DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant amended claim 1 and canceled claim 25. Claims 1, 3-4, and 18-24 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 4-5 of Applicant’s Remarks, filed 09/18/25, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 3, 4, 18-20, 24, and 25 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chambers in view of Prasad and in further view of Peticca and of claims 21-23 in further view of Tuval have been fully considered and are not persuasive. While the amendment to require that the spiral shaped flow diverter has a diameter that is 90% to 95% of a diameter of the inner cavity of the gas exchange medium along a majority of the length of the flow diverter distinguishes over the disclosure of Chambers, the combination of Chambers, Prasad, and Peticca renders claim 1 obvious because the device suggested by Chambers in view of Prasad and in further view of Peticca only differs from the claimed device by the relative dimensions of the flow diverter and does not perform differently from the claimed device, as discussed in more detail below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 18-20, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chambers et al. (US 6,682,698 B2) in view of Prasad et al. (US 5,352,361 A) and in further view of Peticca et al. (US 2017/0007755 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 20, and 24, Chambers discloses a blood oxygenator (Figs. 1-4, feat. 10; Col. 3, line 51 – Col. 4, line 53) comprising: a housing (12) having a first end opposite a second end with a sidewall extending between the first end and the second end along a longitudinal axis (26 and 28 are the inner and outer surface of the sidewall), the housing defining an interior chamber (34) having a fluid inlet (14; Col. 5, lines 21-32) and a fluid outlet (20; Col. 6, lines 15-45); a gas exchange medium (16) positioned within the interior chamber (34), the gas exchange medium having a plurality of hollow fibers (Col. 4, line 46 – Col. 5, line 20), the gas exchange medium defining an inner cavity extending longitudinally through its center (Figs. 2-3: gas exchange medium 16 has a hollow inner cavity); and a flow diverter (Fig. 3, feat. 18) positioned within the inner cavity of the gas exchange medium (Figs. 2-3: flow diverter 18 is in the center of the inner cavity of the gas exchange medium 16) and configured for guiding fluid flow through the gas exchange medium (Col. 5, line 21 – Col. 6, line 14), wherein the flow diverter has a fixed end fixedly connected to a central portion of the housing (Col. 5, lines 33-50: separator 18 is attached to the second end 32 of the housing 12) and a free end extending from the first end along the longitudinal axis (Col. 5, lines 51-65), and a length extending therebetween (Fig. 3, feat. 18; Col. 5, lines 33-50).
Chambers does not disclose that the hollow fibers are in a single continuous woven fiber mat rolled into a spiral shape around the longitudinal axis, that the flow diverter has a spiral shape between the fixed end and the free end, or that the spiral shaped flow diverter has a diameter that is 90% to 95% of a diameter of the inner cavity of the gas exchange medium along a majority of the length of the flow diverter.
Prasad teaches hollow fiber filter membrane bundles comprising a spirally wound hollow fiber bundle (Col. 2, line 46 – Col. 3, line 68) comprising a plurality of hollow fibers fabricated into a fabric-like array in which the hollow fibers constitute weft filaments held in place by warp filaments, which may be either solid or additional hollow fibers (Col. 6, line 45 – Col. 7, line 10). Because the fabric-like array of hollow fibers comprises warp and weft filaments, the fabric-like array is a continuous woven fiber mat. The fiber bundle is then formed by winding the fabric-like array around a core mandrel in a spiral pattern (Col. 7, line 11 – Col. 8, line 8). Prasad teaches that forming the fibers into a woven fabric-like array advantageously promotes regularity of the fiber bundle and therefore uniform fluid flow dynamics (Col. 6, lines 45-52). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the oxygenator disclosed by Chambers so that the hollow fibers are in a single continuous woven fiber mat rolled into a spiral shape around the longitudinal axis in order to promote regularity of the fiber bundle and therefore uniform fluid flow dynamics of the blood in the oxygenator as taught by Prasad.
Chambers in view of Prasad does not disclose that the flow diverter has a spiral shape between the fixed end and the free end or that the spiral shaped flow diverter has a diameter that is 90% to 95% of a diameter of the inner cavity of the gas exchange medium along a majority of the length of the flow diverter
Peticca teaches a blood oxygenator (Fig. 2, feat. 200; ¶0028) comprising a pump module (230; ¶0041) for pumping blood from the inlet (242) to the outlet (244) through the oxygenator module (240), which includes a heat exchanger (248; ¶0033) and oxygenator fiber bundle (250). . Peticca also discloses that the outer profile of the pump module (Figs. 2 and 4, feat. 230), which includes the rotary vane member (232) may be cylindrical (¶0053), and would therefore have a substantially uniform diameter along its length. Peticca teaches that the pump module (230) comprises a tapering rotary vane member (Figs. 2 and 4, feat. 232; ¶0041) in the center of the heat exchanger (248) and oxygenator (250) fiber bundles and which includes vanes (that necessarily create grooves) which may be attached in curved spirals to the rotary vane member (232a-d; ¶0055-0060). Peticca teaches that the rotary vane member and vanes help to ensure a uniform radial flow distribution in the oxygenator (¶0041). The rotary vane member of Peticca redirects or diverts flow from the axial direction from the inlet (Fig. 2, feat. 242) to the radial direction to the outlet (Fig. 2, feat. 244), and therefore the rotary vane member of Peticca is a flow diverter. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the oxygenator suggested by Chambers in view of Prasad so that the flow diverter has a spiral shape between the fixed end and the free end, with respect to claim 1, so that the spiral shaped flow diverter has at least one spiral groove extending the length of the flow diverter, the at least one groove creating at least one spiral ridge extending the length of the flow diverter, with respect to claim 20, and so that a diameter of the flow diverter is uniform along its length, with respect to claim 24, in order to help ensure a uniform radial flow distribution in the oxygenator as taught by Peticca.
Chambers in view of Prasad and in further view of Peticca does not disclose the diameter of the flow diverter along the majority of the length of the flow diverter as claimed. However, the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Please see MPEP §2144.04(IV)(A) with respect to the discussion of Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). In the current case, modifying the flow diverter of Chambers to include spiral shaped vanes would provide a uniform radial flow distribution of the blood through the gas exchange medium, as taught by Peticca (Peticca: ¶0041), in the same manner as the flow diverter of the claimed invention (Please see ¶0051 of the present specification. Therefore, the flow diverter of the oxygenator suggested by Chambers in view of Prasad and in further view of Peticca having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the claimed oxygenator, and therefore the spiral shaped flow diverter having a diameter that is 90% to 95% of a diameter of the inner cavity of the gas exchange medium along a majority of the length of the flow diverter does not render the claimed device patently distinct from the prior art of record.
Regarding claim 3, Chambers in view of Prasad and in further view of Peticca suggests the blood oxygenator of claim 1, and Chambers further discloses that a diameter of the flow diverter increases or decreases between the fixed end and the free end (Fig. 3, feat. 18; Col. 5, line 51 – Col. 6, line 6).
Regarding claim 4, Chambers in view of Prasad and in further view of Peticca suggests the blood oxygenator of claim 1, and Chambers further discloses that the flow diverter (Fig. 3, feat. 18) extends along 25% to 100% of the longitudinal length of the gas exchange medium (16; Col. 5, lines 33-50).
Regarding claim 18, Chambers in view of Prasad and in further view of Peticca suggests the blood oxygenator of claim 1, and Chambers further discloses that the flow diverter (Fig. 3, feat. 18) extends along 50% or more of the length of the gas exchange medium (16; Col. 5, lines 33-50).
Regarding claim 19, Chambers in view of Prasad and in further view of Peticca suggests the blood oxygenator of claim 1, and Chambers further discloses that the flow diverter (Fig. 3, feat. 18) extends along 75% or more of the length of the gas exchange medium (16; Col. 5, lines 33-50).
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chambers et al. (US 6,682,698 B2) in view of Prasad et al. (US 5,352,361 A), in further view of Peticca et al. (US 2017/0007755 A1), and in further view of Tuval et al. (WO 2018/078615 A1).
Regarding claims 21-23, Chambers in view of Prasad and in further view of Peticca suggests the blood oxygenator of claim 1, but does not disclose that the flow diverter has 0.5 to 10 twists per inch along its length, with respect to claim 21, that the flow diverter has 0.5 to 5 twists per inch along its length, with respect to claim 22, or that the flow diverter has 2 to 8 twists per inch along its length, with respect to claim 23.
Tuval teaches an impeller (Fig. 2, feat. 42; Figs. 4A-5D, feat. 50; Page 8, line 21 – Page. 9, line 9), or flow diverter, for a blood pump (Figs. 2 and 4, feat. 40; Page 7, line 16 – Page 8, line 3) comprising a helical, or spiral shaped, element (52, 56). Tuval teaches that the pitch of the helical element controls the blood flow created by the impeller, and that the pitch should be between 1 mm (about 25.4 twists per inch) and 20 mm (about 1.27 twists per inch) to produce sufficient flow (Page 12, lines 16-28). The prior art range of 1.27 to 25.4 twists per inch overlaps the range of 0.5 to 10 twists per inch of claim 21, the range of 0.5 to 5 twists per inch of claim 22, and the range of 2 to 8 twists per inch of claim 23, and therefore a prima facie case exists for the claimed ranges. Please see MPEP §2144.05(I). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the oxygenator suggested by Chambers in view of Prasad and in further view of Peticca so that the flow diverter has 0.5 to 10 twists per inch along its length, with respect to claim 21, so that the flow diverter has 0.5 to 5 twists per inch along its length, with respect to claim 22, or so that the flow diverter has 2 to 8 twists per inch along its length, with respect to claim 23, in order to produce sufficient flow as taught by Tuval.
Conclusion
/ARJUNA P CHATRATHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/LESLIE R DEAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799 12 December 2025