DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11935700 in view of Hamada et al. [U.S. Patent No. 11227715] and Okumura et al. [JP 2009038187 A].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito et al. [U.S. Patent No. 11935700] in view of Hamada et al. [U.S. Patent No. 11227715 B2] and Okumura et al. [JP 2009038187 A] (provided in IDS, translation provided by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 1, Saito discloses a laminated electronic component (e.g., 1, Fig. 1, column 3, lines 32-36) comprising:
an element body (e.g., 2, Fig. 1) formed by laminating an insulating layer (e.g., 4, column 3, lines 37-38, column 4, lines 12-15, Fig. 1-2) and having a bottom surface (e.g., 2B of body 2 of component 1, Fig. 1) used as a mounting surface, and side surfaces (e.g., side surfaces 2C, 2D, 2E and 2F, Fig. 1) configured to extend to intersect the bottom surface 2B; and
a bottom surface electrode (e.g., 3, column 4, lines 1-5, Fig. 2) formed on the bottom surface 2B of the element body 2,
wherein the bottom surface electrode 3 includes a first electrode layer (e.g., 11, column 4, lines 43-59, see Fig. 2) and a second electrode layer (e.g., 12, see Fig. 2) such that the first electrode layer 11 is formed on an exterior surface (e.g., 2B, see Fig. 2 ) of the element body 2,
the first electrode layer 11 is laminated to cover the second electrode layer 12 entirely,
the element body 2 comprises an overcoat layer (e.g., 5, column 4, lines 26-28, Fig. 2) as an outermost layer that defines the bottom surface 2B,
an edge portion (e.g., 22, column 4, lines 66-67) of the second electrode layer 12 is covered with the overcoat layer 5,
the overcoat layer 5 is interposed between the edge portion 22 of the second electrode layer 12 and the first electrode layer 11, and
the first electrode layer 11 is connected to a portion of the second electrode layer 12 that is exposed at the bottom surface 2B.
Saito discloses the instant claimed invention discussed above except for the first electrode layer is a resin electrode that has a stretched portion configured to extend to the side surface.
Hamada discloses first electrode layer is a resin electrode (e.g., surface electrode 21 is a resin-base conductor, column 4, lines 65-67), and has a stretched portion configured to extend to the side surface (e.g., plating P of outer electrode 20 which comprises surface electrode 21 stretches on side surface of body 10, see Fig. 17).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first electrode layer is a resin electrode that has a stretched portion configured to extend to the side surface of the body as taught by Hamada to the body of Saito to provide the electronic component with side electrode for soldering to ensure a reliable mechanical and electrical contact to the circuit board.
Saito discloses the instant claimed invention discussed above except for a width dimension of the stretched portion is smaller than a width dimension of the first electrode layer on the bottom surface.
Okumura discloses electrode layer (e.g.,41, 42, 43, 44, of component 10, page 5 of translation provided by Examiner, Fig. 1) has a width dimension of the stretched portion (e.g., width w2 of stretch portion 43b of outer electrode 43, on side surface 32 of component 10 as shown in Figure 1) smaller than a width dimension of electrode layer on the bottom surface (e.g., width w1 of portion 43a or 43c, on mounting surface 21, 22 of component 10 as shown in Figure 1, see page 5 of translation).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the width dimension of the stretched portion of the outer electrode smaller than a width dimension of the outer electrode layer on the bottom surface as taught by Okumura to the outer electrodes of Saito to provide the component with electrode structures that can prevent the “rising phenomenon” in solder reflow process and keep the mounting alignment proper.
Regarding claim 2, Okumura discloses the stretched portion (e.g., stretch portion 43b of outer electrode 43, on side surface 32 of component 10 as shown in Figure 1) is disposed on the side surface (e.g., side surface 32, page 5, Fig. 1) at a position separated from an upper surface (e.g., upper surface 22 of component 10, page 5 of translation, Fig. 1) facing the bottom surface (e.g., bottom surface 21, Fig. 1).
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-2 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11935700 to Saito in view of Hamada et al. [U.S. Patent No. 11227715] and Okumura et al. [JP 2009038187 A].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to form PTO-892.
/J.S.B/ Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837