DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-11, 13, 14, 16, and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection necessitated by amendment does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11, 13, 14, 16, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhamu (US 2010/0143798 A1). Haon (US 2017/0320744 A1) is used as evidentiary support in claim 14.
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Zhamu discloses a composition comprising silicon-based nanocomposite solid particles, wherein the nanocomposite particles comprise: an active material, nano graphene platelets (NGPs), and a protective matrix (paragraph 99). Zhamu discloses that the active material is silicon (paragraph 79), NGPs are made of carbon because they are graphene, and that the protective matrix is a polymeric carbon (paragraph 71). Since Zhamu discloses the elements claims, it possesses the same properties. See MPEP 2112 I. Zhamu discloses that the NGP layer is 1 to 100 nm thick (paragraph 76).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, since Zhamu discloses the elements claims, it possesses the same properties. See MPEP 2112 I.
Regarding claims 4, 5, and 19, Zhamu discloses that the polymer is epoxy resin (paragraph 7), polyacrylonitrile (paragraph 10), and polyaniline (paragraph 71).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Zhamu discloses substoichiometric SiOx and SiO2 (paragraph 106).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Zhamu discloses that the NGPs occupy a weight fraction of 1-90% total nanocomposite weight (paragraph 99).
Regarding claim 11, Zhamu discloses that the NGPs contain CNTs (paragraph 67) from a few nanometers to the micrometer range (paragraph 106).
Regarding claim 13, Zhamu discloses that the particles are 1-20 microns in diameter (paragraph 73).
Regarding claim 14, Zhamu does not disclose the specific surface area of the particles though we do know that they are of the same dimensions based on the rejections above. Zhamu also discloses measuring specific surface area via BET (paragraph 128). Hoan discloses that the BET measures that the specific surface area of such-dimensioned particles is 1-100 m2/g (paragraph 40).
Regarding claim 16 and 17, Haon discloses an apparatus comprising: a negative electrode and a positive electrode (paragraph 1), an electrode comprising silicon-based nanocomposite solid particles, wherein the nanocomposite particles comprise: an active material, nano graphene platelets (NGPs), and a protective matrix (paragraph 99). Zhamu discloses that the active material is silicon (paragraph 79), NGPs are made of carbon because they are graphene, and that the protective matrix is a polymeric carbon (paragraph 71). Since Zhamu discloses the elements claims, it possesses the same properties. See MPEP 2112 I. Zhamu discloses that the NGP layer is 1 to 100 nm thick (paragraph 76).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IMRAN AKRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725