DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed 12/29/2025. As directed, claims 3 and 14 have been amended and no claims have been added or canceled. Thus claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnson (2020/0179172).
Regarding claim 1, Johnson discloses a helmet comprising: a helmet shell (20); and a breathing mask assembly (40, 42, 44) connected to the helmet shell (i.e. via cables, googles), the breathing mask assembly (42, 44) comprising: a breathing mask ([0017] lines 1-18); a flexible connector (60) connecting the breathing mask (42, 44) to the helmet shell (20); and an actuator (50) mounted to the breathing mask and operatively connected to the flexible connector ([0017] lines 1-10), the actuator (50) and the flexible connector (60) being configured such that moving the actuator (50) from a first position to a second position (rotate) shortens a length of the flexible connector extending between the actuator and the helmet shell thereby moving the breathing mask closer to a rear of the helmet shell ([0018] last 6 lines), the actuator (50) moving with the breathing mask closer to the rear of the helmet shell ([0018] lines 1-15, [0019] lines 1-20).
Regarding claim 2, Johnson discloses a right end of the flexible connector (60) is connected to the helmet shell on a right side of the breathing mask (fig. 8 shows connection on the right side); a left end of the flexible connector (60) is connected to the helmet shell on a left side of the breathing mask (40) (fig. 8 shows connection on the left side); and the actuator (50) is connected to a central portion of the flexible connector (60).
Regarding claim 3, Johnson discloses the actuator (50) rotates between the first and second positions thereby winding the flexible connector about a portion of the actuator ([0018] last 6 lines).
Regarding claim 4, Johnson discloses the actuator includes a turning knob (50).
Regarding claim 19, Johnson discloses a jaw shield (i.e. front plate) connected to the helmet shell (as shown in figs. 1 and 2, a jaw plate sits between the actuator 50 and the helmet shell as shield); wherein the breathing mask is disposed behind the jaw shield (as shown, the breathing mask is within the helmet behind the shield).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson in view of Fournier et al. (6,859,946).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Johnson substantially teaches the claimed invention except for the breathing mask defines a breathing mask air inlet and at least one breathing mask air outlet, the breathing mask air inlet and the at least one breathing mask air outlet fluidly communicating with the interior of the breathing mask. wherein the breathing mask assembly further comprises: a one-way inlet valve connected to the breathing mask, the one-way inlet valve permitting air to flow into the interior of the breathing mask via the breathing mask air inlet and preventing air to flow out of the interior breathing mask via the breathing mask air inlet; and at least one one-way outlet valve connected to the breathing mask, the at least one one-way outlet valve permitting air to flow out of the interior of the breathing mask via the at least one breathing mask air outlet and preventing air to flow into the interior of the breathing mask via the at least one breathing mask air outlet. However, Fournier teaches in fig. 3 the breathing mask (200) defines a breathing mask air inlet (262) and at least one breathing mask air outlet (266), the breathing mask air inlet and the at least one breathing mask air outlet fluidly communicating with the interior of the breathing mask (col. 11 lines 59-65, col. 12 lines 1-10) wherein the breathing mask assembly further comprises: a one-way inlet valve (265) connected to the breathing mask, the one-way inlet valve permitting air to flow into the interior of the breathing mask via the breathing mask air inlet and preventing air to flow out of the interior breathing mask via the breathing mask air inlet (col. 1 1lines 50-65); and at least one one-way outlet valve (267) connected to the breathing mask, the at least one one-way outlet valve (267) permitting air to flow out of the interior of the breathing mask via the at least one breathing mask air outlet and preventing air to flow into the interior of the breathing mask via the at least one breathing mask air outlet (col. 12 lines 1-20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the mask of Johnson with check valves as taught by Fournier to provide the advantage of enhanced breathing protection for a user and humidity reduction.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-13, 16-18, and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 8 1st full paragraph that the knob of Johnson does not move with the breathing mask towards the rear, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Johnson discloses use and incorporation of the old and well known BOA FIT System ([0017] last 5 lines, https://www.boafit.com/products) which draws the front and rear parts towards one another as the cable is tightened via rotation of the knob. Thus the knob 50 at the front of the helmet of Johnson moves towards the rear as the tightening of cable 60 draws the front and rear towards each other (see [0019] lines 1-20, [0017] last line). Thus Johnson teaches this limitation as claimed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LaToya M Louis/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785