DETAILED ACTION
Claim Comment
The indicated allowability of claims 13 and 18 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to Dejneka et al., US 2009/0220761 A1 and Kawai, US 2011/0111260 A1. Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawai, U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2011/0111260 A1 in view of Dejneka et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2009/0220761 A1.
Kawai teaches an alkali aluminosilicate glass comprising in terms of mass%: 60-75% of SiO2, 5-18% of Al2O3, 3-10% of Li2O, 3-15% of Na2O, and 0.5-8% of ZrO2. Kawai further disclose that the glass comprises at least one of SO3, F, Cl, Br, and I in an amount of 1 mass% or less. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, paragraphs [0012], [0015], and [0029]. Kawai teaches that the alkali aluminosilicate glass is free of As2O3 and Sb2O3. See paragraphs [0011] and [0028]. Kawai teach the size of the glass is not specifically limited and teaches thickness of 1 mm, 0.64 mm, and 0.4 mm. See paragraph [0039].
Kawai fails to teach that the aluminosilicate glass has a thickness of less than 250 µm as recited in instant claim 1.
Dejneka et al. teaches a similar glass composition. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically paragraphs [0022], [0028], and [0029]. Dejneka et al. disclose that the glass can be formed into a sheet by methods, including down draw method, fusion method, and slot downdraw method. See paragraphs [0031]-[0034]. Dejneka et al. teach that the glass made by the down draw method can have a thickness of 0.1-3 mm (100 µm – 3 mm) (see paragraph [0040]), which reads on the glass article having a thickness of less than 250 µm, as recited in claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have an alkali aluminosilicate glass article of Kawai as suggested by Dejneka et al. because the resultant article would have the desired thickness while having excellent refining performance of the glass composition of Kawai. See paragraphs [0012], [0028], and [0029] of Kawai.
Additionally, in regards to claim 1, Kawai teaches Examples 3-6, 3-7, 3-8, 4-6, 4-7, 4-8, 4-9, 4-10, 5-6, 5-7, 5-8, 5-9, and 5-10 (see Tables 1-6), which reads on an aluminosilicate glass comprising at least 9 wt% of Na2O, 500 ppm to 8000 ppm with at least one halogen, less than 500 ppm of Sn, less than 100 ppm of As, less than 100 ppm of Sb as recited in claim 1.
As to claim 2, Kawai is silent to the inclusion of platinum particles, which reads on the glass article comprising no more than 5 platinum particles per kilogram of glass as recited in instant claim 2.
As to claim 3, Kawai teaches Examples 3-6, 3-7, 3-8, 4-6, 4-7, 4-8, 4-9, 4-10, 5-6, 5-7, 5-8, 5-9, and 5-10 (see Tables 1-6), which reads on the halogen being selected from chlorine, bromine, or iodine, as recited in instant claim 3.
As to claim 4, Kawai teaches Examples 2-7, 2-8, 2-9, 2-10, 3-6, 3-7, 3-8, 4-6, 4-7, 4-8, 4-9, 4-10, 5-6, 5-7, 5-8, 5-9, 5-10, 6-8, 6-9, and 6-10 (see Tables 1-6), which reads on the glass comprising less than 100 ppm of boron, as recited in instant claim 4.
As to claim 5, Kawai teaches that the glass comprises at least one fining agent selected from SO3, F, Cl, Br, and I (See paragraphs [0012] and [0029]), which reads on the glass comprising in addition to the at least one halogen the glass comprises fluorine in an amount of 0.05 to 0.5 wt%, as recited in instant claim 5.
As to claim 6, Kawai teaches Examples 2-7, 2-8, 3-6, 3-7, 3-8, 4-6, 4-7, 5-6, 5-7, 6-8, 6-9, 6-10 (see Tables 1-6), which reads on at least one halogen in the range of 500-5000 ppm or Sn in amount less than 100 ppm, as recited in instant claim 3.
As to claim 7, Kawai teaches Examples 2-7, 3-6, 3-7, 4-6, 4-7, 5-6, and 6-8 (see Tables 1-6), which reads on the glass comprising at least one halogen in the amount of at most 2500 ppm, as recited in instant claim 7.
As to claim 8, Kawai teaches the aluminosilicate glass comprises Li2O and Na2O and therefore is capable of being chemically hardened by ion exchange as recited in instant claim 8 and since the composition of the reference is the same as those claimed herein it follows that the glasses of Kawai would possess the diffusivity of at most 14 µm2/h as recited in claim 8. See MPEP 2112.
It is well settled that when a claimed composition appears to be substantially the same as a composition disclosed in the prior art, the burden is properly upon the applicant to prove by way of tangible evidence that the prior art composition does not necessarily possess characteristics attributed to the CLAIMED composition. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655 (Fed. Circ. 1990); In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980); In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 2109, 169 USPQ 226 (CCPA 1971).
Products of identical composition may not have mutually exclusive properties. In re Spada 15 USPQ2d 1655,1658 (Fed. Circ. 1990).
As to claim 9, since the composition of the reference is the same as those claimed herein it follows that the glasses of Kawai would possess the ratio between the temperature (TL) and the temperature (TB(NaCl)) of at most 1.2 as recited in claim 9. See MPEP 2112.
As to claim 10, Kawai teaches Examples 2-7, 2-8, 2-9, 2-10, 3-6, 3-7, 3-8, 4-6, 4-7, 4-8, 4-9, 4-10, 5-6, 5-7, 5-8, 5-9, 5-10, 6-8, 6-9, 6-10 (see Tables 1-6), which reads on the glass comprising in terms of wt%: 40-75% of SiO2, 10-30% of Al2O3, 0-20% of B2O3, >0-30% of Li2O+Na2O+K2O, 0-25% of MgO+CaO+SrO+BaO+ZnO, 0-15% of TiO2+ZrO2, and 0-10% of P2O5 as recited in claim 10.
As to claim 11, since the composition of the reference is the same as those claimed herein it follows that the glasses of Kawai would possess the beta-OH of at most 0.32 mm-1, as recited in instant claim 11. See MPEP 2112.
As to claim 12, Kawai is silent on the inclusion of NH4+, which reads on the glass having less than 0.0001 wt% of NH4+ as recited in claim 12.
As to claim 13, Kawai teaches Examples 3-8, 4-6, 4-7, 5-6, and 5-7 (see Tables 1-6), which reads on the glass having a quotient A in the range of 1.5 to 8.5, as recited in claim 13.
As to claim 14, since the composition of the reference is the same as those claimed herein it follows that the glasses of Kawai would inherently possess a cooling state, as recited in claim 14. See MPEP 2112.
Kawai teaches an alkali aluminosilicate glass comprising in terms of mass%: 60-75% of SiO2, 5-18% of Al2O3, 3-10% of Li2O, 3-15% of Na2O, and 0.5-8% of ZrO2. Kawai further disclose that the glass comprises at least one of SO3, F, Cl, Br, and I in an amount of 1 mass% or less. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, paragraphs [0012], [0015], and [0029]. Kawai teaches that the alkali aluminosilicate glass is free of As2O3 and Sb2O3. See paragraphs [0011] and [0028]. Kawai teach the size of the glass is not specifically limited and teaches thickness of 1 mm, 0.64 mm, and 0.4 mm. See paragraph [0039].
Kawai fails to teach that the aluminosilicate glass has a thickness of less than 250 µm as recited in instant claim 15.
Dejneka et al. teaches a similar glass composition. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically paragraphs [0022], [0028], and [0029]. Dejneka et al. disclose that the glass can be formed into a sheet by methods, including down draw method, fusion method, and slot downdraw method. See paragraphs [0031]-[0034]. Dejneka et al. teach that the glass made by the down draw method can have a thickness of 0.1-3 mm (100 µm – 3 mm) (see paragraph [0040]), which reads on the glass article having a thickness of less than 250 µm, as recited in claim 15.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have an alkali aluminosilicate glass article of Kawai as suggested by Dejneka et al. because the resultant article would have the desired thickness while having excellent refining performance of the glass composition of Kawai. See paragraphs [0012], [0028], and [0029] of Kawai.
Additionally, in regards to claim 15, Kawai teaches Examples 1-6, 1-7, 1-8, 1-9, 1-10, 2-7, 2-8, 2-9, 2-10, 3-6, 3-7, 3-8, 3-9, 3-10, 4-6, 4-7, 4-8, 4-9, 4-10, 5-6, 5-7, 5-8, 5-9, 5-10, 6-6, 6-7, 6-8, 6-9, and 6-10 (see Tables 1-6), which reads on an aluminosilicate glass comprising at least 9 wt% of Na2O, 500 ppm to 8000 ppm with at least one halogen, less than 100 ppm of As, less than 100 ppm of Sb as recited in claim 15. Kawai is silent to the inclusion of platinum particles which reads on the glass having no more than 5 platinum particles per kilogram of glass as recited in instant claim 15.
As to claim 16, Kawai teaches Examples 1-6, 1-7, 1-8, 1-9, 1-10, 2-7, 2-8, 2-9, 2-10, 3-6, 3-7, 3-8, 3-9, 3-10, 4-6, 4-7, 4-8, 4-9, 4-10, 5-6, 5-7, 5-8, 5-9, 5-10, 6-6, 6-7, 6-8, 6-9, and 6-10 (see Tables 1-6), which reads on the glass comprising in terms of wt%: 40-75% of SiO2, 10-30% of Al2O3, 0-20% of B2O3, >0-30% of Li2O+Na2O+K2O, 0-25% of MgO+CaO+SrO+BaO+ZnO, 0-15% of TiO2+ZrO2, and 0-10% of P2O5 as recited in claim 16.
As to claim 17, Kawai teaches Examples 3-6, 3-7, 3-8, 4-6, 4-7, 5-6, and 5-7 (see Tables 1-6), which reads on an aluminosilicate glass having at least one halogen selected from chlorine, bromine, iodine, and combinations thereof in the range of 500-8000 ppm as recited in claim 17.
Kawai teaches an alkali aluminosilicate glass comprising in terms of mass%: 60-75% of SiO2, 5-18% of Al2O3, 3-10% of Li2O, 3-15% of Na2O, and 0.5-8% of ZrO2. Kawai further disclose that the glass comprises at least one of SO3, F, Cl, Br, and I in an amount of 1 mass% or less. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, paragraphs [0012], [0015], and [0029]. Kawai teaches that the alkali aluminosilicate glass is free of As2O3 and Sb2O3. See paragraphs [0011] and [0028]. Kawai teach the size of the glass is not specifically limited and teaches thickness of 1 mm, 0.64 mm, and 0.4 mm. See paragraph [0039].
Kawai fails to teach that the aluminosilicate glass has a thickness of less than 250 µm as recited in instant claim 18.
Dejneka et al. teaches a similar glass composition. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically paragraphs [0022], [0028], and [0029]. Dejneka et al. disclose that the glass can be formed into a sheet by methods, including down draw method, fusion method, and slot downdraw method. See paragraphs [0031]-[0034]. Dejneka et al. teach that the glass made by the down draw method can have a thickness of 0.1-3 mm (100 µm – 3 mm) (see paragraph [0040]), which reads on the glass article having a thickness of less than 250 µm, as recited in claim 18.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have an alkali aluminosilicate glass article of Kawai as suggested by Dejneka et al. because the resultant article would have the desired thickness while having excellent refining performance of the glass composition of Kawai. See paragraphs [0012], [0028], and [0029] of Kawai.
Additionally, in regards to claim 18, Kawai teaches Examples 3-8, 4-6, 4-7, 4-8, 5-6, and 5-7 (see Tables 1-6), which reads on an aluminosilicate glass comprising less than 500 ppm of Sn, less than 100 ppm of As, less than 100 ppm of Sb, and a quotient A of 1.5 to 8.5 as recited in claim 18.
Kawai teaches an alkali aluminosilicate glass comprising in terms of mass%: 60-75% of SiO2, 5-18% of Al2O3, 3-10% of Li2O, 3-15% of Na2O, and 0.5-8% of ZrO2. Kawai further disclose that the glass comprises at least one of SO3, F, Cl, Br, and I in an amount of 1 mass% or less. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, paragraphs [0012], [0015], and [0029]. Kawai teaches that the alkali aluminosilicate glass is free of As2O3 and Sb2O3. See paragraphs [0011] and [0028]. Kawai teach the size of the glass is not specifically limited and teaches thickness of 1 mm, 0.64 mm, and 0.4 mm. See paragraph [0039].
Kawai fails to teach that the aluminosilicate glass has a thickness of less than 250 µm as recited in instant claim 19.
Dejneka et al. teaches a similar glass composition. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically paragraphs [0022], [0028], and [0029]. Dejneka et al. disclose that the glass can be formed into a sheet by methods, including down draw method, fusion method, and slot downdraw method. See paragraphs [0031]-[0034]. Dejneka et al. teach that the glass made by the down draw method can have a thickness of 0.1-3 mm (100 µm – 3 mm) (see paragraph [0040]), which reads on the glass article having a thickness of less than 250 µm, as recited in claim 19.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have an alkali aluminosilicate glass article of Kawai as suggested by Dejneka et al. because the resultant article would have the desired thickness while having excellent refining performance of the glass composition of Kawai. See paragraphs [0012], [0028], and [0029] of Kawai.
Additionally, in regards to claim 19, Kawai teaches Examples 1-6, 1-7, 1-8, 1-9, 1-10, 2-7, 2-8, 2-9,2-10, 3-6, 3-7, 3-8, 3-9, 3-10, 4-6, 4-7, 4-8, 4-9, 4-10, 5-6, 5-7, 5-8, 5-9, 5-10, 6-6, 6-7, 6-8, 6-9, and 6-10 (see Tables 1-6), which reads on an aluminosilicate glass comprising at least 9 wt% of Na2O, less than 500 ppm of Sn, less than 100 ppm of As, less than 100 ppm of Sb as recited in claim 19. Since the composition and thickness of the reference is the same as those claimed herein it follows that the glasses of Kawai in view of Dejneka et al. would inherently possess the thickness variation of less than 5 µm as recited in claim 19. See MPEP 2112.
As to claim 20, Kawai teaches Examples 1-6, 1-7, 1-8, 1-9, 1-10, 2-7, 2-8, 2-9,2-10, 3-6, 3-7, 3-8, 3-9, 3-10, 4-6, 4-7, 4-8, 4-9, 4-10, 5-6, 5-7, 5-8, 5-9, 5-10, 6-6, 6-7, 6-8, 6-9, and 6-10 (see Tables 1-6), which reads on the glass comprising in terms of wt%: 40-75% of SiO2, 10-30% of Al2O3, 0-20% of B2O3, >0-30% of Li2O+Na2O+K2O, 0-25% of MgO+CaO+SrO+BaO+ZnO, 0-15% of TiO2+ZrO2, and 0-10% of P2O5 as recited in claim 20.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Elizabeth A. Bolden/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731
EAB
14 April 2026