DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 4-5, 9-10, 13, and 17-18 were amended. Claims 2-3, 6-8, 12, 14, 16 and 19 were canceled. Claims 21-29 were newly added. Claims 1, 4-5, 9-11, 13, 15, 17-18, and 20-29 are pending, of which claims 1 and 10 are in independent form.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment and argument regarding the independent claims 1, and 10 obviates the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), therefore the 112(b) rejection is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) are rejected, under 35 USC 103(a), have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter.
On Pages 9-10 of remarks by Applicant, the applicant argues that the cited references fail to teach the claims 1, 3-5, 7-13, and 15-20. Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 10 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Simmons (US 2020/0409869 A1), MESSERGES (US 2015/0341341 A1), Vasudevan et al. (US 2016/0259941 A1) and Sastry et al. (US 2015/0331043 A1).
As to the dependent claims, these claims remain rejected by virtue of dependency to their independent claims.
Therefore, the examiner maintains the rejection under 35 USC § 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-5, 9-11, 13, 15, 17-18, and 20-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “authorizing, by a memory access control circuit, storing of first data in a memory based on the first count value being greater than or equal to a first memory access reference value” and “;authorizing, by the memory access control circuit, storing of second data in the memory based on the second count value being greater than or equal to an intermediate memory access reference value:”. The specification does not disclose a “memory access reference value” or an “intermediate memory access reference value”. It describes (If it is an address in an area associated with a TIL value lower than the current value, the access control circuit 108 is for example configured to block the read operation, see paragraph [0037]). Access is therefore permitted while the count value is less than or equal to a reference value. The only discloses write access is to the area of isolation level i+1 while the count value is i (See paragraph [0084]). No disclosure describes the memory access control circuit authorizing string of data based on the claimed comparison.
Further, claim 1 recites distinct “intermediate debug access” and “user debug access” controlled by separate “intermediate debug reference” and “user debug reference” values, such that a single sequence of first, second, and third count values prevents both, then authorizes only intermediate debug access, then authorizes user debug access. However, the description describes a single reference TIL value per debug procedure (in paragraph [0045]), defined or retrieved upon a debug request (in paragraphs [0045]- [0046]). The specification does not describe “user debug access” or two coexisting debug reference values.
Independent Claim 10 is similarly rejected. Dependent claims 4-5, 9, 11, 13, 15, 17-18, and 20-29 are rejected by virtue of dependency to their independent claims.
Furthermore, claim 23 recites “the third count value corresponds to a third initialization value of the monotonic counter for a third boot of the processing device”. The specification describes initialization values of the monotonic counter for only a first boot and a second boot (see paragraph [0009]). However, the specification does not describe a third boot, a third initialization value, or a third count value obtained by initializing the counter at a third boot.
Claim 24 depends from claim 23 and is rejected for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 9-11, 15, 17, 20 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simmons (US 2020/0409869 A1), hereinafter Simmons in view of MESSERGES (US 2015/0341341 A1), hereinafter MESSERGES.
Regarding claim 1, Simmons discloses a method for debugging a processing device, the method comprising: providing, by a monotonic counter of the processing device (Simmons, Para. 0059, storage of the device ID may be performed by fuses and a thermometer counter such that the device ID may be only incremented), a first count value (Simmons, Para. 0060, device programmer 110A may be configured to issue an initial device ID to device 101, such as ID1 118);
incrementing the monotonic counter to provide a second count value (Simmons, Para. 0062, in one embodiment ID2 119 may be stored in segment 117 of memory 116 by writing to fuses that change ID1 118 to ID2 119):
authorizing, by the memory access control circuit, storing of second data in the memory based on the second count value being greater than or equal to an intermediate memory access reference value (Simmons, Para. 0064, based on ID2 119, device programmer 110B may access database 112B to determine characteristics of device 101, such as a memory map of memory 116. Device programmer 110B may be configured to write data to device 101. The data may include, for example, public/private keys written to memory 116, or other settings. Device programmer 110B may be configured to write to a specific portion of memory 116, such as segment 122):
incrementing the monotonic counter to provide a third count value (Simmons, Para. 0065, when device 101 has completed all aspects of test system 106, device programmer 110B may assign a different ID to device 101, such as ID3 126);
Simmons does not explicitly disclose authorizing, by a memory access control circuit, storing of first data in a memory based on the first count value being greater than or equal to a first memory access reference value; preventing intermediate debug access, by a debug access control circuit, to the first data stored in the memory based on the first count value being less than an intermediate debug reference value: preventing user debug access, by the debug access control circuit, to the first data stored in the memory based on the first count value being less than a user debug reference value:
authorizing the intermediate debug access, by the debug access control circuit, to second data stored in the memory based on the second count value being greater than or equal to the intermediate debug reference value; preventing the user debug access, by the debug access control circuit, to the second data stored in the memory based on the second count value being less than the user debug reference value: and
authorizing the user debug access, by the debug access control circuit, to third data stored in the memory based on the third count value being greater than or equal to the user debug reference value.
However, MESSERGES teaches authorizing, by a memory access control circuit, storing of first data in a memory based on the first count value being greater than or equal to a first memory access reference value (MESSERGES, Para. 0026, if the identifier in the signed TLS certificate matches the identifier associated with device 102 and if a timestamp in the signed TLS certificate is valid and is within a predefined validity range as determined by the current timestamp stored in device 102 and the interval value in the TLS certificate, device 102 may enable a debugging mode and may execute the debugging instructions received over the TLS session); preventing intermediate debug access, by a debug access control circuit, to the first data stored in the memory based on the first count value being less than an intermediate debug reference value (MESSERGES, Para. 0025, stop executing debugging instructions provided by debugging computer 104 when the current timestamp value is less than the expiration value) and (MESSERGES, Para. 0027, a debug level may be specified in the TLS certificate): preventing user debug access, by the debug access control circuit, to the first data stored in the memory based on the first count value being less than a user debug reference value (MESSERGES, Para. 0025, stop executing debugging instructions provided by debugging computer 104 when the current timestamp value is less than the expiration value) and (MESSERGES, Para. 0016, download information from specific memory portions on device 102):
authorizing the intermediate debug access, by the debug access control circuit, to second data stored in the memory based on the second count value being greater than or equal to the intermediate debug reference value (MESSERGES, Para. 0027, when the TLS certificate specifies a debug level, those debugging operations associated with the specified debug level may be executed when device 102 is in the debugging mode); preventing the user debug access, by the debug access control circuit, to the second data stored in the memory based on the second count value being less than the user debug reference value (MESSERGES, Para. 0025, compare the current timestamp to the secured TLS expiration value, and stop executing debugging instructions provided by debugging computer 104 when the current timestamp value is less than the expiration value): and
authorizing the user debug access, by the debug access control circuit, to third data stored in the memory based on the third count value being greater than or equal to the user debug reference value (MESSERGES, Para. 0025, device 102 may execute debugging instructions in response to determining that the secured expiration value in the TLS certification is less than its current timestamp).
Simmons and MESSERGES are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of verifying, authorizing or restricting access for debugging by the debug access control circuit. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Simmons to incorporate the teachings of MESSERGES to include authorizing, by a memory access control circuit, storing of first data in a memory based on the first count value being greater than or equal to a first memory access reference value (MESSERGES, Para. 0026); preventing intermediate debug access, by a debug access control circuit, to the first data stored in the memory based on the first count value being less than an intermediate debug reference value (MESSERGES, Para. 0025) and (MESSERGES, Para. 0027): preventing user debug access, by the debug access control circuit, to the first data stored in the memory based on the first count value being less than a user debug reference value (MESSERGES, Para. 0025) and (MESSERGES, Para. 0016):
authorizing the intermediate debug access, by the debug access control circuit, to second data stored in the memory based on the second count value being greater than or equal to the intermediate debug reference value (MESSERGES, Para. 0027); preventing the user debug access, by the debug access control circuit, to the second data stored in the memory based on the second count value being less than the user debug reference value (MESSERGES, Para. 0025): and authorizing the user debug access, by the debug access control circuit, to third data stored in the memory based on the third count value being greater than or equal to the user debug reference value (MESSERGES, Para. 0025). Doing so would aid to prevent debugging computer 104 or another device from tampering with the expiration value without such tampering being detected by device 102. By ensuring the integrity and authenticity of the expiration value, device 102 may prevent debugging computer 104 or another device from extending a time period, as provided by the expiration value, for a debugging session (MESSERGES, Para. 0018).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Simmons in view of MESSERGES teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein: the first count value corresponds to a first initialization value of the monotonic counter for a first boot of the processing device (Simmons, Para. 0006, wherein these security keys and security features are configured to provide secure booting or secure debugging, independently determining the state of the security of the semiconductor device is important so that the semiconductor device can be verified and appropriately used and distributed) and (Simmons, Para. 0059, storage of the device ID may be performed by fuses and a thermometer counter such that the device ID may be only incremented) and (Simmons, Para. 0060, device programmer 110A may be configured to issue an initial device ID to device 101, such as ID1 118).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Simmons in view of MESSERGES teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein: during the first boot, the processing device is initially placed in a first state (Simmons, Para. 0074, at (1), device 101 may be newly produced by production system 104 and may be completely blank. At (2), production system 104 may issue ID1 118) and (Simmons, Para. 0060, device programmer 110A may be configured to issue an initial device ID to device 101, such as ID1 118).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Simmons in view of MESSERGES teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising, receiving, by the debug access control circuit, a debug access request from an external device (MESSERGES, Para. 0015, the device receives a debugging establishment request from the debugging computer) and (MESSERGES, Para. 0016, debugging computer 104 may be connected to device 102 via a wired or wireless connection); and verifying, by the debug access control circuit, authentication of the external device (MESSERGES, Para. 0020, device 102 may ensure that the signed TLS certificate has a valid signature and device 102 may use the signature to authenticate debugging computer 104). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Simmons to incorporate the teachings of MESSERGES to include receiving, by the debug access control circuit, a debug access request from an external device (MESSERGES, Para. 0015) and (MESSERGES, Para. 0016); and verifying, by the debug access control circuit, authentication of the external device (MESSERGES, Para. 0020). Doing so would aid to prevent debugging computer 104 or another device from tampering with the expiration value without such tampering being detected by device 102. By ensuring the integrity and authenticity of the expiration value, device 102 may prevent debugging computer 104 or another device from extending a time period, as provided by the expiration value, for a debugging session (MESSERGES, Para. 0018).
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 is similarly analyzed and rejected as the method claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Simmons in view of MESSERGES teaches the data processing device according to claim 10, wherein the monotonic counter is configured to: generate the second count value by incrementing the first count value (Simmons, Para. 0059, storage of device ID may be performed in any suitable manner. The device ID may be stored in a manner so that the device ID may be only changed by increasing its enumeration up or down. For example, storage of the device ID may be performed by fuses and a thermometer counter such that the device ID may be only incremented) and (Simmons, Para. 0062, in one embodiment ID2 119 may be stored in segment 117 of memory 116 by writing to fuses that change ID1 118 to ID2 119).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Simmons in view of MESSERGES teaches the data processing device according to claim 10, wherein the memory is a non-volatile memory (Simmons, Para. 0003, data may be written to non-volatile memory in such devices).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Simmons in view of MESSERGES teaches the data processing device according to claim 10, wherein the debug access control circuit is configured to: receive a debug access request from an external device (MESSERGES, Para. 0015, the device receives a debugging establishment request from the debugging computer); verify authentication of the external device (MESSERGES, Para. 0020, device 102 may ensure that the signed TLS certificate has a valid signature and device 102 may use the signature to authenticate debugging computer 104). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Simmons to incorporate the teachings of MESSERGES to include wherein the debug access control circuit is configured to: receive a debug access request from an external device (MESSERGES, Para. 0015); verify authentication of the external device (MESSERGES, Para. 0020). Doing so would aid to prevent debugging computer 104 or another device from tampering with the expiration value without such tampering being detected by device 102. By ensuring the integrity and authenticity of the expiration value, device 102 may prevent debugging computer 104 or another device from extending a time period, as provided by the expiration value, for a debugging session (MESSERGES, Para. 0018).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Simmons in view of MESSERGES teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the memory is a non-volatile memory (Simmons, Para. 0003, data may be written to non-volatile memory in such devices).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Simmons in view of MESSERGES teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the debug access control circuit, a debug access request from a user of the processing device (MESSERGES, Para. 0015, the device receives a debugging establishment request from the debugging computer) and (MESSERGES, Para. 0016, debugging computer 104 may be connected to device 102 via a wired or wireless connection). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Simmons to incorporate the teachings of MESSERGES to include receiving, by the debug access control circuit, a debug access request from a user of the processing device (MESSERGES, Para. 0015) and (MESSERGES, Para. 0016). Doing so would aid to prevent debugging computer 104 or another device from tampering with the expiration value without such tampering being detected by device 102. By ensuring the integrity and authenticity of the expiration value, device 102 may prevent debugging computer 104 or another device from extending a time period, as provided by the expiration value, for a debugging session (MESSERGES, Para. 0018).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Simmons in view of MESSERGES teaches the data processing device according to claim 11, wherein the monotonic counter is configured to: generate the third count value by incrementing the second count value (Simmons, Para. 0059, storage of the device ID may be performed by fuses and a thermometer counter such that the device ID may be only incremented) and (Simmons, Para. 0065, when device 101 has completed all aspects of test system 106, device programmer 110B may assign a different ID to device 101, such as ID3 126).
Claims 13, 18, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simmons (US 2020/0409869 A1), hereinafter Simmons in view of MESSERGES (US 2015/0341341 A1), hereinafter MESSERGES and further in view of Vasudevan et al. (US 2016/0259941 A1), hereinafter Vasudevan.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Simmons in view of MESSERGES does not explicitly teach the data processing device according to claim 11, wherein the first count value corresponds to a first initialization value of the monotonic counter for a first boot of the data processing device, and wherein the second count value corresponds to a second initialization value of the monotonic counter for a second boot of the data processing device.
However, Vasudevan teaches the data processing device according to claim 11, wherein the first count value corresponds to a first initialization value of the monotonic counter for a first boot of the data processing device (Vasudevan, Para. 0032, the measurement system 112 also includes a boot counter 216, which is a monotonic counter that increases each time the computing device 102 is booted), and wherein the second count value corresponds to a second initialization value of the monotonic counter for a second boot of the data processing device (Vasudevan, Para. 0034, Additionally, upon a power up or a reset event, the boot counter 216 is incremented). Simmons, MESSERGES and Vasudevan are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of boot associated monotonic counter and successive boot sessions and verify the reported device state information corresponding to the current boot. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Simmons and MESSERGES to incorporate the teachings of Vasudevan to include wherein the first count value corresponds to a first initialization value of the monotonic counter for a first boot of the data processing device (Vasudevan, Para. 0032, the measurement system 112 also includes a boot counter 216, which is a monotonic counter that increases each time the computing device 102 is booted), and wherein the second count value corresponds to a second initialization value of the monotonic counter for a second boot of the data processing device (Vasudevan, Para. 0034). Doing so would aid the agent 114 being protected from having malicious code being injected into the program or process while running This protection of the device management agent (Vasudevan, Para. 0020).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Simmons and MESSERGES in view of Vasudevan teaches the data processing device according to claim 13, wherein: during the first boot, the data processing device is configured to be initially placed in a first state (Vasudevan, Para. 0035, at some point during booting of the computing device 102, an indication of the security state of the computing device 102 is included in the combined measurement generated by the TPM 210. In one or more embodiments, the indication of the security state is provided to the TPM 210 by the device management agent 114 or the OS loader 206, although the indication can alternatively be provided by other modules) and (Vasudevan, Para. 0033, upon a power up or a reset event, control is passed to the BIOS 202, which performs hardware initialization and eventually proceeds to launch the boot manager 204). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Simmons and MESSERGES to incorporate the teachings of Vasudevan to include during the first boot, the data processing device is configured to be initially placed in a first state (Vasudevan, Para. 0035) and (Vasudevan, Para. 0033). Doing so would aid the agent 114 being protected from having malicious code being injected into the program or process while running This protection of the device management agent (Vasudevan, Para. 0020).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Simmons in view of MESSERGES does not explicitly teach the method according to claim 4, wherein: the second count value corresponds to a second initialization value of the monotonic counter for a second boot of the processing device.
However, Vasudevan teaches wherein: the second count value corresponds to a second initialization value of the monotonic counter for a second boot of the processing device (Vasudevan, Para. 0032, the measurement system 112 also includes a boot counter 216, which is a monotonic counter that increases each time the computing device 102 is booted) and (Vasudevan, Para. 0034, additionally, upon a power up or a reset event, the boot counter 216 is incremented). Simmons, MESSERGES and Vasudevan are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of boot associated monotonic counter and successive boot sessions and verify the reported device state information corresponding to the current boot. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Simmons and MESSERGES to incorporate the teachings of Vasudevan to include the second count value corresponds to a second initialization value of the monotonic counter for a second boot of the processing device (Vasudevan, Para. 0032) and (Vasudevan, Para. 0034). Doing so would aid the agent 114 being protected from having malicious code being injected into the program or process while running This protection of the device management agent (Vasudevan, Para. 0020).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Simmons and MESSERGES in view of Vasudevan teaches the method according to claim 21, wherein: during the first boot, the processing device is initially placed in a first state (Vasudevan, Para. 0035, at some point during booting of the computing device 102, an indication of the security state of the computing device 102 is included in the combined measurement generated by the TPM 210. In one or more embodiments, the indication of the security state is provided to the TPM 210 by the device management agent 114 or the OS loader 206, although the indication can alternatively be provided by other modules) and (Vasudevan, Para. 0033, upon a power up or a reset event, control is passed to the BIOS 202, which performs hardware initialization and eventually proceeds to launch the boot manager 204). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Simmons and MESSERGES to incorporate the teachings of Vasudevan to include the method according to claim 21, wherein: during the first boot, the processing device is initially placed in a first state (Vasudevan, Para. 0035) and (Vasudevan, Para. 0033). Doing so would aid the agent 114 being protected from having malicious code being injected into the program or process while running This protection of the device management agent (Vasudevan, Para. 0020).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Simmons and MESSERGES in view of Vasudevan teaches the method according to claim 21, wherein: the third count value corresponds to a third initialization value of the monotonic counter for a third boot of the processing device (Vasudevan, Para. 0032, the measurement system 112 also includes a boot counter 216, which is a monotonic counter that increases each time the computing device 102 is booted) and (Vasudevan, Para. 0034, additionally, upon a power up or a reset event, the boot counter 216 is incremented). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Simmons and MESSERGES to incorporate the teachings of Vasudevan to include the method according to claim 21, wherein: the third count value corresponds to a third initialization value of the monotonic counter for a third boot of the processing device (Vasudevan, Para. 0032) and (Vasudevan, Para. 0034). Doing so would aid the agent 114 being protected from having malicious code being injected into the program or process while running This protection of the device management agent (Vasudevan, Para. 0020).
Claims 24-25 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simmons (US 2020/0409869 A1), hereinafter Simmons in view of MESSERGES (US 2015/0341341 A1), hereinafter MESSERGES in view of Vasudevan et al. (US 2016/0259941 A1), hereinafter Vasudevan and further in view of Sastry et al. (US 2015/0331043 A1), hereinafter Sastry.
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Simmons and MESSERGES in view of Vasudevan does not explicitly teach the method according to claim 23, wherein: during the second boot, the processing device is locked in a second state.
However, Sastry teaches the method according to claim 23, wherein: during the second boot, the processing device is locked in a second state (Sastry, Para. 0058, additional fuses can be set (e.g., by the party manufacturing or obtaining control of the SoC) to identify that the SoC is no longer in a Manufacturing state, but is now in a Production state) and (Sastry, Para. 0057, upon setting a personality in a debug session, the personality generator can lock its registers until a new user is authenticated or the debug session is ended). Simmons, MESSERGES, Vasudevan and Sastry are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of boot associated monotonic counter and successive boot sessions and verify the reported device state information corresponding to the current boot. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Simmons, MESSERGES and Vasudevan to incorporate the teachings of Sastry to include wherein: during the second boot, the processing device is locked in a second state (Sastry, Para. 0058) and (Sastry, Para. 0057). Doing so would aid the security logic be provided to define and enforce modes at particular blocks of the SoC, such that assets associated with the particular blocks are protected from access by particular users during debugging or testing (Sastry, Para. 0050).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Simmons in view of MESSERGES does not explicitly teach the method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the debug access control circuit, a debug access request from an intermediate entity.
However, Sastry teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the debug access control circuit, a debug access request from an intermediate entity (Sastry, Para. 0057, hardware authentication engine 805 can receive authentication credential data (e.g., 705 a) over a Joint Test Access Group (JTAG) interface. A variety of different credential types can be supported for authentication, such as password identification, manufacturer per-part user identification, and OEM/intermediary per-part user identification, among other examples). Simmons, MESSERGES and Sastry are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of boot associated monotonic counter and successive boot sessions and verify the reported device state information corresponding to the current boot. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Simmons and MESSERGES to incorporate the teachings of Sastry to include receiving, by the debug access control circuit, a debug access request from an intermediate entity (Sastry, Para. 0057). Doing so would aid the security logic be provided to define and enforce modes at particular blocks of the SoC, such that assets associated with the particular blocks are protected from access by particular users during debugging or testing (Sastry, Para. 0050).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Simmons and MESSERGES in view of Vasudevan does not explicitly teach the data processing device according to claim 18, wherein: during the second boot, the data processing device is configured to be placed in a second state.
However, Sastry teaches the data processing device according to claim 18, wherein: during the second boot, the data processing device is configured to be placed in a second state (Sastry, Para. 0058, for instance, as an SoC progresses from manufacturing the production, additional fuses can be set (e.g., by the party manufacturing or obtaining control of the SoC) to identify that the SoC is no longer in a Manufacturing state, but is now in a Production state). Simmons, MESSERGES, Vasudevan and Sastry are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of boot associated monotonic counter and successive boot sessions and verify the reported device state information corresponding to the current boot. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Simmons, MESSERGES and Vasudevan to incorporate the teachings of Sastry to include the data processing device according to claim 18, wherein: during the second boot, the data processing device is configured to be placed in a second state (Sastry, Para. 0058). Doing so would aid the security logic be provided to define and enforce modes at particular blocks of the SoC, such that assets associated with the particular blocks are protected from access by particular users during debugging or testing (Sastry, Para. 0050).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Simmons in view of MESSERGES does not explicitly teach the data processing device according to claim 10, wherein the debug access control circuit is configured to: receive a first debug access request from an intermediate entity; and receive a second debug access request from a user of the processing device.
However, Sastry teaches the data processing device according to claim 10, wherein the debug access control circuit is configured to: receive a first debug access request from an intermediate entity (Sastry, Para. 0057, hardware authentication engine 805 can receive authentication credential data (e.g., 705 a) over a Joint Test Access Group (JTAG) interface. A variety of different credential types can be supported for authentication, such as password identification, manufacturer per-part user identification, and OEM/intermediary per-part user identification, among other examples); and receive a second debug access request from a user of the processing device (Sastry, Para. 0063, the authentication data can be provided to a dedicated policy generator block on the SoC that is used to manage debug policy for the entire SoC. The user can be authenticated to allow the user to participate in debugging of the SoC based on the authentication data) and (Sastry, Para. 0060).
Simmons, MESSERGES and Sastry are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of boot associated monotonic counter and successive boot sessions and verify the reported device state information corresponding to the current boot. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Simmons and MESSERGES to incorporate the teachings of Sastry to include wherein the debug access control circuit is configured to: receive a first debug access request from an intermediate entity (Sastry, Para. 0057); and receive a second debug access request from a user of the processing device (Sastry, Para. 0063) and (Sastry, Para. 0060). Doing so would aid the security logic be provided to define and enforce modes at particular blocks of the SoC, such that assets associated with the particular blocks are protected from access by particular users during debugging or testing (Sastry, Para. 0050).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTOL-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GITA FARAMARZI/Examiner, Art Unit 2496
/JORGE L ORTIZ CRIADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2496