DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 04/30/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-17 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Brusilovsky (Pub No 20220264522) further in view of newly cited Xu (Pub No 20220225185), Lee (Pub No 20200396714) and Loviekar (Pub No 20220072175) and newly cited Lee (pub No 20190045482).
Regarding claim 1,
Applicant argues the prior art does not teach “first parameter is determined by the second access network device” and “ the second access network device stores a context of the terminal device before the first paging occasion is updated.”
The examiner relies on Brusilovsky (Pub No 20220264522) further in view of newly cited Xu (Pub No 20220225185), Lee (Pub No 20200396714) and Loviekar (Pub No 20220072175) and newly cited Lee (pub No 20190045482).
All other arguments are fully addressed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brusilovsky (Pub No 20220264522) further in view of Xu (Pub No 20220225185), Lee (Pub No 20200396714), Loviekar (Pub No 20220072175), and Lee (pub No 20190045482).
Regarding claim 1 and 5,
Brusilovsky teaches A paging method, wherein the method comprises:
one or more processors; and a memory coupled to the one or more processor, and storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the terminal device to: (see para [0044])
determining, by the terminal device, that a first paging occasion corresponding to a first subscriber identity supported by the terminal device collides with a second paging occasion corresponding to the second subscriber identity supported by the terminal device; and (interpreted as determining whether there is a paging occasion collision between the first paging occasion and the second paging occasion, on condition that there is the paging occasion collision, at 604, see para [0098]. Also see paging occasion collision may also occur in scenarios with multiple Subscriber Identity Modules (SIMs), see para [0091])
sending, by the terminal device, first indication information to a first access network device, wherein the first indication information indicates that the first paging occasion collides with the second paging occasion, wherein the first access network device corresponds to a cell in which the terminal device is located by using the first subscriber identity. (interpreted as selecting a network from the first network and the second network, and sending a request to the selected network; at 605, receiving, from the selected network, a collision avoidance parameter corresponding to the request; and at 606, see para [0098]. Also see These networks correspond to two USIMs (e.g., dual-USIM) within a WTRU. In other words, the WTRU may access one network through one USIM, and may access another network through another USIM, see para [0151])
receiving, by the terminal device, a first parameter, wherein the first parameter determines a third paging occasion corresponding to the first subscriber identity, (interpreted as For example, the AMF of NW B may determine a new WTRU ID based on a local algorithm to ensure a new paging occasion obtained from the new WTRU ID is different from that paging occasion (i.e., subframe 9 shown in FIG. 5A) obtained from the existing WTRU ID. Then, the AMF in NW B sends a Registration Accept message which includes new WTRU ID to the WTRU, see para [0142])
However Brusilovsky does not teach receiving a message for the first subscriber identity to enter an inactive state;
Determining collision after the first subscriber identity enters the inactive state.
Receiving the parameter from the first access network device;
The second access network determining the first parameter; the second access network storing context before paging update.
Xu teaches the first parameter being determined by the second access network device; (interpreted as a first base station determines a second base station corresponding to a neighbor cell of a cell whose CSI-RS configuration is updated according to a neighboring cell relationship under a condition that the CSI-RS configuration for mobility measurement in at least one associated cell is updated, see para [0046])
Receiving the parameter from the first access network device; (interpreted as configured to transmit the updated CSI-RS configuration information to a second base station; the second base station, configured to indicate a terminal in a coverage of the second base station to measure cells associated with the first base station according to the updated CSI-RS configuration information, see para [0019]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the first network and second network as taught by Brusilovsky with the forwarding of configuration information as taught by Xu for the benefit of the other network can also be informed of the configuration/parameter changes.
However Brusilovsky in view of Xu does not teach receiving a message for the first subscriber identity to enter an inactive state;
Determining collision after the first subscriber identity enters the inactive state.
the second access network storing context before paging update.
Lee’75 teaches determining collision after the first subscriber identity enters an inactive state (interpreted as According to various embodiments, the processor 710 may determine whether a paging conflict in which a first paging cycle related to the first SIM 740 overlaps with a second paging cycle related to the second SIM 750 occurs, when monitoring paging related to each of the first SIM 740 and the second SIM 750. According to an embodiment, the processor 710 may compare a first paging cycle related to the first SIM 740 and a second paging cycle related to the second SIM 750 having no data transmission/reception (e.g., in an idle state), and determine whether there is a paging collision between the first paging cycle and the second paging cycle, based at least on the result of the comparison, while transmitting and receiving data (e.g., paging processing, packet processing), based on the first SIM 740, see para [0104]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the paging taught by Brusilovsky with the idle state taught by Lee since for the benefit of determining collision in any state of the devices.
However Brusilovsky in view of Xu and Lee’75 does not teach receiving a message for the first subscriber identity to enter an inactive state;
Storing context before paging update.
Receiving the parameter from the first access network device;
Loviekar teaches receiving, by a terminal device, a first message sent by a second access network device for a first subscriber identity to enter an inactive state, wherein the second access network device corresponds to a cell in which the terminal device is located by using a second subscriber identity; (interpreted as receiving, by a terminal device, a first message sent by a second access network device for a first subscriber identity to enter an inactive state, wherein the second access network device corresponds to a cell in which the terminal device is located by using a second subscriber identity, see para [0153])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the mutli sim taught by Brusilovsky with the idle state taught by Loviekar for the benefit of allowing the UE to suspend activity on the first SIM in order to undertake the higher priority activity on the other SIM.
However Brusilovsky in view of Xu, Lee, and Loviekar does not teach Storing context before paging update.
Lee’82 teaches stores a context of the terminal device before the first paging occasion is updated. (interpreted as In step S110, the eNB searches a stored UE context for the UE to be paged. That is, the eNB maps the S-TMSI, which is included in the paging message received from the MME, to a stored UE context for the UE to be paged. The stored UE context may include the resume ID for the UE to be paged, see para [0132]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the paging taught by Brusilovsky with having the stored UE context by Lee’82 for the benefit of being able to update changes in the paging to the corresponding UE.
Regarding claim 9,
Brusilovsky teaches An apparatus, comprising:
one or more processors; and a memory coupled to the one or more processors and storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to: (see para [0211])
receive first indication information that is from a terminal device and that indicates that a first paging occasion corresponding to a first subscriber identity collides with a second paging occasion corresponding to a second subscriber identity, wherein the terminal device supports the first subscriber identity and the second subscriber identity, and the apparatus is an access network device corresponding to a first cell in which the terminal device is located by using the first subscriber identity; and (interpreted as he request may be used to request the selected network (e.g., its AMF) to generate a new parameter or new parameters, such as a new WTRU ID or a new DRX cycle, for the WTRU to calculate and obtain, for the selected network, a new paging occasion which will not collide with the paging occasion for the unselected network. Here in this application, the new parameter(s) generated by the selected network is referred to as collision avoidance parameter, see para [0134])
send, to the terminal device, a first parameter that determines a third paging occasion corresponding to the first subscriber identity, wherein the first parameter determines a third paging occasion corresponding to the first subscriber identity (interpreted as For example, the AMF of NW B may determine a new WTRU ID based on a local algorithm to ensure a new paging occasion obtained from the new WTRU ID is different from that paging occasion (i.e., subframe 9 shown in FIG. 5A) obtained from the existing WTRU ID. Then, the AMF in NW B sends a Registration Accept message which includes new WTRU ID to the WTRU, see para [0142])
However Brusilovsky does not teach receiving a message for the first subscriber identity to enter an inactive state;
Determining collision after the first subscriber identity enters the inactive state.
Receiving the parameter from the first access network device;
The second access network determining the first parameter;
the second access network storing context before paging update.
Xu teaches the first parameter being determined by the second access network device; (interpreted as a first base station determines a second base station corresponding to a neighbor cell of a cell whose CSI-RS configuration is updated according to a neighboring cell relationship under a condition that the CSI-RS configuration for mobility measurement in at least one associated cell is updated, see para [0046])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the parameter by Brusilovsky with the parameter generated at the access network device for the benefit of being able to modify optimal changes from different devices in the network.
However Brusilovsky does not teach receiving a message for the first subscriber identity to enter an inactive state;
Determining collision after the first subscriber identity enters the inactive state.
the second access network storing context before paging update.
Lee’75 teaches determining collision after the first subscriber identity enters an inactive state (interpreted as According to various embodiments, the processor 710 may determine whether a paging conflict in which a first paging cycle related to the first SIM 740 overlaps with a second paging cycle related to the second SIM 750 occurs, when monitoring paging related to each of the first SIM 740 and the second SIM 750. According to an embodiment, the processor 710 may compare a first paging cycle related to the first SIM 740 and a second paging cycle related to the second SIM 750 having no data transmission/reception (e.g., in an idle state), and determine whether there is a paging collision between the first paging cycle and the second paging cycle, based at least on the result of the comparison, while transmitting and receiving data (e.g., paging processing, packet processing), based on the first SIM 740, see para [0104]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the paging taught by Brusilovsky with the idle state taught by Lee since for the benefit of determining collision in any state of the devices.
However Brusilovsky in view of Lee’75 does not teach receiving a message for the first subscriber identity to enter an inactive state;
Storing context before paging update.
Loviekar teaches receiving, by a terminal device, a first message sent by a second access network device for a first subscriber identity to enter an inactive state, wherein the second access network device corresponds to a cell in which the terminal device is located by using a second subscriber identity; (interpreted as receiving, by a terminal device, a first message sent by a second access network device for a first subscriber identity to enter an inactive state, wherein the second access network device corresponds to a cell in which the terminal device is located by using a second subscriber identity, see para [0153])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the mutli sim taught by Brusilovsky with the idle state taught by Loviekar for the benefit of allowing the UE to suspend activity on the first SIM in order to undertake the higher priority activity on the other SIM.
However Brusilovsky in view of Lee and Loviekar does not teach Storing context before paging update.
Lee’82 teaches stores a context of the terminal device before the first paging occasion is updated. (interpreted as In step S110, the eNB searches a stored UE context for the UE to be paged. That is, the eNB maps the S-TMSI, which is included in the paging message received from the MME, to a stored UE context for the UE to be paged. The stored UE context may include the resume ID for the UE to be paged, see para [0132]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the paging taught by Brusilovsky with having the stored UE context by Lee’82 for the benefit of being able to update changes in the paging to the corresponding UE.
Regarding claim 2 and 6 and 10,
Brusilovsky teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the first paging occasion colliding with the second paging occasion comprises: the first paging occasion and the second paging occasion completely or partially overlap. (interpreted as The overlapping pattern indication 52 is created by mapping the first paging occasion onto the second paging occasion. It can be seen that the overlapping pattern indication 52 not only indicates the paging frame (i.e., radio frame 4) and the paging occasion (i.e., subframe 9) where the collision occurs, but also shows a paging occasion (i.e., subframe 4) where no collision occurs, see para [0138])
Regarding claim 3 and 7,
Brusilovsky teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the terminal device, a first parameter from the first access network device, wherein the first parameter determines a third paging occasion corresponding to the first subscriber identity, wherein the third paging occasion does not collide with the second paging occasion.
Regarding claim 4 and 8 and 14,
Brusilovsky teaches The method according to claim 3, wherein the first parameter comprises at least one of the following parameters: a paging frame offset, a paging occasion offset, a subscriber identifier, or a discontinuous reception configuration (interpreted as The WTRU and RAN may determine paging frame (PF) and paging occasion (PO) based on one or more parameters, such as WTRU ID, see para [0088])
Claim(s) 11-13, 15, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brusilovsky (Pub No 20220264522) further in view of Xu (Pub No 20220225185), Lee (Pub No 20200396714), Loviekar (Pub No 20220072175), Lee (pub No 20190045482), and Wang (Pub No 20210273676)
Regarding claim 11,
Brusilovsky teaches The apparatus according to claim 9, however does not teach wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to: send, to a second access network device, second indication information indicating that the first paging occasion collides with the second paging occasion; and receive the first parameter from the second access network device.
Wang teaches wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to: send, to a second access network device, second indication information indicating that the first paging occasion collides with the second paging occasion; and receive the first parameter from the second access network device (interpreted as The method of any of the preceding examples, further comprising: based on the modeling of the cross-link interference, transmitting, by the first base station and to the second base station, a request to change a parameter of the downlink transmission that will occur at the future time; receiving, from the second base station, updated information about the downlink transmission that will occur at the future time; updating the model of cross-link interference expected at the first base station from the downlink transmission at the future time; and updating the cancelation filter configuration based on the updated model, see para [0074])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the collision mitigation system taught by Brusilovsky with the exchanging of parameters for interference cancellation as taught by Wang so that the devices causing the interference and coordinate to mitigate the interference.
Regarding claim 12,
Brusilovsky teaches The apparatus according to claim 11, however does not teach wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to: receive the first parameter and a first response message from the second access network device, wherein the first response message comprises the first parameter; or receive the first response message from the second access network device.
Wang teaches wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to: receive the first parameter and a first response message from the second access network device, wherein the first response message comprises the first parameter; or receive the first response message from the second access network device. (interpreted as The method of any of the preceding examples, further comprising: based on the modeling of the cross-link interference, transmitting, by the first base station and to the second base station, a request to change a parameter of the downlink transmission that will occur at the future time; receiving, from the second base station, updated information about the downlink transmission that will occur at the future time; updating the model of cross-link interference expected at the first base station from the downlink transmission at the future time; and updating the cancelation filter configuration based on the updated model, see para [0074])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the collision mitigation system taught by Brusilovsky with the exchanging of parameters for interference cancellation as taught by Wang so that the devices causing the interference and coordinate to mitigate the interference.
Regarding claim 13,
Brusilovsky teaches The apparatus according to claim 11, however does not teach wherein the second indication information comprises at least one of: the first indication information, paging configuration information of the first cell, or a second parameter.
Wang teaches wherein the second indication information comprises at least one of: the first indication information, paging configuration information of the first cell, or a second parameter (interpreted as The method of any of the preceding examples, further comprising: based on the modeling of the cross-link interference, transmitting, by the first base station and to the second base station, a request to change a parameter of the downlink transmission that will occur at the future time; receiving, from the second base station, updated information about the downlink transmission that will occur at the future time; updating the model of cross-link interference expected at the first base station from the downlink transmission at the future time; and updating the cancelation filter configuration based on the updated model, see para [0074])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the collision mitigation system taught by Brusilovsky with the exchanging of parameters for interference cancellation as taught by Wang so that the devices causing the interference and coordinate to mitigate the interference.
Regarding claim 15,
Brusilovsky teaches The apparatus according to claim 9, however does not teach wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to store the first parameter.
Wang teaches wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to store the first parameter. (interpreted as CRM 262 may include any suitable memory or storage device such as random-access memory (RAM), static RAM (SRAM), dynamic RAM (DRAM), non-volatile RAM (NVRAM), read-only memory (ROM), or Flash memory useable to store device data 264 of the base stations 120. The device data 264 includes network scheduling data, radio resource management data, beamforming codebooks, applications, and/or an operating system of the base stations 120, which are executable by processor(s) 260 to enable communication with the UE 110, see para [0038])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the parameter taught by Brusilovsky with the storing as taught by Wang since it is known in the art of communications to storing parameters and/or other information so that it can be used for transmitting.
Regarding claim 17,
Brusilovsky teaches apparatus according to claim 9, however does not teach wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to:
receive a first paging message from the second access network device, wherein the first paging message comprises the first parameter and the information about the cell to which the first parameter is applicable; or
receive a second paging message from the core network device, wherein the second paging message comprises the first parameter and the information about the cell to which the first parameter is applicable.
Wang teaches The apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to:
receive a first paging message from the second access network device, wherein the first paging message comprises the first parameter and the information about the cell to which the first parameter is applicable; or (interpreted as The method of any of the preceding examples, further comprising: based on the modeling of the cross-link interference, transmitting, by the first base station and to the second base station, a request to change a parameter of the downlink transmission that will occur at the future time; receiving, from the second base station, updated information about the downlink transmission that will occur at the future time; updating the model of cross-link interference expected at the first base station from the downlink transmission at the future time; and updating the cancelation filter configuration based on the updated model, see para [0074]).
receive a second paging message from the core network device, wherein the second paging message comprises the first parameter and the information about the cell to which the first parameter is applicable. (alternative limitation)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the collision mitigation system taught by Brusilovsky with the exchanging of parameters for interference cancellation as taught by Wang so that the devices causing the interference and coordinate to mitigate the interference.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brusilovsky (Pub No 20220264522) further in view of Xu (Pub No 20220225185), Lee (Pub No 20200396714), Loviekar (Pub No 20220072175), Lee (pub No 20190045482), and Nammi (Pub No 20160219457).
Regarding claim 16,
Brusilovsky teaches The apparatus according to claim 9, however does not teach wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to:
send a second notification message to a core network device, wherein the second notification message comprises the first parameter and information about a cell to which the first parameter is applicable.
Nammi teaches wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to:
send a second notification message to a core network device, wherein the second notification message comprises the first parameter and information about a cell to which the first parameter is applicable. (interpreted as ] According to some further embodiments, the first UE signals to the first or the second network node (e.g. RNC, eNode B, Node B, BS, relay, core network node etc) the first UE's interference mitigation configuration information, see para [0118])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the collision mitigation system taught by Brusilovsky with the exchanging of parameters for interference cancellation as taught by Nammi so that the devices causing the interference and coordinate to mitigate the interference.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BAO G NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461