DETAILED ACTION
Status of the claims
The amendment received on November 10, 2025 has been acknowledged and entered. Claims 1, 3, 9, and 32 are amended. Thus, claims 1-9, 21-30, and 32 are currently pending. This action is a second non-final due to the new ground of rejection.
Response to Arguments .
Applicant’s arguments regrading “filed on October 15, 2025 with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On the page 8 of the Remarks, Applicant alleges that “[A]pplicant respectfully asserts that each of claims 21-30 and 32 are all explicitly disclosed in at least paragraphs 43-51 of the specification as originally filed. Furthermore, Applicant respectfully asserts that providing formulas and flowcharts is not required to demonstrate the Applicant had possession of the claimed features at the time of filing of the present patent application. Applicant believes that a person having ordinary skill in the art, in view of the specification of the present application, would understand how a real-time operations center and a data analytics kiosk may be programmed to perform the types of data analytics recited by claims 21-30 and 32. As such, Applicant respectfully requests that the Examiner withdraw the rejection of claims 21-30 and 32.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner agrees that providing formulas and flowcharts is not required to demonstrate the Applicant had possession of the claimed features at the time of filing of the present patent application. However, Applicant does not reasonably demonstrate possession such that ordinary skill in the art would reasonably recognize the manner that applicant implements or otherwise achieves this claim feature in claims 21-30 and 32. As such, this phrase lacks proper written description.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-30 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 21, the claim limitation of “the data analytics comprise calculating a system leak rate and/or an expected pump run time in substantially real-time based on main accumulator pressure of a hydraulic power unit of the BOP” lacks proper written description. Applicant’s disclosure does not reasonably demonstrate proper written description for the above claim feature, because applicant’s disclosure does not reasonably explain the manner in which applicant calculates a system leak rate and/or an expected pump run time in substantially real-time based on main accumulator pressure of a hydraulic power unit of the BOP. The original disclosure fails to provide any formulas, flow charts, or other reasonable explanation to demonstrate the manner in which applicant implements this feature such that a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that applicant had possession of this claim feature. The Examiner further notes that applicant explains, in para. [0043], that for example, the real-time operations center 28 may be configured to calculate a system leak rate and/or expected pump run time in substantially real-time based on main accumulator pressure of a hydraulic power unit of the BOP. However, these features do not reasonably identify the specific the manner in which applicant calculates a system leak rate and/or an expected pump run time in substantially real-time based on main accumulator pressure of a hydraulic power unit of the BOP. As such, this phrase lacks proper written description.
Regarding claim 22, the claim limitation of “the data analytics comprise tracking BOP cycles in substantially real-time and flagging certain cycles for each individual component of one or more components of the BOP as indicating relatively unhealthy functioning” lacks proper written description. Applicant’s disclosure does not reasonably demonstrate proper written description for the above claim feature, because applicant’s disclosure does not reasonably explain the manner in which applicant tracks BOP cycles in substantially real-time and flagging certain cycles for each individual component of one or more components of the BOP as indicating relatively unhealthy functioning. The original disclosure fails to provide any formulas, flow charts, or other reasonable explanation to demonstrate the manner in which applicant implements this feature such that a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that applicant had possession of this claim feature. The Examiner further notes that applicant explains, in para. [0044], that for example, the real-time operations center 28 may be configured to track BOP cycles in substantially real-time and flag certain cycles as indicating relatively unhealthy functioning. However, these features do not reasonably identify the specific the manner in which applicant tracks BOP cycles in substantially real-time and flagging certain cycles for each individual component of one or more components of the BOP as indicating relatively unhealthy functioning. As such, this phrase lacks proper written description.
Regarding claim 23, the claim limitation of “the data analytics comprise evaluating a stripping length and/or a speed across a BOP annular in substantially real-time” lacks proper written description. Applicant’s disclosure does not reasonably demonstrate proper written description for the above claim feature, because applicant’s disclosure does not reasonably explain the manner in which applicant evaluates a stripping length and/or a speed across a BOP annular in substantially real-time. The original disclosure fails to provide any formulas, flow charts, or other reasonable explanation to demonstrate the manner in which applicant implements this feature such that a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that applicant had possession of this claim feature. The Examiner further notes that applicant explains, in para. [0045], that for example, the real-time operations center 28 may be configured to evaluate a stripping length and/or speed across a BOP annular in substantially real-time. However, these features do not reasonably identify the specific the manner in which applicant evaluates a stripping length and/or speed across a BOP annular in substantially real-time. As such, this phrase lacks proper written description.
Regarding claim 24, the claim limitation of “the data analytics comprise tracking an aging process of a BOP annular using an adaptive physics- based model and comparing each cycle to an expected healthy signature” lacks proper written description. Applicant’s disclosure does not reasonably demonstrate proper written description for the above claim feature, because applicant’s disclosure does not reasonably explain the manner in which applicant tracks an aging process of a BOP annular using an adaptive physics- based model and comparing each cycle to an expected healthy signature. The original disclosure fails to provide any formulas, flow charts, or other reasonable explanation to demonstrate the manner in which applicant implements this feature such that a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that applicant had possession of this claim feature. The Examiner further notes that applicant explains, in para. [0046], that for example, the real-time operations center 28 may be configured to track the aging process of a BOP annular using an adaptive physics-based model and comparing each cycle to an expected healthy signature. However, these features do not reasonably identify the specific the manner in which applicant tracks an aging process of a BOP annular using an adaptive physics- based model and comparing each cycle to an expected healthy signature. As such, this phrase lacks proper written description.
Regarding claim 25, the claim limitation of “the data analytics comprise providing BOP timing and gallon count results and percentage completion of a test verification in substantially real-time during a function test” lacks proper written description. Applicant’s disclosure does not reasonably demonstrate proper written description for the above claim feature, because applicant’s disclosure does not reasonably explain the manner in which applicant provides BOP timing and gallon count results and percentage completion of a test verification in substantially real-time during a function test. The original disclosure fails to provide any formulas, flow charts, or other reasonable explanation to demonstrate the manner in which applicant implements this feature such that a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that applicant had possession of this claim feature. The Examiner further notes that applicant explains, in para. [0047], that for example, the real-time operations center 28 may be configured to provide BOP timing and gallon count results and percentage completion of a test verification in substantially real-time during the function test. In certain embodiments, the analysis may be used for both surface and subsea testing. However, these features do not reasonably identify the specific the manner in which applicant provides BOP timing and gallon count results and percentage completion of a test verification in substantially real-time during a function test. As such, this phrase lacks proper written description.
Regarding claim 26, the claim limitation of “the data analytics comprise providing tracking of functions during a drawdown test for the BOP” lacks proper written description. Applicant’s disclosure does not reasonably demonstrate proper written description for the above claim feature, because applicant’s disclosure does not reasonably explain the manner in which applicant provides tracking of functions during a drawdown test for the BOP. The original disclosure fails to provide any formulas, flow charts, or other reasonable explanation to demonstrate the manner in which applicant implements this feature such that a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that applicant had possession of this claim feature. The Examiner further notes that applicant explains, in para. [0050], that for example, a graphical user interface presented via a display 80, 82 of the data analytics kiosk 34 and/or the one or more computing devices 42 may relate to real-time tracking of a drawdown test for a BOP. In certain embodiments, the analysis may be used for both surface and subsea testing. However, these features do not reasonably identify the specific the manner in which applicant provides tracking of functions during a drawdown test for the BOP. As such, this phrase lacks proper written description.
Regarding claim 27, the claim limitation of “the functions comprises accumulator pressure level and gallons used” lacks proper written description. Applicant’s disclosure does not reasonably demonstrate proper written description for the above claim feature, because applicant’s disclosure does not reasonably explain the manner in which applicant comprise accumulator pressure level and gallons used. The original disclosure fails to provide any formulas, flow charts, or other reasonable explanation to demonstrate the manner in which applicant implements this feature such that a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that applicant had possession of this claim feature. The Examiner further notes that applicant explains, in para. [0050], that for example, the real-time operations center 28 may provide tracking of functions during the drawdown test including, but not limited to, accumulator pressure level and gallons used. However, these features do not reasonably identify the specific the manner in which applicant comprises accumulator pressure level and gallons used. As such, this phrase lacks proper written description.
Regarding claim 28, the claim limitation of “the data analytics comprise providing real-time tracking of pressure drops at different BOP sensing points during soak testing of the BOP” lacks proper written description. Applicant’s disclosure does not reasonably demonstrate proper written description for the above claim feature, because applicant’s disclosure does not reasonably explain the manner in which applicant provides real-time tracking of pressure drops at different BOP sensing points during soak testing of the BOP. The original disclosure fails to provide any formulas, flow charts, or other reasonable explanation to demonstrate the manner in which applicant implements this feature such that a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that applicant had possession of this claim feature. The Examiner further notes that applicant explains, in para. [0051], that for example, the real-time operations center 28 may provide real-time tracking of pressure drops at different BOP sensing points, and may detect issues during the soak testing. However, these features do not reasonably identify the specific the manner in which applicant provides real-time tracking of pressure drops at different BOP sensing points during soak testing of the BOP. As such, this phrase lacks proper written description.
Regarding claim 29, the claim limitation of “the data analytics comprise detecting issues during the soak testing of the BOP based at least in part on the pressure drops” lacks proper written description. Applicant’s disclosure does not reasonably demonstrate proper written description for the above claim feature, because applicant’s disclosure does not reasonably explain the manner in which applicant detects issues during the soak testing of the BOP based at least in part on the pressure drops. The original disclosure fails to provide any formulas, flow charts, or other reasonable explanation to demonstrate the manner in which applicant implements this feature such that a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that applicant had possession of this claim feature. The Examiner further notes that applicant explains, in para. [0051], that for example, in para. [0051], that for example, the real-time operations center 28 may provide real-time tracking of pressure drops at different BOP sensing points, and may detect issues during the soak testing. However, these features do not reasonably identify the specific the manner in which applicant detects issues during the soak testing of the BOP based at least in part on the pressure drops. As such, this phrase lacks proper written description.
Regarding claim 30, the claim limitation of “the data analytics comprise an adaptive physics-based model that enables the real-time operations center to predict whether a BOP will pass a particular BOP pressure test” lacks proper written description. Applicant’s disclosure does not reasonably demonstrate proper written description for the above claim feature, because applicant’s disclosure does not reasonably explain the manner in which applicant comprises an adaptive physics-based model that enables the real-time operations center to predict whether a BOP will pass a particular BOP pressure test” lacks proper written description. The original disclosure fails to provide any formulas, flow charts, or other reasonable explanation to demonstrate the manner in which applicant implements this feature such that a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that applicant had possession of this claim feature. The Examiner further notes that applicant explains, in para. [0052], that for example, the real-time operations center 28 may use an adaptive physics-based model that enables the real-time operations center 28 to predict whether a BOP will pass a particular BOP pressure test. However, these features do not reasonably identify the specific the manner in which applicant comprises an adaptive physics-based model that enables the real-time operations center to predict whether a BOP will pass a particular BOP pressure test” lacks proper written description. As such, this phrase lacks proper written description.
Regarding claim 32, it is an equipment monitoring system type claims having similar limitations as of claims 21-30 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as of claims 21-30 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 21-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kroslid et al. (US 2020/0291767 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Kroslid”) in view of Atwell et al. (US 2012/0144685 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Atwell”)
Regarding claim 1, Kroslid teaches an equipment monitoring system (paras. [0046], [0065]), comprising:
a real-time operations center located at a remote location separate from a worksite location, wherein the real-time operations center is configured to (para. [0046]: The surface equipment 110 of the well construction system 100 may also comprise a control center 190 from which various portions of the well construction system 100; para. [0065]: Current and historical performance based condition indicators 314 may be analyzed systematically or in real-time over a period of time by the processing device 312 at the wellsite or another processing device 322 located remotely from the wellsite);
receive operational data via a remote communication network in substantially real-time from a blowout preventer (BOP) that is being monitored by the real-time operations center and/or from one or more auxiliary devices in proximity of the BOP (para. [0030]: The well construction system 100 may further include a well control system for maintaining well pressure control…The BOP equipment 130, 132, 138 may be mounted on top of a wellhead 134. The well control system may further include a BOP control unit 137 (i.e., a BOP closing unit) operatively connected with the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138 and operable to actuate, drive, operate or otherwise control the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138; para. [0054]: the processing device 202 may be in communication with the subsystems 211-216 via a communication network 209 (e.g., data bus, a wide-area-network (WAN), a local-area-network (LAN), etc); para. [0065]: Current and historical performance based condition indicators 314 may be analyzed systematically or in real-time over a period of time by the processing device 312 at the wellsite or another processing device 322 located remotely from the wellsite);
perform data analytics remotely on the operational data during operation of thepara. [0030]: The well construction system 100 may further include a well control system for maintaining well pressure control…The BOP equipment 130, 132, 138 may be mounted on top of a wellhead 134. The well control system may further include a BOP control unit 137 (i.e., a BOP closing unit) operatively connected with the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138 and operable to actuate, drive, operate or otherwise control the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138; para. [0065]: Current and historical performance based condition indicators 314 may be analyzed systematically or in real-time over a period of time by the processing device 312 at the wellsite or another processing device 322 located remotely from the wellsite); and
provide one or more graphical user interfaces to one or more computing devices, wherein the one or more graphical user interfaces illustrate results of the data analytics performed remotely by the real-time operations center (para. [0065]: current and historical performance based condition indicators 314 may be analyzed systematically or in real-time over a period of time by the processing device 312 at the wellsite or another processing device 322 located remotely from the wellsite; para. [0077]: the interface circuit 524 may comprise a graphics driver card. The interface circuit 524 may comprise a communication device, such as a modem or network interface card to facilitate exchange of data with external computing devices via a network); and
a data analytics device (Fig. 3, 312 and 314) located at the worksite location that provides an analytics terminal for equipment operators at the worksite location and that functions as an intermediary between the real-time operations center (Fig. 3, 320) (para. [0063]: the condition monitoring data 302, 304, 306, 308, 310 may be received and processed by a processing device 312, which may generate performance based condition indicators 314 based on the condition monitoring data; para. [0065]: The performance based condition indicators 314 may be transmitted to and stored in a historian 320 (e.g., database, data storage center). The historian 320 may be located at the wellsite or at a location remote from the wellsite. Current and historical performance based condition indicators 314 may be analyzed systematically or in real-time over a period of time by the processing device 312 at the wellsite), the BOP, and the one or more auxiliary devices (para. [0030]: the well construction system 100 may further include a well control system for maintaining well pressure control. For example, the drill string 120 may be conveyed within the wellbore 102 through various blowout preventer (BOP) equipment disposed at the wellsite surface 104 on top of the wellbore 102 and perhaps below the rig floor 114), the above feature of “processing device, 312 and PBCE, 314” in paras. [0063] and [0065] and “current and historical performance based condition indicators 314 may be analyzed systematically or in real-time over a period of time by the processing device 312 at the wellsite” in para. [0065] reads on “a data analytics kiosk” having interactive computer terminal available for public use.”
wherein the data analytics device is configured to (para. [0065]: current and historical performance based condition indicators 314 may be analyzed systematically or in real-time over a period of time by the processing device 312 at the wellsite or another processing device 322 located remotely from the wellsite);
receive the operational data via a remote communication network in substantially real-time from the BOP that is being monitored by the data analytics kiosk and/or from the one or more auxiliary devices in proximity of the BOP (para. [0030]: The well construction system 100 may further include a well control system for maintaining well pressure control…The BOP equipment 130, 132, 138 may be mounted on top of a wellhead 134. The well control system may further include a BOP control unit 137 (i.e., a BOP closing unit) operatively connected with the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138 and operable to actuate, drive, operate or otherwise control the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138; para. [0054]: the processing device 202 may be in communication with the subsystems 211-216 via a communication network 209 (e.g., data bus, a wide-area-network (WAN), a local-area-network (LAN), etc); para. [0065]: Current and historical performance based condition indicators 314 may be analyzed systematically or in real-time over a period of time by the processing device 312 at the wellsite or another processing device 322 located remotely from the wellsite);
perform data analytics locally on the operational data during operation of thepara. [0030]: The well construction system 100 may further include a well control system for maintaining well pressure control…The BOP equipment 130, 132, 138 may be mounted on top of a wellhead 134. The well control system may further include a BOP control unit 137 (i.e., a BOP closing unit) operatively connected with the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138 and operable to actuate, drive, operate or otherwise control the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138; para. [0065]: Current and historical performance based condition indicators 314 may be analyzed systematically or in real-time over a period of time by the processing device 312 at the wellsite or another processing device 322 located remotely from the wellsite); and
provide one or more graphical user interfaces to one or more computing devices, wherein the one or more graphical user interfaces illustrate results of the data analytics performed locally by the data analytics device (para. [0065]: Current and historical performance based condition indicators 314 may be analyzed systematically or in real-time over a period of time by the processing device 312 at the wellsite or another processing device 322 located remotely from the wellsite; para. [0077]: the interface circuit 524 may comprise a graphics driver card. The interface circuit 524 may comprise a communication device, such as a modem or network interface card to facilitate exchange of data with external computing devices via a network).
Kroslid does not specifically teach that the data analytics kiosk comprises a backup battery configured to provide backup power for the data analytics kiosk even when power is not available, or is not being provided, at the worksite location and both the real-time operations center and the data analytics kiosk are configured to provide redundancy relating to transmission of the operational data, performance of the data analytics, and provision of the one or more graphical user interfaces to the one or more computing devices when either of the communication networks experience downtime, and to periodically synchronize the operational data between each other.
However, Atwell teaches that the data analytics kiosk (para. [0023]: the “kiosk mode”) comprises a backup battery configured to provide backup power for the data analytics kiosk (para. [0043]: battery in the top right which indicates how much battery power still remains which is helpful to the operator when the AACMM 100 is being powered by a battery) even when power is not available, or is not being provided, at the worksite location (para. [0023]: the “kiosk mode” provides a dedicated and controlled environment where the operator does not need to be concerned with the operating environment (e.g., operating system, software versions, etc of the AACMM) and
both the real-time operations center (para. [0042]: the application programming interface also interfaces with one or more applications executing external to the AACMM) and the data analytics kiosk are configured to provide redundancy relating to transmission of the operational data performance of the data analytics (para. [0023]: the “kiosk mode” provides a dedicated and controlled environment where the operator does not need to be concerned with the operating environment (e.g., operating system, software versions, etc of the AACMM; para. [0028]: each one of the arm segments 106, 108 about the corresponding axis and transmits a signal to an electronic data processing system, note that the above feature of “kiosk mode” in para. [0023] and “transmits a signal to an electronic data processing system” in para. [0028] reads on “provide redundancy relating to transmission of the operational data performance of the data analytics”), and provision of the one or more graphical user interfaces to the one or more computing devices (para. [0043]: the display processor 328 for providing a graphical user interface (GUI) with selectable menu options corresponding to the available functions implemented by the AACMM 10) when either of para. [0037]: The base processor board 204 has the capability of communicating with an Ethernet network via an Ethernet function 320 (e.g., using a clock synchronization standard such as Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 1588), with a wireless local area network (WLAN) via a LAN function 322, and with Bluetooth module 232 via a parallel to serial communications (PSC) function 314.) downtime (para. [0023]: the “kiosk mode” provides a dedicated and controlled environment where the operator does not need to be concerned with the operating environment (e.g., operating system, software versions, etc.) of the AACMM ) and
to periodically synchronize the operational data between each other (para. [0037]: The base processor board 204 has the capability of communicating with an Ethernet network via an Ethernet function 320 (e.g., using a clock synchronization standard such as Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 1588)).
Kroslid and Atwell are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of performing a diagnostic or calibration procedure on machine having interface. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the operating center and kiosk such as is described in Atwell into Kroslid, in order to allow the electronic circuit to include a processor and be configured to receive the position signals from the transducers and to provide data corresponding to a position of the measurement device. The electronic circuit has a self-contained operating environment for the machine that includes a user interface application (Atwell, para. [0006]).
Regarding claim 2, Kroslid in view of Atwell teaches all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Kroslid teaches that both the real-time operations center and the data analytics kiosk are configured to identify and track issues associated with operation of the BOP over time (para. [0030]: The well construction system 100 may further include a well control system for maintaining well pressure control…The BOP equipment 130, 132, 138 may be mounted on top of a wellhead 134. The well control system may further include a BOP control unit 137 (i.e., a BOP closing unit) operatively connected with the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138 and operable to actuate, drive, operate or otherwise control the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138; para. [0065]: Current and historical performance based condition indicators 314 may be analyzed systematically or in real-time over a period of time by the processing device 312 at the wellsite or another processing device 322 located remotely from the wellsite).
Regarding claim 3, Kroslid in view of Atwell teaches all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Kroslid teaches that both the real-time operations center and the data analytics kiosk are configured to determine one or more fault trees for the BOP to enable assessment of the effect of all ongoing issues relating to availability and compliance of the BOP (para. [0030]: the well construction system 100 may further include a well control system for maintaining well pressure control…The BOP equipment 130, 132, 138 may be mounted on top of a wellhead 134. The well control system may further include a BOP control unit 137 (i.e., a BOP closing unit) operatively connected with the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138 and operable to actuate, drive, operate or otherwise control the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138; para. [0065]: the processing device 312 and/or processing device 322 may process the current and historical performance based condition indicators 314 to recognize changes or trends in performance (e.g., performance quality degradation) of individual actuators or components. Such trends may be indicative of developing or potential faults, which may be repaired or otherwise addressed before failure or large reductions in performance can manifest; para. [0060]: performance based condition indicators may also be determined based on additional condition monitoring data indicative of other operational parameters, factors, conditions, characteristics, and descriptions related to a piece of wellsite equipment and the operations such wellsite equipment performs). The above feature of “BOP equipment in para. [0030] and “performance based condition indicators” in para. [0060] reads on “determine one or more fault trees for the BOP to enable assessment of the effect of all ongoing issues relating to availability and compliance of the BOP.”
Regarding claim 4, Kroslid in view of Atwell teaches all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Kroslid teaches that both the real- time operations center and the data analytics kiosk are configured to track one or more operational efficiency indicators as they change over time (para. [0065]: the performance based condition indicators 314 may be transmitted to and stored in a historian 320 (e.g., database, data storage center). The historian 320 may be located at the wellsite or at a location remote from the wellsite. Current and historical performance based condition indicators 314 may be analyzed systematically or in real-time over a period of time by the processing device 312 at the wellsite or another processing device 322 located remotely from the wellsite).
Regarding claim 5, Kroslid in view of Atwell teaches all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Kroslid teaches that both the real-time operations center and the data analytics kiosk are configured to generate one or more automated reports relating to operation of the BOP for regulatory submissions relating to the BOP (para. [0004]: such products may provide drill rig state detection, calculations of operational key performance indicators (KPIs), and customized dashboards and reporting tools; para. [0030]: the well construction system 100 may further include a well control system for maintaining well pressure control…The BOP equipment 130, 132, 138 may be mounted on top of a wellhead 134. The well control system may further include a BOP control unit 137 (i.e., a BOP closing unit) operatively connected with the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138 and operable to actuate, drive, operate or otherwise control the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138; para. [0065]: current and historical performance based condition indicators 314 may be analyzed systematically or in real-time over a period of time by the processing device 312 at the wellsite or another processing device 322 located remotely from the wellsite). The above feature of “ BOP equipment” in para. [0030] and “condition indicators 314 may be analyzed systematically or in real-time over a period of time by the processing device 312” in para. [0065] reads on “generate one or more automated reports relating to operation of the BOP for regulatory submissions relating to the BOP.”
Regarding claim 6, Kroslid in view of Atwell teaches all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Kroslid teaches that both the real-time operations center and the data analytics kiosk are configured to provide maintenance tracking and optimization relating to the BOP to enable the equipment operators to follow maintenance activities for the BOP and drive condition-based maintenance for the BOP using the data analytics (para. [0030]: the well construction system 100 may further include a well control system for maintaining well pressure control…The BOP equipment 130, 132, 138 may be mounted on top of a wellhead 134. The well control system may further include a BOP control unit 137 (i.e., a BOP closing unit) operatively connected with the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138 and operable to actuate, drive, operate or otherwise control the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138; para. [0058]: the present disclosure is further directed to performance based condition monitoring, which utilizes sensor data indicative of actions performed or otherwise caused by actuators of a piece of wellsite equipment to generate performance based condition indicators, which in turn, may be utilized as a basis for determining condition (e.g., operational health, operational life, maintenance condition, etc.) of the piece of wellsite equipment; para. [0065]: current and historical performance based condition indicators 314 may be analyzed systematically or in real-time over a period of time by the processing device 312 at the wellsite or another processing device 322 located remotely from the wellsite). The above feature of “BOP equipment” in para. [0030] and “performance based condition indicators, which in turn, may be utilized as a basis for determining condition (e.g., operational health, operational life, maintenance condition, etc.) of the piece of wellsite equipment” in para. [0058] reads on “provide maintenance tracking and optimization relating to the BOP to enable the equipment operators to follow maintenance activities for the BOP and drive condition-based maintenance for the BOP using the data analytics.”
Regarding claim 7, Kroslid in view of Atwell teaches all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Kroslid teaches that both the real-time operations center and the data analytics kiosk are configured to provide component- level health monitoring for one or more components of the BOP to detect deviations from expected operational parameters to track and isolate degradation for each individual component of the one or more components of the BOP (para. [0030]: the well construction system 100 may further include a well control system for maintaining well pressure control…The BOP equipment 130, 132, 138 may be mounted on top of a wellhead 134. The well control system may further include a BOP control unit 137 (i.e., a BOP closing unit) operatively connected with the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138 and operable to actuate, drive, operate or otherwise control the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138; para. [0058]: the present disclosure is further directed to performance based condition monitoring, which utilizes sensor data indicative of actions performed or otherwise caused by actuators of a piece of wellsite equipment to generate performance based condition indicators, which in turn, may be utilized as a basis for determining condition (e.g., operational health, operational life, maintenance condition, etc.) of the piece of wellsite equipment; para. [0062]: equipment controller deviation; para. [0065]: current and historical performance based condition indicators 314 may be analyzed systematically or in real-time over a period of time by the processing device 312 at the wellsite or another processing device 322 located remotely from the wellsite…When at least one of the performance based condition indicators 314 falls below a predetermined threshold, the processing device 312 and/or processing device 322 may then generate or output condition information 324 indicative of health of the piece of equipment). The above feature of “BOP equipment” in para. [0030] and “performance based condition indicators, which in turn, may be utilized as a basis for determining condition (e.g., operational health, operational life, maintenance condition, etc.) of the piece of wellsite equipment” in para. [0058], and “equipment controller deviation] in para. [0062] reads on “provide component- level health monitoring for one or more components of the BOP to detect deviations from expected operational parameters to track and isolate degradation for each individual component of the one or more components of the BOP.”
Regarding claim 8, Kroslid in view of Atwell teaches all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Kroslid teaches that both the real-time operations center and the data analytics kiosk are configured to provide custom-built event management relating to events that occur during operation of the BOP to provide automatic prioritization of the events (para. [0004]: Such products may provide drill rig state detection, calculations of operational key performance indicators (KPIs), and customized dashboards and reporting tools; para. [0030]: the well construction system 100 may further include a well control system for maintaining well pressure control…The BOP equipment 130, 132, 138 may be mounted on top of a wellhead 134. The well control system may further include a BOP control unit 137 (i.e., a BOP closing unit) operatively connected with the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138 and operable to actuate, drive, operate or otherwise control the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138. The BOP control unit 137 may be or comprise a hydraulic fluid power unit fluidly connected with the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138 and selectively operable to hydraulically drive various portions (e.g., rams, valves, seals) of the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138; para. [0045]: control commands (e.g., signals, information, etc.) generated by the processing device 202 and/or the local controllers 221-226 may be automatically communicated to the various actuators 241-246 of the subsystems 211-216; para. [0065]: current and historical performance based condition indicators 314 may be analyzed systematically or in real-time over a period of time by the processing device 312 at the wellsite or another processing device 322 located remotely from the wellsite). The above feature of “selectively operable to hydraulically drive various portions (e.g., rams, valves, seals) of the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138” in para. [0030] and “processing device that is automatically communicated to the various actuators 241-246 of the subsystems 211-216” in para. [0045] reads on “provide custom-built event management relating to events that occur during operation of the BOP to provide automatic prioritization of the events.”
Regarding claim 9, Kroslid in view of Atwell teaches all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Kroslid teaches that both the real-time operations center and the data analytics kiosk are configured to provide one or more graphical user interfaces to a data analytics kiosk located at the worksite location, wherein the one or more graphical user interfaces illustrate results of the data analytics (para. [0030]: the well construction system 100 may further include a well control system for maintaining well pressure control…The BOP equipment 130, 132, 138 may be mounted on top of a wellhead 134. The well control system may further include a BOP control unit 137 (i.e., a BOP closing unit) operatively connected with the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138 and operable to actuate, drive, operate or otherwise control the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138; para. [0065]: the performance based condition indicators 314 may be transmitted to and stored in a historian 320 (e.g., database, data storage center). The historian 320 may be located at the wellsite or at a location remote from the wellsite. Current and historical performance based condition indicators 314 may be analyzed systematically or in real-time over a period of time by the processing device 312 at the wellsite or another processing device 322 located remotely from the wellsite; para. [0077]: the interface circuit 524 may comprise a graphics driver card. The interface circuit 524 may comprise a communication device, such as a modem or network interface card to facilitate exchange of data with external computing devices via a network).
Regarding claim 21, Kroslid in view of Atwell teaches all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Kroslid teaches that the data analytics comprise calculating a system leak rate and/or an expected pump run time in substantially real-time based on main accumulator pressure of a hydraulic power unit of the BOP (para. [0030]: the well construction system 100 may further include a well control system for maintaining well pressure control…The BOP equipment 130, 132, 138 may be mounted on top of a wellhead 134. The well control system may further include a BOP control unit 137 (i.e., a BOP closing unit) operatively connected with the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138 and operable to actuate, drive, operate or otherwise control the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138; para. [0065]: The historian 320 may be located at the wellsite or at a location remote from the wellsite. Current and historical performance based condition indicators 314 may be analyzed systematically or in real-time over a period of time by the processing device 312 at the wellsite or another processing device 322 located remotely from the wellsite… The processing device 312 and/or processing device 322 may comprise or store computer program code, which when executed by the processing devices 312, 322 may generate, calculate, or output the performance based condition indicators 314 and/or the condition information 324 based on the performance based condition indicators 314. The computer program code may be or comprise modeling or predictive processes, engines, algorithms, applications, and/or other programs operable to predict or determine condition of a piece of equipment and/or one or more of its components).
Regarding claim 22, Kroslid in view of Atwell teaches all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Kroslid teaches that the data analytics comprise tracking BOP cycles in substantially real-time and flagging certain cycles as indicating relatively unhealthy functioning for each individual component of one or more components of the BOP (para. [0030]: the well construction system 100 may further include a well control system for maintaining well pressure control…The BOP equipment 130, 132, 138 may be mounted on top of a wellhead 134. The well control system may further include a BOP control unit 137 (i.e., a BOP closing unit) operatively connected with the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138 and operable to actuate, drive, operate or otherwise control the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138. The BOP control unit 137 may be or comprise a hydraulic fluid power unit fluidly connected with the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138 and selectively operable to hydraulically drive various portions (e.g., rams, valves, seals) of the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138; para. [0066]: the processing device 358 may be operable to analyze current and historical performance based condition indicators 354 systematically or in real-time over a period of time, such as to recognize changes or trends in performance (e.g., execution) of actions caused by individual actuators or components; para. [0072]: Such trends may be indicative of developing or potential faults, which may be repaired or otherwise addressed before failure or large reductions in performance can manifest. When the performance based condition indicators fall below a predetermined performance threshold, the equipment controller 414 may generate or output condition information indicative (i.e., flag) of health of the piece of equipment to a wellsite operator via an output device). The above feature of “selectively operable to hydraulically drive various portions (e.g., rams, valves, seals) of the BOP equipment” in para. [0030] and “the processing device 358 may be operable to analyze current and historical performance based condition indicators 354 systematically or in real-time over a period of time, such as to recognize changes or trends in performance (e.g., execution) of actions caused by individual actuators or components” in para. [0066] reads on “tracking BOP cycles in substantially real-time and flagging certain cycles as indicating relatively unhealthy functioning for each individual component of one or more components of the BOP.”
Regarding claim 23, Kroslid in view of Atwell teaches all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Kroslid teaches that the data analytics comprise evaluating a stripping length and/or a speed across a BOP annular in substantially real-time (para. [0030]: the BOP equipment may include a BOP stack 130, an annular preventer 132, and/or a rotating control device (RCD) 138 mounted above the annular preventer; para. [0066]: the processing device 358 may be operable to analyze current and historical performance based condition indicators 354 systematically or in real-time over a period of time, such as to recognize changes or trends in performance (e.g., execution) of actions caused by individual actuators or components).
Regarding claim 24, Kroslid in view of Atwell teaches all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Kroslid teaches that the data analytics comprise tracking an aging process of a BOP annular using an adaptive physics-based model and comparing each cycle to an expected healthy signature (para. [0065]: the computer program code may be or comprise modeling or predictive processes, engines, algorithms, applications, and/or other programs operable to predict or