DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This Office action is in response to the amendments filed on March 19, 2026. Claims 1, 3-7, 12-23, and 31 are currently pending with Claims 1 and 31 being amended.
Response to Amendments
In response to Applicant’s amendments, filed November 13, 2025, the Examiner withdraws the previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed March 19, 2026, with respect to the rejections of Claims 1, 3-7, 12-23, and 31 under Theos, in view of Ahlbom, Zhang, Jacobus, Yagyu, Deyle, and Sachs, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Otto, in view of Theos, Ahlbom, Zhang, Jacobus, Yagyu, Deyle, and Sachs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12-14, 21, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0261331 A1, to Otto, et al (hereinafter referred to as Otto), in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0261392 A1, to Theos, et al (hereinafter referred to as Theos; previously of record), in view of U.S. Patent No. 4,279,328 A, to Ahlbom (hereinafter referred to as Ahlbom; previously of record).
As per Claim 1, and similarly for Claim 31, Otto discloses the features of a teleoperated material handling system (e.g. Paragraph [0003]; where a system for operating a good storage and retrieval system using a materials handling vehicle is provided), comprising:
a teleoperation terminal configured for collecting mechanical inputs from a teleoperator and converting to operation commands (e.g. Paragraphs [0072], [0085]; where a hand-held drive unit is secured to the vehicle body or may be remote from and not secured to the vehicle body, and comprises a user interface and an operational command generator that is responsive to the user interface; and the hand-held drive unit may be in the form of a remote controller that is communicably coupled to the materials handling vehicle),
the teleoperation terminal including a display (e.g. Paragraphs [0081], [0085]; where the hand-held drive unit may comprise a touch screen display or other type of display for displaying image data representing objects within the field of view of the camera; and where the hand-held drive unit (the remote controller) may comprise a video link to display the image data from the camera);
a material handling vehicle with a load engaging device including one or more load engaging portions for engaging an object (e.g. Paragraphs [0004], [0038] materials handling vehicle may comprise a fork carriage assembly movable coupled to the mast assembly, and a picking attachment and support arms may be secured to the fork carriage assembly), wherein
the material handling vehicle is operable through the teleoperation terminal (e.g. Paragraphs [0072]-[0073]; where the hand-held drive unit may comprise an operational command generator that enables it to send operational commands in response to user input at the user interface to the vehicular controller(s) to control operational functions of the traction control unit, braking system, steering assembly, mast assembly, the picking attachment, or combinations thereof),
the teleoperation terminal being separate from the material handling vehicle such that the teleoperator controls the material handling vehicle through the teleoperation terminal from a location that is remote from the material handling vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0072], [0085]; where a hand-held drive unit is secured to the vehicle body or may be remote from and not secured to the vehicle body, and comprises a user interface and an operational command generator that is responsive to the user interface; and the hand-held drive unit may be in the form of a remote controller that is communicably coupled to the materials handling vehicle);
a visual capturing module for capturing video imagery in front of the material handling vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0085], [0090]; where the computing device may be the remote controller, or may be coupled to the hand-held drive unit, and may comprise sensors or video cameras which provide video/still images, motion data, and audio, to the hand-held drive unit through a video feed);
a communication module for establishing a communication link with the teleoperation terminal for transmitting the video imagery to the teleoperation terminal and receiving the operation commands from the teleoperation terminal (e.g. Paragraph [0085]; where the hand-held drive unit may be communicatively coupled to the materials handling vehicle through, for example, a wireless communication link, and the remote controller may comprise a video link to display image data from the camera); and
a control module for controlling operations of the material handling vehicle and the load engaging device according to the operation commands (e.g. Paragraphs [0072]-[0073]; where the hand-held drive unit may comprise an operational command generator that enables it to send operational commands in response to user input at the user interface to the vehicular controller(s) to control operational functions of the traction control unit, braking system, steering assembly, mast assembly, the picking attachment, or combinations thereof); wherein
the system comprises an assistive module configured for providing one or more assistive indicators to the teleoperator through the teleoperation terminal (e.g. Paragraph [0081]; where the hand-held drive unit may comprise a touch screen display or other type of displaying for displaying image data representing objects within the field of view of the camera; and a ground-based operator can use the image data as an aide to using the hand-held drive unit to control various functions of the materials handling vehicle), ‘…’
the one or more assistive indicators provide visual guidance through the teleoperation terminal for the teleoperator to manoeuvre the load engaging device (e.g. Paragraph [0081]; where a ground-based operator can use the image data as an aide to using the hand-held drive unit to control various functions of the materials handling vehicle, such as allowing an operator to view images of the picking attachment and send operational commands to the picking controller to control the operational functions of the picking attachment) so as to
facilitate an alignment with the bottom of the object (e.g. Paragraphs [0059]-[0062], [0087]; where the goods selection terminal (i.e. a remote terminal or controller) may send signals to the materials handling vehicle to position the materials handling vehicle in the localized engagement position and use the cart engagement sensors align the cart lifting forks to the vertically oriented fork slots of the mobile storage cart) ‘…’.
Otto does not disclose the features of the one or more assistive indicators are dynamic with respect to changes in the operation commands; wherein the one or more assistive indicators are formed by projecting one or more laser beams from the load engaging device to form one or more markings on a side surface of the object; wherein the one or more assistive indicators are capturable and visible in the ‘…’ imagery; the one or more laser beams are projected from one or more laser markers mounted on the one or more load engaging portions of the load engaging device such that the one or more laser markers are substantially levelled with the one or more load engaging portions, wherein the one or more laser markers further projects one or more longitudinal lines downward on the ground aligning with the one or more load engaging portions, wherein the one or more assistive indicators are superimposed over the video imagery on the display of the teleoperation terminal.
However, Theos, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the features of the one or more assistive indicators are dynamic with respect to changes in the operation commands.
Theos teaches a positioning assistance method for a materials handling vehicle, where the system may include a positioning assistance system which may be incorporated into the controller, and provides assistance to an operator using a display device, which may include at least one of visual, audible, tactile, or visual cue(s) to indicate the vehicle status (e.g. Paragraphs [0008], [0058]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the materials handling vehicle and goods retrieval system of Otto, with the feature of providing dynamic indicators to the user in the system of Theos, in order to indicate to a user a distance from the vehicle to an object, or a heading of the vehicle with respect to an object (see at least Paragraph [0004] of Theos).
Theos further teaches the features of wherein the one or more assistive indicators are formed by projecting one or more laser beams from the load engaging device to form one or more markings on a side surface of the object; and the one or more laser beams are projected from one or more laser markers mounted on the one or more load engaging portions of the load engaging device.
Theos teaches a positioning assistance method for a materials handling vehicle, where the light source device (200) may comprise a light controller (1202) and one or more light sources coupled to the light controller (1202), and may be located on the vehicle and may comprise visible lasers, light bars, projectors, etc., which may project visible indicia on the floor adjacent to the vehicle, to the left or right sides, or the front of the vehicle, or on a display device; and the light sources could be incorporated into the vehicle (10) structure such that they are flush with the body lines of the vehicle, coupled to the forks, etc.) (e.g. Paragraphs [0008], [0066]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the materials handling vehicle and goods retrieval system of Otto, with the feature of providing a visual indicator to the user in the system of Theos, in order to indicate to a user a distance from the vehicle to an object, or a heading of the vehicle with respect to an object (see at least Paragraph [0004] of Theos).
Theos further teaches the features of the one or more assistive indicators are capturable and visible in the ‘…’ imagery.
Theos teaches a positioning assistance method for a materials handling vehicle, where the cues are visible in the overlay (e.g. Figures 4D, 6D-E).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the materials handling vehicle and goods retrieval system of Otto, with the feature of providing a overlaid indicators to the user in the system of Theos, in order to indicate to a user a distance from the vehicle to an object, or a heading of the vehicle with respect to an object (see at least Paragraph [0004] of Theos).
Ahlbom teaches the features of the one or more ‘…’ markers are substantially levelled with the one or more load engaging portions.
Ahlbom, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a device for orienting a lifting means where the truck is provided with a pallet scanning device, which comprises an illuminating device and an electro-optical camera, which are mounted on vehicle to scan for a pallet; where the truck receives via its remote control system information concerning which pallet is to be picked up and the height at which the pallet rests, where the truck raises the fork using the headlights and cameras to reach the lower limit for the scanning range, and the fork is lowered until it no longer “sees” the pallet and the computer lowers the fork the additional distance required to compensate for the difference in height between the height where the optical axis of the camera hits the pallet pocket and where the fork tips point into the pocket (e.g. Col. 4 line 56- Col. 5 line 10; Col. 5 lines 25-45; Figures 3a-b, 4a-c).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the position assistance system of Otto, in view of Theos, with the feature of facilitating alignment with an object in the system of Ahlbom, in order to provide high accuracy and quick measurements when guiding the vehicle toward another object (see at least Col. 1 lines 46-53 of Ahlbom).
Theos further teaches the features of the one or more laser markers further projects one or more longitudinal lines downward on the ground aligning with the one or more load engaging portions, wherein the one or more assistive indicators are superimposed over the video imagery on the display of the teleoperation terminal.
Theos teaches a positioning assistance method for a materials handling vehicle, where the light controller (1202) may comprise visible lasers, light bars, projectors, etc., which may project visible indicia on the floor adjacent to, on the side of, in front of, or behind the vehicle; and where the one or more light sources (204) may designate a limited operation area, using first, second, third, etc. indicia, where each indicia is illuminated based on a distance to an object, and the indicia can be lines or arrows indicating the alignment of the vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0066], [0068], [0099]; Figures 4D, 6E).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the materials handling vehicle and goods retrieval system of Otto, with the feature of providing a overlaid indicators to the user in the system of Theos, in order to indicate to a user a distance from the vehicle to an object, or a heading of the vehicle with respect to an object (see at least Paragraph [0004] of Theos).
As per Claim 12, Otto, in view of Theos and Ahlbom, teaches the features of Claim 1, and Otto further discloses the features of wherein the system comprises a beacon device for providing a tracking functionality for the material handling vehicle (e.g. Paragraph [0063]; where the vehicular controller(s) of the materials handling vehicle may use the navigation subsystem to track navigation of the materials handling vehicle along the inventory transit surface based on the localized position).
As per Claim 13, Otto, in view of Theos and Ahlbom, teaches the features of Claim 12, Otto further discloses the features of wherein the beacon device comprises a wearable carrier adapted to be worn by an onsite operator (e.g. Paragraph [0085]; where the remote controller may be presented as a wearable computing device).
As per Claim 14, Otto, in view of Theos and Ahlbom, teaches the features of Claim 13, and Theos further teaches the features of wherein the beacon device emits a beacon signal receivable by the control module on the material handling vehicle, the control module is adapted for determining a path of travel for the material handling vehicle with respect to the beacon signal.
Theos teaches a positioning assistance method for a materials handling vehicle, where the vehicle (10) may include an antenna (30) that receives control signals form a corresponding wireless remote control device (32), and may include a light at the top, and may be used to identify position information of the vehicle; and where the vehicle (10) may be controlled by the controller (103) to travel an intended path or maintain an intended heading (e.g. Paragraphs [0043], [0055], [0065], [0070]; Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the materials handling vehicle and goods retrieval system of Otto, with the feature of providing a beacon signal to indicate a traveling path of the vehicle in the system of Theos, in order to travel an intended path or maintain an intended heading (see at least Paragraph [0095] of Theos).
As per Claim 21, Otto, in view of Theos and Ahlbom, teaches the features of Claim 1, and Otto further discloses the features of wherein the communication link utilizes wireless communication protocols according to Wi-Fi standards (e.g. Paragraphs [0062], [0085]; where the navigation subsystem may use WiFi signals, using a wireless communication link).
Claims 3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otto, in view of Theos and Ahlbom, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0322560 A1, to Zhang, et al (hereinafter referred to as Zhang; previously of record).
As per Claim 3, Otto, in view of Theos and Ahlbom, teaches the features of Claim 1, but the combination of Otto, in view of Theos and Ahlbom, fails to teach every feature of wherein the one or more assistive indicators comprise one or more trajectory lines representing an anticipated trajectory of movement of the material handling vehicle.
However, Zhang, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a vehicle guidance system, where trajectory overlays are displayed by the vehicle guidance system (e.g. Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the position assistance system of Otto, in view of Theos and Ahlbom, with the feature of providing trajectory lines in the system of Zhang, in order to provide improved viewing to assist a driver in maneuvering (see at Paragraphs [0004] and [0050] of Zhang).
As per Claim 5, Otto, in view of Theos, Ahlbom, and Zhang, teaches the features of Claim 3, and Zhang further teaches the features of wherein the one or more trajectory lines change with respect to a change in a steering angle of at least one steerable wheel on the material handling vehicle.
Zhang teaches a vehicle guidance system, where trajectory overlays are displayed by the vehicle guidance system; and where the trajectory overlay (70) is dynamic and may change upon a change of the image due to, for example, movement of the vehicle or upon the driver changing an angular position of the wheels (26) (e.g. Paragraph [0061]; Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the position assistance system of Otto, in view of Theos and Ahlbom, with the feature of changing visual trajectory lines in the system of Zhang, in order to provide improved viewing to assist a driver in maneuvering (see at Paragraphs [0004] and [0050] of Zhang).
As per Claim 6, Otto, in view of Theos, Ahlbom, and Zhang, teaches the features of Claim 5, and Zhang further teaches the features of wherein the one or more trajectory lines change with respect to a change in traveling speed of the material handling vehicle.
Zhang teaches a vehicle guidance system, where trajectory overlays are displayed by the vehicle guidance system; and where the trajectory overlay (70) is dynamic and may change upon a change of the image due to, for example, movement of the vehicle (i.e. speed) or upon the driver changing an angular position of the wheels (26); and where the vehicle utilizes a speed sensor (58) to determine vehicle information parameters, and align the guidance overlay in conjunction with the speed or other parameter (e.g. Paragraph [0061]; Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the position assistance system of Otto, in view of Theos and Ahlbom, with the feature of changing visual trajectory lines in the system of Zhang, in order to provide improved viewing to assist a driver in maneuvering (see at Paragraphs [0004] and [0050] of Zhang).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otto, in view of Theos, Ahlbom, and Zhang, as applied to Claim 3 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 8,965,561 B2, to Jacobus, et al (hereinafter referred to as Jacobus; previously of record).
As per Claim 4, Otto, in view of Theos, Ahlbom, and Zhang, teaches the features of Claim 3, but the combination of Otto, in view of Theos, Ahlbom, and Zhang, fails to teach every feature wherein the one or more trajectory lines change with respect to a change in steering input by the teleoperator according to Ackerman steering geometry.
However, Jacobus, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches an automated warehousing system which uses robotic forklifts, where turning can also be estimated from this data using differential odometry applied to well-known Ackerman or Skid Steer formulas (Column 11, Lines 36-38).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the position assistance system of Otto, in view of Theos, Ahlbom, and Zhang, with the feature using Ackerman steering geometry in the system of Jacobus, in order to reduce sensor error drifts and provide feedback to compensate for the relative sensor drift process (see at Col. 12 lines 17-35 of Jacobus).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otto, in view of Theos, Ahlbom, and Zhang, as applied to Claim 3 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0107201 A1, to Yagyu, et al (hereinafter referred to as Yagyu; previously of record).
As per Claim 7, Otto, in view of Theos, Ahlbom, and Zhang, teaches the features of Claim 3, but the combination of Otto, in view of Theos, Ahlbom, and Zhang, fails to teach every feature of wherein perspective correction is performed for the one or more trajectory lines according to a perspective angle inherent in the video imagery.
However, Yagyu, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a display control device for a vehicle, where the (HCU, 100) includes a plurality of functional units for controlling superimposed displayed contents of (HUD, 20) by causing the processing unit (11) to execute a display control program stored in the storage unit (13), where the viewpoint position identification unit (71) identifies a position of the eye point (EP) of a driver, and generates three-dimensional coordinates indicating apposition of an eye point (EP); and where the display generation unit (76) corrects a rendering position and a rendering shape of the original image according to the respective positions of an eye point (EP) and a superimposition target (e.g. Paragraphs [0102]-[0103], [0107]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the position assistance system of Otto, in view of Theos, Ahlbom, and Zhang, with the feature of correcting perspectives in images in the system of Yagyu, in order to provide improved viewing to establish a virtual camera position for the display to inform the user (see at Paragraph [0110] of Yagyu).
Claims 15-16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otto, in view of Theos and Ahlbom, as applied to Claim 14 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0061839 A1, to Deyle, et al (hereinafter referred to as Deyle; previously of record).
As per Claim 15, Otto, in view of Theos and Ahlbom, teaches the features of Claim 14, but the combination of Otto, in view of Theos and Ahlbom, fails to teach every feature of wherein the material handling vehicle provides a front tracking mode such that the material handling vehicle travels along the path of travel with the material handling vehicle trailing the onsite operator carrying the beacon device.
However, Deyle, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches an inventory management robot, where the robot (100) can also follow detected individuals, for instance closely (within a threshold distance) or from a distance (greater than a threshold distance), and where the location of individuals or objects detected by robots, security cameras, or other location-tracking mechanisms (such as GPS tracking devices, mobile phones, or RFID readers) can be updated as the individuals or objects move in real-time; and where the robot can track or follow an individual (e.g. Paragraphs [0122], [0141], [0188]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the position assistance system of Otto, in view of Theos and Ahlbom, with the feature of having the robot follow the operator in the system of Deyle, in order to help the user by having the robot retrieve or store inventory items as the operator is walking (see at Paragraph [0347] of Deyle).
As per Claim 16, Otto, in view of Theos and Ahlbom, teaches the features of Claim 14, but the combination of Otto, in view of Theos and Ahlbom, fails to teach every feature of wherein the material handling vehicle provides a rear tracking mode such that the material handling vehicle travels along the path of travel in front of the onsite operator carrying the beacon device.
However, Deyle, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches an inventory management robot, where the robot (100) can provide instructions to a user (e.g., “follow me”), such as to escort the user to a new location (e.g. Paragraphs [0140]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the position assistance system of Otto, in view of Theos and Ahlbom, with the feature of having the robot follow the operator in the system of Deyle, in order to escort users or operators to spaces where they are allowed to be (see at Paragraph [0140] of Deyle).
As per Claim 18, Otto, in view of Theos and Ahlbom, teaches the features of Claim 1, but Otto, in view of Theos and Ahlbom, fails to teach every feature of wherein the material handling vehicle is switchable between different operation modes including manual operation mode, teleoperation mode, and autonomous operation mode.
However, Deyle, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches an inventory management robot, where the robot can operate autonomously (without explicit instructions from an operator), controlled by a human operator (i.e. manual mode), or controlled by the human operator using teleoperation (e.g. Paragraphs [0121], [0354]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the position assistance system of Otto, in view of Theos and Ahlbom, with the feature of having the robot operate in different modes in the system of Deyle, in order to determine if the robot can perform a task, and allocate the task to the robot or the user to perform (see at Paragraph [0006] of Deyle).
As per Claim 19, Otto, in view of Theos, Ahlbom, and Deyle, teaches the features of Claim 16, and Deyle further teaches the features of wherein the material handling vehicle is switchable between different operation modes including manual operation mode, teleoperation mode, autonomous operation mode, front tracking mode and a rear tracking mode.
Deyle teaches an inventory management robot, where the robot can operate autonomously (without explicit instructions from an operator), controlled by a human operator (i.e. manual mode), or controlled by the human operator using teleoperation; and where the robot (100) can provide instructions to a user (e.g., “follow me”), such as to escort the user to a new location; and where the robot (100) can also follow detected individuals, for instance closely (within a threshold distance) or from a distance (greater than a threshold distance) (e.g. Paragraphs [0121], [0140]-[0141], [0354]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the position assistance system of Otto, in view of Theos, Ahlbom, with the feature of having the robot operate in different modes in the system of Deyle, in order to determine if the robot can perform a task, and allocate the task to the robot or the user to perform (see at Paragraph [0006] of Deyle).
Claims 17, 20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otto, in view of Theos and Ahlbom, as applied to Claim 14 and 1, respectively, above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0259896 A1, to Sachs, et al (hereinafter referred to as Sachs; previously of record).
As per Claim 17, Otto, in view of Theos and Ahlbom, teaches the features of Claim 14, but the combination of Otto, in view of Theos and Ahlbom, fails to teach every feature of wherein the system utilizes ultrawide band signal positioning to locate the beacon device for determining the path of travel.
However, Sachs, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches an industrial automation method, where remote robot control over a modelled wireless link is used in a manufacturing facility; and where the positioning system used indoors in an industrial or factory floor can include Wi-Fi, radio-frequency identification (RFID), Bluetooth, ultra-wide band (UWB) (e.g. Paragraph [0369]; Figure 13).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the position assistance system of Otto, in view of Theos and Ahlbom, with the feature of using ultra-wide band communications in the system of Sachs, in order to enable precise positioning of a robot (see at Paragraph [0422] of Sachs).
As per Claim 20, Otto, in view of Theos and Ahlbom, teaches the features of Claim 1, but the combination of Theos, in view of Ahlbom, fails to teach every feature of wherein the communication link utilizes wireless communication protocols according to 5G mobile communication standards.
However, Sachs, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches an industrial automation method, where remote robot control over a modelled wireless link is used in a manufacturing facility; and where 4G/5G connections are used for industrial robotic applications (e.g. Paragraphs [0345], [0352]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the position assistance system of Otto, in view of Theos and Ahlbom, with the feature of using 5G communications in the system of Sachs, in order to decrease latency in receiving the signals (see at Paragraph [0349] of Sachs).
As per Claim 22, Otto, in view of Theos and Ahlbom, teaches the features of Claim 1, but the combination of Otto, in view of Theos and Ahlbom, fails to teach every feature of wherein the material handling vehicle is configured for self-navigating based on Simultaneous Localization and Mapping (SLAM).
However, Sachs, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches an industrial automation method, where a simultaneous localization and mapping method may be used to determine position information (e.g. Paragraph [0376]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the position assistance system of Otto, in view of Theos and Ahlbom, with the feature of using SLAM functions in the system of Sachs, in order to increase accuracy (see at Paragraph [0376] of Sachs).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otto, in view of Theos, Ahlbom, and Sachs, as applied to Claim 22 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0107201 A1, to Yagyu, et al (hereinafter referred to as Yagyu; previously of record).
As per Claim 23, Otto, in view of Theos, Ahlbom, and Sachs, teaches the features of Claim 22, and Otto further discloses the features of wherein the material handling vehicle is provided with a plurality of sensors comprising light detection and ranging (LiDAR), an inertial navigation system (INS), Global Positioning System (GPS), and ‘...’ maps ‘...’ (e.g. Paragraphs [0062]-[0063[; where the system may use GPS sensors, GNSS sensors, inertial sensors, lasers, etc., and may use a warehouse map).
The combination of Theos, in view of Ahlbom and Sachs, fails to teach every feature of wherein the material handling vehicle is provided with a plurality of sensors comprising light detection and ranging (LiDAR), an inertial navigation system (INS), Global Positioning System (GPS), and high-definition maps (HD Map).
However, Yagyu, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a display control device for a vehicle, where the locator (40) generates accurate positional information of the vehicle based on a combination of acquired or sensed information, to include a GNSS (Global Navigation Satellite System) receiver (41), an inertia sensor (42), a high-precision map database, and a locator ECU (44); and where the periphery monitoring sensor (30) includes a lidar or sonar; and where the GNSS receiver (41) receives positioning signals from systems including GPS, GLONASS, etc. (e.g. Paragraphs [0070]-[0072])
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the position assistance system of Otto, in view of Theos, Ahlbom, and Sachs, with the feature of utilizing different sensors in the system of Yagyu, in order to provide increased accuracy of position information of the vehicle (see at Paragraph [0071] of Yagyu).
Conclusion
/MERRITT LEVY/Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/KYLE J KINGSLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663