DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 12, 15-16,18, 21, 29, 32, 33, 35, 46, 47, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SERRAVALLE et al (US 2023/0370919) in view of TAMMANA et al (US 2023/0422129) further in view of SABOURI-SICHANI et al (US 20230129259)
Regarding claim 1, 18, SERRAVALLE et al (US 2023/0370919) discloses a method for wireless communication, comprising:
monitoring, by a wireless communication apparatus of a user equipment (UE), one or more cells including at least a first cell of a wireless communication network in association with at least a first criterion, the first criterion associated with a history of ping-pong events or a history of data transmission errors indicative of problematic cells (SERRAVALLE: ¶45, ¶60-61, ¶65, the UE monitors a plurality of cells, and selects based on a criterion, using the selection parameters, which cell to select; the criterion includes a history of ping pong occurrences corresponding to one or more cells);
selecting a primary cell of the wireless communication network using a cell selection criteria according to the first criterion; and communicating with the wireless communication network using the primary cell (SERRAVALLE: ¶68, selecting at least one cell to camp on (a cell used for communication) using a cell selection criteria that is adjusted according to the new/adjusted selection parameter).
SERRAVALLE remains silent regarding deprioritizing, in accordance with the cell selection criteria, selection of a first cell when the first cell is a problematic cell according to a first criterion, wherein selecting the primary cell of the wireless communication network includes one or more of: adjusting cell selection measurements associated with the problematic cell; overriding or modifying a reporting criterion for a triggered measurement reporting event to reduce measurement reporting of the problematic cell, wherein the triggered measurement reporting event is associated with initiating a handover of the UE from a current serving cell to a neighbor cell; or refraining from sending a triggered measurement report for the problematic cell.
However, TAMMANA et al (US 2023/0422129) discloses deprioritizing, in accordance with the cell selection criteria, selection of a first cell when the first cell is a problematic cell according to a first criterion (TAMMANA: ¶50, ¶52, ¶55, deprioritizing a cell and its band priority from a higher to a lower priority for cell reselection), problematic cell is deprioritized cell (TAMMANA: ¶50, ¶52, ¶55, deprioritized cell is the problematic cell)
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of SERRAVALLE would have been motivated to use the teachings of TAMMANA as it provides a way to improve user experience by utilizing dynamically assigning SIB/cell priorities based on performance degradation including ping-pong effects and transmission failures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of SERRAVALLE with teachings of TAMMANA in order to improve user experience by using different preferences associated with each cell for reselection.
SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA remains silent regarding, however, SABOURI-SICHANI et al (US 20230129259) discloses that selecting the primary cell of the wireless communication network includes adjusting cell selection measurements associated with the problematic cell (SABOURI-SICHANI: ¶123-124, the cell selection measurements which are associated with the problematic cell are adjusted by an offset)
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA would have been motivated to use the teachings of SABOURI-SICHANI in order to improve autonomous performance of optimization of a cell selection process (¶22). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA with teachings of SABOURI-SICHANI in order to improve automation in the cell selection process and optimizing the process.
Regarding claim 4, 21, SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by SABOURI-SICHANI method of claim 1/18, wherein monitoring the one or more cells includes: monitoring the history of data transmission errors associated with the first cell (SERRAVALLE: ¶45, ¶60-61, ¶65, criterion includes a history of ping pong occurrences corresponding to one or more cells); and
confirming the first cell as the problematic cell when the history of data transmission errors is associated with the first criterion, the first criterion including at least one member selected from a group consisting of a first quantity (N1) of uplink buffer errors in a preceding time period (T); a second quantity (N2) of uplink retransmissions in the preceding time period (T); and a third quantity (N3) of downlink reordering or reassembly errors in in the preceding time period (T) (TAMMANA: ¶66, ¶69, ¶22, call drops including UL transmissions/retransmissions and out of order packet alarms).
Regarding claim 12, 29, SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by SABOURI-SICHANI discloses method of claim 1, further comprising: communicating an identification of the first cell as the problematic cell to a server that aggregates problematic cell information from more than one UE in the wireless communication network (SERRAVALLE: ¶66, the base station/server combines information from plurality of UEs regarding problematic cells).
Regarding claim 15, SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by SABOURI-SICHANI discloses method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from a server, aggregated problematic cell information that is associated with problematic cells identified by more than one UE in the wireless communication network (SERRAVALLE: ¶65, cell selection parameter is provided to the UEs based on the aggregated information on the problematic cell from the UEs).
Regarding claim 32, SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by SABOURI-SICHANI discloses UE of claim 18, further comprising: wherein the at least one modem is further configured to obtain, from a server, aggregated problematic cell information that is associated with problematic cells identified by more than one UE in the wireless communication network (SERRAVALLE: ¶65, cell selection parameter is provided to the UEs based on the aggregated information on the problematic cell from the UEs).
Regarding claim 16, 33, SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by SABOURI-SICHANI discloses UE of claim 15/32, wherein the cell selection criteria deprioritizes problematic cells identified by the aggregated problematic cell information (TAMMANA: ¶61, deprioritizes degraded layers with relative degradation).
Regarding claim 35, SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by SABOURI-SICHANI of claim 18, further comprising:
at least one transceiver coupled to the at least one modem;
at least one antenna coupled to the at least one transceiver to wirelessly transmit signals output from the at least one transceiver and to wirelessly receive signals for input into the at least one transceiver; and a housing that encompasses at least the wireless communication apparatus, the at least one modem, the at least one transceiver, and at least a portion of the at least one antenna (SERRAVALLE: ¶51-54, UE with transceiver and modem, antenna and processor).
Regarding claim 46, SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by SABOURI-SICHANI method of The method of wherein the UE is in an idle mode (SERRAVALLE: ¶108, idle state).
Regarding claim 47, SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA method of SABOURI-SICHANI discloses method of wherein the UE is in an connected mode (SERRAVALLE: ¶108, active state).
Claim(s) 6, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by SABOURI-SICHANI as applied to claim 1/18 above, further in view of YOSHIZUMI et al (US 2021/0185584)
Regarding claim 6, 23, SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by SABOURI-SICHANI discloses method of claim 1/18 as above.
SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by SABOURI-SICHANI remains silent regarding, however, YOSHIZUMI discloses wherein measurement configuration includes a first reporting event and the reporting criterion for the first reporting event includes a signal measurement of the neighbor cell being greater than a first threshold; and
wherein overriding the measurement configuration includes replacing the first reporting event with a second reporting event such that the triggered measurement reporting event is satisfied when a signal measurement of the current serving cell is worse than a second threshold and the signal measurement of the neighbor cell is better than a third threshold (YOSHIZUMI: ¶37, changing a first threshold and reporting event (i.e. switch when a first threshold is met) is changed to a second event which is switching when a different threshold (third threshold) is met at the destination and a current quality threshold (second threshold) is not met at the current cell).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by SABOURI-SICHANI would have been motivated to use the teachings of YOSHIZUMI as it provides technique for enhancing the communication quality while avoiding the ping-pong effects during cell switching in cellular telecommunications (¶3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by SABOURI-SICHANI with teachings of YOSHIZUMI in order to improve quality by further reducing ping on effects by use of hysteresis values.
Claim(s) 2-3, 13, 14, 19-20, 30-31, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by SABOURI-SICHANI as applied to claim 1/18 above, further in view of YAMAMOTO et al (US 2015/0004975)
Regarding claim 2, 19, SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by SABOURI-SICHANI discloses method of claim 1/18, wherein monitoring the one or more cells includes:
monitoring ping-pong events associated with the first cell, each ping-ping event including a first handover or reselection from the first cell to a second cell and a second handover or reselection from the second cell back to the first cell, wherein the first criterion is associated with a presence of ping-pong events in a preceding time period (SERRAVALLE: ¶60, the ping pong detection includes monitoring for ping pong effect between two cells within a predetermined time which is a preceding time (history data); ping pong occurrences including a presence of ping pong events ).
SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by SABOURI-SICHANI remains silent regarding criterion includes a quantity of ping-pong events.
However, YAMAMOTO et al (US 2015/0004975) discloses criterion includes a quantity of ping-pong events (YAMAMOTO: ¶332, ¶334 number of ping-pong events).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by SABOURI-SICHANI would have been motivated to use the teachings of YAMAMOTO as it provides a technique in which the timing of the moving operation can be appropriately controlled by using the change of the reception state in association with the positional change of the wireless terminal device, thereby suppressing an inappropriate moving operation, and establishing a favorable communication system. Accordingly, stabilized communication can be achieved by appropriately controlling moving operations of wireless terminal devices (¶45) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by SABOURI-SICHANI with teachings of YAMAMOTO in order to stabilize communication in a mobile network.
Regarding claim 3, 20, SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by SABOURI-SICHANI modified by YAMAMOTO method of claim 2/19, wherein monitoring the ping-pong events associated with the first cell includes: monitoring the first cell as a potentially problematic cell when the quantity of ping- pong events in the preceding time period exceeds a first threshold; and confirming the first cell as the problematic cell when the quantity of ping-pong events in the preceding time period exceeds a second threshold (YAMAMOTO: ¶332, ¶334, the ping pong events occur in a number that exceeds a threshold; handover is not performed at a given time, for the problematic cell i.e. the cell showing high number of pingpong events).
Regarding claim 13, 30, SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by SABOURI-SICHANI discloses UE of claim 12/18, wherein the at least one modem is further configured to communicate an identification of the first cell as the problematic cell to a server that aggregates problematic cell information from more than one UE in the wireless communication network, (SERRAVALLE: ¶64, identification information is sent from the UE to the cell/base station).
SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by SABOURI-SICHANI remains silent regarding the identification includes a cell global identity (CGI), a radio access technology (RAT) identifier, a physical cell identifier (PCI), an absolute radio frequency channel number (ARFCN), or any combination thereof.
However, YAMAMOTO et al (US 2015/0004975) discloses the identification includes a cell global identity (CGI), a radio access technology (RAT) identifier, a physical cell identifier (PCI), an absolute radio frequency channel number (ARFCN), or any combination thereof (YAMAMOTO: ¶133, PCI is an identification of the cell used to identify a cell).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by SABOURI-SICHANI would have been motivated to use the teachings of YAMAMOTO as it provides a standard naming nomenclature for cells . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by SABOURI-SICHANI with teachings of YAMAMOTO in order to improve naming compatibility.
Regarding claim 14, 31, SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by SABOURI-SICHANI discloses UE of claim 29, further comprising: wherein the at least one modem is further configured to communicate a list of deprioritized cells including the first cell, the list of deprioritized cells including identifications, timestamps, and location data associated with one or more problematic cells of the list of deprioritized cells (SERAVALLE: ¶134, cell ids and corresponding time and cell location (claim 6 of SERAVALLE) of problematic cells is reported by the UE; TAMMANA: ¶35, ¶61, deprioritized list of layers/frequencies/cells/RATs).
Claim(s) 17, 34, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by SABOURI-SICHANI as applied to claim 16/33 above, further in view of HE et al (US 2017/0034847)
Regarding claims 17, 34, SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by SABOURI-SICHANI discloses UE of claim 16/33, wherein the aggregated problematic cell information includes neighbor cell data associated with the one or more problematic cells (SERRAVALLE: ¶66, the aggregated information about problematic cells is sent to the UEs; TAMMANA: ¶38, ¶43, ¶46 and ¶48, the priorities with the cell identifications (equivalent to aggregated problematic cell information) is transmitted to the UE);
wherein the aggregated problematic cell information includes identifying information associated with the one or more problematic cells (TAMMANA: ¶52, at least implicitly identifying the problematic cell(s) based on the priorities)
SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by SABOURI-SICHANI remains silent regarding, however, HE et al (US 2017/0034847) discloses the identifying information includes location data associated with the one or more problematic cells, and wherein the location data includes one or more of:
a first location coordinate and first distance radius such that the first location coordinate and the first distance radius define one or more problematic areas associated with one or more problematic cells,
a first set of boundaries associated with a first location such that the first set of boundaries define a first polygonal area that includes the one or more problematic areas associated with the one or more problematic cells, or
one or more first wireless local area network (WLAN) basic service set identifiers (BSSIDs) such that the one or more problematic areas associated with the one or more problematic cells are identified by the UE when the UE detects the one or more first WLAN BSSIDs (HE: ¶93, ¶97, a neighbor list received by the UE identifies the list of cells to be used by the UE for cell reselection and includes BSSIDs).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by SABOURI-SICHANI would have been motivated to use the teachings of HE as it provides a way to identify the location based on an identifier of the cell which minimized chances of errors due misinterpretation of the location data (e.g. due to more than one RATs having their APs within a location) and is based on the received beacon signal instead which is more precisely associated with an AP. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by SABOURI-SICHANI with teachings of HE in order to improve reliability.
Claim(s) 36-37, 40-42, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SERRAVALLE in view of TAMMANA further in view of FURUICHI et al (US 2021/0314787)
Regarding claim 36, 41, SERRAVALLE discloses server for managing mobility in a wireless communication network, comprising:
a communication unit configured to obtain cell information from more than one user equipment (UE) in the wireless communication network, the cell information identifying one or more problematic cells (SERRAVALLE: ¶45, ¶60-61, ¶64-65, the UE monitors a plurality of cells, and selects based on a criterion, using the selection parameters, which cell to select; the criterion includes a history of ping pong occurrences corresponding to one or more cells and the corresponding identity of the one or more cells; this is reported to the base station acting as a server to manage mobility of the UEs); and a processing system configured to generate aggregated problematic cell information associated with the one or more problematic cells identified by the cell information, (SERRAVALLE: ¶45, ¶60-61, ¶64-65, generate an aggregated information regarding problematic cell information with problematic cell identified using cell identity), wherein the communication unit is further configured to output the aggregated problematic cell information to a recipient (SERRAVALLE: ¶66, this aggregated information is provided to the UEs).
SERRAVALLE remains silent regarding the aggregated problematic cell information comprises identification of at least a first cell as a problematic cell.
However, TAMMANA discloses the aggregated problematic cell information comprises identification of at least a first cell as a problematic cell (TAMMANA: ¶38, ¶43, ¶46, ¶48, ¶52 the priorities with the cell identifications (equivalent to aggregated problematic cell information) is transmitted to the UE), wherein the aggregated problematic cell information includes identifying information associated with the one or more problematic cells (TAMMANA: ¶52-53, at least identifying the problematic cell(s)/layer(s) based on the priorities)
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of SERRAVALLE would have been motivated to use the teachings of TAMMANA as it provides a way to improve user experience by utilizing dynamically assigning SIB/cell priorities based on performance degradation including ping-pong effects and transmission failures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of SERRAVALLE with teachings of TAMMANA in order to improve user experience by using different preferences associated with each cell for reselection.
SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA remains silent regarding, however, FURUICHI et al (US 2021/0314787) discloses the identifying information includes location data associated with the one or more cells, and wherein the location data includes one or more of:
a first location coordinate and first distance radius such that define a geographic area associated with a cluster of cells, or a set of boundaries that define an area associated with a cluster of cells (FURUICHI: ¶144, ¶187, ¶72, a cluster of cells are identified to be problematic is determined to be the coverage hole indication in terms of the location/position).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA would have been motivated to use the teachings of FURUICHI as it provides improving user throughput by performing more flexible frequency control (¶10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA with teachings of FURUICHI in order to improve frequency/cell selection control (¶10)
Regarding claim 37, 42, SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by FURUICHI discloses server of claim 36, wherein the recipient includes at least one member selected from a group consisting of a UE; a network operator; and an application provider (SERRAVALLE: ¶65, a UE is the recipient).
Claim(s) 38, 43, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by FURUICHI as applied to claim 36, 41, above, further in view of YAMAMOTO et al (US 2015/0004975)
Regarding claim 38, 43, SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by FURUICHI discloses server of claim 36, wherein the aggregated problematic cell information an identification of at least a first cell as a problematic cell (SERRAVALLE: ¶64, identification information is sent from the UE to the cell/base station).
SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by FURUICHI remains silent regarding the identification includes a cell global identity (CGI), a radio access technology (RAT) identifier, a physical cell identifier (PCI), an absolute radio frequency channel number (ARFCN), or any combination thereof.
However, YAMAMOTO et al (US 2015/0004975) discloses the identification includes a cell global identity (CGI), a radio access technology (RAT) identifier, a physical cell identifier (PCI), an absolute radio frequency channel number (ARFCN), or any combination thereof (YAMAMOTO: ¶133, PCI is an identification of the cell used to identify a cell).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by FURUICHI would have been motivated to use the teachings of YAMAMOTO as it provides a standard naming nomenclature for cells . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by FURUICHI with teachings of YAMAMOTO in order to improve naming compatibility.
Claim(s) 39, 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by FURUICHI as applied to claim 36/41 above, further in view of KUANG et al (20240031972)
Regarding claim 39, 44, SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by FURUICHI method of claim 36/41, wherein the aggregated problematic cell information includes selection information associated with the one or more problematic cells.
SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by FURUICHI remains silent regarding selection information including identifications, timestamps, and location data.
However, KUANG et al (20240031972) discloses selection information including identifications, timestamps, and location data (KUANG: ¶367-371, identity information, time and location information is sent to the UE regarding the plurality of cells).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by FURUICHI would have been motivated to use the teachings of KUANG as it provides a selecting and corresponding location information for UE to make an informed selection of the cell. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by FURUICHI with teachings of KUANG in order to improve appropriate cell selection at the UE.
Allowable Subject Matter
As previously indicated, claims 7-11, 24-28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue,
“
”
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the above arguments. Applicants take a position that SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA does not disclose “…adjusting cell selection measurements …”
Examiner respectfully submits that TAMMANA discloses in ¶76:
[0076] A UE that supports NR band n41 and measures the layer better than, for example the defined QrxLevmin (the minimum RSRP values measured by the UE in a cell to be able to get unrestricted coverage-based service in that cell), attempts to attach to that cell. If the n41 layer is exhibiting active critical performance issues like sleepy cell, and thus resulting in degraded experience or not allowing UEs to connect, the UE could still continue to attempt to connect to the n41 layer of the cell due to its highest SIB priority.
[0077] The disclosed technology allows the network (e.g., eNB/gNB) to broadcast new SIB priorities reflecting a lower priority for such degraded layers as shown in Table 520. For example, the network can deprioritize band n41 by assigning it the lowest variable numeric priority indicator value of 1 (from the highest priority indicator value of 3). The SIB priority of other layers can be incremented by one, for example as seen in Table 520, the layer corresponding to LTE band B4/B2 now has a SIB priority indicator value of 3 (increased from 2), and the layer corresponding to NR band n71 has a SIB priority indicator value of 2 (increased from 1).
[0055] Communicating the performance degradations and/or the modified SIB priorities to neighbor cells can avoid the UEs camping on a neighbor cell that might be undergoing the same performance degradation (e.g., prevent cell-edge users from attaching to problematic cells). For example, the same anomalies might exist in neighbor cells but performance triggers in neighbor cells might still be below defined trigger thresholds which can cause ping-pong among neighbor cells if the anomalies are intermittent and persist for a long duration.
The above portions of TAMMANA, relied upon, the updated priorities stored by the UE indicate to avoid problematic cells by deprioritizing them. As a result, a person or ordinary skill in the art would reasonably interpret TAMMANA, above, as teaching the feature of the argued limitation.
SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA remains silent regarding, however, the newly cited reference, SABOURI-SICHANI et al (US 20230129259) discloses that selecting the primary cell of the wireless communication network includes adjusting cell selection measurements associated with the problematic cell (SABOURI-SICHANI: ¶123-124, the cell selection measurements which are associated with the problematic cell are adjusted by an offset)
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA would have been motivated to use the teachings of SABOURI-SICHANI in order to improve autonomous performance of optimization of a cell selection process (¶22). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA with teachings of SABOURI-SICHANI in order to improve automation in the cell selection process and optimizing the process.
Applicants argue,
“
”
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the above arguments. Applicants take a position that SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA modified by EDARA does not disclose “…an area that includes the cluster of two or more problematic cells”.
Examiner respectfully submits that ¶64-65 of TAMMANA, in at least Fig. 5, ¶43 and ¶52 teach a list of cells/layers is stored at the UE which includes deprioritized cells/layers.
[0043] However, if at block 320 the network detects degraded performance, the network, at block 330, can identify the degraded cell and/or degraded layer. The “layer” as used in this description can mean one or more frequency bands (e.g., LTE or NR frequency bands); a radio access technology (RAT) such as GSM, CDMA2000, UMTS/WCDMA, LTE, or NR; etc.
…
[0052] The network (e.g., eNB/gNB) transmits the updated (e.g., downgraded or deprioritized) cell reselection priority to the UE in system information messages (SI messages) of SIBs just as it broadcasts the default cell-reselection priority before any cell/layer performance degradation is detected. The SIB priority or cell-reselection priority assigns a priority indicator value to one or more layers that the UE is compatible with (e.g., to one or more frequency bands, RATs, CA/DC frequency combinations, etc., that the UE supports). The updated cell-reselection priority assigns a lower priority indicator value then the default priority indicator value to the layer(s) undergoing a performance degradation thereby causing the IDLE mode UE to deprioritize those layers experiencing poor performance (e.g., if RSRP/RSRQ is low, the UE searches for a higher priority layer to camp on avoiding the layers with poor performance). In some implementations, the UE searches for the higher priority layer as soon as possible after receiving the change of priority.
In the above sections TAMMANA already teaches that a plurality (at least two) of cells/layers that are problematic are identified.
SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA remains silent regarding, however, newly cited FURUICHI et al (US 2021/0314787) discloses the identifying information includes location data associated with the one or more cells, and wherein the location data includes one or more of:
a first location coordinate and first distance radius such that define a geographic area associated with a cluster of cells, or a set of boundaries that define an area associated with a cluster of cells (FURUICHI: ¶144, ¶187, ¶72, a cluster of cells are identified to be problematic is determined to be the coverage hole indication in terms of the location/position).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA would have been motivated to use the teachings of FURUICHI as it provides improving user throughput by performing more flexible frequency control (¶10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of SERRAVALLE modified by TAMMANA with teachings of FURUICHI in order to improve frequency/cell selection control (¶10)
All arguments are addressed as above, and are fully responded to as above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
OMER S. MIAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2461
/OMER S MIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461