DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims:
Claims 1-13, 15-21 are pending.
Claim 14 is cancelled.
Claims 1-2, 9-11 and 20 are amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11, 15, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US-5056306 to Zepf (“Zepf”).
Regarding Claim 11, Zepf (Figs 2-11) discloses a track component (1 “track plate” ( i.e. link, e.g. Fig 2a ]) for hobby robotics (underlined: intended use not limiting), the track component comprising: a first lateral edge (left side of each link, Fig 2a, 8a ) including a first connection portion (with 2 “reception rings” and 3 “ring notches” on left side of link 1, Fig 2a, 8a) extending along the first lateral edge; a second lateral edge (right side of each link, Fig 2a, 8a ) including a second connection portion (with 2 “reception rings” and 3 “ring notches”, on right side of link 1 Fig 2a, 8a) extending along the second lateral edge; a top surface (out of page Fig 2a, upward Fig 5) having a pair of projections (axial extending projections forming cavity 5,6, Fig 2a, Fig 5) defining an inner cavity (5, 6 “engagement gap“, Col 5, lines 54-67, Fig 2a, 5, 6) wherein the inner cavity is configured to receive a drive component (30 “driving wheel” having 31 “driving teeth” , Fig 5, 6; and a ground-engaging surface (20 “sole part, Fig 1, 2b) having a plurality of coupling features (a plurality of outer raised 21 “profiles” on 20 “sole part”, [i.e. raised chevrons], Col 5, lines 29-37, Fig 1, 2b) arranged to receive a corresponding connection feature of an additional component (21 raised profiles correspond with surrounding recess 6 that receives 31 teeth of 30 drive wheel, Fig 2b), wherein the plurality of coupling features includes at least two different coupling feature shapes ( 21 profiles have 5 different shapes, Fig 2b).
Regarding 15, Zepf discloses the track component of claim 11, wherein the additional component is a traction component (20 raised profiles, improve ground contact, i.e. traction component, Col 5 lines 38-46), and the traction component is coupled to the ground- engaging surface using the plurality of coupling features (21, as described in paragraph 5 of this document).
Regarding 18, Zepf discloses the track component of claim 15, wherein the traction component includes a plurality of raised chevrons (21 as described in paragraph 5 of this document).
Regarding Claim 19, Zepf disclose the track component of claim 11, wherein the track component (1) is constructed from plastic ( Col 3, lines 1-14, Col 4, lines 15-35).
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-13, 15-16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US-1343958-A to Blewett (“Blewett”).
Regarding Claim 1, Blewett discloses a track system for hobby robotics (underlined: intended use not limiting), comprising: a first track component (1 “track link”, left Fig 1) and a second track component (1 “track link “ middle Fig 1), each track component having: a pair of lateral edges (upper outmost edge, and lower inner most edge, top and bottom Fig 1); a first connection portion (end of 2, at left upper end of 2, with hole 8 Fig 4) disposed along a first lateral edge (upper outmost edge, top Fig 1), the first connection portion defining a first bore (8 “rear opening” top Fig 6); a second connection portion (5, at right most inner ends of 2, 3 Fig 5, 4, 1) disposed along a second lateral edge (lower inner most edge, bottom Fig 1), the second connection portion defining a second bore (5 “front opening” , right Fig 5); a third connection portion (end of 3, at left lower end of 3, with opening 8 Fig 4) disposed along the second lateral edge, the third connection portion defining a third bore (8 “rear opening” bottom Fig 6); and wherein the first track component is hingedly coupled (“links articulate in the proper manner”, i.e. hingedly rotatable about bolt”, Page 3 lines 64-68) to the second track component such that the first connection portion of the first track component is positioned between (Fig 1) the second connection portion and the third connection portion of the second track component wherein, when the first track component is hingedly coupled (Page 3 lines 64-68) to the second track component, the first bore of the first track component, the second bore of the second track component, and the third bore of the second track component align along (Fig 1) a common axis (central axis of 10 pin and holes 8, 5, Fig 1, 3, 5) ; wherein the first bore, the second bore, and the third bore are configured to receive a fastener (10 “link pin”) that extends parallel to (Fig 1, 3 ) each respective lateral edge and to each bore.
Regarding Claim 2, Blewett discloses the track system of claim 1, wherein the first bore,configured to be sized to pass the fastener (10, Page 3 lines 69-86, relative sizing and passage shown Fig 1, 3) therethrough.
Regarding Claim 3, Blewett discloses the track system of claim 2, wherein the fastener extends through the bore of each respective connection portion (Fig 1, 3) of each of the first and second track components (as described in paragraph 6 of this document).
Regarding Claim 5, Blewett discloses the track system of claim 1, wherein the first connection portion is configured to engage a drive component (14 “lateral guard flange” at inner side of first connection portion, Page 3, lines 95-104 Fig 1, 2).
Regarding Claim 6, Blewett discloses the track system of claim 1, and further comprising at least one additional track component (a third track link, 1 far right Fig 1, 2) coupled to (both, Fig 1,2) at least one of the first and second track components.
Regarding Claim 7, Blewett discloses the track system of claim 6, wherein a sufficient number of additional track components are coupled together to form a continuous track loop (“traction belt” , Page 1 lines 1-15, a portion of track with three links shown in Fig 1, 2).
Regarding Claim 8, Blewett discloses the track system of claim 6, and further comprising a drive wheel (W, Page 3, lines 95-105, Fig 2) operably coupled to the track system to drive the track system.
Regarding Claim 9, Blewett discloses the track system of claim 8, wherein the drive wheel is positioned in a central region (Fig 2) of the track, and wherein each track component further includes: a top surface (13 “lateral guard flanges” at upper surfaces of 2 ,3, Fig 2) having a pair of projections (14 defining , Page 3, lines 95-105, Fig 1,2) a central inner cavity (Fig 2, shows dashed line of wheel in inner cavity), wherein the central inner cavity is configured to receive a portion of the drive wheel (“W” “spur/sprocket wheel”, Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 10, Blewett discloses the track system of claim 7, wherein the first connection portion of each track component, of the sufficient number of additional track components, is configured to extend past (Fig 1) the first lateral edge of each track component, of the sufficient number of additional track components, and wherein the drive wheel is configured to engage the first connection portion (14 “lateral guard flanges” of 2 first connection portion, Page 3, lines 95-105, Fig 1, 2) engages W the drive wheel, Page 3 lines 95-105, Fig 2) engage with the drive wheel) of each track component, of the sufficient number of additional track components.
Regarding 11, Blewett discloses a track component (1 “track link”, left Fig 1) for hobby robotics (underlined: intended use not limiting), the track component comprising: a first lateral edge (upper outmost edge, top Fig 1) including a first connection portion (end of 2, at left upper end of 2, with hole 8 Fig 4) extending along the first lateral edge; a second connection portion (5, at right most inner ends of 2, 3 Fig 5, 4, 1) extending along a second lateral edge (lower inner most edge, bottom Fig 1); a top surface (13 “lateral guard flanges” on outside of 2,3 at upper surfaces of 2, 3, Page 1, lines 95-105,Fig 2) having a pair of projections (14 “lateral guard flanges” on inside of 2,3 Page 3, lines 95-105, Fig 1,2) defining a central inner cavity (Fig 2, 4, shows inner cavity between inside of 2,3 and 4) wherein the inner cavity is configured to receive a drive component (“W” “spur/sprocket wheel”, Fig 2); and a ground-engaging surface (ground facing surface of 19 “tread plate”) having a plurality of coupling features (16 “lateral perforated ears” have 26 “openings” [having a circular shape[, Fig 6) arranged to receive a corresponding connection feature (18 bolts [having a cylindrical shaft] 27 nuts, Fig 2, 3) of an additional component (19 “tread plate”, Fig 2, 6), wherein the plurality of coupling features includes at least two different coupling feature shapes (16 “lateral perforated ears” have triangular shapes [i.e. feature shape], facing in opposing directions Fig 4).
Regarding 12, Blewett discloses the track component of claim 11, wherein the first connection portion is configured to couple to a second connection portion (Fig 1, 2) of an additional track component that is identical to (Fig 1) the track component.
Regarding 13, Blewett discloses the track component of claim 11, wherein each connection portion has a bore (8 “rear openings” in 3 or 5 “front openings” in 2, Fig 1,2,4) sized and configured to receive a fastener (10 “link pin”), the bore configured to extend parallel to each lateral edge of each connection portion (Fig 1, 2,3).
Regarding 15, Blewett discloses the track component of claim 11, wherein the additional component is a traction component (19 “tread plate” described in paragraph 19 of this document, is a traction component), and the traction component is coupled to the ground- engaging surface using the plurality of coupling features (26 openings, as described in paragraph 19 of this document).
Regarding 16, Blewett discloses the track component of claim 15, wherein at least one coupling feature, of the plurality of coupling features, comprises a shape of a circular aperture (26 openings are circular holes, as described in paragraph 19 of this document) and wherein the traction component includes at least one cylindrical portion (shaft of 18 bolts) configured to engage the circular aperture of the at least one coupling feature.
Regarding Claim 20, Blewett discloses the track component of claim 11, wherein the corresponding connection feature comprises a series of projections (14) having at least two different projection shapes (as described in paragraph 19 of this document), and wherein the at least two different projection shapes of the series of projections correspond to the at least two different coupling feature shapes (as described in paragraph 17 of this document), of the plurality of coupling features.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blewett, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of WO-03097433 to James (“James”).
Regarding Claim 4, Blewett discloses the track system of claim 3, but does not disclose it further comprising a first washer disposed between a head of the fastener and the connection portion; and a second washer disposed between a nut, engaged to the fastener, and the first connection portion.
James discloses the track system of claim 3, and further comprising a first washer (26, page 8 lines 32-34, frontward in Fig 4) disposed between a head of the fastener (23 nut, on end pin 14 page 8, lines 28-32, frontward in Fig 4) and the connection portion (“connector“ 18 page 7 lines 14-19, frontward in Fig 4), and a second washer (26, page 8 lines 32-34, rearward in Fig 4) disposed between a nut (23 nut, on end pin 14 page 8, lines 28-32, rearward in Fig 4), engaged to the fastener, and the first connection portion.
The inclusion of washers between the bearing surfaces of fastener heads and nuts is an common arrangement known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the track system and the connection including a connection including a fastener with a head, and threaded section, a nut and a washer in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the track system of Blewett and the teaching of a connection includes a fastener with a head, and threaded section, a nut and a washer of James, to modify the connection of the links such that including a threaded fastener with a head, a nut and a washer (like James), with the motivation to use an alternative connection to the pin, that does not require consumable parts of cotter pins and such that a first and second a washer rests against the fastener head and another rests against the nut, with the motivation ensure sufficient bearing force form the connection to the link, while still allowing the links to be rotatable, these modifications having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blewett, as applied to claim 15, and further in view of JP-H0735274-U to Baba (“Baba”).
Regarding Claim 17, Blewett discloses the track component of claim 15, but does not disclose wherein the traction component includes bonded rubber.
Baba disclose a track component (track shoe (1 “Flat Shoe”, “FOR N” Google Translation “ET” Page 2, Para 11, Fig 2) wherein the traction component includes bonded rubber 3 “hard rubber layer includes copper fibers”, Page 2, Para 11, Page 3 top Para 1, beginning “ When the hard..”, Fig 1).
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the track component and the track component including bonded rubber, in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the track component of Blewett and the teaching of the track component including bonded rubber of Baba, to modify the tread of the track component (of Blewett) such that it includes bonded rubber (like Baba), with the motivation “to improve the durability” Page 3 top Para 1, beginning “ When the hard..”), having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blewett and further in view of Baba.
Regarding Claim 21, Blewett a track system for hobby robotics (underlined: intended use not limiting) comprising: a first discloses a track component (1 “track link”, left Fig 1) and a second track component (1 “track link”, middle Fig 1), each track component having: a pair of lateral edges (upper lower edges of links , Fig 1); a first connection portion (5, at right most inner ends of 2, 3 Fig 5, 4, 1) disposed along a first lateral edge (upper outermost edge, top Fig 1) ; a second connection portion (5, at right most inner ends of 2, 3 Fig 5, 4, 1) disposed along a second lateral edge (lower innermost edge, top Fig 1) ; wherein the first track component is hingedly coupled to (“links articular in the proper manner” i.e. hingedly rotatable about pin 10”, Page 3, lines 64-68) the second track component at a respective connection portion (pin 10 in holes 5 in 2 [second connection portions], 8 in 3 [ first and third connection portions] , Fig 1, 3, 5) of each of the first and second track components via a fastener (10 pin) that extends parallel to (Fig 1) each respective lateral edge; a ground-engaging surface (ground facing surface of 19 “tread plate”) having a plurality of coupling features (26 “openings” having a circular shape, Fig 6) arranged to receive a corresponding connection feature a corresponding connection feature (18 bolts [having a cylindrical shaft] 27 nuts, Fig 2, 3) of a traction component (19 “tread plate”, Fig 2, 6).
Blewett does not disclose the traction component is composed of bonded rubber.
Baba disclose a track component (track shoe (1 “Flat Shoe”, “FOR N” Google Translation “ET” Page 2, Para 11, Fig 2) wherein the traction component includes bonded rubber 3 “hard rubber layer includes copper fibers”, Page 2, Para 11, Page 3 top Para 1, beginning “ When the hard..”, , Fig 1).
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the track system and the track component including bonded rubber, in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the track system of Blewett and the teaching of the track component including bonded rubber of Baba, to modify the tread of the track component (of Blewett) such that it includes bonded rubber (like Baba), with the motivation “to improve the durability” Page 3 top Para 1, beginning “ When the hard..”), having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 08/20/2025, with respect to rejections under 35 USC § 112(b) and have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections under 35 USC § 112(b) of Claims 10-13 and 15-20 rejections has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) rejections under 35 USC §102 and §103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection in light of claim amendments, to which a new set of rejections in contained herein.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Leake (US-1952174-A), Davidson (US-2530379-A), Wickersham (US-1450471-A), EP-0319467) disclose offset track links or track links with threaded fasteners with washers.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EVA L COMINO/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615