DETAILED ACTION
This is in reply to an amendment filed on 11/25/2025. Status of claims are:
** Claims 43-51 and 62-70 are pending in this Office Action.
** Claims 43, 48, and 62 are amended.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments filed in the amendment filed on 11/25/2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons are set forth below.
Applicant argues on page 1 to top of page 3 of arguments:
The Office Proposed Combination of Eklof and SAILY is improper since SAILY Renders Eklof Unsatisfactory for Intended Purposes.
A person of ordinary skill when faced with the problem of robustness, would not combine Eklof and Saily. Saily teaches the UE to avoid the SCG failure (T304 expiry) that Eklof is designed to report…Therefore, Saily’s proactive failure prevention teaches away from implementing Eklof’s failure reporting, as Saily’s method renders Eklof’s method unsatisfactory for the intended purpose.
Examiner’s response:
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s perspective and interpretation of Eklof and the teaching of SAILY and suggesting that the combination of both as being improper.
First, in response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case:
Eklof teaches conditional handover techniques, wherein a network node can request from the UE to provide radio link failure report, by sending “UEInformationRequest” message to UE, and wherein UE then responds back to the network request with “UEInformationResponse” that includes a variety of information including radio link failure (RLF) related information including other information such as “rach-report”. (Eklof: See para[0127]-[0133])
SAILY teaches a Master gNB that can add various PSCells to be used by UE, including those PSCells residing on different gNBs, wherein one PSCell can be replaced with another PSCell by UE based on quality of target PSCell. (SAILY: See para[0149]-[0153])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date, to have included, a network node (Master gNB) being able to add PSCells, as taught by SAILY, with the teachings of Eklof, in order to benefit from the enhancement of having a Master gNB, that has the ability to add various PSCells for serving a UE, wherein those PSCells added by Master gNB, can be hosted on other gNBs the network. (SAILY: Fig. 6, para[0149]-[0153])
Secondly, Eklof’s teachings are not limited to only be applied after a handover failure is detected. It is understood by Examiner that all teachings of Eklof can be repeated and is not limited to a first-time post failure detection only.
Applicant argues mid page 3 of arguments:
Saily fails to teach the claimed “secondary node change from a primary secondary cell of a first additional network node to a target primary secondary cell of a second additional network node.”
Examiner’s response:
Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, Applicant is arguing something that are not clearing indicated in the applied claim language. Applicant specification in para [0081] indicates:
[0081] The SCG related information may include at least one of a PSCell identifier in case of SN Addition process, an indication whether the PSCell is a CHO candidate cell in case of SN Addition process, a SN change target PSCELL identifier, and an indication whether the target PSCELL is a CHO candidate cell in case of SN change process.
[0135] In step 708, UE SN Addition, UE SCG failure occurred during the addition of PSCell or SCG failure occurred immediately after the successful addition of PSCell. The UE's current serving cell is the cell 1 of the base station 1, the cell 2 of base station 2 is a CHO candidate cell, the UE attempt to add the cell 2 of base station 2 as a PSCell for SN Addition, the UE occurs SCG failure during Addition of PSCell, or the UE successfully added PSCell, but the UE immediately in base station 2 in place SCG failure (i.e., SCG failure occurs within a predetermined time period after PSCell is added).
[0136] In step 710, UE 702 sends SCGfailureinformation to base station 1 704. The SCG failure Information may include at least one of the following: indication of whether the PSCell of SN Addition (in this case: the cell 2 of base station 2) is a CHO candidate cell (In this example, yes), one or more CHO candidate cell identifiers, number of CHO candidate cells, a trigger condition of CHO execution, a reference condition of CHO target selection.
However, Applicant’s amendment indicates:
wherein the method further comprises: responsive to receiving the first message, forwarding, by the network node a second message carrying the SCG failure information to the first additional network node wherein the secondary node change is triggered by the first additional network node, and the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to operate as a network node including a mater node.
Secondly, Applicant has applied various terminology such as “the secondary node change” or “the first additional network node”, that are not clearly identified in the specification or figures. Applicant specification indicates “SN Addition process” which is understood to be a process, and wherein the “the first additional network node” is broadly understood as being a network node such as “Source gNB”. Similarly, the applied notion of “the secondary node change” is understood broadly as “handover to a network node”. For examination purposes, Examiner has considered the notion of “secondary node change” as being equivalent to a candidate cell for handover. Based on Fig. above, it is clear that UEInformationResponse is received from the first node, and the first node then forwards to another node, which is what Eklof teaches.
Examiner mapping of Eklof indicates one node forwarding a message received from UE (i.e., UEInformationResponse that includes RLF report and T304 expiry for SCG) to another node, and wherein a SN node handover is triggered by the first additional network node (i.e., Source node):
responsive to receiving the first message (i.e., UEInformationResponse that includes RLF report and T304 expiry for SCG), forwarding, by the network node a second message carrying the SCG failure information (i.e., T304 expiry for SCG) to the first additional network node (i.e., source node) (Eklof: See para[0134]-[0136] the target node (i.e., the network node) after receiving RLF report from UE, sends it to the Source Node (i.e., secondary/master node) wherein the secondary node change (i.e., SN node handover) is triggered by the first additional network node (i.e., Source node),
(Eklof: See Fig. 7A, #3, Source gNB (i.e., first additional network node/Source node) sends a Handover Request to Target gNB (i.e., SN node))
Had Applicant’s applied claim language amendment been consistent with Applicant’s specification, Examiner would have considered differently.
Applicant argues bottom page 4 of arguments:
The combined teaching of Eklof and Saily fails to teach the claimed “responsive to receiving the first message, forwarding by the network node, a second message carrying the SCG failure information to the first additional network node, and the network node includes a master node”
Examiner’s response:
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As it was indicated above, it is being repeated here as how Eklof teaches such limitation:
wherein the method further comprises: responsive to receiving the first message (i.e., UEInformationResponse that includes RLF report and T304 expiry for SCG), forwarding, by the network node a second message carrying the SCG failure information (i.e., T304 expiry for SCG) to the first additional network node (i.e., source node) (Eklof: See para[0134]-[0136] the target node (i.e., the network node) after receiving RLF report from UE, sends it to the Source Node (i.e., secondary/master node) wherein the secondary node change (i.e., SN node handover) is triggered by the first additional network node (i.e., Source node),
(Eklof: See Fig. 7A, #3, Source gNB (i.e., first additional network node/Source node) sends a Handover Request to Target gNB (i.e., SN node))
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 43, 44, 48 and 62-63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220201582 A1 to Eklof et al., as supported by US Provisional Application 62825409, (hereinafter Eklof), in view of US 20210235333 A1 to SAILY et al., (hereinafter SAILY).
Claim 43. Eklof discloses a method (Eklof: See Fig. 1-4) for wireless communication, comprising:
transmitting, by a network node, (Fig. 1, network node 18) a request for user equipment information; (Eklof: See Fig. 1, message 26; para[127]-[0133]; network request for information from UE about RLF trigger)
receiving, by the network node, (i.e., the network node 18) a first message (i.e., Message 28) including information relating to radio link connection, from a terminal, (Eklof: See para[0053], Fig. 1, message 28 (i.e., the first message) is a response to a request from the network node 18, for information. The Message 28 may be “UEInformationResponse” message (i.e., first message).
and wherein the information related to the radio link connection (i.e., message 28 or UEInformationResponse) includes secondary cell group (SCG) failure information (i.e., T304 expiry of secondary cell group (SCG))
(Eklof: See para[0129]-[0134] for UEInformationResponse message (message 28 or UEInformationiResponse), includes radio link failure report (RLF-Report), wherein the RLF-report itself further includes various types of information about the failure, including “connectionFailureType” and “RLF-Cause” as being “t310-expiry”. See para[0165] for failure type may be used with a cause value such as “t310-expiry” or with a new cause value “t304-expiry” of a secondary cell group (SCG) (i.e., secondary cell group (SCG) failure information))
that is related to an SCG failure that occurred in relation to a secondary node change from a primary secondary cell of a first additional network node to a target primary secondary cell of a second additional network node,
(Eklof: See para[0197] for expiry of timer Txxx (T304) occurs after UE tries to access a target cell candidate (i.e., a target primary secondary cell of a second additional network node). See para[0160]-[0166] for a target candidate cell (i.e., Target PSCell of a second additional network node) is sent to a UE (i.e., a secondary node) as a conditional HO (CHO) candidate, and if UE (i.e., a secondary node) fails to connect to it, then UE includes it in the UEInformationResponse, including the ID of PCell (PSCell) that failed to accommodate such handoff for UE. )
the SCG failure information including, a reference execution condition for a conditional handover (CHO) to target selection; (Eklof: see para[0063], and para[0129]-[0133] for “connectionFailureType”, which indicates by UE, if the failure is due to “radio link failure” or “handover failure” (i.e., a reference execution condition for a conditional handover), etc, and para[0310] and Table 5, for “connectionFailureType” can be designated as being related to RLF, HOF, CHOF (i.e., conditional handoff – a reference execution condition for a conditional handover)) and
performing, by the network node, (i.e., target node) a network performance analysis based on the information relating to the radio link connection (Abstract; para[0051] & para[135] network node tunes one or more parameters based on the information about the failure)
wherein the method further comprises: responsive to receiving the first message (i.e., UEInformationResponse that includes RLF report and T304 expiry for SCG), forwarding, by the network node a second message carrying the SCG failure information (i.e., T304 expiry for SCG) to the first additional network node (i.e., source node) (Eklof: See para[0134]-[0136] the target node (i.e., the network node) after receiving RLF report from UE, sends it to the Source Node (i.e., secondary/master node) wherein the secondary node change (i.e., SN node handover) is triggered by the first additional network node (i.e., Source node), (Eklof: See Fig. 7A, #3, Source gNB (i.e., first additional network node/Source node) sends a Handover Request to Target gNB (i.e., SN node))
Although Eklof teaches a network node able to perform handoff from one cell (i.e., PSCell) to another cell (i.e., Target PSCell), however, it does not explicitly disclose that a network node (BS) can add “a PSCell” to serve a UE, wherein the UE decides to change or handoff from the first PSCell to another PSCell (Target PSCell), both added by the network node (BS), as 1) a first additional network node (i.e., primary secondary cell of a first additional network node ) and as 2) a second additional network node (target primary secondary cell of a second additional network node), as understood alternatively by the applied claim language of:
primary secondary cell of a first additional network node…target primary secondary cell of a second additional network node
and the network node includes a master node.
However, in a similar field, SAILY in Fig. 4, #260-1 & 260-2, and para[0135]-[0143] teaches a Master gNB (i.e., MgNB, a master node) can add multiple PSCells in order to serve its UE, wherein those PSCells includes “PSCell 2 of gNB2”, and “PSCell 3 of gNB3”. See para[0153] when quality of added PSCell for UE is not good, then UE indicates a “Failed PSCell Access” back to MgNB, and Master gNB (MgNB) finds another candidate PSCell to serve UE with. Also see para[0194][-0198] a primary-secondary cell (PSCell) of a primary cell (gNB) serving a UE, is swapped by another primary secondary cell (Target PSCell) of the primary cell (gNB), serving the UE.
Eklof teaches conditional handover techniques, wherein a network node can request from the UE to provide radio link failure report, by sending “UEInformationRequest” message to UE, and wherein UE then responds back to the network request with “UEInformationResponse” that includes a variety of information including radio link failure (RLF) related information including other information such as “rach-report”. (Eklof: See para[0127]-[0133])
SAILY teaches a Master gNB that can add various PSCells to be used by UE, including those PSCells residing on different gNBs, wherein one PSCell can be replaced with another PSCell by UE based on quality of target PSCell. (SAILY: See para[0149]-[0153])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date, to have included, a network node (Master gNB) being able to add PSCells, as taught by SAILY, with the teachings of Eklof, in order to benefit from the enhancement of having a Master gNB, that has the ability to add various PSCells for serving a UE, wherein those PSCells added by Master gNB, can be hosted on other gNBs the network. (SAILY: Fig. 6, para[0149]-[0153])
Claim 44. The method of claim 43, wherein the information relating to the radio link connection further includes information relating to conditional handover (CHO) that includes at least one of one or more conditional handover candidate cell identifiers.
(Eklof: See para[0063] and para[0129]-[0133] “UEInformationResponse” message has “connectionFailureType”, which indicates if the failure is due to “radio link failure” or “handover failure”, etc.. See para[0310] and Table 5, for “connectionFailureType” that can be designated as (RLF, HOF, CHOF (i.e., conditional handoff/handover))
Claim 48. The method of claim 43, wherein the information relating to the radio link connection further includes information relating to connection failure that includes at least one of
an indication of whether a target cell for handover is a conditional handover candidate cell,
(Eklof: See para[0160]-[0166] for a target candidate cell (i.e., PCell) is sent to UE as conditional HO (CHO) candidate, and if fails to connect to it, it includes it in UEInformationResponse, having ID of PCell that failed such handoff. )
an indication of whether a target PSCell of a secondary node for SN change is a conditional handover candidate cell, or
an indication of whether the re-establishment cell is a conditional handover candidate cell.
Claim 62. An apparatus for wireless communication comprising a processor that is configured to perform a method comprising:
transmitting a request for user equipment information; receiving a first message including information relating to a radio link connection from a terminal, (Eklof: See Fig. 1, message 26; para[127]-[0133]; network request for information from UE about RLF trigger)
wherein the information relating to the radio link connection includes secondary cell group (SCG) failure information (Eklof: See para[0172]-[0175] when T304 of a Secondary Cell Group expires, UE shall initiate the SCG failure information procedure to report SCG reconfiguration with sync failure) that is related to an SCG failure that occurred in relation to a secondary node change from a primary secondary cell of a first additional network node to a target primary secondary cell of a second additional network node, (Eklof: See para[0160]-[0166] a target candidate cell (i.e., Target PSCell of a second additional network node) is sent to a UE (i.e., a secondary node) as a conditional HO (CHO) candidate, and if UE (i.e., a secondary node) fails to connect to it, then UE includes it in the UEInformationResponse, including the ID of PCell (PSCell) that failed to accommodate such handoff for UE. )
the SCG failure information including, a reference execution condition for a conditional handover (CHO) target selection; (Eklof: see para[0063], and para[0129]-[0133] for “connectionFailureType”, which indicates by UE, if the failure is due to “radio link failure” or “handover failure” (i.e., a reference execution condition for a conditional handover), etc, and para[0310] and Table 5, for “connectionFailureType” can be designated as being related to RLF, HOF, CHOF (i.e., conditional handoff – a reference execution condition for a conditional handover)) and
performing a network performance analysis based on the information relating to the radio link connection, (Abstract; para[0051] & para[135] network node tunes one or more parameters based on the information about the failure)
wherein the method further comprises: responsive to receiving the first message (i.e., UEInformationResponse that includes RLF report and T304 expiry for SCG), forwarding, by the network node a second message carrying the SCG failure information (i.e., T304 expiry for SCG) to the first additional network node (i.e., source node) (Eklof: See para[0134]-[0136] the target node (i.e., the network node) after receiving RLF report from UE, sends it to the Source Node (i.e., secondary/master node) wherein the secondary node change (i.e., SN node handover) is triggered by the first additional network node (i.e., Source node), (Eklof: See Fig. 7A, #3, Source gNB (i.e., first additional network node/Source node) sends a Handover Request to Target gNB (i.e., SN node))
Although Eklof teaches a network node able to perform handoff from one cell (i.e., PSCell) to another cell (i.e., Target PSCell), however, it does not explicitly disclose that a network node (BS) can add “a PSCell” to serve a UE, wherein the UE decides to change or handoff from the first PSCell to another PSCell (Target PSCell), both added by the network node (BS), as 1) a first additional network node (i.e., primary secondary cell of a first additional network node ) and as 2) a second additional network node (target primary secondary cell of a second additional network node), as understood alternatively by the applied claim language of:
primary secondary cell of a first additional network node…target primary secondary cell of a second additional network node
and the network node includes a master node.
However, in a similar field, SAILY in Fig. 4, #260-1 & 260-2, and para[0135]-[0143] teaches a Master gNB (MgNB) can add multiple PSCells as to serve its UE, including PSCell 2 of gNB2, and PSCell 3 of gNB3, that are hosted on other gNBs. See para[0153] for when quality of a PSCell is not good, then UE indicates a “Failed PSCell Access” to Master gNB (MgNB), and Master gNB finds another candidate PSCell for UE. Aslo see para[0194][-0198] how a primary-secondary cell (PSCell) of a primary cell (gNB) serving a UE, is swapped by another primary secondary cell (Target PSCell) of the primary cell (gNB), to be used by UE instead.
Eklof teaches conditional handover techniques, wherein a network node can request from the UE to provide radio link failure report, by sending “UEInformationRequest” message to UE, and wherein UE then responds back to the network request with “UEInformationResponse” that includes a variety of information including radio link failure (RLF) related information including other information such as “rach-report”. (Eklof: See para[0127]-[0133])
SAILY teaches a Master gNB that can add various PSCells to be used by UE, including those PSCells residing on different gNBs, wherein one PSCell can be replaced with another PSCell by UE based on quality of target PSCell. (SAILY: See para[0149]-[0153])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date, to have included, a network node (Master gNB) being able to add PSCells, as taught by SAILY, with the teachings of Eklof, in order to benefit from the enhancement of having a Master gNB, that has the ability to add various PSCells for serving a UE, wherein those PSCells added by Master gNB, can be hosted on other gNBs the network. (SAILY: Fig. 6, para[0149]-[0153])
Claim 63. The apparatus of claim 62, wherein the information relating to the radio link connection further includes information relating to conditional handover (CHO) that includes at least one of one or more conditional handover candidate cell identifiers. (Eklof: See para[0108] the handover message (i.e., CHO ) includes RRCReconfiguration, that includes the target cell ID. See also para[0160]-[0166] a target candidate cell is sent to a UE as a conditional HO (CHO) candidate, and if UE (i.e., a secondary node) fails to connect to it, then UE includes it in the UEInformationResponse, including the ID of PCell (PSCell) that failed to accommodate such handoff for UE. )
5. Claims 45-47, 49, 50, and 64-70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220201582 A1 to Eklof et al., (hereinafter Eklof) in view of US 20210235333 A1 to SAILY et al., (hereinafter SAILY), and in further view of US 20220217781 A1 to Decarreau et al., (hereinafter Decarreau).
Claim 45. Eklof teaches the method of claim 43, wherein the information relating to the radio link connection includes further information relating to conditional handover (CHO) (Eklof: See para[0134]-[0136]) including a trigger condition of CHO execution being based on if Neighbour Cell beam that becomes X db stronger than the servicing cell beam, by using and comparing a threshold Y determination (Eklof: See para[0121]-[0122]), however, Eklof does not specifically indicate that type of reference signal, could be a trigger condition, as understood in:
at least one of a type of a reference signal, a measurement quantity of the reference signal,
However, in as similar field, Decarreau, in para[0068], teaches UE may send to BS a “RACH report” that includes various RACH-related information such as RACH procedure trigger type, a number of steps, either 2 steps or 4 steps, for RACH procedure, a synchronization signaling block (SSB) index, that identifies a particular SSB (i.e., a type of a reference signal), a number of preambles (i.e., reference signal) transmitted ( i.e., a measurement quantity of reference signal) and many more parameters and information.
Eklof teaches conditional handover techniques, wherein a network node can request from the UE to provide radio link failure report, by sending “UEInformationRequest” message to UE, and wherein UE then responds back to the network request with “UEInformationResponse” that includes a variety of information including radio link failure (RLF) related information including other information such as “rach-report”. (Eklof: See para[0127]-[0133])
Decarreau teaches random access reporting techniques, wherein various RACH information, such as “SSB index”, a beam related parameter associated with an SSB used for RACH preamble (i.e., reference signal) transmissions, which identifies a particular SSB, is being included in the “rach-report” sent by UE via UEInformationResponse messaging. (Decarreau: See para[0129])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date, to have included, “rach-report” techniques, as taught by Decarreau, with the system of Eklof, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a “rach-report” of UEInformationResponse message, having further information included, such as “SSB index”, which is a beam related parameter, used for RACH preamble (i.e., reference signal) transmissions, which identifies a particular SSB. (Decarreau: See para[0129])
Claim 46. The method of claim 45, wherein the type of the reference signal includes a reference beam type indicating whether it is a synchronization signal block (SSB) or channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) and (Decarreau: See para[0068] rach-report sent, includes a synchronization signaling block (SSB) index that identifies a particular SSB)
the measurement quantity of the reference signal includes reference signal received power (RSRP) value, reference signal received quality (RSRQ) value, or signal-to-noise and interference ratio (SINR) value. (Eklof: See para[00129] and UEInformationResponse table for “ “rsrpResult” and rsrqResult, that includes RSRP-Range and RSRQ-Range, associated with those Cells that UE performed measurement for)
Eklof teaches conditional handover techniques, wherein a network node can request from the UE to provide radio link failure report, by sending “UEInformationRequest” message to UE, and wherein UE then responds back to the network request with “UEInformationResponse” that includes a variety of information including radio link failure (RLF) related information including other information such as “rach-report”. (Eklof: See para[0127]-[0133])
Decarreau teaches random access reporting techniques, wherein various RACH information, such as “SSB index”, a beam related parameter associated with an SSB used for RACH preamble (i.e., reference signal) transmissions, which identifies a particular SSB, is being included in the “rach-report” sent by UE via UEInformationResponse messaging. (Decarreau: See para[0129])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date, to have included, “rach-report” techniques, as taught by Decarreau, with the system of Eklof, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a “rach-report” of UEInformationResponse message, having further information included, such as “SSB index”, which is a beam related parameter, used for RACH preamble (i.e., reference signal) transmissions, which identifies a particular SSB. (Decarreau: See para[0129])
Claim 47. The method of claim 45, wherein the comparison rule compares only a best beam, or compares a plurality of beams above a threshold, or a threshold. (Elkof: See para[0121]-[0122] HO condition being based on a Neighbour Cell beam becomes X db stronger than the servicing cell beam, by using a threshold Y determination)
Eklof teaches conditional handover techniques, wherein a network node can request from the UE to provide radio link failure report, by sending “UEInformationRequest” message to UE, and wherein UE then responds back to the network request with “UEInformationResponse” that includes a variety of information including radio link failure (RLF) related information including other information such as “rach-report”. (Eklof: See para[0127]-[0133])
Decarreau teaches random access reporting techniques, wherein various RACH information, such as “SSB index”, a beam related parameter associated with an SSB used for RACH preamble (i.e., reference signal) transmissions, which identifies a particular SSB, is being included in the “rach-report” sent by UE via UEInformationResponse messaging. (Decarreau: See para[0129])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date, to have included, “rach-report” techniques, as taught by Decarreau, with the system of Eklof, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a “rach-report” of UEInformationResponse message, having further information included, such as “SSB index”, which is a beam related parameter, used for RACH preamble (i.e., reference signal) transmissions, which identifies a particular SSB. (Decarreau: See para[0129])
Claim 49. Eklof teaches the method of claim 43, however, it does not seem to explicitly disclose:
wherein the information relating to the radio link connection further includes information relating to random access channel (RACH) procedure including one or more RACH attempts, and
wherein the information relating to RACH procedure includes at least one of,
an indication of whether a maximum transmission power is used for transmission of a PUSCH payload for a 2-step RACH attempt per RACH procedure,
an indication of whether a maximum transmission power is used for transmission of a PUSCH payload for a 2-step RACH attempt per beam, a maximum power level for transmission of a PUSCH payload for a 2-step RACH attempt per RACH procedure, a maximum power level used for transmission of a PUSCH payload for a 2-step RACH attempt per beam, or
a number of preamble transmission power ramping on each beam.
However, in a similar field, Decarreau teaches:
wherein the information relating to the radio link connection includes information relating to random access channel (RACH) procedure including one or more RACH attempts, and (Decarreau: See para[0047] for “RACH-report” information sent includes a number of RACH preambles sent until a successful RACH procedure is completed)
wherein the information relating to RACH procedure includes at least one of,
an indication of whether a maximum transmission power is used for transmission of a PUSCH payload for a 2-step RACH attempt per RACH procedure,
an indication of whether a maximum transmission power is used for transmission of a PUSCH payload for a 2-step RACH attempt per beam, a maximum power level for transmission of a PUSCH payload for a 2-step RACH attempt per RACH procedure, a maximum power level used for transmission of a PUSCH payload for a 2-step RACH attempt per beam, or
a number of preamble transmission power ramping on each beam.
(Decarreau: See para[0047] for initial preamble power, and power ramping in case of RACH failures)
Eklof teaches conditional handover techniques, wherein a network node can request from the UE to provide radio link failure report, by sending “UEInformationRequest” message to UE, and wherein UE then responds back to the network request with “UEInformationResponse” that includes a variety of information including radio link failure (RLF) related information including other information such as “rach-report”. (Eklof: See para[0127]-[0133])
Decarreau teaches random access reporting techniques, wherein various RACH information, such as “SSB index”, a beam related parameter associated with an SSB used for RACH preamble (i.e., reference signal) transmissions, which identifies a particular SSB, is being included in the “rach-report” sent by UE via UEInformationResponse messaging. (Decarreau: See para[0129])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date, to have included, “rach-report” techniques, as taught by Decarreau, with the system of Eklof, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a “rach-report” of UEInformationResponse message, having further information included, such as “SSB index”, which is a beam related parameter, used for RACH preamble (i.e., reference signal) transmissions, which identifies a particular SSB. (Decarreau: See para[0129])
Claim 50. Elkof teaches the method of claim 43, however, it does not seem to explicitly disclose:
wherein the information relating to the radio link connection further includes at least one of the following:
an indicator to indicate fallback between 2-step RACH and 4-step RACH per beam,
an indication to indicate which group of preamble is selected per RACH procedure,
an indication to indicate which group of preamble is selected per beam, a list of type of beam selected in chronological order per the RACH procedure, the number of preambles sent on each beam and the beam indices, indexes of tried beams, the number of preambles sent on each tried beam listed in chronological order of attempts, or
contention detected indication per beam
However, in a similar field, Decarreau teaches:
wherein the information relating to the radio link connection includes at least one of the following:
an indicator to indicate fallback between 2-step RACH and 4-step RACH per beam,
(Decarreau: See para[0068] UE may send to BS a “RACH report” in UEInformationReport, that includes various RACH-related information such as, a number of steps, either 2 steps or 4 steps, for RACH procedure.)
an indication to indicate which group of preamble is selected per RACH procedure,
an indication to indicate which group of preamble is selected per beam, a list of type of beam selected in chronological order per the RACH procedure, the number of preambles sent on each beam and the beam indices, indexes of tried beams, the number of preambles sent on each tried beam listed in chronological order of attempts, or
contention detected indication per beam (Eklof: See para[0129]-[0130] for “Contention Detected” for at least one of the transmitted preambles, that UE reports via UEInformationResponse.)
Eklof teaches conditional handover techniques, wherein a network node can request from the UE to provide radio link failure report, by sending “UEInformationRequest” message to UE, and wherein UE then responds back to the network request with “UEInformationResponse” that includes a variety of information including radio link failure (RLF) related information including other information such as “rach-report”. (Eklof: See para[0127]-[0133])
Decarreau teaches random access reporting techniques, wherein various RACH information, such as “SSB index”, a beam related parameter associated with an SSB used for RACH preamble (i.e., reference signal) transmissions, which identifies a particular SSB, is being included in the “rach-report” sent by UE via UEInformationResponse messaging. (Decarreau: See para[0129])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date, to have included, “rach-report” techniques, as taught by Decarreau, with the system of Eklof, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a “rach-report” of UEInformationResponse message, having further information included, such as “SSB index”, which is a beam related parameter, used for RACH preamble (i.e., reference signal) transmissions, which identifies a particular SSB. (Decarreau: See para[0129])
Claim 64. Eklof teaches the apparatus of claim 62, wherein the information relating to the radio link connection includes further information relating to condition handover (CHO) including a trigger condition of CHO execution that includes (Eklof: See para[0134]-[0136]) however, Eklof does not specifically indicate that type of reference signal, could be a trigger condition, as understood in:
at least one of a type of a reference signal, a measurement quantity of the reference signal, or a comparison rule.
However, in as similar field, Decarreau, in para[0068], teaches UE may send to BS a “RACH report” that includes various RACH-related information such as RACH procedure trigger type, a number of steps, either 2 steps or 4 steps, for RACH procedure, a synchronization signaling block (SSB) index, that identifies a particular SSB (i.e., a type of a reference signal), a number of preambles (i.e., reference signal) transmitted ( i.e., a measurement quantity of reference signal) and many more parameters and information.
Eklof teaches conditional handover techniques, wherein a network node can request from the UE to provide radio link failure report, by sending “UEInformationRequest” message to UE, and wherein UE then responds back to the network request with “UEInformationResponse” that includes a variety of information including radio link failure (RLF) related information including other information such as “rach-report”. (Eklof: See para[0127]-[0133])
Decarreau teaches random access reporting techniques, wherein various RACH information, such as “SSB index”, a beam related parameter associated with an SSB used for RACH preamble (i.e., reference signal) transmissions, which identifies a particular SSB, is being included in the “rach-report” sent by UE via UEInformationResponse messaging. (Decarreau: See para[0129])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date, to have included, “rach-report” techniques, as taught by Decarreau, with the system of Eklof, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a “rach-report” of UEInformationResponse message, having further information included, such as “SSB index”, which is a beam related parameter, used for RACH preamble (i.e., reference signal) transmissions, which identifies a particular SSB. (Decarreau: See para[0129])
Claim 65. The apparatus of claim 64, wherein the type of the reference signal includes a reference beam type indicating whether it is a synchronization signal block (SSB) or channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) and (Decarreau: See para[0068] rach-report sent, includes a synchronization signaling block (SSB) index that identifies a particular SSB)
the measurement quantity of the reference signal includes reference signal received power (RSRP) value, reference signal received quality (RSRQ) value, or signal-to-noise and interference ratio (SINR) value. (Eklof: See para[00129] and UEInformationResponse table for “ “rsrpResult” and rsrqResult, that includes RSRP-Range and RSRQ-Range, associated with those Cells that UE performed measurement for)
Eklof teaches conditional handover techniques, wherein a network node can request from the UE to provide radio link failure report, by sending “UEInformationRequest” message to UE, and wherein UE then responds back to the network request with “UEInformationResponse” that includes a variety of information including radio link failure (RLF) related information including other information such as “rach-report”. (Eklof: See para[0127]-[0133])
Decarreau teaches random access reporting techniques, wherein various RACH information, such as “SSB index”, a beam related parameter associated with an SSB used for RACH preamble (i.e., reference signal) transmissions, which identifies a particular SSB, is being included in the “rach-report” sent by UE via UEInformationResponse messaging. (Decarreau: See para[0129])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date, to have included, “rach-report” techniques, as taught by Decarreau, with the system of Eklof, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a “rach-report” of UEInformationResponse message, having further information included, such as “SSB index”, which is a beam related parameter, used for RACH preamble (i.e., reference signal) transmissions, which identifies a particular SSB. (Decarreau: See para[0129])
Claim 66. The apparatus of claim 64, wherein the comparison rule compares only a best beam, or compares a plurality of beams above a threshold, or a threshold. (Elkof: See para[0121]-[0122] HO condition being based on a Neighbour Cell beam becomes X db stronger than the servicing cell beam, by using a threshold Y determination)
Eklof teaches conditional handover techniques, wherein a network node can request from the UE to provide radio link failure report, by sending “UEInformationRequest” message to UE, and wherein UE then responds back to the network request with “UEInformationResponse” that includes a variety of information including radio link failure (RLF) related information including other information such as “rach-report”. (Eklof: See para[0127]-[0133])
Decarreau teaches random access reporting techniques, wherein various RACH information, such as “SSB index”, a beam related parameter associated with an SSB used for RACH preamble (i.e., reference signal) transmissions, which identifies a particular SSB, is being included in the “rach-report” sent by UE via UEInformationResponse messaging. (Decarreau: See para[0129])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date, to have included, “rach-report” techniques, as taught by Decarreau, with the system of Eklof, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a “rach-report” of UEInformationResponse message, having further information included, such as “SSB index”, which is a beam related parameter, used for RACH preamble (i.e., reference signal) transmissions, which identifies a particular SSB. (Decarreau: See para[0129])
Claim 67. the apparatus of claim 62, wherein the information relating to the radio link connection further includes information relating to connection failure that includes at least one of
an indication of whether a target primary cell for master node handover is a conditional handover candidate cell,
(Eklof: See para[0160]-[0166] for a target candidate cell (i.e., PCell) is sent to UE as conditional HO (CHO) candidate, and if fails to connect to it, it includes it in UEInformationResponse, having ID of PCell that failed such handoff. )
an indication of whether a target PSCell of a secondary node for SN change is a conditional handover candidate cell, or
an indication of whether a re-establishment cell is a conditional handover candidate cell.
68. The apparatus of claim 62, wherein the information relating to the radio link connection further includes information relating to random access channel (RACH) procedure including one or more RACH attempts, and (Decarreau: See para[0047] for “RACH-report” information sent includes a number of RACH preambles sent until a successful RACH procedure is completed)
wherein the information relating to RACH procedure includes at least one of,
an indication of whether a maximum transmission power is used for transmission of a PUSCH payload for a 2-step RACH attempt per RACH procedure,
an indication of whether a maximum transmission power is used for transmission of a PUSCH payload for a 2- step RACH attempt per beam,
a maximum power level for transmission of a PUSCH payload for a 2-step RACH attempt per RACH procedure,
a maximum power level used for transmission of a PUSCH payload for a 2-step RACH attempt per beam, or
a number of preamble transmission power ramping on each beam.
(Decarreau: See para[0047] for initial preamble power, and power ramping in case of RACH failures)
Eklof teaches conditional handover techniques, wherein a network node can request from the UE to provide radio link failure report, by sending “UEInformationRequest” message to UE, and wherein UE then responds back to the network request with “UEInformationResponse” that includes a variety of information including radio link failure (RLF) related information including other information such as “rach-report”. (Eklof: See para[0127]-[0133])
Decarreau teaches random access reporting techniques, wherein various RACH information, such as “SSB index”, a beam related parameter associated with an SSB used for RACH preamble (i.e., reference signal) transmissions, which identifies a particular SSB, is being included in the “rach-report” sent by UE via UEInformationResponse messaging. (Decarreau: See para[0129])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date, to have included, “rach-report” techniques, as taught by Decarreau, with the system of Eklof, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a “rach-report” of UEInformationResponse message, having further information included, such as “SSB index”, which is a beam related parameter, used for RACH preamble (i.e., reference signal) transmissions, which identifies a particular SSB. (Decarreau: See para[0129])
Claim 69. The apparatus of claim 62, wherein the information relating to the radio link connection further includes at least one of the following:
an indicator to indicate fallback between 2-step RACH and 4-step RACH per beam,
Decarreau, in para[0068], teaches UE may send to BS a “RACH report” that includes various RACH-related information such as RACH procedure trigger type, a number of steps, either 2 steps or 4 steps, for RACH procedure, a synchronization signaling block (SSB) index, that identifies a particular SSB (i.e., a type of a reference signal), a number of preambles (i.e., reference signal) transmitted ( i.e., a measurement quantity of reference signal) and many more parameters and information.
an indication to indicate which group of preamble is selected per RACH procedure,
an indication to indicate which group of preamble is selected per beam, a list of type of beam selected in chronological order per the RACH procedure,
a number of preambles sent on each beam and beam indices, indexes of tried beams,
a number of preambles sent on each tried beam listed in chronological order of attempts, or contention detected indication per beam or backoff related information.
Eklof teaches conditional handover techniques, wherein a network node can request from the UE to provide radio link failure report, by sending “UEInformationRequest” message to UE, and wherein UE then responds back to the network request with “UEInformationResponse” that includes a variety of information including radio link failure (RLF) related information including other information such as “rach-report”. (Eklof: See para[0127]-[0133])
Decarreau teaches random access reporting techniques, wherein various RACH information, such as “SSB index”, a beam related parameter associated with an SSB used for RACH preamble (i.e., reference signal) transmissions, which identifies a particular SSB, is being included in the “rach-report” sent by UE via UEInformationResponse messaging. (Decarreau: See para[0129])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date, to have included, “rach-report” techniques, as taught by Decarreau, with the system of Eklof, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a “rach-report” of UEInformationResponse message, having further information included, such as “SSB index”, which is a beam related parameter, used for RACH preamble (i.e., reference signal) transmissions, which identifies a particular SSB. (Decarreau: See para[0129])
Claim 70. The apparatus of claim 62, wherein the first message is a user equipment (UE) information response message that further includes connection failure related information.
(Eklof: See para[0053], Fig. 1, message 28 is a response to a request from the network node 18 for information. Message 28 may be “UEInformationResponse” message (i.e., first message). See para[0127] for when UE has triggered Radio Link Failure (RLF), the network can request information from UE about why RLF was triggered via UEInformationRequest message (message 26 of Fig. 1), and receiving from UE, the “UEInformationResponse message (message 28 of Fig. 1))
Conclusion
6. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MAJID ESMAEILIAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7830. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner' s supervisor, Chirag Shah can be reached on 571-272-3144. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/M. E./
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477