DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
In the communication filed on 10/28/2025, claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 10, and 15 are amended. No claims are new. No claims are presently cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The prior objections to the Specification are withdrawn due to the amendments.
The prior rejections under U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn due to the amendments.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1, 10, and 15 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
“transmission channel”
“second charging period”
“second target electromagnetic wave signal”
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
The specification does not provide antecedent basis for the following claimed terms:
“first charging period”
“second charging period”
“second target electromagnetic wave signal”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sara (US 2020/0252141 A1; hereinafter “Sara”), in view of Leab (US 2017/0077995 A1; hereinafter “Leab”), Sawa et al. (US 2023/0147179 A1), and Clerkx (US 2019/0305603 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Sara discloses a wireless charging system (“wireless power transmission environment 100”; Fig. 1) comprising: a wireless charging apparatus (“transmitter 102”; Figs. 1-2) and a to-be-charged device (“electronic device 122” with “receiver 120”; Figs. 1, 3).
Sara further discloses the wireless charging apparatus (102) is configured to obtain, in a first charging period (steps 504-524 of Figs. 5A-5B), channel information (“information identifying … amount of usable power” per steps 516-524; Fig. 5B) of a transmission channel (between “102” and “122” with signals “116” and “118”; Fig. 1).
Sara further discloses the wireless charging apparatus (102) is configured to obtain a waveform parameter (each waveform is identified by a “phase” value; Figs. 4A-4B show intervals of phase values; phases are known by “102” in step 504 prior to transmitting to “122” per Figs. 5A-5C) indicating a waveform (“RF test signal”; steps 504-515 of Fig. 5A) of an electromagnetic wave signal (“RF test signal” is a specific waveform of the “power transmission signals 116”).
Sara further discloses the transmission channel (between “102” and “122” with signals “116” and “118”; Fig. 1) is a channel between the wireless charging apparatus (102) and the to-be-charged device (122) at a first frequency (¶ [24]: “a first radio frequency”).
Sara further discloses the wireless charging apparatus (102) is configured to generate a target electromagnetic wave signal (“116” with “optimal phase” determined by the “optimal phase setting module 222” in Fig. 2; see also steps 526-530 of Figs. 5B-5C) based on the channel information (Fig. 5B step 526: “based on … amounts of usable power”) and the waveform parameter (each test signal used to produce the channel information is associated with a known, distinct test phase value; steps 504-515 of Fig. A).
Sara further discloses the wireless charging apparatus (102) is configured to send the target electromagnetic wave signal (Fig. 5C step 530: “transmit … RF power signals with the optimal phase to the wireless-power-receiving device”) to the to-be-charged device (122) through the transmission channel (“116” travels from “102” to “122”; Fig. 1).
Sara further discloses the to-be-charged device (“122” with “receiver “120”) is configured to receive (¶ [58]: “120 receives power transmission signals 116”), through the transmission channel (between “102” and “122”; Fig. 1), the target electromagnetic wave signal (“116” with “optimal phase”) sent by the wireless charging apparatus (¶ [58]: “116 … transmitted by transmitters 102”).
Sara further discloses the to-be-charged device (“122” with “receiver “120” with internal “power converter 126”; Figs. 1, 3) is configured to convert the target electromagnetic wave signal (“116” with “optimal phase”) into a direct current signal (¶ [59]: “120 uses … 126 to converter energy derived from power waves 116 to … DC electricity”; also ¶ [64, 100]).
Sara further discloses the to-be-charged device (122) is configured to perform charging based on the direct current signal (¶ [59]: “DC electricity to … charge the electronic device 122”).
Sara does not explicitly disclose “the channel information comprises signal attenuation and a transmission delay of an electromagnetic wave signal transmitted through the transmission channel”.
Sara further does not disclose “after the first charging period ends, obtain in a second charging period, updated channel information of the transmission channel and an updated waveform parameter; and generate a second target electromagnetic wave signal based on the updated channel information and the updated waveform parameter, and send the second target electromagnetic signal to the to-be-charged device through the transmission channel; wherein the waveform parameter is an exponential factor for an exponential operation performed on the signal attenuation included in the channel information in a process of generating the target electromagnetic wave signal; and wherein the target electromagnetic wave signal meets the following formula:
where n represents the first frequency, N represents a number of frequencies, wn represents the target electromagnetic wave signal,
φ
n
-
represents an average transmission delay included in the channel information, An represents the signal attenuation included in the channel information, P is total transmit power of the wireless charging apparatus, and β is the waveform parameter; and wherein each of the first and second charging period includes a respective target electromagnetic signal determining phase and a respective wireless energy transmission phase”.
Leab teaches the channel information (¶ [13]: “transmission parameters defining one or more characteristics of the one or more power waves”; step 209 of Fig. 2; see also ¶ [36-37, 109, 129, 134, 304]) comprises signal attenuation (¶ [129]: characteristics of the power waves 135 may include: amplitude, phase, gain”; “gain” is a measure of signal attenuation through the medium from the transmitter to the receiver) and a transmission delay (¶ [174]: transmitter 301 may then determine a delay in the phase of the respective power waves”).
Leab further teaches this channel information is of an electromagnetic wave signal (“power waves 135” in Fig. 1) transmitted through the transmission channel (space through which “131” and “135” travel between “101” and “121”; Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the channel information disclosed by Sara to comprise signal attenuation and transmission delay, as taught by Leab, to improve power transfer efficiency to the receiver (Leab ¶ [111, 194, 200, 206]).
Sawa teaches a wireless charging apparatus (“wireless power transmission device 1”; Figs. 1-2; ¶ [118]) is configured to do the following.
Sawa further teaches after the first charging period ends (period before “90” in the annotated Fig. 4, included infra; per ¶ [154], the “REV method” during “90” is taught to be repeated as necessary to update the “phase offset values” when “received power value” gets low; looped flowchart of Fig. 5 further teaches the “REV method” of steps S06-S07 can repeat as necessary, while the charging of steps S01-S02 is performed continuously; thus, there can be any number of charging periods, each starting with a “REV method”), obtain in a second charging period (90 + 93A; Fig. 4), updated channel information (“received power level”; Fig. 8, step S04; ¶ [154, 260]) of the transmission channel (between “1” and “60” with signal “2”; Figs. 1-2; ¶ [118]) and an updated waveform parameter (“phase offset value 77”; Fig. 8, step S06; ¶ [151, 155, 262]).
Sawa further teaches to generate (Fig. 8, step S01; generated via “transmission signal generator 11” of Fig. 2; ¶ [121, 256]) a second target electromagnetic wave signal (“power transmission radio wave 2” following execution of “REV method” of steps S05-S06) based on the updated channel information (“received power level” used in steps S04-S05 prior to performing “REV method”) and the updated waveform parameter (“phase offset values”, determined in step S06 and updated in S07 for generation).
Sawa further teaches to send (Fig. 8, step S01; sent via “element antenna 8” of Fig. 2; ¶ [258]) the second target electromagnetic signal (“power transmission radio wave 2” of Fig. 1; sent during the “2nd charging period” of annotated Fig. 4) to the to-be-charged device (“movable body 60” with “power reception device 3”; Fig. 1; ¶ [118]) through the transmission channel (“2” travels from “1” to “60”; Figs. 1-2).
Sawa further teaches each of the first and second charging period (per ¶ [154], the “REV method” during “90” is taught to be repeated as necessary to update the “phase offset values” when “received power value” gets low; looped flowchart of Fig. 5 further teaches the “REV method” of steps S06-S07 can repeat as necessary, while the charging of steps S01-S02 is performed continuously; thus, there can be any number of charging periods, each starting with a “REV method”) includes a respective target electromagnetic signal determining phase (“REV method” steps S06-S07, performed during “90”; Figs. 4, 8) and a respective wireless energy transmission phase (steps S01-S02 are performed continuously; steps S01-S02 during “93A”; Figs. 4, 8).
Sawa further teaches the second charging period to update the channel information, which improves the received power strength in the second wireless energy transmission phase after updating the waveform parameter (¶ [131]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the wireless charging system disclosed by the combination of Sara and Leab to incorporate a second charging period, as taught by Sawa, to improve the received power strength in the second wireless energy transmission phase after updating the waveform parameter.
Clerkx teaches the waveform parameter (“β”) is an exponential factor (¶ [11]: “β is the exponent factor”) for an exponential operation (formula of ¶ [31] used in the formula of ¶ [33] includes the exponential operation “Anβ”) performed on the signal attenuation (“An”; ¶ [33]: “weak frequency components are attenuated”) included in the channel information (combo of signal attenuation “An” and transmission delay “ϕn”; ¶ [26]: “An is a magnitude of a frequency response”; ¶ [32]: “transmit phases
ϕ
n
may be chosen such that all signals arrive in-phase at the input of the rectenna”).
Clerkx further teaches this operation in a process of generating (¶ [33]: “complex weight may dictate the magnitude and phases assigned to the signals generated by the transmitter”) the target electromagnetic wave signal (“wn”; ¶ [33]: “complex weight on signal n of a scaled matched filter (SMF) waveform”).
Clerkx further teaches the target electromagnetic wave signal (“wn”) meets the following formula:
Instant Application
Clerkx (US 2019/0305603 A1)
Claim 1 formula:
¶ [33] formula:
¶ [32] formula:
ϕ
n
=
-
ψ
n
-
Thus, substituting
ϕ
n
for
-
ψ
n
-
in the ¶ [33] formula yields:
w
n
=
e
j
ϕ
n
A
n
β
2
P
∑
n
=
0
N
-
1
A
n
2
β
Clerkx further teaches n represents the first frequency (“frequency n”; ¶ [8]), N represents a number of frequencies (“N carriers”; ¶ [7]), wn represents the target electromagnetic wave signal (“wn”; ¶ [33]: “complex weight on signal n of a scaled matched filter (SMF) waveform”),
φ
n
-
represents an average transmission delay (“transmit phases
ϕ
n
may be chosen such that all signals arrive in-phase at the input of the rectenna”; ¶ [32]) included in the channel information (combo of “An” and “ϕn”), An represents the signal attenuation (“An is a magnitude of a frequency response”; ¶ [26]) included in the channel information (combo of “An” and “ϕn”), P is total transmit power (“P is the transmit power”; ¶ [15]) of the wireless charging apparatus (“at least one transmitter” in “a Wireless Power Transfer (WPT) system; ¶ [7]), and β is the waveform parameter (“β”).
Clerkx teaches the target electromagnetic wave signal meets the formula for the advantage of amplifying strong frequency components and attenuating weak frequency components (¶ [33]). The approach is less complex than other methods of optimizing wireless power waveforms (¶ [42-43]), while improving the efficiency of RF-to-DC conversion (¶ [66]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the target electromagnetic wave signal and waveform parameter disclosed by the combination Sara, Leab, and Sawa per the formula taught by Clerkx to improve the efficiency of RF-to-DC conversion and minimize design complexity.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Sara, Leab, Sawa, and Clerkx teaches the wireless charging system according to claim 1.
Sara further discloses obtaining the waveform parameter (“test phases” selected in steps 504-515; Fig. 5A) comprises selecting the waveform parameter from at least one preset candidate waveform parameter (¶ [94]: “predetermined test phases”; ¶ [118]: test phases selected from “a plurality of available phases”; ¶ [124]: “phase index” assigns a set of phase values which are “separated by a predefined interval”; “phase index” in Figs. 4A-4B).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Sara, Leab, Sawa, and Clerkx teaches the wireless charging system according to claim 2.
Sara further discloses selecting the waveform parameter (“phase”) comprises the following.
Sara further discloses sending at least one first test signal (“plurality of RF test signals”; steps 504-515 of Fig. 5A) to the to-be-charged device (122) through the transmission channel (“116” travels between “102” and “122”; Fig. 1).
Sara further discloses the at least one first test signal (“plurality of RF test signals”) has a one-to-one correspondence with the at least one preset candidate waveform parameter (per Fig. 5A step 504: each “RF test signal” corresponds to a different test phase of a plurality of available phases).
Sara further discloses a respective first test signal is generated (¶ [24]: “transmitting … a first radio frequency (RF) test signal …”) based on a corresponding candidate waveform parameter (¶ [24] continued: “… at a first test phase of a plurality of available phases”).
Sara further discloses to receive, through the transmission channel (“116” and “118” travel between “102” and “122”; Fig. 1), a first measurement result (“information identifying first amount of usable power”; steps 516-518 of Fig. 5B) sent by the to-be-charged device (steps 516-518 of Fig. 5B; ¶ [25]: “receiving, from the wireless-power-receiving device, information identifying first and second amounts of power delivered … by the first and second RF test signals”).
Sara further discloses to select the waveform parameter (“optimal phase”, steps 526-528 of Fig. 5B) from the at least one preset candidate waveform parameter (Fig. 5B step 526: “determine … an optimal phase from among the plurality of available phases”) based on the first measurement result (Fig. 5B step 526: “based on the first and second amounts of usable power delivered”).
Sara further discloses the to-be-charged device (“122” with “receiver 120”) is further configured to receive, through the transmission channel (“116” travels between “102” and “122”; Fig. 1), the at least one first test signal (“first RF test signal” is a specific waveform of the “power transmission signals 116”) sent by the wireless charging apparatus (¶ [58]: “120 receives power transmission signals 116 … transmitted by transmitters 102”).
Sara further discloses the to-be-charged device (“122” with receiver “120”) is further configured to measure signal quality (Fig. 5A step 516: “first amount of usable power”; “usable power” measured by “usable power determining module 321” within “120”; Fig 1) of the at least one first test signal (“plurality of RF test signals”).
Sara further discloses the to-be-charged device (122) is further configured to generate the first measurement result (“information identifying a first amount of usable power”; steps 516-518 of Fig. 5B) based on the signal quality (“usable power”) of the at least one first test signal (“first amount of usable power” corresponds to “first of the plurality of RF test signals”).
Sara further discloses the to-be-charged device (122) is further configured to send the first measurement result (Fig. 5A steps 516-518; “first additional wireless communication signal” is a specific waveform of “communication signals 118”) to the wireless charging apparatus (102) through the transmission channel (“118” travels between “102” and “122”; Fig. 1; ¶ [58]: “120 receives … communication signals 118 transmitted by transmitters “102”).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Sara, Leab, Sawa, and Clerkx teaches the wireless charging system according to claim 3.
Sara discloses the first measurement result (“information identifying first amount of usable power”) comprises the signal quality (“usable power”) of the at least one first test signal (“first amount of usable power” corresponds to “first of the plurality of RF test signals”).
Sara further discloses that selecting the waveform parameter (“optimal phase”, steps 526-528 of Fig. 5B) from the at least one preset candidate waveform parameter (Fig. 5B step 526: “determine … an optimal phase from among the plurality of available phases”) based on the first measurement result (Fig. 5B step 526: “based on the first and second amounts of usable power delivered”) comprises the following.
Sara further discloses determining a first target test signal (Figs. 5B-5C, steps 526-530: “determine … an optimal phase” to form “RF power signals with the optimal phase”) with highest signal quality (¶ [157]: “result with the highest amount of power is chosen as the final optimal phase”) based on the signal quality (“usable power”; Fig. 5B step 526: “based on the first and second amounts of usable power delivered”) of the at least one first test signal (“first amount of usable power” corresponds to “first RF test signal”) comprised in the first measurement result (“information identifying a first amount of usable power”).
Sara further discloses determining, from the at least one candidate waveform parameter (Fig. 5B step 526: “determine … an optimal phase from among the plurality of available phases), a candidate waveform parameter (“optimal phase”) corresponding to the first target test signal (Fig. 5C step 530: “RF power signals with the optimal phase”) as the waveform parameter (“phase”).
NOTE: Claim 4 only requires one of two limitations separated by the term “or”. The first limitation is discussed supra. Therefore, the following Claim 4 limitation is not addressed in this office action: “or wherein the first measurement result comprises first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates a first target test signal with highest signal quality in the at least one first test signal; and wherein selecting the waveform parameter from the at least one preset candidate waveform parameter based on the first measurement result comprises: determining the first target test signal indicated by the first indication information; and determining from the at least one preset candidate waveform parameter, a candidate waveform parameter corresponding to the first target test signal as the waveform parameter”.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Sara, Leab, Sawa, and Clerkx teaches the wireless charging system according to claim 1.
Sara discloses that obtaining the channel information (“information identifying … amount of usable power” per steps 516-524; Fig. 5B) of the transmission channel (between “102” and “122” with signals “116” and “118”; Fig. 1) comprises the following.
Sara further discloses performing a channel measurement process (steps 504-525 of Figs. 5A-5B are used to transmit 2 or 3 RF test signals and receive info back) on the transmission channel (between “102” and “122” with signals “116” and “118”; Fig. 1) to obtain the channel information (obtain “information identifying … amount of usable power” in steps 516-525 for each of the 2 or 3 test signals).
Sara further discloses the option for selecting the channel information from at least one piece of preset candidate channel information (per ¶ [76]: the “amount of usable power” can be already known and stored by “122”, serving as preset info that is sent to “102” instead of performing the “test signal” channel measurement process; ¶ [112]: “database 322 stores the amount of power derived from one or more power waves 116”; see ¶ [102-113] for additional context on the channel information storage capabilities).
NOTE: Due to the presence of “or” in the claim language, a prior art reference is only required to disclose one of the following two elements in order to teach Claim 5. In this case, both elements are disclosed by Sara, as discussed supra.
“performing a channel measurement process on the transmission channel to obtain the channel information”
[“or”]
“selecting the channel information from at least one piece of preset candidate channel information”
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Sara, Leab, Sawa, and Clerkx teaches the wireless charging system according to claim 5.
Sara discloses sending at least one second test signal (Fig. 7, step 708: “transmit test signals at 3rd and 4th test phases”; ¶ [25, 158]) to the to-be-charged device (122) through the transmission channel (“116” travels between “102” and “122”; Fig. 1).
Sara further discloses receiving, through the transmission channel (“amount of usable power” is communicated via “communication signals 118”; Fig. 1 shows “118” between “102” and “122”), a second measurement result (Fig. 7, step 710: “receive 3rd and 4th AUPs”; ¶ [159]) sent by the to-be-charged device (122).
Sara further discloses the to-be-charged device (122) is further configured to receive, through the transmission channel (“116” travels from “102” to “122”; Fig. 1), the at least one second test signal (“test signals at 3rd and 4th test phases”) sent by the wireless charging apparatus (102).
Sara further discloses the to-be-charged device (122) is further configured to measure signal quality (¶ [159]: “third and fourth amounts of power”) of the at least one second test signal (¶ [159]: “third and fourth RF test signals”).
Sara further discloses the to-be-charged device is further configured to generate the second measurement result (¶ [159]: “information identifying third and fourth amounts of power”) based on the signal quality (“amount of usable power” / “AUP”) of the at least one second test signal (¶ [159]: “third and fourth RF test signals”).
Sara further discloses the to-be-charged device is further configured to send the second measurement result (Fig. 7, step 710: “receive 3rd and 4th AUPs”; ¶ [159]) to the wireless charging apparatus (102) through the transmission channel (“amount of usable power” is communicated via “communication signals 118”; Fig. 1 shows “118” between “102” and “122”).
Sara does not explicitly disclose “obtaining the channel information of the transmission channel comprises: selecting the channel information from at least one piece of candidate channel information; wherein selecting the channel information from the at least one preset candidate channel information comprises: sending at least one second test signal to the to-be-charged device through the transmission channel, wherein the at least one second test signal has a one-to-one correspondence with the at least one piece of candidate channel information, and a respective second test signal is generated based on corresponding candidate channel information; receiving, through the transmission channel, a second measurement result sent by the to-be-charged device; and selecting the channel information from the at least one piece of candidate channel information based on the second measurement result”.
Leab teaches that obtaining the channel information (¶ [13]: “transmission parameters defining one or more characteristics of the one or more power waves”; ¶ [129]: characteristics of the power waves 135 may include: amplitude, phase, gain”; step 209 of Fig. 2; see also ¶ [36-37, 109, 134, 304]) of the transmission channel (space through which “131” and “135” travel between “101” and “121”; Fig. 1) comprises the following.
Leab teaches selecting the channel information (“transmission parameters”) from at least one piece of preset candidate channel information (¶ [134]: “mapping data … describing aspects of transmission fields associated with the transmitters 101”; ¶ [134]: “mapping data stored in a mapping memory of the system 100 may include … transmission parameters for power waves 135”).
Leab further teaches that selecting the channel information (“transmission parameters”) from the at least one piece of preset candidate channel information (¶ [134]: “transmitters 101 may use the mapping data as input parameters for determining the characters for transmitting the power waves 135”) comprises the following.
Leab further teaches sending at least one second test signal (¶ [14]: “a second exploratory wave”) to the to-be-charged device (“121”; Fig. 1) through the transmission channel (“135” travel between “101” and “121”; Fig. 1).
Leab further teaches the at least one second test signal (¶ [14]: “a second exploratory wave”) has a one-to-one correspondence with the at least one piece of candidate channel information (¶ [14]: “a second set of parameters indicating … refined characteristics of a second exploratory wave” based on “mapping memory”; “mapping memory” contains candidate channel info per ¶ [14, 134]).
Leab further teaches a respective second test signal (¶ [14]: “a second exploratory wave”) is generated based on corresponding candidate channel information (based on predetermined channel characteristics stored in “mapping memory”).
Leab further teaches receiving, through the transmission channel, a second measurement result (Fig. 2, steps 205-207; steps occur for any power wave sent to “RX”) sent by the to-be-charged device (“121” with “receiver 103”/“RX”).
Leab further teaches selecting the channel information (“transmission parameters”; Fig. 2, step 209) from the at least one piece of candidate channel information (¶ [134]: “mapping data stored in a mapping memory”) based on the second measurement result (¶ [134]: “update the mapping data of a mapping memory as new, up-to-date mapping data is received”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the selection of channel information disclosed by the combination of Sara, Leab, Sawa, and Clerkx to be from at least one piece of preset candidate channel information, as further taught by Leab (“mapping data”), to reduce the time required to begin wireless power transmission with a preset database of stored channel information.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Sara, Leab, Sawa, and Clerkx teaches the wireless charging system according to claim 8.
Sara further discloses the second measurement result (Fig. 7, step 710; ¶ [159]: “information identifying third and fourth amounts of power”) comprises the signal quality (“amount of usable power (AUP)”) of the at least one second test signal (¶ [159]: “third and fourth RF test signals”).
Sara further discloses determining a second target test signal (Fig. 7, step 716; ¶ [161]: “selecting … an optimal phase”) with highest signal quality (¶ [161]: “optimal phase … with a highest amount of power).
Sara further discloses this determination is based on the signal quality (“amount of usable power (AUP)”) of the at least one second test signal (“third and fourth RF test signals”) comprised in the second measurement result (¶ [161]: “optimal phase … with a highest amount of power from the first, third, and fourth amounts of power”).
Sara does not explicitly disclose that “selecting the channel information from the at least one piece of candidate channel information based on the second measurement result comprises: determining, from the at least one piece of candidate channel information, candidate channel information corresponding to the second target test signal as the channel information”.
Leab further teaches selecting the channel information (“transmission parameters”) from the at least one piece of candidate channel information (¶ [134]: “mapping data stored in a mapping memory”) based on the second measurement result (¶ [134]: “update the mapping data of a mapping memory as new, up-to-date mapping data is received”) comprises the following.
Leab further teaches determining, from the at least one piece of candidate channel information (¶ [134]: “mapping data stored in a mapping memory”), candidate channel information (¶ [134]: “update the mapping data of a mapping memory as new, up-to-date mapping data is received”) corresponding to the second target test signal (¶ [14]: “a second exploratory wave”) as the channel information (“transmission parameters”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the selection of the channel information disclosed by the combination of Sara, Leab, Sawa, and Clerkx, to select the channel information to be the candidate channel information corresponding the second target test signal, as further taught by Leab, to reduce the time required to begin wireless power transmission and improve power transfer efficiency to the receiver (Leab ¶ [111, 194, 200, 206]).
NOTE: Claim 9 only requires one of two limitations separated by the term “or”. The first limitation is discussed supra. Therefore, the following Claim 9 limitation is not addressed in this office action: “or wherein the second measurement result comprises second indication information, wherein the second indication information indicates a second target test signal with highest signal quality in the at least one second test signal; and wherein selecting the channel information from the at least one piece of candidate channel information based on the second measurement result comprises: determining the second target test signal indicated by the second indication information; and determining, from the at least one piece of candidate channel information, candidate channel information corresponding to the second target test signal as the channel information”.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sara (US 2020/0252141 A1; hereinafter “Sara”), in view of Leab (US 2017/0077995 A1; hereinafter “Leab”), Sawa et al. (US 2023/0147179 A1), Clerkx (US 2019/0305603 A1), and Zeine et al. (US 2020/0144864 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Sara, Leab, Sawa, and Clerkx teaches the wireless charging system according to claim 1.
Sara further discloses obtaining the channel information (“information identifying … amount of usable power” per steps 516-524; Fig. 5B) of the transmission channel (between “102” and “122” with signals “116” and “118”; Fig. 1) comprises the following.
Sara further discloses performing a channel measurement process (steps 504-525 of Figs. 5A-5B are used to transmit 2 or 3 RF test signals and receive info back) on the transmission channel (between “102” and “122” with signals “116” and “118”; Fig. 1) to obtain the channel information (obtain “information identifying … amount of usable power” in steps 516-525 for each of the 2 or 3 test signals).
Sara further discloses performing the channel measurement process on the transmission channel to obtain the channel information comprises the following.
Sara further discloses receiving, through the transmission channel (“118” travels between “102” and “122”; Fig. 1), the channel information (“information identifying … amount of usable power” per steps 516-524; Fig. 5B) sent by the to-be-charged device (“122”).
Sara further discloses to send the channel information (“information identifying … amount of usable power” per steps 516-524; Fig. 5B) to the wireless charging apparatus (“102”) through the transmission channel (“118” travels between “102” and “122”; Fig. 1).
Sara does not disclose “sending a beacon signal to the to-be-charged device through the transmission channel; and wherein the to-be-charged device is further configured to: receive, through the transmission channel, the beacon signal sent by the wireless charging apparatus; and perform channel measurement based on the beacon signal to obtain the channel information”.
Zeine teaches sending a beacon signal (¶ [50]: “101 … sends the beacon schedule information to the select wireless power receiver clients 103”; Fig. 2) to the to-be-charged device (“wireless devices 102a-102n” with “wireless power receiver clients 103a-103n”, “400”; Figs. 1-2, 4) through the transmission channel (“wireless power/data link”; Figs. 1-2).
Zeine further teaches the to-be-charged device (103, 400) is further configured to receive, through the transmission channel (“wireless power/data link”; Figs. 1-2), the beacon signal (“beacon schedule”) sent by the wireless charging apparatus (“101”; Figs. 1-2; ¶ [49-50]).
Zeine further teaches the to-be-charged device (“400” with “power meter 440”; Fig. 4) is further configured to perform channel measurement (¶ [64]: “power meter 440 can measure the received power signal strength”; Fig. 4) based on the beacon signal (¶ [49]: “so that … 103 knows … when to listen for power”) to obtain the channel information (¶ [64]: “power signal strength”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the wireless charging system disclosed by the combination of Sara, Leab, Sawa, and Clerkx to incorporate the beacon signals and associated functionalities, as taught by Zeine, for the purpose of scheduling power delivery to the receiver (¶ [49-50]) to speed up the process of transferring wireless power and find the most efficient transmission pathways (¶ [109]).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Sara, Leab, Sawa, and Clerkx teaches the wireless charging system according to claim 1.
Sara discloses that obtaining the channel information (“information identifying … amount of usable power” per steps 516-524; Fig. 5B) of the transmission channel (between “102” and “122” with signals “116” and “118”; Fig. 1) comprises the following.
Sara further discloses performing a channel measurement process (steps 504-525 of Figs. 5A-5B are used to transmit 2 or 3 RF test signals and receive info back) on the transmission channel (between “102” and “122” with signals “116” and “118”; Fig. 1) to obtain the channel information (obtain “information identifying … amount of usable power” in steps 516-525 for each of the 2 or 3 test signals).
Sara does not explicitly disclose “the to-be-charged device is further configured to: send a beacon signal to the wireless charging apparatus through the transmission channel; and wherein performing the channel measurement process on the transmission channel to obtain the channel information comprises: receiving, through the transmission channel, the beacon signal sent by the to-be-charged device; and performing channel measurement based on the beacon signal to obtain the channel information”.
Zeine teaches the to-be-charged device (“wireless devices 102a-102n” with “wireless power receiver clients 103a-103n”, “400”; Figs. 1-2, 4) is further configured to send a beacon signal (¶ [51]: “101 receives the beacon from the power receiver client 103”) to the wireless charging apparatus (“wireless power transmission system 101”; Figs. 1-2) through the transmission channel (“wireless power/data link”; Figs. 1-2).
Zeine further teaches performing the channel measurement process (¶ [51, 64]; Figs. 2, 11) on the transmission channel (“wireless power/data link”; Figs. 1-2) to obtain the channel information (phase, direction, and/or power signal strength) comprises the following.
Zeine further teaches receiving, through the transmission channel (“wireless power/data link”), the beacon signal sent by the to-be-charged device (¶ [51]: “101 receives the beacon from the power receiver client 103”).
Zeine further teaches performing channel measurement based on the beacon signal (¶ [51]: “101 … measures the phase (or direction) from which the beacon signal is received”; ¶ [64]: “power meter 440 can measure the received power signal strength”) to obtain the channel information (phase, direction, and/or power signal strength).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system disclosed by the combination of Sara, Leab, Sawa, and Clerkx to incorporate the beacon signals and associated functionalities, as taught by Zeine, for the purpose of scheduling power delivery to the receiver (¶ [49-50]) to speed up the process of transferring wireless power and find the most efficient transmission pathways (¶ [109]).
Claims 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sara (US 2020/0252141 A1; hereinafter “Sara”), in view of Leab (US 2017/0077995 A1; hereinafter “Leab”), Sawa et al. (US 2023/0147179 A1), and Clerkx (US 2019/0305603 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Sara discloses a wireless charging apparatus (“transmitter 102”; Figs. 1-2), comprising a signal processor (“104”; Figs. 1-2; ¶ [57]: “configured to control transmission of signals 116”), a power signal generator (“power wave generating module 224”; Fig. 2; ¶ [91]: “for generating and transmitting … power waves and test signals”), and at least one transceiver antenna (“110”; Figs. 1-2).
Sara further discloses the signal processor (104) is configured to obtain, in a first charging period (steps 504-524 of Figs. 5A-5B), channel information (“information identifying … amount of usable power” per steps 516-524; Fig. 5B) of a transmission channel (between “102”