DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochiai et al. (US Pat 4,544,198) in view of Lang et al. (US Pat 6,382,705).
Regarding claim 1, Ochiai et al. disclose a motor vehicle, comprising: a vehicle body; a dual sliding door system, comprising a first sliding door 10 and a second sliding door 12, and wherein the first sliding door 10 and the second sliding door 12 are configured to slide away from one another as the dual sliding door system moves from a closed configuration to an open configuration (see Figures 1-2); wherein the first sliding door 10 includes an inner lateral front sliding door portion comprising a front inner lateral edge that extends from a first base portion of the inner lateral front sliding door portion, wherein the front inner lateral edge has a narrower thickness than the first base portion (see annotated Figure 10 below); wherein the second sliding door 12 includes an inner lateral rear sliding door portion comprising a rear inner lateral edge that extends from a second base portion of the inner lateral rear sliding door portion, wherein the rear inner lateral edge has a narrower thickness than the second base portion (see annotated Figure 10 below); wherein when the dual sliding door system is in the closed configuration: the first base portion, the second base portion, the front inner lateral edge and the rear inner lateral edge form an outer boundary for a gap 136 between the first sliding door 10 and the second sliding door 12; and wherein a portion of the rear inner lateral edge and a portion of the front inner lateral edge have a same position along a longitudinal direction of the vehicle body (see annotated Figure 10 below). The sliding doors 10, 12 are secured in the closed configuration by latches 46, 50 (see Figure 1; Col. 3, lines 62-68).
Ochiai et al. fail to disclose the first sliding door includes an upper latch and a lower latch for attaching the first sliding door to the vehicle body adjacent the front lateral edge, wherein the first sliding door includes more latches for attaching the first sliding door to the vehicle body than the number of latches for attaching the second sliding door to the vehicle body, and wherein the first latch and the second latch operate in combination with the overlapping front inner lateral edge and rear inner lateral edge to limit lateral separation between the front sliding door and the rear sliding door during a collision.
Lang et al. disclose a motor vehicle 10 having a dual sliding door system with a first door 32 and a second sliding door 44. The second sliding door 44 has a latch 84 in an upper portion 50 of the sliding door 44 and a latch 86 in a lower portion 52 of the sliding door 44 adjacent a front lateral edge 46 to keep the door firmly and securely closed (see Figure 2; Col. 4, lines 45-55). The second sliding door 44 has a total of three latches 84, 86, 88, while the first door 32 only has two latches 34, 36 (see Figures 1-2; Col. 3, lines 9-25; Col. 4, lines 45-64). The second sliding door 44 has more latches to hold the door 44 firmly in the closed position (see Col. 4, lines 48-52). The front edge 46 of the second sliding door 44 is provided with latches 84, 86 and is strengthened to provide supporting strength of the missing center pillar when the door 44 is closed (see Col. 4, lines 45-57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the first sliding door of the dual sliding door system of Ochiai et al. to include an upper latch and a lower latch and more latches for attaching to the vehicle than the second sliding door, with a reasonable expectation of success, to ensure the efficient security of the doors in the closed configuration and add an additional safety feature for passengers in the event of a collision, as taught by Lang et al..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the upper latch and lower latch of Ochiai et al., as modified by Lang et al., in combination with the overlapping front and rear inner lateral edges to limit lateral separation between the doors during a collision, with a reasonable expectation, to provide additional safety of passengers in the event of an impact, as taught by Lang et al..
Regarding claim 2, Ochiai et al., as modified by Lang et al. twice, disclose the motor vehicle according to claim 1.
Ochiai et al., as modified by Lang et al. twice, fail to disclose the first sliding door includes at least two latches.
Lang et al. disclose a motor vehicle 10 having a dual sliding door system with a first door 32 and a second sliding door 44. The second sliding door 44 has a latch 84 in an upper portion of the sliding door 44 to keep the door firmly and securely closed (see Figure 2; Col. 4, lines 45-55). The second sliding door 44 has a total of three latches 84, 86, 88, while the first door 32 only has two latches 34, 36 (see Figures 1-2; Col. 3, lines 9-25; Col. 4, lines 45-64). The second sliding door 44 has more latches to hold the door 44 firmly in the closed position (see Col. 4, lines 48-52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the first sliding door of the dual sliding door system of Ochiai et al., as modified by Lang et al. twice, to include at least two latches, with a reasonable expectation of success, to ensure the efficient security of the doors in the closed configuration, as taught by Lang et al..
Regarding claim 3, Ochiai et al., as modified by Lang et al. twice, disclose the motor vehicle according to claim 1.
Ochiai et al., as modified by Lang et al. twice, fail to disclose the first sliding door includes three latches.
Lang et al. disclose a motor vehicle 10 having a dual sliding door system with a first door 32 and a second sliding door 44. The second sliding door 44 has a latch 84 in an upper portion of the sliding door 44 to keep the door firmly and securely closed (see Figure 2; Col. 4, lines 45-55). The second sliding door 44 has a total of three latches 84, 86, 88, while the first door 32 only has two latches 34, 36 (see Figures 1-2; Col. 3, lines 9-25; Col. 4, lines 45-64). The second sliding door 44 has more latches to hold the door 44 firmly in the closed position (see Col. 4, lines 48-52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the first sliding door of the dual sliding door system of Ochiai et al., as modified by Lang et al. twice, to include three latches, with a reasonable expectation of success, to ensure the efficient security of the doors in the closed configuration, as taught by Lang et al..
Regarding claim 4, Ochiai et al., as modified by Lang et al. twice, disclose the motor vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the first sliding door 10 further includes an upper first sliding door portion 76 disposed adjacent to an upper portion 58 of the vehicle body (see Figure 5; Col. 4, lines 7-41).
Ochiai et al., as modified by Lang et al. twice, fail to disclose the first sliding door includes a latch on the upper first sliding door portion.
Lang et al. disclose a motor vehicle 10 having a dual sliding door system with a first door 32 and a second sliding door 44. The second sliding door 44 has a latch 84 in an upper portion of the sliding door 44 to keep the door firmly and securely closed (see Figure 2; Col. 4, lines 45-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a latch on the upper first sliding door portion of the first sliding door of Ochiai et al., as modified by Lang et al. twice, with a reasonable expectation of success, to firmly and securely keep the door in the closed configuration, as taught by Lang et al..
Regarding claim 5, Ochiai et al., as modified by Lang et al. twice, disclose the motor vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the first sliding door 10 further includes a lower first sliding door portion disposed adjacent to a lower portion 30 of the vehicle body (see annotated Figure 9 below; Col. 4, lines 7-14).
Ochiai et al., as modified by Lang et al. twice, fail to disclose the first sliding door includes a latch on the lower first sliding door portion.
Lang et al. disclose a motor vehicle 10 having a dual sliding door system with a first door 32 and a second sliding door 44. The second sliding door 44 has a latch 84 in an upper portion of the sliding door 44 to keep the door firmly and securely closed (see Figure 2; Col. 4, lines 45-55). The second sliding door 44 has a total of three latches 84, 86, 88, while the first door 32 only has two latches 34, 36 (see Figures 1-2; Col. 3, lines 9-25; Col. 4, lines 45-64). The second sliding door 44 has more latches to hold the door 44 firmly in the closed position (see Col. 4, lines 48-52). The vehicle body 12 has a lower sliding door portion 30 on which a latch 84 is disposed (see Figures 1-2; Col. 4, lines 52-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to position a latch on the lower first sliding door portion of Ochiai et al., as modified by Lang et al. twice, with a reasonable expectation of success, to ensure the efficient security of the doors in the closed configuration, as taught by Lang et al..
Regarding claim 6, Ochiai et al., as modified by Lang et al. twice, disclose the motor vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the first sliding door 10 further includes an outer lateral sliding door portion disposed adjacent to a lateral body portion of the vehicle body, and wherein the first sliding door 10 includes a latch 46 on the outer lateral first sliding door portion (see Figure 1; Col. 3, lines 62-64).
Regarding claim 7, Ochiai et al. disclose a motor vehicle, comprising: a vehicle body comprising an opening 14, the opening 14 being bounded by a forward lateral body portion 33, a rearward lateral body portion 43, an upper body portion 26, and a lower body portion 30 (see Figures 1-2; Col. 3, lines 31-61); a dual sliding door system that provides access to the opening 14 in the vehicle body, comprising a front sliding door 10 and a rear sliding door 12, the dual sliding door system being moveable between an opened configuration and a closed configuration (see Figures 1-2; Col. 3, lines 30-36); the front sliding door 10 further including an outer lateral front sliding door portion that is disposed adjacent to the forward lateral body portion when the dual sliding door system is in the closed configuration, and the front sliding door further including an inner lateral front sliding door portion having a first base portion and a front inner lateral edge extending from the first base portion and having a front inner lateral edge length (see annotated Figure 10 above; Col. 3, lines 35-48; Col. 4, lines 7-14); the rear sliding door 12 further including an outer lateral rear sliding door portion that is disposed adjacent to the rearward lateral body portion when the dual sliding door system is in the closed configuration, and the rear sliding door 12 further including an inner lateral rear sliding door portion having a second base portion and a rear inner lateral edge extending from the first base portion (see annotated Figure 10 above); wherein the first base portion and the second base portion are separated by a gap 136 when the dual sliding door system is in the closed configuration, wherein the front inner lateral edge overlaps with the rear inner lateral edge at a location associated with the gap 136, and wherein a width of the gap 136 is greater than or equal to the front inner lateral edge length (see annotated Figure 10 above; Col. 4, lines 7-14); the front sliding door 10 further including an upper front sliding door portion 58 and a lower front sliding door portion (see Figure 5, annotated Figure 9 above; Col. 4, lines 7-28); the rear sliding door 12 further including an upper rear sliding door portion 58 and a lower rear sliding door portion (see Figure 5, annotated Figure 9 above; Col. 4, lines 15-28). A latch 46 is disposed in the outer lateral front sliding door portion; the latch 46 being configured to engage a third striker on the forward lateral body portion of the vehicle body (see Figure 1; Col. 3, lines 62-64). A latch 50 is disposed in the outer lateral rear sliding door portion; the latch 50 being configured to engage a fourth striker on the rearward lateral body portion of the vehicle body (see Figure 1; Col. 3, lines 64-68).
Ochiai et al. fail to disclose the dual sliding door system comprising four latches, including a first latch, a second latch, a third latch, and a fourth latch; wherein there are more latches attaching the front sliding door to the vehicle body than there are latches attaching the rear sliding door to the vehicle body; the first latch being disposed in the upper front sliding door portion adjacent to the front inner lateral edge, the first latch being configured to engage a first striker on the upper body portion of the vehicle body; the second latch being disposed in the lower front sliding door portion adjacent the front inner lateral edge, the second latch being configured to engage a second striker on the lower body portion of the vehicle body; and the fourth latch being disposed in the outer lateral rear sliding door portion, the fourth latch being configured to engage a fourth striker on the rearward lateral body portion of the vehicle body; and wherein the first latch and the second latch operate in combination with the overlapping front inner lateral edge and rear inner lateral edge to limit lateral separation between the front sliding door and the rear sliding door during a collision.
Lang et al. disclose a motor vehicle 10 having a sliding door system with a first door 32 and a second sliding door 44. The second sliding door 44 has a latch 84 in an upper portion of the sliding door 44 to keep the door firmly and securely closed (see Figure 2; Col. 4, lines 45-55). The second sliding door 44 has a total of three latches 84, 86, 88, while the first door 32 only has two latches 34, 36 (see Figures 1-2; Col. 3, lines 9-25; Col. 4, lines 45-64). The second sliding door 44 has more latches to hold the door 44 firmly in the closed position (see Col. 4, lines 48-52). The vehicle body 12 has a lower sliding door portion 30 on which a latch 84 is disposed (see Figures 1-2; Col. 4, lines 52-55). The total number of latches on in the door system is five, which is at least four latches.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the first sliding door of the dual sliding door system of Ochiai et al., to include four latches, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Lang et al., to ensure the efficient security of the doors in the closed configuration.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a latch on the upper first sliding door portion of the first sliding door of Ochiai et al., as modified by Lang et al, adjacent the front lateral inner edge and engage a striker on the upper body portion of the vehicle body, with a reasonable expectation of success, to firmly and securely keep the door in the closed configuration, as taught by Lang et al..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to position a latch on the lower first sliding door portion of Ochiai et al., as modified by Lang et al. twice, adjacent a front inner lateral edge and engage a striker on the lower body portion, with a reasonable expectation of success, to ensure the efficient security of the doors in the closed configuration, as taught by Lang et al..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the upper latch and lower latch of Ochiai et al., as modified by Lang et al. four times, in combination with the overlapping front and rear inner lateral edges to limit lateral separation between the doors during a collision, with a reasonable expectation, to provide additional safety of passengers in the event of an impact, as taught by Lang et al..
Regarding claim 9, Ochiai et al., as modified by Lang et al. four times, disclose the motor vehicle according to claim 7, wherein the front inner lateral edge is thinner than an adjacent portion of the front sliding door 10 (see annotated Figure 10 above).
Regarding claim 10, Ochiai et al., as modified by Lang et al. four times, disclose the motor vehicle according to claim 7, wherein the rear inner lateral edge is thinner than an adjacent portion of the rear sliding door 12 (see annotated Figure 10 above).
Regarding claim 11, Ochiai et al., as modified by Lang et al. four times, disclose the motor vehicle according to claim 7, wherein the upper body portion 58 of the vehicle body is part of a roof structure 68 of the motor vehicle (see Figure 5; Col. 3, lines 37-42; Col. 4, lines 29-36).
Regarding claim 12, Ochiai et al., as modified by Lang et al. four times, disclose the motor vehicle according to claim 7, wherein the lower body portion 30 of the vehicle body is part of a floor structure 119 of the motor vehicle (see Figure 9; Col. 3, lines 37-42; Col. 5, lines 7-21).
Regarding claim 13, Ochiai et al., as modified by Lang et al. four times, disclose the motor vehicle according to claim 7, wherein the third latch 46 and the fourth latch 50 are disposed at substantially similar vertical heights (see Figure 1; Col. 3, lines 62-68).
Regarding claim 14, Ochiai et al. disclose a motor vehicle, comprising: a vehicle body comprising an opening 14, the opening 14 being bounded by a forward lateral body portion 33, a rearward lateral body portion 43, an upper body portion 26, and a lower body portion 30 (see Figures 1-2; Col. 3, lines 31-61); a dual sliding door system that provides access to the opening 14 in the vehicle body, comprising a front sliding door 10 and a rear sliding door 12, the dual sliding door system being moveable between an opened configuration and a closed configuration (see Figures 1-2; Col. 3, lines 30-61); the front sliding door 10 further including an outer lateral front sliding door portion that is disposed adjacent to the forward lateral body portion when the dual sliding door system is in the closed configuration, and the front sliding door further including an inner lateral front sliding door portion having a first base portion and a front inner lateral edge extending from the first base portion and having a front inner lateral edge length (see annotated Figure 10 above; Col. 4, lines 7-14); the rear sliding door 12 further including an outer lateral rear sliding door portion that is disposed adjacent to the rearward lateral body portion when the dual sliding door system is in the closed configuration, and the rear sliding door 12 further including an inner lateral rear sliding door portion having a second base portion and a rear inner lateral edge extending from the first base portion (see annotated Figure 10 above); wherein the first base portion and the second base portion are separated by a gap 136 when the dual sliding door system is in the closed configuration, wherein the front inner lateral edge overlaps with the rear inner lateral edge at a location associated with the gap 136, and wherein a width of the gap 136 is greater than or equal to the front inner lateral edge length (see annotated Figure 10 above; Col. 4, lines 7-14); the front sliding door 10 further including an upper front sliding door portion 58 and a lower front sliding door portion (see annotated Figure 9 above; Col. 3, lines 7-14); the rear sliding door 12 further including an upper rear sliding door portion 58 and a lower rear sliding door portion (see annotated Figure 9 above). A latch 46 is disposed in the outer lateral front sliding door portion; the latch 46 being configured to engage a fourth striker on the forward lateral body portion of the vehicle body (see Figure 1; Col. 3, lines 62-64). A latch 50 is disposed in the outer lateral rear sliding door portion; the latch 50 being configured to engage a third striker on the rearward lateral body portion of the vehicle body (see Figure 1; Col. 3, lines 64-68).
Ochiai et al. fail to disclose the dual sliding door system comprising a total of four latches, including a first latch, a second latch, a third latch, and a fourth latch; wherein there are more latches attaching the front sliding door to the vehicle body than there are latches attaching the rear sliding door to the vehicle body; the first latch being disposed in the upper front sliding door portion adjacent to the front inner lateral edge, the first latch being configured to engage a first striker on the upper body portion of the vehicle body; the second latch being disposed in the lower front sliding door portion adjacent the front inner lateral edge, the second latch being configured to engage a second striker on the lower body portion of the vehicle body; and the fourth latch being disposed in the outer lateral rear sliding door portion, the fourth latch being configured to engage a fourth striker on the rearward lateral body portion of the vehicle body; and wherein the first latch and the second latch operate in combination with the overlapping front inner lateral edge and rear inner lateral edge to limit lateral separation between the front sliding door and the rear sliding door during a collision.
Lang et al. disclose a motor vehicle 10 having a sliding door system with a first door 32 and a second sliding door 44. The second sliding door 44 has a latch 84 in an upper portion of the sliding door 44 to keep the door firmly and securely closed (see Figure 2; Col. 4, lines 45-55). The second sliding door 44 has a total of three latches 84, 86, 88, while the first door 32 only has two latches 34, 36 (see Figures 1-2; Col. 3, lines 9-25; Col. 4, lines 45-64). The second sliding door 44 has more latches to hold the door 44 firmly in the closed position (see Col. 4, lines 48-52). The vehicle body 12 has a lower sliding door portion 30 on which a latch 84 is disposed (see Figures 1-2; Col. 4, lines 52-55). The total number of latches on in the door system is five, which is at least four latches.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the first sliding door of the dual sliding door system of Ochiai et al., to include four latches, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Lang et al., to ensure the efficient security of the doors in the closed configuration.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a latch on the upper first sliding door portion of the first sliding door of Ochiai et al., as modified by Lang et al, adjacent the front inner lateral edge and engage a striker on the upper body portion of the vehicle body, with a reasonable expectation of success, to firmly and securely keep the door in the closed configuration, as taught by Lang et al..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to position a latch on the lower first sliding door portion of Ochiai et al., as modified by Lang et al. twice, adjacent the front inner lateral edge and engage a striker on the lower body portion with a reasonable expectation of success, to ensure the efficient security of the doors in the closed configuration, as taught by Lang et al..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the upper latch and lower latch of Ochiai et al., as modified by Lang et al. four times, in combination with the overlapping front and rear inner lateral edges to limit lateral separation between the doors during a collision, with a reasonable expectation, to provide additional safety of passengers in the event of an impact, as taught by Lang et al..
Regarding claim 16, Ochiai et al., as modified by Lang et al. four times, disclose the motor vehicle according to claim 14, wherein the front inner lateral edge is thinner than an adjacent portion of the front sliding door 10 (see annotated Figure 10 above).
Regarding claim 17, Ochiai et al., as modified by Lang et al. four times, disclose the motor vehicle according to claim 14, wherein the rear inner lateral edge is thinner than an adjacent portion of the rear sliding door 12 (see annotated Figure 10 above).
Regarding claim 18, Ochiai et al., as modified by Lang et al. four times, disclose the motor vehicle according to claim 14, wherein the upper body portion 58 of the vehicle body is part of a roof structure 68 of the motor vehicle (see Figure 5; Col. 3, lines 37-42; Col. 4, lines 29-36).
Regarding claim 19, Ochiai et al., as modified by Lang et al. four times, disclose the motor vehicle according to claim 14, wherein the lower body portion 30 of the vehicle body is part of a floor structure 119 of the motor vehicle (see Figure 9; Col. 3, lines 37-42; Col. 5, lines 7-21).
Regarding claim 20, Ochiai et al., as modified by Lang et al. four times, disclose the motor vehicle according to claim 14, wherein the third latch 46 and the fourth latch 50 are disposed at substantially similar vertical heights (see Figure 1; Col. 3, lines 62-68).
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochiai et al., as modified by Lang et al., in view of Brown et al. (US Pat 10,384,519).
Regarding claim 8, Ochiai et al., as modified by Lang et al. four times, disclose the motor vehicle according to claim 7.
Ochiai et al., as modified by Lang et al. four times, fail to disclose each of the first latch, the second latch, the third latch, and the fourth latch, is an electric vehicle door latch.
Brown et al. disclose a vehicle having a dual sliding door system 16 having a first sliding door 16-1 and a second sliding door 16-2. The first sliding door 16-1 and the second sliding door 16-2 are configured to slide away from one another as the dual sliding door system moves from a closed configuration to an open configuration (see Figures 1-2; Col. 6, lines 43-58). Five latches 20 are used to secure the doors 16 in the closed configuration, but more or less latches may be used, with three latches 20 on the first sliding door 16-1 (see Figure 3; Col. 8, lines 2-20). The latches 20 are part of a latch system 144 that is an electric vehicle latch that can be operated manually or automatically when a user approaches the vehicle (see Figures 3-4; Col. 7, lines 51-62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an electric latch for the four latches of Ochiai et al., as modified by Lang et al. four times, with a reasonable expectation of success, to allow the latch to be operated manually or automatically when a user approaches the vehicle, as taught by Brown et al..
Regarding claim 15, Ochiai et al., as modified by Lang et al. four times, disclose the motor vehicle according to claim 14.
Ochiai et al., as modified by Lang et al. four times, fail to disclose each of the first latch, the second latch, the third latch, and the fourth latch, is an electric vehicle door latch.
Brown et al. disclose a vehicle having a dual sliding door system 16 having a first sliding door 16-1 and a second sliding door 16-2. The first sliding door 16-1 and the second sliding door 16-2 are configured to slide away from one another as the dual sliding door system moves from a closed configuration to an open configuration (see Figures 1-2; Col. 6, lines 43-58). Five latches 20 are used to secure the doors 16 in the closed configuration, but more or less latches may be used, with three latches 20 on the first sliding door 16-1 (see Figure 3; Col. 8, lines 2-20). The latches 20 are part of a latch system 144 that is an electric vehicle latch that can be operated manually or automatically when a user approaches the vehicle (see Figures 3-4; Col. 7, lines 51-62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an electric latch for the four latches of Ochiai et al., as modified by Brown et al. twice and Lang et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, to allow the latch to be operated manually or automatically when a user approaches the vehicle, as taught by Brown et al..
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-13 of Remarks, filed September 9, 2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 7, and 14 under 35 USC 103 as being obvious over Ochiai et al, as modified by Lang et al., are addressed below. Examiner notes that changes were made to the previously presented rejections to address amendments made in the response; however, the same references are applied and objections raised by Applicant are discussed below.
Applicant submits that it would not be obvious to add upper and lower latches to the front door of Ochiai et al. adjacent to an inner lateral edge of the door, as the corresponding spaces where the latches are located are occupied by slider assemblies; however, the addition of latches in the corresponding location would not be hindered by placing the latch vertically above or below the slider assembly and would add an additional safety feature for passengers to ensure the door remains closed while transporting passengers. Not only is this feature and motivation taught by Lang et al., but a number of other references cited by the Examiner would demonstrate the desirability of such a feature. Additionally, Applicant asserts that Lang et al. lacks an overlapping door configuration and cannot teach the recited configuration because it overlaps an inner lateral edge. Lang et al. does teach an overlapping configuration (see Figures 3 and 5A-C; Col. 4, lines 30-43) and additionally teaches the latches are positioned at a lateral edge of the door nearest to an adjacent door and in a position normally occupied by a center pillar. The position of the latches and a reinforcement of an edge of the sliding door of Lang et al. is used to protect passengers in the event of a collision (see Col. 4, lines 48-64). The rejections of claims 1, 7, and 14 in view of Ochiai et al. and Lang et al. are proper for at least these reasons.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VERONICA M CONDO/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612