DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/24/2025 has been considered by the Examiner.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 10, and 20 have been amended; claims 5-7 and 11-14 have been previously cancelled; and claims 16-19 have previously been withdrawn. Claims 1-4, 8-10, 15, and 20 are currently examined herein.
Status of the Rejection
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections previously set forth in the Non-final Office Action mailed June 2nd, 2025.
New grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C § 112b and 35 U.S.C. § 103 are necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10: please amend “one of the primary reference electrode and second reference electrode” to “one of the primary reference electrode and the second reference electrode” (last limitation of claim 10).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 20, the limitations “analog-to-digital Modbus circuitry” and “DeviceNet Modbus cable” are unclear as “Modbus” and “DeviceNet Modbus” are registered trademarks and should be amended in Claim 20 to recite the generic name instead of the trademark.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murayama et al. (US 2022/0050077 A1) in view of Vettermann et al. (US 2019/0120786 A1) and E-switch (Rotary Switches, 2021).
Regarding Claim 1, Murayama teaches a pH sensing probe (a measuring unit 10 for pH measurements in Figure 1 [para. 0032]) configured to be exposed to a process fluid (measuring unit 10 is exposed to a solution L in Figure 1 [para. 0032]), the pH sensing probe comprising:
a pH electrode (glass electrode unit 11 in Figure 1 [para. 0033]);
a primary reference electrode (first reference electrode unit 12 in Figure 1 [para. 0034]) having a primary reference junction (liquid junction 12a in Figure 1 [para. 0034]) that is configured to be exposed to the process fluid (solution L is in contact with liquid junction 12a [para. 0034]);
a secondary reference electrode (a second reference unit 13 in Figure 1 [para. 0038]) having a secondary reference junction (liquid junction 13a in Figure 1 [para. 0038]) configured to be exposed to the process fluid (solution L is in contact with liquid junction 13a [para. 0038]);
a seal (a protection plate 21 in Figure 1 [para. 0046]) isolating the secondary reference junction (protection plate 21 that isolates the second part P2 of the measuring unit 10 from the solution L [para. 0046]).
Murayama is silent to the following limitations:
a cylindrical sensor body;
a pH electrode mounted centrally to the cylindrical sensor body;
a primary reference electrode mounted to a first half of the cylindrical sensor body;
a secondary reference electrode mounted to a second half of the cylindrical sensor body;
wherein the seal includes a rotatable sensor cover having a first position in which the primary reference junction is exposed to the process fluid and the secondary reference junction is isolated from the process fluid, and a second position in which the secondary reference junction is exposed to the process fluid; and
wherein moving the rotatable sensor cover from the first position to the second position displaces internal switch contacts to automatically electrically decouples the primary reference electrode from a sensor reference electrode output conductor and automatically couples the secondary reference electrode to the sensor reference electrode output conductor.
Although Figure 1 of Murayama does not explicitly teach a sensor body, Figure 6 of Murayama teaches a sensor body (support 10a in Figure 6 [para. 0067]), in which the pH electrode (glass electrode unit 11 in Figure 6 [para. 0064]), the primary reference electrode (first reference electrode unit 12 in Figure 6 [para. 0064]), and the secondary reference electrode (a second reference unit 13 in Figure 6 [para. 0064]) can be mounted to the sensor body (see Figure 6). In regards to the location of the pH electrode and primary and secondary reference electrodes, please see Annotated Figure 6 of Murayama below:
Annotated Figure 6 of Murayama
As illustrated in Annotated Figure 6 of Murayama, the pH electrode is mounted centrally (as illustrated in Annotated Figure 6, glass electrode unit 11 is mounted centrally to sensor body 10a), while the primary reference electrode (first reference electrode unit 12) is mounted to a first half of the sensor body and the secondary reference electrode (a second reference unit 13 in Figure 6 [para. 0064]) is mounted to a second half of the sensor body.
Vettermann teaches an external sensor for measuring a concentration of an ion, which includes a plurality of ion-selective electrodes 3 and a reference electrode 7 (Figure 1 and [paras. 0030-0031]). As illustrated in Figure 1, ion-selective electrodes 3 and reference electrode 7 are arranged in a cylindrical turret drum (Figure 1 [paras. 0018-0019 and 0029-0031]).
Murayama and Vettermann are considered analogous art to the claimed inventions because they are in the same field of ion measuring electrodes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor body of Murayama to be cylindrical, as taught by Vettermann, and to mount the measuring unit 10 [para. 0031] of Murayama to a cylindrical sensor body, with the pH electrode mounted centrally to a cylindrical sensor body, the primary reference electrode mounted to a first half of the cylindrical sensor body and the secondary reference electrode mounted to a second half of the cylindrical sensor body, as taught by combined Murayama and Vettermann, as this configuration allows for the pH probe to house multiple electrodes, either pH sensing electrodes or reference electrodes (Murayama, [para. 0064, 0067]; Vettermann Figure 1). Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143 (I)(A)).
Modified Murayama is silent wherein the seal includes a rotatable sensor cover having a first position in which the primary reference junction is exposed to the process fluid and the secondary reference junction is isolated from the process fluid, a second position in which the secondary reference junction is exposed to the process fluid; and wherein moving the rotatable sensor cover from the first position to the second position displaces internal switch contacts to automatically electrically decouples the primary reference electrode from a sensor reference electrode output conductor and automatically couples the secondary reference electrode to the sensor reference electrode output conductor.
Murayama teaches that once the measured value of the information on the state of solution L exceeds a predetermined range, the controller 40 removes the protection plate 21 (seal), and switches the electrical measurement from the first reference electrode unit 12 to the second reference electrode unit 13 [para. 0054]. In addition, the voltage detector 30 switches the connection from the first reference electrode 12 to the connection of the second reference electrode 13 [para. 0054]. Thus, once the second reference electrode unit 13 is exposed to the solution L, automatic electrical decoupling from the primary reference electrode from a sensor reference electrode output conductor to the secondary reference electrode to the senor reference output conductor occurs.
Vettermann teaches the ion-selective electrodes 3 are arranged in such a way that only one electrode is exposed to a fluid at one time, the remaining ion-selective electrodes are covered using covers 6 (Figure 1 [para. 0030]). From Figure 3, one embodiment of this invention includes a cover disk 9 that rotates along the longitudinal axis of the receiving unit 15 (Figures 3-4 [para. 0035]). As seen in Figure 3, an opening exposes an active electrode 4 and seals all other chambers with now inactive electrodes 5 (Figures 3-4; [para. 0035]). The cover disk 9 can rotate so that the opening 10 exposes a different electrode and seals all other electrodes, the new electrode exposed now serves as the active electrode 4 [para. 0035].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the seal (protective plate) of modified Murayama to be a rotatable sensor cover having a first position in which the primary reference junction is exposed to the process fluid and the secondary reference junction is isolated from the process fluid, a second position in which the secondary reference junction is exposed to the process fluid, as taught by Vettermann, and that moving the rotatable sensor cover from the first position to the second position automatically electrically decouples the primary reference electrode from a sensor reference electrode output conductor and automatically couples the secondary reference electrode to the sensor reference electrode output conductor, as taught by combined Murayama and Vettermann, since it would allow to automatically switch to the active electrode [para. 0021 in Vettermann] and would provide accurate reading to continue, improving the overall life of the probe (Vettermann, [para. 0012]).
Modified Murayama is silent on wherein moving the rotatable sensor cover from the first position to the second position displaces internal switch contacts.
E-Switch teaches rotary switches that operate by rotation (para. 1 on page 2), and teaches wherein moving the rotatable sensor cover from the first position to the second position displaces internal switch contacts (different circuits are connected to the rotor and the rotor has a contact arm or spoke that projects from its surface like a cam [para. 1 on page 2).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pH sensing probe of modified Murayama so that wherein moving the rotatable sensor cover from the first position to the second position displaces internal switch contacts. as taught by E-switch, as using a rotary switch is a common technique for connecting electrical circuits (E-switch, [para. 1 on page 2]). The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143(I)(A)).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Murayama teaches the pH sensing probe of claim 1.
Murayama teaches a temperature sensing element (measuring device 1 may have a temperature sensor [para. 0080]) configured to provide an indication of process fluid temperature (temperature sensor measures the temperature of solution L [para. 0080]).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Murayama teaches the pH sensing probe of claim 1.
Murayama teaches wherein the primary reference electrode (first reference electrode unit 12 in Figure 1 [para. 0034]) comprises a primary reference electrolyte (inner solution 12b composed of an electrolyte solution such as KCl [para. 0034]).
Murayama is silent on the primary reference electrolyte disposed within the first half of the cylindrical sensor body.
However, as illustrated in Annotated Figure 6, Murayama teaches that inner solution 12b is contained by support 12d [para. 0034] disposed about the pH electrode (first reference electrode unit 12 disposed about glass electrode unit 12, which is located in the first half of the sensor body).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the primary reference electrolyte of modified Murayama to be disposed within the first half of the cylindrical sensor body, as taught by Murayama, as the primary reference inner solution generates a constant electromotive force while being in electrical contact with the target solution to enable pH readings (Murayama, [para. 0035]). In addition, as the sensor body of modified Murayama has been modified to be cylindrical, it would be obvious for the first reference electrolyte to be disposed within the first half of the cylindrical sensor body.
Regarding Claim 4, modified Murayama teaches the pH sensing probe of claim 3.
Murayama teaches wherein the secondary reference electrode (second reference electrode unit 13 in Figure 1 [para. 0038]) comprises a secondary reference electrolyte (inner solution 13b composed of an electrolyte solution such as KCl [para. 0038]), and wherein the primary and secondary electrodes are isolated from one another (protection plate 21 electrically isolates the second reference electrode unit 13 [para. 0046]; first reference electrode unit 12 and second reference electrode unit 13 are isolated as illustrated in Figure 6).
Murayama is silent on the secondary reference electrolyte disposed within the second half of the cylindrical sensor body.
However, as illustrated in Annotated Figure 6, Murayama teaches that inner solution 13b is contained by support 13d [para. 0038] disposed about the pH electrode (second reference electrode 2 disposed about glass electrode unit 11, which is located in the second half of the sensor body).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the secondary reference electrolyte of modified Murayama to be disposed within the second half of the sensor body, as taught by Murayama, as the secondary reference inner solution generates a constant electromotive force while being in electrical contact with the target solution to allow for pH readings (Murayama, [para. 0035]). In addition, as the sensor body of modified Murayama has been modified to be cylindrical, it would be obvious for the secondary reference electrolyte to be disposed within the second half of the cylindrical sensor body.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murayama, Vettermann, and E-switch, as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Knight and Carr (EP 3795988 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Murayama teaches the pH sensing probe of claim 1.
Murayama is silent on wherein the primary reference junction is selected from the group consisting of a double junction, a triple junction, and a helical junction.
Knight teaches a reference electrode for pH sensors (abstract). Specifically, Knight teaches a reference electrode that comprises at least one second junction (a second junction 60 in Figure 1 [claim 2 and paras. 0011, 0037]). Knight notes that there may be more than one second junction 60 arranged between the reference electrode 40 and the first junction 50 [para. 0037]. In addition, the connecting elements of the second junctions may be arranged in a vertically displaced way to further impede the path of the poisoning ions [para. 0016].
Modified Murayama and Knight are considered analogous art to the claimed inventions because they are in the same field of pH electrodes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the primary reference junction of modified Murayama to have a configuration of either a double junction, triple junction, or vertically displaced [helical] junction, as taught by Knight, as adding additional junctions and/or vertically displacing junctions to a reference electrode would impede poisoning ions and improve the reference electrode’s lifespan [Knight paras. 0015-0016].
Regarding Claim 9, modified Murayama teaches the pH sensing probe of claim 1.
Murayama is silent on wherein the secondary reference junction is selected from the group consisting of a double junction, a triple junction, and a helical junction.
Knight teaches a reference electrode for pH sensors. Specifically, Knight teaches a reference electrode that comprises at least one second junction (a second junction 60 in Figure 1 [claim 2 and paras. 0011, 0037]). Knight notes that there may be more than one second junction 60 arranged between the reference electrode 40 and the first junction 50 [para. 0037]. In addition, the connecting elements of the second junctions may be arranged in a vertically displaced way to further impede the path of the poisoning ions [para. 0016].
Modified Murayama and Knight are considered analogous art to the claimed inventions because they are in the same field of pH electrodes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the secondary reference junction of modified Murayama to have a configuration of either a double junction, triple junction, or vertically displaced [helical] junction, as taught by Knight, as adding additional junctions and/or vertically displacing junctions to a reference electrode would impede poisoning ions and improve the reference electrode’s lifespan [paras. 0015-0016 in Knight].
Claims 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murayama in view of Vettermann, Hahn (US 2020/0072782 A1), Thermofisher (Thermo Scientific Orion Star A210 Series: Electrochemistry Benchtop Meters, ThermoFisher 2015), and Matsumoto (US 2002/0029964 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Murayama teaches:
a pH sensing system (a measuring device 1 in Figure 1 [para. 0040]) comprising:
a pH transmitter (a communication unit 50 in Figure 2 [para. 0043]) including:
measurement circuitry (a voltage detector 30 in Figure 1 [para. 0041]) configured to measure at least one electrical characteristic (voltage detector 30 measures a potential difference or voltage [para. 0041]) of an attached device (measuring unit 10 in Fig.1 [para. 0031]),
a controller coupled to the measurement circuitry (controller 40 obtains information from voltage detector 30 [para. 0042]), the controller being configured to obtain pH information (controller 40 calculates pH concentration [para. 0042]) and process fluid temperature information (controller 40 obtains measured temperature information of solution L [para. 0080]) and provide a pH process output (controller 40 calculates pH concentration [para. 0042]);
a pH sensing probe (measuring unit 10 in Figure 1 [para. 0031]) including:
a pH electrode (glass electrode unit 11 in Figure 1 [para. 0033]) electrically coupled to the measurement circuitry (voltage detector 30 detects an electromotive force from internal electrode 11c [para. 0041]), the pH electrode being configured to be exposed to a process fluid (solution L is disposed to glass thin film 11a in Figure 1 [para. 0035]);
a primary reference electrode (first reference electrode unit 12 in Figure 1 [para. 0034]) electrically coupled to the measurement circuitry (voltage detector 30 detects an electromotive force from internal electrode 12c [para. 0041]) and having a primary reference junction (liquid junction 12a in Figure 1 [para. 0034]), the primary reference junction being configured to be exposed to the process fluid (solution L is in contact with liquid junction 12a in Figure 1 [para. 0034]);
a secondary reference electrode (a second reference unit 13 in Figure 1 [para. 0038]) electrically coupled to the measurement circuitry (voltage detector 30 detects an electromotive force from internal electrode 13c [para. 0041]) and having a secondary reference junction (liquid junction 13a in Figure 1 [para. 0038]), the secondary reference junction being configured to be exposed to the process fluid (solution L is in contact with liquid junction 13a in Figure 1 [para. 0038]);
a seal (a protection plate 21 in Figure 1 [para. 0046]) operably coupled to the secondary reference electrode (protection plate 21 isolates the second reference electrode unit 13 [para. 0046]; coupling illustrated in Fig. 1); “the seal being configured to isolate the secondary reference electrode from the process fluid” is a functional recitation. Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does [MPEP 2114(II)]. A functional recitation of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2114. In the instant case, Murayama teaches the protection plate 21 isolates the second part P2 of the measuring unit 10 from the solution L [para. 0046]. Thus, the disclosed protection unit is configured to perform the claimed functions above.
Murayama is silent on a sensor body; the pH electrode mounted to the sensor body, the primary reference electrode mounted to the sensor body, the secondary reference electrode mounted to the sensor body; a display and at least one input mechanism; wherein the seal includes a movable sensor cover having a first position in which the primary reference junction is exposed to the process fluid and the secondary reference junction is isolated from the process fluid, and a second position in which the secondary reference junction is exposed to the process fluid; and wherein moving the movable sensor cover from the first position to the second position automatically electrically decouples the primary reference electrode from the measurement circuitry and automatically couples the secondary reference electrode to the measurement circuitry;
wherein the pH sensing probe incudes a pre-amplifier circuit board that includes a reference switch operably coupled to the primary reference electrode and the secondary reference electrode, wherein the reference switch is configured to provide a selected signal from one of the primary reference electrode and secondary reference electrode to the pH transmitter.
Although Figure 1 of Murayama does not explicitly teach a sensor body, Figure 6 of Murayama teaches a sensor body (support 10a in Figure 6 [para. 0067]), in which the pH electrode (glass electrode unit 11 in Figure 6 [para. 0064]), the primary reference electrode (first reference electrode unit 12 in Figure 6 [para. 0064], and the secondary reference electrode (a second reference unit 13 in Figure 6 [para. 0064]) can be mounted to the sensor body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to mount the measuring unit 10 of Figure 1 in Murayama to a sensor body, such as support 10a in Figure 6 [para. 0067] of Murayama, allowing the pH probe to house up to four reference electrodes [para. 0064] and provide a support to the electrodes [para. 0067]. Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143 (I)(A)).
Murayama is silent on a display and at least one input mechanism; wherein the seal includes a movable sensor cover having a first position in which the primary reference junction is exposed to the process fluid and the secondary reference junction is isolated from the process fluid, and a second position in which the secondary reference junction is exposed to the process fluid; wherein moving the movable sensor cover from the first position to the second position automatically electrically decouples the primary reference electrode from the measurement circuitry and automatically couples the secondary reference electrode to the measurement circuitry;
wherein the pH sensing probe incudes a pre-amplifier circuit board that includes a reference switch operably coupled to the primary reference electrode and the secondary reference electrode, wherein the reference switch is configured to provide a selected signal from one of the primary reference electrode and secondary reference electrode to the pH transmitter.
ThermoFisher teaches a meter (meter figure on bottom of page 10) compatible with a pH electrode (Chapter 4, page 50), where the pH electrode is connected to a pH meter (page 50, meter and electrode preparation, entire section). The pH meter allows the user to input choices, such as pressing buttons for calibration (Chapter 2: Meter Keypad, page 14, entire section). The meter is also connected to the pH electrode (Chapter 4: Meter and Electrode Preparation, page 50, Step 3) to take pH measurements (Chapter 4: Measurement Procedure, page 57, entire section). The meter contains a display (Chapter 2: Meter Basics, page 16, entire section), which displays pH output measurements taken from the meter (Chapter 2: Meter Basics, page 16; Chapter 4: Using the pH or pH/ISE Channel, page 57, Measurement Procedure).
Murayama and ThermoFisher are considered analogous art to the claimed inventions because they are in the same field of pH electrodes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pH sensing system of Murayama to include a user-input mechanism and display as taught by ThermoFisher, since it would provide users fast and efficient navigation and control of the pH meter (ThermoFisher Chapter 1: Meter Overview, page 6, first paragraph).
Modified Murayama is silent on wherein the seal includes a movable sensor cover having a first position in which the primary reference junction is exposed to the process fluid and the secondary reference junction is isolated from the process fluid, and a second position in which the secondary reference junction is exposed to the process fluid; wherein moving the movable sensor cover from the first position to the second position automatically electrically decouples the primary reference electrode from the measurement circuitry and automatically couples the secondary reference electrode to the measurement circuitry;
wherein the pH sensing probe incudes a pre-amplifier circuit board that includes a reference switch operably coupled to the primary reference electrode and the secondary reference electrode, wherein the reference switch is configured to provide a selected signal from one of the primary reference electrode and secondary reference electrode to the pH transmitter.
Murayama teaches that once the measured value of the information on the state of solution L exceeds a predetermined range, the controller 40 removes the protection plate 21 (seal), and switches the electrical measurement from the first reference electrode unit 12 to the second reference electrode unit 13 [para. 0054]. In addition, the voltage detector 30 switches the connection from the first reference electrode 12 to the connection of the second reference electrode 13 [para. 0054]. Thus, once the second reference electrode unit 13 is exposed to the solution L, automatic electrical decoupling from the primary reference electrode from a sensor reference electrode output conductor to the secondary reference electrode to the senor reference output conductor occurs.
Vettermann teaches an external sensor for measuring a concentration of an ion, which includes a plurality of ion-selective electrodes 3 and a reference electrode 7 (Figure 1 and [paras. 0030-0031]). The ion-selective electrodes 3 are arranged in such a way that only one electrode is exposed to a fluid at one time, the remaining ion-selective electrodes are covered using covers 6 (Figure 1 [para. 0030]). From Figure 3, one embodiment of this invention includes a cover disk 9 that rotates along the longitudinal axis of the receiving unit 15 (Figures 3-4 [para. 0035]). As seen in Figure 3, an opening exposes an active electrode 4 and seals all other chambers with now inactive electrodes 5 (Figures 3-4; [para. 0035]). The cover disk 9 can rotate so that the opening 10 exposes a different electrode and seals all other electrodes, the new electrode exposed now serves as the active electrode 4 [para. 0035].
Modified Murayama and Vettermann are considered analogous art to the claimed inventions because they are in the same field of ion measuring electrodes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the seal (protective plate) of modified Murayama to be a movable sensor cover having a first position in which the primary reference junction is exposed to the process fluid and the secondary reference junction is isolated from the process fluid, and a second position in which the secondary reference junction is exposed to the process fluid, as taught by Vettermann, and moving the movable sensor cover from the first position to the second position automatically electrically decouples the primary reference electrode from the measurement circuitry and automatically couples the secondary reference electrode to the measurement circuitry, as taught by combined Murayama and Vettermann, since it would allow to automatically switch to the active electrode [para. 0021 in Vettermann] and would provide accurate reading to continue, improving the overall life of the probe (Vettermann, [para. 0012]).
Modified Murayama is silent on wherein the pH sensing probe incudes a pre-amplifier circuit board that includes a reference switch operably coupled to the primary reference electrode and the secondary reference electrode, wherein the reference switch is configured to provide a selected signal from one of the primary reference electrode and secondary reference electrode to the pH transmitter.
Hahn teaches an electrochemical sensor with a plurality of work electrodes (abstract), and teaches the sensing probe incudes a pre-amplifier circuit board (each respective work electrode includes an amplifier 144 [para. 0063]).
Modified Murayama and Hahn are considered analogous art to the claimed inventions because they are in the same field of electrochemical sensors. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pH sensing probe of modified Murayama to include a pre-amplifier circuit board, as taught by Hahn, since it allows for signal processing techniques for applying potential and/or current to the working and reference electrodes (Hahn, [para. 0063]).
Modified Murayama is silent on the pre-amplifier circuit board includes a reference switch operably coupled to the primary reference electrode and the secondary reference electrode, wherein the reference switch is configured to provide a selected signal from one of the primary reference electrode and secondary reference electrode to the pH transmitter.
Matsumoto teaches an electrochemical sensor (abstract), and teaches a reference switch (switch 14 in Fig. 14a and 14b [para. 0085]) operably coupled to the primary reference electrode and the secondary reference electrode (switching 14 switches from reference electrode 4 to spare reference electrode 9 [paras. 0084, 0086]; also illustrated in Fig. 4 [para. 0082]), wherein the reference switch is configured to provide a selected signal from one of the primary reference electrode and secondary reference electrode to the pH transmitter (select signal from either reference electrode or spare reference electrode is selected using the switch [para. 0044]).
Modified Murayama and Matsumoto are considered analogous art to the claimed inventions because they are in the same field of electrochemical sensors. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pH sensing probe of modified Murayama to a reference switch operably coupled to the working electrode and reference electrodes, wherein the reference switch is configured to provide a selected signal, as taught by Matsumoto, since it allows for continuous measurement and reduced running cost (Matsumoto, [para. 0086]).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Murayama teaches the pH sensing system of claim 10.
Murayama teaches wherein the controller includes a microprocessor (controller 40 includes one or more processors in Figure 1 [para. 0042]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murayama in view of Vettermann and Matsumoto.
Regarding Claim 20, Murayama teaches:
a pH sensing probe (a measuring unit 10 for pH measurements in Figure 1 [para. 0032], comprising:
measurement circuitry (voltage detector 30 in Figure 1 [para. 0041]);
a pH electrode (glass electrode unit 11 in Figure 1 [para. 0033]) electrically coupled to the measurement circuitry (voltage detector 30 detects an electromotive force from internal electrode 11c [para. 0041]), the pH electrode being configured to be exposed to a process fluid (solution L is disposed to glass thin film 11a [para. 0035]);
a primary reference electrode (first reference electrode unit 12 in Figure 1 [para. 0034]) electrically coupled to the measurement circuitry (voltage detector 30 detects an electromotive force from internal electrode 12c [para. 0041]) and having a primary reference junction (liquid junction 12a in Figure 1 [para. 0034]), the primary reference junction being configured to be exposed to the process fluid (solution L is in contact with liquid junction 12a in Figure 1 [para. 0034]);
a secondary reference electrode (a second reference unit 13 in Figure 1 [para. 0038]) having a secondary reference junction (liquid junction 13a in Figure 1 [para. 0038]), the secondary reference junction being configured to be isolated from the process fluid (protection plate 21 isolates the second reference electrode unit 13 from solution L in Figure 1 [para. 0046]) until a seal (a protection unit 21 in Figure 1 [para. 0040]) is unsealed (protection plate 21 is removed [para. 0054]) to expose the secondary reference junction to the process fluid (solution L is now in contact with liquid junction 13a in Figure 1 [paras. 0038, 0054]);
Murayama is silent on
a sensor body; the pH electrode mounted to the sensor body; the primary reference electrode mounted to the sensor body; the secondary reference electrode mounted to the sensor body;
analog-to-digital circuitry including a reference switch operably coupled to the primary reference electrode and the secondary reference electrode, wherein the analog-to-digital circuitry is configured to determine when the primary reference electrode has degraded and automatically switch to the secondary reference electrode and provide a pH signal using a cable;
wherein the seal includes a movable sensor cover having a first position in which the primary reference junction is exposed to the process fluid and the secondary reference junction is isolated from the process fluid, a second position in which the secondary reference junction is exposed to the process fluid.
Although Figure 1 of Murayama does not explicitly teach a sensor body, Figure 6 of Murayama teaches a sensor body (support 10a in Figure 6 [para. 0067]), in which the pH electrode (glass electrode unit 11 in Figure 6 [para. 0064]), the primary reference electrode (first reference electrode unit 12 in Figure 6 [para. 0064], and the secondary reference electrode (a second reference unit 13 in Figure 6 [para. 0064]) can be mounted to the sensor body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the measuring unit 10 of Murayama by adding a sensor body to mount the pH electrode, primary reference electrode, and secondary reference electrode, allowing the pH probe to house up to four reference electrodes [para. 0064] and provide a support of the electrodes [para. 0067]. Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143 (I)(A)).
Murayama is silent on wherein the seal includes a movable sensor cover having a first position in which the primary reference junction is exposed to the process fluid and the secondary reference junction is isolated from the process fluid, a second position in which the secondary reference junction is exposed to the process fluid; and
Murayama teaches that once the measured value of the information on the state of solution L exceeds a predetermined range, the controller 40 removes the protection plate 21 (seal), and switches the electrical measurement from the first reference electrode unit 12 to the second reference electrode unit 13 [para. 0054]. In addition, the voltage detector 30 switches the connection from the first reference electrode 12 to the connection of the second reference electrode 13 [para. 0054]. Thus, once the second reference electrode unit 13 is exposed to the solution L, electrical decoupling from the primary reference electrode from a sensor reference electrode output conductor to the secondary reference electrode to the senor reference output conductor occurs.
Vettermann teaches an external sensor for measuring a concentration of an ion, which includes a plurality of ion-selective electrodes 3 and a reference electrode 7 (Figure 1 and [paras. 0030-0031]). The ion-selective electrodes 3 are arranged in such a way that only one electrode is exposed to a fluid at one time, the remaining ion-selective electrodes are covered using covers 6 (Figure 1 [para. 0030]). From Figure 3, one embodiment of this invention includes a cover disk 9 that rotates along the longitudinal axis of the receiving unit 15 (Figures 3-4 [para. 0035]). As seen in Figure 3, an opening exposes an active electrode 4 and seals all other chambers with now inactive electrodes 5 (Figures 3-4; [para. 0035]). The cover disk 9 can rotate so that the opening 10 exposes a different electrode and seals all other electrodes, the new electrode exposed now serves as the active electrode 4 [para. 0035].
Murayama and Vettermann are considered analogous art to the claimed inventions because they are in the same field of ion measuring electrodes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the seal (protective plate) of Murayama to be a movable sensor cover having a first position in which the primary reference junction is exposed to the process fluid and the secondary reference junction is isolated from the process fluid, a second position in which the secondary reference junction is exposed to the process fluid, as taught by Vettermann, as it would allow to automatically switch to the active electrode [para. 0021 in Vettermann] and would provide accurate reading to continue, improving the overall life of the probe (Vettermann, [para. 0012]).
Modified Murayama is silent on analog-to-digital circuitry including a reference switch operably coupled to the primary reference electrode and the secondary reference electrode, wherein the analog-to-digital circuitry is configured to determine when the primary reference electrode has degraded and automatically switch to the secondary reference electrode and provide a pH signal using a cable.
Matsumoto teaches an electrochemical sensor (abstract), and teaches analog-to-digital circuitry (electrochemical measuring circuit 11 [para. 0082]) including a reference switch (switch 14 in Fig. 14a and 14b [para. 0085]) operably coupled to the primary reference electrode and the secondary reference electrode (switching 14 switches from reference electrode 4 to spare reference electrode 9 [paras. 0084, 0086]; also illustrated in Fig. 4 [para. 0082]), wherein the analog-to-digital circuitry is configured to determine when the primary reference electrode has degraded and automatically switch to the secondary reference electrode (abnormality in measurement is detected using primary reference electrode [para. 0086]; electrical circuit is changed automatically [para. 0044]) and provide a pH signal using a cable (circuit of electrochemical measurement 11 is a potentiostat with not limitation to the circuit [para. 0074]).
Modified Murayama and Matsumoto are considered analogous art to the claimed inventions because they are in the same field of electrochemical sensors. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pH sensing probe of modified Murayama to analog-to-digital circuitry including a reference switch operably coupled to the primary reference electrode and the secondary reference electrode, wherein the analog-to-digital circuitry is configured to determine when the primary reference electrode has degraded and automatically switch to the secondary reference electrode and provide a pH signal using a cable., as taught by Matsumoto, since it allows for continuous measurement and reduced running cost (Matsumoto, [para. 0086]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks Pgs. 7-10, filed 09/30/2025, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections have been fully considered.
Applicant’s Argument #1
Applicant argues that the references of Murayama and Vettermann, used to reject claim 1, do not teach automatic switching based on rotating a cover, as Murayama uses a voltage detector 30 coupled to first and second reference electrode units 12 and 13. In addition, Applicant has amended independent claim 1 to recite that moving the rotatable sensor cover from the first position to the second position “displaces internal switch contacts”.
Examiner’s Response #1
Applicant argues have been fully considered, but are moot in terms of the new grounds of rejection above.
Applicant’s Argument #2
Applicant argues on pages 9-10 that independent claims 10 and 20 have been further amended to include limitations to distinguish themselves from the cited references.
Examiner’s Response #2
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.L.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1795
/LUAN V VAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1795