Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to applicant remarks received 12/22/2025. Claims 1-21 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8-10, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nicolaidis (US Patent No. 20190097668 A1).
In re claim 1, Nicolaidis teaches A tool system to implement functionality on a workpiece (Para [0055]: “Persons skilled in the art will recognize that circular saw 113 (and other power tools) may be programmed and/or controlled by a computing device, such as smartphone 111, allowing the user to change parameters, such as maximum speed, maximum torque, trigger/speed profiles, soft-start ramp-up periods, etc., as well as turning on/off the circular saw 113, etc.”), the tool system comprising:
a tool body (SEE FIG 1, various power tools depicted, ie, power tool 108, circular saw 113, etc) including an actuator and a controller (Para [0055]: “Persons skilled in the art will recognize that circular saw 113 (and other power tools) may be programmed and/or controlled by a computing device… allowing the user to change parameters, such as maximum speed, maximum torque, trigger/speed profiles, soft-start ramp-up periods, etc., as well as turning on/off the circular saw 113, etc.”; examiner notes the ability for ‘circular saw 113 (and other power tools)’ to be ‘programmed and/or controlled’, defines a tool that includes a ‘controller’, further, ‘allowing the user to change parameters, such as maximum speed…’ etc, defines a power tool with an associated actuator where parameters ‘such as maximum speed…’ etc. implements functionality on each tools associated workpieces.);
a power source coupled to the tool body (SEE FIG 1, Circular Saw 113, Power Tool Battery Pack 106);
a remote device (SEE FIG 1, Personal Computing Device 111) to communicate with the controller according to a Bluetooth wireless protocol (Para [0055]: “…circular saw 113 (shown in FIG. 1), that have a Bluetooth communication circuits, such as circuit 113B... Persons skilled in the art will recognize that circular saw 113 (and other power tools) may be programmed and/or controlled by a computing device, such as smartphone 111, allowing the user to change parameters, such as maximum speed, maximum torque, trigger/speed profiles, soft-start ramp-up periods, etc., as well as turning on/off the circular saw 113, etc.” and para [0056]: “In one embodiment, circular saw 113 may have been programmed to turn off power thereto if it does not receive a Bluetooth communication signal from the paired smartphone 111.”); and
an extender (SEE FIG 1, Network Access Transceiver 104) to communicate with at least one of the remote device (Para [0030]: “For example smartphone 111 may communicate with transceiver 104 via Bluetooth circuit 105B and WLAN/Wi-Fi circuit 105W, etc.”) or the controller according to the Bluetooth wireless protocol (Para [0055]: “Because transceiver(s) 104 have a Bluetooth communication circuit 105B, the transceiver(s) 104 can communicate with devices, such as circular saw 113 (shown in FIG. 1), that have a Bluetooth communication circuits, such as circuit 113B.”);
the extender receiving from the remote device a first signal according to the Bluetooth wireless protocol (Para [0055]: “Because transceiver(s) 104 have a Bluetooth communication circuit 105B, the transceiver(s) 104 can communicate with devices, such as circular saw 113 (shown in FIG. 1), that have a Bluetooth communication circuits, such as circuit 113B. With such arrangement, transceiver(s) 104 can enable communications between circular saw 113 and an out-of-range paired computing device, such as smartphone 111 or local server 101. Persons skilled in the art will recognize that circular saw 113 (and other power tools) may be programmed and/or controlled by a computing device, such as smartphone 111, allowing the user to change parameters, such as maximum speed, maximum torque, trigger/speed profiles, soft-start ramp-up periods, etc., as well as turning on/off the circular saw 113, etc.”);
the controller causing the actuator to implement the functionality on the workpiece in response to receiving the first signal (Para [0055]: “Persons skilled in the art will recognize that circular saw 113 (and other power tools) may be programmed and/or controlled by a computing device, such as smartphone 111, allowing the user to change parameters, such as maximum speed, maximum torque, trigger/speed profiles, soft-start ramp-up periods, etc., as well as turning on/off the circular saw 113, etc.”; examiner notes ‘circular saw 113 (and other power tools)’ are ‘controlled by a computing device, such as smartphone 111’, allowing the user to ‘change parameters such as maximum speed, maximum torque…’ etc, ie, the saw is ‘controlled’ causing the actuator to implement functionality [‘change parameters such as max speed…’ etc.]).
In re claim 8, Nicolaidis teaches wherein the tool body includes a first antenna (SEE FIG 1, Bluetooth Communication Circuit 113B), and wherein the extender is a wireless extender, the wireless extender including a second antenna (Para [0026]: “Transceiver 104 has a controller 105C…” and para [0028]: “Controller 105C may also control different communication circuits… according to the Bluetooth® protocol from an antenna 105B, a WLAN/Wi-Fi circuit 105W for transmitting and/or receiving signals and data packaged according to the IEEE 802.11 standard from an antenna 105WA, …”); and
wherein the extender is configured to be in wireless communication with at least one of the remote device or the tool body, via the second antenna (Para [0030]: “For example smartphone 111 may communicate with transceiver 104 via Bluetooth circuit 105B and WLAN/Wi-Fi circuit 105W, etc.” and para [0055]: “Because transceiver(s) 104 have a Bluetooth communication circuit 105B, the transceiver(s) 104 can communicate with devices, such as circular saw 113 (shown in FIG. 1), that have a Bluetooth communication circuits, such as circuit 113B.”).
In re claim 9, Nicolaidis teaches wherein the extender includes a third antenna (Para [0028]: “Controller 105C may also control different communication circuits, including for example… and/or wireless communication circuits. These wireless communication circuits may include a Bluetooth® circuit 105B for transmitting and/or receiving signals and data packaged according to the Bluetooth® protocol from an antenna 105BA, a WLAN/Wi-Fi circuit 105W for transmitting and/or receiving signals and data packaged according to the IEEE 802.11 standard from an antenna 105WA, a wireless personal area network circuit (WPAN) circuit 105Z for transmitting and/or receiving signals and data packaged according to the IEEE 802.15.4 standard from an antenna 105UZ, an ultra-wideband (UWB) circuit 105U for transmitting and/or receiving signals and data packaged according to the IEEE 802.15.4 standard from an antenna 105UA, and/or a cellular network circuit 105X for transmitting and/or receiving signals and data packaged according to the different cell data standards (such as the Mobile WiMAX or Long Term Evolution (LTE) standards) from an antenna 105XA.”), and wherein the extender is configured to be in wireless communication with the remote device, via the second antenna (Para [0030]: “Such different wireless communication circuits allow transceiver 104 to communicate with different device, such as personal computing devices (such as tablets or smartphones 111)… Persons skilled in the art will recognize that smartphones 111… may use more than one communication protocol to communicate with transceiver 104. For example smartphone 111 may communicate with transceiver 104 via Bluetooth circuit 105B and WLAN/Wi-Fi circuit 105W, etc.”); and
wherein the extender is configured to be in wireless communication with the tool body, via the third antenna (Para [0055]: “Because transceiver(s) 104 have a Bluetooth communication circuit 105B, the transceiver(s) 104 can communicate with devices, such as circular saw 113 (shown in FIG. 1), that have a Bluetooth communication circuits, such as circuit 113B.”).
In re claim 10, Nicolaidis teaches wherein the extender includes a first wireless module that includes the second antenna, and a second wireless module that includes the third antenna (Para [0028]: “Controller 105C may also control different communication circuits, including for example… and/or wireless communication circuits. These wireless communication circuits may include a Bluetooth® circuit 105B for transmitting and/or receiving signals and data packaged according to the Bluetooth® protocol from an antenna 105BA, a WLAN/Wi-Fi circuit 105W for transmitting and/or receiving signals and data packaged according to the IEEE 802.11 standard from an antenna 105WA, a wireless personal area network circuit (WPAN) circuit 105Z for transmitting and/or receiving signals and data packaged according to the IEEE 802.15.4 standard from an antenna 105UZ, an ultra-wideband (UWB) circuit 105U for transmitting and/or receiving signals and data packaged according to the IEEE 802.15.4 standard from an antenna 105UA, and/or a cellular network circuit 105X for transmitting and/or receiving signals and data packaged according to the different cell data standards (such as the Mobile WiMAX or Long Term Evolution (LTE) standards) from an antenna 105XA.”);
wherein the first wireless module is electrically connected to the second wireless module; and
wherein the first wireless module is in wired communication with the second wireless module (Para [0031]: “Persons skilled in the art will recognize that transceiver 104 may have different communication modules that can be installed by the user to customize transceiver 104. For example, transceiver 104 may have slots 104SS that receive different wireless communication circuits disposed within housings and connectable to terminals within slots 104SS. Referring to FIG. 2B, if a user needs Bluetooth and/or Wi-Fi functionality, the user can purchase and install cartridges containing Bluetooth circuit 105B and/or WLAN/Wi-Fi circuit 105W. Alternatively, transceiver 104 may have expansion bus slots 105SZ inside of the housing 104H, allowing the user to install different communication modules by plugging in, for example, printed circuit cards carrying the Bluetooth circuit 105B and/or WLAN/Wi-Fi circuit 105W.”).
In re claim 17, Nicolaidis teaches A tool system configured to implement a functionality on a workpiece (Para [0055]: “Persons skilled in the art will recognize that circular saw 113 (and other power tools) may be programmed and/or controlled by a computing device, such as smartphone 111, allowing the user to change parameters, such as maximum speed, maximum torque, trigger/speed profiles, soft-start ramp-up periods, etc., as well as turning on/off the circular saw 113, etc.”), the tool system comprising:
a tool body (SEE FIG 1, various power tools depicted, ie, power tool 108, circular saw 113, etc) including an actuator, a controller (Para [0055]: “Persons skilled in the art will recognize that circular saw 113 (and other power tools) may be programmed and/or controlled by a computing device… allowing the user to change parameters, such as maximum speed, maximum torque, trigger/speed profiles, soft-start ramp-up periods, etc., as well as turning on/off the circular saw 113, etc.”; examiner notes the ability for ‘circular saw 113 (and other power tools)’ to be ‘programmed and/or controlled’, defines a tool that includes a ‘controller’, further, ‘allowing the user to change parameters, such as maximum speed…’ etc, defines a power tool with an associated actuator where parameters ‘such as maximum speed…’ etc. implements functionality on each tools associated workpieces.), and a first antenna (SEE FIG 1, Bluetooth Communication Circuit 113B);
a power source coupled to the tool body (SEE FIG 1, Circular Saw 113, Power Tool Battery Pack 106); and
a remote device (SEE FIG 1, Personal Computing Device 111) configured to communicate with the controller according to a wireless protocol (Para [0055]: “…circular saw 113 (shown in FIG. 1), that have a Bluetooth communication circuits, such as circuit 113B... Persons skilled in the art will recognize that circular saw 113 (and other power tools) may be programmed and/or controlled by a computing device, such as smartphone 111, allowing the user to change parameters, such as maximum speed, maximum torque, trigger/speed profiles, soft-start ramp-up periods, etc., as well as turning on/off the circular saw 113, etc.” and para [0056]: “In one embodiment, circular saw 113 may have been programmed to turn off power thereto if it does not receive a Bluetooth communication signal from the paired smartphone 111.”);
the controller operating in a first mode to wirelessly communicate directly with the remote device (Para [0055]: “Persons skilled in the art will recognize that circular saw 113 (and other power tools) may be programmed and/or controlled by a computing device, such as smartphone 111, allowing the user to change parameters, such as maximum speed, maximum torque, trigger/speed profiles, soft-start ramp-up periods, etc., as well as turning on/off the circular saw 113, etc.” and para [0056]: “In one embodiment, circular saw 113 may have been programmed to turn off power thereto if it does not receive a Bluetooth communication signal from the paired smartphone 111.”);
the controller operating in a second mode to wirelessly communicate indirectly with the remote device through an extender (Para [0056]: “Because transceiver(s) 104 effectively extend the communication range between smartphone 111 and circular saw 113, circular saw 113 may send a message to smartphone 111 (which is relayed by transceiver(s) 104), noting that circular saw 113 is not receiving a direct communication from smartphone 111 and is instead receiving a relayed communication (and is thus farther than a predetermined distance).”).
In re claim 20, Nicolaidis teaches wherein the controller determines that the extender is in wireless communication and causes the tool body to operate in the second mode (Para [0056]: “Because transceiver(s) 104 effectively extend the communication range between smartphone 111 and circular saw 113, circular saw 113 may send a message to smartphone 111 (which is relayed by transceiver(s) 104), noting that circular saw 113 is not receiving a direct communication from smartphone 111 and is instead receiving a relayed communication (and is thus farther than a predetermined distance).”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5-6, 11-15, 18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nicolaidis (US Patent No. 20190097668 A1), in view of de Swardt (US Patent No. 20220032438).
In re claim 2, Nicolaidis teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above and further teaches wherein the extender is a wired extender (Para [0011]: “Computer network may also include network access transceivers 104. Transceivers 104 may be connectable to the local server 101 via a wired connection, such as an Ethernet network…”), the wired extender including:
an electrical cable (Para [0034]: “Alternatively local server 101 or smartphone 111 may send a message to controller 105 via Ethernet… Examples of this behaviour would be controller 105 receives a command via wired Ethernet to turn off power to the wireless communication circuits 105B, 10W, 105U and/or 105Z during periods of jobsite inactivity.”); and
an antenna electrically connected to the electrical cable (Para [0011]: “Computer network may also include network access transceivers 104. Transceivers 104 may be connectable to the local server 101 via a wired connection, such as an Ethernet network, and/or one or more of a variety of wireless technologies, including: wireless local area network (WLAN) technologies; wireless personal area network (WPAN) technologies (including low-rate wireless personal area network (LR-WPAN) technologies); radio frequency identification (RFID); ultra-wideband (UWB); ultrasound; sound; infrared; visible light; camera vision, etc. Included in WLAN technologies are those conforming to the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series of standards (e.g. Wi-Fi™). Included in WPAN and LR-WPAN technologies are those conforming to the IEEE 802.15 series of standards (e.g. Bluetooth™, ZigBee™, etc.).” and para [0028]: “Controller 105C may also control different communication circuits, including for example, an Ethernet circuit 105E (which may transmit and/or receive information from Ethernet port(s) 104E), and/or wireless communication circuits. These wireless communication circuits may include a Bluetooth® circuit 105B for transmitting and/or receiving signals and data packaged according to the Bluetooth® protocol from an antenna 105BA, a WLAN/Wi-Fi circuit 105W for transmitting and/or receiving signals and data packaged according to the IEEE 802.11 standard from an antenna 105WA, a wireless personal area network circuit (WPAN) circuit 105Z for transmitting and/or receiving signals and data packaged according to the IEEE 802.15.4 standard from an antenna 105UZ, an ultra-wideband (UWB) circuit 105U for transmitting and/or receiving signals and data packaged according to the IEEE 802.15.4 standard from an antenna 105UA, and/or a cellular network circuit 105X for transmitting and/or receiving signals and data packaged according to the different cell data standards (such as the Mobile WiMAX or Long Term Evolution (LTE) standards) from an antenna 105XA. Persons skilled in the art shall recognize that WPAN circuit 105Z may be a low-rate wireless personal area network (LR-WPAN) circuit, which could transmit signals under one or more of the following specifications: Zigbee, ISA 100.11a, WirelessHART, MiWi, and Thread.”),
wherein the remote device is in wireless communication with the extender via the antenna (Para [0026]: “Transceiver 104 has a controller 105C…”, para [0028]: “Controller 105C may also control different communication circuits, including for example, an Ethernet circuit 105E (which may transmit and/or receive information from Ethernet port(s) 104E), and/or wireless communication circuits. These wireless communication circuits may include a Bluetooth® circuit 105B for transmitting and/or receiving signals and data packaged according to the Bluetooth® protocol from an antenna 105BA…” and para [0030]: “For example smartphone 111 may communicate with transceiver 104 via Bluetooth circuit 105B and WLAN/Wi-Fi circuit 105W, etc.”).
Nicolaidis fails to teach wherein the electrical cable is configured to be coupled to the tool body to electrically connect the antenna to the controller.
However, in the same field of endeavor de Swardt teaches wherein the electrical cable is configured to be coupled to the tool body to electrically connect the antenna to the controller (SEE FIG. 1, Data/Power Cable 150 and Para [0023]: “In a typical situation, as noted above, the power tools 130 may be operably coupled to the access point 120 via a first cable…”; to be clear, Nicolaidis teaches wired extender electrically connecting to antenna shown above—shown here, de Swardt teaches electrical cable connected from extender to power tool.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nicolaidis to incorporate the teachings of de Swardt to provide wherein the electrical cable is configured to be coupled to the tool body to electrically connect the antenna to the controller with the construction jobsite computer data network and location services of Nicolaidis. Doing so enables data communications to the control unit of the power tool from an external network via a single cable, as recognized by de Swardt (Para [0007]).
In re claim 5, Nicolaidis and de Swardt teach all of the limitations of claim 2 stated above where Nicolaidis further teaches in response to receiving the first signal, cause the actuator to implement the functionality on the workpiece (Para [0055]: “Persons skilled in the art will recognize that circular saw 113 (and other power tools) may be programmed and/or controlled by a computing device, such as smartphone 111, allowing the user to change parameters, such as maximum speed, maximum torque, trigger/speed profiles, soft-start ramp-up periods, etc., as well as turning on/off the circular saw 113, etc.”; examiner notes ‘circular saw 113 (and other power tools)’ are ‘controlled by a computing device, such as smartphone 111’, allowing the user to ‘change parameters such as maximum speed, maximum torque…’ etc, ie, the saw is ‘controlled’ causing the actuator to implement functionality [‘change parameters such as max speed…’ etc.]).
Nicolaidis fails to teach wherein the controller is configured to:
receive, using the wired communication link, the first signal from the extender, the first signal being an analog signal.
However, de Swardt teaches wherein the controller is configured to:
receive, using the wired communication link, the first signal from the extender (Para [0028]: “In an example embodiment, programs, instructions, control signals and/or the like may be provided to the control unit 250 via an Ethernet port 260 (or similar) connection. These programs, instructions or control signals (if provided) may be received from the line controller 110 and the access point 120 of FIG. 1 in some cases. Accordingly, for example, the control unit 250 may be operably coupled to the access point 120 via the data/power cable 150 discussed above to provide POE for the power tool 130.”), the first signal being an analog signal (Para [0023]: “Accordingly, to eliminate the need for the power cable 142 (and therefore multiple cables being attached to the power tools 130), some example embodiments may provide both data connection (represented by the solid line between the access point 120 and the power tools 130) and power connection (represented by the dot-dashed line between the access point 120 and the power tools 130) from the access point 120 to the power tool 130 via a single data/power cable 150 (e.g., a standard Ethernet cable, or another analog or bus communication cable such as a CAT 5 cable, RJ 45 cable and/or the like).”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nicolaidis to incorporate the teachings of de Swardt to provide wherein the controller is configured to: receive, using the wired communication link, the first signal from the extender, the first signal being an analog signal with the construction jobsite computer data network and location services of Nicolaidis. Doing so enables data communications such as programs, instructions, control signals and/or the like provided to the control unit 250 of the power tool from an external network via a single cable such as an analog communication cable, as recognized by de Swardt (Paras [0007], [0023] and [0028]).
In re claim 6, Nicolaidis and de Swardt teach all of the limitations of claim 5 stated above where Nicolaidis further teaches wherein in response to receiving the second signal, the extender is configured to transmit a wireless signal to the remote device, via the antenna (Para [0026]: “Transceiver 104 has a controller 105C…”, para [0028]: “Controller 105C may also control different communication circuits, including for example, an Ethernet circuit 105E (which may transmit and/or receive information from Ethernet port(s) 104E), and/or wireless communication circuits. These wireless communication circuits may include a Bluetooth® circuit 105B for transmitting and/or receiving signals and data packaged according to the Bluetooth® protocol from an antenna 105BA…”, para [0030]: “For example smartphone 111 may communicate with transceiver 104 via Bluetooth circuit 105B and WLAN/Wi-Fi circuit 105W, etc.” and para [0056]: “Because transceiver(s) 104 effectively extend the communication range between smartphone 111 and circular saw 113, circular saw 113 may send a message to smartphone 111 (which is relayed by transceiver(s) 104), noting that circular saw 113 is not receiving a direct communication from smartphone 111 and is instead receiving a relayed communication (and is thus farther than a predetermined distance).”).
Nicolaidis fails to teach wherein the controller is configured to transmit a second signal to the wireless module of the extender, via the electrical cable, the second signal being an analog signal.
However, de Swardt teaches wherein the controller is configured to transmit a second signal to the wireless module of the extender, via the electrical cable (Para [0021]: “However, when employed, each of the access point 120, the power tools 130 and the line controller 110 may include a communications module and corresponding transmit/receive circuitry for facilitating communication over the network.”; examiner notes ‘power tools 130’ may include ‘corresponding transmit/receive circuitry’ for ‘facilitating communications’ over the wired connection.), the second signal being an analog signal (Para [0023]: “…from the access point 120 to the power tool 130 via a single data/power cable 150 (e.g., a standard Ethernet cable, or another analog or bus communication cable such as a CAT 5 cable, RJ 45 cable and/or the like).”).
In re claim 11, Nicolaidis teaches A tool system configured to implement a functionality on a workpiece (Para [0055]: “Persons skilled in the art will recognize that circular saw 113 (and other power tools) may be programmed and/or controlled by a computing device, such as smartphone 111, allowing the user to change parameters, such as maximum speed, maximum torque, trigger/speed profiles, soft-start ramp-up periods, etc., as well as turning on/off the circular saw 113, etc.”), the tool system comprising:
a tool body (SEE FIG 1, various power tools depicted, ie, power tool 108, circular saw 113, etc) including an actuator and a controller (Para [0055]: “Persons skilled in the art will recognize that circular saw 113 (and other power tools) may be programmed and/or controlled by a computing device… allowing the user to change parameters, such as maximum speed, maximum torque, trigger/speed profiles, soft-start ramp-up periods, etc., as well as turning on/off the circular saw 113, etc.”; examiner notes the ability for ‘circular saw 113 (and other power tools)’ to be ‘programmed and/or controlled’, defines a tool that includes a ‘controller’, further, ‘allowing the user to change parameters, such as maximum speed…’ etc, defines a power tool with an associated actuator where parameters ‘such as maximum speed…’ etc. implements functionality on each tools associated workpieces.);
a power source coupled to the tool body (SEE FIG 1, Circular Saw 113, Power Tool Battery Pack 106);
a remote device (SEE FIG 1, Personal Computing Device 111) configured to communicate with the controller according to a wireless protocol (Para [0055]: “…circular saw 113 (shown in FIG. 1), that have a Bluetooth communication circuits, such as circuit 113B... Persons skilled in the art will recognize that circular saw 113 (and other power tools) may be programmed and/or controlled by a computing device, such as smartphone 111, allowing the user to change parameters, such as maximum speed, maximum torque, trigger/speed profiles, soft-start ramp-up periods, etc., as well as turning on/off the circular saw 113, etc.” and para [0056]: “In one embodiment, circular saw 113 may have been programmed to turn off power thereto if it does not receive a Bluetooth communication signal from the paired smartphone 111.”); and
an extender (SEE FIG 1, Network Access Transceiver 104) including an antenna (Para [0026]: “Transceiver 104 has a controller 105C…” and para [0028]: “Controller 105C may also control different communication circuits, including for example… and/or wireless communication circuits. These wireless communication circuits may include a Bluetooth® circuit 105B for transmitting and/or receiving signals and data packaged according to the Bluetooth® protocol from an antenna 105BA, a WLAN/Wi-Fi circuit 105W for transmitting and/or receiving signals and data packaged according to the IEEE 802.11 standard from an antenna 105WA, a wireless personal area network circuit (WPAN) circuit 105Z for transmitting and/or receiving signals and data packaged according to the IEEE 802.15.4 standard from an antenna 105UZ, an ultra-wideband (UWB) circuit 105U for transmitting and/or receiving signals and data packaged according to the IEEE 802.15.4 standard from an antenna 105UA, and/or a cellular network circuit 105X for transmitting and/or receiving signals and data packaged according to the different cell data standards (such as the Mobile WiMAX or Long Term Evolution (LTE) standards) from an antenna 105XA.”);
the antenna receiving a first signal according to the wireless protocol from the remote device (Para [0055]: “Because transceiver(s) 104 have a Bluetooth communication circuit 105B, the transceiver(s) 104 can communicate with devices, such as circular saw 113 (shown in FIG. 1), that have a Bluetooth communication circuits, such as circuit 113B. With such arrangement, transceiver(s) 104 can enable communications between circular saw 113 and an out-of-range paired computing device, such as smartphone 111 or local server 101. Persons skilled in the art will recognize that circular saw 113 (and other power tools) may be programmed and/or controlled by a computing device, such as smartphone 111, allowing the user to change parameters, such as maximum speed, maximum torque, trigger/speed profiles, soft-start ramp-up periods, etc., as well as turning on/off the circular saw 113, etc.”);
the controller causing the actuator to implement the functionality on the workpiece in response to the first signal (Para [0055]: “Persons skilled in the art will recognize that circular saw 113 (and other power tools) may be programmed and/or controlled by a computing device, such as smartphone 111, allowing the user to change parameters, such as maximum speed, maximum torque, trigger/speed profiles, soft-start ramp-up periods, etc., as well as turning on/off the circular saw 113, etc.”; examiner notes ‘circular saw 113 (and other power tools)’ are ‘controlled by a computing device, such as smartphone 111’, allowing the user to ‘change parameters such as maximum speed, maximum torque…’ etc, ie, the saw is ‘controlled’ causing the actuator to implement functionality [‘change parameters such as max speed…’ etc.]).
Nicolaidis fails to teach the extender removably coupled to the tool body with an electrical cable;
the extender communicating the first signal to the controller.
However, de Swardt teaches the extender removably coupled to the tool body with an electrical cable (SEE FIG. 1, Data/Power Cable 150 and Para [0023]: “In a typical situation, as noted above, the power tools 130 may be operably coupled to the access point 120 via a first cable…”; to be clear, Nicolaidis teaches wired extender electrically connecting to antenna shown above—shown here, de Swardt teaches electrical cable connected from extender to power tool.);
the extender communicating the first signal to the controller (Para [0028]: “In an example embodiment, programs, instructions, control signals and/or the like may be provided to the control unit 250 via an Ethernet port 260 (or similar) connection. These programs, instructions or control signals (if provided) may be received from the line controller 110 and the access point 120 of FIG. 1 in some cases. Accordingly, for example, the control unit 250 may be operably coupled to the access point 120 via the data/power cable 150 discussed above to provide POE for the power tool 130.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nicolaidis to incorporate the teachings of de Swardt to provide the extender removably coupled to the tool body with an electrical cable; the extender communicating the first signal to the controller with the construction jobsite computer data network and location services of Nicolaidis. Doing so enables data communications such as programs, instructions, control signals and/or the like provided to the control unit 250 of the power tool from an external network via a single cable such as an analog or bus communication cable, as recognized by de Swardt (Paras [0007], [0023] and [0028]).
In re claim 12, Nicolaidis and de Swardt teach all of the limitations of claim 11 stated above where Nicolaidis further teaches wherein the extender includes a wireless module that includes the antenna (Para [0026]: “Transceiver 104 has a controller 105C…” and para [0028]: “Controller 105C may also control different communication circuits… according to the Bluetooth® protocol from an antenna 105B, a WLAN/Wi-Fi circuit 105W for transmitting and/or receiving signals and data packaged according to the IEEE 802.11 standard from an antenna 105WA, …”).
Nicolaidis fails to teach the wireless module and the controller being in digital wired communication.
However, de Swardt teaches the wireless module and the controller being in digital wired communication (Para [0023]: “…from the access point 120 to the power tool 130 via a single data/power cable 150 (e.g., a standard Ethernet cable, or another analog or bus communication cable such as a CAT 5 cable, RJ 45 cable and/or the like).”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combinatioin of Nicolaidis and de Swardt to further incorporate the teachings of de Swardt to provide the wireless module and the controller being in digital wired communication with the construction jobsite computer data network and location services of Nicolaidis as modified by de Swardt. Doing so enables data communications such as programs, instructions, control signals and/or the like provided to the control unit 250 of the power tool from an external network via a single cable such as an bus communication cable, as recognized by de Swardt (Paras [0007], [0023] and [0028]).
In re claim 13, Nicolaidis and de Swardt teach all of the limitations of claim 11 stated above where de Swardt further teaches wherein the controller is configured to transmit and receive an analog signal that is a radiofrequency signal to the antenna through the electrical cable (Para [0021]: “However, when employed, each of the access point 120, the power tools 130 and the line controller 110 may include a communications module and corresponding transmit/receive circuitry for facilitating communication over the network.”; examiner notes ‘power tools 130’ may include ‘corresponding transmit/receive circuitry’ for ‘facilitating communications’ over the wired connection. Para [0023]: “…from the access point 120 to the power tool 130 via a single data/power cable 150 (e.g., a standard Ethernet cable, or another analog or bus communication cable such as a CAT 5 cable, RJ 45 cable and/or the like).”).
In re claim 14, Nicolaidis and de Swardt teach all of the limitations of claim 11 stated above where Nicolaidis further teaches wherein the power source is a first power source (SEE FIG 1, Circular Saw 113, Power Tool Battery Pack 106), and the extender includes a second power source that is a rechargeable battery (Para [0036]: “Because of the multiple transceivers 104 in network 100 are disposed throughout the construction jobsite, such arrangement results in a reliable network that would stay active even if AC power is lost (due to the transceivers 104 being powerable by the power tool battery packs 106).”).
In re claim 15, Nicolaidis and de Swardt teach all of the limitations of claim 11 stated above where Nicolaidis further teaches and further comprising a second antenna coupled to the tool body (SEE FIG 1, Bluetooth Communication Circuit 113B), the second antenna wirelessly communicating with the remote device (Para [0055]: “Persons skilled in the art will recognize that circular saw 113 (and other power tools) may be programmed and/or controlled by a computing device, such as smartphone 111, allowing the user to change parameters, such as maximum speed, maximum torque, trigger/speed profiles, soft-start ramp-up periods, etc., as well as turning on/off the circular saw 113, etc.” and para [0056]: “In one embodiment, circular saw 113 may have been programmed to turn off power thereto if it does not receive a Bluetooth communication signal from the paired smartphone 111.”).
In re claim 18, Nicolaidis teaches all of the limitations of claim 17 stated above and further teaches and further comprising a trigger in communication with the controller (SEE FIG 1, Power Tools 108, 113, where Tool 108 depicts a trigger, and para [0055]: “Persons skilled in the art will recognize that circular saw 113 (and other power tools) may be programmed and/or controlled by a computing device, such as smartphone 111, allowing the user to change parameters, such as… trigger/speed profiles…”; examiner notes ‘trigger/speed profiles’ describes adjusting a power tool’s trigger switch responsiveness, therefore describing a power tool with trigger to adjust said profile.).
Nicolaidis fails to teach and wherein the controller operates in a third mode to cause the actuator to implement the functionality on the workpiece based on the trigger being actuated.
However, de Swardt teaches and wherein the controller operates in a third mode to cause the actuator to implement the functionality on the workpiece based on the trigger being actuated (Para [0043]: “…embodiments may use the same actuator or trigger that otherwise actuates the power tool 130… The boost actuator (if employed) and the trigger or other actuator for normal operation of the power tool 130 may each be portions of the user interface 252.”; Examiner notes power tool basic functions are to operate when said power tool’s trigger is actuated, therefore operating in its most basic mode—this includes the power tools taught in Nicolaidis—however, for sake of clarity and compact prosecution, a mapping to de Swardt is provided.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nicolaidis to incorporate the teachings of de Swardt to provide and wherein the controller operates in a third mode to cause the actuator to implement the functionality on the workpiece based on the trigger being actuated with the construction jobsite computer data network and location services of Nicolaidis. Doing so enables normal operation of the power tool, as recognized by de Swardt (Para [0043]).
In re claim 21, Nicolaidis teaches all of the limitations of claim 20 stated above and further teaches and causes the tool body to operate in the second mode (Para [0056]: “Because transceiver(s) 104 effectively extend the communication range between smartphone 111 and circular saw 113, circular saw 113 may send a message to smartphone 111 (which is relayed by transceiver(s) 104), noting that circular saw 113 is not receiving a direct communication from smartphone 111 and is instead receiving a relayed communication (and is thus farther than a predetermined distance).”).
Nicolaidis fails to teach wherein the controller determines that an electrical cable is connected between the extender and the tool body.
However, de Swardt teaches wherein the controller determines that an electrical cable is connected between the extender and the tool body (Para [0022]: “The power tools 130 may be configured to employ Ethernet communication with the line controller 110 on a one way (e.g., from the line controller 110 to the power tools 130) or two-way basis. As such, for example, in some cases, usage data for logging or activity tracking may be provided back to the line controller 110 from the power tools 130 responsive to operation of the power tools 130. Moreover, in some cases, the two-way communication may be employed for step-by-step or activity based interactive instruction provision that can be conducted on a real-time basis.” and para [0028]: “In an example embodiment, programs, instructions, control signals and/or the like may be provided to the control unit 250 via an Ethernet port 260 (or similar) connection. These programs, instructions or control signals (if provided) may be received from the line controller 110 and the access point 120 of FIG. 1 in some cases. Accordingly, for example, the control unit 250 may be operably coupled to the access point 120 via the data/power cable 150 discussed above to provide POE for the power tool 130.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nicolaidis to incorporate the teachings of de Swardt to provide wherein the controller determines that an electrical cable is connected between the extender and the tool body with the construction jobsite computer data network and location services of Nicolaidis. Doing so enables programs, instructions, control signals and/or the like may be provided to the control unit 250 via an Ethernet port 260 (or similar) connection and the control unit 250 operably coupled to the access point 120 via the data/power cable 150 discussed above to provide POE for the power tool 130, as recognized by de Swardt (Para [0028]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nicolaidis (US Patent No. 20190097668 A1), in view of de Swardt (US Patent No. 20220032438) and further in view of Takashi (WO Patent No. 2021064860 A1).
In re claim 7, Nicolaidis and de Swardt teach all of the limitations of claim 2 stated above but fails to teach wherein the tool body does not include an antenna; and
wherein the controller is incapable of communicating wirelessly without the antenna of the extender.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Takashi teaches wherein the tool body does not include an antenna (SEE FIG 2, Communication Device 3 and Battery 4 vs FIG 3, Battery 4); and
wherein the controller is incapable of communicating wirelessly without the antenna of the extender (Description of Embodiments, Example of Electrical Configuration of Power Tools, para [0036]: “Further, in this example, the communication device 3 is removable from the main body 2, and the battery 4 is removable from each of the main body 2 and the communication device 3. As a result, when the communication device 3 is unnecessary, the communication device 3 can be removed from the main body 2, the battery 4 can be directly attached to the main body 2, and the power for the main body can be supplied to the main body 2. Therefore, it is possible to easily deal with the necessity of the communication device 3.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Nicolaidis and de Swardt to further incorporate the teachings of Takashi to provide wherein the tool body does not include an antenna; and wherein the controller is incapable of communicating wirelessly without the antenna of the extender with the construction jobsite computer data network and location services of Nicolaidis as modified by de Swardt. Doing so enables the communication device 3 to be removed from the main body 2 and the battery 4 to be directly attached to the main body 2, thus powering the main body, where the communication device 3 is unnecessary, as recognized by Takashi (Description of Embodiments, Example of Electrical Configuration of Power Tools, para [0036]).
Claims 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nicolaidis (US Patent No. 20190097668 A1), in view of de Swardt (US Patent No. 20220032438) and further in view of Barezzani (US Patent No. 20180161890 A1).
In re claim 16, Nicolaidis and de Swardt teach all of the limitations of claim 11 stated above but fails to teach wherein the workpiece is an underground wire and the functionality performed on the workpiece is cutting the underground wire; and wherein the extender is configured to be positioned above ground.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Barezzani teaches wherein the workpiece is an underground wire and the functionality performed on the workpiece is cutting the underground wire (Para [0103]: “In an embodiment, the working head 4 may comprise compression jaws instead of the described cutting jaws 5, 6, and thus be adapted to compress cables or electrical connections or other workpieces with the same features described with reference to the cutting of cables.”); and wherein the extender is configured to be positioned above ground (SEE FIG 14, Actuation Receiver 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Nicolaidis and de Swardt to further incorporate the teachings of Barezzani to provide wherein the workpiece is an underground wire and the functionality performed on the workpiece is cutting the underground wire; and wherein the extender is configured to be positioned above ground with the construction jobsite computer data network and location services of Nicolaidis as modified by de Swardt. Doing so enables cutting of electric conductors in environments which are difficult to access, e.g. in underground channels which can be accessed from road level or from ground level by means of a manhole or by means of a trench, for the working safety needs, both real and perceived by the operator, as recognized by Barezzani (Paras [0006] and [0007]).
In re claim 19, Nicolaidis and de Swardt teach all of the limitations of claim 18 stated above but fails to teach wherein the controller operates in a single mode at any given time.
However, Barezzani teaches wherein the controller operates in a single mode at any given time (Para [0101]: “In an embodiment, the control panel 41 also allows the manual selection of an operating mode of the pump 3 from a plurality of preset operating modes, and the hand-held remote control 8 may comprise a display which shows the selected operating mode and/or the operating parameters and/or information on the cutting execution state.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Nicolaidis and de Swardt to further incorporate the teachings of Barezzani to provide wherein the controller operates in a single mode at any given time with the construction jobsite computer data network and location services of Nicolaidis as modified by de Swardt. Doing so allows the manual selection of an operating mode of the pump 3 from a plurality of preset operating modes, as recognized by Barezzani (Para [0101]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 12/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 7-8 of applicant Remarks, applicant argues:
“Nicolaidis fails to teach or suggest a controller that is configured to operate an actuator to cause the actuator to implement a functionality on a workpiece in response to receiving a first signal from a remote device.
* * *
In addition, the Office alleges that because the smartphone 111 can program and change operating parameters as well as turn on or off of the saw 113, Nicolaidis inherently suggests that the saw 113 includes a controller configured to operate an actuator to cause the actuator to implement a functionality on a workpiece in response to receiving a first signal. Id.
However, the parameters cited by the Office and taught in paragraph [0055] of Nicolaidis-maximum speed, maximum torque, trigger/speed profiles, soft-start ramp-up periods are merely operating settings for the saw 113. The settings themselves do not implement a functionality on a workpiece, as the claim requires. See Nicolaidis, [0055]. That is, changing these parameters via the smartphone 111 only configures various operating parameters of the saw 113, but does not cause the saw 113 to implement a functionality on a workpiece.
This is confirmed in at least U.S. Patent Application Publication US2014/0367134, which is incorporated by Nicolaidis (see id.), which provides that "drill driver 10 includes a DC motor 34 and a motor transmission 35, the motor 34 operable using DC current from battery pack 16 and controlled by trigger 28." US2014/0367134, P [0031]. Thus, Nicolaidis fails to teach or suggest a controller that is configured to operate an actuator to cause the actuator to implement a functionality on a workpiece in response to receiving a first signal from a remote device.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The argument that the disclosed parameters are “merely settings" is not persuasive. The parameters (e.g., maximum speed, torque, trigger/speed profiles, and ramp-up periods) directly control operation of the motor driving the saw blade. The motor constitutes an actuator, that performs the cutting operation on the workpiece. When the controller applies these parameters in response to commands received from the remote device, the controller necessarily controls the actuator to perform the cutting functionality. Furthermore, the reference explicitly discloses that the computing device can turn the circular saw on or off. Turning the saw on causes the controller to drive the motor that rotates the blade to cut a workpiece. Thus, even if parameter changes were considered configuration settings, the on/off control alone satisfies the limitation. Furthermore, settings are not abstract values; they are implemented by controlling the actuator. For example, max speed -> controller limits motor RPM. Finally, the claim only requires 'the controller causing the actuator to implement the functionality on the workpiece in response to receiving the first signal'—it does not require that the signal itself be a direct cut now command. A signal that configures actuator behavior for cutting still satisfies the limitation because it controls how the actuator performs the workpiece operation as broadly claimed and interpreted.
Similarly for the remarks on page 10 for arguing similar limitation and being similar in scope.
On page 9 of applicant Remarks, applicant argues:
“Nicolaidis fails to disclose a controller that operates in a first mode to wirelessly communicate directly with a remote device. Nicolaidis instead teaches that the "circular saw 113 is not receiving a direct communication from smartphone 111 and is instead receiving a relayed communication." See Nicolaidis, [0056]. Accordingly, the smartphone 111 of Nicolaidis is only indirectly connected with the circular saw 113 through the relayed communication of the transceiver 104. See also Nicolaidis, [0055]. ("Persons skilled in the art should recognize that smartphone 111 may not even be on the jobsite to program circular saw 113, as smartphone 111 can interact with central server 103, which then relays the commands to the circular saw 113 via local server 101, transceiver(s) 104 and/or tags 107."). As such, Nicolaidis fails to disclose a controller that operates in a first mode to wirelessly communicate directly with a remote device, as recited in claim 17.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Nicolaidis teaches in para [0056] “In one embodiment, circular saw 113 may have been programmed to turn off power thereto if it does not receive a Bluetooth communication signal from the paired smartphone 111.”—therefore, when the Bluetooth-paired smartphone is no longer in range, or, no longer in ‘a first mode’, the mobile phone is ‘out of range’, ie, communicates through transceiver in ‘a second mode’.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record does not expressly teach or render obvious, in the context of the claims taken as a whole:
Regarding claim 3, wherein the extender includes a wireless module that includes the antenna;
wherein when the electrical cable is connected to the tool body, a wired communication link is established between the controller and the wireless module;
wherein when the electrical cable electrically connects to the tool body, the power source provides power to the wireless module;
wherein the extender does not include a power source.
Regarding claim 4, wherein the controller is configured to:
receive, using the wired communication link, the first signal from the extender, the first signal being a digital signal;
in response to receiving the first signal, cause the actuator to implement the functionality on the workpiece; and
transmit a second signal to the wireless module, via the electrical cable;
wherein in response to receiving the second signal, the extender transmits a wireless signal to the remote device, via the antenna.
Moreover, modifying the prior art to achieve the claim limitation can only be achieved by hindsight, as no other reference includes these claims limitations.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES E MUNION/Examiner, Art Unit 2688 03/10/2026
/STEVEN LIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2688