DETAILED ACTION
Applicant' s arguments, filed 09/24/2025, have been fully considered. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Applicants have amended their claims, filed 09/24/2025, and therefore rejections newly made in the instant office action have been necessitated by amendment.
Claims 1-18 are the currently pending claims hereby under examination, with claims 1, 9, 11, 13, 15, and 16 having been amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-11, 13-14, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Rawls-Meehan et al. (US 20160120740 A1), hereto referred as Rawls-Meehan, and further in view of Saghiri et al. (US 10905249 B1), hereto referred as Saghiri, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 20110169653 A1), hereto referred as Wang, and further in view of Veron (US 20160183695 A1), hereto referred as Veron.
Regarding claim 1, Rawls-Meehan teaches that an interactive bedding system for a child comprises: a mattress (Rawls-Meehan, ¶[0105]: "In an aspect, a pressure-sensing adjustable bed may include an adjustable bed facility including at least one of a mattress", an interactive bedding system with a mattress designed for user support that can be used by a child), a foundation supporting the mattress including a rectangular frame (Rawls-Meehan, FIG. 46 and 53: where the mattress is depicted on the foundation; and FIG. 10B: shows one embodiment of the foundation and frame itself; ¶[0327]: "In an embodiment, the sub-frame 128 may be a structural support frame in contact with the floor and may include the floor legs, connections for the actuators 120, connections for the supports 134, support for the skeleton structure 130, and the like"; ¶[0330]: "...the skeleton structure 130 may be a frame type structure to support at least one mattress 124", where the sub-frame and skeleton structure act as the foundation and implicitly forms a rectangular frame with a head end, foot end, and sidewalls, as depicted in FIGS. 6, 9, 10A-B); a plurality of sensors below a sleeping surface of the interactive bedding system configured to measure at least one sleep condition and provide output signals (Rawls-Meehan, ¶[0543]: "A pressure sensor may be disposed on a surface of a mattress 4604, a mattress sheet, a mattress topper or cover layer"; ¶[0544]: "The pressure sensor 4610 may be comprised of a single pressure sensor, multiple pressure sensors, and the like…” describing multiple sensors positioned below the sleeping surface; ¶[0544]: "The pressure sensor 4610 may determine a user's movement... indicative of a user getting into the pressure sensing adjustable bed facility 4602, getting out of the pressure sensing adjustable bed facility 4602, moving to a different position on the adjustable bed facility 4602, and the like. Collecting information related to these movements may help to determine the comfort level of a user, the sleep quality of the user, and the like”, demonstrating that the sensors track user movement patterns and positional changes, which are key indicators of sleep conditions such as restlessness, stillness, or prolonged inactivity. These metrics contribute to assessing sleep quality and detecting whether a user has transitioned into or out of sleep states); one or more sound speakers coupled to the rectangular frame (Rawls-Meehan, FIG. 1B: depicting the audio system coupled with the frame (Rawls-Meehan, ¶[0355]: "the modular controls 148 may directly control devices, indirectly control devices, or the like such as a stereo, CD player, DVD player, a digital recorder, one or more speakers with a surround sound system...", demonstrating that speakers are included in the system and coupled with the frame); vibrating units coupled to the foundation (Rawls-Meehan, FIG. 1B: depicting the vibration facility coupled with the skeleton structure and sub-frame (i.e. foundation); ¶[0337]: "the electric motor vibration facility 132 may... rotate an offset mass on the motor shaft that may cause the vibration facility 132, mattress 124, skeleton structure 130, or the like to vibrate"; and ¶[0235]: "there may be at least one vibration motor 132 that may provide vibration and massage functions to the adjustable bed facility 102 sections", demonstrating that the system includes multiple vibration units coupled to the foundation); and a control unit configured to automatically actuate the one or more color-changeable lighting units, the one or more sound speakers, and the vibrating units upon detection of a sleep condition of the at least one sleep condition (Rawls-Meehan, ¶[0022]: "The methods and systems disclosed herein may include using a programmable logic controller in a control facility for an adjustable furniture facility. The programmable logic controller may control the bed or any of the devices or systems disclosed herein that are associated with the environment of the furniture", describing an automated control unit managing system components; ¶[0426]: "any of the types of sensors described herein, such as motion sensors, sound sensors, weight sensors, chemical sensors, smoke detectors, temperature sensors, pressure sensors, or the like may be used to sense... a user of the control facility to sense a condition or determine a state or event that may, under control of the control facilities for the adjustable furniture facility, be used to trigger actuation of a component of the adjustable bed facility or one or more of the other systems associated with the adjustable bed facility... Examples include... adjusting entertainment content in response to a state (turning off the system or turning down volume upon detecting snoring, turning down the lights on detecting sleep...)", demonstrating that the control unit automatically performs actuation of various units based on a sleep condition).
Also regarding claim 1, Rawls-Meehan does not fully teach that one or more color-changeable lighting units physically integrated and mounted to the rectangular frame, wherein each lighting unit is oriented to project light toward a ground level adjacent to the bedding system, and wherein the color and activation of the lighting units are automatically controlled by the control unit in response to detection of the presence or absence of the child as determined by the sensors. Rather, Rawls-Meehan teaches that the system can control lighting features in response to the detection of a user’s presence or absence, as seen in ¶[0426] (“adjusting comfort-based factors based on state detection (adjusting position, vibration, temperature, volume, content or the like based on detection of user's presence”, where a comfort-based factor may be lighting), which shows lighting can be automatically controlled based on presence). Rawls-Meehan also discloses a built-in LED positioned under the bed (¶[0542]: “...a built-in LED 4609 under the bed can provide guidance for movement in darkness...”), which would implicitly project to a ground area adjacent the bed area. However, but does not specify that the lighting unit is physically integrated and mounted to the rectangular frame (although, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand this to mean coupled to the frame), nor that it is color-changeable or oriented to specifically project light toward the ground adjacent the bed. Thus, Rawls-Meehan teaches automatic lighting control in response to user detection and discloses bed-integrated lighting, but lacks the claimed frame mounting and color-changeable feature. Saghiri teaches that smart bed systems can include color-changeable lighting, with parameters such as light color and intensity controlled by the system. For example, Saghiri states, “characteristics include, but are not limited to, the color of the lights, its intensity...” (Saghiri, Col. 8, Lines 1-13) and that the lights are included as part of the bed system and are integrated with the structure (Saghiri, FIG. 1C and Col. 8, Lines 1-13: environment adjusters 190), which demonstrates that lighting units within smart bedding can be color-changeable and their activation and color may be automatically controlled by a system in response to different conditions or user states. This directly addresses the claim limitation of color-changeable lighting units and supports the use of such technology within an interactive bedding system. Wang teaches the physical integration and orientation of lighting units with respect to the bed frame. As shown in FIG. 2, Wang illustrates a lighted area projected from unit 18 toward the ground adjacent to the bed (Wang FIG. 2). It further explains that “The lights 58 can be directed toward the floor and configured to emit at least one wavelength of light as a function of a signal generated by the height determining system 36. It should be appreciated that emitting light toward the floor can be helpful to occupants during ingress/egress from the person-support apparatus 10 in low light conditions” (Wang, ¶[0034]). Wang also teaches that the lights can be configured to emit at least one wavelength of light, with the system operable to change the wavelength (and thus the color) of the emitted light in response to control signals (Wang, ¶[0035], ¶[0044], ¶[0045]). Wang teaches the mounting and integration of the lighting unit within the bed frame structure. Specifically, Figure 2 depicts unit 18, which contains the lights, mounted to the upper frame 16 (Wang, FIG. 2). It explains that the system 18 is mounted to the bed frame 16 (Wang, ¶[0020]) which contains the housing 28 (Wang, ¶[0021]) which further houses the lights (Wang, FIGS. 5-6; ¶[0034]). These disclosures together show that Wang teaches lighting physically integrated and mounted to the bed frame and configured to project light toward the ground adjacent the bedding system, and operable under control of a system unit. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rawls-Meehan in view of Saghiri and Wang to provide color-changeable lighting units physically integrated and mounted to the rectangular frame, oriented to project light toward the ground, and automatically controlled by a control unit in response to presence/absence detection. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to combine the teachings of Rawls-Meehan, Saghiri, and Wang because each addresses a related aspect of interactive bedding systems and their environmental controls. Rawls-Meehan provides the foundational system architecture with automated lighting based on user detection, Saghiri specifically teaches color-changeable lighting units integrated as part of a bed system, and Wang shows mounting and orientation of lighting units to the bed frame and the capability for color selection and projection toward the floor. The combination would have been feasible because the references are all directed to lighting systems for bedding or support apparatuses, with Saghiri’s color-changing and system-integrated lighting, and Wang’s structural mounting and ground projection, both readily adaptable to Rawls-Meehan’s control system. The references are technologically compatible, requiring only routine adaptation by a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute or combine these lighting features within an interactive bedding platform. The benefit of this combination would be to enhance safety and usability for users by providing automatic, responsive, and customizable lighting for ingress, egress, and presence detection, thus improving the interactive features and comfort of the bedding system.
Also regarding claim 1, with respect to the system automatically detecting a presence or an absence of the child on the interactive bedding system at a predetermined range of time and notify a third party in the absence of the child during the predetermined range of time, Rawls-Meehan teaches presence/absence detection and system alerts tied to a child leaving the bed within a predefined time window (Rawls-Meehan, [0426]: "...if a child is sleeping and gets up due to hunger, distress or the like and leaves the adjustable bed 102, the motion sensor may be activated and may signal an alarm indicating the child is awake," demonstrating detection of presence/absence of a child and the alert implicitly serving to notify a caretaker or parent responsible for monitoring the child's well-being; [0417]: "the controller may provide an alert, such as an audible alert, a synthesized voice alert, an alert passed across the network 112 to a monitoring computer system, and the like," confirming that the system can transmit notifications beyond the immediate environment, ensuring third-party awareness of the child's presence or absence; [0547]: "The sensor data may be collected over a period of time. The period of time may be one night, one week, one month, one year, or the like. The controller 4914 may communicate the sensor data to a mobile device 4918... through a wired connection, a wireless connection, and the like," demonstrating that the system tracks presence/absence over predefined time intervals and transmits this data remotely, allowing monitoring over a preset period such as nap time or bedtime, which a caretaker can preset as part of the system's functionality).
In the alternative, to the extent that it might be argued that Rawls-Meehan does not to explicitly teach a “predetermined range of time,” Veron teaches a user-configured sleep window and time-bounded responses (Veron, ¶[0050]: "The time may be preprogrammed by an end user. For example, an end user may configure the system to recognize that a nap time or nighttime sleep time for a baby or toddler is from 7:30 PM to 7:30 AM", ¶[0052]: "A sleep period... preconfigured by a user) together with third-party notices (Veron, ¶[0055]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined Rawls-Meehan and Saghiri in view of Veron to automatically detect presence or absence during a predetermined range of time and to notify a third party when absence occurs during that window. The combination is feasible because both references employ sensor-driven detection and controller-issued notifications in child sleep/bed contexts, and Veron’s user-configured timing and third-party notice features are directly compatible with Rawls-Meehan’s control and alert architecture. The motivation would have been to provide scheduled, policy-driven monitoring aligned with caregiver routines, improving reliability, reducing nuisance alerts outside sleep windows, and ensuring timely caregiver awareness during critical periods.
Also regarding claim 1, Rawls-Meehan does not fully teach that the control unit is further configured to change a color of the one or more color-changeable lighting units to a first color responsive to automatically detecting the absence of the child during the predetermined range of time and to a second color responsive to automatically detecting the presence of the child during the predetermined range of time. Rather, Rawls-Meehan provides the controller logic to adjust lighting based on detected states, including sleep and presence/absence-related events, and contemplates time-based policies (¶[0426]) and bed-integrated lighting hardware (¶[0542]). Rawls-Meehan does not specify color changes or explicitly map first/second colors to presence versus absence during a predetermined time window.
Veron teaches user-defined sleep windows and learned, time-specific responses, including color cues tied to sensor-detected child state. For example, “The time may be preprogrammed by an end user. For example, an end user may configure the system to recognize that a nap time or nighttime sleep time for a baby or toddler is from 7:30 PM to 7:30 AM” (Veron, ¶[0050]). Veron also details absence detection from pressure/microphone signals indicating the child has left the crib (Veron, ¶[0051]: loss of pressure on first/second surfaces followed by a “thud” is interpreted as escape). Within these time windows, Veron describes color responses to sensor-detected events, e.g., “emit a particular color pattern using LEDs (e.g., a deep purple color)” at night when the child wakes (Veron, ¶[0056]) and “emit an orange LED color” in the morning (Veron, ¶[0057]). While Veron does not expressly say “orange = absence,” its absence/escape detection (¶[0051]) combined with these time-bound color responses (¶[0056], ¶[0057]) supports using distinct colors as cues for different detected states during predefined times.
Additionally, Saghiri teaches system-controlled color-changeable lighting, e.g., the system may instruct a light “to change… color” (Saghiri, col. 15, ll. 23-46).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined Rawls-Meehan, Saghiri, and Veron 's presence/absence-based control in view of Veron and Saghiri's user-configured sleep windows and time-bound color responses so that the control unit uses one color to indicate presence and a second color to indicate absence during the predetermined time window. Veron supplies the scheduled window and the practice of using distinct LED color cues in response to sensed child state/events during those times. Implementing two different colors to distinguish the two detected states is a predictable use of known lighting cues within the same controller/sensor framework, improving caregiver awareness by providing clear, time-appropriate visual signals for presence vs. absence during sleep periods.
Regarding claim 2, in addition to what is taught above in claim 1, with respect to the control unit being configured to activate the color changeable lighting units upon the absence of the child from the bedding system, Rawls-Meehan teaches a control unit capable of detecting when a child leaves the bed and initiating responses based on that event (Rawls-Meehan, ¶[0426]). The reference explicitly discloses that lighting can be adjusted based on presence detection, such as turning down the lights upon detecting sleep. While it does not specifically disclose activating lights upon absence, the system already teaches monitoring user state and adjusting environmental factors accordingly. Given that Rawls-Meehan already discloses adjusting environmental factors based on presence detection, it would have been a straightforward design choice for one skilled in the art to extend this framework to include activating lighting upon absence detection, as both involve state-based adjustments that improve user awareness and safety (Rawls-Meehan, ¶[0426]). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rawls-Meehan’s lighting control to activate the lighting upon absence detection, as the system already teaches adjusting environmental conditions, including lighting, in response to detected user presence. Since Rawls-Meehan enables presence-based environmental modifications, the same logical framework can be extended to activate lighting upon absence, providing predictable results consistent with the system’s existing logic. This modification would be a predictable extension of the existing system to enhance monitoring and usability. This would have the benefit of providing a visual indicator when a child leaves the bed, ensuring that caregivers can easily monitor absence-related events as well as lighting the area for safety such that the user can visualize their exit.
Regarding claim 3, Rawls-Meehan teaches that the control unit is configured to automatically adjust lighting from the one or more color-changeable lighting units to fade upon detection of the sleep condition (Rawls-Meehan, ¶[0426]: "...the control system for the adjustable furniture facility may actuate a wide range of actions... based on state information. Examples include... turning down the lights on detecting sleep", where turning down the lights is equivalent to fading, demonstrating that lighting is adjusted based on sleep detection).
Regarding claim 4, with respect to the third party being a caretaker or a parent, Rawls-Meehan teaches a system in which the detection of a child's movement from the bedding system triggers an alert (Rawls-Meehan, ¶[0426]). The reference explicitly teaches that parents may use the system to monitor children (Rawls-Meehan, ¶[0205]) and implicitly teaches that the notification is meant for someone responsible for the child’s well-being. Thus, the reference teaches or suggests that the third party in question would be a caretaker or a parent. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize that the notification system in Rawls-Meehan is directed at those responsible for ensuring the safety and well-being of the child, and those responsible include parents. The functionality of alerting a responsible party aligns with well-established monitoring practices for dependent individuals. This would have the benefit of ensuring that a responsible individual is notified in real-time when a child exits the bed, enabling prompt intervention for safety and care purposes. The system's ability to detect and alert makes it a predictable and effective mechanism for parental or caretaker monitoring within an interactive bedding environment.
Regarding claim 5, Rawls-Meehan teaches that the foundation comprises one or more articulating sections mounted to the rectangular frame configured to support the mattress (Rawls-Meehan, ¶[0327]: "In an embodiment, the sub-frame 128 may be a structural support frame in contact with the floor and may include the floor legs, connections for the actuators 120, connections for the supports 134, support for the skeleton structure 130, and the like", describing a structural support system that implicitly forms a rectangular frame with a head end, foot end, and sidewalls, as depicted in FIGS. 10A-B, where the skeleton structure comprises articulating sections mounted within this frame; ¶[0330]: "In an embodiment, the skeleton structure 130 may be a frame type structure to support at least one mattress 124", demonstrating that the skeleton structure supports the mattress and serves as part of the foundation), wherein the rectangular frame comprises a head end, a foot end, and sidewalls extending from the head end to the foot end, and wherein the rectangular frame comprises a linkage assembly operable to articulate one or more of the articulating sections from a planar configuration to a non-planar configuration (Rawls-Meehan, FIGS. 10A-B and ¶[0395]: "as shown in FIGS. 10A and 10B, the skeleton structure 130 may have a fixed center frame 1002 and, optionally, adjustable frames for the head 1004, foot 1008, or leg 1010. In this arrangement, the adjustable head frame 1004 and the adjustable leg frame 1010 may be pivotally attached to the center frame 1002", depicting a head and foot end of a rectangular frame with sidewalls as well as sections for articulation; ¶[0214]: "The skeleton structure 130 may have structural members that support the mattress 124 and springs 122 and may also provide support and connections for the actuators 120, sub-frame 128, supports 134, vibrator motors 118" and ¶[0221]: "may include an articulation mechanism 126 that may allow different sections of the adjustable bed facility 102 to move in relation to each other", demonstrating that the structure incorporates a linkage assembly for articulation, as shown by the pivoting attachments of the adjustable frames for the head and leg sections (FIG. 10B), which are mechanically linked to actuators for controlled movement (¶[0214], ¶[0221]); ¶[0529]: "In one embodiment, the adjustable bed 102 may be transitioned from a flat configuration to an articulated configuration, wherein one or more of the head, foot, or lumbar sections may be raised or lowered independently to provide different levels of support and positioning for the user", explicitly confirming that the system transitions from a planar (flat) configuration to a non-planar (articulated) configuration through controlled movement of articulating sections); and wherein the control unit is configured to automatically adjust the articulating sections upon detection of the sleep condition to provide a non-planar configuration (Rawls-Meehan, ¶[0426]: "State information, whether obtained from sensors or by communication among devices, may be used to determine an event or attribute that can in turn trigger actuation of control; thus, the control system for the adjustable furniture facility may actuate a wide range of actions, on the adjustable furniture facility or on another system associated with it, based on state information. Examples include actuating... adjusting comfort-based factors based on state detection (adjusting position...)", demonstrating that the system's control unit automatically adjusts articulating sections upon detecting a sleep-related state, such as snoring or entering sleep; ¶[0529]: “the adjustable bed facility 102 may include a pre-set anti-snore position 3602 for quieting a snoring occupant of the adjustable bed facility 102. The anti-snore position 3602 may be a head elevation position”, showing that upon detecting a sleep condition, the system may change the articulating sections form a planar to a non-planer configuration).
Regarding claim 7, Rawls-Meehan teaches that the control unit is configured to automatically adjust the vibrating units to provide a repeating pattern. (Rawls-Meehan, ¶[0235]: "In an embodiment, there may be at least one vibration motor 132 that may provide vibration and massage functions to the adjustable bed facility 102 sections and mattresses"; ¶[0426]: "...adjusting comfort-based factors based on state detection (adjusting position, vibration, temperature, volume, content or the like based on detection of user's presence", showing that the system uses a control unit (as previously described in claim 1) to adjust vibration based on detected state conditions (i.e., automatically), where the term "massage" implicitly involves rhythmic, repeating cycles of vibration, demonstrating that the system provides a repeating pattern of vibration adjustment through the control unit; ¶[0332]: "…to provide a full-body massage or the vibration frequencies may operate at alternating times to provide a wave effect of the vibration moving from the head to foot of the adjustable bed facility 102. In another example, the different vibration facilities 132 may be used in concert where the vibration facilities 132 may be vibrated in sequences to create a massaging effect", confirming that the system supports coordinated, patterned vibrations).
Regarding claim 8, Rawls-Meehan partially teaches that the control unit is configured to automatically adjust the one or more speakers to emit white noise upon the detection of the sleep condition. Rawls-Meehan describes a system in which speakers are coupled into the bed’s control system, allowing for automatic adjustments based on detected user states, ensuring that audio settings are dynamically modified based on the user's detected sleep condition (Rawls-Meehan, ¶[0355]). Additionally, it teaches adjusting comfort-based factors such as volume and content in response to sleep detection (Rawls-Meehan, ¶[0426]). While Rawls-Meehan does not explicitly state that the system emits "white noise," it implicitly discloses audio output control that would encompass any programmable sound output. Saghiri, who investigates sleep-enhancing audio technologies, demonstrates that playing white noise is a known method for promoting sleep and relaxation, and further teaches that noise control can be adjusted around the head portion of a user, ensuring targeted and effective sleep enhancement (Saghiri, Col. 8, Lines 22-43). Given that Rawls-Meehan already discloses automatic audio adjustment based on sleep detection, incorporating white noise as an output type would have been an expected and predictable implementation to improve user relaxation and sleep quality. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rawls-Meehan’s speaker control system to include the emission of white noise as taught by Saghiri, as the integration of sleep-enhancing background noise in an automated audio control system would have been a straightforward and predictable implementation of known relaxation techniques. Since Rawls-Meehan already describes adjusting audio content based on detected sleep states, implementing white noise as one of the controlled sounds would have been a routine and logical enhancement. This would have the benefit of providing a consistent background sound to promote relaxation and mask disruptive noises, further enhancing sleep quality by dynamically adjusting noise levels around the user’s head region to optimize sleep conditions (Saghiri, Col. 8, Lines 36-43).
Regarding claim 9, Rawls-Meehan teaches that the control unit is configured to automatically discontinue sound emission from the one or more speakers upon the detection of the sleep condition (Rawls-Meehan, ¶[0355]: "In an embodiment, the modular controls 148 may directly control devices, indirectly control devices, or the like such as a stereo, CD player, DVD player, a digital recorder, one or more speakers with a surround sound system...", showing that the system includes speakers; and ¶[0426]: "adjusting entertainment content in response to a state (turning off the system or turning down volume upon detecting snoring...", demonstrating that the system can automatically adjust audio settings such as lowering or turning off, in response to detected sleep conditions).
Regarding claim 10, Rawls-Meehan teaches that the output signals are indicative of at least one of movement, pressure, weight, and time in bed (Rawls-Meehan, ¶[0544]: "The pressure sensor 4610 may be comprised of a single pressure sensor, multiple pressure sensors, and the like... The changes in pressure may be indicative of a user getting into the pressure sensing adjustable bed facility 4602, getting out of the pressure sensing adjustable bed facility 4602, moving to a different position on the adjustable bed facility 4602, and the like... The sleep quality of the user may be determined by how long the user is in the pressure sensing adjustable bed facility", showing that the system monitors time in bed by tracking entry, exit, and position/movement changes based on pressure).
Regarding claim 11, Rawls-Meehan teaches a process for operating an interactive bedding system for a child, the process comprising: providing an interactive bedding system comprising a mattress (Rawls-Meehan, ¶[0105]: "In an aspect, a pressure-sensing adjustable bed may include an adjustable bed facility including at least one of a mattress", demonstrating an interactive bedding system with a mattress), a foundation supporting the mattress including a rectangular frame (Rawls-Meehan, FIG. 46 and 53: where the mattress is depicted on the foundation; and FIG. 10B: shows one embodiment of the foundation and frame itself; ¶[0327]: "In an embodiment, the sub-frame 128 may be a structural support frame in contact with the floor and may include the floor legs, connections for the actuators 120, connections for the supports 134, support for the skeleton structure 130, and the like"; ¶[0330]: "...the skeleton structure 130 may be a frame type structure to support at least one mattress 124", where the sub-frame and skeleton structure act as the foundation and implicitly forms a rectangular frame with a head end, foot end, and sidewalls, as depicted in FIGS. 6, 9, 10A-B); wherein the interactive bedding system is configured with a plurality of sensors below a sleeping surface of the interactive bedding system (Rawls-Meehan, ¶[0543]: "A pressure sensor may be disposed on a surface of a mattress 4604, a mattress sheet, a mattress topper or cover layer"; ¶[0544]: "The pressure sensor 4610 may be comprised of a single pressure sensor, multiple pressure sensors, and the like...", demonstrating the presence of sensors below the sleeping surface) configured to measure at least one sleep condition and provide output signals (Rawls-Meehan, ¶[0543]: "The pressure sensor 4610 may determine a user's movement... indicative of a user getting into the pressure sensing adjustable bed facility 4602, getting out of the pressure sensing adjustable bed facility 4602, moving to a different position on the adjustable bed facility 4602, and the like. Collecting information related to these movements may help to determine the comfort level of a user, the sleep quality of the user, and the like", demonstrating that the sensors track user movement patterns and positional changes, which are key indicators of sleep conditions such as restlessness, stillness, or prolonged inactivity. These metrics contribute to assessing sleep quality and detecting whether a user has transitioned into or out of sleep states), one or more sound speakers coupled to the rectangular frame (Rawls-Meehan, ¶[0355]: "the modular controls 148 may directly control devices, indirectly control devices, or the like such as a stereo, CD player, DVD player, a digital recorder, one or more speakers with a surround sound system", showing that sound speakers are included in the system; and FIG. 1B: depicting the audio system coupled with the frame), vibrating units coupled to the foundation (Rawls-Meehan, ¶[0337]: "the electric motor vibration facility 132 may... rotate an offset mass on the motor shaft that may cause the vibration facility 132, mattress 124, skeleton structure 130, or the like to vibrate"; ¶[0235]: "there may be at least one vibration motor 132 that may provide vibration and massage functions to the adjustable bed facility 102 sections", showing vibration units; and FIG. 1B: depicting the vibration facility coupled with the skeleton structure and sub-frame (i.e. foundation)), a control unit (Rawls-Meehan, ¶[0022]: "The methods and systems disclosed herein may include using a programmable logic controller in a control facility for an adjustable furniture facility. The programmable logic controller may control the bed or any of the devices or systems disclosed herein that are associated with the environment of the furniture", demonstrating an automated control unit managing system components; and automatically adjusting the one or more color-changeable lighting units, the one or more sound speakers, and the vibrating units upon detection of the at least one sleep condition (Rawls-Meehan, ¶[0022]: "The methods and systems disclosed herein may include using a programmable logic controller in a control facility for an adjustable furniture facility. The programmable logic controller may control the bed or any of the devices or systems disclosed herein that are associated with the environment of the furniture", demonstrating an automated control unit managing system components; ¶[0426]: "any of the types of sensors described herein, such as motion sensors, sound sensors, weight sensors, chemical sensors, smoke detectors, temperature sensors, pressure sensors, or the like may be used to sense... a user of the control facility to sense a condition or determine a state or event that may, under control of the control facilities for the adjustable furniture facility, be used to trigger actuation of a component of the adjustable bed facility or one or more of the other systems associated with the adjustable bed facility... Examples include... adjusting entertainment content in response to a state (turning off the system or turning down volume upon detecting snoring, turning down the lights on detecting sleep...)", demonstrating that the control unit automatically performs actuation of various units based on a sleep condition).
Also regarding claim 11, Rawls-Meehan does not fully teach that one or more color-changeable lighting units physically integrated and mounted to the rectangular frame, wherein each lighting unit is oriented to project light toward a ground level adjacent to the bedding system, and wherein the color and activation of the lighting units are automatically controlled by the control unit in response to detection of the presence or absence of the child as determined by the sensors. Rather, Rawls-Meehan teaches that the system can control lighting features in response to the detection of a user’s presence or absence, as seen in ¶[0426] (“adjusting comfort-based factors based on state detection (adjusting position, vibration, temperature, volume, content or the like based on detection of user's presence”, where a comfort-based factor may be lighting), which shows lighting can be automatically controlled based on presence). Rawls-Meehan also discloses a built-in LED positioned under the bed (¶[0542]: “...a built-in LED 4609 under the bed can provide guidance for movement in darkness...”), which would implicitly project to a ground area adjacent the bed area. However, but does not specify that the lighting unit is physically integrated and mounted to the rectangular frame (although, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand this to mean coupled to the frame), nor that it is color-changeable or oriented to specifically project light toward the ground adjacent the bed. Thus, Rawls-Meehan teaches automatic lighting control in response to user detection and discloses bed-integrated lighting, but lacks the claimed frame mounting and color-changeable feature. Saghiri teaches that smart bed systems can include color-changeable lighting, with parameters such as light color and intensity controlled by the system. For example, Saghiri states, “characteristics include, but are not limited to, the color of the lights, its intensity...” (Saghiri, Col. 8, Lines 1-13) and that the lights are included as part of the bed system and are integrated with the structure (Saghiri, FIG. 1C and Col. 8, Lines 1-13: environment adjusters 190), which demonstrates that lighting units within smart bedding can be color-changeable and their activation and color may be automatically controlled by a system in response to different conditions or user states. This directly addresses the claim limitation of color-changeable lighting units and supports the use of such technology within an interactive bedding system. Wang teaches the physical integration and orientation of lighting units with respect to the bed frame. As shown in FIG. 2, Wang illustrates a lighted area projected from unit 18 toward the ground adjacent to the bed (Wang FIG. 2). It further explains that “The lights 58 can be directed toward the floor and configured to emit at least one wavelength of light as a function of a signal generated by the height determining system 36. It should be appreciated that emitting light toward the floor can be helpful to occupants during ingress/egress from the person-support apparatus 10 in low light conditions” (Wang, ¶[0034]). Wang also teaches that the lights can be configured to emit at least one wavelength of light, with the system operable to change the wavelength (and thus the color) of the emitted light in response to control signals (Wang, ¶[0035], ¶[0044], ¶[0045]). Wang teaches the mounting and integration of the lighting unit within the bed frame structure. Specifically, Figure 2 depicts unit 18, which contains the lights, mounted to the upper frame 16 (Wang, FIG. 2). It explains that the system 18 is mounted to the bed frame 16 (Wang, ¶[0020]) which contains the housing 28 (Wang, ¶[0021]) which further houses the lights (Wang, FIGS. 5-6; ¶[0034]). These disclosures together show that Wang teaches lighting physically integrated and mounted to the bed frame and configured to project light toward the ground adjacent the bedding system, and operable under control of a system unit. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rawls-Meehan in view of Saghiri and Wang to provide color-changeable lighting units physically integrated and mounted to the rectangular frame, oriented to project light toward the ground, and automatically controlled by a control unit in response to presence/absence detection. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to combine the teachings of Rawls-Meehan, Saghiri, and Wang because each addresses a related aspect of interactive bedding systems and their environmental controls. Rawls-Meehan provides the foundational system architecture with automated lighting based on user detection, Saghiri specifically teaches color-changeable lighting units integrated as part of a bed system, and Wang shows mounting and orientation of lighting units to the bed frame and the capability for color selection and projection toward the floor. The combination would have been feasible because the references are all directed to lighting systems for bedding or support apparatuses, with Saghiri’s color-changing and system-integrated lighting, and Wang’s structural mounting and ground projection, both readily adaptable to Rawls-Meehan’s control system. The references are technologically compatible, requiring only routine adaptation by a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute or combine these lighting features within an interactive bedding platform. The benefit of this combination would be to enhance safety and usability for users by providing automatic, responsive, and customizable lighting for ingress, egress, and presence detection, thus improving the interactive features and comfort of the bedding system.
Also regarding claim 11, with respect to automatically detecting a presence or an absence of the child on the interactive bedding system at a predetermined range of time and notifying a third party in the absence of the child during the predetermined range of time, Rawls-Meehan teaches presence/absence detection and system alerts tied to a child leaving the bed within a predefined time window (Rawls-Meehan, [0426]: "...if a child is sleeping and gets up due to hunger, distress or the like and leaves the adjustable bed 102, the motion sensor may be activated and may signal an alarm indicating the child is awake," demonstrating detection of presence/absence of a child and the alert implicitly serving to notify a caretaker or parent responsible for monitoring the child's well-being; [0417]: "the controller may provide an alert, such as an audible alert, a synthesized voice alert, an alert passed across the network 112 to a monitoring computer system, and the like," confirming that the system can transmit notifications beyond the immediate environment, ensuring third-party awareness of the child's presence or absence; [0547]: "The sensor data may be collected over a period of time. The period of time may be one night, one week, one month, one year, or the like. The controller 4914 may communicate the sensor data to a mobile device 4918... through a wired connection, a wireless connection, and the like," demonstrating that the system tracks presence/absence over predefined time intervals and transmits this data remotely, allowing monitoring over a preset period such as nap time or bedtime, which a caretaker can preset as part of the system's functionality).
In the alternative, to the extent that it could be argued that Rawls-Meehan does not explicitly teach a “predetermined range of time,” Veron teaches a user-configured sleep window and time-bounded responses (Veron, ¶[0050]: "The time may be preprogrammed by an end user. For example, an end user may configure the system to recognize that a nap time or nighttime sleep time for a baby or toddler is from 7:30 PM to 7:30 AM", ¶[0052]: "A sleep period... preconfigured by a user) together with third-party notices (Veron, ¶[0055]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined Rawls-Meehan and Saghiri in view of Veron to automatically detect presence or absence during a predetermined range of time and to notify a third party when absence occurs during that window. The combination is feasible because both references employ sensor-driven detection and controller-issued notifications in child sleep/bed contexts, and Veron’s user-configured timing and third-party notice features are directly compatible with Rawls-Meehan’s control and alert architecture. The motivation would have been to provide scheduled, policy-driven monitoring aligned with caregiver routines, improving reliability, reducing nuisance alerts outside sleep windows, and ensuring timely caregiver awareness during critical periods.
Also regarding claim 11, Rawls-Meehan does not fully teach that automatically adjusting the one or more color-changeable lighting units comprises changing a color of the one or more color-changeable lighting units to a first color responsive to automatically detecting the absence of the child during the predetermined range of time and to a second color responsive to automatically detecting the presence of the child during the predetermined range of time. Rather, Rawls-Meehan provides the controller logic to adjust lighting based on detected states, including sleep and presence/absence-related events, and contemplates time-based policies (¶[0426]) and bed-integrated lighting hardware (¶[0542]). Rawls-Meehan does not specify color changes or explicitly map first/second colors to presence versus absence during a predetermined time window.
Veron teaches user-defined sleep windows and learned, time-specific responses, including color cues tied to sensor-detected child state. For example, “The time may be preprogrammed by an end user. For example, an end user may configure the system to recognize that a nap time or nighttime sleep time for a baby or toddler is from 7:30 PM to 7:30 AM” (Veron, ¶[0050]). Veron also details absence detection from pressure/microphone signals indicating the child has left the crib (Veron, ¶[0051]: loss of pressure on first/second surfaces followed by a “thud” is interpreted as escape). Within these time windows, Veron describes color responses to sensor-detected events, e.g., “emit a particular color pattern using LEDs (e.g., a deep purple color)” at night when the child wakes (Veron, ¶[0056]) and “emit an orange LED color” in the morning (Veron, ¶[0057]). While Veron does not expressly say “orange = absence,” its absence/escape detection (¶[0051]) combined with these time-bound color responses (¶[0056], ¶[0057]) supports using distinct colors as cues for different detected states during predefined times.
Additionally, Saghiri teaches system-controlled color-changeable lighting, e.g., the system may instruct a light “to change… color” (Saghiri, col. 15, ll. 23-46).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined Rawls-Meehan, Saghiri, and Veron's presence/absence-based control in view of Veron and Saghiri so that the process of automatically adjusting the color-changeable lighting units comprises changing to a first color when absence is automatically detected during the predetermined range of time and changing to a second color when presence is automatically detected during the predetermined range of time. The combination is feasible because Rawls-Meehan already performs event-driven lighting actions; Veron supplies the explicit time-window configuration and demonstrates color cues in response to sensor-detected child state (including absence via ¶[0051]); and Saghiri supplies the controller-directed color-change capability. The motivation would have been to provide clear, time-appropriate visual signals distinguishing presence from absence during sleep periods, thereby improving caregiver awareness and system usability.
Regarding claim 13, with respect to the vibrating units being configured to provide a repeating pattern prior to the detection of the sleep condition, Rawls-Meehan teaches an adjustable bed system incorporating vibrating units designed for relaxation and user comfort (¶[0332], ¶[0535]). These vibrating units utilize motor-driven mechanisms to generate vibrations, which may be continuous or periodic in nature. Furthermore, Rawls-Meehan explicitly describes programmable vibration sequences, allowing vibrations to be activated in alternating, coordinated, or sequenced patterns (¶[0332]). The use of the remote control for adjusting vibration settings prior to sleep (¶[0422]) further supports the idea that vibrations can be configured before sleep detection occurs. Additionally, Rawls-Meehan states that vibrations are among the adjustable parameters based on state detection (¶[0426]), indicating that a pre-sleep repeating vibration sequence would naturally integrate with the system’s automated adjustments. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rawls-Meehan to include an automatic repeating vibration pattern prior to sleep detection, as the system already provides user-controlled and automated vibration adjustments. This would have the benefit of improving relaxation and facilitating sleep induction through rhythmic and patterned vibrations, aligning with the purpose of the adjustable bed system as described in Rawls-Meehan (¶[0332], ¶[0535], ¶[0426]).
Regarding claim 14, Rawls-Meehan teaches that the foundation one or more articulating sections mounted to the rectangular frame configured to support the mattress (Rawls-Meehan, ¶[0327]: "In an embodiment, the sub-frame 128 may be a structural support frame in contact with the floor and may include the floor legs, connections for the actuators 120, connections for the supports 134, support for the skeleton structure 130, and the like", describing a structural support system that implicitly forms a rectangular frame with a head end, foot end, and sidewalls, as depicted in FIGS. 10A-B, where the skeleton structure comprises articulating sections mounted within this frame; ¶[0330]: "In an embodiment, the skeleton structure 130 may be a frame type structure to support at least one mattress 124", demonstrating that the skeleton structure supports the mattress and serves as part of the foundation), wherein the rectangular frame comprises a head end, a foot end, and sidewalls extending from the head end to the foot end, and wherein the rectangular frame comprises a linkage assembly operable to articulate the one or more of the articulating sections from a planar configuration to a non-planar configuration or from the non-planar configuration to the planar configuration (Rawls-Meehan, FIGS. 10A-B and ¶[0395]: "as shown in FIGS. 10A and 10B, the skeleton structure 130 may have a fixed center frame 1002 and, optionally, adjustable frames for the head 1004, foot 1008, or leg 1010. In this arrangement, the adjustable head frame 1004 and the adjustable leg frame 1010 may be pivotally attached to the center frame 1002", depicting a head and foot end of a rectangular frame with sidewalls as well as sections for articulation; ¶[0214]: "The skeleton structure 130 may have structural members that support the mattress 124 and springs 122 and may also provide support and connections for the actuators 120, sub-frame 128, supports 134, vibrator motors 118" and ¶[0221]: "may include an articulation mechanism 126 that may allow different sections of the adjustable bed facility 102 to move in relation to each other", demonstrating that the structure incorporates a linkage assembly for articulation, as shown by the pivoting attachments of the adjustable frames for the head and leg sections (FIG. 10B), which are mechanically linked to actuators for controlled movement (¶[0214], ¶[0221]); Figure 10B additionally depicts both articulated and flat (i.e. planar) positions), and the process further comprises automatically adjusting the articulating sections to the planar configuration from the non-planar configuration, if present, upon the detection of the sleep condition (Rawls-Meehan, ¶[0422]: "In embodiments, there may be a display indication on the remote control 118 associated with the position of articulated portions of the adjustable bed facility 102... The user may be able to store the numerical equivalent of their favorite positions, such as a user inputting and storing the number 25, and being able to recall the stored position in any of a plurality of ways associated with the controls of the remote control 118, such as depressing a memory recall button or the like.", demonstrating that the control system allows predefined positional adjustments, including fully articulated and returning to a flat position; ¶[0426]: "State information, whether obtained from sensors or by communication among devices, may be used to determine an event or attribute that can in turn trigger actuation of control; thus, the control system for the adjustable furniture facility may actuate a wide range of actions, on the adjustable furniture facility or on another system associated with it, based on state information. Examples include actuating... adjusting comfort-based factors based on state detection (adjusting position...)", demonstrating that the system's control unit automatically adjusts articulating sections upon detecting a sleep-related state, such as snoring or entering sleep, by modifying bed position for comfort adjustments (¶[0426]); Given that the system already supports automatic articulation adjustments and user-defined flat positioning (¶[0422]), it would have been an expected and predictable use of its control system to automatically adjust the articulating sections to a fully reclined planar position upon detecting sleep).
Regarding claim 16, with respect to playing a song or music from the one or more speakers prior to the detection of the sleep condition followed by discontinuing the song or music upon the detection of the sleep condition, Rawls-Meehan teaches an interactive bedding system that includes speakers (Rawls-Meehan, ¶[0355]) and dynamically adjusts entertainment content in response to user state detection (Rawls-Meehan, ¶[0426]), including turning off the system or lowering volume upon detecting snoring, which is indicative of sleep detection. Additionally, Rawls-Meehan discloses that the system monitors sleep quality and makes real-time adjustments, including modifying sound conditions based on detected sleep states (Rawls-Meehan, ¶[0530]). While Rawls-Meehan does not explicitly state that a song or music is played before sleep detection and then discontinued upon detecting sleep, the system implicitly supports dynamic sound control based on sleep state feedback, making the claimed feature an expected implementation within its framework. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rawls-Meehan’s system to include playing a song or music prior to detecting sleep and discontinuing the sound/[song] or music upon detecting sleep, as Rawls-Meehan already teaches automated audio adjustments based on sleep conditions such as turning off the sound based on a sleep condition (Rawls-Meehan, ¶[0426]). The ability to alter sound conditions based on sleep state detection (Rawls-Meehan, ¶[0530]) makes the claimed adjustment a straightforward and predictable enhancement of its disclosed functionality. This modification would enhance sleep quality by ensuring that stimulating audio (e.g., music) is used before sleep onset while automatically ceasing sound emission upon detecting sleep to prevent potential disturbances, aligning with established sleep optimization practices.
Regarding claim 17, Rawls-Meehan does not fully teach that automatically adjusting the color changing lighting units comprises changing color to a different color upon the detection of the sleep condition or the absence of the child from the bedding system. Rawls-Meehan describes a control unit capable of detecting when a child leaves the bed and initiating responses based on that event (Rawls-Meehan, ¶[0426]). The reference explicitly discloses that lighting can be adjusted based on presence detection, such as turning down the lights upon detecting sleep. While it does not specifically disclose changing light color upon both absence and sleep detection, the system implicitly monitors user state and adjusts environmental factors accordingly. Saghiri, which discusses automated environmental controls in smart bedding systems, explicitly describes automatic adjustment of both lighting intensity and color in response to specific detected conditions (Saghiri, Col. 15, Lines 23-46). This confirms that color-based lighting adjustments in response to user state detection are well established in the art. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rawls-Meehan in view of Saghiri to have its lighting control include color-changing functionality upon detecting both sleep and absence of a child. Rawls-Meehan already teaches state-based lighting adjustments, and Saghiri explicitly discloses changing color based on detected user conditions. As both references describe modifying lighting conditions dynamically based on user state, combining their teachings represents a predictable and logical extension that maintains consistency in automated environmental adjustments. This modification would have the benefit of: providing a visual indicator when a child leaves the bed, assisting caregivers in monitoring absence-related events, enhancing sleep quality by utilizing specific color changes associated with sleep regulation (e.g., warmer tones for relaxation and cooler tones for alertness) and ensuring safety by illuminating the area when a child leaves the bed, reducing nighttime accidents while avoiding excessive brightness that could disrupt sleep.
Regarding claim 18, Rawls-Meehan does not explicitly teach that the third party is a caretaker or a parent. Rawls-Meehan describes a system in which the detection of a child's movement from the bedding system triggers an alarm (Rawls-Meehan, ¶[0426]). The reference explicitly teaches that parents may use the system to monitor children (Rawls-Meehan, ¶[0205]) and implicitly teaches that the notification is meant for someone responsible for the child’s well-being. Thus, the reference teaches or suggests that the third party in question would be a caretaker or a parent. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize that the notification system in Rawls-Meehan is directed at those responsible for ensuring the safety and well-being of the child, and those responsible include parents. The functionality of alerting a responsible party aligns with well-established monitoring practices for dependent individuals. This would have the benefit of ensuring that a responsible individual is notified in real-time when a child exits the bed, enabling prompt intervention for safety and care purposes. The system's ability to detect and alert makes it a predictable and effective mechanism for parental or caretaker monitoring within an interactive bedding environment.
Claims 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Rawls-Meehan et al. (US 20160120740 A1), hereto referred as Rawls-Meehan, and further in view of Saghiri et al. (US 10905249 B1), hereto referred as Saghiri, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 20110169653 A1), hereto referred as Wang, and further in view of Veron (US 20160183695 A1), hereto referred as Veron, and further in view of Paul et al. (US 20030145377 A1), hereto referred as Paul.
The combined Rawls-Meehan, Saghiri, Wang, and Veron teaches claims 1 and 11 as described above.
Regarding claim 6, the combined Rawls-Meehan, Saghiri, Wang, and Veron does not fully teach that the system further comprises removable border panels about a perimeter of the rectangular frame comprising a pattern and/or indicia. Rawls-Meehan describes an adjustable bed system that includes modular controls and removable structural components (Rawls-Meehan, ¶[0353]). These components, such as the foot section and other attached facilities, can be removed or interchanged, demonstrating a structural system capable of modular customization. While Rawls-Meehan does not explicitly describe decorative panels, it provides a foundation for replaceable elements that can be adapted for aesthetic customization. Paul, who investigates customizable decorative furniture panels, demonstrates interchangeable panels in bed frames, including footboards and headboards (Paul, ¶[0001], ¶[0026]). While Paul focuses on headboards and footboards, it would have been a predictable and straightforward extension to apply removable decorative panels around the entire perimeter of the bed frame, as modularity and customization are central themes in furniture design. Paul’s Figure 10 explicitly depicts a replaceable panel with a visible decorative pattern, reinforcing that such panels are intended to serve both structural and aesthetic purposes. Given that Paul already demonstrates replaceable panels in bed structures and Rawls-Meehan provides a modular system with interchangeable structural components, one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to extend removable decorative panels to the entire perimeter of the bed frame to allow full customization. The predictability of modular customization in furniture design makes this a natural and expected enhancement. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined Rawls-Meehan and Saghiri in view of Paul to include removable decorative panels around the full perimeter of the bed frame. Since Rawls-Meehan already includes removable components designed for customization, incorporating Paul’s decorative panel system into the bed frame, including its full perimeter, would have been an expected and logical enhancement of its aesthetic and functional features. Given the modular nature of Rawls-Meehan’s system, applying the same removability concept to the entire perimeter of the bed frame would have been an obvious design choice, allowing users to achieve consistent aesthetic customization across all sides of the bed. This would have the benefit of providing users with full control over the aesthetic appearance of their bed, allowing for interchangeable decorative themes while maintaining the modular flexibility already implicit in Rawls-Meehan’s system (Paul, ¶[0001]).
Regarding claim 12, the combined Rawls-Meehan, Saghiri, Wang, and Veron does not fully teach that the interactive bedding system further comprises removable border panels about a perimeter of the rectangular frame comprising a pattern and/or indicia, and the process further comprises periodically changing the removable border panels to provide a different pattern and/or indicia. Rawls-Meehan describes an adjustable bed system with modular and removable structural components (Rawls-Meehan, ¶[0353]). While it does not explicitly disclose decorative panels, it provides a foundation for adaptable and replaceable elements that can be integrated for customization. The ability to remove sections of the bed structure suggests that aesthetic modifications, such as decorative panel replacements, would be a feasible and expected design choice. Paul, who focuses on customizable decorative furniture panels, specifically illustrate their application in bed frames (Paul, ¶[0001], ¶[0026]). While Paul explicitly describes removable panels on headboards and footboards (Paul, ¶[0001], ¶[0026]), extending this concept to the entire perimeter of the bed frame would be a predictable and logical enhancement, as modularity and aesthetic customization are common themes in furniture design. Paul’s Figure 10 further reinforces this, showing a replaceable panel with a visible decorative pattern (Paul, FIG. 10). Additionally, Paul emphasizes that these panels are easily changed such that they can be replaced as often as desired by the consumer to alter their appearance (Paul, ¶[0001]). Given that Paul demonstrates replaceable panels in bed structures and Rawls-Meehan describes a modular system with removable elements, one of average skill in the art would have found it obvious to extend removable decorative panels around the entire perimeter of the bed frame to enhance design flexibility. The ability to easily modify the bed’s appearance aligns with the principles of modular and interchangeable furniture components. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined Rawls-Meehan and Saghiri in view of Paul to include removable decorative panels around the perimeter of the bed frame, that are periodically changed. Since Rawls-Meehan already includes removable structural components, incorporating Paul’s decorative panel system would have been a natural and expected improvement, providing greater aesthetic customization without altering the structural integrity of the bed frame. This would have the benefit of allowing users to personalize the visual appearance of their bed while maintaining the modular flexibility implicit in Rawls-Meehan’s system.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Rawls-Meehan et al. (US 20160120740 A1), hereto referred as Rawls-Meehan, and further in view of Saghiri et al. (US 10905249 B1), hereto referred as Saghiri, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 20110169653 A1), hereto referred as Wang, and further in view of Veron (US 20160183695 A1), hereto referred as Veron, and further in view of Kremer et al. (US 20200265823 A1), hereto referred as Kremer, and Ebben et al. (Ebben, M R, M Q Degrazia, and A C Krieger. “0379 The Effect of White Noise on Individuals Complaining of Poor Quality Sleep in a High Noise Environment in New York City.” Sleep (New York, N.Y.) 41.suppl_1 (2018): A145–A145. Web), hereto referred as Ebben, as evidence.
The combined Rawls-Meehan, Saghiri, Wang, and Veron teaches claim 11 as described above.
Regarding claim 15, the combined Rawls-Meehan, Saghiri, Wang, and Veron does not fully teach that automatically adjusting the one or more speakers comprises playing a song or music prior to the detection of the sleep condition followed by playing white noise upon detecting the sleep condition. Rawls-Meehan describes a system in which real-time sleep quality feedback is used for automatic environmental adjustments, ensuring that bed settings dynamically modify in response to detected sleep states (Rawls-Meehan, ¶[0530]). Additionally, it teaches adjusting comfort-based factors such as volume and content in response to sleep detection (Rawls-Meehan, ¶[0426]). However, Rawls-Meehan does not explicitly disclose changing specific sound content types based on sleep detection. Kremer, who investigates sleep-enhancing environmental control, demonstrates that sleep states influence environmental adjustments, including automated sound modification and ambient noise control (Kremer, ¶[0005]; ¶[0008]; ¶[0022]). Kremer further states that masking sounds encompass various sound types, including soothing sounds, relaxation soundtracks, and entrainment soundtracks, implying that different audio content types may be played based on sleep state detection (Kremer, ¶[0022]). This is further supported by scientific findings demonstrating the effectiveness of white noise for sleep improvement, as described by Ebben (Ebben, Abstract). Given that Rawls-Meehan already discloses automatic audio adjustment based on sleep detection, incorporating white noise or dynamically switching sound profiles based on detected sleep conditions would have been an expected and predictable implementation to improve user relaxation and sleep quality. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined Rawls-Meehan and Saghiri in view of Kremer to have a song or music prior to detecting the sleep condition followed by playing white noise upon detecting the sleep condition, as this would have been a straightforward and predictable implementation of known relaxation techniques. This would have the benefit of dynamically optimizing sleep quality by modifying audio content in response to detected sleep conditions, ensuring an adaptive and personalized sleep environment that enhances relaxation and minimizes disruptive noises during sleep.
Response to Arguments
Objections
Applicant's arguments filed 09/24/2025, page 7, regarding the previous Objections of claims 1, 9, 13, and 15-16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous objections have been withdrawn.
35 U.S.C. §112(b)
Applicant's arguments filed 09/24/2025, page 7, regarding the previous 112(b) Rejections of claims 1-10 and 16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous rejections have been withdrawn.
35 U.S.C. §103
Applicant's arguments filed 09/24/2025, pages 7-10, regarding the previous 103 Rejections of claims 1-5, 7-11, 13-14 and 16-18 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. That is, there are new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
examiner should be directed to AARON MERRIAM whose telephone number is (703) 756-
5938. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:00 am - 5:00 pm.
using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is
encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
supervisor, Jason Sims can be reached on (571)272-4867. The fax phone number for the
organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to
registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit:
https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for
more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for
information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO
Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/AARON MERRIAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/MATTHEW KREMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791