DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 27-42, in the reply filed on 16 July 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 43 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 17 July 2025.
Information Disclosure Statements
The Information Disclosure Statements filed on 1 May 2022, 13 June 2023, 27 December 2023, 18 April 2024, 3 June 2024, and 17 January 2025 have been received and considered by the Examiner.
The information disclosure statement filed 27 June 2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided. The purpose of the abstract also need not be stated in the abstract.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The use of the terms Mirafi® and GEOTUBE®, which are trade names or marks used in commerce, has been noted in this application (e.g., paragraphs 133 and 706). The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Interpretation
The term “rare earth element oxide” is interpreted as encompassing not only compounds of the formula MxOy, where M is a rare earth element, but also compounds which comprise a rare earth element and oxygen. Such an interpretation is consistent with claims 39 and 40, which require rare earth element oxides to include rare earth element carboxylates and oxalates. No alternative special definition was identified in the specification.
A ”reduced rare earth element oxide” is interpreted any rare earth containing material obtained by reduction of a rare earth element oxide.
Claims 29 and 34 recite compositions comprising promethium. Promethium is a radioactive and extremely rare element in the Earth’s crust. However, it is formed in small quantities from the radioactive decay of europium (Belli et al., Nuc. Phys. A, 2007, 789, 15-29, section 4.2) and uranium (Attrep and Kuroda, J. Inorg. Nuc. Chem., 1968, 30, 699-703, abstract). Therefore, any composition comprising uranium and/or europium will be interpreted as also comprising promethium.
Claims 27, 32, 36, 38, and 41 recite a “hydraulic pre-concentrate”. This term is not given a limiting definition in the specification and seems to refer to both suspensions (as in claim 32) and solids (as in claim 41). For the purposes of prior examination this term in interpreted as encompassing any solution, suspension, or solid that has a higher concentration of rare earth elements relative to a raw feedstock material from which it is derived.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 27-28, 31-33, 36, and 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WVU (“Recovery of Rare Earth Elements (REEs) from Coal Mine Drainage,” 2016 NETL Crosscutting Technology Research Review Meeting, April 2016.) The relevant figure from this work is copied below.
Regarding claims 27 and 33, WVU discloses a method for making a rare earth element oxide (Rare Earth Oxalate) comprising the steps of providing a rare earth element oxide feedstock material (Acid Leachate);subjecting the rare earth element oxide feedstock material to one or more solvent extraction steps (Solvent Extraction); and isolating the rare earth element oxide from the one or more solvent extraction steps (Precipitation); wherein the rare earth element oxide feedstock material comprises a pregnant leach solution (Acid Leachate, 0.1-1% REE).
Regarding claims 28 and 31, WVU discloses the method of claim 27 where the rare earth element feedstock (Acid Leachate) is obtained from an acid mine drainage (AMD Sludge) associated with a coal mine (title of poster).
Regarding claims 32 and 36, under the interpretation where these claims do not require the use of a hydraulic pre-concentrate and only further limit the hydraulic pre-concentrate when it is used to meet the limitations of claim 27, because WVU anticipates claim 27 with use a pregnant leach solution, WVU also anticipates claims 32 and 36.
Regarding claims 39 and 40, WVU discloses the method of claim 27 wherein the rare earth element oxide is a rare earth element oxalate (Rare Earth Oxalate), a type of rare earth element carboxylate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 29, 34, 35, 37,38, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by WVU (“Recovery of Rare Earth Elements (REEs) from Coal Mine Drainage,” 2016 NETL Crosscutting Technology Research Review Meeting, April 2016), as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (International Journal of Coal Geology 195 (2018) 189-199).
Regarding claim 29, WVU teaches the method of claim 28, but does not explicitly teach the rare earth element feedstock comprising the seventeen elements recited in the claim where the total rare earth element concentration is about 5 mg/L to about 500 mg/L.
However, Zhang teaches the recovery of a rare earth element feedstock from acid mine drainage (natural leachate; Section 2), and that this rare earth element feedstock contains sixteen of the seventeen elements recited in the claim (Table 1); the presence of the seventeenth element, promethium, will be considered met based on the presence of europium in the material (see Claim Interpretation). The total rare earth concentration in the natural leachate taught by Zhang is 6.14 mg/L (6.14 ppm; p. 196, column 2, paragraph 1 and Table 1), which falls in the instantly claimed range of about 5 mg/L to about 500 mg/L.
Furthermore, Zhang teaches that solvent extraction and selective precipitation, including the method of WVU, are appropriate techniques to purify leachates such as the one described by Zhang (REEs are dissolved from the solid material due to the exposure to the natural leachate, which presents the opportunity for rare earth recovery using hydrometallurgical techniques such as selective precipitation and solvent extraction; p. 190, column 1, paragraph 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the feedstock of Zhang in the method of WVU. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because Zhang teaches that the method of WVU can be used for recovery of rare earth elements.
Regarding claim 34, WVU teaches the method of claim 33, does not explicitly teach the rare earth element feedstock comprising the seventeen elements recited in the claim where the total rare earth element concentration is about 5 mg/L to about 500 mg/L.
However, Zhang teaches the recovery of a rare earth element feedstock from a pregnant leach solution (natural leachate; Section 2), and that this rare earth element feedstock contains sixteen of the seventeen elements recited in the claim (Table 1); the presence of minute amounts of promethium will be considered present based on the presence of europium in the material (see Claim Interpretation). The total rare earth concentration in the pregnant leach solution taught by Zhang is 6.14 mg/L (6.14 ppm p. 196, column 2, paragraph 1 and Table 1), which falls in the instantly claimed range of about 5 mg/L to about 500 mg/L.
Furthermore, Zhang teaches that solvent extraction and selective precipitation, including the method of WVU, are appropriate techniques to purify leachates such as the one described by Zhang (REEs are dissolved from the solid material due to the exposure to the natural leachate, which presents the opportunity for rare earth recovery using hydrometallurgical techniques such as selective precipitation and solvent extraction; p. 190, column 1, paragraph 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the feedstock of Zhang in the method of WVU. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because Zhang teaches that the method of WVU can be used for recovery of rare earth elements.
Regarding claim 35, WVU teaches the method of claim 27, but does not teach the feedstock material comprising thorium and uranium in an aggregate concentration of less than about 1 mg/L.
However, Zhang teaches a rare earth element oxide feedstock material comprising uranium at 0.2 mg/L (0.2 ppm; Table 5) and thorium at 0.5 mg/L (0.5 ppm; p. 192, column 2, paragraph 3), which corresponds to an aggregate concentration of 0.7 mg/L, meeting the claim limitation of less than about 1 mg/L.
Furthermore, Zhang teaches that solvent extraction and selective precipitation, including the method of WVU, are appropriate techniques to purify leachates such as the one described by Zhang (REEs are dissolved from the solid material due to the exposure to the natural leachate, which presents the opportunity for rare earth recovery using hydrometallurgical techniques such as selective precipitation and solvent extraction; p. 190, column 1, paragraph 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the feedstock of Zhang in the method of WVU. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because Zhang teaches that the method of WVU can be used for recovery of rare earth elements.
Regarding claim 37, WVU teaches the method of claim 27, but is silent with respect to the pH of the pregnant leach solution.
However, Zhang teaches the recovery of a rare earth element feedstock from a pregnant leach solution (natural leachate; Section 2) and that this pregnant leach solution has a pH of 2.70 (a natural leachate …with a pH value of 2.70; abstract), which falls in the instantly claimed pH range of from about 2.0 to about 4.0.
Furthermore, Zhang teaches that solvent extraction and selective precipitation, including the method of WVU, are appropriate techniques to purify leachates such as the one described by Zhang (REEs are dissolved from the solid material due to the exposure to the natural leachate, which presents the opportunity for rare earth recovery using hydrometallurgical techniques such as selective precipitation and solvent extraction; p. 190, column 1, paragraph 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use in the method of WVU a pregnant leach solution with a pH of 2.70, which falls in the instantly claimed range. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because Zhang teaches a leachate with this pH and that the method of WVU can be used to recover rare earth elements.
Regarding claim 38, WVU teaches the method of claim 27, but is silent with respect to the pH of the pregnant leach solution.
However, Zhang teaches the recovery of a rare earth element feedstock from a pregnant leach solution (natural leachate; Section 2). This pregnant leach solution has an initial pH of 2.70 (abstract), but Zhang also teaches that the pH of the leachate can be adjusted upward to selectively precipitate certain impurities (p. 191, column 1, paragraph 2; p. 192, column 2, paragraph 4; and Table 4). Zhang further teaches that the major impurities of aluminum and iron are removed by pH 4.5 (iron and aluminum, which were removed in narrow pH ranges of 2.0 to 3.0 and 3.5 to 4.5, respectively; p. 195, column 1, paragraph 1; Fig. 9(a)) while rare earth elements are maintained until higher pH (the removal of lanthanum [a model REE] increased gradually as the solution pH value was elevated; p. 195, column 1, paragraph 1; Fig. 9(b).
Furthermore, Zhang teaches that solvent extraction and selective precipitation, including the method of WVU, are appropriate techniques to purify leachates such as the one described by Zhang (REEs are dissolved from the solid material due to the exposure to the natural leachate, which presents the opportunity for rare earth recovery using hydrometallurgical techniques such as selective precipitation and solvent extraction; p. 190, column 1, paragraph 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use in the method of WVU a pregnant leach solution with a pH of 4.5, which falls in the instantly claimed range of from about 4 to about 4.5. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because Zhang teaches that raising the pH of a natural leachate to this pH removes most iron and aluminum impurities while maintaining desirable rare earths and because Zhang teaches that the method of WVU can be used to recover rare earth elements.
Regarding claim 41, WVU teaches the method of claim 27, but does not teach a method of preparing a pre-concentrate.
However, Zhang teaches a method of preparing a hydraulic pre-concentrate comprising (a) contacting a raw material with a first base (the solution pH [of the natural leachate] was gradually increased by adding 2 M sodium hydroxide solution; p. 191, column 1, paragraph 2) in an amount sufficient to adjust the pH to 4.85 (Section 3.2 and Table 2 teach adjusting the pH of a natural leachate to 4.85 leaves most REEs in solution), thereby forming a mixture comprising a first aqueous phase and a first solid concentrate (bulk precipitate was generated due to the pH increase; p. 191, column 1, paragraph 2); (b) separating the first aqueous phase from the first solid concentrate (bulk precipitate was generated due to the pH increase which was recovered by filtration; p. 191, column 1, paragraph 2); (c) contacting the first aqueous phase with a second base (filtrate was subjected to further pH incremental increases’ p. 191, column 1, paragraph 2) in an amount sufficient to adjust the pH to a value of 8.55 (Section 3.2 and Tables 2 and 3 teach adjusting the pH of a natural leachate to 8.55 precipitates most REEs in solution), which falls in the claimed range of about 7.0 to about 9.0, thereby forming a mixture comprising a second aqueous phase and a hydraulic pre-concentrate (bulk precipitate was generated due to the pH increase; p. 191, column 1, paragraph 2); (d) removing the second aqueous phase and collecting the hydraulic pre- concentrate (bulk precipitate was generated due to the pH increase which was recovered by filtration; P8 and P9 are considered the hydraulic preconcentrate; bulk precipitate was generated due to the pH increase; p. 191, column 1, paragraph 2); wherein the raw material comprises rare earth elements (the natural leachate comprises raw earth elements; Table 1); and wherein the hydraulic pre-concentrate is enriched in rare earth elements and critical minerals (leaching and staged precipitation process enriched both the critical and heavy REE fractions; abstract; see also Tables 2 and 3 which shows that rare earth elements and critical elements are enriched in P8 and P9).
Furthermore, Zhang teaches that the precipitate fractions enriched in REEs (P8 and P9) require further upgrading to be commercially marketable (p. 196, column 1, paragraph 1) and that the method of WVU can be used to recover rare earth elements (p. 190, column 1, paragraph 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of WVU to include the method of the Zhang for preparing a hydraulic preconcentrate. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Zhang teaches that further purification of the hydraulic pre-concentrates are necessary and also that solvent extraction including the method of WVU are appropriate techniques for recovery of rare earth metals. It would therefore have been obvious to subject the hydraulic preconcentrate prepared by Zhang to the method of WVU for further purification, as taught appropriate by Zhang.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by WVU (“Recovery of Rare Earth Elements (REEs) from Coal Mine Drainage,” 2016 NETL Crosscutting Technology Research Review Meeting, April 2016), as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of Brewer (US 2017/0275732 A1).
Regarding claim 30, WVU teaches the method of claim 27, but does not teach the method further comprising a step of reducing the rare earth element oxide.
However, Brewer also teaches a method for extracting and separating rare earth elements (abstract) comprised of leaching, selective removal of ions from the leach solution and precipitating rare earth oxalates ([0020]), analogous to the method disclosed by WVU. Brewer also teaches the further step of separating rare earth elements from an aqueous solution by means of an electrowinning process wherein the rare elements are plated out as metals ([0037]), which represents a reduction from the oxide. Brewer also teaches that such a process, when repeated, produces a 99.9% pure rare earth element ([0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of WVU to include an step of reducing the rare earth element oxide to a reduced rare earth element oxide, wherein the reduction is carried out using an electrowinning process, as taught by Brewer. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because Brewer teaches that this additional step can be used to produce very pure rare earth elements.
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by WVU (“Recovery of Rare Earth Elements (REEs) from Coal Mine Drainage,” 2016 NETL Crosscutting Technology Research Review Meeting, April 2016), as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (International Journal of Coal Geology 195 (2018) 189-199) and Sugita et al. (US 2016/0251739 A1).
Regarding claim 42, WVU teaches the method of claim 27, but does not teach the pregnant leach solution being prepared by a method comprising the steps recited in the instant claim.
However, Zhang teaches a method of preparing a pregnant leach solution comprising (a) contacting a raw material containing rare earth elements (REEs) with a first base to form waste solids and an aqueous phase and discarding the waste solids; (the solution pH [of the natural leachate] was gradually increased by adding 2 M sodium hydroxide solution; p. 191, column 1, paragraph 2 (b) contacting the aqueous phase with a second base to form an REE-enriched preconcentrate and an effluent and discharging the effluent (bulk precipitate was generated due to the pH increase which was recovered by filtration; P8 and P9 are considered the preconcentrate; p. 191, column 1, paragraph 2); (c) contacting the REE-enriched preconcentrate with an acid to form an acidic preconcentrate (Precipitate material identified as P8 and P9 in Table 3 were mixed together and re-dissolved using 10 M HNO3; p. 196, column 1, paragraph 1); (d) filtering the acidic preconcentrate to form an acidic filtrate (indissoluble material was removed using a 0.45 μm pore size filter paper; ; p. 196, column 1, paragraph 1). Zhang also teaches this solution being enriched in REEs (Table 7 vs. Table 1) and essentially free of solids (indissoluble material was removed using a 0.45 μm pore size filter paper; ; p. 196, column 1, paragraph 1).
Zhang does not teach contacting the acidic filtrate with a third base and filtering to form a pregnant leach solution.
However, Sugita teaches that the pH of a leachate or pretreated leachate to be brought into contact with an extraction treatment liquid in an extraction step needs to be set to 1.0 or more and 1.7 or less and is recommended to be preferably 1.2 or more and 1.6 or less ([0035]). Sugita also teaches that filtering of the leachate prevents a third phase in the extraction step ([0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of use the method of Zhang for preparing a pregnant leach solution and to use this solution in the method of WVU. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Zhang teaches that further purification of the hydraulic pre-concentrates precursor to the pregnant leach solution is necessary and also that solvent extraction including the method of WVU are appropriate techniques for recovery of rare earth metals. It would therefore have been obvious to subject the pregnant leach prepared by Zhang to the method of WVU for further purification, as taught appropriate by Zhang.
It would have also been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the method of WVU to include contacting the acidic filtrate obtained by Zhang with a third base and filtering to form the pregnant leach solution, as taught by Sugita. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Sugita teaches that the pH of the leach solution affects the effectiveness of the solvent extractions, such as those used in the method of WVU, and that pHs in the range of 1.2-1.6 are preferable. Because Zhang teaches using 10 M HNO3 to prepare the pregnant leach solution, it would be necessary to add a base to bring the pH into the desired range. One of ordinary skill would have been additionally motivated to filter the pregnant leach solution to avoid formation of a third phase in the extraction steps, as taught by Sugita.
Double Patenting
Claims 27 and 42 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 19 of U.S. Patent No. 10,954,582 B2 in view of Belova (Theor. Found. Chem. Eng., 2017, 51(4), 599–609).
Regarding claims 27 and 42, claim 19 of the ‘582 patent teaches a method of producing a rare earth resource comprising at least 50% REE with all the limitations of claim 27 and claim 42, with the exception of isolating a rare earth element oxide material from the one or more solvent extraction steps.
However, Belova teaches that rare earth element oxides can be isolated following purification by solvent extraction (Fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to isolate the rare earth element oxide from the solvent extraction step. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so by the desire to actually possess the rare earth element oxide they worked to purify.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS A. PIRO/Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/ALEXANDRA M MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738