Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions Applicant’s election without traverse of group I in the reply filed on 01/12/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 17-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/30/2022 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Status Claims 1-19 are pending with claims 1-16 being examined, claims 17-19 are deemed withdrawn. Claim Objections Claim s 1-16 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims are missing status identifiers; (Original), (Amended). (Previously presented), (Canceled). Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . Claim s 1-3, 10 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rakow et al (US 20080063575 A1; hereinafter “ Rakow ”), in view of Beiermann et al. (US 20200179903 A1; hereinafter “ Beiermann ”). Regarding claim 1 , Rakow teaches an ammonia sensor ( Rakow ; [0004] “the above mentioned sensor or indicator”) comprising: at least one thermal indicator component independently selected from an electronic thermal sensor, an irreversible temperature indicator, and a heat-shrinkable film ( Rakow ; Abstract) “thin-film multilayer whose optical thickness changes in presence of vapor”); an acid-functional porous sorbent is in thermal contact with the at least one thermal indicator component ( Rakow ; [0054] “the sorbent media is porous and may be in the form of a powder or porous solid wherein some of the preferred materials are clay and other minerals treated with acidic solutions”). Rakow fails to teach the ammonia sensor comprises an acid having a boiling point above 120 °C and a pKa of no greater than 2.5, wherein the acid is impregnated in or covalently attached to the porous sorbent . However; Beiermann teaches the analogous art of a sorbent that provides filtration of ammonia ( Beiermann ; [0056] “sorbent that provides filtration of ammonia”) wherein the sorbent includes an acid ( Beiermann ; [0078]) wherein the acid having a boiling point above 120 °C and a pKa of no greater than 2.5, wherein the acid is impregnated in or covalently attached to the porous sorbent . Beiermann teaches the porous material can be formed by mixing an aqueous metal silicate with sulfuric acid ( Beiermann ; [0078]). It is well known in the art that sulfuric acid has a boiling point of 337°C and a pKa of -3 and a second pKa of 1.99). To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Rakow’s ammonia sensor to include an acid having a boiling point above 120 °C and a pKa of no greater than 2.5, wherein the acid is impregnated in or covalently attached to the porous sorbent as taught by Beiermann because Beiermann teaches a sorbent that provides filtration of ammonia ( Beiermann ; [0056] “sorbent that provides filtration of ammonia” ) wherein the sorbent includes an acid ( Beiermann ; [0078]) wherein the acid having a boiling point above 120 °C and a pKa of no greater than 2.5, wherein the acid is impregnated in or covalently attached to the porous sorbent. Beiermann teaches the porous material can be formed by mixing an aqueous metal silicate with sulfuric acid ( Beiermann ; [0078]). The modification allows to precipitate the sodium salt bringing the mixture to an alkaline pH ( Beiermann ; [0078]). Regarding claim 2 , modified Rakow teaches the ammonia sensor of claim 1 (see above) to include an acid (see above). Modified Rakow fails to teach the acid is an acid compound impregnant or a covalently bonded acid moiety, wherein the acid compound comprises trichloroacetic acid, sulfuric acid, phosphoric acid, methanesulfonic acid, methanephosphonic acid, benzene sulfonic acid, toluene sulfonic acid, or a combination thereof, and wherein the acid moiety is selected from sulfonic acid (-SO 3 H) groups or phosphonic acid (- P0 3 H 2 ) groups. However; Beiermann teaches the analogous art of a sorbent that provides filtration of ammonia ( Beiermann ; [0056] “sorbent that provides filtration of ammonia”) that includes an acid ( Beiermann ; [0078]), wherein the acid is an acid compound impregnant ( Beiermann ; [0078] “the porous material can be formed by mixing an aqueous metal silicate with sulfuric acid”), wherein the acid compound comprises sulfuric acid ( Beiermann ; [0078]). To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Rakow’s acid to be an acid compound impregnant, wherein the acid compound comprises sulfuric acid as taught by Beiermann because Beiermann teaches a sorbent that provides filtration of ammonia ( Beiermann ; [0056] “sorbent that provides filtration of ammonia”) that includes an acid ( Beiermann ; [0078]), wherein the acid is an acid compound impregnant ( Beiermann ; [0078] “the porous material can be formed by mixing an aqueous metal silicate with sulfuric acid”), wherein the acid compound comprises sulfuric acid ( Beiermann ; [0078]). The modification allows for the formation of the solid product (sorbent). Regarding claim 3 , modified Rakow teaches the ammonia sensor of claim 2 (see above) , wherein the acid compound comprises sulfuric acid , phosphoric acid, methanesulfonic acid, methanephosphonic acid, benzene sulfonic acid, toluene sulfonic acid, or a combination thereof, and wherein the acid moiety is selected from sulfonic acid (-SO 3 H) groups or phosphonic acid (-P0 3 H 2 ) groups. The acid compound comprising sulfuric acid was discussed in claim 2 above. Regarding claim 10 , modified Rakow teaches the ammonia sensor of claim 1 (see above), wherein the heat-shrinkable film is present ( Rakow ; Abstract “thin-film multilayer whose optical thickness changes in presence of vapor”). Regarding claim 12 , modified Rakow teaches the ammonia sensor of claim 1 (see above), wherein the acid-functional porous sorbent comprises activated carbon, porous silica, porous organic polymer, or combinations thereof ( Rakow ; [0050] “sorbent material e.g. activated carbon”). Regarding claim 13 , modified Rakow teaches the ammonia sensor of claim 1 (see above) to include a heat-shrinkable film (see above). Modified Rakow does not explicitly teach the heat-shrinkable film is present and the acid- functional porous sorbent is present in an amount of 10 gsm to 1000 gsm of an area of the sensor on which the sorbent is disposed. However, without some statement of criticality or showing of unexpected results, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the invention it would have been obvious to have the heat-shrinkable film present and the acid-functional porous sorbent present in an amount of 10 gsm to 1000 gsm of an area of the sensor on which the sorbent is disposed in order to provide a visible optical thickness changes in presence of vapor. Regarding claim 14 , modified Rakow teaches the ammonia sensor of claim 1 (see above) to include acid compounds impregnated within the porous sorbent (see above). Modified Rakow does not explicitly to teach wherein the acid is present in an amount of 5 wt.% to 80 wt.%. based on the total weight of the acid-functional porous sorbent. However, without some statement of criticality or showing of unexpected results, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the invention it would have been obvious to determine through mathematical experimentation an optimal concentration of the acid based on the total weight of the acid-functional porous sorbent. Regarding claim 15 , modified Rakow teaches the ammonia sensor of claim 1 (see above) to include sulfuric acid (see above). It is well known in the art that sulfuric acid contains two hydroxyl (-OH) and two OXO groups that can act as moieties which would allow the acid to attached to the porous sorbent. Modified Rakow does not explicitly teach wherein the acid is present in an amount of 0.5 mmole to 5.5 mmole of acid moieties per gram of acid-functional porous sorbent. It would have been obvious to determine through mathematical experimentation an optimal concentration of the acid (sulfuric acid that contains to groups that can act as moieties) based on the total weight of the acid-functional porous sorbent. Regarding claim 16 , modified Rakow teaches the ammonia sensor of claim 1 (see above), wherein the acid-functional porous sorbent is adhered to the at least one thermal indicator component ( Rakow ; [0027). Claims 4-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rakow et al (US 20080063575 A1; hereinafter “ Rakow ”), in view of Beiermann et al. (US 20200179903 A1; hereinafter “ Beiermann ”), further in view of Hui (US 20020122744 A1; hereinafter “Hui”). Regarding claim 4 , modified Rakow teaches the ammonia sensor of claim 1 (see above) to include a sensor (see above). Modified Rakow fails to teach the sensor is an electronic thermal sensor and wherein the electronic thermal sensor is present and comprises at least one of a thermocouple, a resistor, a capacitor, an inductor, or an electronic circuit that changes when exposed to a specific minimum elevated temperature. However, Hui teaches the analogous art of an apparatus for monitoring a gas (Hui; Title) that includes a sensor (Hui; [0023] “ temperature probe 16 can be a thermistor or a temperature sensor”), wherein the sensor is an electronic thermal sensor and wherein the electronic thermal sensor is present and comprises at least one of a thermocouple (Hui; [0023] “temperature probe 16 is a thermocouple”). To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Rakow’s sensor to be an electronic thermal sensor and wherein the electronic thermal sensor is present and comprises at least one of a thermocouple as taught by Hui because Hui teaches an apparatus for monitoring a gas (Hui; Title) that includes a sensor (Hui; [0023] “ temperature probe 16 can be a thermistor or a temperature sensor”), wherein the sensor is an electronic thermal sensor and wherein the electronic thermal sensor is present and comprises at least one of a thermocouple (Hui; [0023] “temperature probe 16 is a thermocouple”). The modification allows for the thermocouple to produce a temperature-dependent voltage. Regarding claim 5 , modified Rakow teaches the ammonia sensor of claim 4 (see above), wherein the electronic thermal sensor is present and comprises a thermocouple . The limitation was discussed in claim 4 above. Regarding claim 6 , modified Rakow teaches the ammonia sensor of claim 3 (see above) to include an electronic thermal sensor (see above). Modified Rakow fails to teach wherein the electronic thermal sensor is present and comprises an electronic circuit that that changes when exposed to a specific minimum elevated temperature. However, Hui teaches the analogous art of an apparatus for monitoring a gas (Hui; Title) that includes a sensor (Hui; [0023] “ temperature probe 16 can be a thermistor or a temperature sensor”) wherein the electronic thermal sensor is present and comprises an electronic circuit (Hui; [0052] “thermocouple junctions require a sensing circuit”) that changes when exposed to a specific minimum elevated temperature (Hui; [0052] “to monitor the vapor”, implying the electronic circuit connected to the probe 16 (fig. 3A. 16) may exhibit changes in temperature). To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Rakow’s electronic thermal sensor to include an electronic circuit that that changes when exposed to a specific minimum elevated temperature as taught by Hui because Hui teaches an apparatus for monitoring a gas (Hui; Title) that includes a sensor (Hui; [0023] “ temperature probe 16 can be a thermistor or a temperature sensor”) wherein the electronic thermal sensor is present and comprises an electronic circuit (Hui; [0052] “thermocouple junctions require a sensing circuit”) that changes when exposed to a specific minimum elevated temperature (Hui; [0052] “to monitor the vapor”, implying the electronic circuit connected to the probe 16 (fig. 3A. 16) may exhibit changes in temperature). The modification allows to convert temperature reading into an electrical signal. Regarding claim 8 , modified Rakow teaches the ammonia sensor of claim 3 (see above) to include an electronic thermal sensor (see above). Modified Rakow fails to teach wherein the electronic thermal sensor is present and comprises at least one of a resistor, a capacitor, or an inductor . However, Hui teaches the analogous art of an apparatus for monitoring a gas (Hui; Title) that includes a sensor (Hui; [0023] “ temperature probe 16 can be a thermistor or a temperature sensor”) wherein the electronic thermal sensor is present and comprises at least one of a resistor, a capacitor, or an inductor (Hui; [0023] “temperature probe 16 can be a resistance”). To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Rakow’s electronic thermal sensor to wherein the electronic thermal sensor is present and comprises at least one of a resistor as taught by Hui because Hui teaches an apparatus for monitoring a gas (Hui; Title) that includes a sensor (Hui; [0023] “ temperature probe 16 can be a thermistor or a temperature sensor”) wherein the electronic thermal sensor is present and comprises at least one of a resistor, a capacitor, or an inductor (Hui; [0023] “temperature probe 16 can be a resistance”). The modification allows the sensor to measure temperature changes . Claims 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rakow et al (US 20080063575 A1; hereinafter “ Rakow ”), in view of Beiermann et al. (US 20200179903 A1; hereinafter “ Beiermann ”) further in view of Oda (US 20190302018 A1; hereinafter “Oda”). Regarding claim 7 , modified Rakow teaches the ammonia sensor of claim 3 (see above) to include an electronic thermal sensor (see above). Modified Rakow wherein the electronic thermal sensor is present and comprises an RFID tag. However, Oda teaches the analogous art of an apparatus that includes a sensor (Oda; fig. 1. 10, and [0007]) that includes a dye plate with thermosensitive material (Oda; fig. 1. 30, and [ 0041]) wherein when the sensor is present and comprises an RFID tag (Oda; fig. 1. 200). To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify modified Rakow’s electronic thermal sensor wherein the electronic thermal sensor is present and comprises an RFID tag as taught by Oda because Oda teaches an apparatus that includes a sensor (Oda; fig. 1. 10, and [0007]) that includes a dye plate with thermosensitive material (Oda; fig. 1. 30, and [ 0041]) wherein when the sensor is present and comprises an RFID tag (Oda; fig. 1. 200). The modification allows to monitor the sensor data remotely. Regarding claim 11 , modified Rakow teaches t he ammonia sensor of claim 1 (see above) to include a thermal indicator (see above). Modified Rakow fails to teach wherein the irreversible temperature indicator is present and comprises a thermochromic dye. However, Oda teaches the analogous art of an apparatus that includes a sensor (Oda; [0007]) that includes a dye and an irreversible thermosensitive material (Oda; fig. 1. 30) wherein the thermosensitive material includes a dye (Oda; [0041] “thermosensitive material includes a thermochromic dye”). To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Rakow’s thermal indicator wherein the irreversible temperature indicator is present and comprises a thermochromic dye as taught by Oda because Oda teaches an apparatus that includes a sensor (Oda; [0007]) that includes a dye and an irreversible thermosensitive material (Oda; fig. 1. 30) wherein the thermosensitive material includes a dye (Oda; [0041] “thermosensitive material includes a thermochromic dye”). The modification allows to monitor temperature and provide visual evidence of attained temperature. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rakow et al (US 20080063575 A1; hereinafter “ Rakow ”), in view of Beiermann et al. (US 20200179903 A1; hereinafter “ Beiermann ”) further in view of Petric (Ammonia Concentration Monitoring Using Arduino Platform; hereinafter “ Petric ”). Regarding claim 9 , modified Rakow teaches the ammonia sensor of claim 1 (see above) to include a sensor (see above). Rakow fails to teach a sensor which detects ammonia at a concentration of 300 parts per million (ppm) or greater in a gas. However, Petric teaches the analogous art of a sensor ( Petric ; page 23, section 2.1, line MQ-137 sensor) which determines ammonia in the air ( Petric ; pages 23-24, section 2.2 lines 1-5 “sensor determines ammonia concentration in the air”), and which detects ammonia at a concentration of 300 parts per million (ppm) or greater in a gas ( Petric ; page 25, section 3, line 4). To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Rakow’s sensor to which detects ammonia at a concentration of 300 parts per million (ppm) or greater in a gas as taught by Petric because Petric teaches a sensor ( Petric ; page 23, section 2.1, line MQ-137 sensor) which determines ammonia in the air ( Petric ; pages 23-24, section 2.2 lines 1-5 “sensor determines ammonia concentration in the air”), and which detects ammonia at a concentration of 300 parts per million (ppm) or greater in a gas ( Petric ; page 25, section 3, line 4). The modification allows to measurer ammonia at critical levels. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT ALEX RAMIREZ whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-9756 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday - Friday 8:00 - 5:00 . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Charles Capozzi can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 270-3638 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /A.R./ Examiner, Art Unit 1798 /CHARLES CAPOZZI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798