DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed September 25, 2025 have been entered. Claims 1, 8, and 15 have been amended; support for the amendments can be found at least in paragraph [0005] of the Instant Specification. Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-18, and 20 remain pending and have been examined on their merits in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed September 25, 2025 have been fully considered but are considered moot in view of the new grounds of rejection below in view of Applicant’s amendments to the independent claims 1, 8, and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-11, 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu et al. (CN 112072077 A), hereinafter referred to as Qiu, in view of Wu et al. (CN 110867581 A), hereinafter referred to as Wu.
Regarding claim 1, Qiu teaches a pre-lithiation negative electrode sheet (see e.g., Abstract). Qiu teaches a positive electrode comprising a positive electrode current collector and a positive electrode slurry disposed on the positive current collector, wherein the positive electrode slurry comprises a positive electrode active material (see e.g., paragraph [0083]) such as lithium cobalt oxide (“a positive electrode plate comprising a positive current collector and a positive active material layer disposed on the positive current collector, wherein the positive active material layer comprises a positive active material, and the positive active material is lithium cobalt oxide”) (see e.g., paragraph [0085]). Qiu teaches a negative electrode comprising a negative electrode current collector and a negative electrode active material layer, wherein the negative electrode active material layer contains the negative electrode active material and is coated on the surface of the negative current collector (“a negative electrode plate comprising a negative current collector and a negative active material layer disposed on the negative current collector, wherein the negative active material layer comprises a negative active material”) (see e.g., paragraph [0070]). Qiu teaches the negative active material comprises silicon-based material selected from one or more of element silicon, silicon oxide compounds, silicon-carbon composites, and silicon alloys (“wherein the negative active material comprises at least one of SiOx, silicon alloy, or a silicon-carbon composite, wherein 0.3 ≤ x ≤ 1.5”) (see e.g., paragraph [0081]). Qiu teaches an isolation membrane between the positive electrode sheet and the negative electrode sheet (“a separator disposed between the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate”) (see e.g., paragraph [0073]).
Qiu teaches the mass percentage of the negative active material in a total mass of the negative active material layer (“A’ is a percentage of mass of the negative active material in a total mass of the negative active material layer”) is 95.5% (see e.g., Examples 1-6 and Comparative Examples 1-2). Qiu teaches the gram capacity of the negative electrode active material (“B’ is a gram capacity of the negative active material and measured in mAh/g”) is 550 mAh/g (see e.g., Example 1) and 500 mAh/g (see e.g., Examples 2-6 and Comparative Examples 1-2). Qiu teaches the coating mass of the negative electrode slurry (“C’ is a mass per unit area of the negative active material layer and measured in mg/cm2”) is 82 g/m2 (see e.g., Examples 1-2) and 70 g/m2 (see e.g., Examples 3-6 and Comparative Examples 1-2).
Qiu does not explicitly teach A, a percentage of a mass of the positive active material in a total mass of the positive active material layer, B, a gram capacity of the positive active material and measured in mAh/g, C, a mass per unit area of the positive active material layer and measured in mg/cm2, for lithium cobalt oxide and U which is a charge cutoff voltage of the electrochemical device and measured in V.
However, Wu teaches a high-voltage, high-energy-density fast-charging soft-pack lithium-ion battery (see e.g., paragraph [0001]). Wu teaches the battery has an upper limit voltage of 4.45 V (see e.g., paragraph [0007]). Wu teaches the positive electrode of the battery includes lithium cobalt oxide (see e.g., paragraph [0009]). Wu teaches the areal density of the positive electrode material coating is 252-288 g/m2 (see e.g., paragraph [0009]). Wu teaches the specific capacity of the lithium cobalt oxide is greater than 175 mAh/g, and the mass percentage of the lithium cobalt oxide is 95-98.5% (see e.g., paragraph [0020]). Wu teaches the battery comprising lithium cobalt oxide has a higher upper limit voltage compared to commercially available 4.4 V batteries, an energy density increase of 5%, an energy density of 680Wh/L, can achieve 3C rate charging, can charge more than 80% of the battery in 20 minutes, and retains about 85% of the battery capacity after 500 3C charging cycles (see e.g., paragraph [0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the cutoff voltage and mass percentage, gram capacity, and mass per unit area of the lithium cobalt oxide of Qiu to have an upper limit voltage of 4.45 V and for the lithium cobalt oxide to have a mass percentage of 95-98.5% a specific capacity greater than 175 mAh/g, and areal density of 252-288 g/m2, as taught by Wu, in order to have an energy density of 680Wh/L, can achieve 3C rate charging, can charge more than 80% of the battery in 20 minutes, and retains about 85% of the battery capacity after 500 3C charging cycles (see e.g., paragraph [0007]).
With the combination of the teaching of Qiu and Wu, the values of A are 252-288 g/m2, B are greater than 175 mAh/g, C are 95-98.5%, and U is 4.45, the values of CB are 0.80 and 1.03 and the values of 100 × (4.5 – U) – 10 × (CB – 1) are 4.75 and 7.03 (see the Table below with the values as taught by Qiu as modified by Wu); therefore, Qiu, as modified by Wu, meets the claim limitation of the inequality of 3 ≤ 100 × (4.5 – U) – 10 × (CB – 1) ≤ 10.
A
B
C
A’
B’
C’
CB
100 × (4.5 – 4.45) – 10 × (CB – 1)
Qiu Examples 1-2
95
175
252
95.5
550
82
1.03
4.70
Qiu Examples 3-6
95
175
252
95.5
500
70
0.80
7.00
Variable Values as taught by Qiu, as modified by Wu, regarding claim 1
Regarding claim 2, Qiu, as modified by Wu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
As previously described in claim 1, one of the values for of 100 × (4.5 – U) – 10 × (CB – 1) is 4.75 (“wherein 3.5 ≤ 100 × (4.5 – U) – 10 × (CB – 1) ≤ 6”) (see the Table with values as taught by Qiu, as modified by Wu).
Regarding claim 3, Qiu, as modified by Wu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
As previously described in claim 1, the upper limit voltage is 4.45 V (“wherein 4.3 ≤ U ≤ 4.5”) (see e.g., Wu paragraph [0007]).
Qiu, as modified by Wu, teaches the value of CB, utilizing the values in Qiu Examples 1 and 2, is 1.03, which is close to the recited range of 1.04 ≤ CB ≤ 2.0.
Qiu teaches the ratio of the negative electrode film capacity per unit area to the addition of positive electrode film capacity per unit area and lithium metal capacity on the surface of negative electrode film per unit area × 80% should be greater or equal to 1.0 (see e.g., paragraph [0074]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the areal density of the positive or negative electrodes of Qiu, as modified by Wu, to be smaller or larger while still teaching the ratio taught by Qiu, to produce a CB value within the range of 1.04 ≤ CB ≤ 2.0, in order to provide sufficient intercalation space for the active lithium in the system (see e.g., Qiu paragraph [0074]).
Regarding claim 4, Qiu, as modified by Wu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
As previously described in claim 1, the values of CB are 1.03 and 0.80 and with the upper limit voltage of 4.45 V as taught by Wu, the CB/U values are 0.23 and 0.18 (“wherein 0.17 < CB/U < 0.48”).
Regarding claim 8, Qiu teaches a pre-lithiation negative electrode sheet (see e.g., Abstract). Qiu teaches a positive electrode comprising a positive electrode current collector and a positive electrode slurry disposed on the positive current collector, wherein the positive electrode slurry comprises a positive electrode active material (see e.g., paragraph [0083]) such as lithium cobalt oxide (“a positive electrode plate comprising a positive current collector and a positive active material layer disposed on the positive current collector, wherein the positive active material layer comprises a positive active material, and the positive active material comprises lithium cobalt oxide”) (see e.g., paragraph [0085]). Qiu teaches a negative electrode comprising a negative electrode current collector and a negative electrode active material layer, wherein the negative electrode active material layer contains the negative electrode active material and is coated on the surface of the negative current collector (“a negative electrode plate comprising a negative current collector and a negative active material layer disposed on the negative current collector, wherein the negative active material layer comprises a negative active material”) (see e.g., paragraph [0070]). Qiu teaches the negative active material comprises silicon-based material selected from one or more of element silicon, silicon oxide compounds, silicon-carbon composites, and silicon alloys (“wherein the negative active material comprises at least one of SiOx, silicon alloy, or a silicon-carbon composite, wherein 0.3 ≤ x ≤ 1.5”) (see e.g., paragraph [0081]). Qiu teaches an isolation membrane between the positive electrode sheet and the negative electrode sheet (“a separator disposed between the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate”) (see e.g., paragraph [0073]).
Qiu teaches the mass percentage of the negative active material in a total mass of the negative active material layer (“A’ is a percentage of mass of the negative active material in a total mass of the negative active material layer”) is 95.5% (see e.g., Examples 1-6 and Comparative Examples 1-2). Qiu teaches the gram capacity of the negative electrode active material (“B’ is a gram capacity of the negative active material and measured in mAh/g”) is 550 mAh/g (see e.g., Example 1) and 500 mAh/g (see e.g., Examples 2-6 and Comparative Examples 1-2). Qiu teaches the coating mass of the negative electrode slurry (“C’ is a mass per unit area of the negative active material layer and measured in mg/cm2”) is 82 g/m2 (see e.g., Examples 1-2) and 70 g/m2 (see e.g., Examples 3-6 and Comparative Examples 1-2).
Qiu does not explicitly teach A, a percentage of a mass of the positive active material in a total mass of the positive active material layer, B, a gram capacity of the positive active material and measured in mAh/g, C, a mass per unit area of the positive active material layer and measured in mg/cm2, for lithium cobalt oxide and U which is a charge cutoff voltage of the electrochemical device and measured in V.
However, Wu teaches a high-voltage, high-energy-density fast-charging soft-pack lithium-ion battery (see e.g., paragraph [0001]). Wu teaches the battery has an upper limit voltage of 4.45 V (see e.g., paragraph [0007]). Wu teaches the positive electrode of the battery includes lithium cobalt oxide (see e.g., paragraph [0009]). Wu teaches the areal density of the positive electrode material coating is 252-288 g/m2 (see e.g., paragraph [0009]). Wu teaches the specific capacity of the lithium cobalt oxide is greater than 175 mAh/g, and the mass percentage of the lithium cobalt oxide is 95-98.5% (see e.g., paragraph [0020]). Wu teaches the battery comprising lithium cobalt oxide has a higher upper limit voltage compared to commercially available 4.4 V batteries, an energy density increase of 5%, an energy density of 680Wh/L, can achieve 3C rate charging, can charge more than 80% of the battery in 20 minutes, and retains about 85% of the battery capacity after 500 3C charging cycles (see e.g., paragraph [0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the cutoff voltage and mass percentage, gram capacity, and mass per unit area of the lithium cobalt oxide of Qiu to have an upper limit voltage of 4.45 V and for the lithium cobalt oxide to have a mass percentage of 95-98.5% a specific capacity greater than 175 mAh/g, and areal density of 252-288 g/m2, as taught by Wu, in order to have an energy density of 680Wh/L, can achieve 3C rate charging, can charge more than 80% of the battery in 20 minutes, and retains about 85% of the battery capacity after 500 3C charging cycles (see e.g., paragraph [0007]).
With the combination of the teaching of Qiu and Wu, the values of A are 252-288 g/m2, B are greater than 175 mAh/g, C are 95-98.5%, and U is 4.45, the values of CB are 0.80 and 1.03 and the values of 100 × (4.49 – U) – 10 × (CB – 1) are 3.70 and 6.00 (see the Table below with the values as taught by Qiu as modified by Wu); therefore, Qiu, as modified by Wu, meets the claim limitation of the inequality of 4 ≤ 100 × (4.5 – U) – 10 × (CB – 1) ≤ 22.
A
B
C
A’
B’
C’
CB
100 × (4.49 – 4.45) – 10 × (CB – 1)
Qiu Examples 1-2
95
175
252
95.5
550
82
1.03
3.70
Qiu Examples 3-6
95
175
252
95.5
500
70
0.80
6.00
Variable Values as taught by Qiu, as modified by Wu, regarding claim 8
Regarding claim 9, Qiu, as modified by Wu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 8, as previously described.
As previously described in claim 8, one of the values for of 100 × (4.5 – U) – 10 × (CB – 1) is 6.00 (“wherein 5 ≤ 100 × (4.49 – U) – 10 × (CB – 1) ≤ 13”) (see the Table with values as taught by Qiu, as modified by Wu).
Regarding claim 10, Qiu, as modified by Wu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 8, as previously described.
As previously described in claim 8, the upper limit voltage is 4.45 V (“wherein 4.3 ≤ U < 4.49”) (see e.g., Wu paragraph [0007]).
Qiu, as modified by Wu, teaches the value of CB, utilizing the values in Qiu Examples 1 and 2, is 1.03, which is close to the recited range of 1.04 ≤ CB ≤ 2.0.
Qiu teaches the ratio of the negative electrode film capacity per unit area to the addition of positive electrode film capacity per unit area and lithium metal capacity on the surface of negative electrode film per unit area × 80% should be greater or equal to 1.0 (see e.g., paragraph [0074]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the areal density of the positive or negative electrodes of Qiu, as modified by Wu, to be smaller or larger while still teaching the ratio taught by Qiu, to produce a CB value within the range of 1.04 ≤ CB ≤ 2.0, in order to provide sufficient intercalation space for the active lithium in the system (see e.g., Qiu paragraph [0074]).
Regarding claim 11, Qiu, as modified by Wu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 8, as previously described.
As previously described in claim 8, the values of CB are 1.03 and 0.80 and with the upper limit voltage of 4.45 V as taught by Wu, the CB/U values are 0.23 and 0.18 (“wherein 0.17 < CB/U < 0.48”).
Regarding claim 15, Qiu teaches a lithium battery (“an electronic device”) (see e.g., paragraph [0002]) comprising a pre-lithiation negative electrode sheet (see e.g., Abstract). Qiu teaches a positive electrode comprising a positive electrode current collector and a positive electrode slurry disposed on the positive current collector, wherein the positive electrode slurry comprises a positive electrode active material (see e.g., paragraph [0083]) such as lithium cobalt oxide (“a positive electrode plate comprising a positive current collector and a positive active material layer disposed on the positive current collector, wherein the positive active material layer comprises a positive active material, and the positive active material comprises lithium cobalt oxide”) (see e.g., paragraph [0085]). Qiu teaches a negative electrode comprising a negative electrode current collector and a negative electrode active material layer, wherein the negative electrode active material layer contains the negative electrode active material and is coated on the surface of the negative current collector (“a negative electrode plate comprising a negative current collector and a negative active material layer disposed on the negative current collector, wherein the negative active material layer comprises a negative active material”) (see e.g., paragraph [0070]). Qiu teaches the negative active material comprises silicon-based material selected from one or more of element silicon, silicon oxide compounds, silicon-carbon composites, and silicon alloys (“wherein the negative active material comprises at least one of SiOx, silicon alloy, or a silicon-carbon composite, wherein 0.3 ≤ x ≤ 1.5”) (see e.g., paragraph [0081]). Qiu teaches an isolation membrane between the positive electrode sheet and the negative electrode sheet (“a separator disposed between the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate”) (see e.g., paragraph [0073]).
Qiu teaches the mass percentage of the negative active material in a total mass of the negative active material layer (“A’ is a percentage of mass of the negative active material in a total mass of the negative active material layer”) is 95.5% (see e.g., Examples 1-6 and Comparative Examples 1-2). Qiu teaches the gram capacity of the negative electrode active material (“B’ is a gram capacity of the negative active material and measured in mAh/g”) is 550 mAh/g (see e.g., Example 1) and 500 mAh/g (see e.g., Examples 2-6 and Comparative Examples 1-2). Qiu teaches the coating mass of the negative electrode slurry (“C’ is a mass per unit area of the negative active material layer and measured in mg/cm2”) is 82 g/m2 (see e.g., Examples 1-2) and 70 g/m2 (see e.g., Examples 3-6 and Comparative Examples 1-2).
Qiu does not explicitly teach A, a percentage of a mass of the positive active material in a total mass of the positive active material layer, B, a gram capacity of the positive active material and measured in mAh/g, C, a mass per unit area of the positive active material layer and measured in mg/cm2, for lithium cobalt oxide and U which is a charge cutoff voltage of the electrochemical device and measured in V.
However, Wu teaches a high-voltage, high-energy-density fast-charging soft-pack lithium-ion battery (see e.g., paragraph [0001]). Wu teaches the battery has an upper limit voltage of 4.45 V (see e.g., paragraph [0007]). Wu teaches the positive electrode of the battery includes lithium cobalt oxide (see e.g., paragraph [0009]). Wu teaches the areal density of the positive electrode material coating is 252-288 g/m2 (see e.g., paragraph [0009]). Wu teaches the specific capacity of the lithium cobalt oxide is greater than 175 mAh/g, and the mass percentage of the lithium cobalt oxide is 95-98.5% (see e.g., paragraph [0020]). Wu teaches the battery comprising lithium cobalt oxide has a higher upper limit voltage compared to commercially available 4.4 V batteries, an energy density increase of 5%, an energy density of 680Wh/L, can achieve 3C rate charging, can charge more than 80% of the battery in 20 minutes, and retains about 85% of the battery capacity after 500 3C charging cycles (see e.g., paragraph [0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the cutoff voltage and mass percentage, gram capacity, and mass per unit area of the lithium cobalt oxide of Qiu to have an upper limit voltage of 4.45 V and for the lithium cobalt oxide to have a mass percentage of 95-98.5% a specific capacity greater than 175 mAh/g, and areal density of 252-288 g/m2, as taught by Wu, in order to have an energy density of 680Wh/L, can achieve 3C rate charging, can charge more than 80% of the battery in 20 minutes, and retains about 85% of the battery capacity after 500 3C charging cycles (see e.g., paragraph [0007]).
With the combination of the teaching of Qiu and Wu, the values of A are 252-288 g/m2, B are greater than 175 mAh/g, C are 95-98.5%, and U is 4.45, the values of CB are 0.80 and 1.03 and the values of 100 × (4.5 – U) – 10 × (CB – 1) are 4.75 and 7.03 (see the Table below with the values as taught by Qiu as modified by Wu); therefore, Qiu, as modified by Wu, meets the claim limitation of the inequality of 3 ≤ 100 × (4.5 – U) – 10 × (CB – 1) ≤ 10.
A
B
C
A’
B’
C’
CB
100 × (4.5 – 4.45) – 10 × (CB – 1)
Qiu Examples 1-2
95
175
252
95.5
550
82
1.03
4.70
Qiu Examples 3-6
95
175
252
95.5
500
70
0.80
7.00
Variable Values as taught by Qiu, as modified by Wu, regarding claim 15
Regarding claim 16, Qiu, as modified by Wu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 15, as previously described.
As previously described in claim 15, one of the values for of 100 × (4.5 – U) – 10 × (CB – 1) is 4.75 (“wherein 3.5 ≤ 100 × (4.5 – U) – 10 × (CB – 1) ≤ 6”) (see the Table with values as taught by Qiu, as modified by Wu).
Regarding claim 17, Qiu, as modified by Wu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 15, as previously described.
As previously described in claim 15, the upper limit voltage is 4.45 V (“wherein 4.3 ≤ U ≤ 4.5”) (see e.g., Wu paragraph [0007]).
Qiu, as modified by Wu, teaches the value of CB, utilizing the values in Qiu Examples 1 and 2, is 1.03, which is close to the recited range of 1.04 ≤ CB ≤ 2.0.
Qiu teaches the ratio of the negative electrode film capacity per unit area to the addition of positive electrode film capacity per unit area and lithium metal capacity on the surface of negative electrode film per unit area × 80% should be greater or equal to 1.0 (see e.g., paragraph [0074]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the areal density of the positive or negative electrodes of Qiu, as modified by Wu, to be smaller or larger while still teaching the ratio taught by Qiu, to produce a CB value within the range of 1.04 ≤ CB ≤ 2.0, in order to provide sufficient intercalation space for the active lithium in the system (see e.g., Qiu paragraph [0074]).
Regarding claim 18, Qiu, as modified by Wu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
As previously described in claim 15, the values of CB are 1.03 and 0.80 and with the upper limit voltage of 4.45 V as taught by Wu, the CB/U values are 0.23 and 0.18 (“wherein 0.17 < CB/U < 0.48”).
Claims 6-7, 13-14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu et al. (CN 112072077 A) in view of Wu et al. (CN 110867581 A), and further in view of Li et al. (CN 110556511 A), hereinafter referred to Li.
Regarding claim 6, Qiu, as modified by Wu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Qiu, as modified by Wu, does the battery device further comprising a conductive layer disposed between the negative current collector and the negative active material layer, and the conductive layer comprises a conductive agent and a binder.
However, Li teaches a conductive adhesive layer disposed between the current collector and the negative electrode active material layer (“further comprising a conductive layer disposed between the negative current collector and the negative active material layer”) material to effectively buffer stress problem caused by silicon material volume expansion and improve the bonding force between the film and the current collector to prevent falling of the negative electrode material (see e.g., Abstract). Li teaches the material of the conductive adhesive layer is a conductive polymer binder (see e.g., paragraph [0006]) that comprises a conductive polymer binder (see e.g., paragraph [0007]) that includes a carbon material and the binder (“the conductive layer comprises a conductive agent and a binder”) (see e.g., paragraph [0010]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the negative current collector and the negative active material of Qiu, as modified by Wu, to have a conductive adhesive layer disposed between the current collector and the negative electrode active material layer that is composed of a conductive polymer binder, as taught by Li, in order to effectively buffer stress problem caused by silicon material volume expansion and improve the bonding force between the film and the current collector to prevent falling of the negative electrode material (see e.g., Abstract).
Regarding claim 7, Qiu, as modified by Wu and Li, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 6, as previously described.
As previously described in claim 6, Li teaches the material of the conductive adhesive layer is a conductive polymer binder (see e.g., paragraph [0006]) that comprises a conductive polymer binder (see e.g., paragraph [0007]) that includes a carbon material and the binder (“the conductive layer comprises a conductive agent and a binder”) (see e.g., paragraph [0010]).
Regarding claim 13, Qiu, as modified by Wu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 8, as previously described.
Qiu, as modified by Wu, does the battery device further comprising a conductive layer disposed between the negative current collector and the negative active material layer, and the conductive layer comprises a conductive agent and a binder.
However, Li teaches a conductive adhesive layer disposed between the current collector and the negative electrode active material layer (“further comprising a conductive layer disposed between the negative current collector and the negative active material layer”) material to effectively buffer stress problem caused by silicon material volume expansion and improve the bonding force between the film and the current collector to prevent falling of the negative electrode material (see e.g., Abstract). Li teaches the material of the conductive adhesive layer is a conductive polymer binder (see e.g., paragraph [0006]) that comprises a conductive polymer binder (see e.g., paragraph [0007]) that includes a carbon material and the binder (“the conductive layer comprises a conductive agent and a binder”) (see e.g., paragraph [0010]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the negative current collector and the negative active material of Qiu, as modified by Wu, to have a conductive adhesive layer disposed between the current collector and the negative electrode active material layer that is composed of a conductive polymer binder, as taught by Li, in order to effectively buffer stress problem caused by silicon material volume expansion and improve the bonding force between the film and the current collector to prevent falling of the negative electrode material (see e.g., Abstract).
Regarding claim 14, Qiu, as modified by Wu and Li, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 13, as previously described.
As previously described in claim 13, Li teaches the material of the conductive adhesive layer is a conductive polymer binder (see e.g., paragraph [0006]) that comprises a conductive polymer binder (see e.g., paragraph [0007]) that includes a carbon material and the binder (“the conductive layer comprises a conductive agent and a binder”) (see e.g., paragraph [0010]).
Regarding claim 20, Qiu, as modified by Wu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 15, as previously described.
Qiu, as modified by Wu, does the battery device further comprising a conductive layer disposed between the negative current collector and the negative active material layer, and the conductive layer comprises a conductive agent and a binder.
However, Li teaches a conductive adhesive layer disposed between the current collector and the negative electrode active material layer (“further comprising a conductive layer disposed between the negative current collector and the negative active material layer”) material to effectively buffer stress problem caused by silicon material volume expansion and improve the bonding force between the film and the current collector to prevent falling of the negative electrode material (see e.g., Abstract). Li teaches the material of the conductive adhesive layer is a conductive polymer binder (see e.g., paragraph [0006]) that comprises a conductive polymer binder (see e.g., paragraph [0007]) that includes a carbon material and the binder (“the conductive layer comprises a conductive agent and a binder”) (see e.g., paragraph [0010]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the negative current collector and the negative active material of Qiu, as modified by Wu, to have a conductive adhesive layer disposed between the current collector and the negative electrode active material layer that is composed of a conductive polymer binder, as taught by Li, in order to effectively buffer stress problem caused by silicon material volume expansion and improve the bonding force between the film and the current collector to prevent falling of the negative electrode material (see e.g., Abstract).
Conclusion
/KATHERINE N HIGGINS/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728