Specification
The specification and drawings have been reviewed and no clear informalities or objections have been noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-12 and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yuasa (US 2014/0315071) and Suzuki (US 2012/0148911).
Regarding claims 1, 7, 9 and 15, Yuasa discloses a first housing (bottom case 2) and a second housing (lid 3), wherein at least one protrusion is disposed in the second housing (protrution 34 is on the lower face of lid 3 as depicted in Fig. 7, for example); and
the first housing (bottom case 2) comprises a bottom wall (bottom of case 2) and a side wall disposed on a peripheral edge of the bottom wall to form an accommodating space together with the bottom wall (side walls are the walls enclosing the space inside the bottom case 2), the sidewall comprising an inner surface and a top surface;
wherein the second housing is disposed on a side of the side wall away from the bottom wall (it’s a lid, opposite the bottom of the case), a bottom peripheral surface of the second housing is disposed on the top surface of the side wall continuously contacting along the bottom peripheral surface of the second housing at the top surface of the sidewall (as illustrated in Fig. 5 and annotated Fig. 20 below), and the at least one protrusion is accommodated in the accommodating space and comes in contact with an inner surface of the side wall (see Fig. 6 where protrusion 34 is inside the case and comes into contact with the inner surface of case 2).
Furthermore, Yuasa teaches a bottom surface of the second housing and a bottom peripheral surface which is in contact with the tip surface of the side wall (as illustrated in annotated Fig. 20 above). However, Yuasa does not teach a raised portion of the bottom surface extending above the bottom peripheral surface of the second housing.
Suzuki also discloses a battery module (see abstract).
Suzuki, like Yuasa, teaches a first housing (bottom housing 2) and a second housing (lid, 4). Suzuki goes on to teach that the second housing (lid) comprises a raised portion (as illustrated in annotated Fig. 2 below). Suzuki teaches such a configuration in order to provide rigidity to the cover without increasing the weight (paragraph 17).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add the protruding portion of the cover, as taught by Suzuki, to the lid of Yuasa in order to provide rigidity to the cover without increasing the weight.
Regarding claims 2, 3, 10 and 11, Yuasa further discloses the at least one protrusion comprises a plurality of protrusions, and the plurality of the protrusions are arranged in succession (such as in Fig. 11 which illustrates multiple protrusions in succession).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Yuasa further discloses a cross-section of the at least one protrusion is fan-shaped, oval, triangular, square, pentagonal, or circular (see Fig. 20 which gives an example of a protrusion with a fan, oval or circular shape).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Yuasa further discloses a distance between an end of the at least one protrusion facing towards the first housing and the side wall is 0 to 100 millimeters (see Fig. 6 which illustrates the protrusion in contact with the sidewall, or 0 mm distance).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Yuasa further discloses the at least one protrusion is formed on an inner surface of the second housing (see protrusion 34 in Fig. 6), and a groove (35) is formed at a location, corresponding to the at least one protrusion, on an outer surface of the second housing (as depicted in Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 17, Yuasa further discloses the battery further comprises a pole (9), and the pole is disposed on the second housing (as depicted in Fig. 1 where pole 9 is located on the lid 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuasa (US 2014/0315071) in view of Kurata (US 2013/0130100).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Yuasa discloses a height of the protrusion in relation to the thickness of the lid/second housing in Fig. 20 and shows that the lid thickness is thicker than the protrusion height.
Kurata also discloses a battery housing (see abstract).
Kurata, like Yuasa, teaches a first and second housing (or base and lid of the housing, 1 and 2 in Fig. 20, for example). Kurata goes on to disclose that the lid portion has a thickness in the range of 1-2mm (paragraph 122). Kurata teaches such a thickness as a preferable size such that it gives structure integrity to the battery cell.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize the thickness of Kurata in the lid of Yuasa, which would yield a protrusion thickness off less than 50mm in Yuasa, in order to provide a lid that is structurally capable of being a lid to a battery.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Relevant Prior Art
US 2010/0279156 – Discloses a lid that comprises a peripheral surface that contacts the top surface of a housing, similar to that claimed.
US 2013/0316225 – Discloses a lid for a battery case that comprises protrusions in the vicinity of the terminal posts, similar to that disclosed and claimed.
KR 20000069844 A - Discloses a lid for a battery case that comprises protrusions in the vicinity of the terminal posts, similar to that disclosed and claimed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW J MERKLING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725