DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Morris [US 5,555,494] in view of Jung [KR 20180097940 A].
Regarding claims 1-2, 5 and 7, Morris discloses an iron core structure [figure 9] comprising:
a primary winding [P];
a secondary winding [S1, S2]; and
an iron core, wherein the primary winding and the secondary winding are twisted around the iron core; wherein the iron core comprises a first core member and a second core member, the first core member comprises a first side leg [71], a second side leg [72], and a first center leg spaced apart from the first and the second side legs; the second core member comprises a third side leg [71], a fourth side leg [72], and a second center leg spaced apart from the third and the forth side legs; the first center leg is connected to the second center leg, wherein the first side leg and the second first leg are symmetrically positioned at two opposite sides of the first center leg and wherein the first center leg and the second center leg are connected in one piece [figure 9]
a first gap [81] is defined between the first side leg and the third side leg; a second gap [82] is defined between the second side leg and the fourth side leg, wherein a size of the first gap is equal to a size of the second gap [figure 9];
the primary winding [P] is positioned on the first center leg and the second center leg [figure 9];
the secondary winding comprises a first secondary winding [S1] and a second secondary winding [S2], the first secondary winding is arranged around the first gap, the second secondary winding is arranged around the second gap.
Morris disclose the instant claimed invention except for the specific cross area of the center legs.
Jung discloses a magnetic core structure [100] for a transformer comprising:
- a first core including a first center leg [130] and two outer legs [110]; and
- a second core including a second center leg [140] and two outer legs [120], wherein a cross area of the first center leg is larger than that of the outer legs and a cross area of the second center leg is larger than that of the outer legs [figure 6].
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the cross area design of Jung for the center leg of Morris for the purpose facilitating leakage inductance [see specification of Jung] and/or achieving the desired magnetic flux/field.
Morris discloses leakage value of the primary winding [wound on center leg] is different from that of the secondary winding [wound on side legs].
Regarding claim 3, Morris discloses the first side leg is coaxially positioned with the third side leg, the second side leg is coaxially positioned with the fourth side leg [figure 9].
Regarding claim 4, Morris discloses a length of the first center leg is greater than a length of the first side leg and a length of the second center leg is greater than a length of the third side leg [figures 7 and 9-10].
Regarding claim 8, the specific size of the gaps would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of controlling the magnetic leakage/inductance and/or flux/field.
Regarding claim 9, Morris discloses material of the iron core comprises silicon steel sheet or ferrite [column 20, line 67].
Regarding claim 10, Morris further disclose the first core member further comprises a first connecting portion, the first side leg, the first center leg, and the second side leg are connected to the first connecting portion in one piece; the second core member further comprises a second connecting portion, the third side leg, the second center leg, and the fourth side leg are connected to the second connecting portion in one piece [figure 9].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5 and 7-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TUYEN T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837