Response to Amendments / Arguments
Regarding the rejection(s) of claims under 35 USC 103:
Applicant’s arguments, filed 07/15/2026, in view of the amended claims, have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant first argues that "Fryer's user agent 222 obtains an authorization code and encrypted access token from the IDP as a preliminary step, before any resource request is generated by Fryer's client application… The sequence Fryer describes is the opposite of what the amended claims recite: Fryer's system obtains a token first and then uses it in a request, whereas the amended claims recite generating a first request that includes user credentials and then transforming that first request into a second request through a proxy-mediated credential-for-token exchange." In response, Applicant's argument is directed to the relative ordering of steps that are otherwise disclosed. Fryer discloses a request generated in response to user input at an interactive element that includes user credentials ([0026]: "the user agent 222 obtains user credentials… Upon receiving the user credentials, the user agent 222 sends the user credentials to the IDP 204 in a user credential message 306"), the exchange of those credentials for a token artifact returned to the client application ([0027]: "the user agent 222 extracts the authorization code and provides an authorization code response 312 to the client application 224"), and the subsequent transmission of a request bearing the token in place of the credentials ([0028]-[0029], [0037]).
Secondly, Applicant argues that "There is no first request generated by Fryer's client application that includes user credentials in the first instance." In response, the claim does not recite that the first request is generated by the client application; it recites "generating a first request in response to the input from the user, the first request including user credentials." Fryer [0026] discloses precisely this, wherein the user credential message 306 is generated in response to user input received at the displayed credential-collection element.
Thirdly, Applicant argues that there is "no interception of such a first request en route to the resource server." In response, the claim term "intercepts" has been given its broadest reasonable interpretation as an intermediary receiving and acting upon a request before it reaches the sender. Fryer [0026] discloses "an initiate authorization request 302 from the client application 224 to the user agent 222," wherein the user agent 222 thereafter handles the credentials on the client application's behalf and communicates with the IDP 204. Fryer [0019] further establishes that the user agent 222 resides in memory 212 alongside the client application 224 (a web browser) and "may be a separate software module or may be part of the client application 224," thereby teaching a proxy associated with the message rendering environment.
Fourthly, Applicant argues that there is "no subsequent construction of a second request from that first request in which the credentials are stripped and the token substituted." In response, Fryer discloses that the user credentials terminate at the user agent 222 and that only the resulting token artifact is carried forward, such that the request transmitted to the resource server contains the token in place of the credentials ([0027]-[0029] and [0037]: "The resource request message includes the encrypted access token").
Therefore, the identified claim language is considered to be taught by the combination, and the rejection is maintained. Further, since Applicant has not argued the dependent claims, their rejections are likewise maintained.
DETAILED ACTION
This is a reply to the arguments filed on 07/15/2026, in which, claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 8, and 15 are independent.
When making claim amendments, the applicant is encouraged to consider the references in their entireties, including those portions that have not been cited by the examiner and their equivalents as they may most broadly and appropriately apply to any particular anticipated claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, 8, 12-14, 15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ospina et al. (US 20220129904 A1, referred to as Ospina), in view of Fryer et al. (US 20220217124 A1, referred to as Fryer) in further view of Craddock et al. (US 20110179362 A1, referred to as Craddock.)
In reference to claim 1, A method comprising: receiving a message sent by a sender to a user, the message including an embedded common reusable component configured to provide interactive functionality within the message and a first token associated with the user, the first token generated by the sender and specific to the user (Ospina: [0006] provides for a service system generating a push notification to send to the client device based on the third party notification. Ospina paragraph [0006] further provides for a resource identifier which serves as the claimed "first token". It is generated by the sender (the service system) and is specific to the user, as it encodes a session identifier for the user account. Ospina paragraph [0178] further provides for the client device receiving a push notification. Ospina paragraph [0064] further provides that the messages sent use security tokens to grant access to a user account. Ospina paragraph [0042] provides that the service system includes an authentication server which uses security tokens for authentication. Ospina paragraph [0060] further provides for a URI associated with the user that includes parameters such as account name, and client ID. Ospina paragraph [0189] further provides for action buttons to provide interactive functionality within the message.)
By executing code within a message rendering environment to dynamically update content displayed in the message without navigating away from the message (Ospina: [0038], [0122], [0148] and [0189] Provides for processing instructions within push notifications and updating displays without launching a separate app.)
Displaying the message and the common reusable component to the user (Ospina: [0006] provides for displaying a message and an interactive icon to a user. Ospina paragraph [0179] further provides for a graphical user interface that displays the notification information as well as the interactive icon.)
Receiving an input from the user corresponding to an interaction with the common reusable component (Ospina: [0006] provides for receiving an indication that the user interacted with the interactive icon. Ospina paragraph [0149] further provides for determining whether the user actuated the interactive elements. Ospina paragraph [0179] even further provides for determining whether the user interacted with the interactive elements.)
Generating a first request in response to the input from the user, the first request including user credentials (Ospina: [0150] provides for after input from the user, device level authentication is performed which includes password, fingerprint, etc.)
Generating a second request based on the first request; transmitting the second request to the sender (Ospina: Fig. 12 [0179] provides that after device level authentication has been performed, the authentication request is sent to the service system.)
Receiving a response to the second request, the response including one of content or confirmation of an action performed by the sender based on the second request. (Ospina: [0180]-[0181] provides for after successful authentication of the client, the client receives a confirmation message and a GUI to display to the user of acknowledgement that the transaction has been approved.)
Capturing analytics data associated with the interaction within the message and transmitting the analytics data to the sender (Ospina: [0079], [0096], 0160]-[0161] and [0151] Provides for logging and storing interaction data.)
Ospina does not explicitly disclose, obtaining a second token from an identification service separate from the sender, the second token based on the user credentials and wherein the second request includes a second token, however, Fryer discloses:
Obtaining a second token from an identification service separate from the sender, the second token based on the user credentials and Wherein the second request includes a second token (Fryer: [0028] Provides for a second token, and it's obtained from the IDP (identification service) separate form the sender based on the previously validated user credentials.) Wherein a proxy associated with the message rendering environment intercepts the first request before the first request is transmitted to the sender and requests the second token from the identification service by exchanging the user credentials from the first request for the second token (Fryer: [0019]-[0027] Provides for intermediary agent (user agent 222) that exchanges user credentials with the identity provider to obtain a token. [0019]-[0029] and [0037] further provides for wherein the user credential message 306 is generated in response to user input received at the displayed credential-collection element, and acting upon a request before it reaches the sender.)
Wherein the second request is generated by removing by the proxy the user credentials from the first request and including the second token in place of the user credentials (Fryer: [0013] and [0035] Provides for substituting raw user credentials with an encrypted token so that credentials are no longer exposed in downstream communications.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ospina, which provides a method for secure interactive messaging and authentication using tokens, with the teachings of Fryer, which introduces the concept of obtaining a second token from a separate identification service based on user credentials. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate Fryer's second token acquisition process into Ospina's authentication system to enhance the security and flexibility of the authentication process. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to implement a more robust multi-factor authentication system, reducing the risk of unauthorized access even if the initial token is compromised.
Ospina in view of Fryer does not explicitly teach wherein the common reusable component comprises a widget or module embedded in the message using a markup language that executes within the message rendering environment to enable user interaction with content provided by the sender. However, Craddock teaches: Wherein the common reusable component comprises a widget or module embedded in the message using a markup language that executes within the message rendering environment to enable user interaction with content provided by the sender (Craddock: [0043]-[0056] and [0095]-[0096] Provides for HTML/markup-based components (DIV sections with metadata) that execute within the mail user agent to enable interactive functionality.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ospina in view of Fryer, which together provide a method for secure interactive messaging with multi-token authentication through separate identification services, with the teachings of Craddock, which introduces markup language-based widgets that execute within the message rendering environment for user interaction. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate Craddock's markup-based interactive component architecture into the combined messaging and authentication system to provide standardized, portable interactive elements. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to allow reusable widget components to be embedded consistently across different messaging contexts.
In reference to claim 5, The method of claim 1, wherein the second token is also based on a device identification of a device of the user (Fryer: [0033] Provides for that the encrypted access token (second token) can be based on an identifier of the client device.)
In reference to claim 6, The method of claim 1, where in the second token is a time limited third-party token encrypted using JSON Web Encryption (JWE) (Fryer: [0034] Provides for using JWE for the encrypted access token (second token).)
In reference to claim 7, The method of claim 1, wherein generating the second request based on the first request comprises removing the user credentials from the first request (Ospina: [0150] provides that generating the second request does not include the authentication data (e.g. fingerprint) when being sent to the authentication server.)
In reference to claim 8, A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the computer-readable storage medium including instructions that when executed by a computing device, cause the computing device to: receive a message sent by a sender to a user, the message including an embedded common reusable component configured to provide interactive functionality within the message and a first token associated with the user, the first token generated by the sender and specific to the user (Ospina: [0006] provides for a service system generating a push notification to send to the client device based on the third party notification. Ospina paragraph [0006] further provides for a resource identifier which serves as the claimed "first token". It is generated by the sender (the service system) and is specific to the user, as it encodes a session identifier for the user account. Ospina paragraph [0178] further provides for the client device receiving a push notification. Ospina paragraph [0064] further provides that the messages sent use security tokens to grant access to a user account. Ospina paragraph [0042] provides that the service system includes an authentication server which uses security tokens for authentication. Ospina paragraph [0060] further provides for a URI associated with the user that includes parameters such as account name, and client ID. Ospina paragraph [0189] further provides for action buttons to provide interactive functionality within the message.)
By executing code within a message rendering environment to dynamically update content displayed in the message without navigating away from the message (Ospina: [0038], [0122], [0148] and [0189] Provides for processing instructions within push notifications and updating displays without launching a separate app.)
Display the message and the common reusable component to the user (Ospina: [0006] provides for displaying a message and an interactive icon to a user. Ospina paragraph [0179] further provides for a graphical user interface that displays the notification information as well as the interactive icon.)
Receive an input from the user corresponding to an interaction with the common reusable component (Ospina: [0006] provides for receiving an indication that the user interacted with the interactive icon. Ospina paragraph [0149] further provides for determining whether the user actuated the interactive elements. Ospina paragraph [0179] even further provides for determining whether the user interacted with the interactive elements.
Generate a first request in response to the input from the user, the first request including user credentials (Ospina: [0150] provides for after input from the user, device level authentication is performed which includes password, fingerprint, etc.)
Generate a second request based on the first request; transmitting the second request to the sender (Ospina: Fig. 12 [0179] provides that after device level authentication has been performed, the authentication request is sent to the service system.)
Receive a response to the second request, the response including one of content or confirmation of an action performed by the sender based on the second request. (Ospina: [0180]-[0181] provides for after successful authentication of the client, the client receives a confirmation message and a GUI to display to the user of acknowledgement that the transaction has been approved.)
Capturing analytics data associated with the interaction within the message and transmitting the analytics data to the sender (Ospina: [0079], [0096], 0160]-[0161] and [0151] Provides for logging and storing interaction data.)
Ospina does not explicitly disclose, obtaining a second token from an identification service separate from the sender, the second token based on the user credentials and wherein the second request includes a second token, however, Fryer discloses:
Obtaining a second token from an identification service separate from the sender, the second token based on the user credentials and Wherein the second request includes a second token (Fryer: [0028] Provides for a second token, and it's obtained from the IDP (identification service) separate form the sender based on the previously validated user credentials.) Wherein a proxy associated with the message rendering environment intercepts the first request before the first request is transmitted to the sender and requests the second token from the identification service by exchanging the user credentials from the first request for the second token (Fryer: [0019]-[0027] Provides for intermediary agent (user agent 222) that exchanges user credentials with the identity provider to obtain a token. [0019]-[0029] and [0037] further provides for wherein the user credential message 306 is generated in response to user input received at the displayed credential-collection element, and acting upon a request before it reaches the sender.)
Wherein the second request is generated by removing by the proxy the user credentials from the first request and including the second token in place of the user credentials (Fryer: [0013] and [0035] Provides for substituting raw user credentials with an encrypted token so that credentials are no longer exposed in downstream communications.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ospina, which provides a method for secure interactive messaging and authentication using tokens, with the teachings of Fryer, which introduces the concept of obtaining a second token from a separate identification service based on user credentials. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate Fryer's second token acquisition process into Ospina's authentication system to enhance the security and flexibility of the authentication process. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to implement a more robust multi-factor authentication system, reducing the risk of unauthorized access even if the initial token is compromised.
Ospina in view of Fryer does not explicitly teach wherein the common reusable component comprises a widget or module embedded in the message using a markup language that executes within the message rendering environment to enable user interaction with content provided by the sender. However, Craddock teaches: Wherein the common reusable component comprises a widget or module embedded in the message using a markup language that executes within the message rendering environment to enable user interaction with content provided by the sender (Craddock: [0043]-[0056] and [0095]-[0096] Provides for HTML/markup-based components (DIV sections with metadata) that execute within the mail user agent to enable interactive functionality.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ospina in view of Fryer, which together provide a method for secure interactive messaging with multi-token authentication through separate identification services, with the teachings of Craddock, which introduces markup language-based widgets that execute within the message rendering environment for user interaction. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate Craddock's markup-based interactive component architecture into the combined messaging and authentication system to provide standardized, portable interactive elements. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to allow reusable widget components to be embedded consistently across different messaging contexts.
In reference to claim 12, The computer-readable storage medium of claim 8, wherein the second token is also based on a device identification of the computing device of the user (Fryer: [0033] Provides for that the encrypted access token (second token) can be based on an identifier of the client device.)
In reference to claim 13, The computer-readable storage medium of claim 8, where in the second token is a time limited third party token encrypted using JSON Web Encryption (JWE). (Fryer: [0034] Provides for using JWE for the encrypted access token (second token).)
In reference to claim 14, The computer-readable storage medium of claim 8, wherein the instructions further configure the computing device to generate the second request based on the first request by removing the user credentials from the first request (Ospina: [0150] provides that generating the second request does not include the authentication data (e.g. fingerprint) when being sent to the authentication server.)
In reference to claim 15, A computing device comprising: a processor configured to: receive a message sent by a sender to a user, the message including an embedded common reusable component configured to provide interactive functionality within the message and a first token associated with the user, the first token generated by the sender and specific to the user (Ospina: [0006] provides for a service system generating a push notification to send to the client device based on the third party notification. Ospina paragraph [0006] further provides for a resource identifier which serves as the claimed "first token". It is generated by the sender (the service system) and is specific to the user, as it encodes a session identifier for the user account. Ospina paragraph [0178] further provides for the client device receiving a push notification. Ospina paragraph [0064] further provides that the messages sent use security tokens to grant access to a user account. Ospina paragraph [0042] provides that the service system includes an authentication server which uses security tokens for authentication. Ospina paragraph [0060] further provides for a URI associated with the user that includes parameters such as account name, and client ID. Ospina paragraph [0189] further provides for action buttons to provide interactive functionality within the message.)
By executing code within a message rendering environment to dynamically update content displayed in the message without navigating away from the message (Ospina: [0038], [0122], [0148] and [0189] Provides for processing instructions within push notifications and updating displays without launching a separate app.)
Display the message and the common reusable component to the user (Ospina: [0006] provides for displaying a message and an interactive icon to a user. Ospina paragraph [0179] further provides for a graphical user interface that displays the notification information as well as the interactive icon.)
Receive an input from the user corresponding to an interaction with the common reusable component (Ospina: [0006] provides for receiving an indication that the user interacted with the interactive icon. Ospina paragraph [0149] further provides for determining whether the user actuated the interactive elements. Ospina paragraph [0179] even further provides for determining whether the user interacted with the interactive elements.
Generate a first request in response to the input from the user, the first request including user credentials (Ospina: [0150] provides for after input from the user, device level authentication is performed which includes password, fingerprint, etc.)
Generate a second request based on the first request; transmitting the second request to the sender (Ospina: Fig. 12 [0179] provides that after device level authentication has been performed, the authentication request is sent to the service system.)
Receive a response to the second request, the response including one of content or confirmation of an action performed by the sender based on the second request. (Ospina: [0180]-[0181] provides for after successful authentication of the client, the client receives a confirmation message and a GUI to display to the user of acknowledgement that the transaction has been approved.)
Capturing analytics data associated with the interaction within the message and transmitting the analytics data to the sender (Ospina: [0079], [0096], 0160]-[0161] and [0151] Provides for logging and storing interaction data.)
Ospina does not explicitly disclose, obtaining a second token from an identification service separate from the sender, the second token based on the user credentials and wherein the second request includes a second token, however, Fryer discloses:
Obtaining a second token from an identification service separate from the sender, the second token based on the user credentials and Wherein the second request includes a second token (Fryer: [0028] Provides for a second token, and it's obtained from the IDP (identification service) separate form the sender based on the previously validated user credentials.) Wherein a proxy associated with the message rendering environment intercepts the first request before the first request is transmitted to the sender and requests the second token from the identification service by exchanging the user credentials from the first request for the second token (Fryer: [0019]-[0027] Provides for intermediary agent (user agent 222) that exchanges user credentials with the identity provider to obtain a token. [0019]-[0029] and [0037] further provides for wherein the user credential message 306 is generated in response to user input received at the displayed credential-collection element, and acting upon a request before it reaches the sender.)
Wherein the second request is generated by removing by the proxy the user credentials from the first request and including the second token in place of the user credentials (Fryer: [0013] and [0035] Provides for substituting raw user credentials with an encrypted token so that credentials are no longer exposed in downstream communications.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ospina, which provides a method for secure interactive messaging and authentication using tokens, with the teachings of Fryer, which introduces the concept of obtaining a second token from a separate identification service based on user credentials. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate Fryer's second token acquisition process into Ospina's authentication system to enhance the security and flexibility of the authentication process. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to implement a more robust multi-factor authentication system, reducing the risk of unauthorized access even if the initial token is compromised.
Ospina in view of Fryer does not explicitly teach wherein the common reusable component comprises a widget or module embedded in the message using a markup language that executes within the message rendering environment to enable user interaction with content provided by the sender. However, Craddock teaches: Wherein the common reusable component comprises a widget or module embedded in the message using a markup language that executes within the message rendering environment to enable user interaction with content provided by the sender (Craddock: [0043]-[0056] and [0095]-[0096] Provides for HTML/markup-based components (DIV sections with metadata) that execute within the mail user agent to enable interactive functionality.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ospina in view of Fryer, which together provide a method for secure interactive messaging with multi-token authentication through separate identification services, with the teachings of Craddock, which introduces markup language-based widgets that execute within the message rendering environment for user interaction. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate Craddock's markup-based interactive component architecture into the combined messaging and authentication system to provide standardized, portable interactive elements. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to allow reusable widget components to be embedded consistently across different messaging contexts.
In reference to claim 18, The computing device of claim 15, wherein the second token is also based on a device identification of the computing device of the user (Fryer: [0033] Provides for that the encrypted access token (second token) can be based on an identifier of the client device.)
In reference to claim 19, The computing device of claim 15, where in the second token is a time limited third party token encrypted using JSON Web Encryption (JWE). (Fryer: [0034] Provides for using JWE for the encrypted access token (second token).)
In reference to claim 20, The computing device of claim 15, wherein generating the second request based on the first request comprises removing the user credentials from the first request (Ospina: [0150] provides that generating the second request does not include the authentication data (e.g. fingerprint) when being sent to the authentication server.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ospina et al. (US 20220129904 A1, referred to as Ospina), in view of Fryer et al. (US 20220217124 A1, referred to as Fryer) in further view of Craddock et al. (US 20110179362 A1, referred to as Craddock.) in further view of Bahety (US 11463258 B2, referred to as Bahety).
In reference to claim 2, Ospina in view of Fryer discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein a service system receives a message with a common reusable component and a security token, displays the message, and responds to user interactions by generating requests that include user credentials and transmitting these requests for authentication. This system enhances security and user interaction efficiency.
Ospina in view of Fryer does not explicitly disclose the first token as an access token generated by the sender, however, Bahety discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the first token is an access token generated by the sender (Bahety: (Col. 1 Lines 25 - 58) and (Col. 2 Lines 10 - 25) provides for access tokens that are generated by a server and sent to a client. Bahety paragraph (Col. 6 Lines 27 - 45) further provides for sending a first access token to a client.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ospina in view of Fryer, which involve sending messages that include security tokens for user authentication and interaction, with the teachings of Bahety, who provides for access tokens that are generated by a server and sent to a client. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to specifically utilize access tokens as the security tokens in the system taught by Ospina in view of Fryer. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to leverage the established utility of access tokens in securely managing user access to services, thus enhancing the security framework of the system.
In reference to claim 9, Ospina in view of Fryer discloses the method of Claim 8, wherein a service system receives a message with a common reusable component and a security token, displays the message, and responds to user interactions by generating requests that include user credentials and transmitting these requests for authentication. This system enhances security and user interaction efficiency.
Ospina in view of Fryer does not explicitly disclose the first token as an access token generated by the sender, however, Bahety discloses:
The computer-readable storage medium of claim 8, wherein the first token is an access token generated by the sender (Bahety: (Col. 1 Lines 25 - 58) and (Col. 2 Lines 10 - 25) provides for access tokens that are generated by a server and sent to a client. Bahety paragraph (Col. 6 Lines 27 - 45) further provides for sending a first access token to a client.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ospina in view of Fryer, which involve sending messages that include security tokens for user authentication and interaction, with the teachings of Bahety, who provides for access tokens that are generated by a server and sent to a client. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to specifically utilize access tokens as the security tokens in the system taught by Ospina in view of Fryer. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to leverage the established utility of access tokens in securely managing user access to services, thus enhancing the security framework of the system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ospina et al. (US 20220129904 A1, referred to as Ospina), in view of Fryer et al. (US 20220217124 A1, referred to as Fryer) in further view of Craddock et al. (US 20110179362 A1, referred to as Craddock.) in further view of Amp.Dev (“Amp-Form”, referred to as Amp.Dev).
In reference to claim 3, Ospina in view of Fryer discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein a service system receives a message with a common reusable component and a security token, displays the message, and responds to user interactions by generating requests that include user credentials and transmitting these requests for authentication. This system enhances security and user interaction efficiency.
Ospina in view of Fryer does not explicitly disclose the message further includes an AMP XHR URL, and the first request and the second request include the AMP XHR URL, however, Amp.Dev discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the message further includes an AMP XHR URL, and the first request and the second request include the AMP XHR URL (Amp.Dev: “Introduction” and “Form Verification” that the amp-form extension supports forms and input fields in an AMP document, allowing both HTTP and XHR submissions. It specifically discusses the use of an XHR URL for form submissions without requiring a page reload, and its verification process involves sending form fields to a verify-xhr URL for server-side validation.) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ospina in view of Fryer, which involves secure message transmissions and user interactions, with the teachings of Amp.Dev, which provides for the integration of XHR URLs for form validation and submission without page reloads. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate XHR URLs into the system to streamline user interactions and enhance the functionality of web forms by using asynchronous validation. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to improve user experience and system responsiveness by reducing page reloads and providing immediate feedback on form submissions.
In reference to claim 10, Ospina in view of Fryer discloses the method of Claim 8, wherein a service system receives a message with a common reusable component and a security token, displays the message, and responds to user interactions by generating requests that include user credentials and transmitting these requests for authentication. This system enhances security and user interaction efficiency.
Ospina in view of Fryer does not explicitly disclose the message further includes an AMP XHR URL, and the first request and the second request include the AMP XHR URL, however, Amp.Dev discloses:
The computer-readable storage medium of claim 8, wherein the message further includes an AMP XHR URL, and the first request and the second request include the AMP XHR URL (Amp.Dev: “Introduction” and “Form Verification” that the amp-form extension supports forms and input fields in an AMP document, allowing both HTTP and XHR submissions. It specifically discusses the use of an XHR URL for form submissions without requiring a page reload, and its verification process involves sending form fields to a verify-xhr URL for server-side validation.) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ospina in view of Fryer, which involves secure message transmissions and user interactions, with the teachings of Amp.Dev, which provides for the integration of XHR URLs for form validation and submission without page reloads. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate XHR URLs into the system to streamline user interactions and enhance the functionality of web forms by using asynchronous validation. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to improve user experience and system responsiveness by reducing page reloads and providing immediate feedback on form submissions.
In reference to claim 16, Ospina in view of Fryer discloses the method of Claim 15, wherein a service system receives a message with a common reusable component and a security token, displays the message, and responds to user interactions by generating requests that include user credentials and transmitting these requests for authentication. This system enhances security and user interaction efficiency.
Ospina in view of Fryer does not explicitly disclose the message further includes an AMP XHR URL, and the first request and the second request include the AMP XHR URL, however, Amp.Dev discloses:
The computing device of claim 15, wherein the message further includes an AMP XHR URL, and the first request and the second request include the AMP XHR URL (Amp.Dev: “Introduction” and “Form Verification” that the amp-form extension supports forms and input fields in an AMP document, allowing both HTTP and XHR submissions. It specifically discusses the use of an XHR URL for form submissions without requiring a page reload, and its verification process involves sending form fields to a verify-xhr URL for server-side validation.) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ospina in view of Fryer, which involves secure message transmissions and user interactions, with the teachings of Amp.Dev, which provides for the integration of XHR URLs for form validation and submission without page reloads. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate XHR URLs into the system to streamline user interactions and enhance the functionality of web forms by using asynchronous validation. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to improve user experience and system responsiveness by reducing page reloads and providing immediate feedback on form submissions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ospina et al. (US 20220129904 A1, referred to as Ospina), in view of Fryer et al. (US 20220217124 A1, referred to as Fryer) in further view of Craddock et al. (US 20110179362 A1, referred to as Craddock.) in further view of Amp.Dev (“Amp-Form”, referred to as Amp.Dev) in even further view of Dudley et al. (US 10635792 B2, referred to as Dudley).
In reference to claim 4, Ospina in view of Fryer in further view of Amp.Dev discloses the method of Claim 3, wherein a service system receives a message including an AMP XHR URL and processes requests that incorporate this URL to enhance interactions without page reloads, based on secure and authenticated user inputs.
Ospina in view of Fryer in further view of Amp.Dev does not explicitly disclose the authentication of the AMP XHR URL, however, Dudley discloses:
The method of claim 3, further comprising authenticating the AMP XHR URL (Dudley: (Col.5 Lines 14 - 36) and (Col. 6 Lines 29 - 40) provides for an authentication code generator that utilizes a hashing algorithm to receive authentication parameters such as a user’s phone number, identifier, and timestamp to generate a unique or practically unique hashed value, which is then used by a URL generator to create a unique, parameterized URL. This URL is subsequently validated against the original authentication parameters.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ospina in view of Fryer in view of Amp.Dev, which involve managing and incorporating XHR URLs in web communications, with the teachings of Dudley, which detail the creation and validation of unique URLs based on hashed authentication parameters. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to apply Dudley’s method of URL authentication to the AMP XHR URLs used in the system taught by Ospina, Fryer, and Amp.Dev. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to ensure the security and integrity of communications, particularly when handling sensitive form data or user interactions over the web.
In reference to claim 11, Ospina in view of Fryer in further view of Amp.Dev discloses the method of Claim 10, wherein a service system receives a message including an AMP XHR URL and processes requests that incorporate this URL to enhance interactions without page reloads, based on secure and authenticated user inputs.
Ospina in view of Fryer in further view of Amp.Dev does not explicitly disclose the authentication of the AMP XHR URL, however, Dudley discloses:
The computer-readable storage medium of claim 10, wherein the instructions further configure the computing device to validate the AMP XHR URL (Dudley: (Col.5 Lines 14 - 36) and (Col. 6 Lines 29 - 40) provides for an authentication code generator that utilizes a hashing algorithm to receive authentication parameters such as a user’s phone number, identifier, and timestamp to generate a unique or practically unique hashed value, which is then used by a URL generator to create a unique, parameterized URL. This URL is subsequently validated against the original authentication parameters.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ospina in view of Fryer in view of Amp.Dev, which involve managing and incorporating XHR URLs in web communications, with the teachings of Dudley, which detail the creation and validation of unique URLs based on hashed authentication parameters. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to apply Dudley’s method of URL authentication to the AMP XHR URLs used in the system taught by Ospina, Fryer, and Amp.Dev. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to ensure the security and integrity of communications, particularly when handling sensitive form data or user interactions over the web.
In reference to claim 17, Ospina in view of Fryer in further view of Amp.Dev discloses the method of Claim 16, wherein a service system receives a message including an AMP XHR URL and processes requests that incorporate this URL to enhance interactions without page reloads, based on secure and authenticated user inputs.
Ospina in view of Fryer in further view of Amp.Dev does not explicitly disclose the authentication of the AMP XHR URL, however, Dudley discloses:
The computing device of claim 16, wherein the processor is further configured to validate
the AMP XHR URL (Dudley: (Col.5 Lines 14 - 36) and (Col. 6 Lines 29 - 40) provides for an authentication code generator that utilizes a hashing algorithm to receive authentication parameters such as a user’s phone number, identifier, and timestamp to generate a unique or practically unique hashed value, which is then used by a URL generator to create a unique, parameterized URL. This URL is subsequently validated against the original authentication parameters.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ospina in view of Fryer in view of Amp.Dev, which involve managing and incorporating XHR URLs in web communications, with the teachings of Dudley, which detail the creation and validation of unique URLs based on hashed authentication parameters. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to apply Dudley’s method of URL authentication to the AMP XHR URLs used in the system taught by Ospina, Fryer, and Amp.Dev. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to ensure the security and integrity of communications, particularly when handling sensitive form data or user interactions over the web.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.E.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2432
/Jeffrey Nickerson/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2432