DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 was searched but not rejected under 35 USC §103.
Claim 4 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The references of record alone or in combination do not disclose or suggest the limitations found within claim 4 limitations as a whole with regards to technical features recited by the claim limitations directed to: “wherein said relevance score rt(xi) is defined as:
where J is the set of entries in the knowledge base (KB) assigned to task t for which xi has been evaluated, ƒj(xi) is the performance score yj obtained at iteration j when the system is configured using configuration xi, and ƒj(x0) is the performance score obtained at iteration j by the baseline configuration.”
In summary, the references made of record, fail to disclose the required claimed technical features recited by the noted claim limitations as a whole; and the related dependent claims are found allowable for the reasons noted above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s remarks directed to the rejection of claims under 35 USC § 103,
Alleged No teaching of user-specified parameter N
In Remarks p. 3-4, Applicant contends:
“Dirac does not disclose a numeric parameter N to be chosen, nor creating new tasks at regular N iteration intervals. The Office appears to equate "the clients may provide detailed guidance with "a user-specified parameter N indicating that a new task should be created every N tuning iterations." However, this passage in Dirac contains nothing specific about tasks,
intervals, or a numeric parameter N.”
The relevant claim limitations appear to be “said initial tasks are selected according to a user-specified parameter N, indicating that a new task should be created every N tuning iterations” in claim 1.
As noted in the previous Office Action, Dirac teaches (emphasis added):
Dirac teaches said initial tasks are selected according to a user-specified parameter N, indicating that a new task should be created every N tuning iterations.
(Dirac, Col. 5 lines 36-46, “The extent of to which the clients on whose behalf the execution environment is configured influence or control [a user-specified parameter N] the optimization tool's operations may also vary in different embodiments. In some embodiments, clients may not even be aware that optimization tasks are being performed for them; in contrast, in other embodiments as described below, the clients may provide detailed guidance regarding the manner in which the tunable parameters should be varied, hierarchical or conditional relationships between tunable parameters, validity periods for observations collected from the execution environments, and so on [indicating that a new task should be created every N tuning iterations].”)
After careful consideration, the arguments above are considered unpersuasive as Dirac teaches optional client control of the optimization (through validity periods). (see previous final office action dated 05/17/2025). Applicant further argues that Dirac does not disclose a numeric parameter N to be chosen, nor creating new tasks at regular N iteration intervals. However, Examiner respectfully points out that the feature of choosing a numeric parameter N is not claimed and therefore the argument thereto is moot.
Alleged No teaching of clustering similar tasks in the KB
In Remarks p. 4-12, Applicant contends:
“In contrast to the present invention, Van Aken does not disclose or suggest that archetypal tasks are identified by assigning each tuple of the knowledge base (KB) to an initial task and then iteratively measuring distances between tasks and clustering similar tasks based on the measured distances, so that tuples which should be tuned similarly are assigned to the same task.”
“Section 4.2 of Van Aken is exclusively concerned with identifying nonredundant runtime metrics of the DBMS (to remove redundant metrics). The goal is to start from a large number of metrics (pages read, cache hits, lock waits, etc.) and reduce them to a representative set by eliminating those that are strongly correlated with each other. The objects being clustered are the metrics themselves - not workloads, systems, or system workload tuples.”
“Van Aken states that "(f)rom the original set of 131 metrics for MySQL and 57 metrics for Postgres, we are able to reduce the number of metrics by 93% and 82%, respectively." Further, Fig. 4 is titled "Metric Clustering-Grouping DBMS metrics using k-means based on how similar they are to each other as identified by Factor Analysis."
“The Office appears to assert that a dimensionality reduction operation on metrics corresponds to a task grouping operation. However, these are operations on different objects (metrics vs. system-workload tuples), with different purposes (dimensionality reduction vs. identification of task groups), and with different outcomes (a reduced set of metrics vs. archetypal task groups).”
“By contrast, Van Aken discloses that k-means are applied to runtime metrics of DBMS (for example pages read/written, cache use, .... ) with the purpose of removing redundant metrics. Van Aken is working on performance indicia (not couples system workload) and with the purpose of dimensional reduction (and not determination and construction of archetypal tasks).”
“Further, cited Section 6.1 of Van Aken does not disclose or suggest task clustering within the KB.”
“Van Aken does not disclose operating within the Knowledge Base, computing distances between all tasks based on relevance scores, and then clusters them into groups (archetypal tasks). In particular, Van Aken does not disclose or suggest that a characterization module identifies archetypal tasks in a knowledge base (KB).”
“According to the present invention, the characterization module identifies archetypal tasks in a knowledge base (KB). This is a structural organization of the KB – an operation that can be performed before and independently of any active tuning session. The present invention discovers the latent structure of the KB by grouping tasks that respond similarly to the same configurations.”
Applicant provides a table of key differences and numerical examples.
The relevant claim limitations appear to be “assuming that there exists tuples of systems and working conditions (s_i,w_i) which should be configured in a similar way, and a group of said tuples t_k=((s_i,w_i),(s_j,w_j),...) is called archetypal task t_k, said characterization module identifies said archetypal tasks in the knowledge base (KB), said archetypal tasks are identified by assigning each tuple of the knowledge base (KB) to an initial task and then iteratively measuring distances between tasks and clustering similar tasks based on the measured distances, so that tuples which should be tuned similarly are assigned to the same task” in claim 1.
As noted in the previous Office Action, Aken teaches (emphasis added):
Aken teaches and further wherein, assuming that there exists tuples of systems and working conditions (s_i,w_i) which should be configured in a similar way, and a group of said tuples t_k=((s_i,w_i),(s_j,w_j),...) is called archetypal task t_k,
said characterization module identifies said archetypal tasks in the knowledge base (KB), said archetypal tasks are identified by assigning each tuple of the knowledge base (KB) to an initial task and then iteratively measuring distances between tasks and clustering similar tasks based on the measured distances, so that tuples which should be tuned similarly are assigned to the same task,
(Aken, Fig. 3 and 4, Section 4.2, “We use two well-studied techniques for this pruning. The first is a dimensionality reduction technique, called factor analysis(FA) [5], that transforms the (potentially) high dimensional DBMS metric data into lower dimensional data. We then use the second technique, called k-means [6], to cluster this lower dimensional data into meaningful groups. Using a dimensionality reduction technique is a preprocessing step for many clustering algorithms because they reduce the amount of “noise” in the data [31, 30]. This improves the robustness and the quality of the cluster analysis.
Given a set of real-valued variables that contain arbitrary correlations, FA reduces these variables to a smaller set of factors that capture the correlation patterns of the original variables. Each factor is a linear combination of the original variables; the factor coefficients are similar to and can be interpreted in the same way as the coefficients in a linear regression. Furthermore, each factor has unit variance and is uncorrelated with all other factors. This means that one can order the factors by how much of the variability in the original data they explain. We found that only the initial factors are significant for our DBMS metric data, which means that most of the variability is captured by the first few factors.
The FA algorithm takes as input a matrix X whose rows correspond to metrics and whose columns correspond to knob configurations that we have tried. The entry Xij is the value of metric I on configuration j. FA gives us a smaller matrix U: the rows of U correspond to metrics, while the columns correspond to factors, and the entry Uij is the coefficient of metric i in factor j. We can scatter-plot the metrics using elements of the ith row of U as coordinates for metric i. Metrics i and j will be close together if they have similar coefficients in U — that is, if they tend to correlate strongly in X. Removing redundant metrics now means removing metrics that are too close to one another in our scatter-plot. We then cluster the metrics via k-means, using each metric’s row of U as its coordinates [assuming that there exists tuples of systems and working conditions (s_i,w_i) which should be configured in a similar way, and a group of said tuples t_k=((s_i,w_i),(s_j,w_j),...) is called archetypal task t_k,
said characterization module identifies said archetypal tasks in the knowledge base (KB), said archetypal tasks are identified by assigning each tuple of the knowledge base (KB) to an initial task and then iteratively measuring distances between tasks and clustering similar tasks based on the measured distances; k-means uses Euclidean distance, so that tuples which should be tuned similarly are assigned to the same task]. We keep a single metric for each cluster, namely, the one closest to the cluster center. One of the drawbacks of using k-means is that it requires the optimal number of clusters (K) as its input. We use a simple heuristic [40] to fully automate this selection process and approximate K. Although this approach is not guaranteed to find the optimal solution, it does not require a human to manually interpret a graphical representation of the problem to determine the optimal number of clusters. We compared this heuristic with other techniques [55, 48] for choosing K and found that they select values that differ by one to two clusters at most from our approximations. Such variations made little difference in the quality of configurations that OtterTune generated in our experimental evaluation in Sect. 7.”)
After careful consideration, the argument is considered unpersuasive as Examiner respectfully provides annotated figure 3 of Aken
As shown, matrix U is a reduced matrix X (to reduce redundancies as noted by Applicant) and Aken explicitly utilizes each row of U (wherein the columns of U correspond to factors; which corresponds to the configurations) to cluster into groups via K-means.
Thus, while Examiner agrees with 1. that Aken is concerned with identifying nonredundant … metrics of the DBMS, Examiner disagrees that Section 4.2 of Aken is exclusively concerned with identifying nonredundant runtime metrics as K-means clustering utilizes the rows of U wherein the columns correspond to the factors (see fig. 4).
Further, as Applicant notes “The goal is to start from a large number of metrics (pages read, cache hits, lock waits, etc.) and reduce them to a representative set by eliminating those that are strongly correlated with each other.” In response, Examiner points out that Aken discloses forming a representative set of performance and characteristics for different workloads (Aken, Section 4.2, “It is important to remove such elements so that OtterTune only has to consider the smallest set of metrics that capture the variability in performance and distinguishing characteristics for different workloads.”)
Thus, indeed, while Aken uses metric values to determine the distances to cluster tasks (tuples), the tuples (comprising configuration/factor and metrics) are still clustered into groups as the claim recites “said archetypal tasks are identified by assigning each tuple of the knowledge base (KB) [each entry of matrix U] to an initial task and then iteratively measuring distances between tasks [each row of U as a coordinate] and clustering similar tasks [effectively particular rows of U in a group] based on the measured distances” Accordingly, argument 1. a and b. are unpersuasive.
This is further emphasized by Applicant’s recitation of Section 6.1 of Aken wherein Examiner notes that K-means clustering explicitly forms groups as shown in figure 4 wherein matrix X entries are “values of metric m observed when executing workload i with configuration j.”
In response to argument 2., Examiner respectfully points out that the matrix information is derived from the data repository (ie knowledge base) wherein Examiner notes that the groups are not written or stored or utilized to replace tuples in the knowledge base; thus, the BRI of the limitation “said characterization module identifies said archetypal tasks in the knowledge base (KB)” is merely identifying groups with the tuples from the knowledge base. Further, in response to argument 2. a. wherein Aken does not disclose “computing distances between all tasks based on relevance scores,” Examiner respectfully notes that relevance score is not recited in claim 1. Lastly, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention (differences in the key differences table and numerical example), it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “discovering the latent structure of the KB” or “organizes the repository into groups” or mathematics of the numerical example) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Alleged No teaching of external working condition
In Remarks p. 11, Applicant contends:
“Further, the present invention defines the characterization vector as "a numeric representation of the tunable properties of system si when exposed to external working condition wi ." In Van Aken, workload characterization is based on runtime metrics observed from the DBMS (pages read/written, cache utilization, locking overhead). These are observations of internal performance, not representations of the tunable properties of the system. Section 4 of Van Kan explicitly recites that "[a] better approach is to use the DBMS' s internal runtime metrics to characterize how a workload behaves… Further, the characterization vector of the present invention is defined as a numeric representation of tunable properties of system si, when exposed to working condition wi, while Van Aken discloses a workload characterization based on observed runtime metrics."
The relevant claim limitations appear to be “exposing said system s_i to an external working condition w_i” in claim 1.
As noted in the previous Office Action, Aken teaches (emphasis added):
Aken teaches composed by N tuples ,(s_i,w ⃗_i,x ⃗_i,y_i) being gathered over iterative tuning sessions where each iteration is started by applying to a System Under Test (SUT) s_i a configuration (x_i ) ⃗ suggested by said tuner module, exposing said system s_i to an external working condition w_i and gathering performance metrics resulting in a performance indicator score y_i,
(Aken, Section 3, “Fig. 2 shows an overview of OtterTune’s architecture. The system is comprised of two parts. The first is the client-side controller that interacts with the target DBMS to be tuned. It collects runtime information from the DBMS using a standard API (e.g., JDBC), installs new configurations, and collects performance measurements.
The second part is OtterTune’s tuning manager. It receives the information collected from the controller and stores it in its repository with data from previous tuning sessions [composed by N tuples ,(s_i,w ⃗_i,x ⃗_i,y_i) being gathered over iterative tuning sessions where each iteration is started by applying to a System Under Test (SUT) s_i a configuration (x_i ) ⃗ suggested by said tuner module, exposing said system s_i to an external working condition w_i and gathering performance metrics resulting in a performance indicator score y_i]. This repository does not contain any confidential information about the DBMSs or their databases; it only contains knob configurations and performance data. OtterTune organizes this data per major DBMS version (e.g., Postgres v9.3 data is separate from Postgres v9.4). This prevents OtterTune from tuning knobs from older versions of the DBMS that may be deprecated in newer versions, or tuning knobs that only exist in newer versions. The manager is also supported by background processes that continuously analyze new data and refine OtterTune’s internal ML models. These models allow it to identify the relevant knobs and metrics without human input, and find workloads in the repository that are similar to the target.”)
After careful consideration, the argument is considered unpersuasive as Examiner respectfully points out that in Applicant’s numerical example on pgs. 8-10 of Remarks, throughput (external working condition) is utilized to compute the distances and cluster. Examiner respectfully notes that Aken discloses throughput as an external metric, thus Examiner respectfully disagrees that Aken merely discloses internal/runtime metrics. (Aken, Section 6.2, “This is helpful for “noisy” virtualized environments where the external DBMS metrics (i.e., throughput and latency) vary from one observation period to the next.”)
Alleged No teaching of iterations over different systems
In Remarks p. 12-13, Applicant contends:
“In addition, the present invention produces a prediction about the characterization over tuning iterations - since the system under test changes between iterations - while the knowledge base accumulates experiences ("gathered over iterative tuning sessions") over different systems (different software stacks). By contrast, OtterTune is focused on tuning of a single DBMS target.”
The relevant claim limitations appear to be “composed by N tuples,(s_i,w ⃗_i,x ⃗_i,y_i) being gathered over iterative tuning sessions where each iteration is started by applying to a System Under Test (SUT) s_i” in claim 1.
After careful consideration, the argument is considered unpersuasive as Examiner respectively points out that para. [0111] of the specification of the pre-grant publication of the instant application recites “[0111] To illustrate the Reaction Matching approach, it is supposed to have access to some previously collected information about the performance of some tasks (i.e., SUT-working condition combinations) t0, t1, t2, . . . (which might be the same system exposed to a different condition or even entirely different systems)” Thus, the single DBMS of Aken reads on the claim as recited in light of the specification.
The examiner refers to the rejection under 35 USC § 103 in the current office action for more details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. US10257275B1 Dirac et al. (“Dirac”) in view of Van Aken, Dana, et al. "Automatic database management system tuning through large-scale machine learning." Proceedings of the 2017 ACM international conference on management of data. 2017. (“Aken”).
In regards to claim 1,
Dirac teaches A computer implemented tuning method carried on an IT system comprising a System Under Test (SUT) including a stack of software layers, provided with a number of adjustable parameters,
(Dirac, Col. 17 line 67 – Col. 18 line 14, “A wide variety of tunable parameters [provided with a number of adjustable parameters] may be amenable for GP-based Bayesian optimization in different embodiments, at various levels of the hardware/software stacks [stack of software layers] used in the execution environments. Examples of such parameters in various embodiments may include a garbage collection algorithm to be used for memory management, a minimum or maximum size of a memory to be allocated for a heap managed using the garbage collection algorithm, various networking configuration parameters associated with networking protocols being used, the number of nodes to be included in a collection of nodes implementing a distributed application, database configuration parameters such as buffer pool sizes, hypervisor configuration parameters, or storage device configuration parameters.”)
Dirac teaches said initial tasks are selected according to a user-specified parameter N, indicating that a new task should be created every N tuning iterations.
(Dirac, Col. 5 lines 36-46, “The extent of to which the clients on whose behalf the execution environment is configured influence or control [a user-specified parameter N] the optimization tool's operations may also vary in different embodiments. In some embodiments, clients may not even be aware that optimization tasks are being performed for them; in contrast, in other embodiments as described below, the clients may provide detailed guidance regarding the manner in which the tunable parameters should be varied, hierarchical or conditional relationships between tunable parameters, validity periods for observations collected from the execution environments, and so on [indicating that a new task should be created every N tuning iterations].”)
However, Dirac does not explicitly teach
the method comprising the steps of supplying
a characterization and prediction module,
a tuner module, and
a knowledge base (KB) composed by N tuples, (si, {right arrow over (w)}i, {right arrow over (x)}i, yi) being gathered over iterative tuning sessions where each iteration is started by applying to a System Under Test (SUT) si a configuration {right arrow over (xl)} suggested by said tuner module, exposing said system si to an external working condition wi and gathering performance metrics resulting in a performance indicator score yi,
wherein said characterization and prediction module builds a characterization vector {right arrow over (cl)} for each tuple stored in said knowledge base (KB) using the information stored in said knowledge base and produces a prediction about the characterization vector {right arrow over (cl+1)} of the next tuning iteration i+1,
where characterization vector {right arrow over (cl)} is a numeric representation of the tunable properties of system si when exposed to said external working condition wi, and the distance between two characterization vectors {right arrow over (cl)}, {right arrow over (cj)} represents how similarly the systems si, sj should have been configured in previous tuning iterations i, j when the two systems si, sj were exposed to external working conditions wi, wj respectively,
said tuner module leverages said knowledge base (KB) and said characterization vectors {right arrow over (cl)} to select a new suggested configuration {right arrow over (xl+1)} to be applied to said System Under Test si+1 in the next iteration i+1,
and further wherein,
assuming that there exists tuples of systems and working conditions (Si, wi) which should be configured in a similar way, and a group of said tuples tk=((si, wi), (sj, wj), . . . ) is called archetypal task tk,
said characterization module identifies said archetypal tasks in the knowledge base (KB),
said archetypal tasks are identified by assigning each tuple of the knowledge base (KB) to an initial task and then iteratively measuring distances between tasks and clustering similar ones, so that tuples which should be tuned similarly are assigned to the same task,
Aken teaches the method comprising the steps of supplying
a characterization and prediction module,
a tuner module, and
a knowledge base (KB)
(Aken, Fig. 3 teaches a workload characterization module that performs K-means clustering (thus generating a prediction of cluster membership), a tuner module ie Automatic Tuner, and a knowledge base ie Data Repository)
Aken teaches composed by N tuples ,(s_i,w ⃗_i,x ⃗_i,y_i) being gathered over iterative tuning sessions where each iteration is started by applying to a System Under Test (SUT) s_i a configuration (x_i ) ⃗ suggested by said tuner module, exposing said system s_i to an external working condition w_i and gathering performance metrics resulting in a performance indicator score y_i,
(Aken, Section 3, “Fig. 2 shows an overview of OtterTune’s architecture. The system is comprised of two parts. The first is the client-side controller that interacts with the target DBMS to be tuned. It collects runtime information from the DBMS using a standard API (e.g., JDBC), installs new configurations, and collects performance measurements.
The second part is OtterTune’s tuning manager. It receives the information collected from the controller and stores it in its repository with data from previous tuning sessions [composed by N tuples ,(s_i,w ⃗_i,x ⃗_i,y_i) being gathered over iterative tuning sessions where each iteration is started by applying to a System Under Test (SUT) s_i a configuration (x_i ) ⃗ suggested by said tuner module, exposing said system s_i to an external working condition w_i and gathering performance metrics resulting in a performance indicator score y_i]. This repository does not contain any confidential information about the DBMSs or their databases; it only contains knob configurations and performance data. OtterTune organizes this data per major DBMS version (e.g., Postgres v9.3 data is separate from Postgres v9.4). This prevents OtterTune from tuning knobs from older versions of the DBMS that may be deprecated in newer versions, or tuning knobs that only exist in newer versions. The manager is also supported by background processes that continuously analyze new data and refine OtterTune’s internal ML models. These models allow it to identify the relevant knobs and metrics without human input, and find workloads in the repository that are similar to the target.”)
Aken teaches wherein said characterization and prediction module builds a characterization vector (c_i ) ⃗ for each tuple stored in said knowledge base (KB) using the information stored in said knowledge base and produces a prediction about the characterization vector (c_(i+1) ) ⃗ of the next tuning iteration i+1, where characterization vector (c_i ) ⃗ is a numeric representation of the tunable properties of system s_i when exposed to said external working condition w_i, and the distance between two characterization vectors (c_i ) ⃗,(c_j ) ⃗ represents how similarly the systems s_i,s_j should have been configured in previous tuning iterations i,j when the two systems s_i,s_j were exposed to external working conditions w_i,w_j respectively,
(Aken, Section 4, “A better approach is to use the DBMS’s internal runtime metrics to characterize how a workload behaves. All modern DBMSs expose a large amount of information about the system. For example, MySQL’s InnoDB engine provides statistics on the number of pages read/written, query cache utilization, and locking overhead. OtterTune characterizes a workload using the runtime statistics recorded while executing it.”)
(Aken, Section 6.1, “The goal of this first step is to match the target DBMS’s workload with the most similar workload in its repository based on the performance measurements for the selected group of metrics. We find that the matched workload varies for the first few experiments
before converging to a single workload. This suggests that the quality of the match made by OtterTune increases with the amount of data gathered from the target workload, which is what we would expect. For this reason, using a dynamic mapping scheme is preferable to static mapping (i.e., mapping one time after the end of the first observation period) because it enables OtterTune to make more educated matches as the tuning session progresses.
For each DBMS version, we build a set S of N matrices — one for every non-redundant metric — from the data in our repository [builds a characterization vector (c_i ) ⃗ for each tuple stored in said knowledge base (KB) using the information stored in said knowledge base]. Similar to the Lasso and FA models, these matrices are constructed by background processes running on OtterTune’s tuning manager (see Sect. 3). The matrices in S (i.e., X0, X1, . . . XN−1) have identical row and column labels. Each row in matrix Xm corresponds to a workload in our repository and each column corresponds to a DBMS configuration from the set of all unique DBMS configurations that have been used to run any of the workloads. The entry Xm,i,j is the value of metric m observed when executing workload i with configuration j [where characterization vector (c_i ) ⃗ is a numeric representation of the tunable properties of system s_i when exposed to said external working condition w_i]. If we have multiple observations from running workload i with configuration j, then entry Xm,i,j is the median of all observed values of metric m.
The workload mapping computations are straightforward. OtterTune calculates the Euclidean distance between the vector of measurements for the target workload and the corresponding vector for each workload i in the matrix Xm (i.e., Xm,i,:). It then repeats this computation for each metric m. In the final step, OtterTune computes a “score” for each workload i by taking the average of these distances over all metrics m [produces a prediction about the characterization vector (c_(i+1) ) ⃗ of the next tuning iteration i+1,]. The algorithm then chooses the workload with the lowest score as the one that is most similar to the target workload for that observation period [the distance between two characterization vectors (c_i ) ⃗,(c_j ) ⃗ represents how similarly the systems s_i,s_j should have been configured in previous tuning iterations i,j when the two systems s_i,s_j were exposed to external working conditions w_i,w_j respectively].”)
Aken teaches said tuner module uses a surrogate model based on Bayesian Optimization (BO), said surrogate model being a Gaussian Process (GP);
(Aken, Section 6.2, “In the next step, OtterTune uses Gaussian Process (GP) regression [said surrogate model being a Gaussian Process (GP)] [42] to recommend configurations that it believes will improve the target metric. GP regression is a state-of-the-art technique with power approximately equal to that of deep networks. There are a number of attractive features of GPs that make it an appropriate choice for modeling the configuration space and making recommendations.”)
Aken teaches said tuner module leverages said knowledge base (KB) and said characterization vectors (c_i ) ⃗ to select a new suggested configuration (x_(i+1) ) ⃗ to be applied to said System Under Test s_(i+1) in the next iteration i+1,
(Aken, Section 6.1, “Now for each observation period in this step, OtterTune tries to find a better configuration than the best configuration that it has seen thus far in this session [said tuner module leverages said knowledge base (KB) and said characterization vectors (c_i ) ⃗ to select a new suggested configuration (x_(i+1) ) ⃗ to be applied to said System Under Test s_(i+1) in the next iteration i+1]. It does this by either (1) searching an unknown region in its GP (i.e., workloads for which it has little to no data for), or (2) selecting a configuration that is near the best configuration in its GP. The former strategy is referred to as exploration. This helps OtterTune look for configurations where knobs are set to values that are beyond the minimum or maximum values that it has tried in the past. This is useful for trying certain knobs where the upper limit might depend on the underlying hardware (e.g., the amount of memory available). The second strategy is known as exploitation. This is where OtterTune has found a good configuration and it tries slight modifications to the knobs to see whether it can further improve the performance.”)
Aken teaches and further wherein, assuming that there exists tuples of systems and working conditions (s_i,w_i) which should be configured in a similar way, and a group of said tuples t_k=((s_i,w_i),(s_j,w_j),...) is called archetypal task t_k,
said characterization module identifies said archetypal tasks in the knowledge base (KB), said archetypal tasks are identified by assigning each tuple of the knowledge base (KB) to an initial task and then iteratively measuring distances between tasks and clustering similar tasks based on the measured distances, so that tuples which should be tuned similarly are assigned to the same task,
(Aken, Fig. 3 and 4, Section 4.2, “We use two well-studied techniques for this pruning. The first is a dimensionality reduction technique, called factor analysis(FA) [5], that transforms the (potentially) high dimensional DBMS metric data into lower dimensional data. We then use the second technique, called k-means [6], to cluster this lower dimensional data into meaningful groups. Using a dimensionality reduction technique is a preprocessing step for many clustering algorithms because they reduce the amount of “noise” in the data [31, 30]. This improves the robustness and the quality of the cluster analysis.
Given a set of real-valued variables that contain arbitrary correlations, FA reduces these variables to a smaller set of factors that capture the correlation patterns of the original variables. Each factor is a linear combination of the original variables; the factor coefficients are similar to and can be interpreted in the same way as the coefficients in a linear regression. Furthermore, each factor has unit variance and is uncorrelated with all other factors. This means that one can order the factors by how much of the variability in the original data they explain. We found that only the initial factors are significant for our DBMS metric data, which means that most of the variability is captured by the first few factors.
The FA algorithm takes as input a matrix X whose rows correspond to metrics and whose columns correspond to knob configurations that we have tried. The entry Xij is the value of metric I on configuration j. FA gives us a smaller matrix U: the rows of U correspond to metrics, while the columns correspond to factors, and the entry Uij is the coefficient of metric i in factor j. We can scatter-plot the metrics using elements of the ith row of U as coordinates for metric i. Metrics i and j will be close together if they have similar coefficients in U — that is, if they tend to correlate strongly in X. Removing redundant metrics now means removing metrics that are too close to one another in our scatter-plot. We then cluster the metrics via k-means, using each metric’s row of U as its coordinates [assuming that there exists tuples of systems and working conditions (s_i,w_i) which should be configured in a similar way, and a group of said tuples t_k=((s_i,w_i),(s_j,w_j),...) is called archetypal task t_k,
said characterization module identifies said archetypal tasks in the knowledge base (KB), said archetypal tasks are identified by assigning each tuple of the knowledge base (KB) to an initial task and then iteratively measuring distances between tasks and clustering similar tasks based on the measured distances; k-means uses Euclidean distance, so that tuples which should be tuned similarly are assigned to the same task]. We keep a single metric for each cluster, namely, the one closest to the cluster center. One of the drawbacks of using k-means is that it requires the optimal number of clusters (K) as its input. We use a simple heuristic [40] to fully automate this selection process and approximate K. Although this approach is not guaranteed to find the optimal solution, it does not require a human to manually interpret a graphical representation of the problem to determine the optimal number of clusters. We compared this heuristic with other techniques [55, 48] for choosing K and found that they select values that differ by one to two clusters at most from our approximations. Such variations made little difference in the quality of configurations that OtterTune generated in our experimental evaluation in Sect. 7.”)
Dirac and Aken are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of using recommender systems for tuning system configurations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dirac to incorporate the teachings of Aken in order to provide OtterTune as an automated approach that leverages past experiences to guide the search for good knob configuration as doing so recommends configurations that are as good as or better than ones generated by existing tools or a human expert. (Aken, Abstract, “To overcome these challenges, we present an automated approach that leverages past experience and collects new information to tune DBMS configurations: we use a combination of supervised and un supervised machine learning methods to (1) select the most impactful knobs, (2) map unseen database workloads to previous work loads from which we can transfer experience, and (3) recommend knob settings. We implemented our techniques in a new tool called OtterTune and tested it on three DBMSs. Our evaluation shows that OtterTune recommends configurations that are as good as or better than ones generated by existing tools or a human expert.”)
In regards to claim 2,
Dirac and Aken teaches The computer implemented tuning method as in claim 1,
Aken teaches wherein the external working condition w_i is characterized by an external characterization methodology, and this characterization is used as an input for a clustering algorithm to derive said initial tasks instead of the user-specified parameter N.
(Aken, Fig. 3, “We use two well-studied techniques for this pruning. The first is a dimensionality reduction technique, called factor analysis(FA) [5], that transforms the (potentially) high dimensional DBMS metric data into lower dimensional data. We then use the second technique, called k-means [6], to cluster this lower dimensional data into meaningful groups. Using a dimensionality reduction technique is a preprocessing step for many clustering algorithms because they reduce the amount of “noise” in the data [31, 30]. This improves the robustness and the quality of the cluster analysis.
Given a set of real-valued variables that contain arbitrary correlations, FA reduces these variables to a smaller set of factors that capture the correlation patterns of the original variables. Each factor is a linear combination of the original variables; the factor coefficients are similar to and can be interpreted in the same way as the coefficients in a linear regression. Furthermore, each factor has unit variance and is uncorrelated with all other factors. This means that one can order the factors by how much of the variability in the original data they explain. We found that only the initial factors are significant for our DBMS metric data, which means that most of the variability is captured by the first few factors.
The FA algorithm takes as input a matrix X whose rows correspond to metrics and whose columns correspond to knob configurations that we have tried. The entry Xij is the value of metric I on configuration j. FA gives us a smaller matrix U: the rows of U correspond to metrics, while the columns correspond to factors, and the entry Uij is the coefficient of metric i in factor j. We can scatter-plot the metrics using elements of the ith row of U as coordinates for metric i. Metrics i and j will be close together if they have similar coefficients in U — that is, if they tend to correlate strongly in X. Removing redundant metrics now means removing metrics that are too close to one another in our scatter-plot. We then cluster the metrics via k-means, using each metric’s row of U as its coordinates. We keep a single metric for each cluster, namely, the one closest to the cluster center. One of the drawbacks of using k-means is that it requires the optimal number of clusters (K) as its input. We use a simple heuristic [40] to fully automate this selection process and approximate K. Although this approach is not guaranteed to find the optimal solution, it does not require a human to manually interpret a graphical representation of the problem to determine the optimal number of clusters. We compared this heuristic with other techniques [55, 48] for choosing K [wherein the external working condition w_i is characterized by an external characterization methodology, and this characterization is used as an input for a clustering algorithm to derive said initial tasks instead of the user-specified parameter N] and found that they select values that differ by one to two clusters at most from our approximations. Such variations made little difference in the quality of configurations that OtterTune generated in our experimental evaluation in Sect. 7.”)
Dirac and Aken are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of automated system tuning using machine learning. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dirac to incorporate the teachings of Aken in order to provide an automated approach that leverage supervised and unsupervised machine learning methods to enable transfer experiences and recommend configuration that perform at the same level or better than state-of-the-art solutions. (Aken, Abstract, “Database management system (DBMS) configuration tuning is an essential aspect of any data-intensive application effort. But this is historically a difficult task because DBMSs have hundreds of configuration “knobs” that control everything in the system, such as the amount of memory to use for caches and how often data is written to storage. The problem with these knobs is that they are not standardized (i.e., two DBMSs use a different name for the same knob), not independent (i.e., changing one knob can impact others), and not universal (i.e., what works for one application may be sub-optimal for another). Worse, information about the effects of the knobs typically comes only from (expensive) experience. To overcome these challenges, we present an automated approach that leverages past experience and collects new information to tune DBMS configurations: we use a combination of supervised and unsupervised machine learning methods to (1) select the most impactful knobs, (2) map unseen database workloads to previous workloads from which we can transfer experience, and (3) recommend knob settings. We implemented our techniques in a new tool called OtterTune and tested it on three DBMSs. Our evaluation shows that OtterTune recommends configurations that are as good as or better than ones generated by existing tools or a human expert.”)
In regards to claim 9,
Dirac and Aken teaches The computer implemented tuning method as in claim 1,
Dirac teaches wherein it is provided a preliminary step when said knowledge base (KB) is empty, including preliminary tuning iterations dedicated to bootstrap said knowledge base.
(Dirac, Col. 13 lines 34-37, “For one or more initial observation collection intervals, random selection among the permissible values may be used to select tunable parameter settings [preliminary step when said knowledge base (KB) is empty, including preliminary tuning iterations dedicated to bootstrap said knowledge base; wherein random selection of values is used to bootstrap the KB wherein the KB is analogous to the data repository of Aken]; later during the optimization process, the results collected using the randomly-selected values may help to guide the optimization tools towards appropriate values for the parameter settings;”)
In regards to claim 10,
Dirac and Aken teaches The computer implemented tuning method as in claim 9,
Dirac teaches wherein said preliminary tuning iterations include evaluating vendor default (baseline) configuration.
(Dirac, Col. 4 line 49 – Col. 5 line 6, “A number of iterations of executions of the Bayesian model using GP priors may be performed in various embodiments, interleaved with iterations of execution results collection from the execution environment. The model input parameter value settings used for a given iteration may be based at least in part on the execution results (and the corresponding objective function value) obtained in the most recent collection of execution results from the execution environment [evaluating vendor default (baseline) configuration; wherein the most recent collection is the baseline configuration], and the output model parameter values of the given iteration may be used to set the tunable parameter values for the next observation collection interval. In at least some embodiments, the optimization tool may determine the boundaries (e.g., start and end times) of the observation collection intervals as discussed below. The iterations of model execution and observation collection may be repeated until either the targeted extremum of the objective function has been attained (at least to within some tolerance limit), or until the resources available for the optimization task have been exhausted. The combination of tunable parameter settings that correspond to the attainment of the optimization goal (or the combination of tunable parameter settings that came closest to the optimization goal) may be stored in various embodiments, e.g., in a persistent storage repository accessible to the optimization tool and/or in a knowledge base.”)
Claim 11 is rejected on the same rationale under 35 U.S.C. 103 as claim 1 as they are substantially similar.
In regards to claim 12,
Dirac and Wang teaches The computer implemented tuning method as in claim 10,
Dirac teaches wherein said preliminary tuning iterations further include evaluating a number of user-defined randomly-selected configurations.
(Dirac, Col. 3 lines 13-24, “Regardless of the manner in which the optimization tool is presented to clients, in various embodiments the clients may not be required to be experts in, or even be particularly familiar with, the statistics or mathematics involved in generating and executing the models. Instead, at least in some embodiments in which the client is aware that an optimization task is going to be performed, the client may simply specify or indicate various properties or characteristics of the software execution environment optimization target, the tunable parameters of interest [a number of user-defined randomly-selected configurations], and/or constraints (if any) to be placed on the resources used for the optimization task itself.”)
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dirac in view of Aken in further view of Yehuda Koren “Factorization Meets the Neighborhood: a Multifaceted Collaborative Filtering Model.” (“Koren”).
In regards to claim 3,
Dirac and Aken teaches The computer implemented tuning method as in claim 1,
Koren teaches wherein the distance between two tasks t, t′ used for the task clustering procedure, is computed as:
(Koren, Section 2.4, “First, quality of the results is usually measured by their root mean squared error (RMSE) [the distance between two tasks t, t′ used for the task clustering procedure, is computed as]:
The two sets contain many more ratings by users that do not rate much and are harder to predict. In a way, they represent real requirements from a CF system, which needs to predict new ratings from older ones, and to equally address all users, not only the heavy raters.”; wherein items are equivalent to optimizations ie configurations and users are equivalent to programs such that a program rates an optimization ie configuration to exploit previous ratings ie performance)
However, Koren does not explicitly teach where {xi}N i=1 is the set of configurations that have been evaluated on both tasks t and t′, and rt(xi) is a relevance score being a scalar value indicating how much task t benefits from the configuration xi.
Aken teaches where {xi}N i=1 is the set of configurations that have been evaluated on both tasks t and t′,
(Aken, Section 6.1, “For each DBMS version, we build a set S of N matrices — one for every non-redundant metric — from the data in our repository. Similar to the Lasso and FA models, these matrices are constructed by background processes running on OtterTune’s tuning manager
(see Sect. 3). The matrices in S (i.e., X0,X1, …XN-1) have identical row and column labels. Each row in matrix Xm corresponds to a workload in our repository and each column corresponds
to a DBMS configuration from the set of all unique DBMS configurations that have been used to run any of the workloads [where {xi}N i=1 is the set of configurations that have been evaluated on both tasks t and t′].”)
Aken teaches and rt(xi) is a relevance score being a scalar value indicating how much task t benefits from the configuration xi.
(Aken, Section 6.1, “The entry Xm,i,j is the value of metric m observed when executing
workload i with configuration j.”)
Koren is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of using recommender systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dirac in view of Aken to incorporate the teachings of Koren in order to provide a combined model (recommender system) that has improved prediction accuracy (Koren, Section 1., “In this work we suggest a combined model that improves prediction accuracy by capitalizing on the advantages of both neighborhood and latent factor approaches. To our best knowledge, this is the first time that a single model has integrated the two approaches. In fact, some past works (e.g., [2, 4]) recognized the utility of combining those approaches. However, they suggested post-processing the factorization results, rather than a unified model where neighborhood and factor information are considered symmetrically.”)
Claim(s) 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dirac in view of Aken in further view of Andreas Krause et al. "Contextual Gaussian process bandit optimization." (“Krause”)
In regards to claim 6,
Dirac and Aken teaches The computer implemented tuning method as in claim 1,
Krause teaches wherein said Gaussian Process (GP) is a contextual gaussian process bandit tuner (CGPTuner) which uses as context said characterization vector {right arrow over (cl)} provided by said computed similarity.
(Krause, Section 1, “In summary, as our main contributions we
• develop an efficient algorithm, CGP-UCB, for the contextual GP bandit problem; [contextual gaussian process bandit tuner (CGPTuner)]”)
(Krause, Section 5, “By choosing different kernel functions k : X×X → R, the CGP-UCB algorithm can be applied to a variety of different applications. A natural approach is to start with kernel functions kZ : Z×Z → R and kS : S × S → R on the space of contexts and actions, and use them to derive the kernel on the product space.”)
(Krause, Section 5.1, “One possibility is to consider a product kernel k = kS ⊗ kZ, by setting (kS ⊗ kZ)((s, z),(s 0 , z 0 )) = kZ(z, z 0 )kS(s, s 0 ). The intuition behind this product kernel is a conjunction of the notions of similarities induced by the kernels over context and action spaces: Two context-action pairs are similar (large correlation) if the contexts are similar and actions are similar (Figure 1(a)). [uses as context said characterization vector {right arrow over (cl)} provided by said computed similarity]”)
Krause is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of using recommender systems for optimizing systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dirac in view of Aken to incorporate the teachings of Krause in order to provide an approach that guides the tradeoff between exploration and exploitation and estimate predictive uncertainty (Krause, Section I., “Consider the problem of learning to optimize a complex system subject to varying environmental conditions. Or learning to retrieve relevant documents (ads), given context about the user. Or learning to solve a sequence of related optimization and search tasks, by taking into account experience with tasks solved previously. All these problems can be phrased as a contextual bandit problem (c.f., [1, 2], we review related work in Section 7), where in each round, we receive context (about the experimental conditions, the query, or the task), and have to choose an action (system parameters, document to retrieve). We then receive noisy feedback about the obtained payoff. The key challenge is to trade off exploration by gathering data for estimating the mean payoff function over the context-action space, and to exploit by choosing an action deemed optimal based on the gathered data. Without making any assumptions about the class of payoff functions under consideration, we cannot expect to do well. A natural approach is to choose a regularizer, encoding assumptions about smoothness of the payoff function. In this paper, we take a nonparametric approach, and model the payoff function as a sample from a Gaussian process defined over the joint context-action space (or having low norm in the associated RKHS). This approach allows us to estimate the predictive uncertainty in the payoff function estimated from previous experiments, guiding the tradeoff between exploration and exploitation.”)
In regards to claim 7,
Dirac and Aken and Krause teaches The computer implemented tuning method as in claim 6,
Krause teaches wherein Gaussian Process (GP) is provided with a combined kernel function
, which is the sum of configuration kernel
defined over a configuration space (X) and a task kernel
defined over a task characterization space (C).
(Krause, Section 5, “By choosing different kernel functions k : X×X → R, the CGP-UCB algorithm can be applied to a variety of different applications. A natural approach is to start with kernel functions kZ : Z×Z → R and kS : S × S → R on the space of contexts and actions, and use them to derive the kernel on the product space [the sum of configuration kernel
defined over a configuration space (X) and a task kernel
defined over a task characterization space (C)].”)
In regards to claim 8,
Dirac and Aken and Krause teaches The computer implemented tuning method as in claim 7,
Krause teaches wherein said Gaussian Process (GP) has an additive structure made of a characterization component
which models overall trends among tasks and a configuration component
which models configuration-specific deviation from said overall trends.
(Krause, Section 5.1, “An alternative is to consider the additive combination [additive structure] (kS ⊕ kZ)((s, z),(s 0 , z 0 )) = kZ(z, z 0 ) + kS(s, s 0 ) [made of a characterization component
] which is positive definite as well. The intuition behind this construction is that a GP with additive kernel can be understood as a generative model, which first samples a function fS(s, z) that is constant along z, and varies along s with regularity as expressed by ks; it then samples a function fz(s, z), which varies along z and is constant along s; then f = fs + fz. Thus, the fz component models overall trends according to the context (e.g., encoding assumptions about similarity within clusters of contexts) [which models overall trends among tasks], and the fS models action-specific deviation from this trend (Figure 1(b)). [a configuration component
which models configuration-specific deviation from said overall trends]”)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cereda, Stefano, et al. "CGPTuner: a Contextual Gaussian Process Bandit Approach for the Automatic Tuning of IT Configurations Under Varying Workload Conditions."
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.T.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2129
/SCHYLER S SANKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2129