanden, Hu, and US 565 do not specify first turns, wherein a first quantity of the first turns is less than a second quantity of second turns of the first compensation coil, a first single-turn length of the first adjustment coil is less than a second single-turn length of the first compensation coil, or both the first quantity is less than the second quantity and the first single-turn length is less than the second single-turn length.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have first turns, wherein a first quantity of the first turns is less than a second quantity of second turns of the first compensation coil, a first single-turn length of the first adjustment coil is less than a second single-turn length of the first compensation coil, or both the first quantity is less than the second quantity and the first single-turn length is less than the second single-turn length, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller 220 F.2d 454, 456,105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 10, Aschwanden and Hu teach the camera of claim 8, and Aschwanden further teaches using a magnetic field to change the shape of a soft film lens (Aschwanden para. 0187) for focusing the light beam on the sensor (Aschwanden para. 0176), and a second soft film lens (Aschwanden 614).
Aschwanden and Hu do not specifically teach a second adjustment coil coupled to the second soft film lens configured to change the shape of the lens.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to duplicate a second compensation coil coupled to the second soft film lens to have a second adjustment coil, since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Claims 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aschwanden et. al US 20200301116 (hereinafter “US 116”), in view of Ito et. al US 20060050402 (hereinafter “Ito”).
Regarding claim 19, US 116 teaches a terminal device (US 116 para. 0095), comprising:
a camera configured to capture image information and comprising:
a lens group (US 116 fig. 10 – 3, 10, 20) comprising a first soft film lens (US 116 fig. 10 - 10), wherein the first soft film lens has a first shape (US 116 fig. 8, see also para. 0121), has a focal length (US 116 para. 0122), and comprises a first soft film (US 116 fig. 8 and 10 – 13);
two first magnetic bodies (US 116 fig. 10 – 70, 71) respectively located on two opposite sides of the lens group (US 116 fig. 10 – 70a, 70b, 71a, and 71b are each doubled and disposed on either side of 3, 10, and 20) and configured to form a magnetic field (US 116 para. 0148);
a zooming coil (US 116 fig. 10 - 15) coupled to the first soft film (13), wherein, when energized, the zooming coil is configured to generate a Lorentz force under action of the magnetic field to change the first shape, so as to change the focal length (US 116 para. 0118 and 0121-0122);
a first compensation coil (US 116 fig. 10 – 60, 61), located between the two first magnetic bodies (US 116 fig. 10 – 60 is between 70 on both sides of 30 and 31), wherein the first compensation coil (60, 61) is, configured to generate, when the first compensation coil is (60, 61) energized, the Lorentz force under action of the magnetic field to change a position of the lens group (3, 10, and 20) so as to change an image distance of the camera (US 116 para. 0049, 0075-0076, and 0084-0085 – pressing and pulling against the membrane may be done to adjust the focal length and/or stabilize the image – this is the movement of the lens group which changes the image distance of the camera);
a second compensation coil (US 116 fig. 10 - 25), wherein the lens group (3, 10, and 20) comprises a second soft film lens (US 116 fig. 10 - 20) comprising a second soft film (US 116 fig. 10 - 23) coupled to the second compensation coil (US 116 fig. 10 – 25 is coupled to 23, see also para. 0033-0034), and wherein the second compensation coil (25) is configured to generate the Lorentz force under action of the magnetic field to change a shape of the second soft film lens (20) so as to change an image distance of the camera (US 116 para. 0049, 0075-0076, and 0084-0085 – pressing and pulling against the membrane may be done to adjust the focal length and/or stabilize the image); and
a sensor (US 116 fig. 10 - 2) configured to receive a light beam incident through the lens group (US 116 para. 0029).
Though US 116 teaches lens shaping members (15, 25) coupled to the membranes of soft film lenses (13, 23 of 10, 20, see also US 116 para. 0033-0034) that use actuation via magnetism to deform the membrane (US 116 para. 0049, 0075-0076, and 0084-0085, 0121-0122), US 116 does not specify that these are coils, nor does US 116 specify a display and a processor coupled to the camera and the display and configured to process the image information to control the display to display a captured image.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ito teaches coils (Ito fig. 33 - 540) coupled to the soft film (Ito fig. 33 - 511) of soft film lenses (Ito fig. 33 – 10’) which use magnetism to deform the lens (Ito para. 0206-0207);
a display (Ito fig. 36 - 319); and
a processor (Ito fig. 37 – 323, 326, 327, 328) coupled to the camera (Ito fig. 35-37 - 322) and the display (319, Ito para. 0232) for the purpose of changing the focal length of the light passage region (Ito para. 0010-0012). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have coils coupled to the soft films in order to change the focal length of the light passage region (Ito para. 0010-0012).
Regarding claim 20, US 116 teaches a method implemented by a camera, the method comprising:
changing a focal length of a first soft film lens (US 116 - 10) of a lens group (US 116 fig. 2 – 3, 10, and 20) of the camera by generating, by a zooming coil (US 116 fig. 10 - 15) coupled to a first soft film (US 116 fig. 10 - 13) of the first soft film lens (10) and when the zooming coil (15) is energized, a Lorentz force under action of a magnetic field formed by two first magnetic bodies (US 116 fig. 10 – 70, 71, see also para. 0148) of the camera to change a first shape (US 116 para. 0118 and 0121-0122) of the first soft film lens (10);
changing an image distance of the camera by generating, by a first compensation coil (US 116 fig. 10 – 60, 61) located between the two first magnetic bodies (US 116 fig. 10 – 60 and 61 lie between 70 and 71 on either side of 30 and 31), the Lorentz force under action of the magnetic field formed by the two first magnetic bodies (70, 71) to change a position of the lens group (US 116 para. 0049, 0075-0076, and 0084-0085 – pressing and pulling against the membrane may be done to adjust the focal length and/or stabilize the image – this is the movement of the lens group which changes the image distance of the camera);
changing an image distance by generating, by a second compensation coil (US 116 fig. 10 - 25), the Lorentz force under action of the magnetic field to change a shape of a second soft film lens (US 116 fig. 10 – 20, see also para. 0149) of the lens group (3, 10, and 20; see US 116 para. 0049, 0075-0076, and 0084-0085 – pressing and pulling against the membrane may be done to adjust the focal length and/or stabilize the image); and
receiving, by a sensor (US 116 fig. 10 - 2) of the camera, a light beam incident through the lens group (US 116 para. 0029).
Though US 116 teaches lens shaping members (15, 25) coupled to the membranes of soft film lenses (13, 23 of 10, 20, see also US 116 para. 0033-0034) that use actuation via magnetism to deform the membrane (US 116 para. 0049, 0075-0076, and 0084-0085, 0121-0122), US 116 does not specify that these are coils.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ito teaches coils (Ito fig. 33 - 540) coupled to the soft film (Ito fig. 33 - 511) of soft film lenses (Ito fig. 33 – 10’) which use magnetism to deform the lens (Ito para. 0206-0207) for the purpose of changing the focal length of the light passage region (Ito para. 0010-0012). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have coils coupled to the soft films in order to change the focal length of the light passage region (Ito para. 0010-0012).
Regarding claim 21, US 116 and Ito teach the method of claim 20, and US 116 further teaches further comprising reflecting, by a reflector of the camera (US 116 fig. 10 – 5, 6, see also para. 0138), an input light beam to the lens group (US 116 para. 0138).
Regarding claim 22, US 116 and Ito teach the terminal device of claim 19, and US 116 further teaches an annular barrel (US 116 fig. 10 – 7, 8), wherein the annular barrel (7 and 8) comprises a bottom surface inside the annular barrel (US 116 fig. 2 – the bottom surface of 7 and 8 is where 2 is situated), wherein the bottom surface comprises two sides (US 116 fig. 10 - the two sides are along 7 and 8 where 70 and 71 are attached), wherein the sensor (2) is fastened to the bottom surface (US 116 fig. 10), and wherein the two first magnetic bodies (70, 71) are respectively fastened onto the two sides (US 116 fig. 10).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 116 and Ito as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Dharmatilleke US 20110038028 (hereinafter “Dharmatilleke”).
Regarding claim 23, US 116 and Ito teach the terminal device of claim 19, and US 116 further teaches a lens cone (US 116 fig. 10 – 30, 31) coupled to the annular barrel (7, 8), wherein at least one lens in the lens group (3, 10, and 20) is coupled to the lens cone (US 116 fig. 10 – 3, 10, and 20 are each coupled to either 30 or 31).
US 116 and Ito do not specify that the lens cone is coupled to the annular barrel via a spring, however US 116 does teach that the actuator may be elastically coupled to the lens barrels via a spring structure (US 116 para. 0152).
In a similar field of endeavor, Dharmatilleke teaches that the lens cone is coupled to the annular barrel via a spring (Dharmatilleke fig. 3M – variable optical assembly 106 may be coupled to a housing 400 by springs 312, see also para. 0065) for the purpose of restraining the movement of the variable optical assembly (Dharmatilleke para. 0065). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have spring coupling in order to restrain the movement of the variable optical assembly (Dharmatilleke para. 0065).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZABETH M HALL/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/ZACHARY W WILKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872