DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species I (claims 1-6, 9-13, and 20) in the reply filed on 06/01/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-8, and 14-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/01/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/09/2023 and 11/15/2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1, 6, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “of one of at least one of” is repetitive and the first “of one” should be removed. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: the shift in the limitation should be adjusted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 9-13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 20, it is unclear if the “processing unit” of line 16 is the same or different than the processing unit of line 11.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the reliability" in lines 2 and 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 recites “reliability metric”.
Regarding claim 4, it is unclear if the “first feature parameter” of line 16 is the same or different than the first feature parameter of claim 1.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the reliability" in lines 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 recites “reliability metric”.
Regarding claim 6, it is unclear if the “variance” of line 4 is the same or different than the variance of claim 1.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the reliability" in lines 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 recites “reliability metric”.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the corresponding exercise intensity" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 recites “exercise intensity”.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the exercise parameter" in lines 13 and 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-6, and 9-13 are rejected for being dependent on rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6, 9-13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
MPEP 2106(III) outlines steps for determining whether a claim is directed to statutory subject
matter. The stepwise analysis for the instant claim is provided here.
Step 1 – Statutory categories
Claim 1 is directed to a method and thus meets the step 1 requirements.
Claim 20 is directed to a tangible non-transitory computer-readable medium (i.e. a product), and
thus, meets the step 1 requirements.
Step 2A – Prong 1 – Judicial exception (j.e.)
Regarding claims 1 and 20, the following step is an abstract idea:
“confirming, by a processing unit, whether a criterion set is met by a judgement parameter set associated with a reliability metric in an estimation of the exercise parameter or not, wherein the judgement parameter set is determined based on a first feature parameter having a consistency between a first trend of the first internal workload data subset and a second trend of the first external workload data subset;
determining, by a processing unit, the estimation of the exercise parameter calculated based on at least one of the first internal workload data subset and the first external workload data subset if the criterion set is met by the judgement parameter set”, which is a mental process when given its broadest reasonable interpretation. As discussed in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II), the mental process grouping includes observations, evaluations, judgements, and opinions. In this case, a human could make the judgement of confirming that the criterion set is met by a judgment parameter set (based on consistency of data) and determining the estimation of exercise parameter calculation. Examiner notes the last step of calculation may not be needed if it is determined that the criterion set is not met.
Step 2A – Prong 2 – additional elements to integrate j.e. into a practical application
Regarding claims 1 and 20, the abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application.
The following claim elements do not add any meaningful limitation to the abstract idea:
-“a processing unit” are recited at a high level of generality amounting to generic computer components for implementing abstract idea [MPEP 2106.05(b)];
- “sensing unit” are data gathering structures for the insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering [MPEP 2106.05(b)];
- “exercise data”, “exercise session”, “internal/external workload data”, “exercise intensity”, “first/second parameter”, “first duration”, “first external/internal workload data subset”, “variance” , “first variance threshold”, “criterion set”, “reliability metric”, “first feature parameter”, “first/second trend”, “estimation”, and “judgement parameter set” are data (gathering, selecting, and displaying) that is necessary to implement the abstract idea on a computer amounting to insignificant extra-solution activity [MPEP 2106.05(g)].
Step 2B – significantly more/inventive concept
The following claim elements do not add any meaningful limitation to the abstract idea:
-“a processing unit” are recited at a high level of generality amounting to generic computer components for implementing abstract idea [MPEP 2106.05(b)];
- “sensing unit” are data gathering structures for the insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering [MPEP 2106.05(b)];
- “exercise data”, “exercise session”, “internal/external workload data”, “exercise intensity”, “first/second parameter”, “first duration”, “first external/internal workload data subset”, “variance” , “first variance threshold”, “criterion set”, “reliability metric”, “first feature parameter”, “first/second trend”, “estimation”, and “judgement parameter set” are data (gathering, selecting, and displaying) that is necessary to implement the abstract idea on a computer amounting to insignificant extra-solution activity [MPEP 2106.05(g)].
The additional elements of claims 1 and 20, when considered separately and in combination, do not add significantly more (ie. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the processing unit, along with their associated functions, are recited at a high level of generality and simply amount to implementing the abstract idea on a computer. The sensing unit are claimed very generically and are used only to gather the data they are designed for. These are well-understood, routine and conventional structure since the diagnostic art in Zhao et al (US 20170258356) teaches the use of ECG/EKG sensors to collect ECG signals ([0006]).
Sensing unit is regarded as mere data gathering that is well known in the art to establish the inputs of analysis and does not add a meaningful limitation (TLI Communications, 823 F.3d at 612-13, 118 USPQ2d at 1747-48).
Dependent claims 2-6, 9-13 do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application
and do not add significantly more to the abstract idea of claim 1 and 10. The dependent claim limitations are directed to extra-solution activity (claims 2-6, and 9-13) which are insignificant extra-solution activity and do not amount to more than what is well-understood, routine, and conventional.
In summary, claims 1-6, 9-13, and 20 are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more and, therefore, are patent ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saalasti et al. (US 10123730)(Hereinafter Saalasti).
Regarding claims 1 and 20, Saalasti teaches A method/ non-transitory computer readable storage medium for determining an exercise parameter (Claim 1 “A method for determining the cardiorespiratory fitness level of a person, with the aid of freely performed exercise” Col. 2 lines 47-48 and 59-64 “fitness level, e.g., the VO.sub.2max…A model is created from empirical material to depict the VO.sub.2max, for example, ml/kg/min, i.e. oxygen consumption per minute per kilogram of weight, using intensity as the variable, in a preferred form from the relative heart rate (% HRmax) and external work output.”), the method comprising:
acquiring exercise data, by a sensing unit, in an exercise session, wherein the exercise data comprises (i) an internal workload data set that includes a first parameter associated with an exercise intensity and (ii) an external workload data set that includes a second parameter associated with the exercise intensity (Claim 1 “measuring by a first sensor, a physiological intensity of the person during the exercise session in periods and storing each measured physiological intensity in computation registers, each period being approximately 5 seconds, measuring by a second sensor an external work output of the exercise session simultaneously relative to the measured physiological intensity on each period” Col. 6 lines 33-35 “Each value of the fitness level [for VO2 or energy consumption] is obtained from the modelled function by entering into it the relative heart rate [internal workload first parameter] and external work [external workload data] of the accepted segment.” Col. 3 lines 55-65 “External work output is a person's external measured work output achieved when moving, such as, for example, a person's running speed [second parameter], or running speed on a specific piece of ground, rising or falling angle of a treadmill, or measured using an output measuring device in free performance, or some other movement, for example, using an acceleration sensor, or output measured in some other way. External work output can also be calculated from a person's specific known performance, for example from the running time over a known distance, based on the length of stride when running, step contact, or step density.”), wherein the internal workload data set comprises a first internal workload data subset in a first duration of the exercise session and the external workload data set comprises a first external workload data subset in the first duration of the exercise session (Claim 1 “measuring by a first sensor, a physiological intensity of the person during the exercise session in periods and storing each measured physiological intensity in computation registers, each period being approximately 5 seconds, measuring by a second sensor an external work output of the exercise session simultaneously relative to the measured physiological intensity on each period”), wherein a variance of one of at least one of the first internal workload data subset and the first external workload data subset is higher than a first variance threshold (Abstract “the physiological intensity should be greater than a selected lower limit [first variance threshold]” Fig. 3 shows the variance of HR [first internal workload data] at different periods.);
confirming, by a processing unit, whether a criterion set is met by a judgement parameter set associated with a reliability metric in an estimation of the exercise parameter or not, wherein the judgement parameter set is determined based on a first feature parameter having a consistency between a first trend of the first internal workload data subset and a second trend of the first external workload data subset (Claim 1 “at each period whether the physiological intensity has stabilized relative to the external work output on the measured period in order to accept the period using a following criteria: the physiological intensity is stabilized relative to the external work output, and the external work output is within a selected range” Col. 10 lines 31-35 “FIG. 7 shows the calculation of a fitness index, for example, during running or walking. The person's maximum heart rate (HRmax), heart rate (heartbeats per minute), speed (e.g., m(k)/h), and altitude (meters) are entered in the computation register. Each period being examined must be reliable, in order to create a fitness index. Reliability can be examined, for example, by setting reliability for known influencing factors [judgement parameter set], in this example external work (W), angle altitude, EPOC gradient, physiological intensity, limit values (c1, c2 . . . c9) [the trend of the physiological intensity and external work at each period], within the framework of which the variables must remain during the period being examined, for the period to be accepted.” Col. 5 lines 4-9 “A loading stage can be evaluated, for instance, on the basis of heart rate behaviour (the heart rate rises, falls, or remains constant) solely, or in combination with the external work output (the heart rate rises, falls, or remains constant simultaneously with the external work output, or in a specific relation to it).”); and
determining, by a processing unit, the estimation of the exercise parameter calculated based on at least one of the first internal workload data subset and the first external workload data subset if the criterion set is met by the judgement parameter set (Col. 6 lines 59-67 and Col. 7 lines 1-6 “Here, the following equation is derived from it, which takes slope into account:
VO.sub.2max=(−c1*hr/maximal_hr+(1+c1))*(11.1*(c2*angled+1)*speed_ms+5.3333)
(18) VO.sub.2max ml/kg/min, the momentary VO.sub.2max value i.e. estimate hr BPM instantaneous, momentary heart rate level maximum hr BPM, the person's background parameter (maximum heart rate level)
(19) angles in radians, momentary running angle
(20) speed_ms m/s, momentary running speed
(21) c1, c2, parameters optimized from empirical material
(22) A corresponding equation is created for each form of external work output, in such a way that the calculated VO.sub.2max corresponds to the real value.” See heart rate and speed used for determining VO2 max.).
Regarding claim 2, Saalasti teaches wherein the judgement parameter set is determined further based on a second feature parameter being an extent to which the first internal workload data subset follows the first external workload data subset (Col. 6 lines 48-54 “The calculation of the fitness level estimate from simultaneous physiological-intensity and external-work values is computed, in one embodiment, as follows. It is generally known, that, by comparing the HRmax heart rate to the theoretical work output [second feature] and in turn by extrapolating the maximum heart rate, a rough estimate of the fitness level can be obtained.’).
Regarding claim 3, Saalasti teaches wherein the judgement parameter set is determined further based on a third feature parameter being a duration length of the first duration when the first internal workload data subset and the first external workload data subset are acquired (Claim 1 “each period being approximately 5 seconds, measuring by a second sensor an external work output of the exercise session simultaneously relative to the measured physiological intensity on each period… counting a total duration/number [third feature parameter] of accepted periods, and if said total duration/number of accepted periods exceeds a selected time/value”).
Regarding claim 9, Saalasti teaches wherein the first parameter of the exercise intensity comprises a heart rate, an oxygen consumption, a pulse or a respiration rate, and wherein the second parameter of the exercise intensity comprises a speed, an acceleration, a power, an energy expenditure rate or a motion cadence (Col. 10 lines 31-35 “FIG. 7 shows the calculation of a fitness index, for example, during running or walking. The person's maximum heart rate (HRmax), heart rate (heartbeats per minute), speed (e.g., m(k)/h), and altitude (meters) are entered in the computation register.”).
Regarding claim 10, Saalasti teaches wherein each of the first trend of the first internal workload data subset and the second trend of the first external workload data subset is an increasing trend of the corresponding exercise intensity varying with time or a decreasing trend of the corresponding exercise intensity varying with time (Col. 5 lines 4-9 “loading stage can be evaluated, for instance, on the basis of heart rate behaviour (the heart rate rises, falls, or remains constant) solely, or in combination with the external work output (the heart rate rises, falls, or remains constant simultaneously with the external work output”).
Regarding claim 11, Saalasti teaches wherein the first external workload data subset is determined by modifying first initial internal workload data subset such that the first external workload data subset synchronizes with the first internal workload data subset higher than the first initial internal workload data subset (Claim 3 “wherein the third means determines the representativeness of the values of the intensity and external work recorded from simultaneous periods, in order to determine an accepted period in terms of fitness level, where the representative periods are those periods that have the following properties: the physiological intensity must have stabilized relative to the external work output” Claim 5 “wherein the third means determines the user's activity class, with the aid of initial data and a defined fitness index, using preselected criteria.” Examiner interprets the usage of “synchronizes…higher” to mean a better acceptance. For the stabilization to happen, the acceptance is lower than the stabilized periods later on.).
Regarding claim 12, Saalasti teaches wherein the exercise parameter is a fitness performance level or an energy expenditure, and wherein the fitness performance level comprising VO2max or FTP (Functional Threshold Power) (Col. 2 lines 47-48 and 59-64 “fitness level, e.g., the VO.sub.2max…A model is created from empirical material to depict the VO.sub.2max, for example, ml/kg/min, i.e. oxygen consumption per minute per kilogram of weight, using intensity as the variable, in a preferred form from the relative heart rate (% HRmax) and external work output.”).
Regarding claim 13, Saalasti teaches further comprising displaying, by a displaying unit, the estimation of the exercise parameter (Col. 10 lines 55-60 “The heartrate sensor 12 and some sensor 30 registering external output are connected to the input unit 31, which handles the sensor's data traffic to the bus 36. Optionally, the PC is connected to a PC connection 37. The output device, for example a display 15, is connected to the output unit 34.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saalasti et al. (US 10123730)(Hereinafter Saalasti) in view of Seppanen et al. (US 9237868)(Hereinafter Seppanen).
Regarding claim 4, Saalasti teaches the invention of claim 1. However, Saalasti does not teach the judgement parameter set comprises a first judgement parameter being the reliability in an estimation of the exercise parameter and the criterion set comprises a first criterion describes that the first judgement parameter is higher than a reliability threshold, wherein the reliability in the estimation of the exercise parameter is determined based on a first feature parameter. Seppanen, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a fitness test where users are exercising while an analysis is performed estimating a user’s fitness (Abstract), and further teaches wherein the judgement parameter set comprises a first judgement parameter being the reliability in an estimation of the exercise parameter and the criterion set comprises a first criterion describes that the first judgement parameter is higher than a reliability threshold, wherein the reliability in the estimation of the exercise parameter is determined based on a first feature parameter (Col. 12 lines 28-32 “Accepted variation in heart rate is 2.5 bpm and in speed 1 m/s. Data segment is formed, when 85% of the sliding window falls into this criteria. In this example, 85% represents the reliability. Then weighting coefficient values are 1 and 0 according to this rule.”) to accurately measure cardiorespiratory fitness (Col. 1 lines 35-37). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the method of Saalasti, with the judgement parameter set comprises a first judgement parameter being the reliability in an estimation of the exercise parameter and the criterion set comprises a first criterion describes that the first judgement parameter is higher than a reliability threshold, wherein the reliability in the estimation of the exercise parameter is determined based on a first feature parameter of Seppanen, because such a modification would allow to accurately measure cardiorespiratory fitness.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saalasti et al. (US 10123730)(Hereinafter Saalasti) in view of Seppanen et al. (US 9237868)(Hereinafter Seppanen) and Saalasti et al. (US 9517028)(Hereinafter Saalasti2).
Regarding claim 5, Saalasti teaches the invention of claim 1. However, Saalasti does not teach the reliability in the estimation of the exercise parameter is determined further based on a second feature parameter being an extent to which the first internal workload data subset workload data follows the first external workload data subset. Saalasti2, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a the external workload and internal workload used in a probability model (Abstract), and further teaches wherein the reliability in the estimation of the exercise parameter is determined further based on a second feature parameter being an extent to which the first internal workload data subset workload data follows the first external workload data subset (Col. 14 lines 1-4 “METmax typically varies between about 10-15 METs. The extent to which P2 value changes (due to heart rate vs. external workload relationship) may depend on a person's METmax-value.”) to accurately measure cardiorespiratory fitness (Col. 14 lines 51-53). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the method of Saalasti, with the reliability in the estimation of the exercise parameter is determined further based on a second feature parameter being an extent to which the first internal workload data subset workload data follows the first external workload data subset of Saalasti2, because such a modification would allow to accurately measure cardiorespiratory fitness.
Regarding claim 6, Saalasti teaches the invention of claim 1. However, Saalasti does not teach the internal workload data set further comprises a second internal workload data subset in a second duration of the exercise session and the external workload data set comprises a second external workload data subset in the second duration of the exercise session, wherein a variance of one of at least one of the first internal workload data subset and the first external workload data subset is higher than a variance threshold, wherein a second variance of one of at least one of the second internal workload data subset and the second external workload data subset is less than a second variance threshold, wherein the reliability in the estimation of the exercise parameter is determined further based on a third feature parameter being associated with the second internal workload data subset and the second external workload data subset. Seppanen, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a fitness test where users are exercising while an analysis is performed estimating a user’s fitness (Abstract), and further teaches wherein the internal workload data set further comprises a second internal workload data subset in a second duration of the exercise session and the external workload data set comprises a second external workload data subset in the second duration of the exercise session, wherein a variance of one of at least one of the first internal workload data subset and the first external workload data subset is higher than a variance threshold, wherein a second variance of one of at least one of the second internal workload data subset and the second external workload data subset is less than a second variance threshold, wherein the reliability in the estimation of the exercise parameter is determined further based on a third feature parameter being associated with the second internal workload data subset and the second external workload data subset (Col. 8 lines 63-67 “Data is segmented into segments with similar heart rate level. Data segments with low variance (measured by e.g. variance or standard deviance) and long duration are preferred for further analysis. The reliability of a data segment is assumed to be better if previous data segments have similar external workload. Segments 3, 4 and 5 (see table 5) are determined to best suit for fitness determination.” See Table 6 with variance thresholds C1 and C2 where the heart rate can be higher than the 85% threshold while speed is below.) to accurately measure cardiorespiratory fitness (Col. 1 lines 35-37). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the method of Saalasti, with the internal workload data set further comprises a second internal workload data subset in a second duration of the exercise session and the external workload data set comprises a second external workload data subset in the second duration of the exercise session, wherein a variance of one of at least one of the first internal workload data subset and the first external workload data subset is higher than a variance threshold, wherein a second variance of one of at least one of the second internal workload data subset and the second external workload data subset is less than a second variance threshold, wherein the reliability in the estimation of the exercise parameter is determined further based on a third feature parameter being associated with the second internal workload data subset and the second external workload data subset of Seppanen, because such a modification would allow to accurately measure cardiorespiratory fitness.
Conclusion
/MOUSSA HADDAD/ Examiner, Art Unit 3796