DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 16, 17, and dependents have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of copending Application No. 17/952,646 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claim encompasses all of the limitations of the instant claim. Since all of the positively recited elements are present in the reference claim, it is considered to have the same properties.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 13, 16, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bendimerad (US 2017/0117538 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 5, 8-10, and 19, Bendimerad discloses a composition comprising: a silicon core encapsulated by a carbon shell (paragraph 32). Bendimerad discloses that the carbon shell is less than 5 wt. % of the silicon core (paragraph 36). Bendimerad discloses that its surface area is less than 200 m2/g (paragraph 39). Bendimerad discloses that the carbon shell is polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP) decomposed into 4-15% carbon (paragraph 41). Bendimerad discloses that the carbon material comprises soft carbon, hard carbon, graphite, graphene, carbon nanotubes (paragraph 36) and that the polymer is PVP which are the same materials presented in the instant application as the polymer and carbon material; it therefore has the same properties. See MPEP 2112 I.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, since Bendimerad discloses the elements claims, it possesses the same properties. See MPEP 2112 I.
Regarding claim 4, Bendimerad disclose that the polymer is PVP and thus has the claimed weight.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Bendimerad discloses that the silicon contains Si-O and Si-C bonds (paragraph 37).
Regarding claim 13, Bendimerad discloses that the silicon is 1-5 microns in diameter (paragraph 44).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, Bendimerad discloses an apparatus comprising: a battery with anode, cathode, and separator (paragraph 5), wherein the anode comprises composition comprising a silicon core encapsulated by a carbon shell (paragraph 32). Bendimerad discloses that the carbon shell is less than 5 wt. % of the silicon core (paragraph 36). Bendimerad discloses that its surface area is less than 200 m2/g (paragraph 39). Bendimerad discloses that the carbon shell is polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP) decomposed into 4-15% carbon (paragraph 41). Bendimerad discloses that the carbon material comprises soft carbon, hard carbon, graphite, graphene, carbon nanotubes (paragraph 36) and that the polymer is PVP which are the same materials presented in the instant application as the polymer and carbon material; it therefore has the same properties. See MPEP 2112 I.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bendimerad as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Horikoshi (US 2017/0288218 A1).
Bendimerad discloses the use of carbon nanotubes but not their dimensions. Horikoshi—in an invention for an electrode composition—discloses the use of carbon nanotubes that are 5 to 100 nm in diameter with a length to dimeter ratio of 10 or more so as to optimize the number of nanotubes per unit weight (paragraph 35). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to utilize the size ranges claimed in Bendimerad so as to maximize the conductive network as suggested by Horikoshi.
Conclusion
/IMRAN AKRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725