DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see amendment and remarks, filed June 11, 2026, with respect to objection of the specification have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of the specification has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed June 11, 2026 with respect to claim objections have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. Confusingly, Applicant references MPEP 608.01(g) in alleged support for persisting in failure to correct a minor informality in the claims regarding placement of a comma between the claim number and “wherein clause” in the dependent claims. MPEP 608.01(g) is only relevant to “detailed description of invention,” not construction of the claims. The comma should appear between the claim number and “wherein clause” of dependent claims 34, 47 and 65-63 at least because it clarifies the claim structure and prevents ambiguity. The comma in this position serves serval functions. The comma explicitly separates the claim number from the body of the claim; clarifies that the “wherein clause” is a separate, dependent limitation; and helps the reader distinguish between the claim number and the claim elements, which is important for both drafting and claim construction.
Applicant’s arguments, see amendment and remarks, filed June 11, 2026, with respect to rejection of claims 39, 43, 44, 46, 47 and 51 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 39, 43, 44, 46, 47 and 51 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see amendment and remarks, filed June 11, 2026, with respect to rejection of claims 39, 43, 44, 46, 47 and 51 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 39, 43, 44, 46, 47 and 51 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed June 11, 2026 with respect to prior art rejections have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. In Applicant’s remarks, Applicant replicates the language of the amendment to the independent claims, namely “a prosthetic axel pivots about a pivot axel having a first end that follows a first cam profile and a second end that follows a second cam profile,” and alleges that the claim scope is not disclosed or taught by the applied prior art. Examiner disagrees for the reasons detailed in the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(b) and 103(a) as detailed hereinbelow. Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Applicant fails to particularly point out any errors with respect to the non-statutory double patenting rejection. The non-statutory double patenting rejections is maintained hereinbelow.
Claim Objections
Claims 39, 43, 46, 47 and 56-63 are objected to because of the following informalities. With regard to dependent claims 43, 47 and 56-63 a comma should be placed between “the claim number” and “wherein” in respective lines 1 for grammatical accuracy. The comma explicitly separates the claim number from the body of the claim. Similarly, there is a comma missing from between “…a flexion axis” and “comprising imparting…” in claim 39, line 2. Similarly, there is a comma missing from between “… and a second end” and “comprising the first end following…” in claim 46 line 3. There is also a comma missing from between “component” and “wherein” in claim 39, line 3. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 39, 46 and 56-63 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Postelmans U.S. patent no. 5,611,774.
Regarding claim 39, Postelmans discloses a method fully capable of guiding a movement of a prosthetic appendage (e.g., prosthetic foot, or the like, when device is used as a knee “replacement,” i.e., rather than or as opposed to being a “support”, as described throughout- see at least col. 1, lines 36-38) relative to a prosthetic limb about a flexion axis, the method comprising imparting in the movement a deviation component (see figures; and col. 3, lines 59-65, col. 6, lines 42-45, and col. 7, lines 16-35, etc.), wherein the prosthetic appendage (e.g., prosthetic foot or the like-col. 1, lines 36-38, etc.) pivots about a pivot axel (i.e., follower shaft of undepicted guide slot with “follower shaft” described at least at col. 8, lines 42-52, etc.) having a first end that follows a first cam profile (e.g., along 29, seq. or the like) and a second end that follows a second cam profile (e.g., along 30, seq. or the like) (also see at least all figures; and col. 7, line 54, through col. 8, line 12 and 42-52; and col. 9, etc.).
Regarding claim 46, Postelmans discloses a method capable of being used for guiding a movement of a prosthetic appendage (e.g., prosthetic foot, or the like, when device is used as a knee “replacement,” i.e., rather than or opposed to being disclosed “support”, as described throughout- see at least col. 1, lines 36-38) relative to a prosthetic limb about a pivot axel (i.e., “follower shaft” of undepicted guide slot with “follower shaft” described at least at col. 8, lines 42-52, etc.) having a first end and a second end (e.g., see at least figures 16-18 with undepicted axel as described at least at col. 8, lines 42-52, etc.), the method comprising the first end following a first cam profile (e.g., along 29, seq. or the like) and the second end following a second cam profile (30, seq. or the like) that differs from the first cam profile (figures 15-18 etc.) (e.g., also see at least all figures; col. 7, line 54, through col. 8, line 12; and col. 9, etc.).
Regarding claims 56 and 57, Postelmans discloses the method further comprising ‘driving’ the pivot axel (i.e., moving the limb through the range of movement and the axel ends through the two slots- claim scope does not require powered driving or any specific driving means only that the pivot axle is “driven” or moved through its motions).
Regarding claims 58-61, Postelmans discloses the first cam profile (29, seq. or the like) and second cam profile (30, seq. or the like) is each fixed relative to the prosthetic limb (i.e., inter alia, each profile repeatedly produces the deviated rotation of the limb based on the fixed cam profiles).
Regarding claims 62 and 63, Postelmans discloses the prosthetic appendage is angled relative to the flexion axis (e.g., see at least figures, including figures 1 and 16-18, etc.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 43 and 47 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Postelmans U.S. patent no. 5,611,774, as applied above, in view of Martin U.S. publication no. 2004/0054423 or Latour U.S. publication no. 2007/0250179.
Regarding claims 43 and 47, as described supra, Postelmans discloses the invention substantially as claimed.
Postelmans is silent regarding the prosthetic appendage is a prosthetic hand substantially as claimed.
Martin and Latour each clearly demonstrate that it is within the level or ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use and configure known features of a prosthesis for either lower extremity or upper extremity applications. For example, Martin: figures and Latour: paragraphs [0010] and [0030].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the invention of Postelmans for use as an upper extremity or wrist prosthesis, since using the benefits of a known lower extremity prosthesis for an upper extremity prosthesis is within routine skill in the prosthetic arts, as taught by Martin and/or Latour.
Double Patenting
Claims 39, 43-44, 46-55 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 10,292,838. The following table shows exemplary relationship between corresponding claims.
Present Application Claim #
Related Patent Claim #
Notes
39
1 and 4
“imparting in the movement” in the present application claims corresponds with “imparting fix path motion” in the patent
43
1 and 4
More specific version of same language present
46
1, 4 and 5
More specific version of similar language present
47
1 and 4
More specific version of same language present
56-61
1, 4 and 5
More specific version of same language present
62 and 63
2 and 3
More specific version of same language present
As is readily apparent based on the claim comparison laid out above, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims are narrower than the present application claims. Species anticipates genus. See In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure. The following prior art uses first and second different cam profiles to impart complex motion including flexion and deviation components to the motion: Aoki et al. U.S. patent no. 12,433,777; Aoki et al. U.S. patent no. 11,969,372; Okada et al. U.S. publication no. 2013/0289458; Sterling 6,969,364; Rogers U.S. patent no. 5,107,824; Townsend U.S. patent no. 4,723,539; and Grafinger U.S. patent no. 7,597,716.
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARCIA L WATKINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774