DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Osteyee (US 7,725,969 B1). Osteyee discloses a multipurpose tool (fig. 5) comprising:
Re claim 1, a handle (31) having a first end (fig. 5: left end) and a second end (fig. 5: right end) opposite of the first end, wherein the handle is sized and shaped to fit in a hand of a user (fig. 5 shows the size and shape that may be held by a user); a safety cutter (58; 58 may cut through thin materials) disposed in the second end of the handle; and an extendable member (1-5) protruding from the first end of the handle, wherein the extendable member has an extended configuration (extended shown in fig. 1) and a collapsed configuration (collapsed shown in fig. 2), wherein the tool is sized and shaped to fit within a pocket in an article of clothing when the extendable member is in the collapsed configuration (the tool is a pocket tool).
Re claim 4, wherein the extendable member comprises a plurality of telescoping parts (3) and a locking mechanism (outer surfaces of each part forming a friction fit to lock the parts in place) for locking the telescoping parts in the extended configuration.
Re claim 5, wherein the extendable member comprises a proximal end (2) coupled to the handle and a distal end (end comprising 4) opposite of the proximal end, wherein the distal end comprises a hook or an L-shaped member (4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carter (US 1,065,863) in view of Osteyee (US 7,725,969 B1). Carter discloses a multipurpose tool (fig. 3) comprising:
Re claim 1, a handle (10) having a first end (fig. 3: left end) and a second end (fig. 3: right end) opposite of the first end, wherein the handle is sized and shaped to fit in a hand of a user (fig. 1 shows the size and shape that may be held by a user); a safety cutter (18) disposed in the second end of the handle; wherein the tool is sized and shaped to fit within a pocket in an article of clothing when the extendable member is in the collapsed configuration (the tool is a pocket tool).
Re claim 2, wherein the safety cutter comprises a razor blade (18 is described as a sharp blade) and a cutting channel (channel defined by 14 and 15) in the handle that exposes the razor blade.
Re claim 3, wherein the cutting channel comprises a pointed end (16) configured for piercing material.
Carter does not disclose:
Re claim 1, an extendable member protruding from the first end of the handle, wherein the extendable member has an extended configuration and a collapsed configuration.
However, Osteyee teaches a multipurpose tool (fig. 5) comprising:
Re claim 1, an extendable member (1-5) protruding from the first end of the handle (52), wherein the extendable member has an extended configuration (extended shown in fig. 1) and a collapsed configuration (collapsed shown in fig. 2).
Osteyee teaches a telescoping member that may be “integrated with a pocket tool [,] or example, a pocket knife),” see col 1 ln 44-46. It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ and extendable member, as taught by Osteyee, to be able to reach and retrieve objects in smaller openings.
Conclusion
The cited prior art(s) made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Minh Truong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654