DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1, 3, 5, 8, 10-13, and 16 are under examination.
Claims 6-7, 14-15, 17-21 are withdrawn.
Claims 2, 4, 9, and 22 are canceled.
Withdrawn Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The amendment(s) to the claim(s) filed September 17th, 2026 is acknowledged and the previous 35 U.S.C. 112 rejection is withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “infiltration angle between the second protective layer and the first protective layer is an obtuse angle” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 5, 8, 10-13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 8 recites the limitation "wherein the second protective layer is infiltrated into the first protective layer, and wherein an infiltration angle between the second protective layer and the first protective layer is an obtuse angle" in Lines 9-10, however the instant specification in [0072] recites “an infiltration angle between the solution of the second protective layer and the electrode changes from an acute angle (indicating poor infiltration) to an obtuse angle (indicating good infiltration)”, thereby only mentioning an infiltration angle with regards to a solution and an electrode, such that the recitation of an infiltration angle between the first/second protective layer(s) does not appear to be supported, thereby introducing new matter.
Claims 3, 5, 10-13, and 16 are rejected as they depend from claims 1 and 8.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 8, 10-13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 8 recites the limitation "wherein the second protective layer is infiltrated into the first protective layer, and wherein an infiltration angle between the second protective layer and the first protective layer is an obtuse angle" in Lines 9-10, however the instant specification in [0072] recites “an infiltration angle between the solution of the second protective layer and the electrode changes from an acute angle (indicating poor infiltration) to an obtuse angle (indicating good infiltration)”, thereby only mentioning an infiltration angle with regards to a solution and an electrode, such that it is unclear as to what the infiltration angle between the first/second protective layer(s) specifically refers, and such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that it is unclear as to what angle specifically refers (e.g., is this respect to a surface, is this between a solution an electrode, between the protection layers, a contact angle measurement property, etc.), thereby failing to point out and distinctly claim the subject matter.
The examiner will interpret the claim limitation as "wherein the second protective layer is infiltrated into the first protective layer ".
Claims 3, 5, 10-13, and 16 are rejected as they depend from claims 1 and 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 8, and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2019/0198865 (A1)), hereinafter Kim, in view of He et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2019/0393487 (A1) with Prior Filing Date of September 6th, 2018), hereinafter He, or in the alternative in view of Hu et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2017/0338522 A1), hereinafter Hu.
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Kim discloses a protective material for a negative electrode of a lithium metal battery (Abstract, [0010], [0012], [0028], [0030], [0063]-[0071], Fig. 1),
the protective material comprising: a first protective layer, wherein the first protective layer consisting essentially of Li3PO4 (i.e., at least inorganic protection layer ref. 12 may include lithium phosphate (Li3PO4) as disclosed in [0066], etc., which at least encompasses a first protective layer consisting essentially of Li3PO4);
and a second protective layer adjacent to the first protective layer (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0076] whereby an electrolyte may have a single layer structure or a multi-layer structure, etc., such as a second solid electrolyte layer ref. 24e as disclosed in [0083], such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said solid electrolyte layer is at least a second protective layer, lacking any further structural and/or chemical distinction thereof, also see Figs. 2F-H and [0081]-[0083] with regards to layer(s) adjacent to the first protective layer, etc.),
wherein the first protective layer is contiguous to a lithium metal (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0060] the second anode layer ref. 11b may include lithium metal, etc., also see Fig. 1, Fig. 3B-C, whereby as disclosed in [0063] referring to Fig. 1, the inorganic protection layer ref. 12 is substantially a pin-hole-free layer, etc., such that said layer is at least contiguous to a lithium metal so as to be adjacent and a pin-hole-free layer as shown in at least Fig. 1, etc., also see [0064]-[0066]).
With regards to claim 8, Since Kim discloses the protective material for the negative electrode of a lithium metal battery as discussed above, and further discloses in [0028] an anode includes a second anode layer disposed on the first anode layer; and an inorganic protection layer disposed on the second anode layer, etc., the claim is met, such that this at least provides a negative electrode (i.e., anode) comprising said protective material, etc., lacking any further distinction thereof (also see [0030], with regards to negative electrode (i.e., anode), etc.).
However, Kim is silent as to the second protective layer comprises at least one of an organic material or an organic-inorganic composite, and wherein the second protective layer is provided as a coating on the first protective layer. Furthermore, Kim is silent as to the second protective layer is infiltrated into the first protective layer.
He teaches a lithium metal secondary battery containing a protected lithium anode (Title). He further teaches in [0063] Fig. 2 is a schematic of a presently invented lithium metal battery cell containing an anode layer (a thin Li foil, etc.), a lithium ion-conducting material-based 1st anode-protecting layer, an elastomer-based 2nd anode-protecting layer, etc., which at least provides a second protective layer adjacent to the first protective layer (i.e., at least second protective layer is adjacent to the first protective layer as shown in Fig. 2, etc., also see Abstract, [0014]-[0015], [0020]-[0025], [0031], [0047], [0054], Fig. 2, [0063], [0070]), lacking any further chemical and/or structural distinction thereof as to said second protective layer.
He further teaches in [0033] in one or more embodiments, the elastomer in the second anode-protecting layer may form a mixture, blend, etc., with a lithium-ion conducting polymer selected from polydimethylsiloxane, etc., which at least provides the organic material comprises polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS), (also see [0124]).
He further teaches in [0015] a second anode-protecting layer may be conducted by depositing a layer of an elastomer (as discussed above) onto one primary surface of the first protective layer that in turn covers the anode active material layer, etc., which at least provides the second protective layer is provided as a coating on the first protective layer, lacking any further distinction thereof.
He further discloses in [0027] the first anode-protecting layer is preferably chemically bonded to the second anode-protecting layer or is integral with the second anode-protecting layer, and such a connection enables the first anode-protecting layer to move in a concerted manner with the second anode protecting layer when the elastomer deforms (being compressed or relaxed) during battery recharge or discharge, etc.
He further teaches in [0061] the two anode-protecting layers implemented between the anode active layer and the separator (or the electrolyte) is mainly for the purpose of reducing or eliminating the lithium metal dendrite by providing a more stable Li metal-electrolyte interface, etc., and the second anode-protecting layer being highly elastic, also can shrink or expand conformably, responsive to the thickness increase or decrease of the anode active material layer, etc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Kim with the teachings of He, whereby the protective material and the negative electrode comprising a protective material for the negative electrode of a lithium battery as disclosed by Kim further includes the second protective layer comprises at least one of an organic material or an organic-inorganic composite, and the second protective layer is provided as a coating on the first protective layer, wherein the second protective layer is infiltrated into the first protective layer as taught by He so as to reduce or eliminate the lithium metal dendrite by providing a more stable Li metal-electrolyte interface, etc., and since the second anode-protecting layer being highly elastic, also can shrink or expand conformably, responsive to the thickness increase or decrease of the anode active material layer, etc.
In the alternative, Hu teaches interfacial layers for solid-state batteries and methods of making same (Title). Hu further teaches in [0051] in another example, a gel electrolyte is infiltrated into garnet pores to create a solid-state/gel hybrid electrolyte, which can help overcome the high interfacial resistance between electrodes and solid state electrolyte, as well as boost the conductivity of the electrolyte phase altogether.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Kim and He with the teachings of Hu, whereby the protective material and the negative electrode comprising a protective material for the negative electrode of a lithium battery, the second protective layer comprises at least one of an organic material or an organic-inorganic composite, and the second protective layer is provided as a coating on the first protective layer, wherein the second protective layer is infiltrated into the first protective layer as disclosed by the combined teachings of Kim and He further includes the second protective layer is infiltrated into the first protective layer taught by Hu so as to overcome the high interfacial resistance between electrodes and solid state electrolyte, as well as boost the conductivity of the electrolyte phase altogether.
Furthermore, since the combined teachings of Kim and He (or in the alternative Hu) disclose the first/second layer with identical and/or substantially identical compositions as claimed, properties and/or functions such as protective are presumed inherent (MPEP 2112.01, I., In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), II., In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)), lacking any further structural and/or chemical distinction thereof.
Regarding claim 3 and 10, Kim discloses the protective material as discussed above in claim 1 and the negative electrode as discussed above in claim 8. However, Kim is silent as to the organic material comprises polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS).
The combined teachings of Kim and He (or in the alternative Hu) disclose the protective material as discussed above in claim 1 and the negative electrode as discussed above in claim 8. He further teaches in [0063] Fig. 2 is a schematic of a presently invented lithium metal battery cell containing an anode layer (a thin Li foil, etc.), a lithium ion-conducting material-based 1st anode-protecting layer, an elastomer-based 2nd anode-protecting layer, etc., which at least provides a second protective layer adjacent to the first protective layer (i.e., at least second protective layer is adjacent to the first protective layer as shown in Fig. 2, etc., also see Abstract, [0014]-[0015], [0020]-[0025], [0031], [0047], [0054], Fig. 2, [0063], [0070]), lacking any further chemical and/or structural distinction thereof as to said second protective layer.
He further teaches in [0033] in one or more embodiments, the elastomer in the second anode-protecting layer may form a mixture, blend, etc., with a lithium-ion conducting polymer selected from polydimethylsiloxane, etc., which at least provides the organic material comprises polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS), (also see [0124]).
He further teaches in [0061] the two anode-protecting layers implemented between the anode active layer and the separator (or the electrolyte) is mainly for the purpose of reducing or eliminating the lithium metal dendrite by providing a more stable Li metal-electrolyte interface, etc., and the second anode-protecting layer being highly elastic, also can shrink or expand conformably, responsive to the thickness increase or decrease of the anode active material layer, etc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Kim and He (or in the alternative Hu) with the teachings of He, whereby the protective material and the negative electrode comprising a protective material for the negative electrode of a lithium battery as disclosed by the combined teachings of Kim and He (or alternative Hu) further includes the organic material comprises polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) as taught by He so as to reduce or eliminate the lithium metal dendrite by providing a more stable Li metal-electrolyte interface, etc., and since the second anode-protecting layer being highly elastic, also can shrink or expand conformably, responsive to the thickness increase or decrease of the anode active material layer, etc.
Regarding claims 5 and 11, Kim discloses the protective material for a negative electrode of a lithium metal battery as discussed above in claim 1 and the negative electrode as discussed above in claim 8. Kim further discloses in [0069] a thickness of the inorganic protection layer ref. 12 may be about 100 nm or less, etc., which is a range that overlaps the claimed range of the first protective layer has a thickness of 10 nanometers to 150 nanometers, thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05, I.).
However, Kim is silent as to a thickness of the protective material for a negative electrode is 0.02 microns to 200 microns.
The combined teachings of Kim and He (or in the alternative Hu) disclose the protective material as discussed above in claim 1 and the negative electrode as discussed above in claim 8. He further teaches in [0070]a first anode-protecting layer having a thickness from 1 nm to 100 µm, etc., and a second anode-protecting layer, in contact with the first protecting layer having a thickness from 1 nm to 100 µm and comprising an elastomer, etc., such that since He teaches a first/second anode-protecting layers with thickness ranges of 1 nm to 100 µm, this provides a total thickness range of 2 nm to 200 µm, which is a range that overlaps the claimed range of a thickness of the protective material for a negative electrode is 0.02 microns to 200 microns, thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05, I.).
He further teaches in [0061] the two anode-protecting layers implemented between the anode active layer and the separator (or the electrolyte) is mainly for the purpose of reducing or eliminating the lithium metal dendrite by providing a more stable Li metal-electrolyte interface, etc., and the second anode-protecting layer being highly elastic, also can shrink or expand conformably, responsive to the thickness increase or decrease of the anode active material layer, etc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Kim and He (or the alternative Hu) with the teachings of He, whereby the protective material and the negative electrode comprising a protective material for the negative electrode of a lithium battery as disclosed by the combined teachings of Kim and He (or alternative Hu) further includes the a thickness of the protective material for a negative electrode as taught by He so as to reduce or eliminate the lithium metal dendrite by providing a more stable Li metal-electrolyte interface, etc., and since the second anode-protecting layer being highly elastic, also can shrink or expand conformably, responsive to the thickness increase or decrease of the anode active material layer, etc.
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses the negative electrode as discussed above in claim 8. Kim further discloses in [0065] a lithium battery including the anode ref. 20 including the inorganic protection layer ref. 12, etc., which at least provides an electrochemical apparatus, comprising the negative electrode according to claim 8, such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that a lithium battery including said negative electrode is at least an electrochemical apparatus, lacking any further distinction thereof (also see [0067], [0073]-[0074], Fig. 2A, [0133]-[0134]).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses the electrochemical apparatus as discussed above in claim 12. Kim further discloses in [0132] a battery module including a lithium battery may be formed, a plurality of the lithium batteries or battery modules may be stacked to form a battery pack, which may be used in any suitable device, etc., such a laptop computer, a smart phone, or an electric vehicle, etc., which at least provides an electronic device, comprising the electrochemical apparatus according to claim 12, and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and He (or alternative Hu) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Subbaraman et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2018/0358659 (A1)), hereinafter Subbaraman.
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses the protective material as discussed above in claim 1. However, Kim is silent as to the organic-inorganic composite comprises a composite of Al2O3 and polyethylene oxide.
The combined teachings of Kim and He (or alternative Hu) disclose the protective material as discussed above in claim 1. Subbaraman teaches in [0015] in the example of Fig. 1, a second ad-layer ref. 125 is, for example, disposed on or formed over the first ad-layer ref. 120, etc., whereby the second ad-layer ref. 125 may act as a protective and/or sealant layer over the first ad-layer ref. 120 thereby forming a barrier to dendrite propagation through the battery cell ref. 100, such that the second ad-layer ref. 125 includes materials which are ionically conductive to lithium ions while reducing or preventing undesired species from reaching the first ad-layer ref. 120 and/or the anode current collector ref. 110, whereby materials for the second ad-layer ref. 125 include, but are not limited to, a metal oxide derivative (e.g., aluminum oxide, Al2O3), etc., and/or a conducting polymer (e.g., polyethylene oxide (PEO)), and combinations thereof, etc., which at least provides an organic-inorganic composite comprises a composite of Al2O3 and polyethylene oxide, lacking any further distinction thereof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Kim and He (or alternative Hu) with the teachings of Subbaraman, whereby the protective material including the first/second protective layer(s), etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Kim and He (or alternative Hu) further includes the second protective layer comprises an organic-inorganic composite that comprises a composite of Al2O3 and polyethylene oxide (i.e., at least second ad-layer including Al2O3 and polyethylene oxide) as taught by Subbaraman so as to form a barrier to dendrite propagation through the battery cell, whereby the second ad-layer includes materials which are ionically conductive to lithium ions while reducing or preventing undesired species from reaching the first ad-layer and/or the anode current collector, etc.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 8, 10-13 and 22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Kim and He have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues Page 8, “Kim was previously cited. A previous claim set was rejected based on Kim, based on the assertion that Kim provided a first and second protection layer. Applicant noted that Kim provided a single inorganic protection layer (e.g. a lithium phosphate layer), that the apparent interpretation from the Office was that part of the electrolyte was the "second protective layer," and that this appeared to be reading an essential characteristic of the layer out of the claims, because there was no indication that the electrolyte was "protective" of anything.” Applicant further argues Page 8, “In support of Applicant's arguments to this effect, Applicant had also amended the claims in order to provide that the second protective layer was at least one of an organic material or an organic-inorganic composite, and that the second protective layer is provided as a coating on the first protective layer. Applicant noted that this would be inconsistent even with an interpretation in which "protective" could be read out of the claims, as was proposed; for example, if a "layer" was being mapped to the electrolyte as a whole, or perhaps some arbitrary portion of the electrolyte that happened to be in contact with Kim's protective layer, it would not be (for example) a solid organic-inorganic composite. Applicant noted that this would also appear to be inconsistent with interpretations such as (for example) Kim's actual protective layer being instead mapped to the "second protective layer," with something internal to Kim becoming the "first protective layer" (e.g. the anode layer or one of the anode layers, in an embodiment where there are multiple).”
The examiner respectfully disagrees, whereby as put forth in the current 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of record, the skilled artisan would appreciate the combined teachings of Kim and He, whereby the protective material and the negative electrode comprising a protective material for the negative electrode of a lithium battery as disclosed by Kim further includes the second protective layer comprises at least one of an organic material or an organic-inorganic composite, and the second protective layer is provided as a coating on the first protective layer, wherein the second protective layer is infiltrated into the first protective layer as taught by He so as to reduce or eliminate the lithium metal dendrite by providing a more stable Li metal-electrolyte interface, etc., and since the second anode-protecting layer being highly elastic, also can shrink or expand conformably, responsive to the thickness increase or decrease of the anode active material layer, etc.
Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate the combined teachings of Kim and He (or in the alternative Hu), whereby the protective material and the negative electrode comprising a protective material for the negative electrode of a lithium battery, the second protective layer comprises at least one of an organic material or an organic-inorganic composite, and the second protective layer is provided as a coating on the first protective layer, wherein the second protective layer is infiltrated into the first protective layer as disclosed by the combined teachings of Kim and He further includes the second protective layer is infiltrated into the first protective layer taught by Hu so as to overcome the high interfacial resistance between electrodes and solid state electrolyte, as well as boost the conductivity of the electrolyte phase altogether.
As to applicants’ arguments regarding …”no indication that the electrolyte was "protective" of anything.””, since the combined teachings of Kim and He (or in the alternative Hu) disclose the first/second layer with identical and/or substantially identical compositions as claimed, properties and/or functions such as protective are presumed inherent (MPEP 2112.01, I., In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), II., In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)), lacking any further structural and/or chemical distinction thereof.
Therefore, in response to applicant's argument that “there was no indication that the electrolyte was "protective" of anything.””, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Applicant further argues Page 9, “Since neither reference discloses an electrolyte that is an elastomer, and since an elastomer is not in any sense an art-recognized equivalent for an electrolyte, the requirements of KSR have not been met. A person of ordinary skill in the art would not have any reasonable expectation of success in making this proposed substitution, and it very clearly would change the operating principles of Kim to apply this modification. There is no evidence that a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to perform such changes and redesign. Further, as was previously noted by Applicant, even if either of the references taught that elastomer was some sort of equivalent substitute for an electrolyte - which, as noted above, is logically untenable - the substitution would still be unjustified, because the articulated motivation to combine the references is based on addressing a problem that is not present in Kim. The existing inorganic layer 12 of Kim already suppresses dendrites (e.g. [0067] of Kim) and Kim already indicates that its multiple anode layers may be used in order to suppress expansion and contraction issues ([0056] of Kim), so there doesn't seem to be anything other than hindsight justifying the combination.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees, whereby as put forth in the current 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of record, and in response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Furthermore, in response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). Therefore the examiner asserts that the skilled artisan would appreciate modifying Kim with the teachings of He (or in the alternative Hu) with proper motivation, whereby the protective material and the negative electrode comprising a protective material for the negative electrode of a lithium battery as disclosed by Kim further includes the second protective layer comprises at least one of an organic material or an organic-inorganic composite, and the second protective layer is provided as a coating on the first protective layer, wherein the second protective layer is infiltrated into the first protective layer as taught by He so as to reduce or eliminate the lithium metal dendrite by providing a more stable Li metal-electrolyte interface, etc., and since the second anode-protecting layer being highly elastic, also can shrink or expand conformably, responsive to the thickness increase or decrease of the anode active material layer, etc.
Furthermore, since the combined teachings of Kim and He (or in the alternative Hu) disclose the first/second layer with identical and/or substantially identical compositions as claimed, properties and/or functions such as protective are presumed inherent (MPEP 2112.01, I., In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), II., In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)), lacking any further structural and/or chemical distinction thereof.
Applicant further argues Page 10, “Applicant had also added claim 22, a dependent claim providing that the second protective layer was infiltrated into the first protective layer. The Office Action rejects this based on He, on the grounds that He states the first anode-protecting layer is "preferably chemically bonded to the second anode-protecting layer or is integral with the second anode-protecting layer." Applicant notes that there is a meaningful distinction between being "chemically bonded to" or "integral with" another layer versus being "infiltrated into" that layer. The term "infiltrated" requires that material from the second layer penetrates into the structure of the first layer, creating an interpenetrating or permeating relationship. For example, a definition of "infiltration" that would be understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art would be that one substance (typically a liquid or gas) penetrates or permeates the pores, cracks, or void spaces of another substance (typically a solid) in order to physically move into those pores, cracks, or void spaces. 3 In contrast, He's teaching of chemical bonding or being integral means that the layers are bonded or connected at an interface, and never indicates that the layers are infiltrated into one another. Chemical bonding is a separate process from infiltration, whereby atoms are caused to be held together in a chemical compound, and would be understood as such.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees, whereby as put forth in the current 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of record, the skilled artisan would appreciate the combined teachings of Kim and He, whereby the protective material and the negative electrode comprising a protective material for the negative electrode of a lithium battery as disclosed by Kim further includes the second protective layer comprises at least one of an organic material or an organic-inorganic composite, and the second protective layer is provided as a coating on the first protective layer, wherein the second protective layer is infiltrated into the first protective layer as taught by He so as to reduce or eliminate the lithium metal dendrite by providing a more stable Li metal-electrolyte interface, etc., and since the second anode-protecting layer being highly elastic, also can shrink or expand conformably, responsive to the thickness increase or decrease of the anode active material layer, etc.
Therefore, the examiner asserts that the skilled artisan would appreciate that since He discloses the first anode-protecting layer is integral with the second anode-protecting layer, and such a connection enables the first anode-protecting layer to move in a concerted manner with the second anode protecting layer when the elastomer deforms (being compressed or relaxed) during battery recharge or discharge, etc., that this at least provides a second protective layer is infiltrated into the first protective layer so as to be integral with one another, and lacking any further structural and/or chemical distinction thereof.
Therefore, in response to applicant's argument that “Chemical bonding is a separate process from infiltration”, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate the combined teachings of Kim and He (or in the alternative Hu), whereby the protective material and the negative electrode comprising a protective material for the negative electrode of a lithium battery, the second protective layer comprises at least one of an organic material or an organic-inorganic composite, and the second protective layer is provided as a coating on the first protective layer, wherein the second protective layer is infiltrated into the first protective layer as disclosed by the combined teachings of Kim and He further includes the second protective layer is infiltrated into the first protective layer taught by Hu so as to overcome the high interfacial resistance between electrodes and solid state electrolyte, as well as boost the conductivity of the electrolyte phase altogether.
Therefore, the examiner asserts that is known in the art to combine layer(s) with one layer infiltrating the other as discussed above in the current 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of record so as to overcome the high interfacial resistance between electrodes and solid state electrolyte, as well as boost the conductivity of the electrolyte phase altogether.
Furthermore, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., process of infiltration) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wohrle et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2017/0229712 (A1)) discloses superhydrophobic, nanostructured protective layer for rechargeable lithium battery cells having a metal lithium anode (Title), whereby as disclosed in [0033] FIG. 8 shows a further variant of a layer composite having a superhydrophobic, nanostructured protective layer embedded between two separator layers between a second electrode and a first electrode.
/JOSHUA P MCCLURE/Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727