DETAILED ACTION
All objections/rejections not mentioned in this Office Action have been withdrawn by the Examiner.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendment filed on 24 July 2025 has been entered.
In view of the amendment to the claim(s), the amendment of claim(s) 1, 11, and 16 and the cancellation of claim(s) 10 have been acknowledged and entered.
In view of the amendment to claim(s) 1 and 16 and the cancellation of claim(s) 10, the rejection of claim(s) 1-6, 9-12 and 14-16 under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(2) and 35 U.S.C. §103 is withdrawn.
In light of the amended claims, new grounds for rejection under 35 U.S.C. §103 are provided in the response below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the prior art rejections under 35 U.S.C. §103, see pages 6-8 of the Response to Non-Final Office Action dated 28 April 2025, which was received on 24 July 2025 (hereinafter Response and Office Action, respectively), have been fully considered.
As applicant has amended independent claim(s) 1 and 16 to incorporate the limitations of claim(s) 10, the rejections of claim(s) 1 and 16 have been amended to incorporate the rejection of the respective limitations of claim(s) 10, as appropriate.
With respect to the rejection(s) of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Guarneri (U.S. Pat. App. Pub. No. 2022/0406298, hereinafter Guarneri) and Mozer (U.S. Pat. App. Pub. No. 2009/0043580, hereinafter Mozer), applicant argues that Guarneri and Mozer fail to teach or suggest all elements of claim 1 as amended. Specifically, applicant presents four general arguments directed to the limitations of claim 10, as incorporated into claims 1 and 16. The arguments are addressed individually below.
“Applicant traverses this assertion because neither the arm nor the connecting element of the switch 270 are clamping units or terminals.”
In the context of the present application, the Office Action explains that the arm and connecting element of switch 270 correspond to a first clamping unit and a second clamping unit. It is unclear what meaning the applicant is relying on in presenting this argument. Applicant fails to present a cognizable argument as to how the applicant is distinguishing the two sets of components. Regarding the phrase itself, “Clamping unit” is not a term of art and it is given no specific meaning in the specification. Applicant further fails to list possible examples or other explanations to clarify the meaning of “clamping unit”. However, clamping is understood as holding or fastening something tightly in place. The word “unit” is a generic device term which refers to a single distinct element or component. Relying on the indication that “clamping” is, in some way, involved, one skilled in the art would understand the components of “switch 38” in the present application (circled in red below) as the described “clamping units”. For reference, a relevant portion of FIG. 10 is attached here, with the relevant connection between the “First clamping unit 40a” and “the second clamping unit 40b”.
Regarding the clamping units for switch 38, the instant application is largely silent as to any distinguishing features. Examiner notes that the word “clamp” occurs only 5 times throughout the specification, where no description or explanation as to what context clamping is being used for reference numerals 40a and 40b. However, at paragraph [0026], the instant application explains that “By closing the switch 38, two terminals, which may be configured as clamping units 40a and 40b, may be connected to each other, whereby an electrical consumer such as an actuator may be activated or deactivated.” Further, said regions, in the context of a typical mechanical switch, are known by those having ordinary skill in the art to clamp together. Therefore, two clamping units are understood as a parts of a switch which clamp, or firmly attach, together. In light of the above description, the relevant portion (circled in red above) shows the terminals (e.g., points where electrical conductors from an electrical component/device come to an end) which are connected to each other and are understood to correspond to the applicant's clamping units.
Based on the above, one skilled in the art would understand the components of the switches (e.g., switch 270) disclosed in Mozer as being substantially the same as the components of “switch 38” in the Instant Application, described in the context of “clamping units”. The equivalent structure from FIG. 2 of Mozer is shown below, and using the same mark-up for emphasis purposes.
Without consideration of the well-known assortment of mechanical relays available in the art, each of which would be understood to qualify as a switch including a first clamping unit and a second clamping unit, the switches (e.g., switch 270) of Mozer are depicted in a physically open position and is described in the context of a mechanical switch. As explained in Mozer “switch 270 may be open, and power supply 250 may be decoupled from speech recognizer 230” and the power control switch can “be a device that can control the amount of signal (e.g., voltage or current) passed between at least one input and at least one output” and “may be controlled in accordance with… [analog control signals] from controller 450,” thus disclosing, at least, an automated analog mechanical switch. (Mozer, [0048], [0050]). As the ability of a mechanical switch to clamp together is a necessary ability for a mechanical switch to function for its intended purpose (e.g., to maintain the transmission of electricity and to avoid arcing), and Mozer discloses the asserted control of a mechanical switch, Mozer also discloses applicant’s clamping units. Therefore, the rejection is maintained over the above arguments.
B. “For example, it is clear to the skilled person that the switch 270 in Fig. 2 of Mozer is only a symbol and that the circuit shown in Figure 2 of Mozer will employ an electronic switch.”
Respectfully, applicant is drawing an unsupported conclusion regarding the breadth of the Mozer reference. The switches described in Mozer, discussed here with reference to switch 270, is not limited as applicant indicates. Further, applicant's arguments indicating the conclusions of a person having ordinary skill in the art are not persuasive.
First and foremost, “only a symbol” is not a recognized argument regarding a deficiency in the cited reference. When the reference is a utility patent, it does not matter that the feature shown is unintended or unexplained in the specification. The drawings must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art. (MPEP 2125 citing In re Aslanian, 590 F.2d 911, 200 USPQ 500 (CCPA 1979)). Further, attorney argument alone is not sufficient to traverse the evidence presented in the Office Action as supported by the cited reference. The disclosure in the symbol is one of many points of evidence regarding the mechanical switch of Mozer, and said disclosure is expressly included in this analysis.
Further, Mozer specifically indicates that automatic analog and digital switches are both contemplated. (Mozer, [0067]). Mozer is disclosed as an improvement over the cited prior art, including “U.S. Pat. Nos. 6,188,986 and 6,324,514 for electrical switches”, where the improvement is not a change in the type of switch but an improvement over the auxiliary sensor device which is used in controlling the switches. (Mozer, [0005]).
In Matulich (U.S. Pat. No. 6,188,986, hereinafter Matulich1), the disclosed switches are wall switches and other forms of physical switches where “In a wall switch embodiment, the speech recognition circuitry of the invention is contained on a circuit board having dimensions to fit within a standard wall switch box. The circuit board has connections for user interfaces including input leads for a microphone for accepting a voice command, a manual switch controller for accepting manual operation of the switch” which “provides a manual means for operating the switch, and operates in cooperation with the speech recognition circuitry” and includes “rocker switches, actuator-type controls, pushbuttons and touch plate technology”. (Matulich1, Col. 2, lines 63 – Col. 3, line 10). Similar disclosures can be found in Matulich (U.S. Pat. No. 6,324,514, hereinafter Matulich2).
As such and in addition to the arguments above indicating the express disclosure, as the improvement is described with reference to a mechanical switch as a modification to said mechanical switch, one skilled in the art would understand that the switches which are indicated are all possible switches for use in the improved embodiments described in Mozer, including the relied on mechanical switch based clamping mechanism as indicated in the present application and relied on from Mozer in the Office Action.
C. “Also, even if a mechanical switch was used, usage of a mechanical switch would not involve clamping. “ Applicant's arguments are not persuasive.
Contrary to applicant’s contention, the arm and the connecting element of a mechanical switch, such as switch 270, when connected as shown in FIG. 2, almost invariably involve some form of clamping. As is well understood in the relevant art, damage from arcing occurs frequently at the point of contact in a switch and can lead to premature failure of a switch (e.g., from pitting). To prevent arcing between the two electrically conductive ends, mechanical switches generally include a snapping to minimize the time that the ends spend in arcing range of each other (referred to in the art as “snap action”), followed by a clamping which prevents the ends from detaching prematurely. For example, in a standard light switch, the snapping which is heard when a light switch is moved into the “on” position is from the snap action mechanism, where the sound is created by a small spring loaded metal arm which snaps onto the moveable arm portion of the switch, where this snapping action results in clamping between the two terminal ends.
D. “Furthermore, even if clamping was involved, the arm and the connecting element of the switch 270 cannot be regarded as terminals.” This argument is not persuasive.
The arm and the connecting element of a mechanical switch, such as switch 270, when connected as shown in FIG. 2 of Mozer, are the first terminal and the second terminal. The conductive arm is a mobile part of the first terminal, as it is electrically continuous with the electrically conductive components prior to the conductive arm, carries its electrical potential, and includes a point where the conductive material ends. Respectively, the connecting element is a fixed part of the second terminal as it is electrically continuous with the electrically conductive components prior to the connecting element and carries its electrical potential to a second point where the conductive material ends.
Therefore, and in light of the above arguments, the rejection of claims 1 and 16 is generally maintained in light of applicant’s arguments.
However, in light of the amendments and the incorporation of new limitations for claim 16, the rejection of claims 1 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. §102 is withdrawn.
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 is cancelled in this response. Therefore, the rejection of claim 10 is withdrawn.
Applicant further argues that the rejection(s) of dependent claims 2-6, 9, 11-12, and 14 should be withdrawn for at least the same reasons as independent claim 1. Said argument in light of the amended claims is persuasive. As such, the rejections of claims 2-6, 9, 11-12, and 14 under 35 U.S.C. §103 are withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, new ground(s) of rejection under 35 U.S.C. §103 are made in light of combinations of Guarneri, Mozer, and Abbasi (U.S. Pat. App. Pub. No. 2003/0163324, hereinafter Abbasi).
The Applicant has not provided any further statement and therefore, the Examiner directs the Applicant to the below rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9, 11, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guarneri in view of Mozer.
Regarding claim 1, Guarneri discloses An apparatus for locally recognizing an instruction of a given set of instructions, the apparatus comprising (Systems and methods described with reference to an “autonomous vocal-command recognition device”; Guarneri, ¶ [0082]): an acoustic sensor configured to convert first acoustic signals into first electric signals and second acoustic signals into second electric signals, (“autonomous vocal-command recognition device 201” may comprise audio detecting circuitry, such as one or more microphones “configured to transduce the sound into an electric signal that communicates the audio data” where the system detects/converts both keywords {convert first acoustic signals into first electric signals} and subsequent commands {second acoustic signals into second electric signals}; Guarneri, ¶ [0083], [0086]) wherein the first acoustic signals are different from the second acoustic signals (The acoustic signal comprising a keyword is different than the acoustic signal comprising a command. Though not described as two separate audio signals, it is understood that the audio signal can be temporally segmented into a wakeword or keyword portion of the audio signal and a command/query portion of the audio signal, where the command/query portion of the audio signal is described here as coming “after the keyword”. As such, the first acoustic signal corresponds to the first portion of the audio signal and the second portion of the audio signal corresponds to the command/query.; Guarneri, ¶ [0083], [0086]); an electronic circuit that is configured to receive the first acoustic signals converted into the first electric signals and configured to receive the second acoustic signals converted into the second electric signals (“The electric signals” as generated by the audio detecting circuitry for the captured sound “may be provided [to] a processing circuitry 1003.” As such, the processing circuitry {electronic circuit} is configured to receive said electric signals {the first acoustic signals converted into the first electric signals and the second acoustic signals converted into the second electric signals}.; Guarneri, ¶ [0083], [0086]), the electronic circuit including a first artificial neural network that monitors, in a first state, the first acoustic signals (The “autonomous vocal-command recognition device” includes “the first neural network 203 and second neural network 205” which can be “a computer program product loadable in the memory of the processing circuitry 1003” where the system “analyz[es] audio data using a first neural network “ to detect “a keyword from the audio data using the first neural network”; Guarneri, ¶ [0077], [0084], [0086]), the first artificial neural network being trained solely to recognize a wake word in the first acoustic signals (In some embodiments, “the first neural network is trained to only detect the keyword”; Guarneri, ¶ [0077], [0088]), wherein the electronic circuit is configured to switch from the first state to a second state (The “autonomous vocal-command recognition device” switches from a “first state S1” to a “second state S2”; Guarneri, ¶ [0077], [0086]) when, upon receipt of the first acoustic signals that are converted into the first electric signals, the first artificial neural network detects the wake word, (In some examples, “the autonomous vocal-command recognition device 201 will be triggered to transition to a second state S2 when the first neural network 203 identifies the keyword.”; Guarneri, ¶ [0077]) wherein the electronic circuit is configured to ignore the second acoustic signals, that are converted into the second electric signals and have been received by the electronic circuit, when the electronic circuit is in the first state, (In the first state, the second neural network is off/inactive. The first neural network, as it is trained only to detect specified keywords, is not configured to detect the content of the second audio data. As such, the “autonomous vocal-command recognition device” and all circuitry therein, is configured to ignore the second acoustic signals when the device, including the processing circuitry, {electronic circuit} is in the first state.; Guarneri, ¶ [0077]-[0078]) wherein the electronic circuit includes a second artificial neural network that is trained to recognize the instruction (The system further includes “the...second neural network 205” which can be “a computer program product loadable in the memory of the processing circuitry 1003” where “the second neural network is trained to detect a set of vocal commands”; Guarneri, ¶ [0078], [0084], [0086], [0089]), the second artificial neural network monitoring, in the second state, the second acoustic signals that are converted into the second electric signals and have been received by the electronic circuit (“If the trigger condition, or trigger conditions, are met the autonomous vocal-command recognition device 201 may transit to the second state which activates the second neural network 205” where the “second neural network 205 may then arrive at a determination as to whether a vocal command is present in audio data”; Guarneri, ¶ [0078]), and when the instruction is detected in the second acoustic signals, the instruction is executed, (The system, in response to detection of a vocal command “disseminate that information” and the system further “translate[s] commands recognized by the second neural network 205 into instructions,” which are executed by the recognition device/recipient device; Guarneri, ¶ [0078], [0083]) wherein the electronic circuit comprises a processor and a storage unit which stores a program that is to be executed by the processor (“The autonomous vocal-command recognition device 201 may comprise... processing circuitry 1003...[and] a memory circuit block 1007” where “the first neural network 203 and second neural network 205 may comprise a computer program product loadable in the memory of the processing circuitry 1003.”; Guarneri, ¶ [0083]-[0084]), the program implementing the first artificial neural network, (“the first neural network 203” loaded as “a computer program product... in the memory of the processing circuitry 1003” is an implementation of the first neural network {the program implementing the first artificial neural network}; Guarneri, ¶ [0084]) wherein the storage unit stores a further program that is to be executed by the processor, wherein the further program implements the second artificial neural network (where respectively, the “second neural network 205” stored as a “computer program product” and loaded as “a computer program product... in the memory of the processing circuitry 1003” is an implementation of the second neural network {the further program implements the second artificial neural network}; Guarneri, ¶ [0083]-[0084]). However, Guarneri fails to expressly recite a first clamping unit configured to establish an electrical connection with a first electrical conductor; and a second clamping unit configured to establish an electrical connection with a second electrical conductor, wherein the instruction is directed towards establishing or disconnecting an electrical connection between a first electric terminal and a second electric terminal or towards increasing or reducing a voltage and/or a current between the first electric terminal and the second electric terminal.
Mozer teaches methods and apparatuses for controlling the operation of a device by voice commands. (Mozer, ¶ [0002]). Regarding claim 1, Mozer teaches a first clamping unit configured to establish an electrical connection with a first electrical conductor (“Low power audio wake up circuit 290 may operate in two modes. In a first mode, the system is in a standby or sleep state and the wake up circuit 290 draws very little current. In this state, switch 270 may be open, and power supply 250 may be decoupled from speech recognizer 230” to “reduce the power to speech recognizer 230 and recognizer 230 may be configured into a low power sleep state.” The first clamping unit can be understood in light of switch 270, as shown in FIG. 2. The switch 270 includes an arm in the open position and a connecting element configured to receive said arm. The arm may be “the first clamping unit” where the arm can establish an electrical connection with the remaining electrical elements of the circuit displayed in FIG. 2 connecting to the speech recognizer 230 {a first electrical conductor}; Mozer, ¶ [0048], [0050], FIG. 2); and a second clamping unit configured to establish an electrical connection with a second electrical conductor, (With relation to the first clamping unit, the second clamping unit can be understood in light of switch 270, as shown in FIG. 2. The switch 270 includes an arm in the open position and a connecting element configured to receive said arm. The connecting element may be “the second clamping unit” where the connecting element can establish an electrical connection with the remaining electrical elements of the circuit displayed in FIG. 2 connecting to the power supply 250 {a second electrical conductor}; Mozer, ¶ [0048], [0050], FIG. 2) wherein the instruction is directed towards establishing or disconnecting an electrical connection between a first electric terminal and a second electric terminal or towards increasing or reducing a voltage and/or a current between the first electric terminal and the second electric terminal (“a low power circuit” can cause the switch “to close on receipt of a specific sound” where the specific sound results in an instruction, and the instruction is directed towards closing the switch {establishing or disconnecting an electrical connection between a first electric terminal and a second electric terminal} and by closing the switch, the circuit is completed {or towards increasing or reducing a voltage and/or a current between the first electric terminal and the second electric terminal}; Mozer, ¶ [0054]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the always-on speech recognition systems of Guarneri, to incorporate the teachings of Mozer to include further comprising: a first clamping unit configured to establish an electrical connection with a first electrical conductor; and a second clamping unit configured to establish an electrical connection with a second electrical conductor, wherein the instruction is directed towards establishing or disconnecting an electrical connection between a first electric terminal and a second electric terminal or towards increasing or reducing a voltage and/or a current between the first electric terminal and the second electric terminal. Mozer teaches a low power speech recognition system which does not require the use of manual buttons by the user for device control, thus increasing convenience for the user and allowing control of switch operated systems by a plurality of relatively remote users, as recognized by Mozer. (Mozer, ¶ [0017]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Guarneri and Mozer disclose all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Guarneri further discloses wherein the first acoustic signals immediately precede the second acoustic signals (Relying on the provided example using the wake word “Marvin”, the command “Marvin, go.” may be vocalized by the user and “The first neural network 203, which continuously operates, may detect the keyword ‘Marvin’.” which “may trigger the second neural network 205 to analyze the audio data 209” and the “second neural network 205 may detect the word ‘go’ and communicate a corresponding command,” where the word “Marvin” is the wake word which immediately precedes the command “go”; Guarneri, ¶ [0037]) and indicate to the electronic circuit that the second acoustic signals include the instruction of the given set of instructions (“autonomous vocal-command recognition device 201 will be triggered to transition to a second state S2 when the first neural network 203 identifies the keyword” where transitioning to the second state is for the purpose of “analyz[ing] the next frame... of the audio data 209 to identify vocal commands.” Thus, it is understood that the position of the keyword directly correlates with instructions (e.g., commands/queries) following immediately thereafter (commands are expected in the next frame).; Guarneri, ¶ [0037], [0077], [0081]).
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Guarneri and Mozer disclose all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Guarneri further discloses wherein the electronic circuit is further configured to switch back to the first state if the instruction is not recognized and/or in response to another instruction of the given set of instructions (“the autonomous vocal-command recognition device 201 may move back to the first state S1 and the second neural network 205 is deactivated...after a predetermined time has passed” where “the time period may for the second state S2 may be reset if a command is identified” Restated for clarity, if said recognition device identifies a command in the second acoustic signal, then the time period for reverting back to the first state is extended (i.e., the recognition device stays in the second state). Otherwise, the recognition device reverts back to the first state based on the timer and absence of an identified instruction.; Guarneri, ¶ [0078]).
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Guarneri and Mozer disclose all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Guarneri further discloses wherein the state change and the instruction assignment are realized independent of each other (The state change is realized by the first neural network detecting a keyword in the first audio signal representation which corresponds to a time t. The instruction assignment is realized by a second neural network identifying an instruction in the second electric signal which corresponds to a non-overlapping (it occurs after the keyword) time t+1. As such, they are realized independent of each other.; Guarneri, ¶ [0077]-[0078]) and differ from each other with regard to resource consumption (“energy, processing, and memory demands may be reduced while the first neural network 203 is working but not the second neural network 205.”; Guarneri, ¶ [0033]).
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated. Guarneri and Mozer disclose all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Guarneri further discloses wherein the apparatus requires less resource consumption for the state change than for the instruction assignment (The state change occurs as an action from the first neural network, where the instruction assignment occurs as an action of the second neural network. As “the first neural network 203... operates continuously” at a lower power consumption than the second neural network (which includes the state change between the first state s1 and second state s2), the state change requires less resource consumption; Guarneri, ¶ [0077], [0033]).
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Guarneri and Mozer disclose all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Guarneri further discloses wherein the electronic circuit is configured to subject the second electric signals to a frequency analysis (the second electric signal is subject to Mel-Frequency Cepstrual Coefficients (MFCC) analysis, where MFCC incorporates a frequency analysis; Guarneri, ¶ [0038], [0040]).
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Guarneri and Mozer disclose all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Guarneri further discloses wherein the second artificial neural network is not active when the electronic circuit is in the first state (“In a first state S1... the second neural network 205 does not operate and, thus, does not consume any of the autonomous vocal-command recognition device 201 resources.”; Guarneri, ¶ [0077]).
Regarding claim 11, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Guarneri and Mozer discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. However, Guarneri fails to expressly recite wherein the first clamping unit forms the first electric terminal, and the second clamping unit forms the second electric terminal.
The relevance of Mozer is described above with relation to claim 1. Regarding claim 11, Mozer teaches wherein the first clamping unit forms the first electric terminal (The arm shown at switch 270 of FIG. 2 is the first electric terminal, as it allows for current to flow in the circuit when connected to the connecting element, also shown at switch 270 of FIG. 2.; Mozer, ¶ [0048], FIG. 2), and the second clamping unit forms the second electric terminal (Conversely, the connecting element shown at switch 270 of FIG. 2 is the second electric terminal, as it allows for current to flow in the circuit when connected to the arm {the first connecting element}, also shown at switch 270 of FIG. 2.; Mozer, ¶ [0048], FIG. 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the always-on speech recognition systems of Guarneri, to incorporate the teachings of Mozer to include wherein the first clamping unit forms the first electric terminal, and the second clamping unit forms the second electric terminal. Mozer teaches a low power speech recognition system which does not require the use of manual buttons by the user, thus increasing convenience for the user and allowing control of switch operated systems by a plurality of relatively remote users, as recognized by Mozer. (Mozer, ¶ [0017]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 15, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Guarneri and Mozer disclose all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Guarneri further discloses wherein the first state is a sleep state and the second state is a wake state (Discloses “a first state S1” where “the first neural network 203 may operates continuously to identify a keyword” and “the second neural network 205 does not operate and, thus, does not consume any of the autonomous vocal-command recognition device 201 resources {the first state is a sleep state}” and “the autonomous vocal-command recognition device 201 will be triggered to transition to a second state S2 when the first neural network 203 identifies the keyword” where the second neural network is activated {the second state is a wake state}.; Guarneri, ¶ [0077]-[0078]).
Regarding claim 16, Guarneri discloses An apparatus for locally recognizing an instruction of a given set of instructions (Systems and methods described with reference to an “autonomous vocal-command recognition device”; Guarneri, ¶ [0082]), comprising: an acoustic sensor configured to convert acoustic signals into electric signals (“autonomous vocal-command recognition device 201” may comprise audio detecting circuitry, such as one or more microphones “configured to transduce the sound into an electric signal that communicates the audio data”; Guarneri, ¶ [0083], [0086]); an electronic circuit that receives the electric signals (“The electric signals” as generated by the audio detecting circuitry for the captured sound “may be provided [to] a processing circuitry 1003.” As such, the processing circuitry {electronic circuit} is configured to receive said electric signals.; Guarneri, ¶ [0083], [0086]), the electronic circuit being configured, when in a first state, to monitor the acoustic signals with a first artificial neural network that is trained solely for recognizing a wake word (The “autonomous vocal-command recognition device” includes “the first neural network 203 and second neural network 205” which can be “a computer program product loadable in the memory of the processing circuitry 1003” where the system “analyz[es] audio data using a first neural network “ to detect “a keyword from the audio data using the first neural network”, and where “the first neural network is trained to only detect the keyword”; Guarneri, ¶ [0077], [0084], [0086]) and to switch from the first state to a second state (The “autonomous vocal-command recognition device” switches from a “first state S1” to a “second state S2”; Guarneri, ¶ [0077], [0086]) when the electronic circuit detects the wake word in a first segment of the acoustic signals (In some examples, “the autonomous vocal-command recognition device 201 will be triggered to transition to a second state S2 when the first neural network 203 identifies the keyword.”; Guarneri, ¶ [0077]), the electronic circuit being further configured, when in the second state, to monitor a subsequent segment of the acoustic signals for the instruction (“If the trigger condition, or trigger conditions, are met the autonomous vocal-command recognition device 201 may transit to the second state which activates the second neural network 205” where the “second neural network 205 may then arrive at a determination as to whether a vocal command is present in audio data”; Guarneri, ¶ [0078]) with a second artificial neural network that is trained for recognizing the instruction (The system further includes “the...second neural network 205” which can be “a computer program product loadable in the memory of the processing circuitry 1003” where “the second neural network is trained to detect a set of vocal commands”; Guarneri, ¶ [0078], [0084], [0086], [0089]), and, when the instruction is detected, to execute the instruction (The system, in response to detection of a vocal command “disseminate that information” and the system further “translate[s] commands recognized by the second neural network 205 into instructions,” which are executed by the recognition device/recipient device; Guarneri, ¶ [0078], [0083]). However, Guarneri fails to expressly recite a first clamping unit configured to establish an electrical connection with a first electrical conductor; and a second clamping unit configured to establish an electrical connection with a second electrical conductor, wherein the instruction is directed towards establishing or disconnecting an electrical connection between a first electric terminal and a second electric terminal or towards increasing or reducing a voltage and/or a current between the first electric terminal and the second electric terminal.
The relevance of Mozer is described above with relation to claim 1. Regarding claim 16, Mozer teaches further comprising: a first clamping unit configured to establish an electrical connection with a first electrical conductor (“Low power audio wake up circuit 290 may operate in two modes. In a first mode, the system is in a standby or sleep state and the wake up circuit 290 draws very little current. In this state, switch 270 may be open, and power supply 250 may be decoupled from speech recognizer 230” to “reduce the power to speech recognizer 230 and recognizer 230 may be configured into a low power sleep state.” The first clamping unit can be understood in light of switch 270, as shown in FIG. 2. The switch 270 includes an arm in the open position and a connecting element configured to receive said arm. The arm may be “the first clamping unit” where the arm can establish an electrical connection with the remaining electrical elements of the circuit displayed in FIG. 2 connecting to the speech recognizer 230 {a first electrical conductor}; Mozer, ¶ [0048], FIG. 2); and a second clamping unit configured to establish an electrical connection with a second electrical conductor, (With relation to the first clamping unit, the second clamping unit can be understood in light of switch 270, as shown in FIG. 2. The switch 270 includes an arm in the open position and a connecting element configured to receive said arm. The connecting element may be “the second clamping unit” where the connecting element can establish an electrical connection with the remaining electrical elements of the circuit displayed in FIG. 2 connecting to the power supply 250 {a second electrical conductor}; Mozer, ¶ [0048], FIG. 2) wherein the instruction is directed towards establishing or disconnecting an electrical connection between a first electric terminal and a second electric terminal or towards increasing or reducing a voltage and/or a current between the first electric terminal and the second electric terminal (“a low power circuit” can cause the switch “to close on receipt of a specific sound” where the specific sound results in an instruction, and the instruction is directed towards closing the switch {establishing or disconnecting an electrical connection between a first electric terminal and a second electric terminal} and by closing the switch, the circuit is completed {or towards increasing or reducing a voltage and/or a current between the first electric terminal and the second electric terminal}; Mozer, ¶ [0054]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the always-on speech recognition systems of Guarneri, to incorporate the teachings of Mozer to include a first clamping unit configured to establish an electrical connection with a first electrical conductor; and a second clamping unit configured to establish an electrical connection with a second electrical conductor, wherein the instruction is directed towards establishing or disconnecting an electrical connection between a first electric terminal and a second electric terminal or towards increasing or reducing a voltage and/or a current between the first electric terminal and the second electric terminal. Mozer teaches a low power speech recognition system which does not require the use of manual buttons by the user for device control, thus increasing convenience for the user and allowing control of switch operated systems by a plurality of relatively remote users, as recognized by Mozer. (Mozer, ¶ [0017]-[0023]).
Claims 12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guarneri and Mozer as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Abbasi.
Regarding claim 12, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated. Guarneri and Mozer disclose all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Guarneri further discloses wherein the apparatus is further configured to transmit a bit vector assigned to the instruction… (The autonomous vocal-command recognition device 201 can “determine a binary confidence score {bit vector} indicating whether the first neural network 203 has identified a keyword” where the output of the first neural network is assigned to the instruction through the second neural network (“the second neural network 205 may be triggered by the confidence score”); Guarneri, ¶ [0062]-[0063]) wherein the apparatus is further configured to transmit a [signal] assigned to the instruction to a control unit if the second acoustic signals converted into the second electric signals were assigned to the instruction (The autonomous vocal-command recognition device 201 can “transmit commands identified by the second neural network 205, or instructions based on the commands identified, to other devices to implement the command,” where the component of the “other devices” which is implementing the commands/instructions is a control unit, and where such transmission only occurs if the second electric signals {the second acoustic signals converted into the second electric signals} were assigned to an instruction/command, and where any part or component may be a control unit so long as it has a measure of control over another part or component thereof.; Guarneri, ¶ [0083]). However, Guarneri fails to expressly recite wherein the signal is a bit vector.
Abbasi teaches methods and apparatuses for controlling the operation of a device by voice commands. (Abbasi, ¶ [0014]). Regarding claim 12, Abbasi teaches wherein the apparatus is further configured to transmit a bit vector assigned to the instruction to a control unit (“Protocol has been developed and implemented in this system that describes how single transmitter will communicate with the receiver module attached with each device to be controlled. Based on this protocol, software will send three frames of bits namely, Network_ID, Device_ID and Command”, where the command is a frame of bits.; Abbasi, ¶ [0027]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the always-on speech recognition systems of Guarneri, as modified by the voice operation control systems of Mozer, to incorporate the teachings of Abbasi to include wherein the signal is a bit vector. The operation control systems of Abbasi allows for voice control of a wide variety of devices using packets of bits containing three frames, such that multiple devices can receive commands over the same network connection and individual devices can respond to individual commands, which improves ease and convenience for an end user, as recognized by Abbasi. (Abbasi, ¶ [0014]-[0015]).
Regarding claim 14, the rejection of claim 12 is incorporated. Guarneri and Mozer disclose all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Guarneri further discloses A system comprising the apparatus of claim 12 and the control unit, (Systems and methods described with reference to an “autonomous vocal-command recognition device” including the control unit of the “other device”; Guarneri, ¶ [0082]-[0083]) wherein the control unit is configured to receive the [signal] assigned to the instruction via a wired or wireless connection and to output a control signal assigned to the instruction (“The autonomous vocal-command recognition device 201 may also comprise a transmitter 1009” for transmitting either wired or “wireless signals”, where “the transmitter may be used to transmit commands identified by the second neural network 205, or instructions based on the commands identified, to other devices to implement the command” where the output of instructions based on the commands to “implement the command” is, or otherwise results in, the control signals assigned to the instructions; Guarneri, ¶ [0083]). However, Guarneri fails to expressly recite wherein the signal is a bit vector.
The relevance of Abbasi is described above with relation to claim 1. Regarding claim 14, Abbasi teaches wherein the control unit is configured to receive the bit vector assigned to the instruction via a wired or wireless connection and to output a control signal assigned to the instruction (“each device” will receive those bits at a receiver device, and the bits are assigned to the command, where, in one example, if the bits of the command frame “is 0001” then the receiver module for the receiving device “will turn on the attached device and if it is 0000 then it will turn it off {output a control signal assigned to the instruction}.”; Abbasi, ¶ [0027], [0029]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the always-on speech recognition systems of Guarneri, as modified by the voice operation control systems of Mozer, to incorporate the teachings of Abbasi to include wherein the signal is a bit vector. The operation control systems of Abbasi allows for voice control of a wide variety of devices using packets of bits containing three frames, such that multiple devices can receive commands over the same network connection and individual devices can respond to individual commands, which improves ease and convenience for an end user, as recognized by Abbasi. (Abbasi, ¶ [0014]-[0015]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sean E Serraguard/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2657