DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments have resolved the USC 112(b) issues.
Applicant’s amendments do not appear to have resolved the prior art rejection of USC 102 in view of Uhm.
Uhm’s FPBC (720) contains various individual separate wirings for the data and power signals. Even though Uhm diagrammatically shows (720) as a single component, it is made up of the separate first flexible PCB (as claimed) and wiring assembly (as claimed).
As discussed in Uhm para. [0117]-[0120] the separate wiring layers are understood as:
Layers 2, 7 = high speed data transmission/power
Layers 1, 8 = insulating/shielding
Layer 5 = power
Layer 4 = interface (data) signal
Layers 3, 6 = grounding
In comparison with Applicant’s Figure 8A, the claimed elements correspond as:
Instant Application Fig. 8A element
Uhm’s corresponding element
Second Flexible PCB (808A)
Flexible PCB of (241, 711)
Third Flexible PCB (808B)
Portion of Flexible PCB of (720) on the “left side” as labeled in Uhm Fig. 7B. For example the portion of (720) from (705) to/including (712)
First Flexible PCB (802) carrying data
Uhm’s layers/individual wires in (720) between (711) and (705) such as 2, 4 or 7 which carry data (high speed data via 2, 7 or interface data via 4)
Wiring assembly (804) carrying power
Uhm’s layers/individual wires in (720) between (711) and (705) such as 2, 5 or 7 which carry power (power for high speed via 2, 7 or general powering 5)
As discussed in Uhm para. [0118], each layer can be separated by an insulating layer. In other words, the wiring assembly (e.g. any of lines 2, 5, 7) is separate from the first PCB (e.g. any of lines 2, 4, 7). All lines (1-8) extend through the hinge.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 1 be found allowable, claim 2 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Specifically, claim 1 recites the wiring assembly extends through the hinge which is repeated in claim 2.
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 11-14, 16-17, 20 are objected to for failing to provide all the amended language and/or proper status identifiers.
The claim set filed June 27, 2025 was entered via RCE filed June 27, 2025. That claim set included various changes such as “wire assembly” to “wire bundle”, so on and so forth. Such changes are not reflected in the October 21, 2025 claim set or the March 13, 2026 claim set. For instance, claim 2 currently has a status identifier as Original, however claim 2 was amended June 27, 2025.
Examiner suggests reviewing the claims to ensure the various amendments to the claims are reflected in any future filed claim sets.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 11-14, 16-17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Uhm et al. (US 2023/0083895 - Uhm; of record).
As to claim 1, Uhm teaches an electronic eyewear device (Uhm Figs. 2-4; Fig. 7A; Fig. 7B; Figs. 8-9) comprising
a temple (Uhm Fig. 2 - 203) comprising an first electronic component (Uhm Fig. 3 - 243a, 243b; para. [0069]; Fig. 7B - SPK, AMP, PMIC, MEMORY, POWER, MIC);
a frame comprising a second electronic component (Uhm Fig. 7B - 705; Right Display, Right CAMs, Left Cams, Left Display, Touch, 712, 243b);
a hinge coupling the temple to the frame (Uhm Fig. 3 - 229; para. [0067]);
a first flexible PBC (Uhm Fig. 7B - 720, 2, 4, 7) extending through the hinge (Uhm para. [0113]) comprising first electrical conductors coupling the first electronic component and the second electronic component (Uhm Fig. 7B - 720; Fig. 8 - 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7; Fig. 9 - 902, 903, 904, 905, 906, 907 para. [0117]-[0120]), the first electrical conductors configured to transmit data signals from the first electronic component to the second electronic component (Uhm Fig. 7B - 720; Fig. 8 - 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7; Fig. 9 - 902, 903, 904, 905, 906, 907 para. [0117]-[0120] - as taught by Uhm layers such as FPCBs (2, 4, 7) may be data/signal transmission lines);
a wire assembly (Uhm Fig. 8 - 2, 5, 7, 720) extending through the hinge (Uhm para. [0113]) adjacent to, and separate from, the first flexible PCB (Uhm Fig. 8 - 2, 4, 5, 7, 720; para. [0118] - wiring assembly (2, 5, 7) being adjacent to and separate from flexible PCB data lines (2, 4, 7)) and comprising second electrical conductors configured to couple the electrical peripheral component and the controller to transmit power signals from the electrical peripheral component to the controller (Uhm Fig. 7B - 720; Fig. 8 - 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7; Fig. 9 - 902, 903, 904, 905, 906, 907 para. [0117]-[0120] - as taught by Uhm, power signals can be supplied by FPBC wires (2, 5, 7)),
wherein a first end of the wire assembly is connected to the first flexible PCB at a first interface (Uhm Fig 8 - data and power lines (2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7) connected at various first interfaces (701, 705, 711, 712, 810a,b,c,d,e)) and a second end of the wire assembly is coupled to the first flexible PCB at a second interface (Uhm Fig 8 - data and power lines (2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7) connected at various second interfaces (705, 711, 712, 810e,f,g,h,i));
wherein the first interface and the second interface are each proximate to and on opposing sides of the hinge (Uhm Fig. 7B - 701, 711, 712, 705; Fig. 8 - 711, 712, 810a-i);
a second flexible PCB (Uhm Fig. 3 - 241; Fig. 7B - 711; para. [0069], [0103] - teaching PCB (711) can be flexible) directly coupled to both the first PCB and the wire assembly between the first interface and the first electronic component (Uhm Fig. 7B - flexible PCB (711) is directly coupled to (720, 2, 4, 5 ,7) via one first interface (701, 705, 810a-i) and right side first electronic component (243a, SPK, PMIC, AMP, etc.));
a third flexible PCB (Uhm Fig. 7B - left side of FPCB (720)) directly coupled to both the first PCB and the wire assembly between the second interface and second electronic component (Uhm Fig. 7B; Fi. 8 - 810c-i - left side portion of FPCB (720) is directly coupled to (720, 2, 4, 5, 7) via any right side interface (705, 810a-e) and left side second electronic controller (705, 712, 810c-i)).
As to claim 2, Uhm teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Uhm further teaches the wire assembly extends through the hinge (Uhm para. [0113]).
As to claim 3, Uhm teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Uhm further teaches a resistance of the wire assembly second electrical conductors is lower than a resistance of the flexible PCB first electrical conductors (Uhm para. [0120], [0121] - as discussed by Uhm, such layers have corresponding lower or higher loss (resistance) based on the signals to be transmitted which includes power resistance < signal resistance).
As to claim 4, Uhm teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Uhm further teaches the electronic eyewear device further comprises a battery (Uhm Fig. 7B - 243a, 243b), wherein the wire assembly is electrically coupled to the battery (Uhm Fig. 7B - 720, 243a, 243b).
As to claim 6, Uhm teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Uhm further teaches the wire assembly has a length that is less than a length of the first flexible PCB (Uhm Fig. 8 - length of power (e.g. layer 5) from 711 to 810a being less than a length of data PCB (e.g. layers 2, 7) from 711 to any of 810b, c, e)).
As to claim 7, Uhm teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Uhm further teaches the wire assembly comprises a wire bundle (Uhm Fig. 8; Fig. 9; para. [0118], [0123]).
As to claim 8, Uhm teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 7, and Uhm further teaches the wire bundle comprises at least three wires configured to transmit the power signals and ground (Uhm para. [0118]).
As to claim 11, Uhm teaches an electronic eyewear device (Uhm Figs. 2-4; Fig. 7A; Fig. 7B; Figs. 8-9) comprising
a temple (Uhm Fig. 2 - 203) comprising a first electronic component (Uhm Fig. 3 - 243a, 243b; para. [0069]);
a frame comprising a second electronic component (Uhm Fig. 3 - 251, 253, 255; para. [0087]-[0089]; Fig. 3 - 245; Fig. 7B - SPK);
a first flexible PBC comprising first electrical conductors coupling the first electronic component and the second electronic component (Uhm Fig. 7B - 720; Fig. 8 - 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7; Fig. 9 - 902, 903, 904, 905, 906, 907 para. [0117]-[0120]), the first electrical conductors configured to transmit data signals from the first electronic component to the second electronic component (Uhm Fig. 7B - 720; Fig. 8 - 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7; Fig. 9 - 902, 903, 904, 905, 906, 907 para. [0117]-[0120] - as taught by Uhm layers such as FPCBs (2, 4, 7) may be data/signal transmission lines);
a wire assembly (Uhm Fig. 8 - 2, 5, 7) extending adjacent to, and separate from the first PCB (Uhm Fig. 8 - 2, 4, 5, 7, 720; para. [0118] - wiring assembly (2, 5, 7) being adjacent to and separate from flexible PCB data lines (2, 4, 7)) and comprising second electrical conductors configured to couple the first electronic component and the second electronic component and to transmit power signals from the first electronic component and the second electronic component (Uhm Fig. 7B - 720; Fig. 8 - 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7; Fig. 9 - 902, 903, 904, 905, 906, 907 para. [0117]-[0120] - as taught by Uhm, power signals can be supplied by FPBC (2, 5, 7)), wherein a first end of the wire assembly is connected to the first flexible PCB at a first interface (Uhm Fig 8 - data and power lines (2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7) connected at various interfaces (711, 712, 810a,b,c,d,e,f,g,h,i)) and a second end of the wire assembly is coupled to the first flexible PCB at a second interface (Uhm Fig 8 - data and power lines (2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7) connected at various interfaces (711, 712, 810a,b,c,d,e,f,g,h,i));
a second flexible PCB (Uhm Fig. 3 - 241; Fig. 7B - 711; para. [0069], [0103] - teaching PCB (711) can be flexible) directly coupled to both the first PCB and the wire assembly between the first interface and the first electronic component (Uhm Fig. 7B - flexible PCB (711) is directly coupled to (720, 2, 4, 5 ,7) via one first interface (701, 705, 810a-i) and right side first electronic component (243a, SPK, PMIC, AMP, etc.));
a third flexible PCB (Uhm Fig. 3 - 241; Fig. 7B - 712; para.[0069], [0104] - teaching PCB (712) can be flexible) directly coupled to both the first PCB and the wire assembly between the second interface and the second electronic component (Uhm Fig. 7B - flexible PCB (712) directly coupled to (720, 2, 4, 5, 7) and between any one second interface (705, 810a-i) and second electronic component (SPK)).
Examiner’s note: the various flexible PCBs (711, 720, 712) can be chosen for additional interpretations for the claim. For example:
First FPCB = right side portion1 of (720) and corresponding data layers/FPBCs (e.g. layers 2,7)
Wiring assembly = right side portion of (720) and corresponding power layers/FPBCs (e.g. layer 5)
Second FPCB = 711 connected between component (e.g. 243a) and any one right side interfaces (705, 810a-e)
Third FPCB = left side portion of (720) connected between any right side interface (705, 810a-e) and left components (705, 810e-810i).
As to claim 12, Uhm teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11, and Uhm further teaches a hinge (Uhm Fig. 2 - 229; para. [0067]; Fig. 7B - 720) wherein the wire assembly extends through the hinge (Uhm para. [0113]).
As to claim 13, Uhm teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11, and Uhm further teaches a resistance of the wire assembly second electrical conductors is lower than a resistance of the first flexible PCB first electrical conductors (Uhm para. [0120], [0121] - as discussed by Uhm, such layers have corresponding lower or higher loss (resistance) based on the signals to be transmitted which includes power resistance < signal resistance).
As to claim 14, Uhm teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11, and Uhm further teaches the first electronic component comprises a peripheral component (Uhm Fig. 7B - 243a, SPK, AMP, 701, PMIC) and the second electronic component comprises a controller (Uhm Fig. 7B - SPK, 243b, AMP, MIC, POWER).
As to claim 16, Uhm teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11, and Uhm further teaches the wire assembly comprises a wire bundle (Uhm Fig. 8; Fig. 9; para. [0118], [0123]).
As to claim 17, Uhm teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 16, and Uhm further teaches the wire bundle comprises three wires configured to transmit the power signals and ground (Uhm para. [0118]).
As to claim 20, Uhm teaches an electronic eyewear device (Uhm Figs. 2-4; Fig. 7A; Fig. 7B; Figs. 8-9) comprising
a temple (Uhm Fig. 2 - 203) comprising an electrical peripheral component (Uhm Fig. 3 - 243a, 243b; para. [0069]; Fig. 7B - SPK, AMP, PMIC, MEMORY, POWER, MIC);
a frame comprising a controller (Uhm Fig. 7B - 705; Right Display, Right CAMs, Left Cams, Left Display);
a hinge coupling the temple to the frame (Uhm Fig. 3 - 229; para. [0067]);
a first flexible PBC (Uhm Fig. 7B - 720) extending through the hinge (Uhm para. [0113]) comprising first electrical conductors coupling the electrical peripheral component and the controller (Uhm Fig. 7B - 720; Fig. 8 - 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7; Fig. 9 - 902, 903, 904, 905, 906, 907 para. [0117]-[0120]), the first electrical conductors configured to transmit data signals from the electrical peripheral component to the controller (Uhm Fig. 7B - 720; Fig. 8 - 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7; Fig. 9 - 902, 903, 904, 905, 906, 907 para. [0117]-[0120] - as taught by Uhm layers such as FPCBs (2, 4, 7) may be data/signal transmission lines);
a wire assembly (Uhm Fig. 8 - 2, 5, 7, 720) extending through the hinge (Uhm para. [0113]) adjacent to, and separate from, the first flexible PCB (Uhm Fig. 8 - 2, 4, 5, 7, 720; para. [0118] - wiring assembly (2, 5, 7) being adjacent to and separate from flexible PCB data lines (2, 4, 7)) and comprising second electrical conductors configured to couple the electrical peripheral component and the controller to transmit power signals from the electrical peripheral component to the controller (Uhm Fig. 7B - 720; Fig. 8 - 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7; Fig. 9 - 902, 903, 904, 905, 906, 907 para. [0117]-[0120] - as taught by Uhm, power signals can be supplied by FPBC (2, 5, 7)),
wherein a first end of the wire assembly is connected to the first flexible PCB at a first interface (Uhm Fig 8 - data and power lines (2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7) connected at various first interfaces (701, 705, 711, 712, 810a,b,c,d,e)) and a second end of the wire assembly is coupled to the first flexible PCB at a second interface (Uhm Fig 8 - data and power lines (2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7) connected at various second interfaces (705, 711, 712, 810e,f,g,h,i));
wherein the first interface and the second interface are each proximate to and on opposing sides of the hinge (Uhm Fig. 7B - 701, 711, 712, 705; Fig. 8 - 711, 712, 810a-i);
a second flexible PCB (Uhm Fig. 3 - 241; Fig. 7B - 711; para. [0069], [0103] - teaching PCB (711) can be flexible) directly coupled to both the first PCB and the wire assembly between the first interface and the electrical peripheral component (Uhm Fig. 7B - flexible PCB (711) is directly coupled to (720, 2, 4, 5 ,7) via one first interface (701, 705, 810a-i) and right side first electronic component (243a, SPK, PMIC, AMP, etc.));
a third flexible PCB (Uhm Fig. 7B - left side of FPCB (720)) directly coupled to both the first PCB and the wire assembly between the second interface and the controller (Uhm Fig. 7B; Fi. 8 - 810c-i - left side portion of FPCB (720) is directly coupled to (720, 2, 4, 5, 7) via any right side interface (705, 810a-e) and left side second electronic controller (705, 712, 810c-i)).
Conclusion
/ZACHARY W WILKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 June 11, 2026
1 Using Uhm’s left/right labeling in Fig. 7B